Page 5 of 9 FirstFirst 123456789 LastLast

Thread: MeyeRise

Look who's talking. Already got a few properties there at half the price and FH too.
    Quote Originally Posted by Shawn
    I think you going to miss the boat. The East Coast particularly the Meyer/Amber stretch is slated to be the next prime area after Orchard Road. There are lots of upcoming projects coming up here.

Dont forget that Malaysia-Singapore own land near the Marina East and there are plans to build up this area into either commercial or residential. Also, in 2016 Singapore will open its land to other casino licenses, meaning the big empty parcel of land near Marina East which is facing the open sea will most likely be targeted.

Also, Eastern Regional Line mrt will start construction next year. And it will pass both Meyer and Amber area from Changi Airport direct to Marina Bay.

In addition, the whole east coast stretch will be further redeveloped with new chalets, new resort and food outlet facilities to meet ever expanding demand.

And the Marina Coastal expressway will be in operation soon in 2012.

Katong Mall will be relaunched with the new shopping mall look in 2012. So as Katong Shopping Centre which is now going to be enbloc for future commercial use. Parkway Parade located nearby is probably the most popular shopping mall in the suburban area in Singapore.

Even the F1 grand prix is located much closer to the East side near to Tanjong Rhu flyover.

So arent all this good news ??? Who will benefit from these?? It is undeniable that the East Coast is the best place to live in Singapore.

Sure! You must be one of their advisor/agents.[ QUOTE=Shawn]The people who buy penthouses are not any Ah Seng or Ah Moy u found on the street. They are not naive. They have their own bankers and advisers. And they know what they are buying.

Money is not everything for this people. They can buy a diamond studded watch for $3 million without blinking an eye. So what is $20 million for a 5382 sq.ft freehold penthouse on the 30th floor at a prime district in Singapore ????

U are extremely ignorant. Singapore is no longer like the 1970s Singapore. Lots of new money coming in.[/QUOTE]

Haha u are such a joker. A lot of buyers at Meyerise are rich families. They are either business people or people who just got rich from enbloc sales. As such, the issue of loan interest has never been a major issue for them. Some paid cash for the unit and they traditionally own houses in the east coast.

As such, the east coast with seaviews hold so much sentimental values to these people. U wont understand cause u need to take a loan to buy a house. As such, dont ever consider buying these prime areas. You should just focus on the outskirts.
    i think your reply is totally unrelated to the subject in question...

shawn is a gd example of giving agents a very bad name

Thanks for the input; unfortunately the hillview condo is not fully paid for and I loan it 80% with 35 year lease.

I will like to take a gamble and buy myerise, or possibly place in mount sinai.

Now, which area is a better bet? Mount Sinai or myer road?
    I have properties at Mt Sinai and Myer/ Amber area. The Myer ppty was acquired recently as I'm of the view there is potential in this area and the proximity to CDB and future financial centre. Of coz, its also quite near to eateries.

On the other hand, I have long had interest in the Mt Sinai area as I grew up at Pandan Valley. Later when I got married, I bought Pine Grove and then sold it to buy Ridgewood. In general, Mt Sinai appeals to people who drives and ang mo who loves Holland Village. Locals who likes Mt Sinai are usually those who stays at Holland or Bkt Timah. You are right about the schools, eg Henry Park.

In terms of `bet' I would say Myer has greater potential while Mt Sinai has to depend on more en-bloc activities (Ridgewood, Pandan Valley, Pine Grove) to lift that area. Eg Trizon is still unsold.

shawn is a gd example of giving agents a very bad name
    good agents are hard to come by nowadays. That's why I always stick to my one and only agent. Be it new launches, resale, commercial, rental... all let her settle...

I think you use your ass to think.

Next prime is never East Coast. It is Marina Bay. Government is putting money into 1) Marina Bay 2) Tg Pagar 3) Beach Road. Sound familiar? Well, because it is in URA 20 years plan. What do we have for East Coast? Well, just a few en blocs here and there BUT no Government involvement. I don't deny East Coast is a pretty good place to stay in but to say "slated to be the next prime after Orchard" is completely bullshit. You are saying "Hey, there is a mall building there. It is going to be prime". Yah, what a load of shit from you.

KPE also open at Sengkang. You think Sengkang can be prime? Pasir Ris also renovated its chalet but you think PR can be prime? You are right about Marina East and F1 but that is part of the greater Marina plans. And suddenly, you have so much knowledge about 2016 third casino when no one knows about it.

