View Full Version : Katong Regency (Former Lion City Hotel) D14 By UOL

Pages : [1] 2

Ultroman
31-03-12, 14:08
Launching soon, just next to Paya Lebar MRT. The hottest site in Paya Lebar Business District. 244 units of residential apartments in 3 towers and 16-storey commercial developments lighting up D14 soon.

Enquire at http://singaporepropertyguru.com.sg/2012/03/katong-regency-former-lion-city-hotel/

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v701/ultroman/artistimp3.jpg

31-03-12, 15:33
So! Another one above retail malls and near mrt station cum hub. :eek:
Launching soon, just next to Paya Lebar MRT. The hottest site in Paya Lebar Business District. 244 units of residential apartments in 3 towers and 16-storey commercial developments lighting up D14 soon.

Enquire at http://singaporepropertyguru.com.sg/2012/03/katong-regency-former-lion-city-hotel/

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v701/ultroman/artistimp3.jpg

31-03-12, 15:46
Mall going to be Indonesian domestic worker hangout.

31-03-12, 17:23

how come ?

anyway, i see UOL take up quite a number of very good piece of land in singapore but their floorplan for residential stay is really awful... so wasted.. :(

31-03-12, 17:35
City Plaza is an Indon hangout.

It is just across the road from Lion City, if Lion City is converted to a brand new mall, I think there may be some migration...

how come ?

anyway, i see UOL take up quite a number of very good piece of land in singapore but their floorplan for residential stay is really awful... so wasted.. :(

31-03-12, 17:41
City Plaza is an Indon hangout.

It is just across the road from Lion City, if Lion City is converted to a brand new mall, I think there may be some migration...

icic.. :D

what domestic worker ? eg. maid ?

31-03-12, 18:12
icic.. :D

what domestic worker ? eg. maid ?

Yep.........

31-03-12, 21:10
Lot of rich Indonesian getting a unit.

Akira Fudou
31-03-12, 22:50
Lot of rich Indonesian getting a unit.

huh? Sharing 1 unit?

Ricade
01-04-12, 00:01
Whoa this is going to be quite cOol.. Lookout for the subsale man, who knows got buyer remorse we must support!! Cross fingers lol

01-04-12, 00:08
Majority 1bdr....yawnzzzzzzz

How come uol joining the MM wonderland?

1bdr prolly 15xxpsf at least

insigina
01-04-12, 00:25
This one has potential but I have 2 niggling concerns. This is FH but UOL owns the mall. Over time, if they wish to enbloc or rebuild, how much say would the residents have since they hold majority share? Also, if they decide to sell the shop units in the future, there will not be any QC of buyers - city plaza comes to mind.

ppty
01-04-12, 00:26
how come ?

i dont think so - Duchess Residence and archipelago floor plans are pretty efficient.... both by UOL ( and also Waterbank@dakota )

01-04-12, 02:48
This one has potential but I have 2 niggling concerns. This is FH but UOL owns the mall. Over time, if they wish to enbloc or rebuild, how much say would the residents have since they hold majority share? Also, if they decide to sell the shop units in the future, there will not be any QC of buyers - city plaza comes to mind.

I don't think they will keep the mall.

01-04-12, 14:16
i dont think so - Duchess Residence and archipelago floor plans are pretty efficient.... both by UOL ( and also Waterbank@dakota )

this two are fine..
:D:D

insigina
01-04-12, 14:29
People seriously thinking of buying into KR should spend time walking around the area. A 500m radius will do, especially on a Sunday afternoon. Maybe it is me but I find it hard to connect to the place/environ.

Adva181
01-04-12, 14:32

I am hoping for 13xxpsf...Think will be tough...

Ricade
01-04-12, 15:09
If too expensive don't buy now.. Buy during downturn ah.. $ in the pocket better than money burnt in mkt :)

ichigo55
01-04-12, 18:13
I think the mall will be child-centric ... like UE Square.
I think City Plaza enbloc is a matter of time, the area should transform and the Indon and Malay crowd will soon be moved downstream together. If they want to make this CBD successful, it should likely happen.

01-04-12, 18:16
Its a good location plus rare fh in ocr/rcr

however uol turn it into a MM wonderland...zzzzzzzz

Turned off......wasted the land

01-04-12, 19:02
but they also doing spottiswoode residence and that floor plan is terrible.

01-04-12, 19:27
I think the mall will be child-centric ... like UE Square.
I think City Plaza enbloc is a matter of time, the area should transform and the Indon and Malay crowd will soon be moved downstream together. If they want to make this CBD successful, it should likely happen.
Why CBD cannot have such crowd??

02-04-12, 14:30

1bd more than 16xxpsf ok. my reliable source said one. ;)

02-04-12, 18:20

What is the size of these 1dbr MM ?

02-04-12, 18:26
What is the size of these 1dbr MM ?

Actually this project not really MM la. Indeed they have many 1 bedders but probably gonna be like Sky Habitat (Big 1 bedder units not typical 3xx-4xxsqft)

These are the sizes:

1 / 1+1 / 2 / 2+1 / 3 / 3+1 bedroom ranging from 549sqft to 1,991sqft

Min 549 sqft. Bigger than Watertown's suites. Not shoebox! :D

However, due to large sized 1 bedder, quantum will be like recent launched 18 Woodsville high $8xxk - 900k. (at least 1.6kpsf)

propertychap
02-04-12, 18:30
How is this compared to Bedok residences? No sheltered walkway to MRT and no bus interchange but freehold and shopping mall. BR got capitamall and most likely the mix of shops will be well controlled by Capitamall?

02-04-12, 18:44
How is this compared to Bedok residences? No sheltered walkway to MRT and no bus interchange but freehold and shopping mall. BR got capitamall and most likely the mix of shops will be well controlled by Capitamall?

Dude, how can this be compared with BR??

This is a future CBD of Singapore. D14 is considered city fringe (mins drive to Marina/ Raffles CBD via N.Highway). The entire Paya Lebar will be very different in a few years from now.

insigina
02-04-12, 18:47

UOL will maintain control over the mall. Understand it is "child themed" mall just like Novena. So, imagine the weekend traffic 'coz residents and shoppers enter by the same entrance. Car park is mscp (residents park 6th floor). Actually, the real challenge is to be able to accept the surrounds. Anyway at 16xx psf, it'll be the highest priced development in this area.

insigina
02-04-12, 21:45
Dude, how can this be compared with BR??

This is a future CBD of Singapore. D14 is considered city fringe (mins drive to Marina/ Raffles CBD via N.Highway). The entire Paya Lebar will be very different in a few years from now.

I agree if they did something about tanjong katong complex and city plaza. These 2 developments (big ones too) somehow does not fit into the script leh.

Tripp
02-04-12, 22:50
http://www.view2offer.com.sg/Media_LibraryFolder/239c3492-7e86-4ee4-80cb-4c0440af90d6/Image/KR_Units.jpg

Tripp
02-04-12, 23:10
Floor Plans & Gallery here:
http://www.katongregency.sg/floorplans.html
http://www.katongregency.sg/gallery.html

03-04-12, 08:41
I agree if they did something about tanjong katong complex and city plaza. These 2 developments (big ones too) somehow does not fit into the script leh.

Lucky plaza, orchard shopping centre, orchard emerald also dun fit into Orchard's belt:beats-me-man:

Gotta see who owns these malls first!

03-04-12, 08:43
http://www.view2offer.com.sg/Media_LibraryFolder/239c3492-7e86-4ee4-80cb-4c0440af90d6/Image/KR_Units.jpg

I dun understand why Devilplate says this is a MM playground leh. Units all relatively big. only the fact that many 1 bedders. But its rare to find 549sqft 1 bedders these days. even Watertown was 527 right?

insigina
03-04-12, 08:47
Lucky plaza, orchard shopping centre, orchard emerald also dun fit into Orchard's belt:beats-me-man:

Gotta see who owns these malls first!

True, but the Lucky Plaza effect is "neutralised" by other others whereas KR is on its own. Anyway, the price may reflect this to make it a worthy project.

