View Full Version : Another 50 years...

05-06-11, 13:04
More flooding this morning haa haa...:rolleyes:
http://sg.news.yahoo.com/blogs/singaporescene/torrential-downpour-triggers-flash-floods-across-pore-040951911.html

05-06-11, 13:59
Yup, Singapore had aged 200 years since! :D

wenqing
05-06-11, 18:36
http://sg.news.yahoo.com/blogs/singaporescene/torrential-downpour-triggers-flash-floods-across-pore-040951911.html

“How many of you followed the latest tragic events in Japan with the tsunami…and then put into context our floods in Singapore against that kind of disaster.

“I am not saying we shouldn’t do anything about the flood. But the amount of noise you made with just sporadic flood compared to the Japanese. I saw them on TV. Very stoic looking. You don’t see them crying.

This has happened, just get on, that’s the kind of spirit you want to have and you call it nation building.”

SM Goh Chok Tong, Channel Newsasia, 12 March 2011
---------------------------------------------------
THURSDAY'S deluge which submerged parts of Bukit Timah was a 'freak' event that occurs once in 50 years, Minister for the Environment and Water Resources Yaacob Ibrahim said yesterday.

'What happened was very unusual,' he said. 'The intensity was tremendous.'
Shortly after 1pm the skies opened and in the next two hours, almost 110mm of rain fell - almost half the average monthly rainfall for November.

Dr Yaacob said: "I hope the public will have more patience with us because it will take us some time to enlarge those drains. But having said that, it is not possible for us to plan for every event.

"Yesterday's event, I was told by the PUB, occurs once every 50 years. It could be tomorrow. But we have to plan accordingly. Most importantly, we have to have a proper drainage system... (that is) being continually upgraded, and a proper response system."

Environment and Water Resources Minister Yaacob Ibrahim, Channel Newsasia, 20 November 2009
--------------------------------------------------------
He said: "Whatever we do, when we get extraordinary rainfall - like we had recently - no amount of engineering can prevent flooding.

Mr Lee added: "Somethings are beyond (that); it's an act of God unless you want to lose half the roads and have canals."

Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew , Channel Newsasia, 21 July 2010

wenqing
05-06-11, 18:46
http://www.sgpolitics.net/?p=4237 (http://www.sgpolitics.net/?p=4237)

Said Mr Lee: “The PAP makes promises they deliver. The Opposition cannot deliver.”

“If you have a flood, just carefully think who is more likely to get the drainage put right and have the flood alleviated as quickly as possible: A PAP candidate with links to the ministers and Prime Minister, or a non-PAP candidate who has become an MP, like in Potong Pasir or Hougang, and who has to manage on his own?”
“That’s a fact of life.”

Source: Today newspaper, “MM Lee explains his tough stance against Opposition, throws a challenge“, 29 April 2006.

wenqing
05-06-11, 18:59
http://singaporemind.blogspot.com/2010/07/marina-barage-and-floods.html

Monday, July 19, 2010

Marina Barrage and the floods.... (http://singaporemind.blogspot.com/2010/07/marina-barage-and-floods.html)

LATER UPDATE: NCMP Slyvia Lim (Worker's Party) asked about the role of the Marina Barrage in the recent floods.

Ms Lim had asked the minister to clarify what she termed as 'confusing statements' in the media about the role of the barrage in the floods, pointing out that PUB's Chief Executive Officer Khoo Teng Chye had earlier said it was not to be blamed for the June 16 flooding along Orchard Road.

When opened to great fanfare two years ago, the $226 million Marina Barrage was being touted as the solution to relieve flash floods in low-lying areas around the city.

Explaining the role of the barrage, Dr Yaacob said it played three main roles, that of a freshwater reservoir, to prevent floods as well as for recreational activities.

During a rain storm, seven pumps and nine crest gates at the barrage are used interchangeably to release water out to sea depending on the prevailing tidal levels and predictions based on statistical modelling.[Link (http://www.straitstimes.com/BreakingNews/Singapore/Story/STIStory_555341.html)]

Dr. Yaacoob basically stuck to the explanation that the 16 June 2010 Orchard Rd flood was caused by 2 bursts of heavy downpour 30 minutes apart- 100mm of rainfall within 2 hours and clogged drains were the causes.

