View Full Version : City Life@Tampines EC by SingXpress Land

bakasa2002
03-10-12, 00:38
Starting thread on this new to be launched EC in Tampines, touting longest pool to be built by EC. Understand architect is Surbana, the people behind Heron bay?

http://tampinesec.weebly.com/artists-impressions-draft.html

Longest POOL! 100m Long & Sky Garden!

Expected Eapp Date : 1-9 Dec 2012
Expected Showflat viewing date : End Nov 2012
Expected BOOKING date : 15 Dec 2012

PREMIUM UNITS AVAILABLE ARE:

2 Bedrooms
3 Bedrooms
4 Bedrooms
5 Bedrooms
+ Dual Key units & Penthouses*

Total 540* units only!
Tenure : Leasehold 99-years
* Unit types & numbers to be confirmed soon

I copied and paste, so if info is wrong, don't flame me. :)

03-10-12, 00:44
Starting thread on this new to be launched EC in Tampines, touting longest pool to be built by EC. Understand architect is Surbana, the people behind Heron bay?

http://tampinesec.weebly.com/artists-impressions-draft.html

Longest POOL! 100m Long & Sky Garden!

Expected Eapp Date : 1-9 Dec 2012
Expected Showflat viewing date : End Nov 2012
Expected BOOKING date : 15 Dec 2012

PREMIUM UNITS AVAILABLE ARE:

2 Bedrooms
3 Bedrooms
4 Bedrooms
5 Bedrooms
+ Dual Key units & Penthouses*

Total 540* units only!
Tenure : Leasehold 99-years
* Unit types & numbers to be confirmed soon

I copied and paste, so if info is wrong, don't flame me. :)
Eco has 100m pool too!

bakasa2002
03-10-12, 00:45
Eco has 100m pool too!

That's why it is touted as longest in a EC mah. Hahaha ...

03-10-12, 00:51
what are the sizes?

03-10-12, 00:52
ECs are going crazy on facilities. first Heron with pool and bbq pit in unit and now 100m pool :scared-5: :scared-5:

03-10-12, 00:54
finding novel ways to get their target market to pay up.

03-10-12, 07:18
Will ask friends to consider this one

03-10-12, 09:16
The architecture and landcaping looks pretty interesting.

bakasa2002
03-10-12, 18:22
Will ask friends to consider this one

Agreed, those that are eligible should consider this as this is easily one of the better EC sites in the East. With Heron bay abt 720psf, this one is about 800 is a good deal?

03-10-12, 18:34
Agreed, those that are eligible should consider this as this is easily one of the better EC sites in the East. With Heron bay abt 720psf, this one is about 800 is a good deal?

yes, quickly, don't hold cash, something evil is brewing

http://demonocracy.info/infographics/usa/us_debt/images/usd-us-debt_ceiling-2012-16394_billion_USD-v1.jpg

bakasa2002
03-10-12, 18:38
phantom ... You pictures & quotes are really good! :)

Btw, on a more serious note, what do we know about the SingXpress Land as a developer? Are they are new entrant as a developer? I can't help but remember they mess up with layout and pricing of their DBSS Pasir Ris One.

I actually thought SL was horrid with Centrale 8 but SingXpress went one up on SL with PR1. For those gunning for this Tampines EC, I am hoping they don't mess up the 2nd time. :scared-4:

bakasa2002
07-11-12, 21:44
Some draft floor plan here - http://www.citylifeec.sg/floor-plans.html

07-11-12, 21:52
ec how to have city life ??... all ulu ulu ocr,... only bishan loft is in RCR.... :beats-me-man:

bakasa2002
07-11-12, 22:32
Nowadays where got ec in such prime areas. Bishan loft is a one off...

07-11-12, 22:50
EC near town centre is good liao. RCR OCR not much diff. if i was a newly wed, I would definitely go for these rather than those bird don't lay eggs EC.

