Page 190 of 228 FirstFirst ... 160165170175180185186187188189190191192193194195200205210215220 ... LastLast
Results 5,671 to 5,700 of 6826

Thread: Owners in the West beware!!

This J gateway owner must be desperate to get rid of his mickey mouse unit at a loss, taking into consideration SSD. So much for capital appreciation lol...If this is a bounced back unit, I think the buyer would have rather cut loss than made a boo boo of his investment

http://www.propertyguru.com.sg/listi...sale-j-gateway

Those missed the boat better jump on this opportunity

Dulwich College 2500 students
    This is like the Ivy League of International School in Singapore. Beware, expat tenants are going to flood the west.

Singapore students may complain about the daily grind of Chinese language lessons. But at Singapore's newest international school Dulwich College, parents are all for lessons taught in Mandarin and English.

That is one of the reasons the renowned British independent school, which opened in Singapore last week and charges $25,000 to $31,000 a year, had to hire more teachers and double its first intake from 400 to 884.

The school received 1,500 applications, and one of the main draws is the emphasis on Mandarin.

Children from the ages of two to seven are taught by two teachers, in English and Mandarin, in the classroom. Called the dual language approach, the idea is to expose children to English and Mandarin at a young age, enabling them to move seamlessly between the two languages. In the junior school, until age 11, they will have daily Mandarin classes.

The school's headmaster Nick Magnus, who used to head Dulwich in Suzhou, China, said: "Proficiency in Mandarin opens doors. Parents see the value in it."

On the dual language approach, he said: "There are clear benefits in language learning, especially for young children, with this approach. I think it will become a standard approach for many in international education."

Mrs Katharine Ankers, whose two children are in Dulwich, said: "We liked the fact that Mandarin plays an important part of the curriculum, with lessons on a daily basis, and at different levels depending on the child's exposure to the language."

The 395-year-old school, which has six other campuses in Asia including Beijing, Shanghai and Seoul, will offer an enhanced British curriculum and prepare students for the International General Certificate of Secondary Education and the International Baccalaureate diploma at age 18.

The school said its Singapore campus - like the other colleges in Asia - will embrace "an academic ethos shaped by Eastern rigour and the Western holistic approach".

For some parents, the emphasis on academic rigour is also a plus point, although some initially complained about potential students above the age of seven having to take an entrance test.

Briton Isabella Porter, who is hoping to get her two teens into Dulwich next year, said her husband agreed to take a job in Singapore only after the two of them heard the school is opening a campus here.

"Dulwich offers a first-rate education and the emphasis on Mandarin is a bonus. We only agreed to move to Singapore because of Dulwich opening here."

More than half of the pupils for its first intake are in the two to seven age group. More than 200 pupils are in the junior school - for those aged seven to 10 - and another 132 students are in the senior school.

Dulwich, which charges fees comparable to that of some of the other international schools here, will eventually grow its student number to 2,500.

The school's 5ha Bukit Batok campus, which will have state-of-the-art classrooms and laboratories, theatres for the dramatic arts, a swimming pool and a rugby field, is expected to cost more than $400 million.

Dulwich's entry has gone some way in satiating the demand for international school places here. Market research shows there are about 40,000 students in more than 30 international schools in Singapore.

A few years ago, the crunch in places became acute enough for foreign business chambers to warn that it was a stumbling block for international firms looking to set up here.

The Economic Development Board, which has held three bien-nial exercises since 2008 to help ease the crunch, has said it is not currently looking to lease new sites to international schools this year.
    - See more at: http://www.straitstimes.com/news/sin...31#xtor=CS1-10

This is like the Ivy League of International School in Singapore. Beware, expat tenants are going to flood the west.
    other area can lower their rental to snatch away these tenants, make them ocupied is better than leave them vacant. what are u going to do with it?

Quote Originally Posted by sunrise View Post
    other area can lower their rental to snatch away these tenants, make them ocupied is better than leave them vacant. what are u going to do with it?

If tenant can afford it, why would they bother with "OTHER AREA".
    If family can afford $31,000 a year on kid education, what is D22 rent to them.

