View Full Version : Advice Needed for A Malaysian Investor

tayjenny
12-08-08, 10:08

I am a Malaysian looking to for investment property. I have been asked to look into District 15. Any suggestions on where I should be looking? My budget is rather small less than SGD 1 mil. Don't mind a small size condo or a new project. Eventually plan to rent out. Please advise as to where I should be looking. I met up with a property developer who is developing D-Fresco at Joo Chiat Lane. I think the launching price is SGD650.00 psf. Any opinion?

Thanks very much

ER
12-08-08, 10:27

I am a Malaysian looking to for investment property. I have been asked to look into District 15. Any suggestions on where I should be looking? My budget is rather small less than SGD 1 mil. Don't mind a small size condo or a new project. Eventually plan to rent out. Please advise as to where I should be looking. I met up with a property developer who is developing D-Fresco at Joo Chiat Lane. I think the launching price is SGD650.00 psf. Any opinion?

Thanks very much

I will avoid Joo Chiat. East Coast is best in D15 but East Coast psf is at least $1.2k and above, my advise is look to Kembangan or Telok Kurau...

The rental market should be good as well for these 2 areas.

PL
12-08-08, 11:16

Thanks very much

Joo Chiat..Avoid it man....

tayjenny
12-08-08, 13:00
Ok, I will look into Kembangan and Teluk Kurau, but any known development which I can look out for? Maybe for East Coast, I can look for a studio. Prices are so high in Singapore !

ER
12-08-08, 13:09
Ok, I will look into Kembangan and Teluk Kurau, but any known development which I can look out for? Maybe for East Coast, I can look for a studio. Prices are so high in Singapore !

I think you should go around, explore and talk to agents before making a decision. nothing like seeing and hearing for yourself before committing. These 2 areas generally should be safe investment..

Central
12-08-08, 13:18

Can take a look at Toa Payoh/Bishan area. These area are central which have good rental yield.
Clover By The Park in Bishan is one such good project. Near to Bishan park. Good for stay as well as rental.

East
12-08-08, 13:26
Can take a look at Toa Payoh/Bishan area. These area are central which have good rental yield.
Clover By The Park in Bishan is one such good project. Near to Bishan park. Good for stay as well as rental.

Clover is leasehold and far from MRT... central also not a great location for expat rental... maybe good, but not great...

theesta
12-08-08, 20:46
For investment , why buy now...? Market trend is heading south. The question now is how much lower and how long it will last...

Good Luck

Thanks very much

tayjenny
13-08-08, 15:45
I am still "learning" the ropes and try to understand the Singapore locations , hence likely it will take me a couple of months before deciding to purchase, when the prices are really down south ! A friend asked me to look at Seaview and Costa D'Azur near Parkway Parade, for investment and rental ? Once I decide on the locations, then I will watch and monitor the prices.

buy
21-08-08, 17:15
i think district 15 is a good choice

with many sealover around it will be an idea choice

nicenice
21-08-08, 22:39
it is good to invest when it is low price

Sprite_house
23-08-08, 22:18
:ashamed1: ++++ 2-Bedrooms Condo for Sale @ Dhoby Ghaut at district 9++++++
Excellence place for your own stay or Investment!! It is an exclusive world of tranquil living in the heart of town, next to the PlazaSingapura Shopping Mall, brings you up close and personal to Sophia & Orchard Road.
For enquiries please contact: Yanni at +65 94755360 or [email protected]

++++PROPERTY DETAILS:
Location at 3 Mount Emily Road, Freehold Condominium at district 9.
Size: 2 Bed rooms, 2 bathrooms, 1 Storeroom, Total 74 square meter. Maintenance fee $200 per month. Total 38 units, TOP 31 Dec 2006 Completion.
- For Property Sale: $1380 per square foot, total $1,099,860 negotiable (very nice renovation & designer style, fully furnished, viewing after 24 Sep 2008).
- To minimize disturbance to seller, browsing the house pictures first. Serious buyer will arrange a house viewing.

