View Full Version : MeyeRise

Pages : [1] 2

Ronan Loh
15-08-11, 14:21
New MeyeRise Luxury Condo (http://googleads.g.doubleclick.net/aclk?sa=L&ai=BmBY8sLpITsOWCqeBiAf6-pH0CriMlPgB8J3z-RvAjbcBsJhGEAEYASDGm_sFKAM4AFC__tes_v____8BYL-N9AWyARlmb3J1bXMuY29uZG9zaW5nYXBvcmUuY29tugEJNzI4eDkwX2FzyAEB2gFAaHR0cDovL2ZvcnVtcy5jb25kb3NpbmdhcG9yZS5jb20vbmV3dGhyZWFkLnBocD9kbz1uZXd0aHJlYWQmZj05MIACAakC32HkzkjGqz6oAwHIAxfoA_oC6APMJ-gDuAj1AwIBAMQ&num=1&sig=AOD64_19B8vmcQric-eCwu_njp_hk5gatw&client=ca-pub-4613102798726338&adurl=http://meyerise.janetlky.com/&nm=15) Freehold, Seaview & w Private Lift. Register for VIP Preview Now!

meyerise.janetlky.com

:spliff:

Ronan Loh
15-08-11, 14:22
http://meyerise.janetlky.com/?gclid=CIuH_8nU0KoCFQJ66wod-WQazA

15-08-11, 14:54
walau.. still got Baywindows? I thought no more incentive for developers to do baywindows liao.

Anyway, indicative $psf is how much?

15-08-11, 16:34
bro, there are still such projects which were approved before the new rules kicked in but was never launched (some wanted to in 2007 peak but missed it)

walau.. still got Baywindows? I thought no more incentive for developers to do baywindows liao.

Shawn
19-08-11, 00:26

Indicative price above $2000psf but not sure by how much higher..That is what I know from my Director.

20-08-11, 09:42
I think part of the Lee's family house is still there.
seem that Hong Leong did not acquire the entire piece of land

East Coast Boy
20-08-11, 09:52
The MeyeRise are selling min form $ 1,500psf for low floor to $ 1,800psf for non sea view unit.

All SeaView unit is above $ 2,000psf......
2 BedRm $ 2,150psf up

S$ 2,168.93 psf (built-in)
882 sqft / 81.94 sqm (built-in)

S$ 2,005,000
S$ 2,30195 psf (built-in)
871 sqft / 81.94 sqm (built-in)

3 BedRm $ 2,100psf up

S$ (Guide Price)
S$ 2,165.35 psf (built-in)
1,270 sqft / 117.99 sqm (built-in)

Only 4BedRm have direct unblock SeaView with min $ 2,300psf up

S$ 2,303.02 psf (built-in)
2,056 sqft / 191.01 sqm (built-in)

Penthouse $ 3,442psf
S$ 3,442.62 psf (built-in)
5,490 sqft / 510.03 sqm (built-in)

20-08-11, 13:39
I think part of the Lee's family house is still there.
seem that Hong Leong did not acquire the entire piece of land

I heard it's because the owner only want to sell part of the land.

20-08-11, 18:04
The Lee paid only $1m for this piece of land back in the 1950s

23-08-11, 10:09
isit worth to pay 500psf more for a seaview cum ECP view??

shd spend the money on sentosa seaview homes if really dying for seaview:2cents:

those facing the low rise at the back r 500psf cheaper rite which is aso unblock rite? better choice?

23-08-11, 11:14
I have a silly thought. I wonder how MeyeRise should be correctly pronounced.

Because there is only one "R", it should be a consonant for the "Rise". Therefore, it should be "Meye Rise" which sounds like "Mai Rise" ie. Hokkien for "don't want to rise".

Sekali, later buy already, prices "mai ki" but "dit dit lo"

Haha.. just kidding only ah...:)

Shawn
02-09-11, 02:20
isit worth to pay 500psf more for a seaview cum ECP view??

shd spend the money on sentosa seaview homes if really dying for seaview:2cents:

those facing the low rise at the back r 500psf cheaper rite which is aso unblock rite? better choice?
Marq at Orchard Rd last transacted break record at more than $6000psf at $19 million for a 4 bedroom unit. The reason the buyer bought it is because of the spectacular view from a high floor unit.

So, can u tell these buyers not to pay so much for good facing units ?? Its all up to them not u to decide.

Seaview facing will be even more precious as there will be limited or no more land left for sea facing condo developments in the near future. So i expect sea facing condos to hold a prime value in the times to come.

Btw Meyerise is located in Meyer Road and its seaview is quite far away as there is a large empty piece of land (Fort Road) in front which separates it from the sea. The best sea facing (closest to sea) is the units at Aalto, Silversea and those at Amber Road cause from that angle, the sea is the closest.

02-09-11, 09:12
I dun see the point of bringing in marq into the picture

And toking abt aalto, Its a bad investment for those who bot it last time

02-09-11, 09:18
classic agent talk rite? in a bid to save the cooling sentiment, all benchmark against 1 single lone Marq transaction?

I dun see the point of bringing in marq into the picture

And toking abt aalto, Its a bad investment for those who bot it last time

02-09-11, 09:22
classic agent talk rite? in a bid to save the cooling sentiment, all benchmark against 1 single lone Marq transaction?
Hehe....just like recently an agt told me kovan residences 13xxpsf is cheap bcoz kovan grandeur hit 1400psf....and den luxurie agt use kovan res 13xxpsf to say 1100psf for luxurie is cheap! Whahaha

Lets see hows the response for this meyerise....wonder isit really 500psf diff between sea n non sea facing units and which facing will b more popular

02-09-11, 13:57
Hehe....just like recently an agt told me kovan residences 13xxpsf is cheap bcoz kovan grandeur hit 1400psf....and den luxurie agt use kovan res 13xxpsf to say 1100psf for luxurie is cheap! Whahaha

Lets see hows the response for this meyerise....wonder isit really 500psf diff between sea n non sea facing units and which facing will b more popular

Think the 2 bedders all face inside, meaning no view?

02-09-11, 15:42
pity there are no 1 bedder units 500 - 600sq ft in size for meyeRise.
i am sure it will sell very well for the 1 bedder cos there are no 1 bedder units along meyer rd.:cheers6:

02-09-11, 17:35
need to be higher than 14th floor to clear the treeline for the seaview

those units clearing the treelines are doing very well

the project as a whole is so so in term of landscape, should do away the road and go underground

But internal quality is good, big bay windows, and a lot of bay windows

somehow, Hong Leong still have some way to catch up with FEO in term of landscape

02-09-11, 19:46

Actually the rear facing units are facing landed housing area. so totally unblocked.

Units facing sea, also facing highway.

If it rear facing ones are much cheaper, it's worth considering

East Coast Boy
02-09-11, 21:26
Was told 30% sold, with most of the 4BedRm + family are sold out :doh: :doh: :doh:

02-09-11, 22:32
Actually the rear facing units are facing landed housing area. so totally unblocked.

Units facing sea, also facing highway.

If it rear facing ones are much cheaper, it's worth considering

Think it's not facing the landed housing area, but facing the other units of the same/opposite block. Hence, totally no view or pocket view only

03-09-11, 09:01
Better take up for bigger units... The customer base should be up graders than investors.

03-09-11, 10:19
this kind of quantum maybe more foreigners?

Better take up for bigger units... The customer base should be up graders than investors.

03-09-11, 10:41

I dun have the breakdown.

Foreign buyers is likely since they are quite used to big spaces.

Local buyers tend to go for smaller units.

03-09-11, 13:10

was told by the agent ard 80 cheques submitted. MOstly are SINGAPOREANS!!

East Coast Boy
03-09-11, 13:29
was told by the agent ard 80 cheques submitted. MOstly are SINGAPOREANS!!

Most of them are Indian buyers

03-09-11, 16:31
Most of them are Indian buyers

So Most of them are Singaporean Rich Indians?

03-09-11, 17:16
Oh, playing musical chair... U will see more Indian sellers around there...

Big units good for them. I presume they will sell their existing unit and be on rental.

East Coast Boy
03-09-11, 19:52

Most of the 4 BedRm are min $4M up. What you thing are they ?

03-09-11, 20:12
Indians just love property on Meyer road...

East Coast Boy
03-09-11, 20:13
FYI, above #13 level 4BedRm & 4BedRm + family with sea facing unit are sold out !

2 BedRm low floor with pool view are mostly sold out also.

Total should be 50% sold already.

03-09-11, 20:28
So hot everywhere! ;)
FYI, above #13 level 4BedRm & 4BedRm + family with sea facing unit are sold out !

2 BedRm low floor with pool view are mostly sold out also.

Total should be 50% sold already.

03-09-11, 20:57
Juz drove by , Showflat quite crowded, seem to be nearby residents taking a strolls type that visit the Showflat

03-09-11, 21:12
Juz drove by , Showflat quite crowded, seem to be nearby residents taking a strolls type that visit the Showflat
Nearby residents probably silently laughing and say BUY, Good Buy..., up , chiong ah...

03-09-11, 21:45
So hot everywhere! ;)

It will get hotter because year end bonus is coming! Stocks market is too risky, and gold is too expensive and bubbly for investors. Our properties are one of the rare AAA investment options left for individuals and global funds :2cents:

http://www.todayonline.com/Business/EDC110826-0000301/Singapore-bonds-lure-Schroder-with-Asias-sole-AAA-rating

03-09-11, 21:51
Do you think there will still be good bonuses this year. We may be in technical recession at the end of this year. :scared-4:
It will get hotter because year end bonus is coming! Stocks market is too risky, and gold is too expensive and bubbly for investors. Our properties are one of the rare AAA investment options left for individuals and global funds :2cents:

http://www.todayonline.com/Business/EDC110826-0000301/Singapore-bonds-lure-Schroder-with-Asias-sole-AAA-rating

03-09-11, 21:59
Do you think there will still be good bonuses this year. We may be in technical recession at the end of this year. :scared-4:
Confirmed President, PM, Ministers, MP and all civil servants will have, they will continue to buy and push up prices....:2cents::D

03-09-11, 22:00

Yes, industries like oil and gas, marine, construction, F&B, health care, education and civil service will definitely have since they are still doing quite well.

http://www.todayonline.com/Business/EDC110815-0000191/Rig-orders-sustainable-on-current-oil-prices--Keppel

03-09-11, 22:02
Sad to say, not for electronics industry though...

03-09-11, 22:13
hmm....

someone mentioned hot money coming into Singapore because of US devaluation....

I expect one day... our currency will depreciate against US when all the problems are cleared. Then what will happen to our property prices? Any clue?

03-09-11, 22:21
hmm....

I expect one day... our currency will depreciate against US when all the problems are cleared. Then what will happen to our property prices? Any clue?

People from US will buy Sg properties lor

03-09-11, 22:25
Only the rich ones can buy outside US. Lots of people are buying land or properties into US. Rather risky in the long run.
People from US will buy Sg properties lor

03-09-11, 22:34
hmm....

I think we are in the midst of a property bubble. However like China in the last few years, it will be difficult to deflate and the high price could persist for a few more years.

But I doubt prices will correct more than 10%, because regional population is still growing fast but their countries' infrastructure and services cannot catch up. They are also less stable politically and geographically. Singapore is a modern city and safe haven for the richer ones to be educated in and set up a base for business.

04-09-11, 17:36
No interest on this project?

I tink roughly abt 30%sold so far.

3/4bdr quite decent size and high end fittings.

High flr seaview 4bdrs r selling fast....

Cant really draw any conclusion bcoz i noticed buyers go for either premium sea facing units or low flr cheapest units....

Low flr 3bdr from 14xxpsf and high flr sea facing 4bdr going for abt 2400psf

Per flr difference quite huge abt 20-70k diff

Doesnt look like we r having a economic turmoil....lol:spliff:

05-09-11, 08:44

Cant really draw any conclusion bcoz i noticed buyers go for either premium sea facing units or low flr cheapest units....

I went to the showflat last evening to take a look.

Quite crowded.

Price difference is indeed very significant for good facing and high floor units.

Actually, the sea facing units jump at almost $100K per floor...:scared-4:

proper-t
05-09-11, 11:22
Was there over the weekend. Pretty packed and quite a few of the high floor seaview stacks (mainly stack 1) were already taken up at >$2K psf.

They have two blocks. As the land plot is deep, its one block in front of the other so the back block will have limited views. Finishings are not bad but they still have a big balcony in the living and the dreaded baywindows in all rooms. Master bedroom is ok but the rest feel a bit cramped. Enough carparks but only one tennis court.

Full seaview units are only limited to stack 1 and 2 but at >$4m a pop for the seaview units, think I would rather stick to landed.

05-09-11, 23:55
actually its a different game there.

you have the flyer views and the casino views. I suppose you can see it unblocked if u follow the expressway lines.

next thing is a gamble on the disney land plot... never know what is going to be made there in time to come...

then the next thing is another gamble on mrt station...

anyway, if landed can never offer you the kind of views, its pretty safe. However, price must be right... I think riverine by the park could be more attractive in terms of pricing. To each his own.

proper-t
06-09-11, 01:09
actually its a different game there.

you have the flyer views and the casino views. I suppose you can see it unblocked if u follow the expressway lines.

next thing is a gamble on the disney land plot... never know what is going to be made there in time to come...

then the next thing is another gamble on mrt station...

anyway, if landed can never offer you the kind of views, its pretty safe. However, price must be right... I think riverine by the park could be more attractive in terms of pricing. To each his own.

Its just my personal opinion. There are good and bad points for both condos as well as landed which is why I am vested in both. Don't mean to start another long-winded "landed vs condo discussion". For landed , its rarely about the view.The play is on location, exclusivity and most important of all, scarcity since new supply is virtually non-existent.

For this development, you can gamble on all the factors that you mentioned but wouldn't be it be a better bet placing your money on cheaper options like the whole stretch of condos lining Meyer road. That's where it differs. Scarcity and exclusivity doesn't really come into play. You have cheaper options ranging from belvedere to seafront at meyer to older options like Atria and Sovereign. Lots of alternative supply. All these have sea/flyer/IR view, possibility of MRT and proximity to disneyland plot. In terms of supply, many of the older apts along Meyer (Hawaii/Peach) could en-bloc which may result in a whole lot more supply of competing developments coming on-stream.

