Thread: Resale price of private homes rise 1.9% in April

Default Resale price of private homes rise 1.9% in April

SINGAPORE: Resale prices of private homes in Singapore rose at a faster rate of 1.9 per cent in April, compared to the previous month's 1.1 per cent price increase.

The Singapore Residential Price Index (SRPI) flash estimates were published by the Institute of Real Estate Studies at the National University of Singapore on Tuesday.

The price increase was led by private homes outside the central region, which rose 2.4 per cent in April, reversing the 0.2 per cent drop in March.

Prices of small units, defined as 506 square feet and below, also trended upwards from 0.8 per cent in March to 1.8 per cent last month.

Meanwhile, resale homes in the central region bucked the trend as price growth moderated.

The SRPI for homes in the central area rose 1.3 per cent in April, down from the 2.8 per cent increase seen in March.

- CNA/al

Eat that Tharman.

Shhhh.. Quite.
    Before govt unleashes another CM.
    cash becoming more and of a toilet paper now.
    Hard asset are way to go.

Because of inappropriate cooling measure that is not targeted, many OCR prices are now more than RCR (and very close to outskirt part of CCR) and still rising at a higher rate than RCR and OCR! (when in fact they should be more concern with cooling OCR because that is for the masses, and dashing the hope of HDB upgraders to upgrade to private properties!). That says so much about their policies, just like they implement GST to help the poor!

Quote Originally Posted by avo7007
    Eat that Tharman.

Because of inappropriate cooling measure that is not targeted, many OCR prices are now more than RCR (and very close to outskirt part of CCR) and still rising at a higher rate than RCR and OCR! (when in fact they should be more concern with cooling OCR because that is for the masses, and dashing the hope of HDB upgraders to upgrade to private properties!). That says so much about their policies, just like they implement GST to help the poor!

GST again LOL... give us a break from the BS.

GST across the board is never to help the poor unless the poor can claim back from govt gst for every essential item bought. Our govt always comes up with across the board policies and like to give sweeping justifications just like absd n ssd, none of which really worked to control property prices except to add billion dollar revenues into the coffers. Same for erp, cpf, Coe etc...all policies with no strong justifications, just airy fairy kind of reasoning to buy into simple minded people like you
    GST again LOL... give us a break from the BS.

GST across the board is never to help the poor unless the poor can claim back from govt gst for every essential item bought. Our govt always comes up with across the board policies and like to give sweeping justifications just like absd n ssd, none of which really worked to control property prices except to add billion dollar revenues into the coffers. Same for erp, cpf, Coe etc...all policies with no strong justifications, just airy fairy kind of reasoning to buy into simple minded people like you

as usual . BS. GST vouchers. GST rebates. etc. people that go buy car buy big ticket items are hardly classified as poor.

Chicken rice is got $1.5. kopi tiam breakfast set egg toast coffee $2. u tell me GST impact? Sound more like people dont want GST so they save big big when they spend on luxury items. at the expense of the poor!

lol... u are all kidding urself to feel good.

Bullshit. Those items you said portion become so small, GST effect already included even if price remains the same. You go bluff 3 years old, don't bluff here!

as usual . BS. GST vouchers. GST rebates. etc. people that go buy car buy big ticket items are hardly classified as poor.

Chicken rice is got $1.5. kopi tiam breakfast set egg toast coffee $2. u tell me GST impact? Sound more like people dont want GST so they save big big when they spend on luxury items. at the expense of the poor!

Are you saying the lower income people got no right to move up the social ladder? Gst is only one of those things that add burden to lower income people cpf is another useless policy. Just because people don't pay gst for a cup of coffee you think there is no gst? That is why I say you are a simpleton. Before the coffee is being placed in a cup, it has to go through channels in the supply chain where gst is applicable n the cost is eventually passed down to the consumer. All consumable items bought already have gst included even though not spelt out to the consumer.

GST theoretically fair and equitable but the better off or richer Singaporeans will have the means to go abroad and spend money outside Singapore thus "evading" GST. That's why it's crap.

Ha ha all so heated up again. how about imposing capital gain taxes on all properties transaction and increase taxation on rental income. Since these are instruments of the rich. Set at 50% will be a good start. Then we abolish GST, the money from the taxation can then help the poor. Idea good or not?

shhh.....don't say so loud......you don't know who might be reading this.....

GST theoretically fair and equitable but the better off or richer Singaporeans will have the means to go abroad and spend money outside Singapore thus "evading" GST. That's why it's crap.