+++FACILITIES:
Swimming pool, Wading pool, Gym, BBQ, Basement car park, 24 hours security

+++SELLING POINT & ADVANTAGE FOR THIS PROPERTY:
- Freehold Condo at district 9 in the heart of Singapore town, located beside the Istana (known as Government House, the official residence of Singapore's president)
- Good Investment value for future IR (Integrated Casino Resort) and Singapore population growing to 6.5 million.
- Attracted project compared with some area in same district. E.g.: new projects in Dhoby Ghaut area such like Parc Sophia, Wilkie Studio, the launched price is more than $1500PSF and expected completion year 2013. For same district 9 - Orchard & River Valley area, the new launched project is undoubtedly more than $1700PSF. For new freehold project at Farrar Park area (one MRT distance) like Citigate Residence, Urban Lofts, Suites 123, 100% sold with price above $1000psf.
- Walk distance to four MRT: Measurable 3 mins to Little India MRT, 15 mins to Dhoby Ghaut, 18 mins to Bugis or City Hall MRT.
- Easy access to Cityhall, Orchard, Raffles Place, Novena and Business District.
- Walk distance from the Plaza Singapura, Park Mall, Paradise Centre, amenities such as supermarkets, food centers and shop are within a short walk away.
- Walk distance to many famous heritage and marked for arts, cultural and educational institutions: National Academy of Fine Arts, LaSalle-SIA College of the Arts, Singapore Management University (SMU) & National Library and so on.
**** 1. For this unit, it is located at level 1 but only one unit at right corner side, very unique and private. Usually nobody will go that direction you can treat all the outdoor space (open area) as your own space for party, buffet or invite friends for gathering. Another wonderful feature is 5 meter walk away from Swimming pool (entry not from my unit) & Gym room, then feature as own private facilities, because this condo project only contained 38 units. Gardens, greenery view and water features in front of your eyes (from living room, master bedroom and balcony). 100 meter near Mount Emily Park. Perfect to luxuriate in timeless relaxation, hidden away from the humdrum & city crowd.
****2.Whole house with modern renovation (quality material & fully furnished), ensures daily living can be a delightful experience and refreshes your mind. Even though house picture, everything enjoyable is within reach.
****3. High guarantee rental return above $4000/mth base on the primary location, quality renovation & designer style, fully furnished, greenery view.:hell-hath-no-fury:
++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

No no!
24-08-08, 00:00
My take is avoid East Coast at all cost - massive oversupply. Recent caveats show that prices are crashing. Prices there are artificially held up by the Indian expats, esp in D15 Amber Meyer and Tanjong Rhu. Once their interest falter, prices may crash. You can get old FH condos in D15 at <700psf - prices are falling very fast. Go to nationproperty.sg and look for the transactions - recent prices have fallen drastically.

I am still "learning" the ropes and try to understand the Singapore locations , hence likely it will take me a couple of months before deciding to purchase, when the prices are really down south ! A friend asked me to look at Seaview and Costa D'Azur near Parkway Parade, for investment and rental ? Once I decide on the locations, then I will watch and monitor the prices.

mkt observer
24-08-08, 01:23
would go 4 triple 9 or frhld. D15 too many dev so wud look at city fringe in d12, especially new condos near boon keng area. New Hdb flats are already sellng at mre than 700k in boon keng area so u judge urself 4 future condos there. Go 4 tall dev hi flr units to play safe. Aim at $800psf to $950psf to be safe.

Unregistered123
24-08-08, 07:50
The enblocs of the old hotel site at Amber road, Rose Gardens, Maryland Park and Maryland Point have produced the Seaview, the Esta and Amber 1 and one more yet to be developed (Rose Garden).

go 4 beacon heights
24-08-08, 15:13
go for Beacon Heights in St Michael. Project is gd value 4 $ 4 triple 9 yrs

Thanks very much

Yawn
24-08-08, 15:29
Not surprised the agents are always pushing East Coast properties - too much supply, no demand. Overpriced - overhyped - overpolluted - oversupply. East Coast is always the longest listing in classifieds - people can't wait to dump. East Coast is so "over". Prices are falling like knives and rental yield is also not good. If you want to buy, some mass market ones might be better - becos the low capital base ensures good rental yields. Or best, don't buy property now. Joo Chat is quite "complicated". Telok Kurau has probably the worst quality build with no facilities. Go figure.

Thanks very much

Unregistered8
24-08-08, 17:03
Buying a property is a very personal decision, down to the location. If you are buying just for investment, usually pp buy one near MRT. For D15, buyers are usually Easterners who have grown up there and will not stay anywhere else. You should do your own due diligence, dont rush into it, and enjoy the process. Everyone's view and taste is different. Also not everyone make money, some may lose, hence depends on whether you are just using cash as having holding power also makes a world of difference. I have enjoyed this house-hunting process tremendously over 4 years ago, received TOP and just completed reno. The whole process is worth it. Hence you should shop around for opinions, but it will still be a personal choice.

AgentKhoo
24-08-08, 23:21
Please buy my Dakota Residences

Fed
25-08-08, 12:27
My take is avoid East Coast at all cost - massive oversupply. Recent caveats show that prices are crashing. Prices there are artificially held up by the Indian expats, esp in D15 Amber Meyer and Tanjong Rhu. Once their interest falter, prices may crash. You can get old FH condos in D15 at <700psf - prices are falling very fast. Go to nationproperty.sg and look for the transactions - recent prices have fallen drastically.

