View Full Version : UP @ Robertson Quay - New *Vista *Realty *Pte *Ltd/Novel *Developments *Pte *Ltd (Cit

mi5mi6
11-04-12, 12:25
Total Units: 70 units of apartment, commercial units and Hotel

http://property-in-singapore.biz/new-homes-condominium/up-robertson-quay-new-vista-realty-pte-ltdnovel-developments-pte-ltd

11-04-12, 12:48
Concept like in the animated 3d movie UP? So the house can just fly away anytime?

mi5mi6
13-04-12, 16:56
UP @ Robertson Quay
Residential-Hotel
(District 09)
Robertson Quay / 92 Robertson Quay
Developed By New Vista Realty Pte. Ltd. & Novel Developments Pte. Ltd.
[Subsidiary of City Developments Ltd.]
More Info @ www.property-in-singapore.biz
99 years – PROPOSED ERECTION OF A PART 2 STOREY, PART 4 STOREY AND PART 10 STOREY HOTEL DEVELOPMENT AND A RESIDENTIAL BLOCK (TOTAL 70 UNITS) WITH A 3-STOREY CARPARK PODIUM BLOCK WITH SWIMMING POOL AND COMMUNCAL FACILITIES
More Pictures here:

http://property-in-singapore.biz/featured/up-robertson-quay-new-vista-realty-pte-ltdnovel-developments-pte-ltd

Expected T.O.P. Date:
From $
UNIT MIX :
1br (43 - 57sqm /463 - 614sqft) : 22 units
1br + Study/ Guest (49 - 69sqm /527 - 743sqft) : 21 units
2br (70 - 128sqm/753 - 1378sqft) : 27 units

(***size subject to changes)
Architectural
• Designed it in a way to make the spaces flexible, maximizing the usable floor areas and allowing for innovative loft living ♣ Selected units high floor-to-floor height with furniture deck.♣ 2-bedroom units with flexi-concept layout that comes with dual-purpose designer furniture (murphy bed).♣ Built in storage under the stairs that allow flexibility in space to live, work and play
• Selected PES units with private timber deck with direct access to the pool.
• Quality fittings & finishes –♣ marble finishes to living, dining, kitchen & bathrooms.♣ De Dietrich Induction Hob, Cooker Hood, Integrated Refrigerator, Microwave cum Convection Oven, Washer cum Dryer
• WC with bidet function for the master bathroom.
Investment Opportunities
• District 9
• Great rental potential◊ideal to apply for home office scheme (refer to Annex A for more details)
• Mixed use development of Hotel / F&B / Residences with prominent location near Singapore River.
• Lifestyle venue - walking distance to the many popular entertainment, F&B and lifestyle outlets along Clarke Quay and Boat

bensonkoh
13-04-12, 18:19
Any indication on pricing yet?

panamera
13-04-12, 21:20
Seen the site plan and thre will be no views from the units.

allenng
16-04-12, 09:38
Any Price out yet?

16-04-12, 10:30
seen the floor plans. SOHOs! :doh: far east disease is spreading fast.

floor plans:
http://www.propertylaunch.sg/images/UP-Robertson-Quay/Up-Robertson-Quay-Floorplans.pdf

the ceilings are higher at 4.2m though for those units which are sohos vs 3.6/3.7m for far east's sohos.

given that they can do sohos and if there is no double counting of air space, then psf should be easily way above 2000psf.

Any Price out yet?

16-04-12, 12:24
seen the floor plans. SOHOs! :doh: far east disease is spreading fast.

floor plans:
http://www.propertylaunch.sg/images/UP-Robertson-Quay/Up-Robertson-Quay-Floorplans.pdf

the ceilings are higher at 4.2m though for those units which are sohos vs 3.6/3.7m for far east's sohos.

given that they can do sohos and if there is no double counting of air space, then psf should be easily way above 2000psf.
u sure? best performing rental psf in area, the pier only about 2000 +- 100psf. furthermore the pier is FH.

16-04-12, 12:48
u sure? best performing rental psf in area, the pier only about 2000 +- 100psf. furthermore the pier is FH.

Me thinks not cheap.. probably 2.6k n above? Since 600sqft+ SH can fetch 1.1mil, no reason smallest 463 sqft cannot fetch higher price right? Beside that area is your typical expat neighborhood

16-04-12, 13:40
Me thinks not cheap.. probably 2.6k n above? Since 600sqft+ SH can fetch 1.1mil, no reason smallest 463 sqft cannot fetch higher price right? Beside that area is your typical expat neighborhood

2600psf x 463 = 1.2mil.
if i only have that amount to play with, i would rather buy Clift unit now.
proven rental psf and same 99yr as UP.
if have more money 1.3-1.4mil, can get the pier smaller size 1 bedder.

16-04-12, 13:48
I thought of the same image the moment I saw the header...:cheers5:

Concept like in the animated 3d movie UP? So the house can just fly away anytime?

16-04-12, 14:24
2600psf x 463 = 1.2mil.

No choice UP is new new condo, everything smellls newww... everything all factor in. Clift in fact might be able to even get slightly lower for not so ideal facing so unless you are getting an irresistible rental yield

16-04-12, 14:49
Expats gone liao.... Rent to who?

16-04-12, 15:14
Expats gone liao.... Rent to who?

That's why everything all factor in.. maybe developer even give u 6% guarantee yield when u buy at 2.8k psf hehe?

16-04-12, 18:33
2600psf x 463 = 1.2mil.

