Page 20 of 33 FirstFirst ... 510151617181920212223242530 ... LastLast

Thread: Properties in Geylang Area: Potential?

Quote Originally Posted by geylang777
    I do not think you are being unreasonable at all Rob. I really think the workmanship of this project is appalling. I should have taken pics of my friend's place @ Bleu. The parquet is ABSOLUTELY IMMACULATE. No dent marks, no ugly taint marks or overflowed vanished settling on uneven pieces. One should ask the developer, if you buy a car and the bonnet's finishing is like such poor quality, will he accept the car.

I fear my wish to move in by middle of Feb will be wishful thinking only.
    Bleu is a D15 property... probably thats why..

My friend's place at Esta (D15) was also very good.

Maybe we should petition..

Quote Originally Posted by SIFU
    one of my frens told me during launching time, if u signed up with this atrium developer, u will get freebies such as microwave oven, fridge etc..

any bros here can confirm whether is it true?
    During the time I purchased, they were offering a free Proton Saga. But I decided to forgo for a small reduction in price.

Default Rush rush rush

Quote Originally Posted by KT@AR
    Bleu is a D15 property... probably thats why..

My friend's place at Esta (D15) was also very good.

Maybe we should petition..
    Somehow I think they rushed the TOP. If I remember correctly, they advertised TOP to be end of 2009. So the quality of workmanship is compromised.

BTW, 2 evenings when I have come to update myself on the defect rectification, I chanced upon a group of china mei mei (about 6 of them) @ the 1st floor carpark. They came in and made a left turn to the 1st lobby closes to the main gate. So they must be renting somewhere in stack 5,6 or 7. Sigh....

Somehow I think they rushed the TOP. If I remember correctly, they advertised TOP to be end of 2009. So the quality of workmanship is compromised.

BTW, 2 evenings when I have come to update myself on the defect rectification, I chanced upon a group of china mei mei (about 6 of them) @ the 1st floor carpark. They came in and made a left turn to the 1st lobby closes to the main gate. So they must be renting somewhere in stack 5,6 or 7. Sigh....
    #03-05 to be exact. I can even hear them talking (or rather shouting ) from my unit. I lagi sigh.....

Quote Originally Posted by kings
    #03-05 to be exact. I can even hear them talking (or rather shouting ) from my unit. I lagi sigh.....

Sorry for you....

Mine I have someone practicing piano on stack 3... couldn't tell if it's above or below me.

Are the China Mei Mei allowed to stay in our condo?

Can't we form a management committee and do something about it?

Surely owners have rights???

Quote Originally Posted by robdavies

of course they do. owners have the right to rent to anyone they damn well please, as long as tenant does not do anything illegal within premises.

you guys are getting carried away. you bought this place with your eyes wide open, knowing fully well where it is situated and the activities that go on. and now you're complaining about it??

truly singaporean of you guys. you should be proud of yourselves. why don't you guys go buy some minibonds as well.

errr...why not? I don't think s'pore has any law that restricts china mei mei, or for that matter indian mei mei, japanese mei mei and ang mo mei mei from staying anywhere.

melville park wouldn't have become the ethnic condo that it is today, had there been any such discriminatory law in the first place.

but hey feel free to twist and reinterprete the law in your favour when it suits you, why not, that's the singaporean way after all...

Pathetic comment.

I was referring to the owners of units being able to have a say in the leasing of other units in their condominium to tenants who bring the image into disrepute. This is a perfectly reasonable opinion.

I'm very happy to have bought here and fully understand the neighbourhood and the what goes on here. I'm fully expect units to be leased to typical Geylang tenants.

But that doesn't mean we have to bend over and accept the status quo. Things never change for the better if you maintain a defeatist attitude like yours. Step up and make a noise. Have a voice and fight for what you want to see happen.

You sound like someone who doesn't think the fight is worth fighting.

How very Singaporean of YOU.

And FYI - the Property value has increased steadily since purchase (not booming and busting like other volatile areas). I look forward to hearing of you savvy investment strategies. Mini-bonds??? Please, go stuck you head back up your arse.

I was referring to the owners of units being able to have a say in the leasing of other units in their condominium to tenants who bring the image into disrepute. This is a perfectly reasonable opinion.
    what right do you have to dictate who I can or cannot rent to? did I have the right to dictate who your mother fuccked? wish I had.... then there wouldn't be a robdavies here today insulting the intelligence of condosingapore.com readers and bringing the forum into disrepute.

this is a strata titled private property, not a new york co-op. your say only reaches as far as the front door of your apartment. if one's say carried so much weight in a singapore condo, then there wouldn't be en bloc in singapore.