08-11-12, 08:57
Wow-lah... look at that 5bdr penthouse.... shiok arh!!... :scared-4:

for multi-generations, buy this better than FV lah.... also nearer to MRT station,... where is ywt & radha hur ??... :rolleyes:

http://i1122.photobucket.com/albums/l529/ikan-bilis/CityLife_5bdr.jpg

08-11-12, 09:26
Like but can't buy. Maybe 15 years later buy from resale??

for multi-generations, buy this better than FV lah.... also nearer to MRT station,... where is ywt & radha hur ??... :rolleyes:

bakasa2002
08-11-12, 09:27

Maybe this will smash the Heron Bay 1.77mil record consider psf in Tamp is already higher than Serangoon area. ;)

08-11-12, 10:55
Shit.. if only i waited.. but it will be hard to get if you need to ballot for it..

This one like landed in the sky... I loved the roof terraces and big balcony beside the living/dining room.

08-11-12, 10:57
Shit.. if only i waited.. but it will be hard to get if you need to ballot for it..

This one like landed in the sky... I loved the roof terraces and big balcony beside the living/dining room.

yours is making money....

08-11-12, 11:09
can some1 give me some good reason why the kitchen is sooooo smalllll.... :(

bakasa2002
08-11-12, 11:32

cos' it's near tampines central where you can get food easily and also up-coming hawker centre will be nearby, so they saving the kitchen space for buyers. Lolx .... :)

08-11-12, 11:38
I quite sua koo on this.... Wat kind of pricing for EC??? For this, what is the estimated psf for 3 bedder???

bakasa2002
08-11-12, 11:40
I quite sua koo on this.... Wat kind of pricing for EC??? For this, what is the estimated psf for 3 bedder???
Indicative is 800-820psf for 3br, shd be about 900k for a 3br. [from agent]

oh, btw you not sua koo leh ... just over-qualify to apply for one. Lolx!

08-11-12, 11:41

Wah, anyone know the land price??? psf ppr???

08-11-12, 11:48
OK, found it. 373 psf ppr. For EC, anyone know if there is a max they can mark-up?

08-11-12, 12:09
EC now $800+psf?? So who wants another increase in the income ceiling for EC?

rymccondo77
08-11-12, 12:27
(1) The sizes of the Dual Key Units are smaller than those of the earlier batches of ECs. I personally think a 103 sqm 3-room Dual Key (the non PES type) is too small - should at least be 110 sqm or more.

Maybe with the higher psf, they have made these units smaller and more affordable.

(2) Doubt the Govt will increase the income ceiling for EC so soon (I could be wrong!)

And would the Govt start limiting the size of the EC units ???

bakasa2002
08-11-12, 12:44
EC now $800+psf?? So who wants another increase in the income ceiling for EC?

Yeap, before this Trilliant already doing about $800psf, so I won't be surprised if it's the same for this. :)

bakasa2002
08-11-12, 12:48
OK, found it. 373 psf ppr. For EC, anyone know if there is a max they can mark-up?

I think there is no max they can mark up but it's more of 12k income ceiling that they need to price into consideration. If they priced it too high or get the unit mix, sizes wrong, they will be stuck with the stock for a while.

Ironically, that is what is happening to this developer's DBSS - Pasir Ris ONE. It is only 30% sold despite launching for more than 1/2 a year, cos imo they screw up with the layout and pricing.

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporebusinessnews/view/1235839/1/.html

08-11-12, 13:11

For ECs,
the penthouses are usually priced at $550-$650psf. But most first timers and 1st round one will get it at $550-600.

08-11-12, 14:07

Oh, OK, thanks.. Can get my kid in future to consider mah. Actually, quite worth it leh. So near MRT. Can go for those big ones, 2K sq ft about 1.3 mil. Value for money. That is if what focus say is correct, approx 600 psf.

08-11-12, 15:30
Oh, OK, thanks.. Can get my kid in future to consider mah. Actually, quite worth it leh. So near MRT. Can go for those big ones, 2K sq ft about 1.3 mil. Value for money. That is if what focus say is correct, approx 600 psf.

Dunno abt Citylife..
but Trilliant next door has sold all their ECs at..
1) 1,970 600 1,181,000
2) 2,465 559 1,378,000
3) 2,121 561 1,190,000

Examples only.. but definitely all sold under $650psf, with majority sold under $600.