03-04-12, 08:50
omg the PES units got bigger Pes than their master bed room :doh:

I think buyers should go for all the +study types of units unless they love huge balconies

03-04-12, 10:07
Actually this project not really MM la. Indeed they have many 1 bedders but probably gonna be like Sky Habitat (Big 1 bedder units not typical 3xx-4xxsqft)

These are the sizes:

1 / 1+1 / 2 / 2+1 / 3 / 3+1 bedroom ranging from 549sqft to 1,991sqft

Min 549 sqft. Bigger than Watertown's suites. Not shoebox! :D

However, due to large sized 1 bedder, quantum will be like recent launched 18 Woodsville high $8xxk - 900k. (at least 1.6kpsf)

$1.6k /psf i dun think so, UOL is known to price quite high look at WaterBank when it was launched compare to others at that time. If Bishan SkyH price up to $1800/psf, this one next CBD leh... at least $1800 to $2000/psf I oso not surprise. Then more will go tender for the land nearby for higher mah, and garment will not say tender price too low.

03-04-12, 10:12
omg the PES units got bigger Pes than their master bed room :doh:

I think buyers should go for all the +study types of units unless they love huge balconies

Best type seems to be D1, D2 and D3.

03-04-12, 10:25
the bed is place right beside the dining table? :scared-5::scared-5::scared-5:

tkc2263
03-04-12, 11:28
$1.6k /psf i dun think so, UOL is known to price quite high look at WaterBank when it was launched compare to others at that time. If Bishan SkyH price up to $1800/psf, this one next CBD leh... at least $1800 to $2000/psf I oso not surprise. Then more will go tender for the land nearby for higher mah, and garment will not say tender price too low.

So will this have a "rub-on" effect on WaterBank then?

I know its quite a distance but then its only 1 station away from this Paya Lebar Hub on the Circle Line.

Waterbank should TOP by end of next year.

Akira Fudou
03-04-12, 20:55
Love the 1+1, just that i find the toilet can be smaller a bit.

03-04-12, 21:31
Love the 1+1, just that i find the toilet can be smaller a bit.

But u realised, all the +1s layout are the same as without. they simply build the +1 in the balcony. :sleep:

Akira Fudou
03-04-12, 22:25
better than having a big ass balcony isnt it?

HCJH
04-04-12, 14:10
Good location, nice project but again amenties are too close for comfort. Most importantly the price must be reasonable. $1600-2000 is far too expensive. The surrounding psf have not reach $1400 yet?

04-04-12, 14:42
Most importantly the price must be reasonable. $1600-2000 is far too expensive. The surrounding psf have not reach $1400 yet?

nearby Esta Ruby reached $1350, so this one, plus 20% for new project (and slightly better location / facilities), I think $1600 could be a sweet spot.

interest is very high for this project

insigina
04-04-12, 15:11
nearby Esta Ruby reached $1350, so this one, plus 20% for new project (and slightly better location / facilities), I think $1600 could be a sweet spot.

The 3 bedroom units in Esta Ruby transacted around 1,150 while the 2 bedroom is a little more. Even then, there are developer units still available (at good floors too). For KR, I think the 1 and 1+1 could be about 1,600.

04-04-12, 20:36
one bedroom $1900
2 bedroom $1800-1900

Not buying,

insigina
04-04-12, 21:06
one bedroom $1900
2 bedroom $1800-1900

Not buying,

Wow...Is this for real???:doh: New units in D11 is lower.

04-04-12, 22:10
!!!!!!!!!!!

They are banging for:

FH+walking dist to papaya lebar mrt+PL Biz hub story+below mall upstairs condo trickery

04-04-12, 22:43
one bedroom $1900
2 bedroom $1800-1900

Not buying,
OMG!? :jaw-dropping: :jaw-dropping: thats a steal man! gonna be sold out on VVIP day!

04-04-12, 23:44
one bedroom $1900
2 bedroom $1800-1900

Not buying,
Nearly 2 mil for a 2-bedder at D14, let's see who want to buy...

04-04-12, 23:58
Nearly 2 mil for a 2-bedder at D14, let's see who want to buy...

where got... onie 1.7mil onie keke

Akira Fudou
04-04-12, 23:58
one bedroom $1900
2 bedroom $1800-1900

Not buying,

over a million for 1 bedder? i rather get Esta Ruby 2 bedder at $1.3m

05-04-12, 00:01
where got... onie 1.7mil onie keke
Got difference meh?:rolleyes:

05-04-12, 00:07
one bedroom $1900
2 bedroom $1800-1900

Not buying,

bro LAguna, u waiting for this one right??!!! the pricing is like 20 years in advance???.......

05-04-12, 08:37
Comeon, guys this is damn cheap! :cheers1:

05-04-12, 08:53
bro LAguna, u waiting for this one right??!!! the pricing is like 20 years in advance???.......

Ya, waiting, but this is not the right woman.

I am not sure, the price given to me, whether is before discount or net.

The land cost is about $970, I cannot spilt the land cost between the commercial and residential.

05-04-12, 09:42
this is UOL :money-faced2: leh. expect them to rip off in a bull market. :tongue3: dream on for sweet spot.

learn from u, if bishan 99 year no mall is 1700 to 1800psf, this one of course must be higher right? some more smaller units. :tongue2:

:ashamed1:

05-04-12, 10:02
this is UOL :money-faced2: leh. expect them to rip off in a bull market. :tongue3: dream on for sweet spot.

learn from u, if bishan 99 year no mall is 1700 to 1800psf, this one of course must be higher right? some more smaller units. :tongue2:

summore nearer to town + CBD

fafalulu
05-04-12, 10:47
http://www.propertyguru.com.sg/listing/9293283/for-sale-katong-regency

1400 only

HCJH
05-04-12, 11:46
The official appointed marketing agency is ERA. Info is $1600-2000psf no discount cos this is their practice but will offer slightly lower than indicative price during the VVIP preview.

However, anything might change if no one bites into their expensive pie.

flagship74
05-04-12, 11:50
I am interested..stay tune..:cheers1:

05-04-12, 11:56
The official appointed marketing agency is ERA. Info is $1600-2000psf no discount cos this is their practice but will offer slightly lower than indicative price during the VVIP preview.

However, anything might change if no one bites into their expensive pie.

I was expecting this KR project will go for as high as $1.8/psf on average anyway, lets see... :scared-3:

HCJH
05-04-12, 11:58
No doubt there will be lots of interest and if they price it reasonably judging from today's market and sentiment they might have 100% sold out, if not, left over for bargain buy in 2015.

HCJH
05-04-12, 12:05
Btw any comments on the surrounding and environment in that area? Is it an area for own stay or investment?

05-04-12, 12:20
http://www.propertyguru.com.sg/listing/9293283/for-sale-katong-regency

1400 only
sales trick lah. she even said D15 leh!

05-04-12, 13:01
You go check it out...while having a bite to eat at Haig Rd FC.

It's very near PLebar MRT - but the walk is fully exposed.
The whole precinct will be made a Regional Centre but I feel the focus is not on the side where KR is.

A little 'pasar malam' feel to me, but it's interesting to value the location.

Btw any comments on the surrounding and environment in that area? Is it an area for own stay or investment?

05-04-12, 13:11
the location is anything but katong. Yet they dare to name it katong, LOL.

05-04-12, 13:34
the location is anything but katong. Yet they dare to name it katong, LOL.

It's on the junction of katong road wat. wats wrong?

05-04-12, 13:39
It's on the junction of katong road wat. wats wrong?

haha tanjong katong rd is a very long rd. This lion city hotel's location is anything but katong in the layman's understanding of katong. :)

05-04-12, 13:42
haha tanjong katong rd is a very long rd. This lion city hotel's location is anything but katong in the layman's understanding of katong. :)

Yea just like East Coast road is very long. But people still go for its road name :D:cheers4:

05-04-12, 14:37
It's Katong in name but in essence, it feels more Geylang Serai.

Not saying it's shite but just the 'feel' of the location.
This location got many attributes going for it.

Yea just like East Coast road is very long. But people still go for its road name :D:cheers4:

05-04-12, 14:57

Call it Katong is not quite appropriate for this area. Geyland Serai does not sound good either. More appropriately should be Paya Lebar which may sound too commercial either for residential development. UOL should simply call it another name other than try to associate it with the location. UOL should associate the residential part of the development to the commercial portion of the development and market aggressively on the commercial portion which is the hub of the Paya Lebar regional centre.

City Plaza will continue to co-exist just like Lucky Plaza in Orchard Road. City Plaza is strata titles so it is very difficult to go en bloc with both residential and commercial units in the same development.

