Total Units - 16
Completion Date - 2008
District - 9

http://www.virtualhomes.sg/FileUpload/Project/2968/Images/main.jpg

http://www.virtualhomes.sg/FileUpload/Project/2968/Images/in1.jpg

http://www.virtualhomes.sg/FileUpload/Project/2968/Images/in2.jpg

http://www.virtualhomes.sg/FileUpload/Project/2968/Images/in4.jpg

source from:
TAN CHIN TUAN MANSION (http://www.virtualhomes.sg/tanchintuanmansion)

Reporter
14-12-09, 21:38
http://www.sph.com.sg/images/logo_sunt.png
Medical tourism on the mend
Shuli Sudderuddin
The Sunday Times
Sunday, 14 December 2009

http://www.straitstimes.com/STI/STIMEDIA/image/20091212/ssmedical.jpg
The medical tourism industry looks to be in the pink of health again, after suffering the recession. - Photo: Chew Seng Kim, ST

The medical tourism industry looks to be in the pink of health again.

Things are looking up after the recession — which hit last year and continued for much of this year — caused some pain.

As many countries’ economies have stabilised, industry folk like Dr Wong Seng Weng are more upbeat.

Wong, medical director at The Cancer Centre, said the end of last year was “a quiet period but there’s been a return of confidence”.

Over at Parkway Health, its spokesman said it has seen a “steady recovery” since the middle of this year.

“Generally, in a downturn, patients tend to postpone non-critical surgery,” noted the spokesman.

In the 4th quarter of last year, Parkway’s 3 hospitals saw a 7% to 8% drop in the number of Indonesian patients.

At Pacific Healthcare Holdings, which runs specialist centres and clinics, things are also looking up. It suffered a 10% fall in medical tourists last year.

“Indonesians form the largest group of medical tourists. The financial crisis last year weakened the rupiah, and there were also uncertainties about the economy and when it would rebound,” said Dr William Chong, chief executive of Pacific Healthcare.

Those in the industry noted that while treatments in Singapore are not cheap, our reputation as a hub of medical excellence continues to be a draw.

Comparing prices, Nanyang Technological University’s Professor David Reisman said a procedure for cardiac bypass costs US$18,500 here, versus US$9,000 at a reputable hospital in Malacca or Penang.

“The same procedure would cost US$130,000 in the US, so Asia is still a good buy,” he added.

Medical groups are targeting patients from places as far away as Russia, Germany and Sweden. They are also attracting patients from the US who are covered by their companies, or personal health insurance.

“The medical travel sector is fairly resilient, given that health-care treatments are often a matter of necessity, and we continue to work towards the 2012 target,” said a spokesman for the Singapore Tourism Board.

It aims to attract 1 million patients by 2012.

Figures from SingaporeMedicine show that last year, 646,000 visitors were associated with the nation’s health-care services, up from 571,000 in 2007.

This number counts both patients and those who accompanied them here, as well as tourists who received incidental health care.

SingaporeMedicine is a government-industry partnership to promote the country as a world-class health-care destination.

Efforts include that of Dr Wei Siang Yu, who founded medical tourism portal Fly Free For Health. Users can get opinions from doctors and nurses online so that they feel reassured about travelling here, said Wei, who has also seen heavier traffic over the last 4 months.

Certainly, while many people may still be careful about spending, even as the global economy is mending, they take health — a matter of life and death — seriously.

Take the case of Dzung Nguyen, 30, who took his father Nguyen Van Hung, 53, to The Cancer Centre when the latter was diagnosed with gastro-intestinal cancer 3 months ago.

So far, Dzung, a letter carrier in Vietnam, has spent about $10,000 on chemotherapy, lodging and airfare.

“We’ve been tightening our budget because of the recession, but we decided to come to Singapore. While it’s the most expensive place in South-east Asia, it’s also one of the best and one of the closest to us,” he said.

14-12-09, 22:14
the name is so obiang.. tan chin tuan mansion..

Reporter
14-12-09, 22:41
I am not too familiar with Tan Chin Tuan Mansion but I believe the name has got to do with the historical building the apartment incorporated with.

I don't think it is obiang. The name has historic value. Some great apartments in the world has a person name too.

14-12-09, 23:43
I am not too familiar with Tan Chin Tuan Mansion but I believe the name has got to do with the historical building the apartment incorporated with.

I don't think it is obiang. The name has historic value. Some great apartments in the world has a person name too.

Oh.. got historic value?.. then it changes the whole equation :)

14-12-09, 23:58
The name of this place sounds like f**k however great the guy that it is named after might be. Imagine a condo called Lee H**** L*** tower or Goh C*** T*** residences, equally terok. :doh: :doh: :doh:

15-12-09, 00:31
But look damn nice inside...
only the rich can afford.. imagine $1500psf(is it?) X 3900sqft = $5.85mil! GOSH!

15-12-09, 02:06
Haha ... I've just found one of my first posts dated 26 April 2008.