But this one is about luck.. coz 1st round is only for 1st timers and then it's first come first serve..
So most people already queueing up.

The reason it is priced cheaper in psf than the regular units is because of the Roof terraces.. So, only for those who liked open spaces .

08-11-12, 16:18
Wah, cheap man.... Especially the 2121 sq ft. The only problem with roof terrace for such project is cannot do covered trellis.
Value for money.

Dunno abt Citylife..
but Trilliant next door has sold all their ECs at..
1) 1,970 600 1,181,000
2) 2,465 559 1,378,000
3) 2,121 561 1,190,000

Examples only.. but definitely all sold under $650psf, with majority sold under $600.

But this one is about luck.. coz 1st round is only for 1st timers and then it's first come first serve..
So most people already queueing up.

The reason it is priced cheaper in psf than the regular units is because of the Roof terraces.. So, only for those who liked open spaces .

08-11-12, 16:33
wait for 13 years (3 years contraction + 5 years MOP + 5 years privalization), then buy from open market at 1.25mil :p :p :p

Wah, cheap man.... Especially the 2121 sq ft. The only problem with roof terrace for such project is cannot do covered trellis.
Value for money.

08-11-12, 16:39
wait for 13 years (3 years contraction + 5 years MOP + 5 years privalization), then buy from open market at 1.25mil :p :p :p
No way. Look at Nuovo, Bishan Loft. Compare their launch price vs current price.

I think Singaporean can buy once 5 year from MOP. Only foreigners can buy after 10 years from MOP. See, I know something about EC leh....

better qualify :
Your theory is correct is there is a market correction along the way.... Hahaha... This forum dangerous - people will quote you one.... So better cover backside.
:cheers4:

08-11-12, 19:15
I think there is no max they can mark up but it's more of 12k income ceiling that they need to price into consideration. If they priced it too high or get the unit mix, sizes wrong, they will be stuck with the stock for a while.

Ironically, that is what is happening to this developer's DBSS - Pasir Ris ONE. It is only 30% sold despite launching for more than 1/2 a year, cos imo they screw up with the layout and pricing.

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporebusinessnews/view/1235839/1/.html

Pasir ris One is quite suay. Sea Esta and Ripple Bay were launched so cheap. Watercolours EC was also competitively priced. Not worth it to get a DBSS in pasir ris

bakasa2002
08-11-12, 21:12
No way. Look at Nuovo, Bishan Loft. Compare their launch price vs current price.

I think Singaporean can buy once 5 year from MOP. Only foreigners can buy after 10 years from MOP. See, I know something about EC leh....

better qualify :
Your theory is correct is there is a market correction along the way.... Hahaha... This forum dangerous - people will quote you one.... So better cover backside.
:cheers4:

Ya, you are right. Pink IC can pick up at 5th yr. ;)

bakasa2002
08-11-12, 21:20
Pasir ris One is quite suay. Sea Esta and Ripple Bay were launched so cheap. Watercolours EC was also competitively priced. Not worth it to get a DBSS in pasir ris

Yeap, the developer's inexperience spoke volume in their pricing and if you study the layout carefully, the bedrooms are really tiny. That's the last think you want in a flat .... albeit a DBSS one. ;)

09-11-12, 06:10
Yeap, the developer's inexperience spoke volume in their pricing and if you study the layout carefully, the bedrooms are really tiny. That's the last think you want in a flat .... albeit a DBSS one. ;)
totally agree with that. they built it as if how a PC builder would want to milk on the $

09-11-12, 06:11
is this very near MRT? from the map it doesnt look that near.

09-11-12, 07:18
my bad, i was comparing it to the existing Tampines mrt.

sleeping lamb
09-11-12, 07:38
Its not near to the mrt stn. Trilliant is aldy quite far and this is further. The location of centrale 8 is the best amongst all the developments in that plot of land.

09-11-12, 07:54
if you pick up at 5th yr, do you have to give up your existing HDB flat?