The same reason why people choose to go Imperial Treasure for dinner instead of food court.
    Last edited by Ringo33; 02-09-14 at 12:14.

don't forget other estate have larger spacious units at affordable rental charges to compete yours.

If tenant can afford it, why would they bother with "OTHER AREA"

The same reason why people choose to go Imperial Treasure for dinner instead of food court.
    why would a person choose to live in a kennel instead of palace?

When it comes to kids education, the quality of school will be the no.1 priority then follow by convenience since most expat living in Singapore cant afford to have a car. And thats exactly the reason why property around JLD are super damn hot for tenant with kids going to CIS.

With the new Dulwich College opening and its premium education offerings, it will bring even more high level expat families nearer to the West, and this will be a good boost for property investors holding family size apartment.

Beside families, there will also be many teachers and school staffs wanting to live near their work place, so compact size apartment will also be hot in demand. And there is not better place to live than J Gateway where they have lots of amenities, transport options etc.

So please stop munching on sour grape, too much acid in your system is bad for your health

When it comes to kids education, the quality of school will be the no.1 priority then follow by convenience since most expat living in Singapore cant afford to have a car. And thats exactly the reason why property around JLD are super damn hot for tenant with kids going to CIS.

With the new Dulwich College opening and its premium education offerings, it will bring even more high level expat families nearer to the West, and this will be a good boost for property investors holding family size apartment.

Beside families, there will also be many teachers and school staffs wanting to live near their work place, so compact size apartment will also be hot in demand. And there is not better place to live than J Gateway where they have lots of amenities, transport options etc.

So please stop munching on sour grape, too much acid in your system is bad for your health
    Thanks for today's entertaining, had enough fun out here. nex person please............

If you dont understand the concept of supply and demand, better dont invest in property

http://www.propquest.sg/singapore-pr...top-properties

Dulwich College is in Bukit Batok, not JLD

If tenant can afford, why would they choose to live in JLD even if their kids go to international school there?
    My tenant lives in Orchard, work in the West, kids study in the North, no problem wah.......

If they really will, that international school in Bukit Batok means many tenants will flock to the North instead of the West?

If tenant can afford it, why would they bother with "OTHER AREA".
    If family can afford $31,000 a year on kid education, what is D22 rent to them.

Quote Originally Posted by k00L View Post
    Dulwich College is in Bukit Batok, not JLD
    Yes, its less than 2km from Chinese Garden MRT station.

If tenant can afford, why would they choose to live in JLD even if their kids go to international school there?
    My tenant lives in Orchard, work in the West, kids study in the North, no problem wah.......

If they really will, that international school in Bukit Batok means many tenants will flock to the North instead of the West?
    Perhaps the rent (psf) you are charging is so super low that your tenant cant even afford to live in OCR? LOL!!

Actually its not surprising because many old run down big apartment in CCR are renting their apartment out for peanuts. e.g in D10 some >2000sqft townhouses are struggling to find tenant even at 5k, while some 3 bedroom apartment around JLD are asking more than 6k.

Btw although Dulwich Colledge address is located in Bukit Batok, the nearest MRT station is in Chinese Garden in Jurong East..

This only goes to show how little you know about the world outside your little well.

Yes, its less than 2km from Chinese Garden MRT station.
    Yes, Dulwich college is in Bukit Batok, not JLD.
    Dulwich college nearest MRT station is Bukit Batok, not Chinese Garden.
    Based on your logic, Bukit batok condos will stand to gain most.

If 2km radius is to be considered, expats who like clean fresh air in a leafy neighborhood can choose to live Hillview. There are many choices other than JLD.

Quote Originally Posted by k00L View Post
    Yes, Dulwich college is in Bukit Batok, not JLD.
    Dulwich college nearest MRT station is Bukit Batok, not Chinese Garden.
    Based on your logic, Bukit batok condos will stand to gain most.

If 2km radius is to be considered, expats who like clean fresh air in a leafy neighborhood can choose to live Hillview. There are many choices other than JLD.

