Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst 1234

Thread: Release of Q2 Statistics

Everything still boil down to affordability though. Let's not forget, may be easy for some of us to suka suka buy a 1 million dollar place. But is that something which a new couple can realistically able to do?

Even a new foreign talent coming here. See the house prices here also faint.

Its possible to go higher, if we cater only to the rich. So Singapore become a playground for the rich lor. Like Dhubai. But when that happen, at least 70% of the population will feel marginalised. Don't even need 70%, if just 51% of the population feel that they have no hope of ever upgrading, or that their kids have no chance of owning a decent home... then Government will have a big problem liao.

Give you guys a scenario. Say government focus on keeping HDB prices down. Allow private to go crazy. They also get smart. Focus on launching BTO units only far far away from central region. If we end up having HDB at the island's edge cost $600,000 while a Condo even at say Paya Lebar cost 2 million, or 2.5 million! Then how? Will the people accept?

Maybe by that time Mc value meal is $10 and a plate of chicken rice is $5. Nissin cup noodle $3.

Quote Originally Posted by isaacycc
    My number 2 post:
    This makes it even more interesting:
    Why use one transaction of a D22 MM at 1400psf to gauge the average price 1597psf of D'Leedon, then discount the transacted price of 2000+psf of D'Leedon MM?
    Anyway, I reckon MM price is only useful when compare within it's own category
    ya lor. some statistics he quote outliers, some quote average. Like that very confusing.

We should not quote outliers lah. Maybe that unit has gold taps installed in the bathroom right? Average transaction price should be more reflective.

Quote Originally Posted by isaacycc
    My number 2 post:
    This makes it even more interesting:
    Why use one transaction of a D22 MM at 1400psf to gauge the average price 1597psf of D'Leedon, then discount the transacted price of 2000+psf of D'Leedon MM?
    Anyway, I reckon MM price is only useful when compare within it's own category
    this might be your number 2 post with "isaacycc", but is this your 2nd post in this forum?

I am quoting Lakefront $1400 transaction price as an example to highlight it is not impossible for D'Leedon to rise further.

Appreciate if you could spend sometime reading first before posting.
    Last edited by Jadey; 23-07-11 at 21:28.

Why not? Private properties should be free market driven by pure supply & demand. People expect govt to provide cheap condos for them to enjoy life? Next they will ask for cheap cars, million $ salary a year from govt, free medical for life, free education, feed them all their life?

Quote Originally Posted by Eldenfirefly
    Everything still boil down to affordability though. Let's not forget, may be easy for some of us to suka suka buy a 1 million dollar place. But is that something which a new couple can realistically able to do?

Even a new foreign talent coming here. See the house prices here also faint.

Its possible to go higher, if we cater only to the rich. So Singapore become a playground for the rich lor. Like Dhubai. But when that happen, at least 70% of the population will feel marginalised. Don't even need 70%, if just 51% of the population feel that they have no hope of ever upgrading, or that their kids have no chance of owning a decent home... then Government will have a big problem liao.

Give you guys a scenario. Say government focus on keeping HDB prices down. Allow private to go crazy. They also get smart. Focus on launching BTO units only far far away from central region. If we end up having HDB at the island's edge cost $600,000 while a Condo even at say Paya Lebar cost 2 million, or 2.5 million! Then how? Will the people accept?

Singapore is slightly better than Hong Kong as we have HDB flats. Garment cannot stop prices from going up but can only moderate the rate of increase. It is still an open market. They can change policy otherwise it has great impact on foreign investment and foreign talent influx.

Quote Originally Posted by Eldenfirefly
    Bro, u hit the nail on the head! Affordability!!! Anymore upside from will needs rental support. Cos 1 maybe be able to buy million dollar house , but the opportunity cost of staying in $2m house is damn high.

This may be based on one's capacity: Buy a reasonable price house to stay and meet basic needs while spend the spare money to invest in other properties. Otherwise, like what you say opportunity cost is quite high to spend all the money in one house which you stay in.
    Bro, u hit the nail on the head! Affordability!!! Anymore upside from will needs rental support. Cos 1 maybe be able to buy million dollar house , but the opportunity cost of staying in $2m house is damn high.