As I mentioned, its just my personal preference. For a investment of >$4m, would rather place it on a landed in view of its scarcity.

06-09-11, 08:31
very good points made. I agree.

06-09-11, 08:37
The Meyerise, a freehold development in Meyer Road, has racked up about 80 sales since it started last Friday. Singaporeans and permanent residents comprised about 90 per cent of all buyers. The project has 239 units, a mix of two-bedroom, three-bedroom, four-bedroom and penthouse units. The average price was $1,950 psf, with three-bedroom units the most popular among buyers.

06-09-11, 09:34
There are still quite a lot of deep-pocket Singaporeans and SPRs.:)

proper-t
06-09-11, 09:45
There are still quite a lot of deep-pocket Singaporeans and SPRs.:)

Haha..my thoughts exactly when I visited the showroom. $4m is no joke and what's more is that this has no deferred payment or IAS. If this is their 2nd property @ 60% financing, 40% cash is already $1.6m !!!

Mebbe...SG is becoming a safe-haven in view of all the economic uncertainty.

06-09-11, 10:03
On a couple of developments I watch closely, some transactions don't even have caveats lodged ...paid in cold hard cash!

06-09-11, 10:13
Good points. For you forgot to mention one important point: The Indian factor. Many of the NRIs are fairly wealthy and they like to congregate around Meyer and Tg Rhu. So some who buy for investments are looking to flip to Indians or rent to Indians at higher than market rates. I've been to some of the small developments in Meyer; every time I only see Indians in the swimming pool. The Indians are not so much into landed property than sea view and around their own type.

Its just my personal opinion. There are good and bad points for both condos as well as landed which is why I am vested in both. Don't mean to start another long-winded "landed vs condo discussion". For landed , its rarely about the view.The play is on location, exclusivity and most important of all, scarcity since new supply is virtually non-existent.

For this development, you can gamble on all the factors that you mentioned but wouldn't be it be a better bet placing your money on cheaper options like the whole stretch of condos lining Meyer road. That's where it differs. Scarcity and exclusivity doesn't really come into play. You have cheaper options ranging from belvedere to seafront at meyer to older options like Atria and Sovereign. Lots of alternative supply. All these have sea/flyer/IR view, possibility of MRT and proximity to disneyland plot. In terms of supply, many of the older apts along Meyer (Hawaii/Peach) could en-bloc which may result in a whole lot more supply of competing developments coming on-stream.

As I mentioned, its just my personal preference. For a investment of >$4m, would rather place it on a landed in view of its scarcity.

06-09-11, 10:15
Must have coconut trees.
Good points. For you forgot to mention one important point: The Indian factor. Many of the NRIs are fairly wealthy and they like to congregate around Meyer and Tg Rhu. So some who buy for investments are looking to flip to Indians or rent to Indians at higher than market rates. I've been to some of the small developments in Meyer; every time I only see Indians in the swimming pool. The Indians are not so much into landed property than sea view and around their own type.

proper-t
06-09-11, 10:52

Yep, agree. Don't think it just the condos in Meyer/Tg rhu. I see quite a few of them buying the landed around that area as well(either new citizens or applied for permission from SLA). This is especially so if they have a large extended family.

06-09-11, 11:48
The Meyerise, a freehold development in Meyer Road, has racked up about 80 sales since it started last Friday. Singaporeans and permanent residents comprised about 90 per cent of all buyers. The project has 239 units, a mix of two-bedroom, three-bedroom, four-bedroom and penthouse units. The average price was $1,950 psf, with three-bedroom units the most popular among buyers.
the paper did not say many buyers are indians, NRI or otherwise..

and an Indian agent closed like 10 deals or something. (heard from one disgruntled agent)

06-09-11, 13:03
Yep, agree. Don't think it just the condos in Meyer/Tg rhu. I see quite a few of them buying the landed around that area as well(either new citizens or applied for permission from SLA). This is especially so if they have a large extended family.

Yes.. around that area.. got an indian built a "Taj Mahaj" for his family there. I heard from someone who lived among the landed says there are quite a number of NRI(turned pr or sinkie) bought the landed and living there

06-09-11, 13:07
Are they painted yellow?
Yes.. around that area.. got an indian built a "Taj Mahaj" for his family there. I heard from someone who lived among the landed says there are quite a number of NRI(turned pr or sinkie) bought the landed and living there

proper-t
06-09-11, 14:06

Not only that. If you observe when driving around Meyer area, you will see some signs saying "Private roads". When I asked my agent, he said the roads and all the houses along the road are owned by a well known Indian family group in Singapore.

06-09-11, 14:44
Not only that. If you observe when driving around Meyer area, you will see some signs saying "Private roads". When I asked my agent, he said the roads and all the houses along the road are owned by a well known Indian family group in Singapore.

i did a u-turn at the private road last friday :doh:

06-09-11, 14:50
Do you mean they the road is part of the compound?
i did a u-turn at the private road last friday :doh:

06-09-11, 15:20
Do you mean they the road is part of the compound?

private road is leading out of a property. I think there is a sign and barrier to discourage pple from illegal parking or turning into the private road. Since its private road, it should belong to that compound ba

06-09-11, 16:11
private road is leading out of a property. I think there is a sign and barrier to discourage pple from illegal parking or turning into the private road. Since its private road, it should belong to that compound ba

I think illegal signpost then. If it's private road and belong to that compound.. they would have just erected an auto-gate in front of the road.

06-09-11, 17:06
The Royal brothers group family lives at Broadrick road (meyer side). is this the family ?

proper-t
06-09-11, 17:26
The Royal brothers group family lives at Broadrick road (meyer side). is this the family ?

Starts with a "T"......

06-09-11, 17:35
Four letters word?
Starts with a "T"......

06-09-11, 17:51
Four letters word?
Thakral? Which lane?:D

proper-t
07-09-11, 10:16
Thakral? Which lane?:D

:cheers4:

Go for a jog around the park near Makena......

07-09-11, 15:00
before i bot wb, i also drove around there. Very nice neighbour with lambo and ferrari parking there. There is a Chung cheng school that has nice garden in it

07-09-11, 17:19
before i bot wb, i also drove around there. Very nice neighbour with lambo and ferrari parking there. There is a Chung cheng school that has nice garden in it

Er, thought Chung Cheung is on the other side of mountbatten road, not the meyer side?

07-09-11, 19:38
Er, thought Chung Cheung is on the other side of mountbatten road, not the meyer side?

chung cheng is deep inside goodman road.....

07-09-11, 21:30
chung cheng is deep inside goodman road.....

that place got many GCB...very near to meyer

07-09-11, 21:34
that place got many GCB...very near to meyer

Not GCB, just your regular detached....

07-09-11, 22:42

Hmm. Muz go meyer to see wat is gcb

07-09-11, 22:48
meyer also no gcb, gcb has to be in a designated gcb area.

07-09-11, 22:59

07-09-11, 23:09
Those are not gcb nor the regular detached... The bungalows are too huge to be called regular.:D

Shawn
08-09-11, 21:15

Landed is no value for money if its a terrace or semi detached. Unless its bungalow house. I had bad experience staying in landed, in my case a terrace house as I had a bad neighbor. And once u have this problem, the problem wont go away as you be facing your immediate neighbor day in day out. And u sharing the same walls (intermediate terrace/semi d).

Condos are still better choice in addition to the wide range of facilities offered like swimming pool, gym etc...Not everyone like to stay in landed where u have to constantly face the challenge of maintaining your gardens, pest control, and on top of that a bad neighbor, roofing problem etc etc the list goes on and on.

And on top of that, foreigners are barred from buying landed making this investment not a good investment as the foreigners are the ones that have lots of cash to spare.

08-09-11, 21:27
I am fortunate to have good neighbours.
Landed is no value for money if its a terrace or semi detached. Unless its bungalow house. I had bad experience staying in landed, in my case a terrace house as I had a bad neighbor. And once u have this problem, the problem wont go away as you be facing your immediate neighbor day in day out. And u sharing the same walls (intermediate terrace/semi d).

Condos are still better choice in addition to the wide range of facilities offered like swimming pool, gym etc...Not everyone like to stay in landed where u have to constantly face the challenge of maintaining your gardens, pest control, and on top of that a bad neighbor, roofing problem etc etc the list goes on and on.

And on top of that, foreigners are barred from buying landed making this investment not a good investment as the foreigners are the ones that have lots of cash to spare.

09-09-11, 23:17
Bad neighbours are bad for any type of property. It depends on your luck.

I would think the higher the housing density, the probability of a bad neighbour is higher. In addtion the problem is worse as higher density also translates to reduced proximity to the bad neighbour/s

10-09-11, 09:22
Surprise! No?
http://sbr.com.sg/residential-property/more-news/70-meyerise’s-120-units-grabbed-launching

70% of Meyerise’s 120 units grabbed at launching

Of the units sold, nearly half consisted of 3-bedroom units.

The Meyerise, a high-end freehold development by Hong Leong Holdings, saw strong interest in its preview weekend with some 70 per cent of 120 units released snapped up.

Of the units sold, nearly half consisted of 3-bedroom units. Unit prices ranged from $1,400 to $2,540 psf. Singaporeans and Permanent Residents made up over 90 per cent of buyers in the preview weekend.

“Location proved to be a strong deciding factor for buyers of The Meyerise, particularly since about 50 per cent of buyers already live in District 15,” noted Ms Betsy Chng, Head of Sales and Marketing for Hong Leong Holdings. “Coupled with the fact that new freehold projects are becoming a rarity, many buyers felt that this was a good deal.”

The 239-unit Meyerise is located minutes away Parkway Parade, Katong Shopping Centre and 112 Katong, as well as well-known heritage neighbourhoods Joo Chiat and Katong. Amenities such as grocery and retail shopping, banks, eateries are also within easy reach of the development. The central business district is easily accessible via East Coast Expressway and Nicoll Highway which are just a mere 5-minute drive away. For family entertainment, Playground @ Big Splash and East Coast Park are choice options. Premier schools include Chung Cheng High School, Tanjong Katong Primary School, Tao Nan Primary School, Dunman High School, Victoria School and Victoria Junior College.

Tags: Hong Leong Holdings, Meyerise

11-09-11, 22:42
I drove to MeyeRise and wanted to go in and kaypor. But so many ERA agents and not a customer in sight. A tip to all agents at show flats: do not stand in front of the main entrance. This will intimidate everyone. By the way, I was not the only one who drove away without entering the show flat. What a pity.

12-09-11, 08:29
the bay windows are too many and too big..
living and dinning rooms are too small

ppl have that type of money will love to have bigger living and dinning space....

12-09-11, 09:32
They will be using the bay window as their table and get a glimpse of the view outside. :doh:
the bay windows are too many and too big..
living and dinning rooms are too small

ppl have that type of money will love to have bigger living and dinning space....

East Coast Boy
12-09-11, 09:59
http://i882.photobucket.com/albums/ac25/EastCoastBoy_photo/ScreenShot2011-09-12at95629AM.png

12-09-11, 10:13
Are you from CBRE? Can see that it is really updated information (18 minutes ago).

12-09-11, 10:58
I drove to MeyeRise and wanted to go in and kaypor. But so many ERA agents and not a customer in sight. A tip to all agents at show flats: do not stand in front of the main entrance. This will intimidate everyone. By the way, I was not the only one who drove away without entering the show flat. What a pity.
I think the same too... Just wait for a couple of weeks more loh... I'm sure it will be lesser... Less crowded too if just want to look-look see-see...

12-09-11, 11:48
good update. :)

http://i882.photobucket.com/albums/ac25/EastCoastBoy_photo/ScreenShot2011-09-12at95629AM.png

12-09-11, 13:32
wow! penthouse $20m at 3643psf :scared-5:

12-09-11, 14:18
Can get a reasonable size bungalow with a personal pool on a freehold land.
wow! penthouse $20m at 3643psf :scared-5:

Shawn
14-09-11, 05:38
Can get a reasonable size bungalow with a personal pool on a freehold land.

Well u cant compare to a high floor penthouse with seaview. The feeling is entirely different living near the clouds and facing the sea, and on a house on land.

People nowadays are willing to pay a premium for penthouse unit with seaview, much higher than a normal sized condo unit in the same development.

Earlier on, some guys here mention that prices psf for penthouses should be lower than the average condo unit as penthouse has lots of wastage space like roof terrace, pool etc. But this is not the case especially for those with good sea facing units.

14-09-11, 08:21
It may be worth it if it is like on the MBS terrace. 30 odd storey is no big deal. Had such experience and enjoyed it for a while and then back to normal. It is really glaring in the house. Even need sunglasses when looking outside.
Well u cant compare to a high floor penthouse with seaview. The feeling is entirely different living near the clouds and facing the sea, and on a house on land.

People nowadays are willing to pay a premium for penthouse unit with seaview, much higher than a normal sized condo unit in the same development.

Earlier on, some guys here mention that prices psf for penthouses should be lower than the average condo unit as penthouse has lots of wastage space like roof terrace, pool etc. But this is not the case especially for those with good sea facing units.

Shawn
14-09-11, 21:34
It may be worth it if it is like on the MBS terrace. 30 odd storey is no big deal. Had such experience and enjoyed it for a while and then back to normal. It is really glaring in the house. Even need sunglasses when looking outside.

Yup its glaring to the eye also to see dozens of foreigners paying top million dollars to buy penthouse units near the east coast like those at Aalto, Amber Residences and Meyerise. Guess more will come with upcoming Far East projects near Marine Parade and Amber Road.

Haha you are funny.

14-09-11, 22:26
Yup its glaring to the eye also to see dozens of foreigners paying top million dollars to buy penthouse units near the east coast like those at Aalto, Amber Residences and Meyerise. Guess more will come with upcoming Far East projects near Marine Parade and Amber Road.

Haha you are funny.
Den y this 20mil penthse not snap up asap?

Still unsold rite?

Shawn
15-09-11, 00:40
Den y this 20mil penthse not snap up asap?

Still unsold rite?

They just have a soft launch for Meyerise and 30% of units sold. I have no time to tell u whats the prices sold but I am sure u are aware of the high psf price achieved there. So, the penthouse will take a little more time to sell but I am confident it will be sold, just like the penthouses at Aalto.