Since this forum is so quiet, let me post my artwork here ...

Below is my "artist's impression" of what happened in 1939, when Tan Chin Tuan bought his "Tan Chin Tuan Mansion" from philanthropist Tan Kah Kee.

The more beautiful car on the left, I imagine, belongs to Tan Kah Kee. The older car on the right, I imagine, belongs to Tan Chin Tuan, since he was not as rich as Tan Kah Kee at that time. That's what I imagined, anyway.

Why didn't you see the two men? Well, they were having afternoon tea inside that dome, negotiating the purchase price of the mansion. I wonder what the agreed price was? I guess most likely less than $100k. Money was big in those times, unlike today.

http://i305.photobucket.com/albums/nn211/jlrx_bucket/Mansion1939.jpg

The Straits Times, 18 Jan 2008

A COLONIAL-ERA mansion in Cairnhill Road has emerged from a makeover, ready for the next chapter of its history.

Four years and $3 million in renovations have turned the Tan Chin Tuan Mansion into a venue for the charitable Tan Chin Tuan Foundation to host events for its partners and beneficiaries.

The works have added, atop the old house, a 20-storey condominium, the design for which was conceived by the late banker and philanthropist.

http://i305.photobucket.com/albums/nn211/jlrx_bucket/Mansion2008.jpg

http://i305.photobucket.com/albums/nn211/jlrx_bucket/Mansion2008a.jpg

Built in the 1920s as the home of entrepreneur and philanthropist Tan Kah Kee, the house was bought by Mr Tan Chin Tuan just before World War II broke out in 1939.

When Mr Tan and his family were forced overseas during the Japanese Occupation, the house was taken over by Japanese generals. They gave away all the furniture in the three years they were there from 1942. By the time they left the house, vanquished in the war, all that was left was a wooden chair, now on display.

http://i305.photobucket.com/albums/nn211/jlrx_bucket/MansionChair.jpg

The Business Times, 1 Jun 2007

Tan Chin Tuan Mansion has been restored and redeveloped to include a luxury 20-storey condominium. But most of the units will only be for lease.

Four of the 16 units will be kept by the family of the late Tan Chin Tuan. Based on the current benchmark price of about $2,500 psf for Suites @ Cairnhill, the remaining 12 have a market value of about $120 million.

The property has been redeveloped by a business entity called Cairnhill Rock and Chew Gek Khim, granddaughter of Tan Chin Tuan. 'It has always been the intention of the private company to keep the entire building for sentimental and historical reasons,' she said.

The units are large at almost 4,000 sq ft each. Rents have not been fixed. Ms Chew said they will be benchmarked to market rates. 'But we will be very selective in our choice of tenants, given the small number of units for lease and the fact that they will be living in close proximity to my family members.'

xebay11
15-12-09, 05:30
Funny why the uber rich TCT family would want to rent units at their home, so no privacy.

Reporter
15-12-09, 09:53
But look damn nice inside...
only the rich can afford.. imagine $1500psf(is it?) X 3900sqft = $5.85mil! GOSH!
I believe it should be $2,500 psf instead of $1,500 psf.

Most of the units are for lease and not for sale. Maybe they have kept all the units for lease.

"Based on the current benchmark price of about $2,500 psf for Suites @ Cairnhill, the remaining 12 have a market value of about $120 million."

Funny why the uber rich TCT family would want to rent units at their home, so no privacy.
They own that 4 units. I suppose you don't call that "rent".

xebay11
15-12-09, 09:58
Most of the units are for lease and not for sale. Maybe they have kept all the units for lease.

I meant renting out as in "Most of the units are for lease and not for sale." why not just leave it empty? BTW I always thought that they developed the building for all their families to stay in. My neighbour, former ACJS boy who knows TCT grandson, has actually stayed in the old house before in sleepover party.

Reporter
15-12-09, 10:36
I meant renting out as in "Most of the units are for lease and not for sale." why not just leave it empty? BTW I always thought that they developed the building for all their families to stay in. My neighbour, former ACJS boy who knows TCT grandson, has actually stayed in the old house before in sleepover party.
You mean like the way Peter Lim keeps his 11-storey Abelia at Ardmore Park empty?
I agree with you.

By the way, I saw Cherie Lim with friends at MacDonald's Ridout last Saturday.
Err ... still quite pretty leh.

15-12-09, 10:47
You mean like the way Peter Lim keeps his 11-storey Abelia at Ardmore Park empty?
I agree with you.

By the way, I saw Cherie Lim with friends at MacDonald's Ridout last Saturday.
Err ... still quite pretty leh.

to be fair Peter Lim is the most 'no air' millionaire i know ... very humble man ...

15-12-09, 14:04
gOSH.. this property forum a lot of hidden dragons.. crouching tigers...

One knows CDL kwek..
another one knows stock guru Peter..