1) Actually you are wrong, distant between 71 Bukit Batok West is nearer to Chiness Garden MRT station than Bukit Batok MRT. You can certainly use onemap to verify that. 1.54km vs 1.86km

2) Between JLD and Bukit Batok, its a no brainer as to where expat community would choose to live if budget is not an issue.

3) By my logic, expats community who send their kids to Dulwich College and are prepared to move to the west, would surely prefer to live in JLD than Hillview because Hillview area are extremely congested and its also one of the most densely build private residential area in Singapore. And Hillview to Dulwich is not even close, if you dont believe, you can always use google map to route Hillview to Dulwich college vs. JLD condo to Dulwich college.

4) Fresh air? leafy neighborhood? All I see is an estate surround by BKE and Upper Bukit Timah road. Whereas i JLD, there is 220ha of playground for people to cycle, jog, walk and stroll without any concern about traffic etc.

Please dont waste you time trying to go against the force of logic. It never work

Hmm the expats that I know all work in CBD and send their children to international school by school bus. They are initially torn between deciding whether to stay near their office or kid's school, and inevitably seem to choose to be nearer work because the school bus solution is good enough for their kids.

I think 1400+ psf for the big units in JLD is not completely irrational, but doesn't mean they are a good deal - the upside has already been priced in. Not sure if one can hope it goes up to 1600+ when there are many good older condos in CCR for that price which are already near the best schools, offices, shopping etc.

Yishun gg to launch minimum of $1000psf... wat do u think about JLD?

"EL Development came in top bid of $278,800,000 for a new residential site located at Yishun Avenue 9. This site could potential yield 600+ residential unit. Analyst predict a break even price of $925 to 940 psf and expected the selling price to be at least $1,000psf. The new development Symphony Suites is likely to launch closer to end of 2014."

By convenience and no car..

For CLS, I will choose to stay Lakeshore condo which is 200m walking distance to the school..
    For Dulwish College, I will choose The Jade condo at Bt. Batok.. direct bus 3 stop to the school..

So super damn hot property is Lakeshore and The Jade..

Quote Originally Posted by Maxim1 View Post
    Hmm the expats that I know all work in CBD and send their children to international school by school bus. They are initially torn between deciding whether to stay near their office or kid's school, and inevitably seem to choose to be nearer work because the school bus solution is good enough for their kids.

I think 1400+ psf for the big units in JLD is not completely irrational, but doesn't mean they are a good deal - the upside has already been priced in. Not sure if one can hope it goes up to 1600+ when there are many good older condos in CCR for that price which are already near the best schools, offices, shopping etc.
    Ever since CIS jurong east campus open its door, there has been a huge influx of expat community moving to condo around JLD, some as far as Jurong West, West Coast. The same reason why there are large american community living in Woodlands (American School) or Japanese community living along West Coast region (Japanese school). Certain expat of very senior position will perhaps still choose to live in CCR area because their housing allowance allow them to live in landed property and they can afford to have family cars where wife can ferry their kids around (some even go as far at JB), and some would put lifestyle ahead of their kids. School bus is a good solution, just like Singapore family with school going children. However the disadvantage is that the kids living far from school will waste many hours a week on the bus rather than doing something more productive.

With Dulwich College opening, expect to see more such expat moving to the west and the good thing is that there are very little new supply of housing around JLD.

Quote Originally Posted by Rysk View Post

For CLS, I will choose to stay Lakeshore condo which is 200m walking distance to the school..
    For Dulwish College, I will choose The Jade condo at Bt. Batok.. direct bus 3 stop to the school..

I has to agree with you. as far as i know many owners around Jurong lake are willing to slash rental to compete with gateway.
    when gateway ready u see a lot of lelong.

I has to agree with you. as far as i know many owners around Jurong lake are willing to slash rental to compete with gateway.
    Beware! the weak topple the strong.

According to onemap.

From Lakeshore to Dulwich College
    Travel time : 7.1min
    walking and waiting : 6.14min
    Total : 13.24mins

From The Jade to Dulwich College
    Travel time : 3.3min
    Walking and Waiting : 14min (plenty of walking)
    Total : 17.3min.