You sound like someone who doesn't think the fight is worth fighting.
    I got better things to do and better condos in better locations to buy.

only you have all the time in the world to jump into a government-sanctioned whore-infested district and then try to rally neighbours up to fight the vice going on there. you're crazy.

maybe you're one of those who needs a cause to fight for to find meaning in life. other normal, sane people just buy normal condos in normal neighbourhoods and enjoy a relatively stress free stay.

if your 'fight' against the whoring establishment eventually involves the police and takes you to the courts, wouldn't it dawn on you that the money could've been better spent buying a decent property elsewhere?

poor stupid fool. btw, you started the name-calling. loser.

I pity you.

Quote Originally Posted by ahlahdin
    I got better things to do and better condos in better locations to buy.

only you have all the time in the world to jump into a government-sanctioned whore-infested district and then try to rally neighbours up to fight the vice going on there. you're crazy.

Sure you have. Yeah we all believe you. Well done big man!

I think some of the other owners in this forum will disagree with you too.

maybe you're one of those who needs a cause to fight for to find meaning in life.
    BTW you couldn't be more true. I'll take that as a compliment.

if your 'fight' against the whoring establishment eventually involves the police and takes you to the courts, wouldn't it dawn on you that the money could've been better spent buying a decent property elsewhere?.
    Another point - I never intended to wage war against the legally sanctioned activities in Geylang only look out for the interest of owners in my condo. That is my concern and I am perfectly entitled to have an opinion as an owner. As long as the girls work out of the legalized brothels in the legally sanctioned lorongs then I have no problem. Street walking and soliciting for business IS illegal in Geylang. Greater regulation would help prevent this and ensure these girls are operating out of government sanctioned brothels - not 10 of them being holed up in a 2 bedroom condo unit.

The Atrium regulations state:

1.Unless approval by the relevant authorities is obtained, any apartment in ATRIUM RESIDENCES shall be used only for the residential purpose, and not for commercial business or any other purpose.

2.Every resident/tenant shall be responsible for their own conduct and that of his / her family members and invitees at all times, ensuring that their behaviour is neither offensive to other occupiers of the building nor damaging to any portion of the common property.

So I have a right and intend to exercise it.

Residences are suppose to form a management committee after 1 year. Now it is managed by DTZ.

Surely owners have rights. But we can't dictate owners who they are allowed to rent the units to. Can't stop them from renting out to people from certain profession.

Tenants have their rights also. As long as the lease is legal, they behave themselves and don't bring business into the premises, there is nothing much we can do.

The most we can do is talk or appeal to the owners try not to rent the units out to people from certain profession. But if the owners is not staying there, you think they bothers?

Another point - I never intended to wage war against the legally sanctioned activities in Geylang only look out for the interest of owners in my condo. That is my concern and I am perfectly entitled to have an opinion as an owner. As long as the girls work out of the legalized brothels in the legally sanctioned lorongs then I have no problem. Street walking and soliciting for business IS illegal in Geylang. Greater regulation would help prevent this and ensure these girls are operating out of government sanctioned brothels - not 10 of them being holed up in a 2 bedroom condo unit.

The Atrium regulations state:

1.Unless approval by the relevant authorities is obtained, any apartment in ATRIUM RESIDENCES shall be used only for the residential purpose, and not for commercial business or any other purpose.

2.Every resident/tenant shall be responsible for their own conduct and that of his / her family members and invitees at all times, ensuring that their behaviour is neither offensive to other occupiers of the building nor damaging to any portion of the common property.

So I have a right and intend to exercise it.
    The hypothetical 10 girls holed up in a 2 bedroom unit at The Atrium are merely living there, not turning tricks there. They do their business elsewhere, The Atrium is only a place to live and sleep. There is nothing you can do you poor pitiful bastard.

Why do you think there is nothing landlords can do to chase prostitutes out of their apartments. Not only in Geylang, but condos in Balestier, River Valley, Chinatown, Tiong Bahru, even Orchard have tenants like these. But as long as they do not violate the condo's regulations, there is nothing you and I can do.

By contrast I can smoke out at least 10 expats whom I personally know who DO violate these condo regulations while in their rented condo unit. Violations include holding *** orgies, drug parties, playing loud music at 3am in the morning, jumping into the pool drunk and fully clothed, and so on.

Any time the cops want to bust the expats, they could, and they would find stashes of weed, pills, drug-taking paraphernalia and tons of porno videos and computer files. If the cops want to bust these China Mei Meis it would not be so easy. If you didn't know what these girls did for a living, you would have guessed that they were healthy, clean living, decent individuals just by looking at their bedrooms in their rented condos. I know, because I know some of these China Mei Meis personally as well.

BTW you couldn't be more true. I'll take that as a compliment.
    Allow me to repeat: maybe you're one of those who needs a cause to fight for to find meaning in life. other normal, sane people just buy normal condos in normal neighbourhoods and enjoy a relatively stress free stay.

That's not a compliment. You are just sibeh eng, and I suspect, nothing much going on in your social or professional life at the moment.