09-11-12, 10:55
think no need to give up current flat... single below 35yrs can buy EC after 5yrs MOP,... is like hdb treating it as private, except foreigner cannot buy it until 10yrs over.... :confused:

http://www.hdb.gov.sg/fi10/fi10321p.nsf/w/BuyingNewFlatEligibilityECOpen?OpenDocument

http://www.hdb.gov.sg/fi10/fi10321p.nsf/w/BuyingNewFlatProcedureECOpenMarket?OpenDocument

09-11-12, 17:45
Its not near to the mrt stn. Trilliant is aldy quite far and this is further. The location of centrale 8 is the best amongst all the developments in that plot of land.

approx. 10mins walk from EC to the mall from the new Tampines Concourse road.

But what is exciting is the empty land near the new MRT.
If FEO bids for it.. woohooo.. huat liao..

But but... no GLS yet.

bakasa2002
10-11-12, 00:23
yeap, small fish bro is right, you need not give up your hdb and singles can buy as pte condo regardless of age. Only restriction is on foreigner. ;)

bakasa2002
10-11-12, 00:29

It is actually nearer to the Tampines DTL station than the EW line Tampines station but I suspected it will be linked up via underground as it is gonna be interchange station.

Rough estimate using onemap is about 400m to Tampines DTL station.

bakasa2002
10-11-12, 00:31
approx. 10mins walk from EC to the mall from the new Tampines Concourse road.

But what is exciting is the empty land near the new MRT.
If FEO bids for it.. woohooo.. huat liao..

But but... no GLS yet.

If they built a integrated interchange/mall, both Trilliant and Citylife buyers will be sitting on a goldmine but I reckon Tampines interchange is still relatively young. ;)

10-11-12, 13:02

here i am still waiting for any seller to sell me their mt sinai at 800psf....:scared-3::scared-1::D:D:D:D:D......oops sorry forgot i m radha08....:D:D:D:D

10-11-12, 13:05

bro when you free i pick you up lets go visit showflat viewing...nowadays all kitchen small la...people no cook one...EXCEPT me...:D...but no issue small kitchen small toilet small bedroom small house as long your heart is BIG...can liao....:cheers5:

10-11-12, 13:06

sama sama...i like the word overqualify...:cheers5:

10-11-12, 13:09

if pink ic buy after 5 year are u consider buying ec or pc....:confused:...i.e if you still own a hdb flat can you buy a 5year old EC and NOT sell your hdb:confused:

CondoSeeker2012
13-11-12, 16:05
The east side is a park dont get why developer dont open windows on that side of the building... what a pity!

From the floor plans, only east side window i can see is one at the master bedroom toilet... :beats-me-man:

bakasa2002
13-11-12, 23:11
if pink ic buy after 5 year are u consider buying ec or pc....:confused:...i.e if you still own a hdb flat can you buy a 5year old EC and NOT sell your hdb:confused:

Ya, u can buy a ec after 5yr from open mkt and retain your hdb. I rem viewing eden@tampines and almost committed ... Bro, u can take a look, patio quite big!

17-11-12, 19:41
http://citylife-tampines.com.sg/wp-content/uploads/2012/10/new_rendering.jpg

http://citylife-tampines.com.sg/wp-content/uploads/2012/10/swimmingpool3.jpg

http://citylife-tampines.com.sg/wp-content/uploads/2012/10/Building-Facade1.jpg

Looks beautiful! is this the nearest to MRT EC launched this year?

bakasa2002
17-11-12, 22:07
[IMG]Looks beautiful! is this the nearest to MRT EC launched this year?

Yes, it's about 400m to DTL3. Looks beautiful except the last pic. Too hdb like IMO.

17-11-12, 22:35
Yes, it's about 400m to DTL3. Looks beautiful except the last pic. Too hdb like IMO.
ok la, HDB dont get to face a 100m long pool :D

19-11-12, 22:12
ok la, HDB dont get to face a 100m long pool :D

hdb got no big patio...:D

19-11-12, 22:16
yeap, small fish bro is right, you need not give up your hdb and singles can buy as pte condo regardless of age. Only restriction is on foreigner. ;)

look at la casa EC coming to 5 years the price they selling same as PC so whats the incentive to buy a 5 year EC...:confused:

CondoSeeker2012
25-11-12, 17:14
look at la casa EC coming to 5 years the price they selling same as PC so whats the incentive to buy a 5 year EC...:confused:

Good question, I think that is what most buyers would be asking themselves when looking at the options they have on hand.

v_esta
26-11-12, 16:40
Showflat is under construction today... should be up real soooooon.....!

bakasa2002
26-11-12, 21:37
Showflat is under construction today... should be up real soooooon.....!