05-04-12, 14:58

regardless of wat, it will still be a sellout at 1.8kpsf-2kpsf

HCJH
05-04-12, 15:11
Latest news from propertyguru:

"Tharman: Govt working to cool property market"

insigina
05-04-12, 15:38

Haha will this be third time lucky for UOL? The day after they launched Archipelago, CM5 kicked in. About that time, they put in the sole bid for the site opposite KR and the ura turned them down.

coolchoc
05-04-12, 15:57

is this report for real??? can't wait to see what can cm6 be...... soooon....

HCJH
05-04-12, 16:12
They have to clean up the mess asap so that they have enough time to prepare for next election in 2015 rite?

insigina
05-04-12, 16:26
They have to clean up the mess asap so that they have enough time to prepare for next election in 2015 rite?

Must clean-up even sooner if the Hougang by-election takes place. Although only a smc, the results will be a gauge of the electoral sentiment following the last GE.

05-04-12, 16:29
There is a month of nite market there during the Malay new year, very noisy and crowded.

insigina
05-04-12, 16:34
There is a month of nite market there during the Malay new year, very noisy and crowded.

My relation used to stay at Galaxy Tower at the junction of Onan Rd and Geylang. They moved out some years back as the environment was not conducive for own stay. They warned about the new year phenomenon too.

Rosegarden
05-04-12, 17:57
You go check it out...while having a bite to eat at Haig Rd FC.

It's very near PLebar MRT - but the walk is fully exposed.
The whole precinct will be made a Regional Centre but I feel the focus is not on the side where KR is.

A little 'pasar malam' feel to me, but it's interesting to value the location.
Exactly right! Condo may be near to MRT but need to negotiate the big junctions with heavy traffic. I would prefer to walk double the distance along, say, a park connector.

But still, going to be a sellout lah. Who has submitted cheques?

HCJH
05-04-12, 19:09
Hv not decided yet. Even at $1400 for 3 bedrm is still buying high. Down trend is so obvious and even our govt is determined to bring the prices down soon.

repanse71
05-04-12, 19:33
Hi all

Is the tax obligation for developer same as individual for rental income?
Many dev are renting out their units, such as reflections.
So, how to force them to sell? Increase tax?

Hv not decided yet. Even at $1400 for 3 bedrm is still buying high. Down trend is so obvious and even our govt is determined to bring the prices down soon.

insigina
05-04-12, 19:44

The govt is waiting for the tipping point which may come if Sky Habitat and Katong Regency sell out.

HCJH
05-04-12, 19:49
Since last year (?) onwards, developer has to sell all their units within 3-4yrs (?) from the day they bought the land to completion. So they are not able to keep any units by themselves for rental.

05-04-12, 19:57

Hey Bishan got mall at door step, actully better than mall in the same building.

But is it really bull mkt now ? Not all projects are selling well leh. Like that Frasers project(s). UOL small player can clear will clear one. Profit margin already okay at 1600. China Con main con some more, cheapest builder in town.

Btw I heard finishing not bad. 2bd above got marble.

HCJH
05-04-12, 19:59
The previous round of cooling measure in Dec/11 saw developers and real estate body complaining that there is no warning sign for them. Mr Khaw said this is the way it should be. So this time, they sent Mr. Tharman to let out some air first. Maybe something really serious is on its way.

HKG and China has implemented measures which proof to be effective and their property prices has been in control so far. How could Singapore govt lose out?

HCJH
05-04-12, 20:02
Homogenous tiles for all units except penthouses :simmering: at the pricing $1600-2000!!!

HCJH
05-04-12, 20:04
The govt is waiting for the tipping point which may come if Sky Habitat and Katong Regency sell out.

Yes, Sky Habitat's pricing is making them hopping now.

05-04-12, 20:15
Homogenous tiles for all units except penthouses :simmering: at the pricing $1600-2000!!!

Hmmm my info a bit diff leh... I heard 2bd above have marble already. Also got given fridge and washer cum dryer.

Official price not fixed yet. The range is given to test market only. UOL also wants to see how the Bishan one turns out.

Real vvip is for exowner and staff.

HCJH
05-04-12, 20:30
I can understand that they cut cost by laying homogenous tiles and not so good quality fittings and finishes during down time i.e. 2003-2005 when psf is $750 in district 15. But not now when they are selling $1600-2000 not even marble flooring, really outrageous.

insigina
05-04-12, 20:51
Hmmm my info a bit diff leh... I heard 2bd above have marble already. Also got given fridge and washer cum dryer.

Official price not fixed yet. The range is given to test market only. UOL also wants to see how the Bishan one turns out.

Real vvip is for exowner and staff.

Yes, 2bd and above got marble...but not nice color. I think so far Seletar Residence looks best among all showroom

05-04-12, 20:57
I thought it will be all marbles. 1 bedder buyers will be ripped off.

rymccondo77
05-04-12, 21:07
Yes, Sky Habitat's pricing is making them hopping now.

Isn't it ironic that the government, through Temasek Holdings, owns close to 40% of the shares (as indicated in CL's Summary Annual Report 2011)?

05-04-12, 21:08
Isn't it ironic that the government, through Temasek Holdings, owns close to 40% of the shares (as indicated in CL's Summary Annual Report 2011)?

I wonder what Temasek does with the profit it earns, other than returning some miserable interest to CPF.

05-04-12, 22:15
Good what! The rich Indos buy the units above and the poor Indos crowd the shopping mall... Lol

insigina
05-04-12, 22:54
Good what! The rich Indos buy the units above and the poor Indos crowd the shopping mall... Lol

If that's the case you have bees flocking to honey too. Check out city plaza.

05-04-12, 23:12
I can understand that they cut cost by laying homogenous tiles and not so good quality fittings and finishes during down time i.e. 2003-2005 when psf is $750 in district 15. But not now when they are selling $1600-2000 not even marble flooring, really outrageous.

It's much lower than $750, probably $600 psf and below for FH

HCJH
06-04-12, 10:06
I am not sure where you guys got the information from but I think they use Bedok Residences as model - same only penthouses got marble flooring and using ERA as marketing agents.

I do not get all these info from agents.

HCJH
06-04-12, 10:14
It's much lower than $750, probably $600 psf and below for FH

Wow, you got better deal than me. Yes, those are the good days not so long ago...and looks like opportunity is coming back again soon :cheers4:

06-04-12, 10:22
UOL Group's mixed-use Katong Regency in Tanjong Katong Road will be pushed out by the end of this month.

UOL Group president (property) Liam Wee Sin told The Straits Times that prices of the 244 units at Katong Regency on the former Lion City Hotel site will average $1,500 to $1,600 per sq ft (psf).

More than half of the units at freehold Katong Regency are smaller one-bedders or one-plus-study units starting from 549 sq ft. These will be priced at about $1,800 psf, while larger units will list at about $1,400 psf. This means one-bedders at the project will go for about $1 million upwards, two-bedders at $1.3 million to $1.4 million while three-bedders will be sold at about $1.9 million.

'To some extent, the smaller units will target investors and also young couples... The key value proposition of this development is its centrality, connectivity and the growth potential of Paya Lebar hub,' Mr Liam said.

UOL's Mr Liam said he does not think further cooling measures are needed despite the strong sales of new homes. While volumes are up, the measures have had their intended effect with prices showing signs of slowing, he added.

He expects suburban prices to be stable while high-end home values might dip by 5 per cent to 10 per cent this year.

The redevelopment of the mixed-use site UOL acquired in January last year will see Katong Regency built on top of a new mall, One KM.

The mall, which has signed Cold Storage as an anchor tenant, will have up to 200 shops and be positioned as an edutainment centre.

HCJH
06-04-12, 11:10
Well, hope he keeps his words.

06-04-12, 12:02
FH, MRT and Mall and at city fringe. Think the studios/1rm will be a sell out at 1800pfs $1m. Higher floors probably close to 2000pfs then.With some freebies thrown in, people maybe queuing for this.

SH at Bishan, the 1 roomer is much bigger, may do less well at similar pfs.
But excellent location and environment if one doesn't mind the HDB in the vicinity.

06-04-12, 12:16
FH, MRT and Mall and at city fringe. Think the studios/1rm will be a sell out at 1800pfs $1m. Higher floors probably close to 2000pfs then.With some freebies thrown in, people maybe queuing for this.

But excellent location and environment if one doesn't mind the HDB in the vicinity.

Way way too ex for Butterworth area...