This explanation is not satisfactory because Orchard Road area had 2 floods after 16 June after PUB said it will monitor drains for debris and rainfall was not as intense.

The govt will look at look at widening Stamford canal to prevent future floods....this again is already behind the curve because there were many other places that were flooded 2 days ago Upper Thomson, Bukit Timah, Stevens Rd, Orchard Road, Cresent Road, Bedok and Sims Ave[Link (http://news.asiaone.com/News/AsiaOne%2BNews/Singapore/Story/A1Story20100717-227410.html)]....a lot more has to be down all over Singapore.

UPDATE : I did a quick check on the Internet and found that the construction of barrages around the world to prevent or control flooding very often leads to increased flooding as an unintended consequence[Check for yourself here (http://www.google.com.sg/search?hl=en&q=barrage+floods+-singapore&aq=f&aqi=&aql=&oq=&gs_rfai=&gs_upl=2015%2C2015%2C1%2C0%2C203%2C203%2C2%3A1)].

The reason is water flow (fluid dynamics) is highly complex and is often not amendable to analysis. One hint that something has gone wrong is areas that don't normally flood starts flooding (think Orchard Road).

When the big flood in Orchard Road first occurred, the PUB quickly put out a statement that it was caused by debris and would be worse if the Marina Barrage was not there.

Now that we have 3(?) other floods since then and floods recurring at Orchard Road at much lower rainfall than the earlier one, I think it is time for them to check all the possibilities not just the ones that absolve the govt from blame and conveniently lead to conclusions that nothing needs to be done.

"The Marina Barrage is the result of Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew’s vision nearly two decades ago when he envisaged damming the mouth of the Marina Channel to create a freshwater reservoir" - PUB Website (http://www.pub.gov.sg/marina/Pages/default.aspx)

A popular hypothesis has emerged among Singaporeans that the Marina Barage is a possible cause of the floods. I'm not an expert in floods so I cannot say with any certainty if this hypothesis is true.

Remember a few weeks ago when Orchard Road became flooded, the govt quickly came out with an explanation that it was due to a clogged drain and that PUB will be monitoring the drains closely[Link (http://singaporemind.blogspot.com/2010/06/floods-in-various-parts-of-singapore.html)].

How then do they account for the floods that came after that one? Orchard Road has been flooded a few times since then. The govt' has lost credibility due the flood issue and they will lose more if they don't come up with a good explanation and long term solution soon.

Be it climate change, drainage or the Marina Barage, Singaporeans need to know what is going on and that there is a plan and solution in place that will prevent these damaging floods.

Singaporeans are not so reasonable to expect 100 new drains to be constructed by tomorrow but they have to start working on the solution ASAP....how else can the govt answer to those whose goods, cars and homes have been damaged in recent weeks.

Why do so many Singaporeans think the Marina Barrage is the culprit?

The Marina Barrage (Chinese:滨海堤坝) is a dam in Singapore built across the mouth of the bay, between Marina East and Marina South. It was officially opened on 1 November 2008. [Wikipedia (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Marina_Barrage)]

Here is an air picture of the barrage:

http://4.bp.blogspot.com/_XtsjYwdj2Ic/TEN2Pb2Vr0I/AAAAAAAABKI/05oK4s41jf8/s400/barrage_1.jpg (http://4.bp.blogspot.com/_XtsjYwdj2Ic/TEN2Pb2Vr0I/AAAAAAAABKI/05oK4s41jf8/s400/barrage_1.jpg)
Another picture:

http://3.bp.blogspot.com/_XtsjYwdj2Ic/TEN2_gJj_zI/AAAAAAAABKY/mNP8dBF725k/s400/barrage_2.jpg (http://3.bp.blogspot.com/_XtsjYwdj2Ic/TEN2_gJj_zI/AAAAAAAABKY/mNP8dBF725k/s400/barrage_2.jpg)

When the Marina Barrage was opened, it was said that it can be used for "flood control". The barrage has steel gates that separate the sea water from the fresh water.

The barrage can prevent rising sea tide from flooding the island - but the problem is water flow in the other direction from the island to the sea.

During heavy rainfall, the steel gates are opened to allow the storm water to flow into the sea.