If LH can sell at 2600psf, how much can FH fetch?

16-04-12, 19:57
I thought of the same image the moment I saw the header...:cheers5:

Indeed. What a silly name ! So wasted for a nice location.

16-04-12, 22:29
I think anything below $2,500 psf will be a sell out for this project!

16-04-12, 23:39
me thinks the developer will just probably be playing around with quantum. I mean SH I rm already 1.1mil liao, clift 99LH around 1.1mil+/-. You seriously want the developer become a laughing stock and sell 1rm - 463 sqft @ 2.2k psf for only 1mil,plus new condo, 4.2m ceiling??? How are they gonna face their ancestors next time, no face to hide.. die die also cannot let other pple laugh at them

16-04-12, 23:40
I think anything below $2,500 psf will be a sell out for this project!

I think if cheapest unit 1mil sure can clear...

17-04-12, 12:50
its format reminds of 8 rodyk

04-05-12, 18:06
Floorplans

http://www.huttonsgroup.com/ProjectAttachments/1037_Up@RQ%20FloorPlans.pdf

04-05-12, 18:08
now i think can go show gallery look at the model but can't step into the loft. :confused: not sure what kind of strategy. 11/12 may then preview.

Floorplans

http://www.huttonsgroup.com/ProjectAttachments/1037_Up@RQ%20FloorPlans.pdf

04-05-12, 20:00
I think B1c is ideal. Love the height. That's what I call loft!

04-05-12, 21:31
That's what I call a/c ledge, 1/4 size of the bedroom & not those 1/2 size. Thumbs UP @ R

dormer
05-05-12, 12:24
Passed by the show flat this morning but didn't have time to visit. Anybody here know the price psf?

09-05-12, 10:15
one of my favorite makan area. dang, no more bullets to chiong liao

09-05-12, 10:45
can only view the loft on fri or sat. if u go today, can only view model and listen to sales talk.

becoz of the small quantum, i think indicative is 2500psf.

Passed by the show flat this morning but didn't have time to visit. Anybody here know the price psf?

09-05-12, 23:33
can only view the loft on fri or sat. if u go today, can only view model and listen to sales talk.

becoz of the small quantum, i think indicative is 2500psf.

Indicative for the cheapest is abt $2,600+++.

allenng
11-05-12, 10:43
Indicative for the cheapest is abt $2,600+++.

Some agents told me around $2300++ and there is still some discount.

11-05-12, 10:49
Some agents told me around $2300++ and there is still some discount.

Serious ?! $2,300++ ? $2,300+ can consider buying leh!

Ok. Let me go down tomorrow to check it out.
They collecting cheques today cut off 12 noon.

Tomorrow start running options.

Will be back with more info tmr.

11-05-12, 14:16
I think price will likey be within expectation, 2300+ for largest unit/PH etc.. For smallest 1rm 463sqft, I think likely 1.1-1.2m. Any do update us with the pricing, thanks :)

dormer
11-05-12, 14:49
This project might set a benchmark in Robertson Quay.

11-05-12, 15:11
I think price will likey be within expectation, 2300+ for largest unit/PH etc.. For smallest 1rm 463sqft, I think likely 1.1-1.2m. Any do update us with the pricing, thanks :)

The agent in the showflat told me 1-2 weeks back that the cheapest is $1.35 mil. which works out to be $2,600++ psf.

Not sure if there are some updates on the pricing since then.

11-05-12, 15:13
THe larger units are not cheaper coz it comes with higher ceiling.

For 1BR, there are units with 3m ceiling, 4.2m ceiling and 7.2m ceiling (for 2 BR).

The $2,600++psf I mentioned is for the 3m ceiling ones. Just 2 units.

The rest with higher ceiling will be more than $2,600++.

Anyone with newest updates, please share.

11-05-12, 16:01
The agent in the showflat told me 1-2 weeks back that the cheapest is $1.35 mil. which works out to be $2,600++ psf.

Not sure if there are some updates on the pricing since then.

hmm not exactly cheap

allenng
11-05-12, 18:36
hmm not exactly cheap
When exactly is the launch? If its 2600++ it's not cheap considering it's on a 99 years land. The rest of the developments around it is FH

12-05-12, 14:01
preview is today, currently on-going. received sms 1br 3m ceiling 463 sq ft at 24xxpsf 1.1xm.

maybe later i go down kpo how's the sales. :ashamed1:

new2mondrian
12-05-12, 14:04
preview is today, currently on-going. received sms 1br 3m ceiling 463 sq ft at 24xxpsf 1.1xm.

maybe later i go down kpo how's the sales. :ashamed1:
Bro, 99 yr LH leh.... Wait 10 years later may not even be able to sell at $2500 psf and above.... My FH up the hill only transacting ard 1.4k psf... Lol...

12-05-12, 15:12
If I cycle to showroom think the agents will hiew me?

Property_Owner
12-05-12, 15:19
When exactly is the launch? If its 2600++ it's not cheap considering it's on a 99 years land. The rest of the developments around it is FH

True. Also not every LH that sits in a FH area is not a good buy.
Rochelle to me worth investing.

UP? Why are they selling this instead of W Residence?

12-05-12, 15:28
should be ok rite? if not for the heat, i would just walk there. maybe i wait till evening time then walk there. not sure what time they close though.

If I cycle to showroom think the agents will hiew me?

