Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: attributes of wife / husband to be????

When I was single, I had set my mind for my future husband:-
    1) No smoking
    2) No gambling
    3) No flirting
    4) No beating of wife
    5) Character also very important
    6) Must be a responsible guy
    7) He needs not be rich but must be willing to work and take care of the family.
    8) Education must be at least same as me or equivalent.
    (No 1-4 must hint to him before courtship, then observe him during courtship)

If during courtship, find that he is not suitable, it is better to break it earlier than to be regret later. If not what is courtship for, it is for you to know each other better and to judge whether he is suitable for you or not. That's my . 爱不是施舍. But you want to choose people, people also wants to choose you lor.

Such criteria is 可遇不可求. So far, mine still okay, "my hiam buoy pie" (in hokkien).
    Willing to work hard is good, but putting his money to good use is even better

Asuming both of u decide to do something stupid like take sampan (spur of the moment - hypo case) and no float.

Or say, u cross road and suddenly a car dash towards u because it lost control, will he push u away and take the hit, or he will let you kanna then shout for help? Or he want to kanna together with u? 3 options. Which 1 u think he take. Then which one u take?

Just curious.
    This is not a movie la. Hello. Most likely too slow to react and both kena.

If still so far away and got time to grasp the situation and react, of course pull him away together with me both siam liao.

My friend Jeffrey came from a very traditional family. When he reached marriageable age, his parents insisted that he was matched-made taking into consideration compatibility of birth dates, family backgrounds....etc.

As he was a modern person, naturally he was unhappy with such an arrangement. But because he did not want to dissappoint his aged parents, he decided to go along with it on the condition that they presented him with 3 candidates to choose from. This provided him with some semblance of choice at the same time it also satisfied his parents requirements.

Finally, after a careful selection process his parents shortlisted 3 suitable candidates that met their requirements and they each have diverse talents and personalities.

1. Sok Choo - is a fashion designer, studied law in London but decided fashion was more her thing after graduating and having gone through pupillage with a law firm in the UK. Lives life in the fast lane but still manages to find time to volunteer at the old folks home and the handicapped association.

2. Eunice - is an art teacher in SOTA, likes working with children and young people. Loves to read poetry in her spare time and spends weekends inventing and experimenting new cooking recipes. Every once in a while, you can find her at flea markets hawking her own artistic creations such as paintings, sculptures and jewelry pieces.

3. Jamie - is a doctor, undergoing a specialisation in orthopaedics, devoted to curing bones after her stint as a volunteer physician with the UN in Cambodia during its transition to democracy. Athletic and energetic, Jamie has completed 2 marathons and is training for a third. She dreams of one day setting up her own free clinic to provide the underprivileged with medical attention.

These were the 3 choices that were presented to Jeffrey... who do you think he chose ?
    The one with the biggest breast

Willing to work hard is good, but putting his money to good use is even better
    Ya, money roll money lor but not everybody so smart and lucky leh.

Hard to find such women these days. most only concentrate on how to spend more of their husband's money. whats the next prada bag to buy, new chanel earrings etc.

In fact, my girl is extremely careful in her spendings, hardly have any big shopping tickets. One bag costs HK$2,000, used for 3 years...clothings, buy only during big sales

wow very disciplined indeed! the ladies @ my workplace are all dressed in expensive fashion brands.

The truly wealthy dresses simply.

They have no need and no one to impress.

Hmmm not entirely true. For ladies, the truly wealthy and with proper upbringing types will not dress sloppily. "simple" but with style and proper matching. It's not a matter of impressing any one. It's matter of neatness and being polite to the host or companion.

Quote Originally Posted by zeamybro
    One that takes good care of his/her parents and also respect your parents, is likely to be a good spouse
    you mean the type who "take care" of Parents, Parents-in-law .possibly BIL also, .by coercing all staying under one roof type ...to maximise resources .. we have one eggcellent example in Yowetan here..

Totally agree.

Btw, Singaporeans are one of the worst dressed and are extremely sloppy... many just don't bother. And its not about dressing to impress.

Even a Bangladeshi worker or PRC bricklayer takes more pride in their dressing when they are out on their days off.

Hmmm not entirely true. For ladies, the truly wealthy and with proper upbringing types will not dress sloppily. "simple" but with style and proper matching. It's not a matter of impressing any one. It's matter of neatness and being polite to the host or companion.

Ya, the world has changed. Most of them are well-educated, even not so educated one also have their own way of thinking, unlike during my time, life were so simple. Never chase for branded products, till now, I still don't go for branded goods.

There are some professions which require one to dress up well as you need to win the confidence of your clients or working partners. But for most other times, I believe the confidence and positive energy come from within. If you feel good and confident, you will naturally look great and give others a positive feel regardless what you wear, as long as you don't dress sloppily or offensively

wah this thread is so hot ... my only advice:

DON'T BE TOO IDEAL, TO ERR is HUMAN

Figures/body shape also important, if you have a nice figure, any clothing you wear also nice as long as it is clean and tidy. More important is comfortable.