There are already enquiries for the penthouse but developer is holding and not selling until they can get the price they want to sell.

15-09-11, 09:04
Not funny. See who has the last laugh. However, I am sure there are some naive people who might buy it during the coming F1 in Singapore. I am sure lots of agents have given them free F1 tickets and tour of properties here.

Haha you are funny.

15-09-11, 10:08
NRI- i.e. expat Indians who look down on local Indians. Really full of them in Meyer and Tg Rhu.

15-09-11, 10:16
Wait till you see some of their children. :scared-1:
NRI- i.e. expat Indians who look down on local Indians. Really full of them in Meyer and Tg Rhu.

19-09-11, 09:31
Hong Leong Holdings had sold 108 units as of yesterday at The Meyerise. It released a further 30 units for sale in the freehold condo over the weekend, taking total units released to 150 units in the 239-unit project. The Meyerise will comprise two- to four-bedroom units as well as penthouses housed in two blocks of 31 storeys. The project was previewed early this month.
Hong Leong has previously listed the project's unit prices as ranging from $1,400 psf to $2,540 psf. It is developing this project on a site of about 115,302 sq ft which it bought from Della Lee in 2007 for about $201 million.

19-09-11, 09:40
Hong Leong Holdings had sold 108 units as of yesterday at The Meyerise. It released a further 30 units for sale in the freehold condo over the weekend, taking total units released to 150 units in the 239-unit project. ....
the ah nei are really loving this project...., mayb it's kinda of a status thing if they tell others that they are staying at Meyer vicinity...?

19-09-11, 10:21
the ah nei are really loving this project...., mayb it's kinda of a status thing if they tell others that they are staying at Meyer vicinity...?
Y u say ah nei love this project?

When i was at the showflat, i nvr spot any indian buyers at all.....all chinese....spotted some hongkie and prc

19-09-11, 10:41
so all the snobbish "high class" FT?

When i was at the showflat, i nvr spot any indian buyers at all.....all chinese....spotted some hongkie and prc

19-09-11, 11:18
PRC also like East Coast. But really a lot of Ah nehs in Meyer and Tg Rhu area. Yesterday drove past Tg Rhu, saw lots of Indian families milling around.

19-09-11, 14:02
What is the price now? Read the thread on few pages earlier there was a price list. Is there an update on the price list again?

I am only earning 4kSGD basic and currently owns a condo in hillview. Can I chiong another one with my wife combine salary of 7kSGD+?

Can bank loan to us?

victorchoo
19-09-11, 14:24
What is the price now? Read the thread on few pages earlier there was a price list. Is there an update on the price list again?

I am only earning 4kSGD basic and currently owns a condo in hillview. Can I chiong another one with my wife combine salary of 7kSGD+?

Can bank loan to us?

You will need to have at least $750k cash/cpf for 40% and stamp duty.

The rest of the 60% will be bank loan. but based of your combined income and supposing outstanding loan from your hillview condo, taking a $1.1m (based on the cheapest unit of $1.7m) might not be possible. I might be wrong though. You can just call a banker and ask her to assess your loan limit.

19-09-11, 14:31
if your hillview condo is fully paid up then u can loan 80% but based on a combined salary of 7k, bank may not be willing to lend to u unless u pledge your fully paid hillview condo (risky to do so in my view).

Can bank loan to us?

19-09-11, 14:37
Thanks for the input; unfortunately the hillview condo is not fully paid for and I loan it 80% with 35 year lease.

I will like to take a gamble and buy myerise, or possibly place in mount sinai.

Now, which area is a better bet? Mount Sinai or myer road?

19-09-11, 14:44

Have lah, the really white ones, got to look closely. i saw a few when i go on first day.

19-09-11, 14:51
Thanks for the input; unfortunately the hillview condo is not fully paid for and I loan it 80% with 35 year lease.

why mount sinai?

it's an acquired taste there

19-09-11, 15:06

Based on combined income of $7k , u could be over stretching based on 2nd property average $2.5m and above on both location u mention.

When interest reach 3.5% and above in the future, u could be super stretched unless u have additional side income.

but if we ignore all that detail, just on which is a better bet.... personally i feel Mount Sinai have better value, avg 1500 PSF @ the Trizon. However the quantum ard $3m is a killer. MeyeRise quantum is also easily more than that for sea vew units.

19-09-11, 15:09
why mount sinai?

it's an acquired taste there

Mount sinai is centralise in my point of view, and near to many good schools...it somehow motivates my intent to get it as the place is also a freehold exquisit place.

victorchoo
19-09-11, 15:09

With a pv of $1.1m, nper of 420 and rate of 2%pa, your pmt is $3640.

That is more than 50% of your combined income. Very very risky.

If I were you, I would look for a smaller unit with lower loan quantum so that I would not be so stretched on my finances.

19-09-11, 15:13
i think between the 2, there is more demand (hence also more expensive) at meyer road isn't it?

and given your current scenario, you have to put 40% down for your 2nd ppty, so u really gotta do your sums.

19-09-11, 15:18

Yes, I admit the 40% is a top order for me at the current moment. I have vast interest in Mount Sinai area as it is nearer to schools and eateries and of coz the biopolis and many other exciting emerging developments.

I am also budgeting myself to 1.8mil project and hopefully I can get bank loan approval....

I aint sure if it will be a good bet in these years as I reckon there might be a recession near future...

Shawn
19-09-11, 22:31
Based on combined income of $7k , u could be over stretching based on 2nd property average $2.5m and above on both location u mention.

When interest reach 3.5% and above in the future, u could be super stretched unless u have additional side income.

but if we ignore all that detail, just on which is a better bet.... personally i feel Mount Sinai have better value, avg 1500 PSF @ the Trizon. However the quantum ard $3m is a killer. MeyeRise quantum is also easily more than that for sea vew units.

Haha u are such a joker. A lot of buyers at Meyerise are rich families. They are either business people or people who just got rich from enbloc sales. As such, the issue of loan interest has never been a major issue for them. Some paid cash for the unit and they traditionally own houses in the east coast.

As such, the east coast with seaviews hold so much sentimental values to these people. U wont understand cause u need to take a loan to buy a house. As such, dont ever consider buying these prime areas. You should just focus on the outskirts.

Shawn
19-09-11, 22:42
Not funny. See who has the last laugh. However, I am sure there are some naive people who might buy it during the coming F1 in Singapore. I am sure lots of agents have given them free F1 tickets and tour of properties here.
I think you going to miss the boat. The East Coast particularly the Meyer/Amber stretch is slated to be the next prime area after Orchard Road. There are lots of upcoming projects coming up here.

Dont forget that Malaysia-Singapore own land near the Marina East and there are plans to build up this area into either commercial or residential. Also, in 2016 Singapore will open its land to other casino licenses, meaning the big empty parcel of land near Marina East which is facing the open sea will most likely be targeted.

Also, Eastern Regional Line mrt will start construction next year. And it will pass both Meyer and Amber area from Changi Airport direct to Marina Bay.

In addition, the whole east coast stretch will be further redeveloped with new chalets, new resort and food outlet facilities to meet ever expanding demand.

And the Marina Coastal expressway will be in operation soon in 2012.

Katong Mall will be relaunched with the new shopping mall look in 2012. So as Katong Shopping Centre which is now going to be enbloc for future commercial use. Parkway Parade located nearby is probably the most popular shopping mall in the suburban area in Singapore.

Even the F1 grand prix is located much closer to the East side near to Tanjong Rhu flyover.

So arent all this good news ??? Who will benefit from these?? It is undeniable that the East Coast is the best place to live in Singapore.

19-09-11, 22:47
Hong Leong Holdings had sold 108 units as of yesterday at The Meyerise. It released a further 30 units for sale in the freehold condo over the weekend, taking total units released to 150 units in the 239-unit project. The Meyerise will comprise two- to four-bedroom units as well as penthouses housed in two blocks of 31 storeys. The project was previewed early this month.
Hong Leong has previously listed the project's unit prices as ranging from $1,400 psf to $2,540 psf. It is developing this project on a site of about 115,302 sq ft which it bought from Della Lee in 2007 for about $201 million.

Dr Della Suantio Lee, the wife of Mr Lee Seng Gee, the eldest son of late philanthropist Lee Kong Chian, was said to have sold a 115,300 sq ft piece of property in Meyer Road to the Hong Leong Group for about $200 million last year.

----------------------

Della Suantio Lee of Lee Foundation is said to be selling her properties at Meyer Road and plans to move to new homes at Sentosa Cove.

Dr Lee, wife of Lee Seng Gee and brother of the former minister mentor Lee Kuan Yew, the eldest son of the late China-born philanthropist Lee Kong Chian, is believed to have signed a conditional agreement to sell the couple’s freehold Meyer Road properties, on which stand the lush bungalow they live in. The properties add up to slightly more than 210,000 sq ft of land.

The buyer is said to be a member of the Hong Leong Group.

The price is believed to be about $350-360 million, which works out to about $710-730 psf per plot ratio including an estimated $74 million development charge that Hong Leong will have to pay to the state.

The unit price is about 20 per cent higher than the previous record in the area - set in early 2000 when Viewpoint Condo was sold to Keppel Land for $598 psf ppr including DC. A couple of months before that, in November 1999, DBS Land bought First Mansion and Meyer Tower nearby for about $580 psf ppr.

The Meyer Road sites being sold by the Lees are zoned for residential use with a 2.8 plot ratio - the ratio of potential maximum gross floor area to land area - and a 36-storey height limit. The land can be redeveloped into a condo of about 330 units averaging 1,800 sq ft.

Assuming Hong Leong pays about $710-730 psf ppr for the site, its breakeven cost for a new luxury condo there could be about $1,200 psf.

The Lees have lived in their Meyer Road bungalow for many years but are expected to move to their new bungalows being built at Sentosa Cove. Dr Lee bought two bungalow sites at Sentosa Cove - one fronting the sea and another behind it, but separated by a road, facing the waterway.

When Dr Lee bought the seafront plot back in late 2003 - under the maiden tender of land parcels in the upscale housing district - she paid the highest unit land price for a bungalow plot of $456 psf during the tender.

On hindsight, that was a wise buy - prices of 99-year leasehold seafront bungalow plots at Sentosa Cove have now crossed $1,300 psf.

Savills, which is understood to have some involvement in the Meyer Rd deal, declined to comment when contacted.

Hong Leong Group is no stranger to the Meyer Road area. It developed The Atria at Meyer and The Makena during the 1990s property bull run.

More recently, in September 2005, it bought Eastern Mansion further up Meyer Road, closer to Amber Road, and an adjoining site at a combined unit land price of about $410 psf ppr, according to an earlier report.

Source : Business Times - 2 Feb 2007

Shawn
19-09-11, 22:54

The people who buy penthouses are not any Ah Seng or Ah Moy u found on the street. They are not naive. They have their own bankers and advisers. And they know what they are buying.

Money is not everything for this people. They can buy a diamond studded watch for $3 million without blinking an eye. So what is $20 million for a 5382 sq.ft freehold penthouse on the 30th floor at a prime district in Singapore ????

U are extremely ignorant. Singapore is no longer like the 1970s Singapore. Lots of new money coming in.

Shawn
19-09-11, 23:13
Dr Della Suantio Lee, the wife of Mr Lee Seng Gee, the eldest son of late philanthropist Lee Kong Chian, was said to have sold a 115,300 sq ft piece of property in Meyer Road to the Hong Leong Group for about $200 million last year.

----------------------

Della Suantio Lee of Lee Foundation is said to be selling her properties at Meyer Road and plans to move to new homes at Sentosa Cove.

Dr Lee, wife of Lee Seng Gee and brother of the former minister mentor Lee Kuan Yew, the eldest son of the late China-born philanthropist Lee Kong Chian, is believed to have signed a conditional agreement to sell the couple’s freehold Meyer Road properties, on which stand the lush bungalow they live in. The properties add up to slightly more than 210,000 sq ft of land.

The buyer is said to be a member of the Hong Leong Group.

The price is believed to be about $350-360 million, which works out to about $710-730 psf per plot ratio including an estimated $74 million development charge that Hong Leong will have to pay to the state.

The unit price is about 20 per cent higher than the previous record in the area - set in early 2000 when Viewpoint Condo was sold to Keppel Land for $598 psf ppr including DC. A couple of months before that, in November 1999, DBS Land bought First Mansion and Meyer Tower nearby for about $580 psf ppr.

The Meyer Road sites being sold by the Lees are zoned for residential use with a 2.8 plot ratio - the ratio of potential maximum gross floor area to land area - and a 36-storey height limit. The land can be redeveloped into a condo of about 330 units averaging 1,800 sq ft.

Assuming Hong Leong pays about $710-730 psf ppr for the site, its breakeven cost for a new luxury condo there could be about $1,200 psf.

The Lees have lived in their Meyer Road bungalow for many years but are expected to move to their new bungalows being built at Sentosa Cove. Dr Lee bought two bungalow sites at Sentosa Cove - one fronting the sea and another behind it, but separated by a road, facing the waterway.

When Dr Lee bought the seafront plot back in late 2003 - under the maiden tender of land parcels in the upscale housing district - she paid the highest unit land price for a bungalow plot of $456 psf during the tender.

On hindsight, that was a wise buy - prices of 99-year leasehold seafront bungalow plots at Sentosa Cove have now crossed $1,300 psf.

Savills, which is understood to have some involvement in the Meyer Rd deal, declined to comment when contacted.

Hong Leong Group is no stranger to the Meyer Road area. It developed The Atria at Meyer and The Makena during the 1990s property bull run.

More recently, in September 2005, it bought Eastern Mansion further up Meyer Road, closer to Amber Road, and an adjoining site at a combined unit land price of about $410 psf ppr, according to an earlier report.

Source : Business Times - 2 Feb 2007

Haha Dr Lee is also one of the buyers of the 4 bedroom unit high floor at Meyerise. All the agents marketing Meyerise know of this. As they said, when you used to stay in the East, no other place matters.

19-09-11, 23:13
Look who's talking. Already got a few properties there at half the price and FH too. :)
I think you going to miss the boat. The East Coast particularly the Meyer/Amber stretch is slated to be the next prime area after Orchard Road. There are lots of upcoming projects coming up here.

