Thread: Austville Residences (EC 540-units)

Exactly, buangkok maybe still can but seng kang.

For the 4 bedders, there is 1 balcony but the junior suite has no bathroom. There are no planters.

Quote Originally Posted by fooblackie
    Of course walkable! maybe 20min? haha... it is more than 1.5km from seng kang MRT. Superb sales talk. The nearest mrt is actually Buangkok. I walked to Park Green in 12 -15 min. Add another 2-3 min for Austville.

4 Bedder - 1200 sqf? sounds like quite cramp leh. My park green unit of 1200 sqf is so compressed in all aspects - living, dining and all bedrooms. Maybe it's cos Austville has no balcony and planters?

Exactly, buangkok maybe still can but seng kang.

For the 4 bedders, there is 1 balcony but the junior suite has no bathroom. There are no planters.
    To be more realistic, there are not many 4 bedders at about the 1200 sqf size. More realistic is the 3+1.

So, dun expect such units to be spacious. In my mind, a 4 bedder should be at 1400 sqf to be "right-sized". If not, it may be a 4 bedder which compromises every other aspect - small hall, rooms, kitchen etc...

In reality, not many families need 4 bedrooms so selling perspective may be reduced. So, dun be overly eager to get $ worth by getting a under-sized 4 bedders...

Maybe the recent flood disaster in Australia affect this Austville in a negative way as well.

went down yesterday. Almost no one.
    Launch for 2nd timers this sunday.
    A low floor unit is asking 660psf.
    Not impressed with this.
    For upgraders, unless they fully pay up their current loan, it is difficult for them cash flow wise, 20% up front, plus 20% progressive payments.
    Unless they sell up the current unit and rent a place, you need cash rich buyers.
    And the irony? Only pple not earning above 10K eligible.
    How does that works???

They can opt for deferred payment scheme.

For upgraders, unless they fully pay up their current loan, it is difficult for them cash flow wise, 20% up front, plus 20% progressive payments.
    Unless they sell up the current unit and rent a place, you need cash rich buyers.
    How does that works??? [/quote]

Thought its a EC? For EC its only 10% cash & the 10% cpf right? The rest can defer payment or progressive..

Quote Originally Posted by mightyleftfoot
    Not impressed with this.
    How does that works???
    The government & developers seem to have over-estimated the demand for ECs. Those earning close to $10k can easily afford a $1mil private condo elsewhere with much better location (e.g. Lakefront). With more private condos launching this year, many units in ECs at ulu places are likely to remain unsold. The developers may have no choice but to give discounts or vouchers later.

Developers would hold prices till Top as far as they can help it.
    Expect pre Top special offers nearer to TOP

Quote Originally Posted by mightyleftfoot
    Not impressed with this.
    How does that works???
    not surprised by the lukewarm response. 2 main factors - the pricing is only slightly cheaper than those in better locations (esparina). Furthermore, if you like to stay in this location, there are choices of 2 other condo beside it. These are not very old projects too.

Those interested in this project should wait since much of the units are still available.

The developers may need to crack their brains to get the sales moving as the progressive payments will ease their cashflow for construction and minimise their leverage costs.

ulu with no mrt, not near 1km of primary school + 5 year MOP if put that into full picture better to consider private resale condo.

near LRT is still not good enough? Tennery above LRT? Oops!

ulu with no mrt, not near 1km of primary school + 5 year MOP if put that into full picture better to consider private resale condo.

near LRT is still not good enough? Tennery above LRT? Oops!
    LRT lousy. Must be the real thing. Money Return Trade. Teeny ok lah,next to it is the real thing.

yeap. Tennery is supposedly next to the MRT, in 4 yrs time.

H/w, still cannot u/s how it can be priced >1.2psf given that the MRT and the mall is the only selling pt.

If greenwich no mrt & Lrt already @ 1100 psf just becoz it is soho, the xtra 100 -200 psf for the LRT /MRT dun look expensive.

Quote Originally Posted by fooblackie
    yeap. Tennery is supposedly next to the MRT, in 4 yrs time.

H/w, still cannot u/s how it can be priced >1.2psf given that the MRT and the mall is the only selling pt.

Looking at a 3 bedroom, extra 100 -200 psf is equal to a nice car or 2 small simple cars.

Much better than cramming into mrt.

If greenwich no mrt & Lrt already @ 1100 psf just becoz it is soho, the xtra 100 -200 psf for the LRT /MRT dun look expensive.

Quote Originally Posted by gohsoonk
    Looking at a 3 bedroom, extra 100 -200 psf is equal to a nice car or 2 small simple cars.

Much better than cramming into mrt.
    are you someone who pays for your property in full up front?

I know what you are trying to drive at.

It really depends on whether you are buying for investing or staying. I am looking from the point of staying. If you are staying and only have only 1 house, I would go for a cheaper house and get a car. Beats the MRT anytime.

Quote Originally Posted by wacko
    are you someone who pays for your property in full up front?

Quote Originally Posted by gohsoonk
    I know what you are trying to drive at.

It really depends on whether you are buying for investing or staying. I am looking from the point of staying. If you are staying and only have only 1 house, I would go for a cheaper house and get a car. Beats the MRT anytime.
    what am I trying to drive at?

Since not paying upfront, where is the savings...

Quote Originally Posted by wacko
    what am I trying to drive at?

wonder how's the sales now

Quote Originally Posted by gnomish
    wonder how's the sales now
    URA figures shows no good.....

Austville residents seeking compensation for alleged defects

May 1, 2017

Wong Siew Ying

Unhappy home owners at the Austville Residences executive condominium (EC) in Sengkang have entered into mediation with the developer and the main contractor over alleged defects and missing amenities.

The Straits Times understands that the mediation - in which proceedings have been kept confidential - took place last month.

The management corporation, which is acting on behalf of the residents, is seeking compensation from Maxlee Development and Greatearth Construction, claiming that the two firms are responsible for a number of alleged faults in the condo's common areas.

These are said to include warped wooden decks at the clubhouse and multiple cracks in the ceiling of the two-storey underground carpark which leaks when it rains.

"We are claiming for defect rectification and missing amenities. So far, the condo management has spent about $100,000 to fix some of the defects," Mr Frankie Lim, chairman of the management corporation, told The Straits Times.

He said the condo management has paid for urgent works such as replacing the warped wooden decking at the clubhouse and a water pipe in the basement carpark that burst in May last year. The developer has made repairs to certain sections of the carpark ceiling, but it still leaks, Mr Lim said.

The condo management declined to disclose the compensation sum that it is pursuing.

The 99-year leasehold EC obtained its temporary occupation permit in 2014. It has six towers with a total of 540 units.

The Sengkang project was launched for sale in 2011 at an average price of about $680 per sq ft.

Greatearth told The Straits Times it has been committed to fixing genuine building defects in the development since the project was completed. "Up until today, and even though the one-year defect liability period has expired, we remain ready, willing and committed to rectifying all genuine building defects that have been brought to our attention," said a spokesman.

Maxlee Development and Greatearth Construction are subsidiaries of integrated building services company Greatearth.

The spokesman added: "The developer had also met the residents... to address issues raised... that were not related to genuine building defects in the development."

The firm said it is unable to comment further and will let court proceedings take their course.

The condo management served a writ of summons against Maxlee Development and Greatearth Construction last June but all parties decided to enter into mediation while waiting for a trial date to be fixed.