Page 32 of 115 FirstFirst ... 2712172227282930313233343536374247525762 ... LastLast

Thread: Watertown : Punggol Waterfront Living

Should have a stable income first and look for opportunities. Winners are people who swim against the tide and made a difference. Not follow the herd.
    your 1st and 2nd statement contradicts

My own situation :

I have a few properties, in Singapore and Malaysia.
    In 2011, was seriously contemplating buying another property, either in Spore or JB but prices just keep moving so fast and holding risks became higher and higher.
    I buy for keeps (longterm investment) and rental income, so if the returns cannot justify, I really have to think very carefully.

Anyway, for Singapore :

Then came CM5 - that was when I reeeeeealy took stock of the whole CM situation + unpredecented ramping up of supplies ... Spore Govt was telling me and you, very loudly - STOP BUYING!

So, I am heeding the warning signs and have pulled my handbrakes in Singapore - like Devilplate? - till some of these harsh CMs are removed or if I strike TOTO >3m, whichever comes first.

For Spore, the play now should be in stocks for these 1-2-3 years, imho... population increases notwithstanding.

Not really. You mind will be clear only when you have a cool head. If you cannot even have bread and butter, how to think right. Without it, one will become desperate and do not effective things.

my advice to you is not to commit private property now since you only have 100k+. whereas i am confident you can flip your 100k into many folds via other avenues.
    make use of the 100K+ in your specialised field.

100k+ for a property is not enuff, u need buffer more cash for rainy days.

Yup. Have held back my horses since last purchase in early 2010. FTs will come as what PM Lee said last nite as we cannot be like Japan. Make money from Stocks at the moment.
    Quote Originally Posted by TKT
    My own situation :

I have a few properties, in Singapore and Malaysia.
    In 2011, was seriously contemplating buying another property, either in Spore or JB but prices just keep moving so fast and holding risks became higher and higher.
    I buy for keeps (longterm investment) and rental income, so if the returns cannot justify, I really have to think very carefully.

Anyway, for Singapore :

Then came CM5 - that was when I reeeeeealy took stock of the whole CM situation + unpredecented ramping up of supplies ... Spore Govt was telling me and you, very loudly - STOP BUYING!

So, I am heeding the warning signs and have pulled my handbrakes in Singapore - like Devilplate? - till some of these harsh CMs are removed or if I strike TOTO >3m, whichever comes first.

For Spore, the play now should be in stocks for these 1-2-3 years, imho... population increases notwithstanding.

I was lucky and blessed to be in a good Firm now. Prospect and progression is good.
    This is a very good forum where you can see a clear distinctions of many forumers in terms of their beliefs. (minus all name callings, ill sarcasm etc)
    Do your own judgement as no one will truely understand your financial status, job prospect/security, your appetite for investment and your forte. Advises from others are to be used for reference and not to be heeded. You are the captain of your own destiny.

I wish you success in any investments you've made.
    Last edited by Xan; 04-02-12 at 11:38.

I dont think he contradicts, what he says make perfect sense.

Not really. You mind will be clear only when you have a cool head. If you cannot even have bread and butter, how to think right. Without it, one will become desperate and do not effective things.
    I would thought that herd mentality is to join the workforce and to draw a regular income.

hold hold hold hold hold till CM against HDB resale market then sell
    or PAP scared to do that ... wait till BTOs hit the road in 2018?? then I would say Punggol HDB going to hit 700k in 4y time

I am referring to herd mentality in investment strategy. Got to think outside the box.
    I would thought that herd mentality is to join the workforce and to draw a regular income.

I have to agree with some folks here that there is really not much upside to enter at current price.

But it does not mean that i will sell even though i am not buying at current pricing.

interest rate is low and rental yield is excellent.

I am referring to herd mentality in investment strategy. Got to think outside the box.
    Then it is fine.

i am purely taking your statements as its face value

I for one think Xan will make $$$ by flipping 4y down the road

Property market is all about sentiment ... it does not seem like CM4/CM5 has any effect on OCR at all ... the LTV 60% only shrink the unit size

And PAP will not dare to do anything to HDB resale market one lah ... hints everywhere ... why would Khaw want to make sure 2nd timers can get BTO ... exactly because he dares not come out with harsher demand side CM for HDBs ... he basically want to leave resale market to SPRs only

Yup. Great to collect passive income from rental and yet tenants are paying for the mortgage of the property which it will become your home.
    I have to agree with some folks here that there is really not much upside to enter at current price.