According to the hypothesis, herein lies the problem, in the past without the barrage, storm water flows freely into the ocean but with the barrage, this flow of water is impeded by the structure causing a back pressure leading to rising water levels on the island.

Netizens and ordinary Singaporeans do not have the data or expertise to rigorously prove this hypothesis.

Only the govt and its experts can come up with rigorous explanations. I highlighted this popular hypothesis only to show the need for the govt to step forward and explain what is going on.

The public generally don't accept "once in 50 years" and "debris in the drain" type of convenient (convenient for the govt to do nothing) explanations which now look rather ridicious given the frequency of these floods.

Some other flooding incidents associated with building of barrages in other countries:

In Kuching : http://anilnetto.com/development-issues/floods-in-kuching/ (http://anilnetto.com/development-issues/floods-in-kuching/)
The Malaysian govt denied it because it was the one that build the barrage.

An official report by the Dutch Government found the construction of a storm surge barrier across the Oosterschelde estuary in the 1980s actually increased the risk of flooding in the area. [Link (http://www.telegraph.co.uk/earth/earthnews/7190428/Severn-Barrage-could-cause-floods-RSPB.html)].

Posting Time 5:10 AM (http://singaporemind.blogspot.com/2010/07/marina-barage-and-floods.html)

Posted by Lucky Tan

wenqing
05-06-11, 19:04
Flooding in Singapore, 5 June 2011

http://www.facebook.com/home.php#!/media/set/?set=a.10150271886900783.367425.190806675782 (http://www.facebook.com/home.php#!/media/set/?set=a.10150271886900783.367425.190806675782)

05-06-11, 22:24
The rain was really intense and prolonged. Comparatively little lightning and thunder too. I don't recall seeing this phenomena so frequently before.

No amount of engineering can overcome this due to climate change where Singapore will just become hotter and wetter. Unless we make Singapore into a big drain which is not cost effective. Expect more tropical bugs and diseases too.

This is only June. Wait till the other wetter monsoon arrives. Better to avoid low-lying properties because the problem will only get worse.

wenqing
06-06-11, 00:31
Visiting the revamped area on Sunday, Prime Minister Lee reminded Singaporeans to be responsible for the facilities even as they enjoy them.

He said: "We all have parts to play to keep public places and our waterways clean. We must prevent ...the litter from choking up our drains, otherwise the litter will find its way into the drains, into the canals, into the reservoirs and pollute our water supply."

Turning to the recent floods, Mr Lee said Singapore must learn from the episodes and upgrade its infrastructure and systems.

He said: "We will continue to implement new drainage works, improve the design of the drainage systems and to deal with more intense storms. But I don't think it's possible in Singapore to expect the place to be completely free of floods.

Because if you're going to do that, you'll have to have huge tracts of land put aside for huge monsoon drains which will be empty most of the time, the land is tied up, the infrastructure will cost a lot of money."

Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong, Channel Newsasia, 27 June 2010

wenqing
06-06-11, 00:36
The rain was really intense and prolonged. Comparatively little lightning and thunder too. I don't recall seeing this phenomena so frequently before.

No amount of engineering can overcome this due to climate change where Singapore will just become hotter and wetter. Unless we make Singapore into a big drain which is not cost effective. Expect more tropical bugs and diseases too.

This is only June. Wait till the other wetter monsoon arrives. Better to avoid low-lying properties because the problem will only get worse.

My Geography not so good but people on Internet arguing that cannot push everything to Global Warming and Nature because effects of Global Warming are worse than the floods we saw in Singapore and floods is not the only only product of Global Warming and Nature.

Nature should not be use as excuse for floods as Nature provide rain , not floods. Floods is still within human control.

People compare why all these floods coincidentally started after completion of Marina Barrage. Last time such flooding of buildings are unheard of.

If PAP can spend 1 billion on Bishan River, I am sure they can spend some on drains too.

Some drain networks as old as 1970s.

06-06-11, 01:04
The rain really so intense ar?

Flash floods becoming a vy serious threat....

Too many underground construction causing it too? So many new buildings being constructed clogging the drains? Oh no, more underground mrt lines gona start plus nse.....

Dun wish to see anymore death occurs due to flash floods leh:scared-5:

06-06-11, 07:45
They better hurry to start the DEF Project real soon.
Or do they want to wait for KBW?