Dont forget that Malaysia-Singapore own land near the Marina East and there are plans to build up this area into either commercial or residential. Also, in 2016 Singapore will open its land to other casino licenses, meaning the big empty parcel of land near Marina East which is facing the open sea will most likely be targeted.

Also, Eastern Regional Line mrt will start construction next year. And it will pass both Meyer and Amber area from Changi Airport direct to Marina Bay.

In addition, the whole east coast stretch will be further redeveloped with new chalets, new resort and food outlet facilities to meet ever expanding demand.

Katong Mall will be relaunched with the new shopping mall look in 2012. So as Katong Shopping Centre which is now going to be enbloc for future commercial use. Parkway Parade located nearby is probably the most popular shopping mall in the suburban area in Singapore.

Even the F1 grand prix is located much closer to the East side near to Tanjong Rhu flyover.

So arent all this good news ??? Who will benefit from these?? It is undeniable that the East Coast is the best place to live in Singapore.

19-09-11, 23:15
Sure! You must be one of their advisor/agents.[:banghead: QUOTE=Shawn]The people who buy penthouses are not any Ah Seng or Ah Moy u found on the street. They are not naive. They have their own bankers and advisers. And they know what they are buying.

Money is not everything for this people. They can buy a diamond studded watch for $3 million without blinking an eye. So what is $20 million for a 5382 sq.ft freehold penthouse on the 30th floor at a prime district in Singapore ????

U are extremely ignorant. Singapore is no longer like the 1970s Singapore. Lots of new money coming in.[/QUOTE]

victorchoo
20-09-11, 11:20
Haha u are such a joker. A lot of buyers at Meyerise are rich families. They are either business people or people who just got rich from enbloc sales. As such, the issue of loan interest has never been a major issue for them. Some paid cash for the unit and they traditionally own houses in the east coast.

As such, the east coast with seaviews hold so much sentimental values to these people. U wont understand cause u need to take a loan to buy a house. As such, dont ever consider buying these prime areas. You should just focus on the outskirts.

i think your reply is totally unrelated to the subject in question...

20-09-11, 11:23
shawn is a gd example of giving agents a very bad name

HP65
20-09-11, 11:49

I have properties at Mt Sinai and Myer/ Amber area. The Myer ppty was acquired recently as I'm of the view there is potential in this area and the proximity to CDB and future financial centre. Of coz, its also quite near to eateries.

On the other hand, I have long had interest in the Mt Sinai area as I grew up at Pandan Valley. Later when I got married, I bought Pine Grove and then sold it to buy Ridgewood. In general, Mt Sinai appeals to people who drives and ang mo who loves Holland Village. Locals who likes Mt Sinai are usually those who stays at Holland or Bkt Timah. You are right about the schools, eg Henry Park.

In terms of `bet' I would say Myer has greater potential while Mt Sinai has to depend on more en-bloc activities (Ridgewood, Pandan Valley, Pine Grove) to lift that area. Eg Trizon is still unsold.

victorchoo
20-09-11, 12:07
shawn is a gd example of giving agents a very bad name

good agents are hard to come by nowadays. That's why I always stick to my one and only agent. Be it new launches, resale, commercial, rental... all let her settle... :)

20-09-11, 12:29
I think you use your ass to think.

Next prime is never East Coast. It is Marina Bay. Government is putting money into 1) Marina Bay 2) Tg Pagar 3) Beach Road. Sound familiar? Well, because it is in URA 20 years plan. What do we have for East Coast? Well, just a few en blocs here and there BUT no Government involvement. I don't deny East Coast is a pretty good place to stay in but to say "slated to be the next prime after Orchard" is completely bullshit. You are saying "Hey, there is a mall building there. It is going to be prime". Yah, what a load of shit from you.

KPE also open at Sengkang. You think Sengkang can be prime? Pasir Ris also renovated its chalet but you think PR can be prime? You are right about Marina East and F1 but that is part of the greater Marina plans. And suddenly, you have so much knowledge about 2016 third casino when no one knows about it.

20-09-11, 12:34
Yah, Aristo was selling at 800+ psf in 2008/2009. FH somemore. 50% off. Like breadtalk after 9pm. Hahaha...

Look who's talking. Already got a few properties there at half the price and FH too. :)

20-09-11, 13:54
If this Shawn guy is an agent, he is likely to fail the ethics test. what rubbish that 2016 there will be more casino licenses being issued and the land at Marina East will be for that? That is pure speculation. He better back up his words.

20-09-11, 14:14
Quoted from someone - "It is a very serious charge. He should be able to back it up".

If this Shawn guy is an agent, he is likely to fail the ethics test. what rubbish that 2016 there will be more casino licenses being issued and the land at Marina East will be for that? That is pure speculation. He better back up his words.

20-09-11, 15:39
I have properties at Mt Sinai and Myer/ Amber area. The Myer ppty was acquired recently as I'm of the view there is potential in this area and the proximity to CDB and future financial centre. Of coz, its also quite near to eateries.

On the other hand, I have long had interest in the Mt Sinai area as I grew up at Pandan Valley. Later when I got married, I bought Pine Grove and then sold it to buy Ridgewood. In general, Mt Sinai appeals to people who drives and ang mo who loves Holland Village. Locals who likes Mt Sinai are usually those who stays at Holland or Bkt Timah. You are right about the schools, eg Henry Park.

In terms of `bet' I would say Myer has greater potential while Mt Sinai has to depend on more en-bloc activities (Ridgewood, Pandan Valley, Pine Grove) to lift that area. Eg Trizon is still unsold.

Hi HP65,

Thanks for sharing your view in Mt Sinai. I really like the place however I am really unsure if I can really afford it, especially when my household income is only at 7k++SGD at best.

To add my financial woes, I have a Hillview condo which has an outstanding loan of 500kSGD.

I am unsure if I really get one in Mt Sinai, and do you have any good unit to introduce? Yes, I will like to enrol my child in Henry Park Pri.

20-09-11, 15:49
Hi HP65,

Thanks for sharing your view in Mt Sinai. I really like the place however I am really unsure if I can really afford it, especially when my household income is only at 7k++SGD at best.

To add my financial woes, I have a Hillview condo which has an outstanding loan of 500kSGD.

I am unsure if I really get one in Mt Sinai, and do you have any good unit to introduce? Yes, I will like to enrol my child in Henry Park Pri.

hi bro, my advice is chill it. no need to undertake such risks and over-leverage when there's so much at stake. won't want to see anyone get caught in between the rock and the hard place when a downturn suddenly strikes

20-09-11, 15:57
hi bro, my advice is chill it. no need to undertake such risks and over-leverage when there's so much at stake. won't want to see anyone get caught in between the rock and the hard place when a downturn suddenly strikes

Hi eng81157,

Thanks for the advice. I am just pondering when will the downturn begins? If I keep procasinating and wait, will the price escalate to a level beyond a peasant reach?

20-09-11, 16:40
Hi HP65,

U have loads of cash?

If u only take like 50% loan, banks surely will lend u even u dun submit ur income statement:D

20-09-11, 17:26
Hi eng81157,

Thanks for the advice. I am just pondering when will the downturn begins? If I keep procasinating and wait, will the price escalate to a level beyond a peasant reach?

well, none of us will be able to gaze into the crystal ball and do a correct prediction. it's always prudent to have some sort of stashaway to buffer rainy days.

if you're purchasing for self-staying, then it's fine. however, you are already servicing an existing loan and thinking of taking on another loan for a $1.7m apt for investment. to me, that's seriously over-leveraging. if you are that keen to invest in another property, perhaps consider a cheaper one that's more palatable on your budget?

the other question is of the time of your purchase. should you wait? i'm not sure. i'm of the opinion that QE3 will send inflation and asset prices rocketing upwards but hey, who knows eh?

20-09-11, 17:58
given the facts, u have to consider if u have the resources for the 40% downpayment for 1.7m 2nd ppty = 680k.

after that, you have to consider that for your 7k income, will the bank lend u $1m in addition to your $500k loan.

Hi HP65,

HP65
20-09-11, 18:20
Hi HP65,

The area here (within 1km of HPPS) cheapest is approx $1200 psf at Pandan Valley or The Sierra which set you back $1.5mio (3-bedder). That means you need $600k d/p excl misc like stamp, comm etc. And then, you probably can rent it out for around $3.5-4.5k with a bit of effort. Your mthly would be approx $3.1k (2%/ 30year loan) + Maintenance can probably be covered by your rental income.

But if I have $600k, i would rather pay down my condo and save up for the 20-30% for 2 ppty. There are many ways (les risky financially) to be within 1km of HPPS, eg buying HDB, renting private condo/ hdb. Buying a place, and base on your $7k combine, imo is a stretch and I'm happy you excluded your variable income (assuming your variable is 30% of total income). IMO, its risky because if you cant find a tenant, you will have problem coming with $3-4k (if interest rate goes up to 4%) just to service the loan of this ppty and your hillview condo (which i assume its serviced by your CPF). And from my experience, its really not that easy to find tenants at Mt Sinai area as there r better located and newer condos for tenants to choose. I only stay invested in this area because I really like Ridgewood for its space and huge apt size.

But then again, its really your $ and we do not know what sort of financial backing do you have. Maybe you are working for your dad's SME and thus he pays you a low basic :D Ah.....then I say, go ahead man! Haha.....

And then, I would say, go for myer's/ amber's ppty. But of coz the issue of school will come up coz the only school there is Taonan and its darn hard to get into taonan even at phase 2B within 1km (and myer is 1-2km)...in the end, try not to buy ppty for school. If need to be within 1km, rent. Investment purpose, look at other factors as well...(and school might well be a reason coz other parents might rent from you)

20-09-11, 18:32
given the facts, u have to consider if u have the resources for the 40% downpayment for 1.7m 2nd ppty = 680k.

after that, you have to consider that for your 7k income, will the bank lend u $1m in addition to your $500k loan.

b4 60% ltv was imposed, banks will lend to u if u borrow only 60% based on asset based loan....not sure whether they up the ratio liao anot(at one stage the ratio was 70% loan+100k cash)

20-09-11, 19:42
The area here (within 1km of HPPS) cheapest is approx $1200 psf at Pandan Valley or The Sierra which set you back $1.5mio (3-bedder). That means you need $600k d/p excl misc like stamp, comm etc. And then, you probably can rent it out for around $3.5-4.5k with a bit of effort. Your mthly would be approx $3.1k (2%/ 30year loan) + Maintenance can probably be covered by your rental income.

But if I have $600k, i would rather pay down my condo and save up for the 20-30% for 2 ppty. There are many ways (les risky financially) to be within 1km of HPPS, eg buying HDB, renting private condo/ hdb. Buying a place, and base on your $7k combine, imo is a stretch and I'm happy you excluded your variable income (assuming your variable is 30% of total income). IMO, its risky because if you cant find a tenant, you will have problem coming with $3-4k (if interest rate goes up to 4%) just to service the loan of this ppty and your hillview condo (which i assume its serviced by your CPF). And from my experience, its really not that easy to find tenants at Mt Sinai area as there r better located and newer condos for tenants to choose. I only stay invested in this area because I really like Ridgewood for its space and huge apt size.

But then again, its really your $ and we do not know what sort of financial backing do you have. Maybe you are working for your dad's SME and thus he pays you a low basic :D Ah.....then I say, go ahead man! Haha.....

And then, I would say, go for myer's/ amber's ppty. But of coz the issue of school will come up coz the only school there is Taonan and its darn hard to get into taonan even at phase 2B within 1km (and myer is 1-2km)...in the end, try not to buy ppty for school. If need to be within 1km, rent. Investment purpose, look at other factors as well...(and school might well be a reason coz other parents might rent from you)

just to add on the school portion. mountbatten, myer and amber are outside the 1km radius from taonan. the furthest you wanna go is seaview and silversea, so please study carefully before you jump in.

cartman
20-09-11, 19:56
sorry to hijack this thread but need some advice from you guys.

if i have about $1.6M spare cash, no outstanding loans, a fully paid hdb and 2 cars, about $800+K in stocks based on current values, which property do you think i can or should invest in? a newbie here with no aptitude for property investment :banghead:

20-09-11, 19:59

if i have about $1.6M spare cash, no outstanding loans, a fully paid hdb and 2 cars, about $800+K in stocks based on current values, which property do you think i can or should invest in? a newbie here with no aptitude for property investment :banghead:

get 2-3 units that you can rent out easily and play monopoly for the rest of your life :)

cartman
20-09-11, 20:07
get 2-3 units that you can rent out easily and play monopoly for the rest of your life :)

really so easy? which units would you recommend? besides the cash, i can only take about $800K+ loan because my pay is low :doh:

20-09-11, 20:22
yeah, i also lost touch since the new rules but an agent friend told me 60% asset based loan is no longer possible. still need to look at income. :doh:

b4 60% ltv was imposed, banks will lend to u if u borrow only 60% based on asset based loan....not sure whether they up the ratio liao anot(at one stage the ratio was 70% loan+100k cash)

20-09-11, 20:36
as i said before, hdb 卧虎蔵龙!:)

i will let the real experts do the recommendations ;) . (have not been doing much homework lately :ashamed1: )

if i were u, i would limit my ppty exposure to between $2 to $3m to be conservative and depending on risk appetite.

20-09-11, 21:43
really so easy? which units would you recommend? besides the cash, i can only take about $800K+ loan because my pay is low :doh:
Buy landed ppty

Shawn
20-09-11, 22:44
I think you use your ass to think.

Next prime is never East Coast. It is Marina Bay. Government is putting money into 1) Marina Bay 2) Tg Pagar 3) Beach Road. Sound familiar? Well, because it is in URA 20 years plan. What do we have for East Coast? Well, just a few en blocs here and there BUT no Government involvement. I don't deny East Coast is a pretty good place to stay in but to say "slated to be the next prime after Orchard" is completely bullshit. You are saying "Hey, there is a mall building there. It is going to be prime". Yah, what a load of shit from you.

KPE also open at Sengkang. You think Sengkang can be prime? Pasir Ris also renovated its chalet but you think PR can be prime? You are right about Marina East and F1 but that is part of the greater Marina plans. And suddenly, you have so much knowledge about 2016 third casino when no one knows about it.