Well depends ur definition of poor . GST is a consumption tax. the rich consume more get taxed more. and part with tax collected $ can be use to fund social services which can be direct or indirect.

anyway u mention the rich or well off go over seas to buy thing. Well do you think they bring back cars , house, stereos , fridge , furniture , bike etc? those u can't run away. Wat abt consuming in resturant in singapore and high end dinning?

unless all dont need to be in singapore then? if not still got to be entertained while in Singapore.

Do the Rich n well do go over seas buy rice, sugar or can food? not really. Still have to consume in singapore.

Also from a poor perspective with less dispose income what is the actual impact of GST verse the rebates given? Workfare? GST vouchers ? food vouchers? utilities rebates? it more than helps covers the GST incurred.

Coz poor wont be buying Cars , eating at high end restaurants etc.

Talk cock lah. before u go on n on an on abt GST crap. wat is your definition of poor? The stone bear says per mth earn 9K is consider poor. Singapore 80% are poor.

so maybe before u talk abt tat pls define ur poor.

before u complain and condemn do u have a better proposal on the policies? Scraping GST benefits the rich for sure. as of today the rich pays majority of the collected GST. exempting GST on some items are hard to police.

even in Malaysia which the stupid fool say no GST. they have Goods and service tax applied. So its not 100% tax free anyway.

Why so troublesome? Might as well tax at source of income! We are not afraid that they run/avoid, because when they do it is a crime so they can be taxed 3x or more and also go to jail, not worth it right? On the other hand, GST allows them to avoid taxes by going overseas to spend, so a lot of rich tax revenues lost!

Well depends ur definition of poor . GST is a consumption tax. the rich consume more get taxed more. and part with tax collected $ can be use to fund social services which can be direct or indirect.

anyway u mention the rich or well off go over seas to buy thing. Well do you think they bring back cars , house, stereos , fridge , furniture , bike etc? those u can't run away. Wat abt consuming in resturant in singapore and high end dinning?

unless all dont need to be in singapore then? if not still got to be entertained while in Singapore.

Do the Rich n well do go over seas buy rice, sugar or can food? not really. Still have to consume in singapore.

Also from a poor perspective with less dispose income what is the actual impact of GST verse the rebates given? Workfare? GST vouchers ? food vouchers? utilities rebates? it more than helps covers the GST incurred.

Coz poor wont be buying Cars , eating at high end restaurants etc.

Before there is GST, family income $4.5k pm is enough to save for retirement. After got GST, people family income needs $9k in order to have savings for retirement, need to retire for >30 years! Otherwise have to work until die because no savings to cater for increased costs of living due to ever rising GSTs...

Talk cock lah. before u go on n on an on abt GST crap. wat is your definition of poor? The stone bear says per mth earn 9K is consider poor. Singapore 80% are poor.

before u complain and condemn do u have a better proposal on the policies? Scraping GST benefits the rich for sure. as of today the rich pays majority of the collected GST. exempting GST on some items are hard to police.

even in Malaysia which the stupid fool say no GST. they have Goods and service tax applied. So its not 100% tax free anyway.

Before there is GST, family income $5k pm is enough to save for retirement. After got GST, people family income needs $9k in order to have savings for retirement, need to retire for >30 years! Otherwise have to work until die because no savings to cater for increased costs of living due to ever rising GSTs... People pay tax for about 30 years of working life becaust got income but pay tax for 86 years & as long as they live because of GST even without income!

Our cost of living is heading in the direction of Sydney and Melbourne a matter of time but we are not getting minimum wage of sgd27 like them. In Australia if you earn aud4k, you are probably a blue collar worker. If a family guy in singapore earns $9k n having to take care of wife, two kids and two aged parents, I consider that poor. I have already stated my proposal, which is having a gst redemption system for essential goods. If family income based on per head count in family including dependants falls below $2k, the system kicks in so the manager earning $9k would still be entitled to gst refund.

Wow, you all still on politics...

Anyway, we should stop all these non-property politics discussions. Never ending one. Australia tax higher, how to compare? Or take US, they got oil, how to compare? Or even Malaysia. They have plenty of land and palm oil. How to do a fair comparison??????? Seriously, it is never ending.

If anyone thinks Singapore is high cost, high GST, high taxes whatever, my suggestion is go and work overseas and experience it yourself. Just like me. Go experience it yourself and if you think US is a better place because they have cheap cars, cheap house, higher salary but higher tax, then migrate there lor.