06-06-11, 07:46
My Geography not so good but people on Internet arguing that cannot push everything to Global Warming and Nature because effects of Global Warming are worse than the floods we saw in Singapore and floods is not the only only product of Global Warming and Nature.

Nature should not be use as excuse for floods as Nature provide rain , not floods. Floods is still within human control.

People compare why all these floods coincidentally started after completion of Marina Barrage. Last time such flooding of buildings are unheard of.

If PAP can spend 1 billion on Bishan River, I am sure they can spend some on drains too.

Some drain networks as old as 1970s.

About 15 years ago we experienced the El Nino effect. The period which lasted for several years was extermely hot and dry. Then we shifted to neutral pattern. In recent years, we are experiencing the swing to La Nina effect, which dumps heavy rainfall. The extreme weather patterns are made worse by climate change.

http://app.nccs.gov.sg/news_details.aspx?nid=114&pageid=98

06-06-11, 10:06
When they gave the once in 50 years excuse, people already buay song because this type of rain happens quite often. I have seen heavier rain in the past, and yet there is no flood. Just last week rain, flooding in Novena and a poor boy died. Few days later, another heavy rain and flooding everywhere again. This type of rain happens weekly during monsoon season. How come something that happens so frequently is not provided for? Also, VB blame is on "nature"? HELLO? This is not tsunami ok? This is just normal rain and blame nature for raining? If no rain, drought how? Blaming rain is a joke!

06-06-11, 10:09
Pls stop blaming nature. Yesterday's rain was NOT unusual. in fact, it is not anywhere close to the heaviest rainfall in Singapore in the past years. PAP use some cooked up statistics like "highest rainfall in mth of June in 15 minutes" - these statistics with strange criterion (why 15 min huh? and why only compare to June?) are cooked to make u believe its something very unusual when it is NOT.

Since when is such rain "unnatural"?

About 15 years ago we experienced the El Nino effect. The period which lasted for several years was extermely hot and dry. Then we shifted to neutral pattern. In recent years, we are experiencing the swing to La Nina effect, which dumps heavy rainfall. The extreme weather patterns are made worse by climate change.

06-06-11, 10:30
They are bullshitting. Why only heavy rain in Singapore, not Malaysia? Batam? And why the rain only like Orchard? Because district 9 is it? Didn't know rain also choose district nowadays.

I don't see east coast getting as bad. I don't see parkway parade waterfall, like tanglin mall waterfall. Just think of the changes made to Orchard in the last 10 years and we will know. For example, Ion used to be a big field, able to absorb water. Now, water cannot seep through the building but the water has to go somewhere. The drains obviously are not sufficient to handle the water and cause massive floods. Blame the rain? Or blame human?

06-06-11, 11:08
Can claim that the damming of the Marina Barrage was an engineering feat, and now say no amount of engineering can be done about the flood! What crap! 5 more years to repent! :D

wilander
06-06-11, 12:22
We started to see such flooding since the completion of the Marina Barrage. I wonder?

06-06-11, 12:43
Nowadays, June is the time for Orchard road flood, coincide with the the Great Singapore Sale. Very strange, last time, heavy rain, i don't remember any Orchard road shopping mall getting flooded, now...if in June heavy rain, shopping malls take turn to get flooded...Last year...Lucky Plaza stretch, tis year Tanglin Mall, wonder what's next...:doh:

06-06-11, 12:50
http://a1.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/249638_206984516005218_201649463205390_522689_5489345_n.jpg (http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=206984516005218&set=a.201650196538650.43973.201649463205390&type=1)

06-06-11, 13:20
The Sinking of Singapore...:doh:

Your next home must have multi storey carparks instead of basement carparks. Only projects on higher ground can be considered.

wenqing
06-06-11, 15:14
Tessarina Condos owners need to drive cars out of the basement carpark each time it rains.

Heavy rain causes flash floods in Singapore (05 Jun 2011)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QmfitUVcE4s

ymgsterling
06-06-11, 15:41
Out of curiousity, if i work in Orchard road and resides in Bukit Timah, will i get loading for my car insurnace premium?