Targeted booking date will be 29-30 Dec as they have will be starting to accept eApp this wk. Heard this from agent. ;)

bakasa2002
04-12-12, 09:44
It is open for eAPP until 5 Dec if anyone is keen ...

bakasa2002
26-12-12, 16:47
price released at 900k for 3br, 1mil for 3br DK and 4br. It also have the honour of 1st EC unit over 2mil as predicted. Huat ah!

Pikachu1245
26-12-12, 21:44
Maybe this will smash the Heron Bay 1.77mil record consider psf in Tamp is already higher than Serangoon area. ;)

Seems like a long L-shop A/C ledge for 5 roomer.
How much psf for this A/C Ledge area and amount to pay for this area?
My guess is around $86K assuming $800psf for 10sm of air con ledge.
Or even more :scared-4:

snooze71
29-12-12, 10:38
Question - why would Developer prefer to sell a big PH @ lower $psf, where they can subdivide into say 3 x smaller units and sell @ higher $psf?

rymccondo77
29-12-12, 10:48
Question - why would Developer prefer to sell a big PH @ lower $psf, where they can subdivide into say 3 x smaller units and sell @ higher $psf?

Its a marketing gimmick by the developer. To also generate publicity - both good and bad!

rymccondo77
29-12-12, 10:52
Its a marketing gimmick by the developer. To also generate publicity - both good and bad!

Just read from the Hardwarezone forum that the huge PH has been sold!

08-01-13, 10:11
sorry not familar with EC. actually how does the application work out? Need to apply and then if oversubscribe, ballot?? If so, then must wait till application close then will know sell to who rite?

Just read from the Hardwarezone forum that the huge PH has been sold!

Shadus
08-01-13, 12:58
sorry not familar with EC. actually how does the application work out? Need to apply and then if oversubscribe, ballot?? If so, then must wait till application close then will know sell to who rite?

It depends on how developer wants to do it. It looks like Citylife is walk-in selection, ie first come first serve but still have to meet eligibility.

Anyone can confirm?

bakasa2002
08-01-13, 13:10
It depends on how developer wants to do it. It looks like Citylife is walk-in selection, ie first come first serve but still have to meet eligibility.

Anyone can confirm?
For EC, HDB rules of 70/30% allocation for first timers/upgraders still apply. It depends on how developer want to do the balloting. In the case of CL from what I understand, e-application is submitted one month ahead in late Nov, from there Q no. is allocated and if 70% or 30% allocated is hit, the the other pool w Q no. will proceed to select. It is only after all those w Q no. have selected then, walk-in is entertained.

In the case of CL sales, Sat which is first day of sales, majority of those w smaller Q no are served, the rest with Q no. are served next day before developer open up for sales in early afternoon. Hope this helps. :)

Kukubird
06-03-13, 10:47
Quite surprised that this project is over 90% sold....

Considering that the 100m pool was just a 3 in 1, 60m lap, 20m jacuzzi & 20m wading pool. It will be super noisy since all blocks are surrounding the pool.
I would prefer the jaccuzi pool to be tucked at a private corner for relaxation. Imagine yourself trying to enjoy jacuzzi but with noises and people walking around disturbing your mind... How to relax?

Project looks cramp with too many units build on a small plot.
Hopefully the existing Tampines mrt track will not pose noise problem since it is the nearest project closest to the track.

Well... Guess developer just knew typical Singaporeans dreams of owning a condominium.

ahchan
06-03-13, 22:17
Quite surprised that this project is over 90% sold....

Went there 2 weeks ago, left 2 units (low floor)...
And 2 days ago, heard that all units are sold out..
Heard that there is already a queue of potential buyers waiting for bounced-back units...