06-04-12, 12:20
1800psf? Might as well get citylights

06-04-12, 12:23
1800psf? Might as well get citylights

Simply ridiculous... what kind of crowd they expecting to catch with that mall?
Sell what? Prepaid cards?

If you been to Butterworth area... also lot of PRC and Pinoy tenants... some Malaysian I think...

Maybe open full of FOS???

How is this gonna be better than those at future PLB hub?

06-04-12, 12:32

(SINGAPORE) UOL Group has trumped five other contenders to bag the Lion City Hotel and adjoining former Hollywood Theatre site for $313 million.

The unit land price for the Tanjong Katong-Geylang Road area properties, with a total freehold land area of 147,909 square feet, works out to $779 per square foot (psf) of potential gross floor area inclusive of estimated development charges of $77.8 million, assuming UOL embarks on a mixed commercial and residential project with an average plot ratio of 3.39.

Based on an alternative scheme for a residential project with commercial space on the first storey with a 3.0 plot ratio, the unit land price would work out to about $871 psf per plot ratio.

The property was sold through a tender exercise which closed yesterday, attracting strong interest from six major developers, said Landmark Property Advisers and Knight Frank, which handled the sale.

UOL noted that the property is near the existing Paya Lebar MRT interchange station for the East-West and Circle lines. 'Based on the current allowable development options, the property may be redeveloped as a commercial-cum-residential development. The company will continue to assess the current allowable development options and other factors to determine the final development scheme for the property.'

Given its location, the future redevelopment of the property is expected to benefit from the nearby Paya Lebar Central commercial hub planned by the Urban Redevelopment Authority, UOL said. Lion City Hotel and the former Hollywood Theatre are being sold by the family of the late property magnate Wee Thiam Siew. The hotel was built in 1968 and the Wee family has been operating it.

The theatre stopped screening films in the 1990s and is today home to a food centre and a Sheng Siong supermarket.

In November, Shaw Brothers sold the former Singapura Theatre site at No 55 Changi Road to a consortium that includes Roxy-Pacific and Macly Capital for $44.9 million.

In the same month, Far East Organization bought Paramount Hotel and Shopping Centre along East Coast Road for $214 million. Far East is expected to keep the freehold asset as an investment property for recurring income although refurbishment is likely to be on the cards.
http://forums.condosingapore.com/images/statusicon/user_offline.gif http://forums.condosingapore.com/images/buttons/report.gif (http://forums.condosingapore.com/report.php?p=131080) http://forums.condosingapore.com/images/buttons/quote.gif (http://forums.condosingapore.com/newreply.php?do=newreply&p=131080)

insigina
06-04-12, 12:41
Simply ridiculous... what kind of crowd they expecting to catch with that mall?
Sell what? Prepaid cards?

If you been to Butterworth area... also lot of PRC and Pinoy tenants... some Malaysian I think...

Maybe open full of FOS???

How is this gonna be better than those at future PLB hub?

I read earlier that they planned to have a child-themed mall just like Novena Sq. Then today, ST said edutainment...I thought child-theme was ok 'coz it brings along a certain profile of traffic. Edutainment I am not so sure. Sounds like anything also can now.

06-04-12, 12:43

I agree KR 1 bedders may be a sellout within few weeks at 1mil. Not sure about bishan though. All they have is junction 8, and a well known designer who did MBS.

06-04-12, 13:39
I read earlier that they planned to have a child-themed mall just like Novena Sq. Then today, ST said edutainment...I thought child-theme was ok 'coz it brings along a certain profile of traffic. Edutainment I am not so sure. Sounds like anything also can now.

Means full of tuition centres lor... like Roxy Sq... so here you cater to the study mom's staying in Butterworth area with their precious only sons with dad working hard back home in mainland...

HCJH
06-04-12, 15:36
Ha ha ha All of us really know this area very well! All living in the same province.

But they have good family size 3 bedrm 1389psf although the balcony looks kind of too big. The common bedrm seems able to fit in queen size bed from the floor plan unlike a lot of recent projects that can only have a single bed in the room, bay windows and planters.

08-04-12, 07:25
The Paya Lebar business hub may not be as grand as it is made out to be. To me it is just a few commercial buildings (some already existing). However the psf seems to be climbing very fast for that area and it will mean steep rental. Are there any outstanding factors here to differentiate this from other business hubs, such that it can draw high value-add companies that can brave the high rentals?

08-04-12, 11:18
A ministry will be moving there.
The Paya Lebar business hub may not be as grand as it is made out to be. To me it is just a few commercial buildings (some already existing). However the psf seems to be climbing very fast for that area and it will mean steep rental. Are there any outstanding factors here to differentiate this from other business hubs, such that it can draw high value-add companies that can brave the high rentals?

08-04-12, 11:33
A ministry will be moving there.

This is new info to me... Thx.

08-04-12, 11:36
Understand that it will take over the site where the low-rise industrial park that housed all the car workshops. Do check first.
This is new info to me... Thx.

08-04-12, 13:52
I googled around and found this article http://blog.iproperty.com.sg/paya-lebar-gets-a-facelift/ If I'm not wrong you are referring to WDA CET. This will not be a major boost to the area. This is unlike what HDB had lifted up the old Bukit Merah (now a very quiet place) and now Toa Payoh (now an even more bustling place). Correct me if I'm wrong.

08-04-12, 15:37
I googled around and found this article http://blog.iproperty.com.sg/paya-lebar-gets-a-facelift/ If I'm not wrong you are referring to WDA CET. This will not be a major boost to the area. This is unlike what HDB had lifted up the old Bukit Merah (now a very quiet place) and now Toa Payoh (now an even more bustling place). Correct me if I'm wrong.

TPY has the added push by property firms offices, property conveyancing legal firms and other ancillary services being located in HDB Hub or nearby buildings...

08-04-12, 15:45
Precisely. This is e type of agency tt will cause e area to boom. CET will not.

insigina
08-04-12, 16:59

It will be a challenge to transform the area; not with Tanjong Katong Complex and City Plaza as they are today. Throw in Grandlink into the mix and you get the idea. imo these 3 complexes need to be rejuvenated as they are sitting on plots of real estate that can make or break any plans.

09-04-12, 15:53
Integrated development near MRT is hot ... this one must sell 30% higher than Bedok given its freehold status :D Alas it does not have tunnel to MRT

http://katongregencyz.com/gallery/

http://cdn-sg2.pgimgs.com/images/thumb/9/e/5/d/9e5de219204662_1_V550.jpg

Looks impressive, the name of the mall One KM also is creative

09-04-12, 18:15
1 km to what? The mrt?

09-04-12, 18:17
Integrated development near MRT is hot ... this one must sell 30% higher than Bedok given its freehold status :D Alas it does not have tunnel to MRT

http://katongregencyz.com/gallery/

http://cdn-sg2.pgimgs.com/images/thumb/9/e/5/d/9e5de219204662_1_V550.jpg

Looks impressive, the name of the mall One KM also is creative
I love the impression of the kitchen. Somehow very inviting...

10-04-12, 01:03
was told pricing around $15xx-16xx psf before discount.

10-04-12, 09:20
Eventually will be 1.4-1.5kpsf after discount ... should be slightly above Waterbank @ Dakota due to its freehold status and ready access to mall

Any idea who will operate the mall and what is the plan?

10-04-12, 09:58
Any idea who will operate the mall and what is the plan?

UOL itself. anchor tenant is Cold Storage.
the real detail plan I think not really finalized. As of now it throws the idea of edutainment, aka united square.

darkseid
11-04-12, 20:09
UOL itself. anchor tenant is Cold Storage.
the real detail plan I think not really finalized. As of now it throws the idea of edutainment, aka united square.

I saw alots of people inside the showflat today.

insigina
11-04-12, 20:24
I saw alots of people inside the showflat today.

Agent briefing this evening. Stay tuned

darkseid
11-04-12, 20:36
Agent briefing this evening. Stay tuned

Think so. Maybe can drop by over the weekend to take a look.