06-06-11, 15:56
Only Tessarina, St Regis and Cascadia flooded lah. There so so many condos with basement carparks and they are ok. A lot of times, its the design and engineering flaw of the development. Developer cut corners in planning the drainage during construction. Sometimes when I walk around my development, I notice a lot of thoughts went into the design of the draingage, e.g. slight slope to ensure the water always flow into the drain etc. These may not be easily observed because the design is so subtle but u could see it is well thought out to ensure a flood will not happen.

Bukit Timah, Holland, Farrer, Orchard, Cuscaden all on low ground leh. It appears low-ground property has higher property value?

The Sinking of Singapore...:doh:

Your next home must have multi storey carparks instead of basement carparks. Only projects on higher ground can be considered.

06-06-11, 16:35
I think should start compiling developers of the flood-prone properties:-

Tessarina - Wing Tai
St Regis Residences - City Developments
Cascadia - Allgreen
Tanglin Mall - Allgreen

A responsible developer will ensure drainage is properly planned and engineered in the development - such attention to details matters. There are other developments near Tessarina, e.g. Nexus and Sterling (FEO?) and they did not flood. It's easy to ignore drainage, since no developer can sell a property at higher price becos of good drainage, so some may cut corners ans voila! u have a flood prone property.

06-06-11, 17:39
Only Tessarina, St Regis and Cascadia flooded lah. There so so many condos with basement carparks and they are ok. A lot of times, its the design and engineering flaw of the development. Developer cut corners in planning the drainage during construction. Sometimes when I walk around my development, I notice a lot of thoughts went into the design of the draingage, e.g. slight slope to ensure the water always flow into the drain etc. These may not be easily observed because the design is so subtle but u could see it is well thought out to ensure a flood will not happen.

Bukit Timah, Holland, Farrer, Orchard, Cuscaden all on low ground leh. It appears low-ground property has higher property value?

ahahha

i think holland is higher gorund than farrer....
Leedon is lower than holland road ...
cuscaden is lower than Rochalie

sometimes i want to be near MRT stn ... but many times i prefer to be on high ground .. which will be a distance from MRT if any

so choose wisely

06-06-11, 19:10
ahahha

sometimes i want to be near MRT stn ... but many times i prefer to be on high ground .. which will be a distance from MRT if any

so choose wisely
8woodleigh high grnd n mrt...lol but 99lh

Peak balmeg lor, fh, high n mrt....sky high px too...haha

06-06-11, 19:15
Avon Park at Youngberg terrace. FH ultra high ground and MRT beside. Buy Buy Buy!! :rolleyes:

wenqing
06-06-11, 19:16

I see.

So only flooded areas like Potong Pasir, Orchard, Bukit Timah etc and flooded buildings like Tanglin Mall, Forum, Liat Towers etc have La Nina effect.

Those Singapore areas and buildings not flooded dont have La Nina effect.

La Nina very selective and choosy about where to dump rain I guess.

Dont know next time which area and which building will La Nina target ??

HDB maybe ??

Like that, Government not at fault.

All La Nina's , God's and Nature's fault.

:D :D :D :D :sleep: :sleep: :sleep:

06-06-11, 19:16
I am out of town at the moment. Heard about the flooding on Sunday? I saw in the news that Wan Tho avenue was flooded. Was Nin area flooded?

wenqing
06-06-11, 19:17
ahahha

so choose wisely

I think Youtube got show Holland areas flooded too.

06-06-11, 19:18
What has Vivien got to say now?

wenqing
06-06-11, 19:18
I am out of town at the moment. Heard about the flooding on Sunday? I saw in the news that Wan Tho avenue was flooded. Was Nin area flooded?

Potong Pasir was flooded the first time but not sure Nin Residences.

But stay out of Balestier Condos.

Boy who drowned there was flooded for past 20 years according to long time residents there.

The drains there look like from 1970s.

wenqing
06-06-11, 19:21
What has Vivien got to say now?

Vivien already said it is Nature's fault and PAP supporters and Media flood Internet claiming Singaporeans litter too much thus clog the drains and causing floods.

That must be alot of litter then in the drains.

I thought NEA are paid to maintain these drains all the time ??

Please take note of areas flooded, bet it is areas of mass litter too then.

Sounds like rubbish dump.