12-05-12, 15:31
check out their latest results announcement, they said W residence they received many enquiries but they say potential is not realised yet so not selling.

but i think real reason is this one low quantum so they quickly move first lor.

W residence they probably received low ball offers for the huge quantum hahaha.

True. Also not every LH that sits in a FH area is not a good buy.
Rochelle to me worth investing.

UP? Why are they selling this instead of W Residence?

12-05-12, 15:32
should be ok rite? if not for the heat, i would just walk there. maybe i wait till evening time then walk there. not sure what time they close though.

problem is i cycle 12km route since i dun stay in artas area. So by the time I reach there will be smelly n sweaty :scared-4: :scared-4:

Property_Owner
12-05-12, 15:33
check out their latest results announcement, they said W residence they received many enquiries but they say potential is not realised yet so not selling.

but i think real reason is this one low quantum so they quickly move first lor.

W residence they probably received low ball offers for the huge quantum hahaha.

They r holding on to W. Don't be surprise the 108m will be sold soon.

12-05-12, 15:34
sis, that's why i said KPO only. :ashamed1: SOHO/loft by these big developers is just their perverted equivalent of MM to extract max psf. shame on them.

Bro, 99 yr LH leh.... Wait 10 years later may not even be able to sell at $2500 psf and above.... My FH up the hill only transacting ard 1.4k psf... Lol...

Property_Owner
12-05-12, 15:36
sis, that's why i said KPO only. :ashamed1: SOHO/loft by these big developers is just their perverted equivalent of MM to extract max psf. shame on them.

Good luck to those that bought PS 100.

12-05-12, 15:40
While the Group has regularly received third party interest for its units at The Residences at W Singapore Sentosa Cove, it believes that its Quayside Isle project (comprising the branded residences, the hotel and speciality retail element) as a wholly-integrated development has not yet reached its full potential. It is confident that once the 240-room W Singapore Sentosa Cove hotel is operational, expected in 2H 2012, and the retail components are completed, the Cove will be transformed with greater buzz and vibrancy. With the introduction of the "W" lifestyle hotel, accompanied with the array of chic F&B outlets, residents and visitors alike will be spoilt for choices. Then, the value of this property will be more evident.

12-05-12, 15:41
pal, u r still positive on sentosa despite not finding the place good for u to stay? u moved out from there rite?

12-05-12, 15:44
heck lah, its preview day, all should be welcome. scarly i go there they say din give cheque or have prior appointment dun let me in hahahahahha.

problem is i cycle 12km route since i dun stay in artas area. So by the time I reach there will be smelly n sweaty :scared-4: :scared-4:

Property_Owner
12-05-12, 15:45
pal, u r still positive on sentosa despite not finding the place good for u to stay? u moved out from there rite?

Well, that's e place where e rich kept their spare change.
While I stay there make some new friends and met some neighbour. Somehow I felt that I'm not so rich after all.

12-05-12, 15:47
the landed there i agree. but i can't feel the same for the condos.

Well, that's e place where e rich kept their spare change.
While I stay there make some new friends and met some neighbour. Somehow I felt that I'm not so rich after all.

13-05-12, 14:12
Ok cheapest unit 06-01 - $1.14m NET after all discount

13-05-12, 14:15
You really cycled there??

13-05-12, 14:18
You really cycled there??

Uni friend wedding.. Opposite showrm so juz shun Bian visit wkakaka

13-05-12, 14:19
and its still available 2 days into the preview lor.

13-05-12, 14:21
did they say how many units were sold? yesterday, they say can't tell, have to enquire unit by unit to see if still available. but seems like still many units available.

13-05-12, 14:22
Gallery Hotel wedding? Btw are you married yourself?

new2mondrian
13-05-12, 14:59
and its still available 2 days into the preview lor.

The Wharf is better. 999-yr, good sized units and get get one for $1.4k+ psf. I recalled some bros here were vested at Wharf. Should TOP soon.

panamera
13-05-12, 15:02
did they say how many units were sold? yesterday, they say can't tell, have to enquire unit by unit to see if still available. but seems like still many units available.

Carpark whole weekend pretty quiet. Was more crowded during preview stage 2 weeks ago. Guess people came and did not come back during
Launch?

13-05-12, 15:39
Bo hua to the max. $400 mthly fee without carpark. I think sales so bad until they dun dare reveal?

13-05-12, 16:03
i know the 2 corner big units were sold lah. ie 2 bedroom + loft + airspace, living and dining 7.2m ceiling. think its #10-07 and #08-07. can get pocketed view of the river when slanted at an angle but where got shiok? :D

Bo hua to the max. $400 mthly fee without carpark. I think sales so bad until they dun dare reveal?

13-05-12, 16:07
no wor. the agent say ah:

1 bd base rent is 4.5k. maintenence $400. u pay $1k more maintenence for the hotel's services, it becomes a service apartment that u can rent out at 7 to 8k. therefore gross rental is 7k*12 = 84k/1.3m = 6.5% :doh: zhun bo?

The Wharf is better. 999-yr, good sized units and get get one for $1.4k+ psf. I recalled some bros here were vested at Wharf. Should TOP soon.

13-05-12, 16:09
did u try climbing up the loft for the 7.2m ceiling showflat? since the loft is 4.2m above ground floor, i found it a little shiong if i were to climb up and down a few times every day.

13-05-12, 16:15
think they created the hype. 2 weeks ago, only can preview the model, not the showflat unit.

from yesterday still considered preview right? didn't see any adverts on it in newspaper.