Singapore is a 'Earn a lot, Spend a lot' society. Very good for the economy. The women are not the only culprits. Many of my guy friends and colleagues also spend a lot! Branded clothes and accessories, expensive holidays, latest and coolest gadgets, etc.. Even school children as young as 5 or 6 yrs old carry iPhone, iPad, expensive clothes and shoes... Families like to eat out often and at cafes and restaurants (no more coffeeshops / hawker centres), go for expensive family outings such as RSS, Gardens by the Bay etc (no more simple picnics on the beach). Spend Spend Spend!

So for those who have or can find someone who is still from the old school and can resist all these material trappings, hold on to them tight!

The one with the biggest breast
    i hear this story from somewhere.. LOL!!!

Figures/body shape also important, if you have a nice figure, any clothing you wear also nice as long as it is clean and tidy. More important is comfortable.
    Absolutely true! If out of shape, no matter what they wear, they don't look good. But hor, many Singaporean women have gone the other extreme....

Quote Originally Posted by Sleepyhead
    Singapore is a 'Earn a lot, Spend a lot' society. Very good for the economy. The women are not the only culprits. Many of my guy friends and colleagues also spend a lot! Branded clothes and accessories, expensive holidays, latest and coolest gadgets, etc.. Even school children as young as 5 or 6 yrs old carry iPhone, iPad, expensive clothes and shoes... Families like to eat out often and at cafes and restaurants (no more coffeeshops / hawker centres), go for expensive family outings such as RSS, Gardens by the Bay etc (no more simple picnics on the beach). Spend Spend Spend!

So for those who have or can find someone who is still from the old school and can resist all these material trappings, hold on to them tight!
    Have just found someone like that.... But probably coz his earning power only 1/5 of mine...

Not sure if will lead to future problems.

Have just found someone like that.... But probably coz his earning power only 1/5 of mine...

It is better for a man to earn more or be capable than a woman, if not, whose know after marriage, will she look down upon you or not, unless you don't mind to be looked down upon by your wife.

Mine a bit diff.... Both hubby lol

If he is younger and will bring you joy, then it is worthwhile a try.
    But if he is older then maybe have to think twice cos andropause can be difficult for loved ones to handle at times.

If he is younger and will bring you joy, then it is worthwhile a try.
    But if he is older then maybe have to think twice cos andropause can be difficult for loved ones to handle at times.

Younger by 8 yrz... Unassuming, no temper, lovey dovey, low maintenance, works full time (i get personal time), some similar interests, good in bed...
    Sounds pleasant.
    Just out of curiosity, in general, do non- heterosexuals prefer to live together or separately?

Sounds pleasant.
    Just out of curiosity, in general, do non- heterosexuals prefer to live together or separately?
    Live together, eat, sleep, wake up together... Rear kids or pets together...

If quarrel sleep on sofa... Exactly the same.

Live together, eat, sleep, wake up together... Rear kids or pets together...

If quarrel sleep on sofa... Exactly the same.
    LOL..... when I go to Bedok Reservoir to jog, occasionally I see 2 muscular men together with 1 dog each.
    The dogs are the cute small breed and they are so gentle with their pets.

When we give ourselves in a relationship, there's always a risk that the other party may break our hearts.
    Since you are already together, just enjoy each other's company and grow in your relationship.
    Meanwhile, you still need to guard your heart and let the walls slowly come down when you are sure that the other party is worthy of your love and trust.
    There are only 2 people in a relationship and you are the best person to know if you are happy or not.

LOL..... when I go to Bedok Reservoir to jog, occasionally I see 2 muscular men together with 1 dog each.
    The dogs are the cute small breed and they are so gentle with their pets.
    What r ur jogging days? Me tuesday late pm usually

May have seen u. Some lady with waist length hair...

Most of my male frens arent muscular... Is a stereotype.

Quote Originally Posted by moneytalk
    When we give ourselves in a relationship, there's always a risk that the other party may break our hearts.
    Since you are already together, just enjoy each other's company and grow in your relationship.
    Meanwhile, you still need to guard your heart and let the walls slowly come down when you are sure that the other party is worthy of your love and trust.
    There are only 2 people in a relationship and you are the best person to know if you are happy or not.
    LIKE..........!!!! Gd advice thx

Any avg duration for "wall to come down"?

LIKE..........!!!! Gd advice thx

Any avg duration for "wall to come down"?
    Wall to come down is when you are going through a bad patch. You are down in your career and have financial and emotional problems etc, and he still sticks by you and encourages you. He is protective and defends you when others are throwing darts at you.
    He lifts you up, time and again when you are down. He shares what he has with you too.
    I would say "time" is the best judge.