But it does not mean that i will sell even though i am not buying at current pricing.

interest rate is low and rental yield is excellent.

Ku Swee Yong: Huge oversupply coupled with a weak global economy
    spells trouble ahead

http://www.h88.com.sg/article/Ku+Swe...trouble+ahead/

Quote Originally Posted by ppty
    Ku Swee Yong: Huge oversupply coupled with a weak global economy
    spells trouble ahead

http://www.h88.com.sg/article/Ku+Swe...trouble+ahead/
    Something I discover in the recent years after CM4/CM5.
    Media is a powerful medium to talk down property px and thats why we have so many people playing the waiting game.
    I am not enlightened enough to say whether their prediction is right or wrong, but I must admit it do has its impact on many.

Quote Originally Posted by Xan
    Media is a powerful medium to talk down property px and thats why we have so many people playing the waiting game.
    I am not enlightened enough to say whether their prediction is right or wrong, but I must admit it do has its impact on many.
    Yes...media has significant influence to impact the general public. Most analysts remains as analysts because they are seldom right...very often their figures are also flawed or inaccurate.

Some facts that I observed recently:
    i) There are more and more high level executives from US and EU transferred to SGP/Asia. SGP is the 'HQ' for many such MNCs.
    ii) The immigration tap has started again. Just go check out how many more people got their PR and citizenship wef 1st Jan 2012. Yes...the tap was closed last year after the election. The following news further 'reconfirmed' the tap is open again and they are more discreet now....and they scrapped the word "foreign talent"
    http://www.asiaone.com/News/Latest%2...04-325821.html
    iii) Prices too high? Look around carefully...There are a lot of people and couples with high income (on average: single 100k-200k per annum and family 200k-400k per annum). Anything within quantum below 1mil is very affordable.
    iv) Lastly, some people say REDAS is also pessimistic about property market and hence property prices should drop. The fact is they are also playing their part by using WORDS to cool the market. Would they rather use WORDS to cool the market or let gov't use more measures to cool the market? So it is correct for REDAS to talk down the market.

For people who keeps saying prices will go down,...yes one day it will go down...the question is when and by how much.

Very true. Media is a free tool employed to alter the mind of citizens.

How it is possible to save 100k if not working? Pocket money from parents so much ah?
    lol dun see chewren no up lah.. young kids these days all damn savvy like stocks investments during Uni, business, gd jobs etc.. share with you got a couple of my frends 27 already hoot 1mil condos liao, some EC, another frend 28 just got married at st regis ~100k wedding, juz bot Soleil.. that's why I see those upgraders chiong WT and such is really no sweat

p/s: all not frm rich family

Actually wanted to wake up early and do abit of my work but see the forums becomes active again, so finger itchy again

No worries, so far no one had put me or other WT buyers down yet. Still enjoying myself here.... just uncomfortable with names calling only.

Ok this is how I feel abt WT and its worth now.
    Currently it only worth at most 700-800psf!At this point, nothing is avavilable in punggol, not a mature estate, not even near any kopitiam, eateries, no shops, no people and nothing but only a MRT/LRT. (Got MRT also no use, imagine who would want to travel all the way to punggol with basically nothing there)

I reccee, cycled and google the masterplan, starting from the day when one of my friend bought Parc river (EC at punggol). I begin to realise punggol is an uncovered gem with lotsa potential and gonna to be exciting in future for the next generation.

Why 750 WT buyers so "stupid" go and buy WT at 1200psf on average?
    (In fact most of them bought below 1100psf during the preview, I just dont bother to say only)
    I reckon they understand that in 5 years time, the whole place will be transformed. I need not repeat what amedities WT has and how conveniet it will be in 5 yrs time. Wifey and I was cycling the whole stretch of waterway, from lorong halus to the end of waterway garden...in fact we didnt complete the whole cycling trip coz the journey was too much for us to cover. (maybe we physically unfit as well lah). We are truely amazed by how the watertown landscape had been designed and I can sense that this time, govt really mean bisnuess in transforming punggol.

750 WT buyers are buying for the new punggol in 5 years time, not the current punggol. Some are skeptical of its value because your mindset is still in the current punggol and it is still undeveloped yet. 5 years down the road to TOP and just nice 4 yrs SSD also over liao, the wait will be sweet.

I do have my worries on the subsale as well, seems pretty flat as all people hurled to buy from developer. Will WT ended up with the same fate in 5 years time?

