View Full Version : Singapore system is in a mess

30-12-11, 15:25
Interesting judgement for a high profile case. You have to look after yourself in Singapore. Don't depend on the government to help you.

http://forum.channelnewsasia.com/showthread.php?35914-I-was-trying-to-protect-my-daughter-Quan-Yi-Feng

30-12-11, 16:00
Interesting judgement for a high profile case. You have to look after yourself in Singapore. Don't depend on the government to help you.

http://forum.channelnewsasia.com/showthread.php?35914-I-was-trying-to-protect-my-daughter-Quan-Yi-Feng

For 2 occasions at the same durian stalls and same man. I wanted to buy 5 durians at $2 each. So I asked this man to help me to choose but he said : "Choose it yourself because it is only $2." I told him that I didn't know how to choose, and he just kept quiet, so I walked away. Then yesterday, I passed by that stall again and met the same man, I wanted to buy 5 durians @ $1 each, then he asked me to buy the $2 one, buy 5 get 1 free, so I said okay. This time, he picked for me but didn't help me to "open" the durian, so I asked him to help me, he said "no opening" for $2 durians, so I walked off again, haha. What kind of service is that?:doh:

I bought from other stalls, $1 each also help you to choose and open leh.

30-12-11, 16:02

its a joke

shes been let off too lightly ...

this is not the first time shes exhibit her non sense in public ..

shes even slapped and kicked her ex husband in public ... happy for him to have gotten rid of her ...

what crap ..post natal blues since 1999 ?? and still can use that as a reason ?

30-12-11, 16:07
Ai yo yo! Very interesting case. Even more interesting judgement.

its a joke

shes even slapped and kicked her ex husband in public ... happy for him to have gotten rid of her ...

30-12-11, 16:07
For 2 occasions at the same durian stalls and same man. I wanted to buy 5 durians at $2 each. So I asked this man to help me to choose but he said : "Choose it yourself because it is only $2." I told him that I didn't know how to choose, and he just kept quiet, so I walked away. Then yesterday, I passed by that stall again and met the same man, I wanted to buy 5 durians @ $1 each, then he asked me to buy the $2 one, buy 5 get 1 free, so I said okay. This time, he picked for me but didn't help me to "open" the durian, so I asked him to help me, he said "no opening" for $2 durians, so I walked off again, haha. What kind of service is that?:doh:

I bought from other stalls, $1 each also help you to choose and open leh.

Durain. Yummy! :hungry:

extremme
30-12-11, 16:28
its a joke

let's not forget the bowling alley incident whereby she fought with a woman in public

seriously, mediacorp should stop using her and stop showing her shows. U mean we do not have any more hosts anymore? I'm disgusted with her behaviour and excuses.

She's a bad example to everyone, being a public persona. Someone should create a facebook page or online petition to bar her from media anymore

TKT
30-12-11, 16:36
She should just quit. :simmering:

30-12-11, 16:39
Ai yo yo, you forgot: Singapore got NO talent! :p
We should seriously consider appointing foreigners as Ministers, PM, and President! :D

let's not forget the bowling alley incident whereby she fought with a woman in public

seriously, mediacorp should stop using her and stop showing her shows. U mean we do not have any more hosts anymore? I'm disgusted with her behaviour and excuses.

She's a bad example to everyone, being a public persona. Someone should create a facebook page or online petition to bar her from media anymore

extremme
30-12-11, 16:46
We should seriously consider appointing foreigners as Ministers, PM, and President! :D

Yes, somemore she's not even a singapore... she's a FT from China right?

30-12-11, 16:53
My grandmum at age 80+ also has post post natal blue.
Ha ha ha since 1940s ...it a joke man...

30-12-11, 16:53
Cannot anyhow replace anyone in SG...already say SG is small - talent pool not deep enough.

So anyone who manages to get ahead and reach the summit of his field in civil svs/govt/GLC/Temasek/GIC all happy like bird coz cannot get fired even if screw up. Can pass blame downward though like the prison guard or technician who didn't see the collector shoe on the ground for months.

30-12-11, 17:00

She's a bad example to everyone, being a public persona. Someone should create a facebook page or online petition to bar her from media anymoreYou really think petition will work in Singapore??? Remember all the petition for TPL during the GE recently? It only made her stronger and got more support from the other leaders... :rolleyes:

30-12-11, 17:02
It depends on the connection: good or best connection. :cool:
You really think petition will work in Singapore??? Remember all the petition for TPL during the GE recently? It only made her stronger and got more support from the other leaders... :rolleyes:

30-12-11, 17:21
This judgement will set a precedence for judges to let off FT easily in future. It's clearly a deliberate abortion of justice.