Carpark whole weekend pretty quiet. Was more crowded during preview stage 2 weeks ago. Guess people came and did not come back during
Launch?

13-05-12, 17:01
did u try climbing up the loft for the 7.2m ceiling showflat? since the loft is 4.2m above ground floor, i found it a little shiong if i were to climb up and down a few times every day.

Yup they use the Clei foldable bed but the top level the space is almost negligible

13-05-12, 17:11
yes. in that sense, far east did a better job of maxing out.

also, for 4.2m ceiling height ones, the top part only 1.5m. that's worse than far east's 1.6 or 1.7m for their 3.6/3.7m units.

Yup they use the Clei foldable bed but the top level the space is almost negligible

new2mondrian
13-05-12, 20:35
no wor. the agent say ah:

1 bd base rent is 4.5k. maintenence $400. u pay $1k more maintenence for the hotel's services, it becomes a service apartment that u can rent out at 7 to 8k. therefore gross rental is 7k*12 = 84k/1.3m = 6.5% :doh: zhun bo?

Wow sure or not??? Liddat I buy wharf 3 bedder, throw in Filipino maid services, and can collect $12k rent??? If 500sqft can collect 7-8k, surely 1335sqft can collect 12-13k. Kekekeke....

Hey, any bro/sis here bought anything?

I am keen on installing a clei bed too at my parents' unit at Minton, since my sis who works overseas will come back 1-2 weeks a year to visit. Maybe will pop by UP showflat and take a look. Anyone took any pics?

13-05-12, 22:31
sorry, din take pictures. :ashamed1:

cannot, ur 3 bedder no loft mah. and filipino maid services is not hotel standard mah (and illegal also). and its 463 sq ft.

i dun think sales very strong there. scary to buy when like u said, wharf etc are much cheaper/safer options.

i thought it would sell well since many pple seem so receptive of far east's loft concepts. :D

Wow sure or not??? Liddat I buy wharf 3 bedder, throw in Filipino maid services, and can collect $12k rent??? If 500sqft can collect 7-8k, surely 1335sqft can collect 12-13k. Kekekeke....

Hey, any bro/sis here bought anything?

I am keen on installing a clei bed too at my parents' unit at Minton, since my sis who works overseas will come back 1-2 weeks a year to visit. Maybe will pop by UP showflat and take a look. Anyone took any pics?

new2mondrian
14-05-12, 00:36
sorry, din take pictures. :ashamed1:

cannot, ur 3 bedder no loft mah. and filipino maid services is not hotel standard mah (and illegal also). and its 463 sq ft.

i dun think sales very strong there. scary to buy when like u said, wharf etc are much cheaper/safer options.

i thought it would sell well since many pple seem so receptive of far east's loft concepts. :D

Haha, no probs about the photos. I googled for CLEI and saw some pretty nice pics. Amazingly, the IDs i dealt with are more familiar with traditional room layouts. With space challenged properties coming on board, there will be a huge demand for dual use furniture and layouts. Forces one to think much harder out of the box. :)

Actually loft concepts are cool. But to me loft concepts work well when there is a certain minimum floor size of 1500sqft and above. Staircase takes up space. One can do space-saving solutions such as spiral staircases, but at the end of the day, there needs to be a mix of areas with high ceilings and areas which are decked up. Otherwise the unit simply feels claustrophobic.

Wharf is not bad. A number of the buyers who bought at launch (approx 1kpsf) then may be offloading. I have been sniffing ard the area. Only thing is the lack of view for most units, and the fact that the building height restriction of 10 floors does not apply to Wharf and MPR (hence probably no upside when the height restrictions ard Oxley is lifted). In this aspect, Aspen Heights may have more future potential for upside.

14-05-12, 20:14
agent said about 30 out of 70 units sold. not too bad leh.

14-05-12, 20:43

HOW IS THIS POSSIBLE? If really I SCREAM ICE-CREAM!

14-05-12, 20:48
Wow, dosen deter buyers eh

14-05-12, 21:01
Wow, dosen deter buyers eh

Coz they stole my ice-cream before I could scream onto it.. wad a greedy bunch of pple :(

14-05-12, 21:02
dream home!

new2mondrian
14-05-12, 22:27

Jaw dropping number... Reaffirms my belief that there really is a lot of liquidity out there...

14-05-12, 23:35
maybe agent anyhow gasak me leh? :mad:

dtrax, call the agent who served u to confirm?

15-05-12, 00:04
i feel paiseh leh.. later he see me like small chewren asking for fun then tio snub haha. I knew alot of huttons agents but luckily the guy who served me, I have not seen b4 lol. But you should have seen the way he tried to convince me 06-01, 1.14mil best buy, gd buy, cheapest unit.. totally unconvincing at all :)

new2mondrian
15-05-12, 00:31
maybe agent anyhow gasak me leh? :mad:

dtrax, call the agent who served u to confirm?

Bro, dun see people no up leh. After Watertown, I've come to realised there's in fact tonnes of latent wealth idling around our very own heartlanders; the very aunties and uncles who sipped coffee in a kopitiam are in fact, a very powerful bunch.