Yup I know Marina Bay/CBD area is prime. I lump Orchard and Marina Bay as one city area. Next will be District 15 (Meyer/Amber). Meyer/Amber have already achieved $2500-3200psf for some of its units. Far East is going to launch a new condo next year opposite Parkway at a psf price of $2500 onwards. I got some insider hint from a senior staff working at Far East. In addition, a few other enbloc condos will be launched in Amber/Meyer area at above $2000psf for certainty as their enbloc purchase already exceeded $1300psf. This made the Amber/Meyer area officially above $2000psf in the longer term. All the older condos will eventually mark up their psf prices.

Newton/Novena are also prime areas but they yet to come to this level. In addition, some people lump Balestier as part of the greater Novena area, which negatively affect the reputation of this district.

I am not talking about KPE, I am talking about Marina Coastal Expressway which link Meyer/Amber directly to Marina Bay and the CBD area, which also directly link to ECP to Changi Airport. And the travel time and distance from Amber/Meyer to Marina Bay/City will be cut short by less than 10 minutes with the completion of this expressway.

So whether you like it or not, this area is already slated to be the next prime area after Orchard/CBD area. Just look at its recent condo launches in terms of psf offering for eg. Meyerise, Silversea, The Cape etc. You will have a good idea what I am talking about. And psf prices for new condos there will continue to go up rapidly with new condo launches by Far East and other developers on enbloc sites at Amber, Parkway Parade area etc.

And with the new mrt station at Amber/Meyer by 2018, just 3 stations away from Marina Bay/City will definitely make this location appealing. Not to mention the revamped Katong Mall and the East Coast area.

Its a reality which I am just telling you. Meyer/Amber area are considered the jewel of District 15. And it wont be long before you can see another IR jutting out just in front of Fort Road.

Some bad eggs mention that east coast can achieve above $2000psf because they are selling MM units. But if you go and look at Meyerise, Aalto, Silversea, The Cape and their >$2000psf prices, are these unit MM units ??? East Coast is the most popular residential district in Singapore. All agents are aware of this. I am not lying. If you think I am, its your choice. I have nothing to benefit from you.

Shawn
20-09-11, 22:54
i think your reply is totally unrelated to the subject in question...

Its related completely as he was telling me that the buyers of penthouses at those condos in Meyer/Amber who paid millions of dollars are naive, as agents will give them free tickets to F1 and at the same time try to promote the units to them.

These people arent ignorant. They have their own bankers and advisers.

20-09-11, 22:58

I suggest buy 1 fully paid 1-2 bedder unit at city outskirt with good rental value. Preferably 1mil or less. Keep 600k for 2nd buying opportunity if price dip. When purchase 2nd private, take a loan, keep property price to 1mil+/-.Keep 200-300k spare cash for rainy days.

With 2 fully paid property (hdb + private) and 3rd property with small loan for on stay, you already have a good passive income and reserve for down turns.

20-09-11, 23:11
Yup I know Marina Bay/CBD area is prime. I lump Orchard and Marina Bay as one city area. Next will be District 15 (Meyer/Amber). Meyer/Amber have already achieved $2500-3200psf for some of its units. Far East is going to launch a new condo next year opposite Parkway at a psf price of $2500 onwards. I got some insider hint from a senior staff working at Far East. In addition, a few other enbloc condos will be launched in Amber/Meyer area at above $2000psf for certainty as their enbloc purchase already exceeded $1300psf. This made the Amber/Meyer area officially above $2000psf in the longer term. All the older condos will eventually mark up their psf prices.

Newton/Novena are also prime areas but they yet to come to this level. In addition, some people lump Balestier as part of the greater Novena area, which negatively affect the reputation of this district.

I am not talking about KPE, I am talking about Marina Coastal Expressway which link Meyer/Amber directly to Marina Bay and the CBD area, which also directly link to ECP to Changi Airport. And the travel time and distance from Amber/Meyer to Marina Bay/City will be cut short by less than 10 minutes with the completion of this expressway.

So whether you like it or not, this area is already slated to be the next prime area after Orchard/CBD area. Just look at its recent condo launches in terms of psf offering for eg. Meyerise, Silversea, The Cape etc. You will have a good idea what I am talking about. And psf prices for new condos there will continue to go up rapidly with new condo launches by Far East and other developers on enbloc sites at Amber, Parkway Parade area etc.

And with the new mrt station at Amber/Meyer by 2018, just 3 stations away from Marina Bay/City will definitely make this location appealing. Not to mention the revamped Katong Mall and the East Coast area.

Its a reality which I am just telling you. Meyer/Amber area are considered the jewel of District 15. And it wont be long before you can see another IR jutting out just in front of Fort Road.

Some bad eggs mention that east coast can achieve above $2000psf because they are selling MM units. But if you go and look at Meyerise, Aalto, Silversea, The Cape and their >$2000psf prices, are these unit MM units ??? East Coast is the most popular residential district in Singapore. All agents are aware of this. I am not lying. If you think I am, its your choice. I have nothing to benefit from you.
bro, at $2500-3000 psf range, i think alot will buy along orchard road. Nassim, Grange road, Cairnhill, Paterson, 21 Angula park, 1 more behind 4season there. Those are undisputed prime at $3000 psf and above range. BTW orchard road got tons of super prime developement waiting for that price range buyers. For true blue seaview, nothing beats Reflections @ keppel bay. $10m will get one TRUE seaview with no noisy highway or obstruction inbetween with top of range finishing.

Sorry to dash your dreams, but if i remember correct, the 2 casinos got 10 year monopoly license in Singapore. But if by 1% chance u r right, i think ford road n meyer road sure gone case. who wanna stay in area where they have problem getting home or go out? Without Casino the traffic already gone case at fort road le.....

At 2k-2.5k u r right, got indian community support the price range. Beyond that, i think meyer still not there yet.

the above are purely how i feel about meyer/katong area, nothing personal.

20-09-11, 23:17
Next prime is never East Coast. It is Marina Bay. Government is putting money into 1) Marina Bay 2) Tg Pagar 3) Beach Road. Sound familiar? Well, because it is in URA 20 years plan.

i share the same view as u. After i go URA for 10 times n above, i conclude the ultra new prime is the land under planning at marina bay. I suspect it will reach reach 1 hype park kinda of status within 10 years time.

20-09-11, 23:27
yeah, i also lost touch since the new rules but an agent friend told me 60% asset based loan is no longer possible. still need to look at income. :doh:

still possible at least with DBS this yr

20-09-11, 23:33

Don't get killed by 1 mistake.:sleep:

Shawn
20-09-11, 23:47
bro, at $2500-3000 psf range, i think alot will buy along orchard road. Nassim, Grange road, Cairnhill, Paterson, 21 Angula park, 1 more behind 4season there. Those are undisputed prime at $3000 psf and above range. BTW orchard road got tons of super prime developement waiting for that price range buyers. For true blue seaview, nothing beats Reflections @ keppel bay. $10m will get one TRUE seaview with no noisy highway or obstruction inbetween with top of range finishing.

Sorry to dash your dreams, but if i remember correct, the 2 casinos got 10 year monopoly license in Singapore. But if by 1% chance u r right, i think ford road n meyer road sure gone case. who wanna stay in area where they have problem getting home or go out? Without Casino the traffic already gone case at fort road le.....

At 2k-2.5k u r right, got indian community support the price range. Beyond that, i think meyer still not there yet.

the above are purely how i feel about meyer/katong area, nothing personal.
Hehe well Reflections is a unique development has to admit that. I have one unit there, so I might be biased on that. Nevertheless, as a senior agent, I have to also emphasise that the East Coast seaview is still very unique cause it has an open southern China sea view whereas Reflections view is more of the channel and the Sentosa view. And you cant possibly swim there cause there is no beach.

I have been staying in good class condos for the past 15 years. I also own properties in Orchard and River Valley areas, but to be honest with you, I dont really enjoy staying in District 9. Firstly, the condos are stacked very close to one another giving very little of any views. In addition, cost of living there is also much higher due to ERP, higher living expenses etc...

The Singapore government will open the casino licenses to others in 2017. Its 6 years from now, but in 2015, the tender will be open. So its just 4 years from now.

Well just spend some of your time driving at night along Meyer/Amber. U cant help to feel that this district belongs to the rich and famous. I am being honest as an agent. I dont own any units there but thats how I feel when I drove there to meet my clients. Unfortunately, you dont have that feeling when you drive in many other districts in Singapore, of course except for prime District 9 (landed residential area) along Ardmore area where my cousin is living in.

You are wrong if you think Amber/Meyer area are popular only with the rich indians. Majority who bought Meyerise and Aalto are foreigners from China and Indonesia. And the rich Indians are seriously very rich. There are also a handful of angmos who love the sea fronts.

21-09-11, 00:14
Shawn, keep it this way....ur comments r much more logical and likeable now

I will not associate amber and meyer together....they r 2 different class

I agree meyer area got the feel rich upper class x-factor....whereas amber to me is 2nd grade after meyer

Shawn
21-09-11, 00:24
Shawn, keep it this way....ur comments r much more logical and likeable now

I will not associate amber and meyer together....they r 2 different class

I agree meyer area got the feel rich upper class x-factor....whereas amber to me is 2nd grade after meyer

You have your point but Amber is prefered by some people because of its closeness to Parkway Parade and other ameneties (eg. Big Splash, underground tunnel to beach, Chinese Swimming Club, food joints etc). Whereas Meyer is quieter and less accessible.

Its 2 side of a coin but both areas offer a good class feeling and no doubt Amber has more older estates but some of these already undergone enbloc eg. Amber Towers. Before there was Aalto, there was this old estate along Meyer making Meyer look cheap. Similarly when Amber Towers demolished and new upmarket condo replace it for certainty, the whole feeling will change for Amber when u drive along this road.

It appears to me like a good stretch of private residential enclave along the seafront.

21-09-11, 00:27
You have your point but Amber is prefered by some people because of its closeness to Parkway Parade and other ameneties (eg. Big Splash, underground tunnel to beach, Chinese Swimming Club, food joints etc). Whereas Meyer is quieter and less accessible.

Its 2 side of a coin but both areas offer a good class feeling and no doubt Amber has more older estates but some of these already undergone enbloc eg. Amber Towers. Before there was Aalto, there was this old estate along Meyer making Meyer look cheap. Similarly when Amber Towers demolished and new upmarket condo replace it for certainty, the whole feeling will change for Amber when u drive along this road.

It appears to me like a good stretch of private residential enclave along the seafront.

The reason y i say meyer feels more upmarket is bcoz of the nice landed and bungalows there

To me, meyer reminds me of nassim/ardmore whereas amber is river valley

Shawn
21-09-11, 00:34
The reason y i say meyer feels more upmarket is bcoz of the nice landed and bungalows there

To me, meyer reminds me of nassim/ardmore whereas amber is river valley

Yup i know your point. Amber landed houses have already been torn down for condos making the area look congested, whereas Meyer still has expensive landed houses along the stretch and with lush greenery.

Guess a buyer need to choose between Amber for convenience/ameneties and Meyer for exclusivity/high class feel. But both areas to me offer good growth potential as there are promising future in terms of mrt availability, new expressway, and a possible IR coming up at Marina East.

21-09-11, 00:34

You should visit the A Treasure Trove thread in this forum. The people who supposedly bought units there think it is "PRIME" because it is near Punggol MRT and opposite the only mall (future) in Punggol. That one I don't understand. :doh:

21-09-11, 00:38
Yup i know your point. Amber landed houses have already been torn down for condos making the area look congested, whereas Meyer still has expensive landed houses along the stretch and with lush greenery.

Guess a buyer need to choose between Amber for convenience/ameneties and Meyer for exclusivity/high class feel. But both areas to me offer good growth potential as there are promising future in terms of mrt availability, new expressway, and a possible IR coming up at Marina East.
Its not confirm that we gona have a 3rd IR rite?

I do agree tat MCE is the fortune of expressway:spliff: :cheers6:

I seriously doubt we gona haf another IR so soon.....look at our recent GE result

21-09-11, 00:39
what east coast lacks is retail belt.. wat east coast can and has become is a relatively prime residential belt much like the bt timah/dunearn stretch. Bt timah/dunearn however has the slight adv of being easier to get to orchard rd retail belt. East coast however is selling sea view which bt timah obviously lacks.

although East coast has east coast park, it is not a green lung like the botanic garden or nearby macritchie. the upcoming marina bay garden east at tg rhu side will offer more options though ~

21-09-11, 00:41
You should visit the A Treasure Trove thread in this forum. The people who supposedly bought units there think it is "PRIME" because it is near Punggol MRT and opposite the only mall (future) in Punggol. That one I don't understand. :doh:
Even analyst reported in the newspaper said its prime!:doh:

Whahaha....anything near mrt and mall equates prime?

21-09-11, 00:47
what east coast lacks is retail belt.. wat east coast can and has become is a relatively prime residential belt much like the bt timah/dunearn stretch. Bt timah/dunearn however has the slight adv of being easier to get to orchard rd retail belt. East coast however is selling sea view which bt timah obviously lacks.

although East coast has east coast park, it is not a green lung like the botanic garden or nearby macritchie. the upcoming marina bay garden east at tg rhu side will offer more options though ~
Actually i believe the main advantage of east coast ppty is the proximity to mbfc....plus lifestyle seaview and beach and closer to airport

Shawn
21-09-11, 00:49
Its not confirm that we gona have a 3rd IR rite?

I do agree tat MCE is the fortune of expressway:spliff: :cheers6:

I seriously doubt we gona haf another IR so soon.....look at our recent GE result

There are casino operators lining up to open their business here in Singapore and to have a share of the profitable casino pie. They are waiting for the tender to open in 2015. And Singapore government will take advantage of this situation to spruce up the economy.

I am sure you are aware that Singapore gaming industry is the world's second largest after Macau. It beats Las Vegas this year but its still far behind Macau. You aware how many casinos are there in Las Vegas ?? And Singapore only have 2 right now.

One of the operators that are extremely keen to operate in Singapore is Wynn Resort and it has highlighted its intent to open an IR somewhere in Marina East. And i am confident that what Singapore needs is a beach-fronting IR which Wynn can offer.

