Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast

Thread: Jurong lake district

this really reminds me of the old Plaza Singapura where they have Yahama music school and Yaohan supermarket at the basement.
    Haha... feeling young again now?

...if only the prices are the same....

Btw, Boon Lay Way will be very interesting to watch for the next few years..

I noticed most of the projects at west mostly located along Boon Lay Way..

Am not sure is this a delibrate strategy to develop Boon Lay Way to be a prime residential location of the west?

I can count the following projects from Boon Lay to Clementi. Please feel free to add if I missed out any..

1) Centris
    2) Summerdale
    3) Parc Vista
    4) Lakepoint
    5) Lakeholmz
    6) Caspian
    7) Lakefront
    8) Lakeshore
    9) Jurong West St41 parcel B (new)
    10) Jurong west St41 parcel A (reserve)
    11) Parc Oasis
    12) Jurong East new site (new)
    13) Trilinq (new)

Condo within short walking distance to

1) Mayfairs
    2) Westmere
    3) Ivory Height
    4) Regent Park
    5) Park West

Quote Originally Posted by danntbt
    ...if only the prices are the same....
    Yup....300k for Lakepoint... 450k for parc oasis...

Btw, Boon Lay Way will be very interesting to watch for the next few years..

I noticed most of the projects at west mostly located along Boon Lay Way..

Am not sure is this a delibrate strategy to develop Boon Lay Way to be a prime residential location of the west?
    simple reason is that daft sinkies all say location location location.
    no brainer.. put all condo next to mrt line, sure sell.

simple reason is that daft sinkies all say location location location.
    no brainer.. put all condo next to mrt line, sure sell.
    Hmmm...
    I have this thought...

MRT by right should be easily access to low income or those who can not afford for car. Those who can affors condo generally have cars...

However, empty lands near mrt often goes to condo and less hdb...
    -have car, mrt also no use.
    -for those hdb dwellers, pay more $$$ for feeder bus services...

Hmmm...
    I have this thought...

MRT by right should be easily access to low income or those who can not afford for car. Those who can affors condo generally have cars...

there is a big discussion about car park space at the ATT thread. the logic is once you stay next to MRT, you give up your car.

but i agree with you. logically condo shld be further away from mrt. just like bkt timah pple may not like mrt coming to them, because they are downgraded from exclusivity to masses.

Hmmm...
    I have this thought...

hi westman, this is a good idea. however, siting pc next to mrt is also good for upgraders (can save on car, or even sell off that car!). if only the extra dollars earned in the gls get earmarked towards more programmes for the less privileged, then also achieve the same objective.

Quote Originally Posted by lifeline
    hi westman, this is a good idea. however, siting pc next to mrt is also good for upgraders (can save on car, or even sell off that car!). if only the extra dollars earned in the gls get earmarked towards more programmes for the less privileged, then also achieve the same objective.
    Agreed with your logic too but per my understanding, gls money goes back to national reserve and hence will not be avail for government to use to fund for the less privileged. ...

My concern here is: polarity in wealth distribution between clusters...

Agreed with your logic too but per my understanding, gls money goes back to national reserve and hence will not be avail for government to use to fund for the less privileged. ...

My concern here is: polarity in wealth distribution between clusters...
    understand your concern. however with hdb prices increasing, ec going even higher, i am not as concerned about this polarity compared to the widening gap between the top and bottom 10%. hope much more will be done to direct assistance there.

They expect 1.8mil commuters per month. That mean equally divided each day is about 60000 ppl. and again divide by the 12 hrs, each hr got to handle 5000ppl
    Don't think the East West line alone can handle. Now already very pack at JE MRT especially during peak hour. Maybe some other lines have to be added...

Another mega project happening in Jurong West

YCH Group yesterday broke ground for its $200 million logistics hub in Jurong West.
    Called Supply Chain City, the facility will be a warehouse, in addition to housing YCH's headquarters, research activities, a training academy and lifestyle amenities for its employees and customers.
    It will provide about 1.5 million square feet of warehousing space and half a million square feet of office space, paving the way for YCH's customers to integrate their front and back-end operations to maximise efficiency, said YCH chairman and chief executive Robert Yap.
    Although, at 6.5 hectares in size, Supply Chain City will be smaller than YCH's 7.8 ha premises in Tuas, it will have 2 1/2 times the capacity of the Tuas facility.

Lastest update for JLD.

URA schedules a EC GLS by Jun 2013. Information as below:

http://www.ura.gov.sg/pr/graphics/20...-136a1cl11.pdf

Lastest update for JLD.

this one is far away from lakeside mrt

Lastest update for JLD.

there is someting about the yuan ching and ho ching and whatever ching area.. it seems quite "dead".

This is probably the biggest hype of the cycle

there is someting about the yuan ching and ho ching and whatever ching area.. it seems quite "dead".
    It used to be a very busy and nice place many years ago when I played and cycled in that area... I remember Yaohan was there. My guess is many families moved out when the children grew up and the area become rental flats for lots of foreign blue collar workers and the value goes down ever since.
    Last edited by hyenergix; 24-12-12 at 16:16.

And this open air cinema

wa..i never know yuan ching area got a open cinema..

but i do remember eating mcdonald there..
    got my toy too...

And this open air cinema

Sweet memories for me n my wify... I missed the sat midnight shows... :-)

Have been staying at yung kuang road blk 65 (opp new EC site) till 22 yrs old.. move to jurong west n then to lakeside mrt area...

Spend my entire living at jurong area... seen the transformation... big change.. 20 years ago livelier. ..

And this open air cinema

Yes, the jurong drive-in cinema.

Fond memories. Use to go there. When I was a kid...

It used to be a very busy and nice place many years ago when I played and cycled in that area... I remember Yaohan was there. My guess is many families moved out when the children grew up and the area become rental flats for lots of foreign blue collar workers and the value goes down ever since.
    Was quite familiar with this place when I was serving my NS at taman jurong camp.

Yes, Yaohan was there. When did it close shop? Seems quite sometime back

Was quite familiar with this place when I was serving my NS at taman jurong camp.

Yes, Yaohan was there. When did it close shop? Seems quite sometime back
    Long long time ago when I was a kid. I infer those who replied me in this thread are in their 40s. Please let me know if I'm right

Yup.. u suppose you too..

Not really

Not really
    bro, are you still < 40?

http://www.ura.gov.sg/pr/graphics/2013/pr13-07a.pdf

LAND PARCEL AT JURONG WEST STREET 41 (PARCEL A)

MCL still very bullish. $701psf

They also bot JE interchange plot at $705psf. They are settling ground in JLD development.
    Last edited by ay123; 29-01-13 at 16:15.

http://www.ura.gov.sg/pr/graphics/2013/pr13-07a.pdf

LAND PARCEL AT JURONG WEST STREET 41 (PARCEL A)

MCL still very bullish. $701psf
    $651.5 psf lah!

Quote Originally Posted by Pro888
    $651.5 psf lah!
    paiseh paiseh......but tats 30% more expensive than lakefront

2.5 years ago, price surely increases. Plus CIS next to it. JLD slowly unfolding.