Thread: Olam under heavy short selling

Default Olam under heavy short selling

Wow ... Olam is target of short selling ... never heard of since George Soros attacked SEA last time

Do u believe the hedge fund that sells short or the CEO? Is OLAM about to collapse?

H.orlan....

Wow ... Olam is target of short selling ... never heard of since George Soros attacked SEA last time

Do u believe the hedge fund that sells short or the CEO? Is OLAM about to collapse?
    This revelation is not new la... Clsa wrote a similar report on this early last yr... Search hugh henry...he is another hedge fund manager who shorted olam big time last yr too... THe way olam recognises biological assets gains and revenue is ambigous n opaque at best hence ppl will always take the opportunity to attack it...

today up 10c.......lucky i jip...ezion today at 1.355...tom morning SELL...

This is the reason why I don't buy shares. I don't have any control over my investment. I look at share as fiat money at best.

http://chart.finance.yahoo.com/z?s=O...n-SG&region=SG

I am commodities supporter...........I believe OLAM........not believe hedge fund.......kekekeke
    I m MM

I'm not into speculative play.

Quote Originally Posted by Shoeboxsupporter
    I am commodities supporter...........I believe OLAM........not believe hedge fund.......kekekeke
    If today bank based on rumour & suddenly withdraw your loan, require you to pay immediately, will also landed u a big trouble.........
    I m MM

I buy individual stock base on FEAR. Recently, I hv been struggling since 12 Dec12 whether to buy OLAM stock. I hv “extreme fear” in me that it may go below $1.00 I finally pick up my courage to buy OLAM @ 1.40 on 17 Dec12 as there is too “extreme fear” in this stock. Hopefully can sell on Wed >1.52. Pls take that I am here just to share what I hv learnt through past mistakes especially 2008/2009.Financial crisis. Must be very very patience & buy only when there is FEAR in the market. Or fear in this particular individual stock.
    l
    FEAR INDEX (VIX)
    ===========
    LOW VIX - when investors perceive neither significant downside risk nor significant upside potential will the VIX be low.
    High VIX readings mean investors see significant risk that the market will move sharply, whether downward or upward.
    The stock mkt VIX fluctuated up & down “VIOLENTLY” during the Europe crisis Recently, It has been low for quite a while. This is one of the reason why I put more into BOND.
    Individual stock FEAR Index
    =====================
    If there is fear in that particular stock, I will Buy direct on this fear stock. Or will do a FCN ( ELN with knock in & knock out feature) or just ELN to collect yield If it really got converted into share. I know that I am buying a index stock at “LOW FLOOR”.

Like Capland @ 2.4 , construction bank @HK4.9 , Zijin mining @HK2.35., China telcom @ 3.4, OUE @2.19 etc

Just remind yourself not to buy stock when it is at “HIGH FLOOR“.. Buy a index stock at “LOW FLOOR”, you loss will be a minimize but your profit can be maximize. NEVER buy Penny stock unless he have “REALLY MASTER” the ability to CUT LOSS if It go against U.

Rdgs,
    Victor

Quote Originally Posted by cbsh38584
    Just remind yourself not to buy stock when it is at “HIGH FLOOR“.. Buy a index
    stock at “LOW FLOOR”, you loss will be a minimize but your profit can be
    maximize. NEVER buy Penny stock unless he have “REALLY MASTER” the ability to
    CUT LOSS if It go against U.
    Like!
    Thanks Vic for sharing.
    My hubby got it for 1.43, then later that day it fell to 1.365.
    Some frens said it was not advisable to buy as it might fall to $1.
    Luckily it is picking up now .

Like!
    Thanks Vic for sharing.
    My hubby got it for 1.43, then later that day it fell to 1.365.
    Some frens said it was not advisable to buy as it might fall to $1.
    Luckily it is picking up now .
    wa..your husband really go and buy?

Like what bro cbsh38584 said- buy when people fear it.
    Anyway small amount only lah.

oh ok...

small small.. lose also won't heart pain

Temasek is buying from the open mkt also.
    say good value wor

temasek can afford to lose big big. perhaps... can increase CPF min sum.

poor commoners like us... cannot afford to lose wor

i got this feeling singapore die die will not let olam to fail...

the chain effect of failure of olam is very huge

i got this feeling singapore die die will not let olam to fail...

the chain effect of failure of olam is very huge
    Olam is peanut lah, compare to the other bad investment
    reputation at stake, and they certainly dont want any more mud
    digging up more of their portfolio companies.
    NOT VESTED

Sold Olam 50 lots@ 1.54. cannot be greedy.

rdgs,
    Vic

Quote Originally Posted by cbsh38584
    Sold Olam 50 lots@ 1.54. cannot be greedy.

rdgs,
    Vic
    Just in a few days you make a few thousand dollars!
    Bro u power sia!