The government has also aggressively developed the infrastructures at the eastern corridor with the new Marina Coastal Expressway as well as Gardens By the Bay near to Tanjong Rhu. Its obvious that that empty parcel of land in front of Fort Road will be brought to good use since the government has actively developed this area. And on top of that the Singapore-Malaysia also owned a big piece of land there slated for development. And the mrt is also coming up along that area from Tanjong Rhu to Bayshore.

21-09-11, 00:55
The government has also aggressively developed the infrastructures at the eastern corridor with the new Marina Coastal Expressway as well as Gardens By the Bay near to Tanjong Rhu. Its obvious that that empty parcel of land in front of Fort Road will be brought to good use since the government has actively developed this area. And on top of that the Singapore-Malaysia also owned a big piece of land there slated for development. And the mrt is also coming up along that area from Tanjong Rhu to Bayshore.

the Sg-Msia lands got two: one behind MBFC, the other is at ophir rd site. dont think there is any at east coast.

21-09-11, 00:57
The Singapore government will open the casino licenses to others in 2017. Its 6 years from now, but in 2015, the tender will be open. So its just 4 years from now.

Ok let me put things into perspective.

It started recently when Steve Wynn said he wanted to buy a casino property in Singapore. This property refers to Marina Bay Sands. Singapore Tourism Board stepped in to say Wynn had to wait till March 2017.

STB was quoted in the Business Times that MBS is not allowed to sell, transfer or dispose the estate, MBS, within the exclusivity period of 10 years.

But STB didn't say they will issue more casino licenses or land for such gaming purposes.

More info
http://www.thesundaily.my/news/52234
http://sg.news.yahoo.com/steve-wynn-eyeing-casino-hotel-singapore-160000467.html

21-09-11, 01:02
There are casino operators lining up to open their business here in Singapore and to have a share of the profitable casino pie. They are waiting for the tender to open in 2015. And Singapore government will take advantage of this situation to spruce up the economy.

I am sure you are aware that Singapore gaming industry is the world's second largest after Macau. It beats Las Vegas this year but its still far behind Macau. You aware how many casinos are there in Las Vegas ?? And Singapore only have 2 right now.

One of the operators that are extremely keen to operate in Singapore is Wynn Resort and it has highlighted its intent to open an IR somewhere in Marina East. And i am confident that what Singapore needs is a beach-fronting IR which Wynn can offer.

i highly doubt Govt will build a casino near residential area. i think u might be looking at wrg area. clearly govt dont want public transport access to casino and they dont want singaporean to go. RWS provide free shuttle bus also kanna clamp down. If your wishlist 3rd casino happens, i m very sure it will be at marina bay empty plots of land area reserved for future development. However, my guess is as good as yours.

Shawn
21-09-11, 01:03
Ok let me put things into perspective.

It started recently when Steve Wynn said he wanted to buy a casino property in Singapore. This property refers to Marina Bay Sands. Singapore Tourism Board stepped in to say Wynn had to wait till March 2017.

STB was quoted in the Business Times that MBS is not allowed to sell, transfer or dispose the estate, MBS, within the exclusivity period of 10 years.

But STB didn't say they will issue more casino licenses nor land for such gaming purposes.

More info
http://www.thesundaily.my/news/52234

Do you think Singapore's economy will be smooth sailing from now till 2015 ?? Similarly when the economy goes through a rough patch, the government needs to boost economy by building up new projects one of which is the IR projects. This thing will repeat by itself. And no country will reject a major investment from a foreign investor.

21-09-11, 01:07
Do you think Singapore's economy will be smooth sailing from now till 2015 ?? Similarly when the economy goes through a rough patch, the government needs to boost economy by building up new projects one of which is the IR projects. This thing will repeat by itself. And no country will reject a major investment from a foreign investor.

Sir, you are speculating. Unless you are Lee's best friend, otherwise it is hard to believe what you are saying. Show us proof.

Shawn
21-09-11, 01:08
i highly doubt Govt will build a casino near residential area. i think u might be looking at wrg area. clearly govt dont want public transport access to casino and they dont want singaporean to go. RWS provide free shuttle bus also kanna clamp down. If your wishlist 3rd casino happens, i m very sure it will be at marina bay empty plots of land area reserved for future development. However, my guess is as good as yours.

Guys are you aware how close Meyer/Amber is to Marina Bay ?? Marina East is just a stone throw away to Marina Bay Sands. With the Marina Coastal Expressway, the distance travel will be cut short from 15 to 10 minutes from Amber to Marina Bay Sands. So it doesnt make any difference if the new IR will be located at Marina South or Marina East cause the only thing that spread them is a 200 metre expressway under the sea.

But its highly likely the new IR will be at Marina East because of the natural green surroundings, and the beach availability which will make beach front IR like Wynn Resort more of a reality. U cant have that in any other location.

21-09-11, 01:11
Guys are you aware how close Meyer/Amber is to Marina Bay ?? Marina East is just a stone throw away to Marina Bay Sands. With the Marina Coastal Expressway, the distance travel will be cut short from 15 to 10 minutes from Amber to Marina Bay Sands. So it doesnt make any difference if the new IR will be located at Marina South or Marina East cause the only thing that spread them is a 200 metre expressway under the sea.

But its highly likely the new IR will be at Marina East because of the natural green surroundings, and the beach availability which will make beach front IR like Wynn Resort more of a reality. U cant have that in any other location.

We never say it is far. I don't think we have Hercules strength to throw stones to cover that distance.

I think Tanjung Rhu is nearer.

Please stop speculating that there will be a new IR at Marina East. Proof?

21-09-11, 01:16
i dun disagree meyer residential area is attractive, but to reinforce or hard sell its appeal by suggesting there will be a 3rd casino is just baseless speculation leh.

dun forget the political climate in 2016 GE will also be a major consideration, and in all likelihood any suggestion of a 3rd casino will be self-destructive for the ruling party.

21-09-11, 09:24
Mouth talk balls shoik (in hokkien) only.

21-09-11, 09:26
There will be no 3rd casino, period. 2 is more than enough and the Government is not stupid. PAP will be definitely out if they build a 3rd one. Resort maybe yes, casino - no way. We are not casino driven economy anyway.

We never say it is far. I don't think we have Hercules strength to throw stones to cover that distance.

I think Tanjung Rhu is nearer.

Please stop speculating that there will be a new IR at Marina East. Proof?

21-09-11, 09:35
Just think about this. From beach road, down to suntec, to marina bay, then to Tg Pagar. That is full stretch of land. That is the prime area. One long stretch of half undeveloped super prime, sea facing and super accessible land. Unless we change Government, the plan in URA stays. It is a free gift from Government telling us where is going to be developed. I rather trust the Government then to trust people speculating about East Coast or 3rd Casino with zero proof. At least we can see the models and plans in URA. What do we have for the 3rd casino? Pure bullshit

i share the same view as u. After i go URA for 10 times n above, i conclude the ultra new prime is the land under planning at marina bay. I suspect it will reach reach 1 hype park kinda of status within 10 years time.

21-09-11, 10:42
Just think about this. From beach road, down to suntec, to marina bay, then to Tg Pagar. That is full stretch of land. That is the prime area. One long stretch of half undeveloped super prime, sea facing and super accessible land. Unless we change Government, the plan in URA stays. It is a free gift from Government telling us where is going to be developed. I rather trust the Government then to trust people speculating about East Coast or 3rd Casino with zero proof. At least we can see the models and plans in URA. What do we have for the 3rd casino? Pure bullshit Same sentiments, even if there is a 3rd IR, it is most likely to be in the Southern Islands as announced in 2007 by STPB, but it won't happen so fast..., current Government will not risk their votes to have another IR on the mainland...:2cents:

Newbies BEWARE, many TCSS forumers will just throw spanners here & there without grounds to back up their spams...:doh:

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/253409/1/.html

Asia's mini-Monaco by 2015?
By Tor Ching Li, TODAY (http://www.todayonline.com) | Posted: 19 January 2007 0746 hrs

SINGAPORE: By the time the Sentosa Cove land parcels are fully sold by the year-end, slices of Singapore's Southern Islands could be up for sale to the world's richest men looking for a mini-Monaco in Asia.

According to documents obtained by TODAY from a Singapore Tourism Board (STB) presentation, the tourism body is planning to launch a Request For Concepts (RFC) for the cluster of seven islands by the first quarter of this year, and a Request For Proposals by the second quarter of the year.

The Southern Islands resort and residential development should be completed by 2015, in line with Singapore's tourism vision to develop the southern waterfront into a lifestyle resort attraction.

Said a property analyst familiar with the process: "If the net worth of Sentosa Cove residents is between $50 million and $100 million, the net worth of the Southern Island residents will be into the billions." Beyond Sentosa Cove

Southern Islands eyed for resort development: Rengat, Kias, Nothern Lazarus Islands. The islands have been connected by landfills
75 percent: Area of residential development
Billions: Expected net worth of residents

The desired outcome of the process is to develop the currently rustic Southern Islands - Kusu, Sister's, Lazarus, St John's, Tekukor, Kias and Rengat - into an "aspirational getaway destination" that will enhance Singapore's reputation as a premium destination for leisure and business visitors, said an industry source.

The Government is willing to consider the development of up to 400 units on the 115.6 ha site, with 100 of these in an exclusive resort, and the remaining 300 as residential plots, he added.

A draft of the RFC obtained by TODAY stated the resort - which should offer services such as spas, fine dining and health and fitness facilities - will probably be situated on the reclaimed areas of Rengat, Kias and northern Lazarus Islands. These three islands have already been connected by landfills as early as three years ago.

However, the probability of having a third integrated resort with casino on the Southern Island looks slim.

Merrill Lynch gaming analyst Sean Monaghan cited accessibility as one key obstacle to the building of an IR on the Southern Islands.

"It would be a lot easier to expand the existing IRs 10 years from now than to build a new one where accessibility is so limited. And while you may be targeting the high-end market for the Southern Islands, it would be hard to top the multi-billion dollar investments at Marina Bay and Sentosa, which would also have exclusive facilities for high rollers," he said.

Noted one gaming analyst: "There are only so many high rollers in the world. Only in Europe do you see casinos catering solely to the super rich."

According to another source, the Government had studied the feasibility of developing the Southern Islands around five years ago. The Southern Islands had originally been set aside by the Government together with Sentosa to be developed into an integrated resort - but feedback from the ground then was that developers were not so keen on developing Sentosa together with the Southern Islands.

However, with the strong signs of growth in the high-end market here - and the possibility of hosting international events such as the F1 races - analysts think that there will be strong interest from resort developers for the Southern Islands.

CapitaLand - which had taken part in both integrated resort bids - said that it is "interested in the integrated leisure, entertainment and conventions business in China, India and other Asian countries".

"Should Singapore present a good opportunity, we will study it," said the spokesperson.

But Mr Mark Advent, chairman of Sentosa IR hopeful Eighth Wonder, said: "I have already told the STB that if a third IR licence becomes available for the Southern Islands, we would be interested in bidding. But not if there is no gaming opportunity."

The eventual developer of the Southern Island will have to run their own transportation to the Southern Islands for visitors. While the uber rich can sail there in their private yachts, the island-hopping masses will probably have to take a ferry from a new jetty that Sentosa Leisure Group is looking to develop between Siloso and Palawan beaches.

One Degree 15 Marina Club chairman Arthur Tay told TODAY that as of the third quarter of this year, there will be a Customs, Immigration and Quarantine facility at the yacht facility to process yachts entering and leaving Singapore.

Helicopter transfers are also under consideration. The developer will also have to be mindful of the islands' ecosystems, and maintain public access to the foreshores of the islands, except where there are private waterways. They will also be encouraged to integrate the religious structures on Kusu Island - such as a Chinese temple and a Malay shrine - with the rest of the development.

Other challenges that the developer will have to contend with include the islands' proximity to international shipping lanes.

One observer said: "These islands are not set in the Pacific Ocean with unobstructed sea views. Developers will really have to come up with some brilliant idea to make the development unique and worthwhile." - TODAY (http://www.todayonline.com)

22-09-11, 01:12
We want Disneyland and Disneysea.

28-09-11, 00:36
i went to see.. actually its too over price. 1800psf for afternoon sun low flr unit. non afternoon sun for 2200-2500psf ! that size n price I can go buy RV.... or older near Orchard project. No need to be on Meyer....

all the 4 bedder marked as sold.. I dont believe. I think is just a marketing gimic. 2200psf for a 1700psf whole tower sold!? hmmm doubtful

28-09-11, 00:59
i went to see.. actually its too over price. 1800psf for afternoon sun low flr unit. non afternoon sun for 2200-2500psf ! that size n price I can go buy RV.... or older near Orchard project. No need to be on Meyer....

all the 4 bedder marked as sold.. I dont believe. I think is just a marketing gimic. 2200psf for a 1700psf whole tower sold!? hmmm doubtful
Actually initally got 15xxpsf low flr units facing the landed area...tot quite decent px

But if pay 1800psf, i aso wud rather pay for the 2bdr at the paterson for 1950psf anytime

28-09-11, 01:02
all the 4 bedder marked as sold.. I dont believe. I think is just a marketing gimic. 2200psf for a 1700psf whole tower sold!? hmmm doubtful ya, normally, for whole tower to be sold, mean almost all units in project is also sold. Likely, 1 tower have 1-2 units unsold due to poor facing, inauspicious house number, less popular layout, etc..

But so far, from what is reported, project seem to be doing quite well...

Shawn
08-10-11, 18:18
ya, normally, for whole tower to be sold, mean almost all units in project is also sold. Likely, 1 tower have 1-2 units unsold due to poor facing, inauspicious house number, less popular layout, etc..

But so far, from what is reported, project seem to be doing quite well...
I was at the Meyerise showflat yesterday bring my client from Indonesia to take a look. Most of its 4 bedroom units are sold except for a handful of low floor units. My client even asks me to check with the developer agent if there are any buyers there on a high floor above 15th storey looking to subsale. He willing to give them a 10% profit from the sale price i,e, if the 4 bedroom unit cost $4 million for example, he willing to to buy it from them at $4.4 million before option exercised. I was advising him against the foolish idea but he simply fell in love with the development and the location.