Experience tells me that unless your location is good and convenient, sub-sale can still move. If you buy slightly cheaper at ulu location, people still rather buy from developer. Because what you can offer in sub sale the developer also can offer mah, why must buy from you and subject to 40% payment upfront immediately? But if location is good and convenient, then its a different story, because its hard to come by mah and not every time the developer can offer a project at good location.

A very interesting comparison betw 8@woodleigh vs WT and its value.
    Gurus/experts will definitely slam table and say: "of coz 8@woodleigh beat WT flat lah" its nearer to city what. I do not want to argue this point but I prefer to ask the following qns:

1) Do 8@woodleigh gives you the convenience of just pressing a button from your lift and bring you straight immediately to a shopping centre if you run out of groceries?
    2) Do 8@woodleigh allows you to watch a midnight movie and all you need is to press your lift button that directly send you back home w/o the hassle of worrying whether u can catch a cab or mrt back home after midnight?
    3) Do 8@woodleigh surrounding gives you nice landscape or open space for recreational activiites e.g flying kites, jogging, cycling etc?

Drive from 8@woodleigh to city confirm faster, unless I really need to go city everyday. But its not part of my regime.
    So it still boils down to buyer's needs.

Even I take mrt, it just took more a mere few minutes more than 8@woodleigh to city so no big deal for me lah.

so long....must be strong buyer remorse

If u look at 8@woodleigh thread first few pages during launch last time, it was also condemned to hell with the ex-cemetery next door and unprecedented LH99 pricing of 800-850psf surrounded by FH land.

Maybe ...
    Let wait for the final Caveats up on webpage to see who pay the less psf, what the average psf at Watertown.

Think those buy Punggol EC or TREASURE TROVE, sure look forward to see the actual price. as their EC & Treasure Trove are expected to match the same price as today watertown in 5yrs times.
    If Watertown average is $1250psf, then their EC and PP will be 75% Profit & 45% profit!

Too bad, no $M to buy EC or Treasure Trove

Quote Originally Posted by testtest

Hmm...looks like u missed the boat

side track abit.

Assume i am only taking 60% loan.

Generally, after paying the 1st 20% cash within 8 weeks from OTP, when's the typical duration to the next 10% cash payment? Is it 6 to 9 mths?

And from that 10% payment to the next 10% cash payment, is it another 6 to 9 mths?

Seems that different agents/ bankers are tellling me different things. Some say 3-6 mths, some say 6-9 mths.
    Hence asking here, thinking that you experts out there may know/ experience before.

And would I be conservative if i work ard a cashflow plan to pay the 1st 40% cash requirement all within 10 mths from OTP signing?

Quote Originally Posted by Panerex77
    side track abit.

Generally, after paying the 1st 20% cash within 8 weeks from OTP, when's the typical duration to the next 10% cash payment? Is it 6 to 9 mths?

And from that 10% payment to the next 10% cash payment, is it another 6 to 9 mths?

Seems that different agents/ bankers are tellling me different things. Some say 3-6 mths, some say 6-9 mths.
    Hence asking here, thinking that you experts out there may know/ experience before.

And would I be conservative if i work ard a cashflow plan to pay the 1st 40% cash requirement all within 10 mths from OTP signing?
    After the 20% was paid within 8 weeks, u need to fork out another 10% in 9 to 12 mths time. Another 10% will be also be paid after 9 to 12 mths time. Why theres a range of 3 mths is due to the progress of the completion. I was prepared to dump 40% of the payment in the bank and let the bank do the deduction and save the hassle. Your plan is feasible

Quote Originally Posted by Panerex77
    side track abit.

U must be careful that after u had paid 20%, u need to put in money for the 10% within 9 myhs. Your banker will advise u on that

If u look at 8@woodleigh thread first few pages during launch last time, it was also condemned to hell with the ex-cemetery next door and unprecedented LH99 pricing of 800-850psf surrounded by FH land.

Haha....how true.
    Sure got people buay song this, buay song that. V common.

Is the watertown still available? I will just take mrt down and sign off one at 500k+ then.

Please advise. TIA.

Is the watertown still available? I will just take mrt down and sign off one at 500k+ then.

Please advise. TIA.
    If u are looking for suites, its already long sold off. Now left SOHO mainly and sky patio. SOHO are selling fast as i just came bk from there. Still alot of pple there.

Already sold more than 800 before today. Can sell out this weekend?
    If u are looking for suites, its already long sold off. Now left SOHO mainly and sky patio. SOHO are selling fast as i just came bk from there. Still alot of pple there.