Perhaps you should just give up and stop talking nonsense.

I has to agree with you.
    I am not surprise at all.

According to onemap.

From Lakeshore to Dulwich College

From The Jade to Dulwich College
    Total : 17.3min.

Perhaps you should just give up and stop talking nonsense.
    Hello you still sleeping hah??
    I'm saying Lakeshore to CLS lah!! Not Dulwish College lah!!
    Use your brain can or not leh.. Walking distance 200m from Lakeshore to CLS take how long.. as compared to JG to CLS
    After come out from Chinese Gdn MRT still need to walk 400m.. sibeh jialet!!

And how long it takes from JG to Dulwish College hah??

Last edited by Rysk; 03-09-14 at 14:13.

Hello you still sleeping hah??
    I'm saying Lakeshore to CLS lah!! Not Dulwish College lah!!
    Use your brain can or not leh.. Walking distance 200m from Lakeshore to CLS take how long.. as compare to JG to CLS

And how long it takes from JG to Dulwish College hah??

I bet you have forgotten that you said. Dulwich college is closer Bukit Batok MRT than Chinese Garden MRT. I believe I have proven you wrong using onemap.
    I bet you have forgotten that you said The Jade is closer to Dulwich College, and again you have been proven wrong because it takes short time and shorter walking to travel from Lakeshore to Dulwich and Lakeshore is not even the closest condo to Dulwich. Lakeville, Parc Oasis, Mayfair condo etc.

Perhaps you should stop making a fool out of yourself here and just focus your discussion on that LUX-whatever landed property

I bet you have forgotten that you said. Dulwich college is closer Bukit Batok MRT than Chinese Garden MRT. I believe I have proven you wrong using onemap.
    I bet you have forgotten that you said The Jade is closer to Dulwich College, and again you have been proven wrong because it takes short time and shorter walking to travel from Lakeshore to Dulwich and Lakeshore is not even the closest condo to Dulwich. Lakeville, Parc Oasis, Mayfair condo etc.

Perhaps you should stop making a fool out of yourself here and just focus your discussion on that LUX-whatever landed property
    Hello TWIST & TURN cum DIVERT ATTENTION EXPERT you kok hah!!??

You didn't proven me wrong leh.. Can you read my post again (below)

I'm just telling ppl my preference (nearest condo to both sch): Lakeshore for CLS & The Jade for Dulwich College respectively.. as compared to JG

You then stop making a fool out of yourself leh.. Talk what Bukit Batok MRT & Chinese Garden MRT.. and what Lakeshore to Dulwish College..

[B]

From Lakeshore there is also a direct bus to Dulwich, and it require less walking at both ends as it stops nearer to the school. (Please see below traveling time)
    So between the 2 locations, its obvious the Lakeshore is more ideal, plus Lakeshore is not even the closest JLD condo to Dulwich if your intention is to compare distant and traveling time.

Even if its the Jade its still considered the WEST, so what exactly are you trying to prove anyway? To hijacked what I have already said to make yourself look smart?

From Lakeshore to Dulwich College BY BUS

From The Jade to Dulwich College BY BUS

Total : 17.3mins

it really has a big impact in keeping the tone down.

If you want to dream that your JLD apartment can be rented out more than CCR apartment, please continue, there is nothing we can do to stop you and there is no need for us to do so.....

We just want to tell all other people the reality and not to be cheated by what you said to them which is just your dream only and not the reality................

Perhaps the rent (psf) you are charging is so super low that your tenant cant even afford to live in OCR? LOL!!

Actually its not surprising because many old run down big apartment in CCR are renting their apartment out for peanuts. e.g in D10 some >2000sqft townhouses are struggling to find tenant even at 5k, while some 3 bedroom apartment around JLD are asking more than 6k.

Btw although Dulwich Colledge address is located in Bukit Batok, the nearest MRT station is in Chinese Garden in Jurong East..

This only goes to show how little you know about the world outside your little well.