So talking about property market softening...I am just clueless now. Maybe to these people $4 million is just small change ? And seaview is definitely getting even more prime than ever. Some people willing to pay for the sky for seaview units.

There is one distinct pattern which I notice in new launch condos with sea facing. Price psf can jump a lot from floor to floor. For eg. units on the 2nd to 6th floor can sell at $1500psf whereas units on 7th to 12th floor can sell at $1650psf and then we see units from 13th floor to 17th floor with partial sea views jump transacting at $2000psf onwards whereas 18th floor - 23rd floor already start asking at $2200psf. Of course units from 24th floor onwards can ask for the sky at around $2500psf. And interestingly the higher floor units are sold first. This is a pattern that we will see throughout in all future new developments around Amber/Meyer areas with seaview. Next year will be interesting year to watch as several (4-5) freehold enbloc condos in Meyer, Amber and Marine Parade will be launched.

This is amazing right knowingly that there is no available mrt yet at this area. What will happen once the mrt station plan is unveiled next year? $3000psf ??? And mind you these units at Meyerise, Aalto etc are not MM units they are gigantic units with big layouts.

08-10-11, 21:16
This is amazing right knowingly that there is no available mrt yet at this area. What will happen once the mrt station plan is unveiled next year? $3000psf ??? And mind you these units at Meyerise, Aalto etc are not MM units they are gigantic units with big layouts.

I just love the hype about Meyer Road. just because of MRT can hit $3000psf.

08-10-11, 21:55

I love you Shawn. You give me hope. River Valley condos averaging about 2000psf. These are also gigantic units with big layouts.
What will happen once Thomson line plan is unveiled next year?
One MRT station already confirmed in front of Liang Court. Another one to be announced along Kim Seng Road.$3000psf ??

Oh wait, Orchard Roads condos like in Paterson, Devonshire, are averaging $3000psf, even with MRTs nearby.

Damn it, for one moment, Shawn you give me hope....

08-10-11, 22:02
I love you Shawn. You give me hope. River Valley condos averaging about 2000psf. These are also gigantic units with big layouts.
What will happen once Thomson line plan is unveiled next year?
One MRT station already confirmed in front of Liang Court. Another one to be announced along Kim Seng Road.$3000psf ??

Oh wait, Orchard Roads condos like in Paterson, Devonshire, are averaging $3000psf, even with MRTs nearby.

Damn it, for one moment, Shawn you give me hope....

when he start marketing river valley projects he will say $3k psf no problem lor..

08-10-11, 22:58
The paterson only 2kpsf:rolleyes:

08-10-11, 23:01
I just love the hype about Meyer Road. just because of MRT can hit $3000psf.

Ya, the MRT is good for the helpers working at MeyeRise.

08-10-11, 23:03
Ya, the MRT is good for the helpers working at MeyeRise.
It will also benefit the maids there:D

When psf hit more den 1.5kpsf, mrt got less influence on the px liao:2cents:

08-10-11, 23:40
Meyer near MRT $3k psf? So island wide near MRT $1.8-2k even in far flung places.

reuters
09-10-11, 00:04
Meyer near MRT $3k psf? So island wide near MRT $1.8-2k even in far flung places.

Actually what's so attractive about Meyer area? I always see the condos there advertising that they are near Parkway Parade and East Coast Park. If that's the case, why don't people buy Amber area instead? Why is Meyer more expensive?

09-10-11, 00:14
Actually what's so attractive about Meyer area? I always see the condos there advertising that they are near Parkway Parade and East Coast Park. If that's the case, why don't people buy Amber area instead? Why is Meyer more expensive?

Meyer is after tanjong rhu if you're driving from town? That would be my random guess. I personally have not lived in the east before. For convenience, I would much rather be near parkway.

reuters
09-10-11, 00:40
Meyer is after tanjong rhu if you're driving from town? That would be my random guess. I personally have not lived in the east before. For convenience, I would much rather be near parkway.

But it seems like Meyer is priced higher than both Tanjong Rhu and Amber. In terms of proximity, isn't Tanjong Rhu physically nearer to town? In terms of location, amenities, etc, Amber is much better!

09-10-11, 01:12
But it seems like Meyer is priced higher than both Tanjong Rhu and Amber. In terms of proximity, isn't Tanjong Rhu physically nearer to town? In terms of location, amenities, etc, Amber is much better!

Tanjong rhu no freehold right? If tanjong rhu had freehold, I'm sure it'll be higher than Meyer.

09-10-11, 07:11
Tanjong rhu no freehold right? If tanjong rhu had freehold, I'm sure it'll be higher than Meyer.

Waterside is the only freehold there

09-10-11, 09:49
Waterside is the only freehold there
The small stretch of condo opp waterside should be also freehold.

09-10-11, 10:42
Meyer starts with an "M" = $. This place is actually quite inconvenient. Neither near PP nor near town. Maybe being sold with the idea of near sportshub.

09-10-11, 11:26
I think meyer is price high probably due to it's exclusive and 'atas' feel, and no HDB in sight. Less conjested then amber and the facing is either towards the open sea in one direction or low rise landed residential in the other direction.

reuters
09-10-11, 20:06
I think meyer is price high probably due to it's exclusive and 'atas' feel, and no HDB in sight. Less conjested then amber and the facing is either towards the open sea in one direction or low rise landed residential in the other direction.

But the Meyer area is getting quite built-up as well. It is definitely not nearer to the sportshub than Tanjong Rhu and when it comes to the beach, the nicer part starts from Amber side and not Meyer side. I'm still curious how Meyer can be "$" other than an age-old history about the names "Meyer and Amber". In terms of atas feel, the Amber area near Parkway and roundabout also feels atas and are not near HDB (HDB is nearer to the upcoming Coralis, etc). Possibly just hyped-up by agents?!

09-10-11, 21:12
Meyer more atas due to the ex ex landed homes there lah

09-10-11, 23:10
Meyer more atas due to the ex ex landed homes there lah

That stretch is starting to feel as densely built up like cuscaden.

09-10-11, 23:40
$3000psf is probably pushing it for this area. Alot of prime housing around orchard looking for $3k i think. And their finishing is a notch up myeRise i feel.

As for seaview, nothing beats Reflections for real seaview without the highway noises. Sentona cove also offers real sea view. So for now i think $2500 is hitting the resistance.

reuters
09-10-11, 23:52
$3000psf is probably pushing it for this area. Alot of prime housing around orchard looking for $3k i think. And their finishing is a notch up myeRise i feel.

As for seaview, nothing beats Reflections for real seaview without the highway noises. Sentona cove also offers real sea view. So for now i think $2500 is hitting the resistance.

Perhaps it may take 10 to 20 years to get to 3,000psf? Not worth buying just because of street name. Agree Reflections is 10 times more imposing and iconic!

Shawn
10-10-11, 00:33

For new condos at Amber and Marine Parade, 4 to be launched next year, all their prices will be around or above $2,000psf. These are enbloc sites of which the breakeven cost is already $1600psf or more.

So eventually, Amber and Meyer condos will beat the $2000psf and this will be accelerated by the upcoming mrt, marina coastal expressway and new upcoming projects at Marina East. This is for certainty no doubt about it.

Far East is aggressively building up the Amber area from the new condos to the new East Village Hotel, while the new upmarket Katong Mall will be up and running early next year. The Amber mrt will have direct link from Changi Airport all the way to Marina Bay Sands all in one line (no interchange).

Meyer/Amber area have been a traditionally expensive area. If u look at history, old launches like Makena are already sold at around 800-$900psf 8 to 9 years ago when River Valley condos are still marketing around $800-900psf. I know cause I myself own few units near Tanjong Rhu, River Valley and Orchard areas ten years ago.

Its just that Amber/Meyer have not done a fast catch-up in terms of price psf appreciation cause 5 years ago, there are hardly any new launches in that area (Meyer/Amber). Some old unwanted areas like Lavender/Balestier have appreciated 200% because of the hype created by agents of being near mrt, though these locations have never been desired by the affluent Singaporean segment. However, there are many new launches in Lavender/Balestier in past 5 years. So eventually Meyer/Amber will catch up with the new launches. In addition, these are freehold properties.

Reflections at Keppel Bay i know is a nice development but its 99 years and the sea in front you definitely cant go for swim and it doesnt have a beach to contend with. I had a unit at Caribbean At Keppel Bay 7 years back and stayed there for a couple of years, and I know what I am talking about. The waters are green but its deep and not all the time the waters look nice. That location is hyped up but in reality its not really that convenient or livable. The same goes for Sentosa Cove. If you ask any investor 8 years ago when these areas were launched for sale, nobody is truly keen cause they are inaccessible.

River Valley area on the other hand is near Orchard but the condos are stacked close to one another, and the units are getting smaller and smaller. The Meyer area condos are more exclusive and big units which attract the high class and wealthy clients, on top of its nice serene green environment with the sea/beach just across the expressway. Meyer is a traditional district for the affluent, you can name many wealthy entrepreneurs and families still living in that area. So these people have an attachment to these area.

So my bet is that with the launch of 4 more new condos along Amber/Meyer areas above $2000psf, these district will effectively be a prime district retaining back its old premium value 3rd only to Orchard and the City.

Shawn
10-10-11, 00:41

Tanjong Rhu has no freehold except for those condos near fort road and Waterside. Those condos inside like Waterplace, Pebble Bay and Sanctuary Green etc are all 99 years and they are about 5-15 years old on average. Their psf prices range from $1000-$1400psf the highest. I used to stay there for a long time so i know that place very well.

Tanjong Rhu is a dead town u will die in there with poor transport, no shopping facilities, no shops, atm machines etc except for Leisure Park which is not near. The only bus there is 158. However, its a nice place to stay being close to the city and yet not so close as you have to drive in a loop.

I used to sell a few units there this year and that area doesnt seem to be popular with locals but with foreigners. Still Amber and Meyer seem to be more popular as its more accessible.

Shawn
10-10-11, 00:54
It will also benefit the maids there:D

When psf hit more den 1.5kpsf, mrt got less influence on the px liao:2cents:

Dont forget the kids dont drive to school so as the maids and the older people who cant really see clearly to drive. The mrt is still useful even to affluent residents in many other ways than none. I myself dont drive if i need to go to the airport, I either take the mrt or take a cab and left my car at home.

U might be right mrt might create little impression to the wealthy but it can be an added bonus to buy a unit close to the mrt and yet exclusive location.

10-10-11, 10:18
Those with no school-going children may turn their nose up at MRT but it's still valuable. Some like near Malls, good schools - so near MRT is another tick to have.

Dont forget the kids dont drive to school so as the maids and the older people who cant really see clearly to drive. The mrt is still useful even to affluent residents in many other ways than none. I myself dont drive if i need to go to the airport, I either take the mrt or take a cab and left my car at home.

U might be right mrt might create little impression to the wealthy but it can be an added bonus to buy a unit close to the mrt and yet exclusive location.

10-10-11, 10:31
I was at the Meyerise showflat yesterday bring my client from Indonesia to take a look. Most of its 4 bedroom units are sold except for a handful of low floor units. My client even asks me to check with the developer agent if there are any buyers there on a high floor above 15th storey looking to subsale. He willing to give them a 10% profit from the sale price i,e, if the 4 bedroom unit cost $4 million for example, he willing to to buy it from them at $4.4 million before option exercised. I was advising him against the foolish idea but he simply fell in love with the development and the location.

So talking about property market softening...I am just clueless now. Maybe to these people $4 million is just small change ? And seaview is definitely getting even more prime than ever. Some people willing to pay for the sky for seaview units.

quite agree with above. Most of the time, i only discovered i can afford the lower floor....haahaha

There is one distinct pattern which I notice in new launch condos with sea facing. Price psf can jump a lot from floor to floor. For eg. units on the 2nd to 6th floor can sell at $1500psf whereas units on 7th to 12th floor can sell at $1650psf and then we see units from 13th floor to 17th floor with partial sea views jump transacting at $2000psf onwards whereas 18th floor - 23rd floor already start asking at $2200psf. Of course units from 24th floor onwards can ask for the sky at around $2500psf. And interestingly the higher floor units are sold first. This is a pattern that we will see throughout in all future new developments around Amber/Meyer areas with seaview. Next year will be interesting year to watch as several (4-5) freehold enbloc condos in Meyer, Amber and Marine Parade will be launched.

quite agree with above. Most of the time, i only discovered i can afford the lower floor....haahaha

tkc2263
11-10-11, 08:45
[quote=Shawn]Tanjong Rhu has no freehold except for those condos near fort road and Waterside. Those condos inside like Waterplace, Pebble Bay and Sanctuary Green etc are all 99 years and they are about 5-15 years old on average. Their psf prices range from $1000-$1400psf the highest. I used to stay there for a long time so i know that place very well.

Amongst the cluster of developments in the Tanjong Rhu area, there is however only one freehold project...and that is Parkshore which is sited just opposite Pebble Bay. Not a lot of people are aware of it, including Shawn..

11-10-11, 09:38
can we compare between Bukit Timah area and Meyer area?
There will be MRT serving private condos in Bukit Timah area, but the prices there seems to have hit a brick wall. and it will be finished much earlier than ERL. However, MRT locations is yet unknown for ERL, so only speculation hype for Meyer area?
Just trying to compare apples and apples.

Shawn
13-10-11, 03:12
[quote=Shawn]Tanjong Rhu has no freehold except for those condos near fort road and Waterside. Those condos inside like Waterplace, Pebble Bay and Sanctuary Green etc are all 99 years and they are about 5-15 years old on average. Their psf prices range from $1000-$1400psf the highest. I used to stay there for a long time so i know that place very well.

Amongst the cluster of developments in the Tanjong Rhu area, there is however only one freehold project...and that is Parkshore which is sited just opposite Pebble Bay. Not a lot of people are aware of it, including Shawn..

I am aware of Parkshore its just one very old condo hidden between Costa Rhu and Sanctuary Green and its not worth mentioning cause its transactions dont seem to impress me. I probably know more about Tanjong Rhu than anyone here. I been living in that area since 1998-2004 and then moved out and then came back and rent there from 2007-2008.