What we are seeing now is probably a potent mix of lax lending practices (proliferation of equity loans, high loan ceilings as long as one qualifies as a privileged/private banking customer), low interest rates, bouyant sentiments, poor valuation capabilities (the disjoint in valuation between new launch and resale is mind boggling, not to say that valuations do not take into account yields), and MOST of all, an ageing population enjoying fruits from CPF withdrawals at 55 and with a deep distrust of unit trust/structured products after the minibonds saga. Singaporeans are rich. But how long will this wealth effect last, I do not know. Let's hope it won't come crashing down like a pile of cards when the party ends. :)

15-05-12, 01:02
u say i see pple no UP (was pun intended?) then give a scary story about how we MAY be in deep trouble when the party ends, a bit contradictary leh. :D

anyway, i did not see no UP wor. like u, i just feel that there is better value elsewhere lah.

its not me who thought 30 in 3 days was an impossible number. its bro dtrax. :ashamed1:

Bro, dun see people no up leh. After Watertown, I've come to realised there's in fact tonnes of latent wealth idling around our very own heartlanders; the very aunties and uncles who sipped coffee in a kopitiam are in fact, a very powerful bunch.

What we are seeing now is probably a potent mix of lax lending practices (proliferation of equity loans, high loan ceilings as long as one qualifies as a privileged/private banking customer), low interest rates, bouyant sentiments, poor valuation capabilities (the disjoint in valuation between new launch and resale is mind boggling, not to say that valuations do not take into account yields), and MOST of all, an ageing population enjoying fruits from CPF withdrawals at 55 and with a deep distrust of unit trust/structured products after the minibonds saga. Singaporeans are rich. But how long will this wealth effect last, I do not know. Let's hope it won't come crashing down like a pile of cards when the party ends. :)

15-05-12, 01:05
a bit weird that at sat 10+am, my friend already sms me that cheapest unit is #06-01, 1.14m, when i was there on sat afternoon, #06-01 was not sold and when u were there on sun, #06-01 was still not sold? :confused:

i feel paiseh leh.. later he see me like small chewren asking for fun then tio snub haha. I knew alot of huttons agents but luckily the guy who served me, I have not seen b4 lol. But you should have seen the way he tried to convince me 06-01, 1.14mil best buy, gd buy, cheapest unit.. totally unconvincing at all :)

dormer
15-05-12, 08:41
I went to the showflat on Sunday afternoon and they quoted me #09-07 of size 463sqft with 4.2m high ceiling at $1,373,000 after discount. This work out to be almost 3000psf :doh:

I told them I really buy other FH project around there with this kind of pricing.

15-05-12, 10:32

Thumbs up... good analysis of uncle/auntie profile...

15-05-12, 10:37
My friend has just bought one.

527 sqft x S$2600 psf = S$ 1.37M

He used to own 4 properties, sold 2 about 1+ years ago.
Couldn't find anywhere to park the cash, now bought this project for own stay (with wife, no plan to have kids).

15-05-12, 10:52
there's slanting pocket river view for #09-07. in comparison, for #09-08 behind it, i was quoted 5% less at 1.31m. still a ridiculous 28xxpsf. :ashamed1:

I went to the showflat on Sunday afternoon and they quoted me #09-07 of size 463sqft with 4.2m high ceiling at $1,373,000 after discount. This work out to be almost 3000psf :doh:

I told them I really buy other FH project around there with this kind of pricing.

15-05-12, 10:58

Couldn't find anywhere to park the cash, now bought this project for own stay (with wife, no plan to have kids).

For own stay of DINK guess is ok if they still young (at heart) and like to go clubbing, theatre, drinking etc... which is the attraction of the area. But when they have kid... is that a nice place to bring one up?

It feels so commercial, touristy, expaty, fake...

15-05-12, 11:28

well 463sqft does not include airspace. If u count floor +airspace, maybe 700sqft, psf is cheap at 1960.

dormer
15-05-12, 14:32
well 463sqft does not include airspace. If u count floor +airspace, maybe 700sqft, psf is cheap at 1960.

As a buyer for this unit, I could only recognise the space of 463sqft floor space + about 50sqft of the second floor space provide by the developer.

They mentioned the buyer has to apply for the local authority approval for any extension of floor space above.

15-05-12, 17:47
but agent told me after getting csc cert ie around 1 year after TOP, can do anything on your own without approval! :scared-4:

As a buyer for this unit, I could only recognise the space of 463sqft floor space + about 50sqft of the second floor space provide by the developer.

They mentioned the buyer has to apply for the local authority approval for any extension of floor space above.

dormer
15-05-12, 18:16
but agent told me after getting csc cert ie around 1 year after TOP, can do anything on your own without approval! :scared-4:

You may be right! I don't trust my agent information. Anybody here have any experience with adding floor space for the loft unit?

kskong2000
15-05-12, 18:57
Very simple, you can buy the unit based on what the agent say but tell the agent that you will get the lawyer add in a clause on this. If eventually you cant do any thing, you have a right to claim against the agent on mis-selling. See what the agent say...

15-05-12, 20:19
yeah, buyers should do that! :cheers1:

Very simple, you can buy the unit based on what the agent say but tell the agent that you will get the lawyer add in a clause on this. If eventually you cant do any thing, you have a right to claim against the agent on mis-selling. See what the agent say...

15-05-12, 20:37

no pouring cold water....some say better grade investment elsewhere ..I just have a question, did you tell your fren its a 99 leasehold surrounding wif FH projects?

maybe the answer is clear...1.3Xm ONLY.

15-05-12, 21:12

but agent told me after getting csc cert ie around 1 year after TOP, can do anything on your own without approval! http://64.19.142.12/forums.condosingapore.com/images/smilies/scared-4.gif

So fast forget huh? Not so nong nong ago only.