30-12-11, 17:25
One of the Youngest Law Dean is related to President while one of the Permanent Secretary is related to former chief justice.:beats-me-man:

30-12-11, 17:27
Chen Ming Li is her grandaunt..... Maybe judge bought her insurance policy before.

30-12-11, 17:31
Why not. She is a very successful insurance agent.
Chen Ming Li is her grandaunt..... Maybe judge bought her insurance policy before.

30-12-11, 17:49
There are so many FT in our mediacorp.... hmmm... :rolleyes:

30-12-11, 18:51
She should just quit. :simmering:

She should be fired !
Seriously really dun understand. What talent does she have ? She's neither pretty nor attractive, and she talks like a Taiwan auntie. They very face of her turns me off completely.

JuzMe
30-12-11, 20:54
Justice for the rich & famous vs the rest :doh: A regular person would not have gotten away so easily.

30-12-11, 20:59
She should be fired !
Seriously really dun understand. What talent does she have ? She's neither pretty nor attractive, and she talks like a Taiwan auntie. They very face of her turns me off completely.
Her hair makes me sick....lol

30-12-11, 22:58

I read the report that she mentioned that it take 2hand to clap...really no remorse at all..

I think soon or later she wil god know fight with who else?

31-12-11, 04:55
Justice for the rich & famous vs the rest :doh: A regular person would not have gotten away so easily.Then again a regular person will not receive so much publicity so in a sense, will get away with all the finger pointing and gossiping very easily... price of being a celebrity! :p

31-12-11, 09:35
She is very fierce leh. She is not the only one in the media corp who get into trouble, "Lee Ming Soon" and "Chow Guo Hui" also have right?

31-12-11, 19:53
I'm not sure what the judge was thinking but the judgement was truly not equitable. Time to return to our old values. Maybe restoration of Haw Par Villa is still valuable (despite being a cost center) as the society is rapidly losing values. We need more judges like Bao Zheng to uphold people's rights and oligations.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bao_Zheng

Bao Zheng (包拯) (999–1062) was a much-praised official who served during the reign of Emperor Renzong (http://forums.condosingapore.com/wiki/Emperor_Renzong_of_Song) of Northern Song Dynasty (http://forums.condosingapore.com/wiki/Song_Dynasty_(960-1279)) in ancient China (http://forums.condosingapore.com/wiki/Ancient_China). Culturally, Bao Zheng today is respected as the symbol of justice in China.

In his lifetime, Bao was renowned for his filial piety (http://forums.condosingapore.com/wiki/Filial_piety), his stern demeanor, and his intolerance of injustice and corruption. Due to his fame and the strength of his reputation, Bao's name became synonymous with the idealized "honest and upright official" (qingguan 清官), and quickly became a popular subject of early vernacular drama and literature.

31-12-11, 21:05
Thank you for that history lesson... going to show to TV soon.... :)

05-01-12, 21:26
Recent major screw ups:

412 criminal cases reviewed after DNA test lab error
http://www.straitstimes.com/BreakingNews/Singapore/Story/STIStory_751649.html

DBS investigates unauthorised withdrawals from DBS/POSB accounts
http://www.straitstimes.com/BreakingNews/Singapore/Story/STIStory_752199.html

05-01-12, 21:31
Better check your POSB/DBS accounts for any unauthorized withdrawals!
:scared-1:

05-01-12, 21:38

DBS website overloaded now. Cannot login. :banghead:

05-01-12, 21:39

The laughable thing is the online banking website is jammed:
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/eat-drink-man-woman-16/%5Bgpgt%5D-dbs-posb-epic-fail-3554904.html

This is the next major failure :scared-5:

05-01-12, 21:41
WE ARE SORRY! :beats-me-man:

Everyone must learn from P**

05-01-12, 21:49
DBS website overloaded now. Cannot login. :banghead:

Most likely internal security failure. That's why DBS immediately reimbursed the customers' losses.

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/eat-drink-man-woman-16/dbs-posb-fraudulent-withdrawal-physically-3553059-8.html

20-01-12, 18:36
Even our judicial system needs a review. Where is our Ministry of Law?

http://forum.channelnewsasia.com/showthread.php?43515-Man-jailed-1-year-for-stealing-32-from-mosque-to-buy-food-for-his-wheelchair-Mom-!/page7

20-01-12, 18:38
Our legal system is crumbling... one day foreigners might just snatch away your property, legally in the eyes of our laws.