Shawn
13-10-11, 03:37
There will be MRT serving private condos in Bukit Timah area, but the prices there seems to have hit a brick wall. and it will be finished much earlier than ERL. However, MRT locations is yet unknown for ERL, so only speculation hype for Meyer area?
If you ask me from an investment view, I believe in the long run, Meyer Road/Amber hold better potential than Bukit Timah. Some areas of BT are extremely congested after working hours (i.e. 5-7pm) making that location very undesirable for vehicle owners. In addition BT has no seaview and its not really that close to city-city.

Meyer/Amber on the other hand is getting closer to city with the completion of Marina Coastal Expressway next year. In addition, it is also closer to the Changi Airport facilitating business travels. With the mrt up and coming, Meyer/Amber will definitely beat BT area, no doubt about that.

The Marina East project (that large empty parcel of land) is not going to be empty forever. Whereas BT is almost fully occupied territory in Singapore with no more big land parcel available for future development except Bukit Timah hill.

Shawn
25-10-11, 02:51
Btw a sub-penthouse unit at Meyerise has just been sold few weeks back at a price of more than $10 million for a 4000 sq.ft unit (i.e. roughly $2500psf). This is not the biggest penthouse in the development which is still available. In addition, I just manage to close a sale of a unit at Meyerise for $2250psf for a 16th floor 3 bedroom unit.

Seems like the market is not as quiet as the news reported, definitely not in the prime east coast area.

15-11-11, 12:40
what happened after the initial hype?

9 more sold in oct. 125 out of 239 units to go.

Shawn
25-11-11, 19:45
The only way to go is up as Meyerise is a freehold condo sited on a prime site at Meyer Road with a seaview.

Already outskirts less prestigious condos are already calling at $1500psf, how can a prime location call for any lesser? In addition, Meyer/Amber areas will soon announce the construction of an mrt line linking them directly to Changi Airport and to the City without interchange in 2018. This will push the price much much higher from now.

To be honest, as an agent, I personally felt that these areas in the east are underpriced.

26-11-11, 00:14
The only way to go is up as Meyerise is a freehold condo sited on a prime site at Meyer Road with a seaview.

Already outskirts less prestigious condos are already calling at $1500psf, how can a prime location call for any lesser? In addition, Meyer/Amber areas will soon announce the construction of an mrt line linking them directly to Changi Airport and to the City without interchange in 2018. This will push the price much much higher from now.

To be honest, as an agent, I personally felt that these areas in the east are underpriced.

simple, bcos it doesnt have a mall below it.

Shawn
01-12-11, 00:30
simple, bcos it doesnt have a mall below it.

You make yrself sound like a fool posting such remark. Most people dont like to have shops or mall below their condo cause it invaded on their privacy and exclusiveness.

Even HDB with shops below call a lower price and lesser demand as its noisy and less exclusive.

01-12-11, 00:46
You make yrself sound like a fool posting such remark. Most people dont like to have shops or mall below their condo cause it invaded on their privacy and exclusiveness.

Even HDB with shops below call a lower price and lesser demand as its noisy and less exclusive.

are u so sure MOST people dont like mall below their condo?
explain BR then.

02-12-11, 13:00
meyerise penthouse, 5490 sq ft ASK 20m, 3643psf.

recent transaction, Paterson Suites penthouse, 6663 sq ft SOLD for 20m, 3002psf.

02-12-11, 14:05

THE ORCHARD RESIDENCES ORCHARD BOULEVARD Apartment 1 7,608,888 1,808 Strata 4,208 Oct-11
hi shawn, what do u think of this development for privacy and exclusiveness?

clemdale
02-12-11, 17:23
Not sure about most people, but i think quite a lot of people do not like malls below their condo. I certainly just want to live a quiet life at home and not face the hustle and bustle of the mall each time i return or leave my private enclave.

THE ORCHARD RESIDENCES ORCHARD BOULEVARD Apartment 1 7,608,888 1,808 Strata 4,208 Oct-11

Shawn
17-12-11, 02:50

Well honest speaking i never like a condo near Orchard cause I myself personally own a unit at St Martin Residence at Martins Drive near Tanglin Mall. Although my unit seems quiet at night but its still close to nearby developments. Privacy is invaded. Thank God i dont have to live there am renting out to a foreigner.

The East especially Meyer/Amber is a nice location to live. Am planning to buy one unit there for myself.

17-12-11, 07:02
Waiting for falling durian.
Well honest speaking i never like a condo near Orchard cause I myself personally own a unit at St Martin Residence at Martins Drive near Tanglin Mall. Although my unit seems quiet at night but its still close to nearby developments. Privacy is invaded. Thank God i dont have to live there am renting out to a foreigner.

The East especially Meyer/Amber is a nice location to live. Am planning to buy one unit there for myself.

CanWe
07-01-12, 20:09
So which condo tat u r planning to buy, shawn?

Shawn
14-01-12, 19:16
So which condo tat u r planning to buy, shawn?

I am looking around the Amber/Meyer area. Reasons ?? Cause the upcoming Eastern Regional MRT line is coming up there in 2018 and the government will shortly announce the construction of this new line. The interesting thing about this line is that it is directly connected to the Airport via Marina Bay area (City). There is no interchange.

Secondly, this area is slated to be the next up and coming area with the new Malls (Katong 112, Paramount Hotel/Shopping (under reno), and possibly the fact that the huge old Katong Shopping Centre might go for enbloc and revamp real soon.

Thirdly in 2015, the casino license will be opened to others making areas like Marina East and Marina South a possible area for new IRs. I can bet that the most possible sites are Marina East and the remainding Marina South zone. This is not based on speculation but based on my conversations with high net worth people, as well as studying the available of land plots near city areas.

Fourthly the Amber/Meyer area is the last available freehold plots facing the sea. There are no other plots left in Singapore which is freehold and facing the sea. If the IR comes into reality in the Marina East area, you can imagine how much this area (Amber/Meyer) will call for. I can bet a range of $2000-2500psf will be the norm in this area in the very near future.

Fifth, the Amber/Meyer area is one of the most developed matured private estate in Singapore making it highly desirable to affluent residents whom are acquainted with this neighborhood.

16-01-12, 13:17
1 more sold at 2008psf in dec. this project has been so cool since the initial euphoria. 124 out of 239 to go.

16-01-12, 16:15
I am looking around the Amber/Meyer area. Reasons ?? Cause the upcoming Eastern Regional MRT line is coming up there in 2018 and the government will shortly announce the construction of this new line. The interesting thing about this line is that it is directly connected to the Airport via Marina Bay area (City). There is no interchange.

Shawn, why is The Belvedere (quite new) and The Makena (old) so low priced compared to Meyerise. Belvedere seems nice, can see the sea and katong park.

Adva181
16-01-12, 20:42
ERL will not be ready in 2018. TSL will be completed around 2018.
The plan is to complete DTL1 in 2013, DTL2 in 2015, DTL3 in 2017, TSL in 2018 and ERL in 2020. There isn't enough resources to get all construction going at the same time. Dun forget there is still NSE coming up. And the MCE is still ongoing.

Shawn
05-02-12, 02:04
Shawn, why is The Belvedere (quite new) and The Makena (old) so low priced compared to Meyerise. Belvedere seems nice, can see the sea and katong park.

Belvedere is not a new condo . Its about 5 years old i guess. Makena is an older condo roughly more than 13 years. Why dont u go into one of the Makena unit and have a look at its furnishings?? By then u will be able to understand why its cheaper. Belvedere is more expensive in terms of psf if compared to Makena. Meyerise is higher psf as it is a new development and it also has a better seafacing whereas Belvedere faces the mainly reclaimed land (Fort Road) with the sea view much further afield.

Similarly how come the new HDB DBSS is calling a higher price than the run down 15 year old HDB ??? I hope i am answering yr question.

05-02-12, 08:51
Belvedere is not a new condo . Its about 5 years old i guess. Makena is an older condo roughly more than 13 years. Why dont u go into one of the Makena unit and have a look at its furnishings?? By then u will be able to understand why its cheaper. Belvedere is more expensive in terms of psf if compared to Makena. Meyerise is higher psf as it is a new development and it also has a better seafacing whereas Belvedere faces the mainly reclaimed land (Fort Road) with the sea view much further afield.

Similarly how come the new HDB DBSS is calling a higher price than the run down 15 year old HDB ??? I hope i am answering yr question.

Have been to view units at Belvedere. The high floor units have very nice and close view of the sea front, city, and Katong Park is just next to it. But the site is very much smaller than Makena.

05-02-12, 10:09
Have been to view units at Belvedere. The high floor units have very nice and close view of the sea front, city, and Katong Park is just next to it. But the site is very much smaller than Makena.

To anyone interested in Belvedere. Please look at URA's masterplan. The land immediately west and south is zoned residential (some plot ratio as Belvedere). The priced views are going to be blocked in the future.

If I'm a owner, I'll sell it quickly before URA launches the land.... or when the rest of singapore discovers this.

Even part of seafront is affected.

:2cents:

05-02-12, 10:56

Only good for stack 1 -3
4-7 : facing afternoon sun
stack 1 : all bedrooms suffer from morning sun, and super noisy
2 -3 will be the better ones, but noisy
dun like the layout

Shawn
08-02-12, 00:17
To anyone interested in Belvedere. Please look at URA's masterplan. The land immediately west and south is zoned residential (some plot ratio as Belvedere). The priced views are going to be blocked in the future.

If I'm a owner, I'll sell it quickly before URA launches the land.... or when the rest of singapore discovers this.

That reclaimed land near Fort Road is slated for residential but its highly likely that it will be an extension of future offices and a new IR when a new license will be issued in 2016. Bear in mind that Malaysia-Singapore JV also own quite a bit of the land there.

Bear in mind also that that piece of land facing the sea is a fine beach front property. As such, it is a very precious piece of land as the beach there is almost undisturbed. There is no other place in Singapore which is still empty and is a beachfront. Only Marina East. Marina South has no beachfront. My bet and chats with many people telling me that an IR operator will get a licence to operate an international resort and gaming venue there. This will make Singapore an even more exciting venue for tourists.

08-02-12, 06:51
That reclaimed land near Fort Road is slated for residential but its highly likely that it will be an extension of future offices and a new IR when a new license will be issued in 2016. Bear in mind that Malaysia-Singapore JV also own quite a bit of the land there.

Bear in mind also that that piece of land facing the sea is a fine beach front property. As such, it is a very precious piece of land as the beach there is almost undisturbed. There is no other place in Singapore which is still empty and is a beachfront. Only Marina East. Marina South has no beachfront. My bet and chats with many people telling me that an IR operator will get a licence to operate an international resort and gaming venue there. This will make Singapore an even more exciting venue for tourists.

I'm not talking about the reclaimed land on the opposite side of ECP. I'm talking on the plot immediately adjoining belvedere, currently part of katong park. That will definately block belvedere!

08-02-12, 07:45
I'm not talking about the reclaimed land on the opposite side of ECP. I'm talking on the plot immediately adjoining belvedere, currently part of katong park. That will definately block belvedere!

MRT station

08-02-12, 08:43

New launch beside will push up it price? best if its FEO who would charge a head,arm,leg more than anything in the area.! sure higher than meyerise!

08-02-12, 08:46
New launch beside will push up it price? best if its FEO who would charge a head,arm,leg more than anything in the area.! sure higher than meyerise!
FEO no longer tat agressive liao la.....their preview px quite cheep cheep lor

capitaland bedok residence worse ok.....preview px 1bdr oredi 1400psf

08-02-12, 08:49
MRT station

That piece of land is highly likely to be a MRT station.

08-02-12, 08:51
FEO no longer tat agressive liao la.....their preview px quite cheep cheep lor

capitaland bedok residence worse ok.....preview px 1bdr oredi 1400psf

heard their current watertown 3bedder asking 1450psf-1500psf..

but yes early bird bought some not so ideal stack at 1050psf.

08-02-12, 08:52

another mall cum mrt cum residential on katong park? but I would hate to see the park disappear. we are loosing green space like crazy..

08-02-12, 23:27

zoned residential lah.... MRT station usually below road and will not take up so much space.

08-02-12, 23:28

garment land sale. 99LH lah, how to compare with FH.

pity belvedere when that happens.

10-02-12, 06:58
I Recall that .....very Sharp observation....
Same issue with aristo@amber...

easymac
13-02-12, 10:37
The 2008 plan still has it marked as park and that is the latest plan I can find. Where can I find the latest plan?

13-02-12, 12:55
garment land sale. 99LH lah, how to compare with FH.

pity belvedere when that happens.

why pity? FH near MRT ( if katong park really hav 1) wouldnt that make belveder a gem? since seldom u find FH near MRT.

pity the next few years of noise? yeah tats the pain they got to live wtih.

15-03-12, 13:48
1 more sold at 1666psf in feb. 49% sold.

20-03-12, 09:40
avg how much psf? went to see the place. location is great but psf is way ahead . and plot is not that big.. sea facing have to live with ECP noise. only the pool facing units don't have west sun.

Xan
20-03-12, 18:22
avg how much psf? went to see the place. location is great but psf is way ahead . and plot is not that big.. sea facing have to live with ECP noise. only the pool facing units don't have west sun.

Y ask so many qns, the fact is you got no money to buy.... Trying to act smart and talk like analyst?
Hahaha, what a joke.

Xan
20-03-12, 18:25

Would expect u to creat some scene here.
Hmm, how come suddenly talk like pro and act docile?
That's very unlike of u in other threads. Lol.

20-03-12, 18:33
why pity? FH near MRT ( if katong park really hav 1) wouldnt that make belveder a gem? since seldom u find FH near MRT.

pity the next few years of noise? yeah tats the pain they got to live wtih.

read earlier posts. Belvedere will be blocked by high rise residential on west and south, when garment decides to sell the land parcel around it. Look at URA's masterplan....

16-04-12, 14:45
2 more sold at 1699 and 1735psf in mar. aiyah, still need 1 more unit then can touch 50% sold. :ashamed1:

speculator
22-04-12, 09:30
2 more sold at 1699 and 1735psf in mar. aiyah, still need 1 more unit then can touch 50% sold. :ashamed1:

119 sold out of 239 as of March 2012

indeed short of 1 unit

22-04-12, 10:36
Meyerise realizes that they have to re-market the project in ST yesterday after seeing SH selling so well last weekend. Their pricing getting more competitive.