Quite amazing...:scared-5:

bakasa2002
06-03-13, 22:33
Location at $800psf. Whatever shortcoming can be overlooked. This will likely be the 2nd priciest EC upon MOP, just behind Bishan loft. :)

Kukubird
06-03-13, 22:46
Went there 2 weeks ago, left 2 units (low floor)...
And 2 days ago, heard that all units are sold out..
Heard that there is already a queue of potential buyers waiting for bounced-back units...

Quite amazing...:scared-5:

No wonder so many developers kept launching ' lame' projects.
Cos there are many out there willing to buy....

06-03-13, 22:58
Location at $800psf. Whatever shortcoming can be overlooked. This will likely be the 2nd priciest EC upon MOP, just behind Bishan loft. :)

trilliant is EC or DBSS?

Kukubird
06-03-13, 23:03

I don't find the location any fantastic.
Traffic junction everywhere.
Too many dbss, ECs & Bto build there. So cramp.No exclusivity.
In fact, looking at singapore's transport network, it's almost convenient no matter where u stay.

ahchan
06-03-13, 23:04
trilliant is EC or DBSS?

Trilliant is also EC, just next to CityLife...
And closer to the Regional Ctr is Centrale 8, which is a DBSS

Kukubird
06-03-13, 23:04
trilliant is EC or DBSS?

EC..........

06-03-13, 23:07
EC..........

isn't that one next to City Life?

Kukubird
06-03-13, 23:56
isn't that one next to City Life?

Yes, as mentioned by another member, The Trilliant is next to City Life.

07-03-13, 00:07
So both will be fairly sought after MOP.

bakasa2002
07-03-13, 00:07
Yes, as mentioned by another member, The Trilliant is next to City Life.

Agree it is not fantastic for own stay, exclusivity, traffic etc but for ec in mature estate, u don't get that many, let alone one that is so close to central. If u look ard tampines area, there is no PC that is near centre at all ... :)

Btw, for the same psf, buyers of citylife n trilliant ec could have easily gotten a PC in sengkang Punggol area if they wanted. Only no grant lah, if they qualify. :)

Kukubird
07-03-13, 00:13
So both will be fairly sought after MOP.

Will know after 8 years.

Kukubird
07-03-13, 00:26
Agree it is not fantastic for own stay, exclusivity, traffic etc but for ec in mature estate, u don't get that many, let alone one that is so close to central. If u look ard tampines area, there is no PC that is near centre at all ... :)

Btw, for the same psf, buyers of citylife n trilliant ec could have easily gotten a PC in sengkang Punggol area if they wanted. Only no grant lah, if they qualify. :)

Basically it's just:
Buy high sell high.
Buy low sell low.

Since it's mature estate, more or less priced in already.

Best is buy low sell high to reap potential upside.

07-03-13, 07:21
ECs are a better starting point for young couples if they can afford as compared to btos imo.

Kukubird
07-03-13, 10:40
ECs are a better starting point for young couples if they can afford as compared to btos imo.

Salary are capped at only 12k or below for eligible EC buyers.

Advisable for young couples to buy BTOs first as they should focus on building their wealth. Don't forget most are using combine incomes. Either one can't afford to lose or give up their jobs.

I hv even encountered young colleagues buying ec with combine income of around 6k plus. Ever heard old folks complaining about their kids not giving them enough monthly expenses due to car loans, housing loans????

Buy within means.
Our society of today are getting more and more materialistic.

In fact, EC should not even be launched in the first place. Executives or mansionette is good enough.

Kukubird
07-03-13, 10:53
And don't forget what if they need to start a family?
All these need $$$$$.

No wonder many are on loans, credit card, credit lines....
How many of these 20s and 30s can really afford to use hard cash for all their monthly expenses these days.

07-03-13, 11:43
Salary are capped at only 12k or below for eligible EC buyers.

Advisable for young couples to buy BTOs first as they should focus on building their wealth. Don't forget most are using combine incomes. Either one can't afford to lose or give up their jobs.

I hv even encountered young colleagues buying ec with combine income of around 6k plus. Ever heard old folks complaining about their kids not giving them enough monthly expenses due to car loans, housing loans????

