Thread: Why North is far?

Default Why North is far?

Why the North must have a Far in front?

Is North very far?

In fact if you cut Singapore into half, one half east and one half west the centre line moving upward is north.

Using onemap.com distance measuring tool and using city hall mrt as the "center of Singapore",

Direct straight line distance exceed 17km for Sembawang, Admirality, Woodlands, Marsiling and Kranji MRT.

for the west, only boon lay mrt and beyond exceed 17km

for the east, none of the stations exceed 17km.

So north residential areas are physically far from city hall.

Quote Originally Posted by CondoInterested

Is North very far?

In fact if you cut Singapore into half, one half east and one half west the centre line moving upward is north.
    When you take a bus, it bring you to east or west before your reach north.

it's ok... keep it that way.. in fact if possible add one more far become "far far north" so lesser people go there

For north depends on which part of the north you stay.

I think woodlands part is inaccessible partly because of the central catchment area.

Places like YCK and AMK is not that bad. In fact it is probably better than east or west because you can go to East/West/South pretty easily.

If you live in the east, good luck commuting to the west and vice versa.

in this context far north refers to district 25 and 27 which are the northern tips or banks of the island. yes very inaccessible. pls don't go there

Yes, i agree... Add a 'very' to make it very very inaccessible.
    I will listen to your kind advise not to go there for sure!

Because, err, you are in a forum called "Far North"
    There is another one that called "Central North"

.....NS highway and Thomson line coming up......think North will be flooded by Northern neighbor as well.....no need to queue up for bus anymore, hop on train at CIQ in JB and proceed to woodlands, yishun etc.....possibly will be crowded like Jurong Point.....good for business?....but...if its so convenient to cross over, might as well buy those nice condos at HDB price if you stay up North....and vice-versa would be cheaper to shop over there?

its all moot - have to wait and see how we behave when it comes...

Direct straight line distance exceed 17km for Sembawang, Admirality, Woodlands, Marsiling and Kranji MRT.

for the west, only boon lay mrt and beyond exceed 17km
    So why West has no FAR in front?

For north depends on which part of the north you stay.

I think woodlands part is inaccessible partly because of the central catchment area.

Places like YCK and AMK is not that bad. In fact it is probably better than east or west because you can go to East/West/South pretty easily.

If you live in the east, good luck commuting to the west and vice versa.
    YS & SBW very far from YCK meh?

I agree north go south or go east or go west is easy.

It is the traffic lights and congestion, not the distance. A 100 km can be a nice drive if the traffic is smooth and surrounding is scenic

http://www.whaleoil.co.nz/2012/04/be...ording-to-cnn/

http://www.theaaronloy.com/wp-conten...-jam-lynac.jpg

Quote Originally Posted by danntbt
    .....NS highway and Thomson line coming up......think North will be flooded by Northern neighbor as well.....no need to queue up for bus anymore, hop on train at CIQ in JB and proceed to woodlands, yishun etc.....possibly will be crowded like Jurong Point.....good for business?....but...if its so convenient to cross over, might as well buy those nice condos at HDB price if you stay up North....and vice-versa would be cheaper to shop over there?

its all moot - have to wait and see how we behave when it comes...
    yap... don't worry, by that time most people would have moved even further up north. despite quite a number of high profile people here everyone is too busy with something else. everything is either done half heartedly, wrongly or nothing done

bcoz not many projects in west, so can lump everything in 1.

North got central north, far north, northeast. Area too big too many projects.

But just this forum segregation lah. Govt planning only north.

Bcos this forum believe Singapore property only go north and north. It won't go south

This is a property website, so probably based on psf, far north region has the lowest psf

Anyway it is just peculiar to this website, if u believe in Far North, just buy loh......

Long long time ago Singapore north is very ulu. The sembawang road stretches across undulating terrains where upper thomson road ends all the way to naval base.those people who live 靠北 has to 靠步... Very inconvenient.

Our planners can't be bothered with the west. South west, central west and north west all called "west" one big area. Haha. I think our planners should split west into 3 parts as well - Southwest (Clementi, West Coast and Jurong), Central west (Hillview, Dairy Farm, Upper Bukit Timah, Bt Batok) and then Northwest (Choa Chu Kang, Lim Chu Kang) etc.

This is a property website, so probably based on psf, far north region has the lowest psf

Anyway it is just peculiar to this website, if u believe in Far North, just buy loh......
    Heehee. You're right. That was the reason i got in in 2011. Buy low. Other areas b4 2011.

but now psf have exceeded many other areas and only just the beginning. I dun name lah, then many shoot back again I also lazy to reply

More to come.

Generally, using city as reference is ok, but one that work, play & stay within that area is ok, rest of the areas are far.

Using more reference points like city & 3 regional ctrs, then north is like south. East & West will have 1 "Far". Going to details, as more ppl staying in the east, we can have more reference locations there, then it will be very unfair to west. Never end...

Red face

East got FAR in front 远东, the project prices are always further North but below the Sky.

far north is really far and closer to the sky. you feel the cloud closer. the rain closer. rainbow nearer. the air fresher

Didn't know simple question arouse so many interesting answer.

I LIKE the one says Property Price must go North and not South.

My proposal

1) Up North
    2) Down South
    3) Go West
    4) Turn East

Didn't know simple question arouse so many interesting answer.

I LIKE the one says Property Price must go North and not South.
    chinese saying

一方水土养一方人一样的米养百样的人

For those who stayed in the far north, with high rise view towards the naval base, did you guys realize you can see the US Independence Day fireworks display during the weekend near jul 4th?

YS & SBW very far from YCK meh?
    Actually quite far. YS is because now they only have one entrance to CTE.... always jammed....

SBW MRT to YCKT mrt is almost the distance of YCK MRT to orchard MRT....

that is because you go other directions u drop into water, you go north, there is another further north across the causeway

Long long time ago Singapore north is very ulu. The sembawang road stretches across undulating terrains where upper thomson road ends all the way to naval base.those people who live 靠北 has to 靠步... Very inconvenient.
    Wittyyyyyyyyyy

Actually quite far. YS is because now they only have one entrance to CTE.... always jammed....

SBW MRT to YCKT mrt is almost the distance of YCK MRT to orchard MRT....
    the MRT ride from YCK to Khatib is the longest in Singapore...
    I am rich in debts...