Owners' loft plans for units derailed
Jun 10, 2011

They bought thinking they could build extra level but find permission denied

A GROUP of 12 home owners of One North Residences in Buona Vista have banded together to seek compensation from the property developer.

The dispute, over whether they are allowed to build another level within their units, has thrown the spotlight on a grey area of what constitutes a 'loft'.

All 12 bought one-bedroom simplexes - single-level units with high ceilings - when the project was launched in 2007 by Vista Development, a joint venture between property-related companies UOL Group, Low Keng Huat and Kheng Leong.

Collectively, they own 13 of the 27 simplex units in the 405-unit development.

The owners claim that sales agents had told them during the marketing phase that they could build a mezzanine floor in their simplex unit but that they were later denied permission to do so when the project was completed.

They also say that the floor-to-ceiling height of their completed units is only 4.7m, a shade lower than the 5m they were promised when they bought their units. One of the owners said marketing materials used by sales agents stated the height as 5m, although these materials were not distributed to buyers.

The dispute has now reached a stalemate, with Vista Development denying all claims. But it throws the spotlight on an area of ambiguity - lofts - where home buyers are unsure what exactly is permissible under the law.

In an interview with The Straits Times, three of the simplex owners said the project's showflat had featured a loft-styled duplex unit and not a simplex unit when the project was launched in March 2007.

However, they claim the sales agents told them that if they bought a simplex unit, they could similarly build a mezzanine floor after the unit was completed to have it look like the duplex.

This would increase the unit's size by at least 50 per cent and was a much cheaper alternative as it meant that the unit per sq ft (psf) price would be brought down.

For example, one of the owners, who declined to be named, had paid $598,000 - or $1,157 psf - for a 517 sq ft simplex unit. He said that he was told by an agent that a mezzanine floor could be built for about $40,000, enlarging the apartment size to about 800 sq ft and bringing down the unit price to about $798 psf.

This was lower than the $800 to $900 psf being charged for the other units and seemed like a good deal at the time.

However, when the owners collected their keys in mid-2009 and tried to obtain approval from the management office to commence construction, they were told that the developer had already built to the maximum gross floor area (GFA) and that it would be illegal for them to build a mezzanine level.

While a second mezzanine level is not possible, it appears that a smaller platform-like structure is allowed as long as it can be dismantled. This is because it is seen as part of the interior design of the unit. However, the owners are not keen on this alternative.

Some of the simplex unit owners contacted one another and lodged a complaint to Vista in January last year. They found that similar promises had been made to all of them.

They claim that Vista said the simplexes' dearer prices were due to their higher ceiling height, which made the apartment more spacious, and the better views.

The 12 owners decided to band together to seek legal advice.

In July last year, all 12 owners put their names down on a notice listing their grievances and sent it to Vista through their lawyers.

Vista replied a month later denying all claims.

The group recently filed a complaint with the Council for Estate Agencies (CEA) and the Urban Redevelopment Authority (URA). They also approached the Consumers Association of Singapore (Case) but were told that Case was not an appropriate avenue to turn to for such a big issue.

'There's no clear line of authority or government body for buyers like us to take our grievances to,' one of the owners added. They are now undecided whether to proceed with legal action due to the costs that might be incurred.

When contacted by The Straits Times, Vista said that it had conducted detailed investigations with its marketing agents, Knight Frank and Savills, who said that they did not make the representations as alleged by the owners.

'We have no reason to believe that the sales agents would have represented that a mezzanine floor can be constructed in a simplex unit, as such construction would involve an increase of gross floor area, and requires prior planning permission from the URA,' the consortium said.

'Any developer would have planned to maximise the GFA of the development and planning permission would have been obtained from the URA prior to marketing the development. We are no exception.'

Vista added: 'As part of our efforts to reach out to customers, we had also actively engaged these few buyers on the issue but have not received a response from them since August last year.'

On the issue of ceiling height, it said that the units were constructed according to the building plans approved by the authorities and that the units were sold according to specifications shown in the sales brochure.

On its part, the URA said that it evaluates proposals to build lofts in apartments on a case-by- case basis.

The URA confirmed that it had received a complaint but declined to comment further as investigations were ongoing.

Owners, developers and architects have to provide details of the proposed loft structures for URA's evaluation to determine whether planning permission is required.

'As a principle, large loft structures that form part of the structural element of the building, such as mezzanine floors, are considered part of the GFA of the development and will require planning permission from the URA,' it said.

If the site has already fully maximised its allowable gross plot ratio (GPR) as stipulated in the 2008 masterplan, however, the additional loft structure will not be allowed.

On the other hand, furniture or fixtures - they do not form part of the structural element of the building - which are about the size of a normal bed will not constitute GFA nor require planning permission, URA said.

Any such structure, however, will also have to comply with the requirements of other relevant technical agencies.

Vista is 50 per cent owned by Kheng Leong, which marketed the project. UOL holds 30 per cent and the remainder is owned by Low Keng Huat.
http://forums.condosingapore.com/showpost.php?p=167101&postcount=264

15-05-12, 21:14
Better check property, I mean properly before signing the chq. ;)
I read somewhere if it's not a fixed structure should be ok.

15-05-12, 21:20
You may be right! I don't trust my agent information. Anybody here have any experience with adding floor space for the loft unit?