:D :D :D :D

06-06-11, 19:21

any idea which stretch of holland road ....

i dont have yutube ahhaha

wenqing
06-06-11, 19:23
any idea which stretch of holland road ....

i dont have yutube ahhaha

You can start with the one above that I posted.

Go Temasek Review Facebook.

Many contributors of flood videos and photos contribute there as ST and CNA will not show.

06-06-11, 19:24
I see.

So only flooded areas like Potong Pasir, Orchard, Bukit Timah etc and flooded buildings like Tanglin Mall, Forum, Liat Towers etc have La Nina effect.

Those Singapore areas and buildings not flooded dont have La Nina effect.

La Nina very selective and choosy about where to dump rain I guess.

Dont know next time which area and which building will La Nina target ??

HDB maybe ??

Like that, Government not at fault.

All La Nina's , God's and Nature's fault.

:D :D :D :D :sleep: :sleep: :sleep:

Pls read carefully what I wrote. The phenomena occurs at different period.

06-06-11, 19:25
Sitoh, TPL, Vivien, etc will have to do something to please their residents.
Potong Pasir was flooded the first time but not sure Nin Residences.

But stay out of Balestier Condos.

Boy who drowned there was flooded for past 20 years according to long time residents there.

The drains there look like from 1970s.

06-06-11, 20:21
isn't it time to sack the man in charge? Once to often to be called a freak flood, isn't it? Where is the accountability? :doh: :doh: :doh: :doh:

06-06-11, 21:28
this time round nobody apologies? even with loss of one life?
or they are going to wait 5 years later then have drama effect?:doh:

desirenlure
06-06-11, 21:41
I suspect raising Orchard road recently has caused Tanglin road to be affected by the flood so badly as water always flow downstream. Perhaps it is time to raise Tanglin road too while at the same time improve the drainage along Napier and Grange roads.

06-06-11, 21:51
Water seek the lowest areas, raise here, raise there, no use one lah. Must allow water to run away. Need a tube or tunnel.

06-06-11, 21:55
Water seek the lowest areas, raise here, raise there, no use one lah. Must allow water to run away. Need a tube or tunnel.

maybe raise the coast line like the Netherlands ...them pump water out .... ???

at the same time it can protect us against tsunami :doh:

06-06-11, 21:57

That's the plan, global warming, climate change, rising sea level, that is what the barrage is for. Just that the internal problem needs to be resolved.

Bucket timah floods even before the barrage is up. Same thing happening lah.

06-06-11, 22:00

yeah.... and when it springs a leak, get the latest minister in charge to stick his finger in the leak.....:D

06-06-11, 22:03
That's the plan, global warming, climate change, rising sea level, that is what the barrage is for. Just that the internal problem needs to be resolved.

Bucket timah floods even before the barrage is up. Same thing happening lah.

haahhah good one

06-06-11, 22:04
yeah.... and when it springs a leak, get the latest minister in charge to stick his finger in the leak.....:D

remember the story of the boy Peter ? who stuck his finger and saved the village ?

06-06-11, 22:10
exactly... except peter didin't have a million dollar pay check:banghead:

06-06-11, 22:25
I suspect raising Orchard road recently has caused Tanglin road to be affected by the flood so badly as water always flow downstream. Perhaps it is time to raise Tanglin road too while at the same time improve the drainage along Napier and Grange roads.
Like that, need to raise all the way and push the water into Botanica gardens...:D

06-06-11, 22:30
Like that, need to raise all the way and push the water into Botanica gardens...:D

raise towards Rochalie lah :banghead: :banghead: ... PM lives there .... he will definitely take actions immediately until NO MORE FLOOD :cheers6:

06-06-11, 22:31
exactly... except peter didin't have a million dollar pay check:banghead:

maybe he was awarded 100,000 Dutch guilder at that time ..

if he had invested the $$ .... he would have changed name from Peter to Boom Town Charlie

wenqing
07-06-11, 01:11
http://theonlinecitizen.com/2011/06/5-june-2011-%e2%80%93-floods-in-tanglin-mall-and-along-orchard-road/

5 June 2011 – Floods in Tanglin Mall and along Orchard Road

On 5 June 2011, the torrential downpour brought on flash floods in several areas of Singapore. Among the areas affected where several stores along Orchard Road, as well as the basement of Tanglin Mall.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=cgBW2N73fKk

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bfgqe2kA2hc&feature=player_embedded

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=uGLECAqlllY

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=QqDEyQdytmc

07-06-11, 10:57
tanglin mall is one of my favourite malls, sad to see it become a victim of flooding.