I think you going to miss the boat. The East Coast particularly the Meyer/Amber stretch is slated to be the next prime area after Orchard Road. There are lots of upcoming projects coming up here.

Dont forget that Malaysia-Singapore own land near the Marina East and there are plans to build up this area into either commercial or residential. Also, in 2016 Singapore will open its land to other casino licenses, meaning the big empty parcel of land near Marina East which is facing the open sea will most likely be targeted.

Also, Eastern Regional Line mrt will start construction next year. And it will pass both Meyer and Amber area from Changi Airport direct to Marina Bay.

In addition, the whole east coast stretch will be further redeveloped with new chalets, new resort and food outlet facilities to meet ever expanding demand.

And the Marina Coastal expressway will be in operation soon in 2012.

Katong Mall will be relaunched with the new shopping mall look in 2012. So as Katong Shopping Centre which is now going to be enbloc for future commercial use. Parkway Parade located nearby is probably the most popular shopping mall in the suburban area in Singapore.

Even the F1 grand prix is located much closer to the East side near to Tanjong Rhu flyover.

So arent all this good news ??? Who will benefit from these?? It is undeniable that the East Coast is the best place to live in Singapore.

Yah, Aristo was selling at 800+ psf in 2008/2009. FH somemore. 50% off. Like breadtalk after 9pm. Hahaha...

Look who's talking. Already got a few properties there at half the price and FH too.

If this Shawn guy is an agent, he is likely to fail the ethics test. what rubbish that 2016 there will be more casino licenses being issued and the land at Marina East will be for that? That is pure speculation. He better back up his words.

Quoted from someone - "It is a very serious charge. He should be able to back it up".

If this Shawn guy is an agent, he is likely to fail the ethics test. what rubbish that 2016 there will be more casino licenses being issued and the land at Marina East will be for that? That is pure speculation. He better back up his words.

Quote Originally Posted by HP65
    I have properties at Mt Sinai and Myer/ Amber area. The Myer ppty was acquired recently as I'm of the view there is potential in this area and the proximity to CDB and future financial centre. Of coz, its also quite near to eateries.

On the other hand, I have long had interest in the Mt Sinai area as I grew up at Pandan Valley. Later when I got married, I bought Pine Grove and then sold it to buy Ridgewood. In general, Mt Sinai appeals to people who drives and ang mo who loves Holland Village. Locals who likes Mt Sinai are usually those who stays at Holland or Bkt Timah. You are right about the schools, eg Henry Park.

In terms of `bet' I would say Myer has greater potential while Mt Sinai has to depend on more en-bloc activities (Ridgewood, Pandan Valley, Pine Grove) to lift that area. Eg Trizon is still unsold.
    Hi HP65,

Thanks for sharing your view in Mt Sinai. I really like the place however I am really unsure if I can really afford it, especially when my household income is only at 7k++SGD at best.

To add my financial woes, I have a Hillview condo which has an outstanding loan of 500kSGD.

I am unsure if I really get one in Mt Sinai, and do you have any good unit to introduce? Yes, I will like to enrol my child in Henry Park Pri.

Hi HP65,

Thanks for sharing your view in Mt Sinai. I really like the place however I am really unsure if I can really afford it, especially when my household income is only at 7k++SGD at best.

To add my financial woes, I have a Hillview condo which has an outstanding loan of 500kSGD.

I am unsure if I really get one in Mt Sinai, and do you have any good unit to introduce? Yes, I will like to enrol my child in Henry Park Pri.
    hi bro, my advice is chill it. no need to undertake such risks and over-leverage when there's so much at stake. won't want to see anyone get caught in between the rock and the hard place when a downturn suddenly strikes

Hi eng81157,

Thanks for the advice. I am just pondering when will the downturn begins? If I keep procasinating and wait, will the price escalate to a level beyond a peasant reach?

Hi HP65,

U have loads of cash?