Lord Anus
15-12-09, 14:25

you dunno who tan chin tuan is? being a former acs boy, i am proud of one of the greatest industrialists of singapore and what he has given the early singapore economy.

you want to change to ang mor tua kee name then sounds less obiang?

people like you should go and suck big ang mor cock lah. knnbccb

Lord Anus
15-12-09, 14:27
The name of this place sounds like f**k however great the guy that it is named after might be. Imagine a condo called Lee H**** L*** tower or Goh C*** T*** residences, equally terok. :doh: :doh: :doh:

but raffles is ok? barker is ok? newton is ok?

you are another ang mor tua kee running dog?

****ing no pride lah you cocksuckers.

15-12-09, 18:07
to be fair Peter Lim is the most 'no air' m?illionaire i know ... very humble man ...

Peter Lim is billionaire, not millionaire. If only "millionaire" then I think all the people in this forum will qualify.

Forbes Richest in Singapore

No. 7

http://images.forbes.com/media/lists/79/2009/peter-lim.jpg
Age 56
Net Worth US$1.5 billionhttp://images.forbes.com/media/lists/79/2007/U.gif
Married, 2 children

Former stockbroker, now full-time investor gets bulk of fortune from stake in Wilmar, started by former client Kuok Khoon Hong (No. 3). Other stakes in fashion retailer FJ Benjamin, brewery restaurant Brewerkz.

gOSH.. this property forum a lot of hidden dragons.. crouching tigers...

One knows CDL kwek..
another one knows stock guru Peter..

I said before that the average networth of people in this forum should be the 4th highest in Singapore, after http://porschesgforum.com/, http://sgmerc.com/ and http://www.bmw-sg.com/.

Those too exotic cars don't have the critical mass of owners to create their own dedicated forum, just like GCBSingapore.com probably won't get more than 1 post per day. :p

15-12-09, 19:02
you dunno who tan chin tuan is? being a former acs boy, i am proud of one of the greatest industrialists of singapore and what he has given the early singapore economy.

Ok ok.. don't get so hyped-up... I really donno who tan chin tuan is.. unlike you who knows him as he was your acs alumni..

No need to ask pple suck cock..

xebay11
15-12-09, 19:07

Yes, not forgetting Tan Kah Kee, every ACS boy who is worth his salt would know who Tan Chin Tuan is, my son is now carrying on the tradition. By the way he is a banker not so much industrialist, founder of OCBC.

xebay11
15-12-09, 19:32
Ok ok.. don't get so hyped-up... I really donno who tan chin tuan is.. unlike you who knows him as he was your acs alumni..

No need to ask pple suck cock..

It is called Tan Chin Tuan Mansion, because it is built on Tan Chin Tuan's Mansion. :D

15-12-09, 23:31

Although I think that Lord Anus is quite fierce, but then how come you don't know who "Tan Chin Tuan" is? :confused:

Your general knowledge of Singapore's famous people seems quite poor ...

Are you a Singaporean? Or could you be ... a Dragon Warrior from the Property Liberation Army!!! :scared-4:

http://www.sjsu.edu/faculty/watkins/jiangqing.gif

16-12-09, 00:37
Although I think that Lord Anus is quite fierce, but then how come you don't know who "Tan Chin Tuan" is? :confused:

Your general knowledge of Singapore's famous people seems quite poor ...

Uh.. Can I bet with you that probably 5/10 people you ask on the MRT will not know who Tan Chin Tuan is.

ANyway, it's alright.. he already said he's an anus..

Yes , I am a sinkie.. and Yes.. I also wished I can be a dragon warrior.. Jim rogers say China is next century.. must learn chinese..and chinese culture.. Sinkie culture..can forget it.. :)

16-12-09, 01:20
Chinese names translated to English never sounds nice coz English always sounds nicer in English, that is a fact. If your name is Tan Ah Kow and your wife is Tan Ah Neow, would you name your mansion Ah Kow Mansion or Ah Neow Mansion, or Ah Kow Ah Neow Mansion? As I have said, it doesnt matter how great Tan Chin Tuan is (and I respect him for his achievements), but a building after his name simply sux.

but raffles is ok? barker is ok? newton is ok?

you are another ang mor tua kee running dog?

****ing no pride lah you cocksuckers.

16-12-09, 01:40
Chinese names translated to English never sounds nice coz English always sounds nicer in English, that is a fact. If your name is Tan Ah Kow and your wife is Tan Ah Neow, would you name your mansion Ah Kow Mansion or Ah Neow Mansion, or Ah Kow Ah Neow Mansion? As I have said, it doesnt matter how great Tan Chin Tuan is (and I respect him for his achievements), but a building after his name simply sux.

ahahhhhahah

if it needs to be named in English ... then maybe just the TCT Mansion ...
or House of Tan Chin Tuan .. or Tan Chin Tuan residences ..

cos Mansion itself is OLD ....

NoodyGirl
16-12-09, 06:56
so shameful dont know who Tan Chin Tuan is

failed history ya?