Buy within means.
Our society of today are getting more and more materialistic.

In fact, EC should not even be launched in the first place. Executives or mansionette is good enough.

That's why I would say young couples with about 10-12k income can go for the EC.

Kukubird
07-03-13, 12:04
That's why I would say young couples with about 10-12k income can go for the EC.

Like what I said, EC should not even be launched in the first place. Exec & masionette is good enough and at reasonable price if peg to salary for this group.

The cap is only at 12k and that's not alot considering most are calculated on the basis of combine income. Suppose 10k to 12k combine for these 1st timers. Take home pay per peron only 5k nia per person. U think alot with inflation and upcoming kids expenses, parents expenses, etc. One cannot afford to lose or give up their jobs.
Such groups are also the high spender. Look at the bags that these young workinh class carry. Everyone monkey see monkey do. Lv lah, prade lah... Goodness! How much can they save per month after discounting their expenses?

NO_7
07-03-13, 12:28
Wanting to buy a BTO near amenities is comparable on striking a TOTO.
Disagreed with some of the points, given a choice many will just go for BTO and if possible near amenities as high COE is near impossible to affort.
With many restriction on BTO, many have opt for other alternative.
Singles is a group who had left out with consideration of those who need a roof over the head.
EC make up of 95% first timer, now 70%.
Those 2nd timer who were left out will just go for PC.
Last 2-3 years the market had provided many PC options, this increases the interest of buying.
Young ppl cannot wait for their luck to come for a BTO while at the same time making babies, going for EC is just like pay more to cut queue or bypass the lucky draw process tho they still have queue on EC but at least it shorter higher chance.

Kukubird
07-03-13, 12:49
I don't think EC is an option for them to get their first home through paying more. Its definitely alot more. I'm not sure about you but I do agree that maybe some minority are doing it.

Punggol & Sengkang is still hot despite not excellent in terms of amenities.
There is not much restriction on first timers who are planning to set up a home. Nowadays, getting a unit is much easier.
However, sadly, for most that I've known that applied for EC, it's EC straight without even trying BTOs.

Guess it's the lifestyle that the new generation is looking forward to.
This is a fact that we can't deny.

NO_7
07-03-13, 19:43
Not easy to get a BTO/SBF in mature estate, even harder for one near to MRT or town center. Ulu place is alot easier n cheaper too.

07-03-13, 20:25
Like what I said, EC should not even be launched in the first place. Exec & masionette is good enough and at reasonable price if peg to salary for this group.

The cap is only at 12k and that's not alot considering most are calculated on the basis of combine income. Suppose 10k to 12k combine for these 1st timers. Take home pay per peron only 5k nia per person. U think alot with inflation and upcoming kids expenses, parents expenses, etc. One cannot afford to lose or give up their jobs.
Such groups are also the high spender. Look at the bags that these young workinh class carry. Everyone monkey see monkey do. Lv lah, prade lah... Goodness! How much can they save per month after discounting their expenses?

Those who earn 12k combined and buy prada and channel are plain stupid. Unless they are in very specific jobs where these branded goods can actually help them get better pay and increments due to job related performances. Most of the time, there isn't a need to carry these bags.

charle
07-03-13, 22:22
Those who earn 12k combined and buy prada and channel are plain stupid. Unless they are in very specific jobs where these branded goods can actually help them get better pay and increments due to job related performances. Most of the time, there isn't a need to carry these bags.

Spending abit of money to buy something to pamper and reward urself for hardwork is definitely ok. Nothing to do with income bracket actually. Its a sad story if u cant buy the item u like if u are making 12k combined or even 6K.

There is also no jobs where branded goods can help u get a better pay. If u can name me, perhaps u can tell me and i will make sure i get dressed up with all luxury goods head to toe and get that job to help me defray the cost of my spendings.

A need to carry these bags? Definitely no, but these bag can have a good lifespan if taken care properly which can translate into savings long term compared to a sub standard bag which can last. Example would be like a nylon handbag compared to a leather bag.