If u only take like 50% loan, banks surely will lend u even u dun submit ur income statement

Hi eng81157,

Thanks for the advice. I am just pondering when will the downturn begins? If I keep procasinating and wait, will the price escalate to a level beyond a peasant reach?
    well, none of us will be able to gaze into the crystal ball and do a correct prediction. it's always prudent to have some sort of stashaway to buffer rainy days.

if you're purchasing for self-staying, then it's fine. however, you are already servicing an existing loan and thinking of taking on another loan for a $1.7m apt for investment. to me, that's seriously over-leveraging. if you are that keen to invest in another property, perhaps consider a cheaper one that's more palatable on your budget?

the other question is of the time of your purchase. should you wait? i'm not sure. i'm of the opinion that QE3 will send inflation and asset prices rocketing upwards but hey, who knows eh?

given the facts, u have to consider if u have the resources for the 40% downpayment for 1.7m 2nd ppty = 680k.

after that, you have to consider that for your 7k income, will the bank lend u $1m in addition to your $500k loan.

Hi HP65,

Hi HP65,

The area here (within 1km of HPPS) cheapest is approx $1200 psf at Pandan Valley or The Sierra which set you back $1.5mio (3-bedder). That means you need $600k d/p excl misc like stamp, comm etc. And then, you probably can rent it out for around $3.5-4.5k with a bit of effort. Your mthly would be approx $3.1k (2%/ 30year loan) + Maintenance can probably be covered by your rental income.

But if I have $600k, i would rather pay down my condo and save up for the 20-30% for 2 ppty. There are many ways (les risky financially) to be within 1km of HPPS, eg buying HDB, renting private condo/ hdb. Buying a place, and base on your $7k combine, imo is a stretch and I'm happy you excluded your variable income (assuming your variable is 30% of total income). IMO, its risky because if you cant find a tenant, you will have problem coming with $3-4k (if interest rate goes up to 4%) just to service the loan of this ppty and your hillview condo (which i assume its serviced by your CPF). And from my experience, its really not that easy to find tenants at Mt Sinai area as there r better located and newer condos for tenants to choose. I only stay invested in this area because I really like Ridgewood for its space and huge apt size.

But then again, its really your $ and we do not know what sort of financial backing do you have. Maybe you are working for your dad's SME and thus he pays you a low basic Ah.....then I say, go ahead man! Haha.....

And then, I would say, go for myer's/ amber's ppty. But of coz the issue of school will come up coz the only school there is Taonan and its darn hard to get into taonan even at phase 2B within 1km (and myer is 1-2km)...in the end, try not to buy ppty for school. If need to be within 1km, rent. Investment purpose, look at other factors as well...(and school might well be a reason coz other parents might rent from you)

given the facts, u have to consider if u have the resources for the 40% downpayment for 1.7m 2nd ppty = 680k.

after that, you have to consider that for your 7k income, will the bank lend u $1m in addition to your $500k loan.
    b4 60% ltv was imposed, banks will lend to u if u borrow only 60% based on asset based loan....not sure whether they up the ratio liao anot(at one stage the ratio was 70% loan+100k cash)

Quote Originally Posted by HP65
    The area here (within 1km of HPPS) cheapest is approx $1200 psf at Pandan Valley or The Sierra which set you back $1.5mio (3-bedder). That means you need $600k d/p excl misc like stamp, comm etc. And then, you probably can rent it out for around $3.5-4.5k with a bit of effort. Your mthly would be approx $3.1k (2%/ 30year loan) + Maintenance can probably be covered by your rental income.

But if I have $600k, i would rather pay down my condo and save up for the 20-30% for 2 ppty. There are many ways (les risky financially) to be within 1km of HPPS, eg buying HDB, renting private condo/ hdb. Buying a place, and base on your $7k combine, imo is a stretch and I'm happy you excluded your variable income (assuming your variable is 30% of total income). IMO, its risky because if you cant find a tenant, you will have problem coming with $3-4k (if interest rate goes up to 4%) just to service the loan of this ppty and your hillview condo (which i assume its serviced by your CPF). And from my experience, its really not that easy to find tenants at Mt Sinai area as there r better located and newer condos for tenants to choose. I only stay invested in this area because I really like Ridgewood for its space and huge apt size.

But then again, its really your $ and we do not know what sort of financial backing do you have. Maybe you are working for your dad's SME and thus he pays you a low basic Ah.....then I say, go ahead man! Haha.....