12-04-12, 11:37
Published April 12, 2012

UOL to build 'edutainment' mall

Paya Lebar mall will house niche enrichment schools and trades related to education

By

michelle tan (http://www.businesstimes.com.sg/reporter/michelle-tan-0)

http://www.businesstimes.com.sg/sites/businesstimes.com.sg/files/imagecache/image_300x200/BT_20120412_TMUOL12_1266453.jpg (http://www.businesstimes.com.sg/sites/businesstimes.com.sg/files/imagecache/filenamee/BT_20120412_TMUOL12_1266453e.jpg)

One KM: Above the retail mall will be UOL's 244-unit freehold private residence named Katong Regency, to be launched soon at between $1,500 and $1,600 psf

THE former site of Lion City Hotel and Hollywood Theatre would see a new facelift come mid-2014 in the form of a new shopping mall called One KM.

To be developed by UOL Group, the three-storey mall - in addition to a basement - is poised to be a knowledge-based centre with niche enrichment schools alongside other education-related trades.

Explaining the rationale behind the mall's positioning, Liam Wee Sin, UOL group president (property) said: "There is an existing high student catchment population, with 20 local and international schools within a 2km radius, with a total student population of 37,000. As such, the positioning of the mall as an edutainment centre is a natural one."

When completed, One KM would comprise around 170 to 200 shop units (averaging about 400 sq ft to 600 sq ft) spanning across a total net lettable area of approximately 210,000 sq ft - of which 20,000 sq ft has already been leased to anchor tenant, Cold Storage.

Mr Liam also said that the retail units at One KM are expected to be held by the group for investment purposes with average rents expected to range widely from the high single digits to more than $30 per square foot (psf).

The completed development, which will have a total of 530 car park lots, will be located next to the upcoming Paya Lebar Central Commercial Hub and a stone's throw from Paya Lebar MRT station.

Said Mr Liam: "Our track record and keen eye for urban rejuvenation projects have been stellar. For the Paya Lebar precinct, we hope to again play a catalytic role and create value by transforming the area into a vibrant urban hub."

Previously, UOL was involved in other area rejuvenation projects which resulted in the the development of Tiong Bahru Plaza, Twin Regency, Regency Suites and The Regency@ Tiong Bahru.

Above the One KM retail mall will be UOL's 244-unit freehold private residence named Katong Regency, which is expected to be launched sometime over the next two weeks, with indicative prices estimated to range between $1,500 and $1,600 psf.

Unit types to be offered include 126 one or one plus study bedders, 58 two or two plus study bedders, 36 three or three plus study bedders, 18 sky suites and 6 penthouses.

13-04-12, 01:11
Interesting read on Lion City Hotel.
http://timesofmylife.wordpress.com/2011/12/28/bye-bye-to-hollywood-theatre-and-lion-city-hotel-part-2/

17-04-12, 20:15
So Sky Habitat launched and tested, what is this KR going to be priced at ? ;)

Still 1500 to 1600 ?

17-04-12, 20:46
see how they screwed the duchess residences buyers?

maybe now all 1900psf regardless of size?

2 days countdown.

So Sky Habitat launched and tested, what is this KR going to be priced at ? ;)

Still 1500 to 1600 ?

insigina
17-04-12, 21:13
see how they screwed the duchess residences buyers?

maybe now all 1900psf regardless of size?

2 days countdown.

Tomorrow employees, directors and ex-owners preview. It will be interesting to see what is left thereafter...

17-04-12, 22:18
oh no. hopefully not a replay of duchess residences:

tomorrow, directors and cronies 1500psf. thursday so called VVIP Preview FROM 1800psf. :doh: maybe that's what that director meant in the newspaper article but the reporter misunderstood! hahahahaha

Tomorrow employees, directors and ex-owners preview. It will be interesting to see what is left thereafter...

insigina
17-04-12, 23:06

tomorrow, directors and cronies 1500psf. thursday so called VVIP Preview FROM 1800psf. :doh: maybe that's what that director meant in the newspaper article but the reporter misunderstood! hahahahaha

Just get ready to be shocked. Those eyeing choice units better have back-up options.

bakasa2002
18-04-12, 11:32
Possible to sold out within the first wkend. Still thinking whether it's worthwhile to consider a 1+1 for investment at this price. Any advice?

18-04-12, 11:45
Possible to sold out within the first wkend. Still thinking whether it's worthwhile to consider a 1+1 for investment at this price. Any advice?

let's just say if you are not eligible to go inside the show room NOW and still "thinking", it will not be worthwhile ;)

bakasa2002
18-04-12, 11:54
let's just say if you are not eligible to go inside the show room NOW and still "thinking", it will not be worthwhile ;)

As in the place is over-priced and/or the commercial hub thingy will not take off?

18-04-12, 12:20
Guaranteed sold out:

1. Free hold / integrated mall / near MRT - lethal combo
2. Very few units
3. Efficient layout and spacious block to block distance
4. Paya Lebar hype
5. SH 99LH already 1700psf, Geylang already 1400psf

No tennis court??

18-04-12, 12:44
think amk is referring to my example given yesterday:

amk's NOW = duchess then at 1500psf, if u r not one of developer's cronies, tomorrow will be duchess residences "VVIP Preview FROM 1800psf". while i believe this time the premium won't be as steep, u can still expect cronies to get a good discount today vs tomorrow. :2cents:

As in the place is over-priced and/or the commercial hub thingy will not take off?

18-04-12, 13:24
Interesting read on Lion City Hotel.
http://timesofmylife.wordpress.com/2011/12/28/bye-bye-to-hollywood-theatre-and-lion-city-hotel-part-2/

thx for sharing the nice blog post. i dig the kfc there...

bakasa2002
18-04-12, 14:03
Guaranteed sold out:

1. Free hold / integrated mall / near MRT - lethal combo
2. Very few units
3. Efficient layout and spacious block to block distance
4. Paya Lebar hype
5. SH 99LH already 1700psf, Geylang already 1400psf

No tennis court??

arghh, looks tough to snag a unit there w 200+ units and mainly small 2bdr and below. :(

18-04-12, 14:31
we shall see the sales 2moro and the weekend. Anyone wanna make a guess this week how many units clear? Me thinks probably 50% or more

bakasa2002
18-04-12, 14:34
we shall see the sales 2moro and the weekend. Anyone wanna make a guess this week how many units clear? Me thinks probably 50% or more

I suspect this will sell out. :)

18-04-12, 14:36

I also have a 'bad feeling' it might be that case but muz be humble abit so half my expectation of the full sell out

18-04-12, 14:38

I don't think can get in unless you have contacts in UOL or the agents.

bakasa2002
18-04-12, 14:40

A ERA agent contacting me but yet to submit cheque, so probably low chance but there is a likelyhood it will appeal quite a bit to our well to do Malay community buyers given that it is near Geylang Serai and Joo Chiat area.

insigina
18-04-12, 14:58

I understand those who submitted checks will know the outcome of their choices tonight.

bakasa2002
18-04-12, 15:25
I understand those who submitted checks will know the outcome of their choices tonight.

As in whether their choice units are taken up by internal purchases?

Rosegarden
18-04-12, 15:36
thx for sharing the nice blog post. i dig the kfc there...

The Mac there was famous for the Hello Kitty chaos ... overnight queue, fighting and breaking glass doors when a full grown man couldn't get his hands on a mouthless soft toy.

insigina
18-04-12, 15:37
As in whether their choice units are taken up by internal purchases?

Checks submitted but no need to preview show flats will have their outcome known this evening. Those who submitted checks but need to view show flats will be tomorrow morning. All others will be in the afternoon.

bakasa2002
18-04-12, 16:13
Checks submitted but no need to preview show flats will have their outcome known this evening. Those who submitted checks but need to view show flats will be tomorrow morning. All others will be in the afternoon.

ok, thanks for the update.

18-04-12, 17:09
The Mac there was famous for the Hello Kitty chaos ... overnight queue, fighting and breaking glass doors when a full grown man couldn't get his hands on a mouthless soft toy.
Ah the good old days... Wonder will we ever have showflat glass door being broken coz buyer didnt manage to get choice unit...

insigina
18-04-12, 20:42
Ah the good old days... Wonder will we ever have showflat glass door being broken coz buyer didnt manage to get choice unit...

What do you mean choice units??? Understand the vast majority of 2 bedders are gone for the closed door friends only preview...

18-04-12, 20:48
What do you mean choice units??? Understand the vast majority of 2 bedders are gone for the closed door friends only preview...

SO HOT? EVEN GOT MONEY OSO NO CHANCE TO HOOT? WHY another thread spells so much doom by the self-acclaim Bman and so rosy? why why???

18-04-12, 20:55
Cheong ah! :D The higher the better....