Just my tots... Cheers

charle
07-03-13, 22:45
I don't think EC is an option for them to get their first home through paying more. Its definitely alot more. I'm not sure about you but I do agree that maybe some minority are doing it.

Punggol & Sengkang is still hot despite not excellent in terms of amenities.
There is not much restriction on first timers who are planning to set up a home. Nowadays, getting a unit is much easier.
However, sadly, for most that I've known that applied for EC, it's EC straight without even trying BTOs.

Guess it's the lifestyle that the new generation is looking forward to.
This is a fact that we can't deny.

EC is a class of property aimed at couples or families neither making too much to qualify for condo nor too low to qualify for BTO. So HDB came up with this idea to reduce the competition of this group of people applying BTO with those who are truly in need of them and cant afford something not within their reach. EC is also priced lower than a PC to make sure such sandwiched is able to afford and service their loan. And of course measures are taken to make sure applicants do not over qualify therefore combined income must be less than 12k.

Well, the statement of you saying is NOT an option sounded rather incorrect to me. Applicants might have savings to actually fund for it and even have family members help to acquire such EC unit. To me this is also a blessing. This ultimately fulfill the goal of what our government wants i.e. new couple is more likely to have kid(s). Note that EC is pro first timers which u are well aware of.

Conclusion if u think u can afford a EC and ur lifestyle needs can be fulfilled by strata-titled properties with sport and recreational facilities, why still try a BTO? Not forgetting BTO is always over subscribed and the wait is too long. This is why couples are putting off having their first kid.

07-03-13, 22:55
Spending abit of money to buy something to pamper and reward urself for hardwork is definitely ok. Nothing to do with income bracket actually. Its a sad story if u cant buy the item u like if u are making 12k combined or even 6K.

There is also no jobs where branded goods can help u get a better pay. If u can name me, perhaps u can tell me and i will make sure i get dressed up with all luxury goods head to toe and get that job to help me defray the cost of my spendings.

A need to carry these bags? Definitely no, but these bag can have a good lifespan if taken care properly which can translate into savings long term compared to a sub standard bag which can last. Example would be like a nylon handbag compared to a leather bag.

Just my tots... Cheers

you can pamper yourself with good food and some nice clothes once a while, i see people spend $5-7k on a handbag and these are people who earn maybe $5k a month! the opportunity cost for those in that income bracket where the funds can be put to better use is so great. when they get to $10-15k a month per pax then buy those things also not too late.

so we'll just have to agree to disagree. i just think that is a spendthrift habbit to be in that income bracket and splurge so much in a handbag.

unless they argue to say their sales job requires them to dress up to impress their clients, then i can perhaps reluctantly accept that reasoning.

Kukubird
08-03-13, 00:21
EC is a class of property aimed at couples or families neither making too much to qualify for condo nor too low to qualify for ....

Well u need not explain why EC existed in the first place..., almost everyone knows.

Anyway, the eligibility criteria is just a regulation set by hdb, and u can blur blur follow. :scared-5:

Hmm.... No wonder pri school kids can ask me whether I stay in condo or hdb. Of course, I was taken aback by their question! :doh:

Kukubird
08-03-13, 00:30
Frankly speaking, once a spendthrift, it's really difficult to kick.

Yes, those bags do hv a relatively longer lifespan than those so called unbranded ones (though i hv to say only afew selected ones), but sadly many still buy them frequently as the existing ones are no longer in fashion.

charle
08-03-13, 19:35
Well u need not explain why EC existed in the first place..., almost everyone knows.

Anyway, the eligibility criteria is just a regulation set by hdb, and u can blur blur follow. :scared-5:

Hmm.... No wonder pri school kids can ask me whether I stay in condo or hdb. Of course, I was taken aback by their question! :doh:

haha, kids today so smart knows why is HDB and condo.. i dun even know what is a condo when i am a kid.

NO_7
09-03-13, 11:56
Now 30% MSR plus BTO = 4yrs income, any diff as b4?
I dun see any, it's the supply n COV that's matters.

31-03-13, 15:31
100% sold. expected TOP 2016

31-03-13, 17:49
The owner of the ph most happy with their purchase. Young couple can play hide and seek