I smell sour grapes.. Talk about D15..Yes I agree Amber road is overflooding but prices will stay strong for MEYER Rd..It is a good fengshui place which will not lose its value.There will be a slight dip in prices when property crashes but dont expect a drastic drop like in the past...

plppl
25-08-08, 15:34

Thanks very much

Joo Chiat no good. Try Bukit timah 2 bedder, or Upper east coast 2 bedder.

pppspsp
25-08-08, 15:35

kembangan also not so good. with 1m, there are better places to buy. try upper east coast, or bukit timah area. u can buy an older unit no need to buy new one.

Andrew
28-08-08, 19:57

Thanks very much

$1M at the moment, you have quite a few option. As a fellow Malaysian, I think you should concentrate on Districts 9, 10, 11 and 15. However for freehold there are not much options in the first three districts unless you go for smaller size units. For District 15, the Amber area e.g., The Esta, One Amber and even the Sea View you may have a chance to grab one.... For research purposes, go to the URA website at www.ura.gov.sg to have a feel of the caveats lodged recently. The other alternative that my mentor suggested to me is to buy property stocks. Good luck.....

buy
29-08-08, 21:07
jsut buy what u like

Petmail
21-09-08, 03:44

Honestly, I do not think you will need to look for units that far from city yet within D15. I have numerous new developers' unit for your consideration especially with good rental return in D15 and even D9 which will definitely not be above your budget. If you are able to stretch a little, I might even be able to get you 2 units instead. If you are keen to know how you can save cost yet make money on your property investment, do drop me a line @ 82818888.

Pet

UnregĄstered
22-09-08, 10:01
Aiyah! Go get something in or around Paya Lebar Central lah. When they start developing the business hub, you will reap the benefits.

Candytoh
22-09-08, 21:56

Thanks very much

Hiya, I have visited D-Fresco showflat, and it seems quite a nice place to live in and very convenient to Katong eateries and shopping mall. Would recommend it against Telok Kurau which is awfully cramped.

Unregistered1234
22-09-08, 22:10

Rule of Thumb when it comes to buying a private property (at least in my point of view)

1) Not located in the midst of public housing estates. Firstly, the noise, the crowd and neighbourhood environment derived from public housing is already a big NO.

2) Located near to town for easy access like D15 is good

3) Avoid big developments - chances of successful en-bloc is much lower than small developments. Squeezing 100+ families on a small plot of land - population density is too high, lack of breathing space. Also, noise and sharing of common facilities with a large crowd are major drawbacks.

4) Pay nothing more than $1000 psf if you dun want to be stucked with your property during downturn

5) Lastly, buy the development in which design and layout suits your liking

Happy shopping

Petmail
23-09-08, 07:41
Rule of Thumb when it comes to buying a private property (at least in my point of view)

1) Not located in the midst of public housing estates. Firstly, the noise, the crowd and neighbourhood environment derived from public housing is already a big NO.

2) Located near to town for easy access like D15 is good

3) Avoid big developments - chances of successful en-bloc is much lower than small developments. Squeezing 100+ families on a small plot of land - population density is too high, lack of breathing space. Also, noise and sharing of common facilities with a large crowd are major drawbacks.

4) Pay nothing more than $1000 psf if you dun want to be stucked with your property during downturn

5) Lastly, buy the development in which design and layout suits your liking

Happy shopping

Thumbs up for you except for #4 cos it depends on project and market situation though.

Pet

j0e6816
23-09-08, 07:50
Thumbs up for you except for #4 cos it depends on project and market situation though.

Pet

huh, you so early wait up check forum. so hardworking. you guy or gal? wan to go drink coffee or not?

Petmail
23-09-08, 08:13
am a guy lah.. haiz...

commander
19-10-08, 15:22
Katong properties (apt, condo or landed) is good due to the closer proximity to town, eateries, close to Parkway hopping area etc.
Katong has a good investment and living potential.

Joe6816
19-10-08, 21:58
am a guy lah.. haiz...

read his handle, why i asked u guy ir gal since i alr talked to u

Joe6816
19-10-08, 22:00
huh, you so early wait up check forum. so hardworking. you guy or gal? wan to go drink coffee or not?

wow, i must be popular.:cool: u are not the first to use my nick. Cheers

buy
20-10-08, 12:48
wow, i must be popular.:cool: u are not the first to use my nick. Cheers

yes maybe u are