Thread: A zero or negative rate world is coming

Default A zero or negative rate world is coming

The Bank of Korea cut interest rates, following the lead of policy makers in Australia, Europe and India this month, as strength in the won and weakness in the yen dim the outlook for the nation’s exports.

New Zealand dollar falls sharply after intervention revealed

Australia's central bank has cut its benchmark interest rate to a record low of 2.75%

Soros made tonnes of money shorting Yen, then Australian dollars

Billionaire investor George Soros has expanded his bargain-basement shopping spree by reportedly adding a $1 billion short-sold position in the Australian dollar
    Last edited by phantom_opera; 09-05-13 at 16:30.

In a world of high unemployment, everybody wants to devalue to boost export or lower interest rate to zero to stimulate economy

watch for signal from Dow gold ratio, would it stay above 10 and gain or breakdown??

Means if you don't have debt, you will be at a terribly less well-off position than you are now.

The CPF minimum sum will tell u how much inflation there is:

2010 – $123,000
    2011 – $131,000 (+6.5%)
    2012 – $139,000 (+6.1%)
    2013 – $148,000 (+6.5%)

Singaporeans who hold AUD FDs now must be really scared after Soros / his old time buddies calling short on AUD

if not negative rate, u took a haircut

[NICOSIA] Cyprus' central bank said on Thursday most of the depositors who lost money at bailed-out Bank of Cyprus were from overseas and that Cypriots had not been hit as hard as might have been expected.
    "Seventy per cent of the value of deposits concerned overseas residents, leaving Cypriot households and businesses unaffected to a greater extent than was possibly expected," Central Bank of Cyprus Governor Panicos Demetriades told a news conference.
    He said overall 96 per cent of deposits in Cyprus were unaffected by losses on larger accounts required by the eurozone in exchange for aid to the overly indebted country. - Reuters

watch for signal from Dow gold ratio, would it stay above 10 and gain or breakdown??
    Dow gold ratio at historical low now. It will be a long time before all these printed money find its way into gold again. Gold ETF are still deleveraging. There are still too much gold papers in the market.

Default NZ property price hit record high in April

[WELLINGTON] New Zealand house prices hit a record high in April, led by gains in Auckland, the country's biggest city, and the Canterbury region while a slower rise was seen in other centres, government property valuer Quotable Value (QV) said on Thursday.

Quote Originally Posted by indomie
    Dow gold ratio at historical low now. It will be a long time before all these printed money find its way into gold again. Gold ETF are still deleveraging. There are still too much gold papers in the market.
    Using paper money to purchase paper gold..... Its like old man given a fake viagra. Nothing much is going to happen.

how will SG rates be affected? my mortgage is due for review soon....

Using paper money to purchase paper gold..... Its like old man given a fake viagra. Nothing much is going to happen.
    Like this, would it be better always in debt.. and use the debt to invest in properties, especially landed?

Quote Originally Posted by stl67
    Like this, would it be better always in debt.. and use the debt to invest in properties, especially landed?
    Look if u bought apple share lagi better. Instead of buying apple computer, if u used the money to buy apple share look what it worth today.

So brudder Indomie, have you discovered the next few stars????

That's the key..... put a bit here and there... hopefully 1 kanna solid, solid... Hahahahaha

Look at 4g LTE. This technology is going to explode... replacing 3G.

Just dabble a bit hor.... you also need to know when to get out hor....

So brudder Indomie, have you discovered the next few stars????

That's the key..... put a bit here and there... hopefully 1 kanna solid, solid... Hahahahaha

Look at 4g LTE. This technology is going to explode... replacing 3G.

Just dabble a bit hor.... you also need to know when to get out hor....
    Betting on the technology has its risk. Better bet on technology company who is good at marketing. So who are those marketing savvy technology firms?

Bro, it is the explosion that drives the price up !!!

Apple grew because of
    1. ipod
    2. iphone
    3. ipad
    4. itunes (revenue generating - more products above sold, more music, video, app software sold - recurring revenue)

think microsoft in the past. think intel in the past. think htc in the past. think 3 d printing. think google. think amazon.
    it is the explosion of demand that drives stock prices. Look at autocad - because of 3d, stock price shot up.
    the key is identify the next trend.... thats where the big dollar is made.

no need to invest a lot lah.... but this are the multibaggers... you just need to get in early.... I went in 3 d printing, I went in 4g lte. difficult to share with you... but really need to do alot of research.

Cheers....

btw bro, I am talking about betting on top 2 or 3 companies in each arena....

u know why AAPL / Google / Facebook share price so high .. because they collected all your personal information from day one

use them when absolutely necessary

NO privacy, no mercy

u know why AAPL / Google / Facebook share price so high .. because they collected all your personal information from day one

use them when absolutely necessary

NO privacy, no mercy
    how do we visit porn sites anonymously then? i am afraid to join politics for this very reason. afraid pap govt will release the sites i visited.

Google
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Google

google and apple revenue from apps
    http://finance.yahoo.com/news/apple-...154212852.html

google and amazon cloud servers
    http://www.wired.com/wiredenterprise...ecret-servers/

just look at the revenue from apps
    Revenues from Apple's (AAPL) App Store exceed $15M per day, while revenue from Google's (GOOG) Google Play are at $3.5M per day, app store research company distimo reported, according to TechCrunch

So the more google phones and iphone out there, the more money collected.

Look at 4G LTE market
    http://www.zdnet.com/global-4g-lte-s...ar-7000003434/

Google
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Google

google and apple revenue from apps
    http://finance.yahoo.com/news/apple-...154212852.html

google and amazon cloud servers
    http://www.wired.com/wiredenterprise...ecret-servers/

just look at the revenue from apps
    Revenues from Apple's (AAPL) App Store exceed $15M per day, while revenue from Google's (GOOG) Google Play are at $3.5M per day, app store research company distimo reported, according to TechCrunch

So the more google phones and iphone out there, the more money collected.

Look at 4G LTE market
    http://www.zdnet.com/global-4g-lte-s...ar-7000003434/
    one caveat is that a lot of google apps are following the "ad-supported" model ... so they give you the app for free, but each time you launch it, there's a tiny ad that appears on top. this isnt taken into consideration for "app store revenue", unless im mistaken. but yeap .. the more they throw android on anything that sticks, the more money they should (technically) make.

Quote Originally Posted by evolutionx
    one caveat is that a lot of google apps are following the "ad-supported" model ... so they give you the app for free, but each time you launch it, there's a tiny ad that appears on top. this isnt taken into consideration for "app store revenue", unless im mistaken. but yeap .. the more they throw android on anything that sticks, the more money they should (technically) make.
    U are rite. Google will make money from ads in this instance.

how do we visit porn sites anonymously then? i am afraid to join politics for this very reason. afraid pap govt will release the sites i visited.
    u surf net using SingTel, Starbub or M1 ..... they know u or not? Good luck