07-06-11, 11:01
more footage on the flood (including st regis basement carpark)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QmfitUVcE4s

07-06-11, 11:53
tanglin mall is one of my favourite malls, sad to see it become a victim of flooding. Ya, it is also one of mine, nice family feel about this mall..., many angmo also like to go there for their grocery shopping@ Market Place:(

07-06-11, 12:11
Ya, it is also one of mine, nice family feel about this mall..., many angmo also like to go there for their grocery shopping@ Market Place:(
Nvm la, can goto novena sq or leisure park....

Less crowd n easy parking

But wifey wana shop shop, cfm cannot go there la

07-06-11, 12:54
Nvm la, can goto novena sq or leisure park....

Less crowd n easy parking

But wifey wana shop shop, cfm cannot go there laYa, Leisure Park - no swear on parking at all, of course if wife want to do real shopping, need to go places like ION and Taka for sure...:D

wesing
07-06-11, 13:04
Wonder whether the pre-emptive emptying of may be 1/4 of the water in the Marina Bay into the sea prior to forecasted wet weather will help in improving flow of rainwater into the bay thus mitigating the chances of flash floods?

07-06-11, 14:55
I notice something interesting about the landscape and geography of orchard area.

Orchard road seems to be at the bottom of a mini valley. We have hilly terrain towards the northern part (cairnhill, nassim, ardmore) and higher grounds towards the south (leornie hill, st thomas, paterson).

So doing heavy rainfall, water will naturally 'flow' towards orchard road (being on lower ground), coupled with all the recent new developments around the area that does not allow water to sip into the ground. That could have caused the frequent flooding.

proper-t
07-06-11, 15:50
Actually, I suspect the root cause could be right under our noses. There is currently a lot of tunnel digging for MRT etc, especially along bukit timah area. These uncompleted tunnels act as huge water catchment pools in itself. In order to keep the water out and enable their workers to continue the work, they will have to deploy powerful pumps to extract the collected water to the nearest drain.

When a storm hits, the pumps would be activated. The heavy rainfall coupled with the water being pumped out of the uncompleted tunnels would of course severly stress our draingage systems. Its like double or triple the volume of water being dumped into our drainage at one go.

07-06-11, 17:51
Actually, I suspect the root cause could be right under our noses. There is currently a lot of tunnel digging for MRT etc, especially along bukit timah area. These uncompleted tunnels act as huge water catchment pools in itself. In order to keep the water out and enable their workers to continue the work, they will have to deploy powerful pumps to extract the collected water to the nearest drain.

When a storm hits, the pumps would be activated. The heavy rainfall coupled with the water being pumped out of the uncompleted tunnels would of course severly stress our draingage systems. Its like double or triple the volume of water being dumped into our drainage at one go. sound kinda of logical..., could be 1 possible reason

07-06-11, 19:29
err... actually still the same pool of water right?

why dun fix pipes and pump it far far away instead of just pumping it out.

proper-t
08-06-11, 09:26
err... actually still the same pool of water right?

why dun fix pipes and pump it far far away instead of just pumping it out.

technically, its the same volume of water but its the timing of the extraction and the inability of the drainage system to handle the high volume of water at one go.

Example
I have three pails of water. If I pour the pails into a drain one after another, the drain should be able to handle the volume without overflowing.

If I pour all three pails at the same time, the drains may overflow as its unable to handle the volume.

proper-t
08-06-11, 10:52
If you read the article in Straits Times (A4) today about the early warning detection and how the water level suddenly rose from 50% to overflowing in less than 2 minutes, then my theory could be supported.

During the initial start of the rain, the uncompleted MRT tunnels are filling up and drains are coping with the rainfall so the detection system will not register anything abnormal.

When the water level in the MRT tunnels hit a critical point, the huge water pumps are activated to extract water from the tunnels. The massive jet from these pumps would be a plausible explanation why the levels shoots from 50% to overflowing in less than 2 mins.