Fact is, as long as the china mei mei do not ply their trade within their rented apartments, there is nothing the other owners can do about it. Even if you go form your own Management Committee and take over from DTZ in 1 year's time... you can even go form your own by-laws, but there is nothing you can do to prevent other owners from renting out to china chickens, thai chickens, banglah chickens, ducks or whatever. As long as they use the apartment as a residence and do not contravene the covenants set out in the TA and the MCST's regulations, prudish owners are screwed

You are right. My domestic helper reported to me that a bunch of them were moving their stuff from the opposite apartment into the Atrium. For those who don't know, there are 2 brothel units opposite the Atrium (gate). The 6-10 mei meis standing each nite outside often go into these with their customers.

Before concluding that these china girls are from certain profession, did anyone of you check with them or whoever?

My wife had a chance to talk to 2 of the china girls who stayed in unit 03-05. There are 15 of them staying in the unit. They are working for OSIM. Not Geylang OKT.

Quote Originally Posted by HOW
    Before concluding that these china girls are from certain profession, did anyone of you check with them or whoever?

My wife had a chance to talk to 2 of the china girls who stayed in unit 03-05. There are 15 of them staying in the unit. They are working for OSIM. Not Geylang OKT.
    If there are 15 meimeis staying, should the owner be paying more for maintenance and sunk fees as so many of them can access the common facility. Probably is good to have the condo management to update all units for those that rent out/or self stay and who are the tenants. Surely some of them could be illegal and reportable to police.

The hypothetical 10 girls holed up in a 2 bedroom unit at The Atrium are merely living there, not turning tricks there. They do their business elsewhere, The Atrium is only a place to live and sleep. There is nothing you can do you poor pitiful bastard.

Why do you think there is nothing landlords can do to chase prostitutes out of their apartments. Not only in Geylang, but condos in Balestier, River Valley, Chinatown, Tiong Bahru, even Orchard have tenants like these. But as long as they do not violate the condo's regulations, there is nothing you and I can do.

By contrast I can smoke out at least 10 expats whom I personally know who DO violate these condo regulations while in their rented condo unit. Violations include holding *** orgies, drug parties, playing loud music at 3am in the morning, jumping into the pool drunk and fully clothed, and so on.

Any time the cops want to bust the expats, they could, and they would find stashes of weed, pills, drug-taking paraphernalia and tons of porno videos and computer files. If the cops want to bust these China Mei Meis it would not be so easy. If you didn't know what these girls did for a living, you would have guessed that they were healthy, clean living, decent individuals just by looking at their bedrooms in their rented condos. I know, because I know some of these China Mei Meis personally as well.
    The owners who risk renting to China meimeis would pose themselves at their own risk, for illegal trade, prostitutions, overstaying.... And they are vulnerable for creating noise, and other nuisance...So all these can be easily reportable to police or MOM, and with concerted effort from other owners and condo management watchful eyes, these owners can risk being jailed or having their condo taken away....if not controlled probably, more owners would do the same....

dunno why whenever there's a "whore", "China Mei Mei" issue, PPL start a war... sigh..

There are more pertinent issues like shoddy workmanship which has not been addressed properly.
    i am sure everyone is not happy with the Parquet flooring, bad paintwork, and gaps in most windows, floors, stain marks in the toilets... etc etc..

dunno why whenever there's a "whore", "China Mei Mei" issue, PPL start a war... sigh..

There are more pertinent issues like shoddy workmanship which has not been addressed properly.
    i am sure everyone is not happy with the Parquet flooring, bad paintwork, and gaps in most windows, floors, stain marks in the toilets... etc etc..
    i believe there is nothing that can be done about these stupid workmanship. i have asked them to fix it at least 4 times and always it comes back the same or they merely do minor touch up. hence, i will not sign the rectification form. if this still persists after few months, i will get quotation from outside contractor and force them to pay the bill. cannot understand why they cannot do a good job. i am sure the hdb homes are much better renovated than ours.

anyone knows how many family have moved into their units?

Quote Originally Posted by HOW

15 china girls staying in 03-05!!! Wow, what good profession can they be doing to squeeze into a pulp every evening during sleep time.... Unless they do not sleep at night?

Very simple answer.... This is a taboo subject which owners staying in geylang know but cannot do anything about.... Whatever it is, owners of geylang units will never fall short of tenants....

Only thing.... You have to close both eyes to what type of tenants we are talking about. Yield wise, i would say geylang will always provide the best!!

Has anyone tried renting to these China mei mei ?
    Do they pay rent on time and maintain the apartment?

I am getting some very good offers to buy an apartment in Geylang (including at Atrium) and rental yield could be very good. But I dont want to be hassled as a Land Lord by dodgy tenants. Really hate those tenants who create problems and dont pay rent on time. What business they do outside my apartment, I dont care about.

Quote Originally Posted by jlim2007
    If there are 15 meimeis staying, should the owner be paying more for maintenance and sunk fees as so many of them can access the common facility. Probably is good to have the condo management to update all units for those that rent out/or self stay and who are the tenants. Surely some of them could be illegal and reportable to police.
    I fully agree with you on this!