All property owners huat ah!:cheers1:

18-04-12, 20:56

... any wee & co. purchase ? ;)

18-04-12, 21:32
SO HOT? EVEN GOT MONEY OSO NO CHANCE TO HOOT? WHY another thread spells so much doom by the self-acclaim Bman and so rosy? why why???
Like birkins mah got money also cannot hoot, Tbear say de. :)

18-04-12, 22:07
channel 8 news, just declared 100 units release, 50% sold. HOWWW?
2moro mad rushhhhhhh?

18-04-12, 22:36
2moro mad rushhhhhhh?

wahhh their one-bedders at 1800-1900 psf nett leh...

18-04-12, 22:44
is it wee & co. buy 50 units at 1500psf then tomorrow sell to VVIP at 1800psf? :tongue3:

2moro mad rushhhhhhh?

18-04-12, 22:47
wahhh their one-bedders at 1800-1900 psf nett leh...

how u know? official price out liao?

18-04-12, 23:02
can ask fellow investors here?
My relative thingking of getting a condo, must be FH, mall and mrt nearby. 3bedder, price around 1500psf.

I only know of City Square Residences, Katong Regency. got any other projects that fit the bill? no prime areas, too expensive.

18-04-12, 23:07
i just saw on ch U news. it says MORE THAN HALF of the 100 units. showflat looked crowded.

2moro mad rushhhhhhh?

18-04-12, 23:19
i just saw on ch U news. it says MORE THAN HALF of the 100 units. showflat looked crowded.

so today is director sales or actual VVVIP?

18-04-12, 23:30
should not be actual VVVIP. should be the VVVVVVVVVVVVIP kelong cronies preview. :D

so today is director sales or actual VVVIP?

18-04-12, 23:45
is it wee & co. buy 50 units at 1500psf then tomorrow sell to VVIP at 1800psf? :tongue3:

Today's price for 2bd and above is < 1500 I think

Look out for SGX disclosure filing tomo ok ;)

Dtrax, today is director, employee, business partner , ex owner, etc.

insigina
19-04-12, 00:02

Think the 2 bedder all gone by now. Left the 3 bedders and 1 bedders. Heard the 3 bedders going for comfortably over 2 mil. A couple of stacks really cmi.:tsk-tsk:

19-04-12, 00:10
can ask fellow investors here?
My relative thingking of getting a condo, must be FH, mall and mrt nearby. 3bedder, price around 1500psf.

I only know of City Square Residences, Katong Regency. got any other projects that fit the bill? no prime areas, too expensive.

Tresalveo next to Marymount mrt.
http://forums.condosingapore.com/showthread.php?t=7593

19-04-12, 00:24
they won't file so soon one. only after the mad craze tomorrow at 1800psf and majority sold then they declare.

19-04-12, 01:21
they won't file so soon one. only after the mad craze tomorrow at 1800psf and majority sold then they declare.

Seems ok price:
Prices for one-bedders average $1,700 psf, while two and three-bedders average $1,450 psf based on the pricing values of $950,000, $1.38 million and $2.05 million for one, two and three-bedders, respectively.

19-04-12, 01:33
that means siao liao? tomorrow will be 1900psf for one bedders while 2 and 3 bedders 1700psf?

Seems ok price:
Prices for one-bedders average $1,700 psf, while two and three-bedders average $1,450 psf based on the pricing values of $950,000, $1.38 million and $2.05 million for one, two and three-bedders, respectively.

19-04-12, 02:36
The article pricing is with reference to the launch today, 19 apr

19-04-12, 09:48
This is why I dun understand why URA dun enforce "full price list 2 days before launch" !

Even in the preview, say u want to buy unit x, agent dun have the price, must queue there in front of the developer and find out the px for you. So UOL practically can see the demand and raise price on the spot!

Look what CAPL did with Sky Habitat, very transparent. Full price list in front of you. That's why I always respect CAPL.

19-04-12, 09:51
btw the postal address of this is 437***, should be technically D15

19-04-12, 09:53
i know that's what they did for duchess. if it repeats itself, then it signals the RCR peak just as it did for CCR then? :D

yeah! no respect for UOL. pui pui pui. :ashamed1:

This is why I dun understand why URA dun enforce "full price list 2 days before launch" !

Even in the preview, say u want to buy unit x, agent dun have the price, must queue there in front of the developer and find out the px for you. So UOL practically can see the demand and raise price on the spot!

Look what CAPL did with Sky Habitat, very transparent. Full price list in front of you. That's why I always respect CAPL.

19-04-12, 10:02

However, the price list is not the nett price.

It is similar to car price. Listed price is transparent but the discount varies. There is no full transparency.

19-04-12, 10:03
if it repeats itself, then it signals the RCR peak just as it did for CCR then? :D

yes that will be a nice indicator. :)

heard 2bd almost all gone, 3bd (only 4 stacks out of 30) almost half gone, now left ONLY mostly the 1bd for "investor units" for the VVIP today and the public. U know 2bd and 3bd have the better finishes (like marble etc) and are in better location, and have lower psf. they are better buys. 1bd are really there to bump up the psf. won't be surprised it's 1700-1800.

19-04-12, 10:09
the worst that can happen is they sell the remaining 3 bedder at the same psf of the 1 bedder to the VVIPs reasoning that there has been good demand for bigger units. that would surely be a duchess.

remember 2007, duchess garden mansionette and penthouses were sold at same psf as the regular units at 1800 and above? almost 5 years later today, there is such a discrepancy with 1550 vs 1800/1900 for the regular units there.

yes that will be a nice indicator. :)

heard 2bd almost all gone, 3bd (only 4 stacks out of 30) almost half gone, now left ONLY mostly the 1bd for "investor units" for the VVIP today and the public. U know 2bd and 3bd have the better finishes (like marble etc) and are in better location, and have lower psf. they are better buys. 1bd are really there to bump up the psf. won't be surprised it's 1700-1800.

19-04-12, 10:12
However, the price list is not the nett price.

It is similar to car price. Listed price is transparent but the discount varies. There is no full transparency.

in Sky Habitat's case ? I think you may have been misinformed. The price list has both listed price and several types of discounted prices there. like 3% neighborhood, 1% repeat customer, etc. It's clear who is eligible to what. CAPL does not have any other under table undeclared discounts. In short it's not FEO style.

19-04-12, 10:16
in Sky Habitat's case ? I think you may have been misinformed. The price list has both listed price and several types of discounted prices there. like 3% neighborhood, 1% repeat customer, etc. It's clear who is eligible to what. CAPL does not have any other under table undeclared discounts. In short it's not FEO style.
I am talking about past capland projects because you said u always respect capland.

Is it the first time for them to provide full discount to the public?

19-04-12, 10:28
Is it the first time for them to provide full discount to the public?

I believe starting from Interlace, after URA "issued guidelines" to have full price transparency, and CAPL followed as instructed.

In the past, I think CAPL does not have under table discounts. And no "price upon application".

19-04-12, 10:36
I believe starting from Interlace, after URA "issued guidelines" to have full price transparency, and CAPL followed as instructed.

In the past, I think CAPL does not have under table discounts. And no "price upon application".
did they provide the full price list and discounts 2days before preview?

19-04-12, 10:47
In my own very humble opinion, I dont think the pricelist thing will help at all.

Imagine if they publish the price list with say 10% discount on first day, then 3rd day reduce by 0.5% and give news that they will continue to reduce the discount as and when units are sold.

This kinda tactic will drive even more layman to quickly dig out their chq books!

19-04-12, 10:50
In my own very humble opinion, I dont think the pricelist thing will help at all.

Imagine if they publish the price list with say 10% discount on first day, then 3rd day reduce by 0.5% and give news that they will continue to reduce the discount as and when units are sold.

This kinda tactic will drive even more layman to quickly dig out their chq books!

it is important to release exact price list and discount few days before preview.

release full price list only after preview defeat the purpose.

19-04-12, 10:56
did they provide the full price list and discounts 2days before preview?

on the day itself, you have the price list.

Rosy/DKSG, to have the full price list of all units whether they have been sold or still available BEFORE your purchase is good enough. Dun have to be 2 days. For many developments, the price is fixed on the very last hour.

19-04-12, 11:04
on the day itself, you have the price list.