If this is really the case and determined to be the root cause, I know a lot of ferrari, lamborghini and porsche owners who may be paying a call on MRT and its contractors....

wenqing
08-06-11, 13:32
http://sg.news.yahoo.com/blogs/singaporescene/pub-improve-sms-flood-alert-system-162027445.html#mwpphu-container

Please do not use Global Warming as whipping boy and excuse for incompetence.

Global Warming does more damage than the kind of rain and floods we see in Singapore.

If everything is God and Nature that determines than we dont need flood-related staff and depts anymore.

Nature gives Rain and not floods. Floods is still under human control.

If everything is due to God and nature then please cut the pay of flood-related staff and depts.

Nature and God do not choose which area and buildings in Singapore to flood.

If it is nature's fault, all Singapore should be flooded.

Please do not blame Singaporeans litter too because NEA suppose to maintain these drains and it takes an enormous mountain of litter to clog up drains.

Some drains looks like from 1970s-1980s and need upgrading.

Blame poor planning,poor management, poor leadership and negligence from PUB, MinEnv and NEA.

Isnt the Perm Sec that went French cooking class in France for 5 weeks from MinEnv ??

wenqing
08-06-11, 13:34
SMS can stop floods.

People, please SMS as much as possible whenever it rains so that floods can be prevented.

http://sg.news.yahoo.com/blogs/singaporescene/pub-improve-sms-flood-alert-system-162027445.html#mwpphu-container

PUB to improve its SMS flood alert system

The Public Utilities Board (http://sg.search.yahoo.com/search?p=Public+Utilities+Board&ei=UTF-8&fr=fp-today&vm=r&cs=bz) (PUB) has announced that it is improving its SMS alert system for flood risks.

The current SMS alert system is only available to building owners that are susceptible to floods. However, come July, members of the public will also be able to subscribe to the SMS alert system.

These measures come after building owners of Tanglin Mall (http://sg.search.yahoo.com/search?p=Tanglin+Mall&ei=UTF-8&fr=fp-today&vm=r&cs=bz) and St Regis (http://sg.search.yahoo.com/search?p=St+Regis&ei=UTF-8&fr=fp-today&vm=r&cs=bz) failed to receive any SMS alerts about the floods on Sunday morning. (http://sg.news.yahoo.com/blogs/singaporescene/torrential-downpour-triggers-flash-floods-across-pore-040951911.html)

According to the PUB, SMS alerts will only be sent when water sensors along drains and canals read a certain water level.

The SMS alerts are sent out when the water sensors detect water levels at the 75 per cent or 90 per cent mark. Water levels are also monitored every two minutes by the water sensors.

According to a Channel NewsAsia report, the system did not trigger an SMS alert on Sunday because the water levels rose so fast at Stamford Canal, near Tanglin Mall and St Regis, that it had hit 100 per cent when the water sensors detected the rising water.

PUB said that it has started to improve the alert system by sending the SMS alerts when water levels hit 100 per cent. They will also look into reducing the time intervals for water sensors to monitor water levels.

The water agency added that the SMS alert system is useful as once water levels hit the 50 per cent mark, it will receive the alerts. They will then deploy contractors and staff to those locations to check for blockages and to monitor the situation.

Another 53 water sensors will be added by the end of the year to the current 93 that are placed along Singapore's drains and canals. A trial run of monitoring water levels through CCTV cameras will also be conducted.

Follow Yahoo! News on Twitter (http://us.lrd.yahoo.com/SIG=11ekgh75b/EXP=1308668010/**http%3A//twitter.com/yahooSG) and become a fan on Facebook (http://us.lrd.yahoo.com/SIG=1220uor76/EXP=1308668010/**http%3A//www.facebook.com/yahoosingaporenewsroom).

08-06-11, 14:34
each time there is a flood, they will say they are going to improve. their accountability only when something happens :doh: :doh:

08-06-11, 14:37
each time there is a flood, they will say they are going to improve. their accountability only when something happens :doh: :doh:

sending out more sms....telco very happy ... doing the rain dance

08-06-11, 16:14
each time there is a flood, they will say they are going to improve. their accountability only when something happens :doh: :doh:Not only for rain and flood, even food contamination testing are conducted when things happen overseas... sigh! :o