21-01-12, 18:12

http://forum.channelnewsasia.com/showthread.php?43515-Man-jailed-1-year-for-stealing-32-from-mosque-to-buy-food-for-his-wheelchair-Mom-!/page7

Now here is a perfect solution. Now the Monther who is wheel chair bound is taken care of by the State. The son go to jail is been fed .

Seem like win win situation other then the fact that u have a criminal record.

But then in the US , every other celebrity has a criminial record.
:confused:

21-01-12, 21:42

Really no common sense, how can this be....; maybe soon need a Robin Hood to steal from the rich and to feed the poor...; wonder what will happen to this Mother..whose son is in jail now...:doh:

PAP just lost at least 2 votes in next election..

22-01-12, 02:02

Would you offer him a job after his release?

Mosque: We tried to help man who stole $32 from donation box

Efforts over 3 years futile as recalcitrant 'refused to turn over new leaf'

By Tham Yuen-C
The man who was jailed a year for stealing $32 from a donation box at a mosque was a recalcitrant it had tried to help for years - without success.

Darussalam Mosque issued a statement on Friday to explain why Noraizam Abdullah was turned over to the police for what seemed a minor theft.

The 40-year-old told the court on Thursday he was jobless when he stole the money on Dec 11 last year to buy food for himself and his wheelchair-bound mother.

Although Noraizam was considered suitable for harsher punishments because of his past offences, District Judge Siva Shanmugam gave him an ordinary jail sentence. He said he had taken into consideration the amount of money he stole, and the fact that it was used to buy food.

Noraizam also said in court that he had gone to the mosque to seek financial help but was unsuccessful.

The mosque has a different account of what happened: Noraizam first went to the mosque, in Commonwealth Avenue West, in 2008. Claiming to be jobless and homeless, he asked for a job and a place to sleep at night. He also said he used to live with his sister, but was chased out after a family dispute.

'He did not reveal any information about his mother or her well-being,' said the mosque. 'Out of compassion and goodwill, the mosque took care of him and provided some interim financial assistance.'

Its staff found him jobs, but he never lasted long and went missing from work all the time, said the statement.

Eventually, he was offered a job as an assistant caretaker of the mosque, and was supposed to take over the chores when the main caretaker fell ill.

If Noraizam appreciated the help, he did not demonstrate it through his actions, said the mosque.

On several occasions, he threatened colleagues, hurling vulgarities at them and acting aggressively. Although he received food, lodging and pocket money from the mosque, he continued to ask the staff and congregants for money.

'Darussalam Mosque had continually tried our best to help Noraizam Abdullah on many occasions over the past three years... encouraged him to leave his negative ways and turn over a new leaf,'said the mosque in its statement.

When these repeated attempts failed, and Noraizam stole again by forcing open the lock on the donation box, the mosque decided to make a police report.

It was the best course of action for him, and it was necessary to 'protect the safety of the mosque staff and congregants', the mosque said.

Noraizam has been jailed six times for theft since 1997. This includes being sentenced to five years of corrective training in 2002.

Before he stole the $32, he also approached the South West Community Development Council (CDC) for help, said a spokesman for the Ministry of Community Development, Youth and Sports.

In September and October last year, the CDC found him a job through its ComCare Work Support programme. By the time he was arrested for theft, he had already lost that job and was jobless. A ministry spokesman said it would work with the CDC to help Noraizam's mother.

Meanwhile, employees from the mosque visited her home on Friday afternoon, but did not manage to meet her.

'We are trying to establish if Noraizam's mother is indeed in need of help, as he claimed. Should we find that she requires help, we would extend the necessary assistance,' the mosque said.

22-01-12, 02:03
Really no common sense, how can this be....; maybe soon need a Robin Hood to steal from the rich and to feed the poor...; wonder what will happen to this Mother..whose son is in jail now...:doh:

PAP just lost at least 2 votes in next election..

Please read the complete story.

22-01-12, 05:52
Please read the complete story.

We have not listened to his side of the story. It is very difficult to find a job after a jail record.

We have many cases of killers/offenders getting away scott free. Remember the Lexus driver case? I'm a driver, so I know it is impossible not to know you hit something.

http://www.clubsnap.com/forums/kopitiam/771021-lexus-driver-bang-cyclist-drag-bycycle-2km-fine-$2500.html

24-01-12, 15:11
Pinched from SG Talk. SCDF Commissioner & CNB Chief questioned by CPIB. My guess is it could have been reported by their wives...

http://news.omy.sg/News/Local%2BNews/Story/OMYStory201201240732-306619.html

http://www.straitstimes.com/BreakingNews/Singapore/Story/STIStory_758770.html

24-01-12, 15:16
2 chiefs at the same time?