Rosy/DKSG, to have the full price list of all units whether they have been sold or still available BEFORE your purchase is good enough. Dun have to be 2 days. For many developments, the price is fixed on the very last hour.

many projects, buyers have to make cheque submission before the preview in order to secure their choice units. that is part of the reason why some buyers prefer new launches so as to secure their preferred unit. However, submitting cheque without knowing the exact price can be very dangerous. Buyers can potentially be pressured to commit on a higher than expected price by the crowd and hype on the actual day of preview

19-04-12, 11:07
Fyi, i have received exact price list for one of the recent new launches 1 day before the preview. It is a good start.

19-04-12, 11:08
many projects, buyers have to make cheque submission before the preview in order to secure their choice units. that is part of the reason why some buyers prefer new launches so as to secure their preferred unit. However, submitting cheque without knowing the exact price can be very dangerous. Buyers can potentially be pressured to commit on a higher than expected price by the crowd and hype on the actual day of preview

Confirm. Chop. Sign.
Buyers will SURE be pressured by such a crowded. If someone keeps asking u whether you want to take the unit or not because there are 10 others waiting for you to give up, chances are you will take it.

But if there are really 10 others wanting the unit, that also means demand is very strong.

So it is really a willing buyer/seller situation.

I have personally seen some agents telling buyers there are x number of people waiting for him to give up when there are none, the poor buyer still fall for it and committed. Hope he is still around.

What I mean is, they publish the pricelist, tell u projected discount is 10%, then on actual day increase or decrease the discount, isnt it the same thing ?

My advice to buyers is : Go in with a number in mind, say $1,600 psf, anything more than that number, walk away. In that way, you wont get swayed by the crowd.

Just my 1.5 cents contribution to the forum.

19-04-12, 11:12
aiyo you can always submit any cheque and later say dun want what ...
plus, for real, VVVVVIP, no need cheque submission. yesterday's preview of this Katong, I'm pretty sure no one submitted any cheque.
The important thing is buyer must know the global picture of this project. for example in duchess case, if you know one day ago ppl bought only at 1500psf, will you still buy at 2000psf , even if you were ready to pay 2000psf ? most definitely not. transparency in pricing is very important.

19-04-12, 11:14
What I mean is, they publish the pricelist, tell u projected discount is 10%, then on actual day increase or decrease the discount, isnt it the same thing ?

I think you miss the point. CAPL's SH price list is fixed. no more changes. And you KNOW what discount you are qualified for. Very transparent. This is not car sales. This is also not FEO sales.

19-04-12, 11:14
aiyo you can always submit any cheque and later say dun want what ...
plus, for real, VVVVVIP, no need cheque submission. yesterday's preview of this Katong, I'm pretty sure no one submitted any cheque.
The important thing is buyer must know the global picture of this project. for example in duchess case, if you know one day ago ppl bought only at 1500psf, will you still buy at 2000psf , even if you were ready to pay 2000psf ? most definitely not. transparency in pricing is very important.

I agree with AMK! But then the pricelist wont help as it may not show the varying discounts. What you meant is the actual transacted prices.

bakasa2002
19-04-12, 13:32
anyone reporting live fr the showflat? Any units left? :)

Rosegarden
19-04-12, 13:39
anyone reporting live fr the showflat? Any units left? :)

50% sold. All 2br except those with PES sold.

Disclaimer: agent said one, add your own comfortable amount of salt.

19-04-12, 14:09
Just got a text message from an ERA agent. All 2 & 3 bedrooms sold out. 1 and 1+S still available.

19-04-12, 14:19
Just got a text message from an ERA agent. All 2 & 3 bedrooms sold out. 1 and 1+S still available.

what's the psf level now ?

bakasa2002
19-04-12, 14:26

Looks like the ST rpt abt shoebox apt and the high psf is having some effect! :)

bakasa2002
19-04-12, 14:27
what's the psf level now ?
for 1bdr shd be about 1800-1900psf ba ....

19-04-12, 14:39
if 2 and 3 bedders are fully sold, that alone 58+36 = 94 (minus PES types maybe just under 90?).

there are 126 one and 1+study units so naturally takes longer to sell? that's of course in addition to higher psf and that since 950k quantum can get 1 bedder but 1.3m can get 2 bedder, of course buy 2 bedder.

my guess is if they have sold around 50 one bedders then 140/244 is 57% sold liao.

19-04-12, 14:42
for 1bdr shd be about 1800-1900psf ba ....
*should be* ? that's HUGE gap ! 2bd better finish better facing 14## only !

19-04-12, 15:36
so in the end still same as duchess style except more open what!

14xxpsf unit types all snapped up by UOL cronies/friends etc, sell the 1 bedders to public at FROM 17xxpsf mah!

*should be* ? that's HUGE gap ! 2bd better finish better facing 14## only !

19-04-12, 15:48
But doesnt make sense if no reserve for public.. how to exercise carrot chopping? Anw shall see the news today on the sales fig lol

19-04-12, 16:06
it will be cronies and family who gain not UOL mah. probably there were some 3 bedders left from yesterday but today sold to VVVIP not sure if price was increased or not.

But doesnt make sense if no reserve for public.. how to exercise carrot chopping? Anw shall see the news today on the sales fig lol

19-04-12, 16:49
Official Website:
http://www.katongregency.com.sg/

kal
19-04-12, 21:30
30+ units left !!! that means 80+% sold within 48hrs !!:ashamed1:

19-04-12, 21:36
WoW! So hot here!

19-04-12, 22:22
Latest from CNA: 70% sold.

19-04-12, 22:23

I SCREAM ICE-CREAM!!

19-04-12, 22:36
I SCREAM ICE-CREAM!!

CM6 coming liao......:tsk-tsk:

19-04-12, 22:44
that's probably at a cut off time before our bro reported the 80+% sold?

20-04-12, 11:38
District 14 huat ah!

20-04-12, 12:41
EuHabitat owners HUAT big time ... 1br was about 900psf only last time for EuHabitat ...

20-04-12, 12:48
EuHabitat owners HUAT big time ... 1br was about 900psf only last time for EuHabitat ...
EuHabitat no match with katong regency in terms of location n amenities..so dont understand why will EuHabitat huat?
Both projects are miles apart also in terms of distance.
Anyway one is 99yrs while the other is fh..

Ilikeu
20-04-12, 14:07
This one is a much better buy than Sky habitat...
UOL under-price this...?

insigina
20-04-12, 14:21
This one is a much better buy than Sky habitat...
UOL under-price this...?

Different product. Sky Habitat gives you a residential type of environment one can easily associate with and connect. For Katong Regency, you need to dig deep into the bag to find this connection. I tried as I visited the location many times in the run up to the launch. The x factor is not there and honestly, I was quite disappointed with myself. I think I am not alone in coming to this conclusion.

20-04-12, 14:27
Published April 20, 2012

Latest property launches continue to draw local buyers
Projects at Katong, Bishan sell briskly at $1,500-1,700 psf

By
michelle tan (http://www.businesstimes.com.sg/reporter/michelle-tan-0)

http://www.businesstimes.com.sg/sites/businesstimes.com.sg/files/imagecache/image_300x200/BT_20120420_TMLAUNCH20DL2N_1272730.jpg (http://www.businesstimes.com.sg/sites/businesstimes.com.sg/files/imagecache/filenamee/BT_20120420_TMLAUNCH20DL2N_1272730e.jpg)
Popular district: UOL's freehold Katong Regency was said to have sold around 70 per cent of all its units as of yesterday evening at an average price that ranged somewhere between $1,500 and $1,600 psf

During UOL's annual general meeting yesterday, group chairman Wee Cho Yaw pointed out that the robust take-up at property launches is likely due to the high amount of liquidity in the market amid a low interest rate environment.

RESIDENTIAL developments launched over the past week continue to be snapped up like hot cakes, despite their increasingly hefty price tags.

UOL's Katong Regency, which was soft launched barely two days ago, saw a large crowd at its showflat on a weekday afternoon, with many prospective buyers standing around eagerly analysing price lists of the units.

In fact, the freehold 244-unit mixed development which will reside on the former Lion City Hotel and Hollywood Theatre sites, was said to have sold around 70 per cent of all its units as of yesterday evening at an average price that ranged somewhere between $1,500 and $1,600 per square foot (psf).

According to agents smaller units, such as a 550 sq ft one-bedder unit, also achieved high prices starting from $950,000 - which translates to around $1,727 psf.