Our cost of living is heading in the direction of Sydney and Melbourne a matter of time but we are not getting minimum wage of sgd27 like them. In Australia if you earn aud4k, you are probably a blue collar worker. If a family guy in singapore earns $9k n having to take care of wife, two kids and two aged parents, I consider that poor. I have already stated my proposal, which is having a gst redemption system for essential goods. If family income based on per head count in family including dependants falls below $2k, the system kicks in so the manager earning $9k would still be entitled to gst refund.

BTW wat is the cost of coffee in Aus? a street side stall coffee chow chow is AUSD$3.5 .

u want to compare basic 4K in Aus? what abt the income tax might I ask?

u still can coffee at 90 cent. breakfast set at $2.

So you are blaming GST for inflation or u are just bay song with inflation as a whole? dont mix it all up.

Anyway, we should stop all these non-property politics discussions. Never ending one. Australia tax higher, how to compare? Or take US, they got oil, how to compare? Or even Malaysia. They have plenty of land and palm oil. How to do a fair comparison??????? Seriously, it is never ending.

If anyone thinks Singapore is high cost, high GST, high taxes whatever, my suggestion is go and work overseas and experience it yourself. Just like me. Go experience it yourself and if you think US is a better place because they have cheap cars, cheap house, higher salary but higher tax, then migrate there lor.

yup bay song? Aus so good then go Aus lor.. Malaysia no GST! got 1 say.. then go Malaysia lor.

Singapore have GST still so many malaysian come here to live and convert to citizen. well maybe these people see something and appreciate it better than the frog in the wells here.

Why so troublesome? Might as well tax at source of income! We are not afraid that they run/avoid, because when they do it is a crime so they can be taxed 3x or more and also go to jail, not worth it right? On the other hand, GST allows them to avoid taxes by going overseas to spend, so a lot of rich tax revenues lost!

Talk cock. u already say rich can run tax. don't pay income tax. So they person live here right? so u mean they can buy the car and put in pocket bring back? they go overseas buy luggage load of sugar and bring back.

Wat a dumb ass. u are just trying to hide the fact u want to save on GST! so u can get more saving on ur big ticket items.!

Before there is GST, family income $5k pm is enough to save for retirement. After got GST, people family income needs $9k in order to have savings for retirement, need to retire for >30 years! Otherwise have to work until die because no savings to cater for increased costs of living due to ever rising GSTs... People pay tax for about 30 years of working life becaust got income but pay tax for 86 years & as long as they live because of GST even without income!

really! show me the proof!!!!

Also with 5K pm they can dont spend on big ticket items. if u spend on big ticket items they are not POOR!.

so 9K pm is poor??? these show u are a load of bull.

BTW can I ask how much tax u willing to pay? same matching as Aus 45%? and so min coffee AUS $3.5 u not going to KPKB?

also means no maid. coz in Aus people cannot afford maid.

Seems like the discussions is on GST again, which is all about tax policies, what has GST to do with politics?
    Simply, raising GST so as to cut income taxes of top tier earners & businessmen are just socially wrong & have no consideration at all for those with no income & yet still need to pay tax.

Many Malaysians want to convert to Singapore citizen? What a joke! Please provide us the facts to substantiate what you say. All the Malaysians I know have been PRs for decades & still just that - PRs! They rather go back Malaysia to retire!

yup bay song? Aus so good then go Aus lor.. Malaysia no GST! got 1 say.. then go Malaysia lor.

Singapore have GST still so many malaysian come here to live and convert to citizen. well maybe these people see something and appreciate it better than the frog in the wells here.

Quote Originally Posted by heehee
    Many Malaysians want to convert to Singapore citizen? What a joke! Please provide us the facts to substantiate what you say. All the Malaysians I know have been PRs for decades & still just that - PRs! They rather go back Malaysia to retire!
    you are god-damn right. my aunty is a pr for decades,in her 50s and holding to a 4room hdb, a shophouse and a jb condo.

still not willing to give up malaysia citizen for sgp citizen,hahahaha.

Aussie's high tax n high cost of living squared off with high salary, Singapore is different, we may have a slightly lower tax bracket, but we have an every increasing cost of living n a whole barage of shit thrown at us like cpf, coe, gst, erp, etc to tax us and add burden to the average Singaporean. This is all done with income not growing in proportion.

I concur with that totally, to many prs here, they would rather keep their citizenship in their home country and just remain as pr as they know they get to enjoy the same benefits as Singaporeans. When govt gave away our birthright by allowing foreigners to own public housing, they have betrayed Singaporeans.

no I knwo many who take up the citizen ship. can u show me the facts then all go back? talk cock.