And then, I would say, go for myer's/ amber's ppty. But of coz the issue of school will come up coz the only school there is Taonan and its darn hard to get into taonan even at phase 2B within 1km (and myer is 1-2km)...in the end, try not to buy ppty for school. If need to be within 1km, rent. Investment purpose, look at other factors as well...(and school might well be a reason coz other parents might rent from you)
    just to add on the school portion. mountbatten, myer and amber are outside the 1km radius from taonan. the furthest you wanna go is seaview and silversea, so please study carefully before you jump in.

sorry to hijack this thread but need some advice from you guys.

if i have about $1.6M spare cash, no outstanding loans, a fully paid hdb and 2 cars, about $800+K in stocks based on current values, which property do you think i can or should invest in? a newbie here with no aptitude for property investment

Quote Originally Posted by cartman

if i have about $1.6M spare cash, no outstanding loans, a fully paid hdb and 2 cars, about $800+K in stocks based on current values, which property do you think i can or should invest in? a newbie here with no aptitude for property investment
    get 2-3 units that you can rent out easily and play monopoly for the rest of your life

really so easy? which units would you recommend? besides the cash, i can only take about $800K+ loan because my pay is low

yeah, i also lost touch since the new rules but an agent friend told me 60% asset based loan is no longer possible. still need to look at income.

b4 60% ltv was imposed, banks will lend to u if u borrow only 60% based on asset based loan....not sure whether they up the ratio liao anot(at one stage the ratio was 70% loan+100k cash)

as i said before, hdb 卧虎蔵龙!

i will let the real experts do the recommendations . (have not been doing much homework lately )

if i were u, i would limit my ppty exposure to between $2 to $3m to be conservative and depending on risk appetite.

really so easy? which units would you recommend? besides the cash, i can only take about $800K+ loan because my pay is low
    Buy landed ppty

I think you use your ass to think.

Next prime is never East Coast. It is Marina Bay. Government is putting money into 1) Marina Bay 2) Tg Pagar 3) Beach Road. Sound familiar? Well, because it is in URA 20 years plan. What do we have for East Coast? Well, just a few en blocs here and there BUT no Government involvement. I don't deny East Coast is a pretty good place to stay in but to say "slated to be the next prime after Orchard" is completely bullshit. You are saying "Hey, there is a mall building there. It is going to be prime". Yah, what a load of shit from you.

KPE also open at Sengkang. You think Sengkang can be prime? Pasir Ris also renovated its chalet but you think PR can be prime? You are right about Marina East and F1 but that is part of the greater Marina plans. And suddenly, you have so much knowledge about 2016 third casino when no one knows about it.
    Yup I know Marina Bay/CBD area is prime. I lump Orchard and Marina Bay as one city area. Next will be District 15 (Meyer/Amber). Meyer/Amber have already achieved $2500-3200psf for some of its units. Far East is going to launch a new condo next year opposite Parkway at a psf price of $2500 onwards. I got some insider hint from a senior staff working at Far East. In addition, a few other enbloc condos will be launched in Amber/Meyer area at above $2000psf for certainty as their enbloc purchase already exceeded $1300psf. This made the Amber/Meyer area officially above $2000psf in the longer term. All the older condos will eventually mark up their psf prices.

Newton/Novena are also prime areas but they yet to come to this level. In addition, some people lump Balestier as part of the greater Novena area, which negatively affect the reputation of this district.

I am not talking about KPE, I am talking about Marina Coastal Expressway which link Meyer/Amber directly to Marina Bay and the CBD area, which also directly link to ECP to Changi Airport. And the travel time and distance from Amber/Meyer to Marina Bay/City will be cut short by less than 10 minutes with the completion of this expressway.

So whether you like it or not, this area is already slated to be the next prime area after Orchard/CBD area. Just look at its recent condo launches in terms of psf offering for eg. Meyerise, Silversea, The Cape etc. You will have a good idea what I am talking about. And psf prices for new condos there will continue to go up rapidly with new condo launches by Far East and other developers on enbloc sites at Amber, Parkway Parade area etc.

And with the new mrt station at Amber/Meyer by 2018, just 3 stations away from Marina Bay/City will definitely make this location appealing. Not to mention the revamped Katong Mall and the East Coast area.

Its a reality which I am just telling you. Meyer/Amber area are considered the jewel of District 15. And it wont be long before you can see another IR jutting out just in front of Fort Road.