Recently One North ran into some problem with additional floor space

http://sgproptalk.blogspot.com/2011/06/just-when-you-think-its-okay-to-build.html?m=1

15-05-12, 22:12
yes, that is why for this project, the "loft" is known as a FURNITURE DECK! the same term is now quite commonly used everywhere else. that explains why far east can sell all those units with the FURNITURE DECK even though the gross floor GFA has been maxed.

so it is safe build wooden structures all over your unit but not a loft per se. ;)

Better check property, I mean properly before signing the chq. ;)
I read somewhere if it's not a fixed structure should be ok.

15-05-12, 22:15
yes, that is why for this project, the "loft" is known as a FURNITURE DECK! the same term is now quite commonly used everywhere else. that explains why far east can sell all those units with the FURNITURE DECK even though the gross floor GFA has been maxed.

so it is safe build wooden structures all over your unit but not a loft per se. ;)

I feel that it is equivalent to cheating GFA.

15-05-12, 22:19
indeed it is. far east innovation.

I feel that it is equivalent to cheating GFA.

15-05-12, 22:58
Furniture deck?? We need CM for furniture deck!!!!

15-05-12, 23:49
Furniture deck?? We need CM for furniture deck!!!!

This furniture deck idea has been around for decades.

I am sure since young you all have seen double decker beds ?
Well thats the original idea of furniture deck.

Double Decker beds, DD Study, DD this, DD that.

We never need permits for DD beds! Even HDB also can install!

PS : Not vested in Furniture Decked Properties.

16-05-12, 00:02
yes, but far east was the first to start this on a huge scale. first, increase ceiling height from 3m to 3.6/3.7m. then introduce furniture deck to "increase" "value" for buyers.

This furniture deck idea has been around for decades.

I am sure since young you all have seen double decker beds ?
Well thats the original idea of furniture deck.

Double Decker beds, DD Study, DD this, DD that.

We never need permits for DD beds! Even HDB also can install!

PS : Not vested in Furniture Decked Properties.

16-05-12, 00:15
yes, but far east was the first to start this on a huge scale. first, increase ceiling height from 3m to 3.6/3.7m. then introduce furniture deck to "increase" "value" for buyers.

But wouldn't the height of the platform be too low for most people? Assuming 3.6m ceiling, 1.9m ground level with 10cm platform beam, you will end up with 1.6m or less for the upper deck.

16-05-12, 00:58
i've been on one of these "furniture decks" at far east showflats, the upper deck is 1.6 or 1.7m. really need to bend my head down. if i sit up on the bed, i will hit my head on the ceiling.

for UP, the 4.2m ceiling ones are actually worse! the upper deck is only 1.5m! but perhaps everyone is wowed by the 7.2m ceiling showflat one and forgot all about it when they signed on the dotted line. :ashamed1:

But wouldn't the height of the platform be too low for most people? Assuming 3.6m ceiling, 1.9m ground level with 10cm platform beam, you will end up with 1.6m or less for the upper deck.

16-05-12, 04:05
Gives a whole new meaning to Crawl Into Bed

16-05-12, 04:17
Gives a whole new meaning to Crawl Into Bed

4am no sleep still tcss?? :eek:

16-05-12, 04:25
4am no sleep still tcss?? :eek:
You also what my boy!!!!!

16-05-12, 04:27
You also what my boy!!!!!

Nite is still young? I bet many others too.. all playing Diablo 3

16-05-12, 04:31
Nite is still young? I bet many others too.. all playing Diablo 3
Aiyoyo... Me not la... Me only uncle kena rudely awakened by storm

16-05-12, 04:46

:scared-1:

16-05-12, 05:06

U appear to have retired or in semi retirement.

16-05-12, 09:37
U appear to have retired or in semi retirement.
Says who? I not the one playing Dabolo into wee hours of morn!! Dont these people need to work?!?

15-06-12, 13:06
the agent lied. ONLY 13 SOLD. HAHAHAHAHAHA. LAUGHING STOCK. GOT CHEEK TO TELL ME 40% SOLD. HAHAHAHAHAHA:banana:

15-06-12, 13:13
just to clarify, agent told me 40% sold, not becoz i hard on hearing and heard 13 as 30. HAHAHAHAHAHA :ashamed1:

15-06-12, 13:23
the agent lied. ONLY 13 SOLD. HAHAHAHAHAHA. LAUGHING STOCK. GOT CHEEK TO TELL ME 40% SOLD. HAHAHAHAHAHA:banana:

how about 40% of released units? 13/33 = 40%

15-06-12, 13:47
could be. only 20 units released according to URA (but the prices of all the units were available when i was there. :confused: ). so when i went after first weekend ONLY SOLD 8. that's 40%. then another 5 sold during rest of may.

how about 40% of released units? 13/33 = 40%

oda
10-07-12, 17:36
shoebox a laughing stock

mi5mi6
10-07-12, 18:55
shoebox a laughing stock

Maybe now we can also laught at New York.

New York City mayor promotes 'micro' apartments

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/afp_world/view/1212646/1/.html#.T_uax1NH2zU.facebook

NEW YORK: New York City Mayor Michael Bloomberg on Monday launched a tender for the construction of "micro-apartments" in the Big Apple, where rents are exorbitant and the number of singles is on the rise.

A pilot project slated for construction in Manhattan's Kips Bay section will feature rental apartments ranging from 275 to 300 square feet (26-28 square meters) with kitchens and bathrooms, the mayor's office said in a statement.

Bloomberg explained it was "critical to the city's continued growth, future competitiveness and long-term economic success" to develop "housing that matches how New Yorkers live."