24-01-12, 15:22
2 chiefs at the same time?

Most likely different cases but information is released to reporters simultaneously. This is serious as it involves many other high-ranking officials.

24-01-12, 15:24
Most likely different cases but information is released to reporters simultaneously. This is serious as it involves many other high-ranking officials.

actually why did they publish when under probe? shouldn't they protect the identity of the individual until the conclusion is out?

like in the case of kong hee, there wasn't any conclusion so one can assume he wasn't implicated?

24-01-12, 16:25
Pinched from SG Talk. SCDF Commissioner & CNB Chief questioned by CPIB. My guess is it could have been reported by their wives...

http://news.omy.sg/News/Local%2BNews/Story/OMYStory201201240732-306619.html

http://www.straitstimes.com/BreakingNews/Singapore/Story/STIStory_758770.html

"SCDF commissioner suspended, CNB chief under probe", this is very BIG NEWS. So far, relatively no such BIG news until now...; wonder if more will be unearthed..:scared-4:

But I doubt their wives are the ones who reported them since....they would understand that their men will lose everything if found out ...

24-01-12, 17:06
Transport & ENV Ministers under pressure, now Home Affairs also feeling the heat?

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/1178712/1/.html

MHA to issue statement on SCDF, CNB chiefs
By Monica Kotwani & Imelda Saad | Posted: 24 January 2012 1307 hrs

SINGAPORE: The Ministry of Home Affairs Ministry (MHA) is expected to issue a statement on Wednesday on a report by Chinese evening daily Lianhe Wanbao, alleging that Commissioner of the Singapore Civil Defence Force (SCDF) Peter Lim has been suspended.

The paper had also said director of the Central Narcotics Bureau (CNB) Ng Boon Gay has been called in for questioning by the Corrupt Practices Investigation Bureau.

Quoting sources but with no official verification, the report said Mr Lim had been suspended for nearly a month, and that the case is believed to be "linked to money and women".

A spokesperson from the ministry told Channel NewsAsia both Mr Lim and Mr Ng are on leave, for now.

Mr Lim, a Public Service Commission (PSC) scholar, was appointed as SCDF Commissioner in 2009.

Mr Ng, also a PSC scholar, was a former director of the Criminal Investigation Department.

He took on his current role early last year.

- CNA/wk

25-01-12, 08:53
They probably did not want to release this news during the parliament sitting on minsters' salary review. Otherwise, there will be more heated issues such as $$ vs quality; $$ vs diligence, etc. These two are certainly well above the superscale MX9.

25-01-12, 09:32
You are right bro.

High salary does not mean No Corruption.

Who knows what is happening with those wearing white...sometimes just information is needed nothing more.

They probably did not want to release this news during the parliament sitting on minsters' salary review. Otherwise, there will be more heated issues such as $$ vs quality; $$ vs diligence, etc. These two are certainly well above the superscale MX9.

25-01-12, 11:06
These are scholars. Got to have more moral education in school.
You are right bro.

High salary does not mean No Corruption.

Who knows what is happening with those wearing white...sometimes just information is needed nothing more.

25-01-12, 13:53
I think becos Chinese papers (wan pao ) reported, so no choice, CNY period also have to report this and make DPM Teo work OT to release statement...

25-01-12, 17:27

It appears both men are linked to the same woman but unaware of each other .... the plot thickens...

http://forums.asiaone.com/showthread.php?t=46769&page=27#262

LKY must be rolling his eyeballs. The timing can't be worse...

25-01-12, 17:55
It appears both men are linked to the same woman but unaware of each other .... the plot thickens...

LKY must be rolling his eyeballs. The timing can't be worse...A movie in the making for next CNY screening at our cinemas....; a potential Jack Neo movie called Pay Not Enough? :D

25-01-12, 22:52

LKY must be rolling his eyeballs. The timing can't be worse... saw this in another forum, that it's funny but meaningful:

"
The 2 men were interdicted = sacked from holding office lah

The 2 men are assisting investigations = arrested lah

Alleged serious personal misconduct = investigated for corruption lah

The gahmen takes a very serious view...= we dun know what else to say lah...."

26-01-12, 13:23
Good one bro - will pen this down in my "Men in White Speaks" Dictionary.

saw this in another forum, that it's funny but meaningful:

"
The 2 men were interdicted = sacked from holding office lah

The 2 men are assisting investigations = arrested lah

Alleged serious personal misconduct = investigated for corruption lah

The gahmen takes a very serious view...= we dun know what else to say lah...."