Some bad eggs mention that east coast can achieve above $2000psf because they are selling MM units. But if you go and look at Meyerise, Aalto, Silversea, The Cape and their >$2000psf prices, are these unit MM units ??? East Coast is the most popular residential district in Singapore. All agents are aware of this. I am not lying. If you think I am, its your choice. I have nothing to benefit from you.

Quote Originally Posted by victorchoo
    i think your reply is totally unrelated to the subject in question...
    Its related completely as he was telling me that the buyers of penthouses at those condos in Meyer/Amber who paid millions of dollars are naive, as agents will give them free tickets to F1 and at the same time try to promote the units to them.

These people arent ignorant. They have their own bankers and advisers.

I suggest buy 1 fully paid 1-2 bedder unit at city outskirt with good rental value. Preferably 1mil or less. Keep 600k for 2nd buying opportunity if price dip. When purchase 2nd private, take a loan, keep property price to 1mil+/-.Keep 200-300k spare cash for rainy days.

With 2 fully paid property (hdb + private) and 3rd property with small loan for on stay, you already have a good passive income and reserve for down turns.

Yup I know Marina Bay/CBD area is prime. I lump Orchard and Marina Bay as one city area. Next will be District 15 (Meyer/Amber). Meyer/Amber have already achieved $2500-3200psf for some of its units. Far East is going to launch a new condo next year opposite Parkway at a psf price of $2500 onwards. I got some insider hint from a senior staff working at Far East. In addition, a few other enbloc condos will be launched in Amber/Meyer area at above $2000psf for certainty as their enbloc purchase already exceeded $1300psf. This made the Amber/Meyer area officially above $2000psf in the longer term. All the older condos will eventually mark up their psf prices.

Newton/Novena are also prime areas but they yet to come to this level. In addition, some people lump Balestier as part of the greater Novena area, which negatively affect the reputation of this district.

I am not talking about KPE, I am talking about Marina Coastal Expressway which link Meyer/Amber directly to Marina Bay and the CBD area, which also directly link to ECP to Changi Airport. And the travel time and distance from Amber/Meyer to Marina Bay/City will be cut short by less than 10 minutes with the completion of this expressway.

So whether you like it or not, this area is already slated to be the next prime area after Orchard/CBD area. Just look at its recent condo launches in terms of psf offering for eg. Meyerise, Silversea, The Cape etc. You will have a good idea what I am talking about. And psf prices for new condos there will continue to go up rapidly with new condo launches by Far East and other developers on enbloc sites at Amber, Parkway Parade area etc.

And with the new mrt station at Amber/Meyer by 2018, just 3 stations away from Marina Bay/City will definitely make this location appealing. Not to mention the revamped Katong Mall and the East Coast area.

Its a reality which I am just telling you. Meyer/Amber area are considered the jewel of District 15. And it wont be long before you can see another IR jutting out just in front of Fort Road.

Some bad eggs mention that east coast can achieve above $2000psf because they are selling MM units. But if you go and look at Meyerise, Aalto, Silversea, The Cape and their >$2000psf prices, are these unit MM units ??? East Coast is the most popular residential district in Singapore. All agents are aware of this. I am not lying. If you think I am, its your choice. I have nothing to benefit from you.
    bro, at $2500-3000 psf range, i think alot will buy along orchard road. Nassim, Grange road, Cairnhill, Paterson, 21 Angula park, 1 more behind 4season there. Those are undisputed prime at $3000 psf and above range. BTW orchard road got tons of super prime developement waiting for that price range buyers. For true blue seaview, nothing beats Reflections @ keppel bay. $10m will get one TRUE seaview with no noisy highway or obstruction inbetween with top of range finishing.

Sorry to dash your dreams, but if i remember correct, the 2 casinos got 10 year monopoly license in Singapore. But if by 1% chance u r right, i think ford road n meyer road sure gone case. who wanna stay in area where they have problem getting home or go out? Without Casino the traffic already gone case at fort road le.....

At 2k-2.5k u r right, got indian community support the price range. Beyond that, i think meyer still not there yet.

the above are purely how i feel about meyer/katong area, nothing personal.

Next prime is never East Coast. It is Marina Bay. Government is putting money into 1) Marina Bay 2) Tg Pagar 3) Beach Road. Sound familiar? Well, because it is in URA 20 years plan.
    i share the same view as u. After i go URA for 10 times n above, i conclude the ultra new prime is the land under planning at marina bay. I suspect it will reach reach 1 hype park kinda of status within 10 years time.