Kam Tin Seah, senior general manager (investment and strategic development), said: "Katong Regency is a quality development located next to the upcoming Paya Lebar central commercial hub. Besides its strategic location, Katong Regency is also a development that sits atop a three-storey retail mall that will focus on edutainment, gastronomy and lifestyle. With 70 per cent booked, we are pleased that homebuyers recognise the value propositions of this development and realistic pricing for a rare freehold in the highly popular district 15."

Last weekend, CapitaLand also saw brisk sales at the launch of its 99-year leasehold Bishan 509-unit condominium project, Sky Habitat, with 125 units out of the 180 launched sold by Sunday evening at prices that were well above those asked by existing developments in the vicinity.

Notably, average prices for a four-bedder and a one-bedder were said to come in at around $1,642 and $1,747 psf for the respective unit types with buyers being primarily Singaporeans.

During UOL's annual general meeting yesterday, group chairman Wee Cho Yaw pointed out that the robust take-up at property launches is likely due to the high amount of liquidity in the market amid a low interest rate environment, which in turn spurs investors to park cash in options such as properties or stocks.

Consultants also note that demand has been well supported by local buyers so far and expect the sales momentum to continue in the coming months, especially in well-located sub-urban developments.
However, if demand and prices continue to spiral higher, some worry that new cooling measures might be rolled out by the end of the year.

20-04-12, 16:17
Different product. Sky Habitat gives you a residential type of environment one can easily associate with and connect. For Katong Regency, you need to dig deep into the bag to find this connection. I tried as I visited the location many times in the run up to the launch. The x factor is not there and honestly, I was quite disappointed with myself. I think I am not alone in coming to this conclusion.
I find that this is a no brainer if u compare SH n KR.
KR is city fringe,lower psf than SH n the best thing is its fh.
Iconic building or design,after a period of time will also look outdated n old.
So KR definitely a much better buy between these 2 IMO.

20-04-12, 16:25
KR - got a slight edge in pricing and FH...
SH - is hype with some features and high-rise.

But comparing only the two can lead to distraction to fundermental issue - which is why either? why now? what is my upside/intend/etc?

insigina
20-04-12, 16:27

Geylang is even closer to city fringe. No doubt KR is a reasonable buy for the price range. If you can relate to the surroundings, good for you. Sunday afternoon is a good time to start. Unfortunately I cannot. To each his own...

speculator
20-04-12, 16:33
Published April 20, 2012

During UOL's annual general meeting yesterday, group chairman Wee Cho Yaw pointed out that the robust take-up at property launches is likely due to the high amount of liquidity in the market amid a low interest rate environment.

Wee Cho Yaw is saying the obvious. :beats-me-man:

20-04-12, 16:35
Geylang is even closer to city fringe. No doubt KR is a reasonable buy for the price range. If you can relate to the surroundings, good for you. Sunday afternoon is a good time to start. Unfortunately I cannot. To each his own...
I m relating it from a neutral point of view as i m not vested in KR.
If i were to plonk my $$ down,KR would definitely b my choice.
End of d day,SH is still located in a hdb estate n its 99yrs.

20-04-12, 16:36
The main question of the day is, has KR declared 100% sold, TQ For your Support Already???

20-04-12, 16:41
It won't b so difficult cos heard from those agents the remaining units are all 1 or 1+s..

20-04-12, 17:27
Kal's update yesterday was only 30+ left, should be all gone by today? will the showflat still be open for the weekend? hahahahahaha

The main question of the day is, has KR declared 100% sold, TQ For your Support Already???

20-04-12, 19:40

No wonder KR is priced to sell out before Sunday. :)

speculator
20-04-12, 21:37
No wonder KR is priced to sell out before Sunday. :)

the whole environment there is horrible comes weekend.

They shouldn't call themselves Katong to spoil the good name of Katong :D

20-04-12, 23:30
It really does not matter ... it is still better than putting your money in the bank and let 5-6% inflation eroding away the purchasing power

How long the music can go ... nobody knows

FLAMINGO VALLEY SIGLAP ROAD Condominium 1 778,190 517 Strata 1,506psf Apr-12

TEMBELING RESIDENCE TEMBELING ROAD Apartment 1 695,000 420 Strata 1,656psf Mar-12

21-04-12, 00:24
It really does not matter ... it is still better than putting your money in the bank and let 5-6% inflation eroding away the purchasing power

TEMBELING RESIDENCE TEMBELING ROAD Apartment 1 695,000 420 Strata 1,656psf Mar-12
Simply shocking!!!!!

21-04-12, 00:34
Simply shocking!!!!!
Now u buy a brand new cheapest 3 series bimmer will cost u 250k already.
so buying an apartment@ 700k - 800k is nothing actually.

21-04-12, 00:35
Simply shocking!!
Sorry...duplicate post.
Kindly ignore.

21-04-12, 06:54

I thought the government together with the banks own and play the jukebox. They decide when the music stops.

21-04-12, 08:34
They can play the jukebox in slow mo but they cannot to let it stop entirely...

21-04-12, 08:35
They can play the jukebox in slow mo but they cannot to let it stop entirely...

They won't stop. Singapore economy will collapse.

21-04-12, 12:01
Now u buy a brand new cheapest 3 series bimmer will cost u 250k already.
so buying an apartment@ 700k - 800k is nothing actually.

Shocking not coz of quantum but the price.!!!

HCJH
21-04-12, 13:59
I see property bubbles forming in the air.:cheers4:

21-04-12, 15:42
KR is priced quite low.

21-04-12, 15:46
FH Esta Ruby at just below $1000 3 years ago were not hot eventhough paya lebar plan is out. KR is really amazing. Is the mall really worth so much? MOM will be moving here.
KR is priced quite low.

21-04-12, 22:43
Left last 19+ units as of Afternoon today.. cheapest 1bedder >1mil

21-04-12, 22:47
Left last 19+ units as of Afternoon today.. cheapest 1bedder >1mil

Yeah. It only tells u developer has under priced e units.

21-04-12, 23:47
Yeah. It only tells u developer has under priced e units.

Hmmm Wee & Co "under price" a project.... I think the last time it happened was in southbank ;)

Not under price lah. 1600 is the righht level to clear it. UOL is not really a very big player, he wants to clear it. I think he knows this maker is peaking and he still has that bedok project to clear.

21-04-12, 23:57
Hmmm Wee & Co "under price" a project.... I think the last time it happened was in southbank ;)

Not under price lah. 1600 is the righht level to clear it. UOL is not really a very big player, he wants to clear it. I think he knows this maker is peaking and he still has that bedok project to clear.
They could have sold this at $2000psf if the units were smaller. Will still sell well! 3xx-4xx sqft 1 bedder starts from 700-800k. Ppl will still grab

22-04-12, 00:00
sell at 2000psf and risk incurring the wrath of CM6. better not lah, leave some meat on the table for everybody to eat.

22-04-12, 07:59
After the MM restrictions in landed area (except Geylang), boutique MM seems to be selling quite well in recent months.

22-04-12, 11:50
After the MM restrictions in landed area (except Geylang), boutique MM seems to be selling quite well in recent months.

especially those near MRTs...

Jcmillineum
26-04-12, 23:48
Can't believe a district 14 can be called Katong...I thought it's district 15 for katong.:scared-2:

Worsty
27-04-12, 10:11
Can't believe a district 14 can be called Katong...I thought it's district 15 for katong.:scared-2:
Your point being?

Is River Valley High school located at River valley? Is Flamingo valley located in a valley of flamingos?

Did you repeat your JC education for a thousand years and that's why you're called Jcmillineum? From how you spelled millennium, it appears that's the case yes?

A name's a name. It's near enough Katong to be called Katong if the developer so wish to. In fact, it's nearer to Katong then Upper Paya Lebar is to Paya Lebar road. Why not suites @ Upper Paya Lebar road?

Just saying.

27-04-12, 10:38
point being names are important. :o
the way the developer chooses the katong association over its plainly paya lebar locale speaks volume. Just saying...

27-04-12, 10:44
point being names are important. :o
the way the developer chooses the katong association over its plainly paya lebar locale speaks volume. Just saying...
Paya lebar regency will sound weird

27-04-12, 10:46
How abt PL Regency? Or Lepak Point?

Paya lebar regency will sound weird

27-04-12, 10:46

of course can.... don't you know Macpherson is also in Marine Parade?:D