"People from all over the world want to live in New York City, and we must develop a new, scalable housing model that is safe, affordable and innovative to meet their needs."

The project is slated to respond to the changing demographics of a city where 1.8 million households are composed of one or two people, but there are only one million studios and one-room apartments, the mayor's office said.

Current standards in New York require that most new apartments be at least 400 square feet.

But rental costs in the Big Apple are increasingly expensive.

In Manhattan, a studio cost an average US$2,243 per month in May in a building without concierge, up 7.9 per cent from the previous year, and US$2,657 in a building with concierge, up 4.4 per cent, according to the Manhattan Rental Market Report.

A one-room apartment cost about US$2,959 without concierge, up 6.2 per cent from 2011, and US$3,777 with concierge, up 6.8 per cent in a year.

- AFP/ck

10-07-12, 20:00
isn't it kind of scary that our LOWEST ASKING RENTAL for 3xx sq ft MICKEY MOUSE units is S$2200 to $2300 vs Manhattan's AVERAGE of US$2,243 for NON MICKEY MOUSE?! Our rentals are way too high! :scared-1:

Maybe now we can also laught at New York.

New York City mayor promotes 'micro' apartments

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/afp_world/view/1212646/1/.html#.T_uax1NH2zU.facebook

NEW YORK: New York City Mayor Michael Bloomberg on Monday launched a tender for the construction of "micro-apartments" in the Big Apple, where rents are exorbitant and the number of singles is on the rise.

A pilot project slated for construction in Manhattan's Kips Bay section will feature rental apartments ranging from 275 to 300 square feet (26-28 square meters) with kitchens and bathrooms, the mayor's office said in a statement.

Bloomberg explained it was "critical to the city's continued growth, future competitiveness and long-term economic success" to develop "housing that matches how New Yorkers live."

"People from all over the world want to live in New York City, and we must develop a new, scalable housing model that is safe, affordable and innovative to meet their needs."

The project is slated to respond to the changing demographics of a city where 1.8 million households are composed of one or two people, but there are only one million studios and one-room apartments, the mayor's office said.

Current standards in New York require that most new apartments be at least 400 square feet.

But rental costs in the Big Apple are increasingly expensive.

In Manhattan, a studio cost an average US$2,243 per month in May in a building without concierge, up 7.9 per cent from the previous year, and US$2,657 in a building with concierge, up 4.4 per cent, according to the Manhattan Rental Market Report.

A one-room apartment cost about US$2,959 without concierge, up 6.2 per cent from 2011, and US$3,777 with concierge, up 6.8 per cent in a year.

- AFP/ck

10-07-12, 22:32
isn't it kind of scary that our LOWEST ASKING RENTAL for 3xx sq ft MICKEY MOUSE units is S$2200 to $2300 vs Manhattan's AVERAGE of US$2,243 for NON MICKEY MOUSE?! Our rentals are way too high! :scared-1:

We have hdb.... 3 room flat 2k can get Liao.... Thas half price of their studio without concierge

16-07-12, 13:37
3 more sold in June but 1 unit bought in May returned. Total 15 sold.

14-08-12, 11:00
CDL's results statement says 20 out of 25 released units sold. that means another 5 sold in Jul and so far in Aug.

Poloclub
14-08-12, 15:44
visited the show flat recently.
2400 to 2600psf, LH, no river facing. for that price you can get something freehold and cheaper further down stream by the riverbank.

btw, can I know for units that comes with 7m ceiling, how do you actually change the light bulbs, paint the wall etc. Does the condo provide special scaffolding or ladder for residence?

desfrie
14-08-12, 17:13
Was there to take a look over the weekend. Nice location. Full of expats in that area.

14-08-12, 18:39
visited the show flat recently.
2400 to 2600psf, LH, no river facing. for that price you can get something freehold and cheaper further down stream by the riverbank.

btw, can I know for units that comes with 7m ceiling, how do you actually change the light bulbs, paint the wall etc. Does the condo provide special scaffolding or ladder for residence?

At that price, further upstream much nearter to orchard road also can. FH somemore

15-08-12, 13:37
1 sold in jul at 2034psf. that means another 4 sold in aug according to CDL's latest release.

17-09-12, 17:41
surprise surprise surprise

11 units sold @ median 2,825psf 2,239 2,908

kowtow to to the sales team :cheers4:

Khng8
17-09-12, 18:19

Thomson Line effect?
It's near Great World & Havelock station

25-09-12, 10:01
Thomson Line effect?
It's near Great World & Havelock station

that is only a small part of the reasons. the other parts include River One.

Click (http://www.ura.gov.sg/pr/graphics/2012/pr12-86a.pdf)

25-09-12, 10:04
that is only a small part of the reasons. the other parts include River One.

Click (http://www.ura.gov.sg/pr/graphics/2012/pr12-86a.pdf)

What do you see?

Ans: I see major developer firepower here. WOAHHEHEHHEHEHEHEHEHHEHEHEHEHEHHEHEHEH

told u once, u dun believe

told u twice, u mai tia

told u thrice, the boat's leaving soon !

25-09-12, 10:25
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackjack21trader
thanks bro, yes vested here and not leaving to make sure it hit $3000psf first.

Hah $3000psf for that area!! :scared-4:
You are forcing MR B to go talk a walk over at Bedok reservior is it!! :scared-3:

Told u, S$3000 psf here we come !