Page 3 of 8 FirstFirst 1234567 ... LastLast

Thread: Thomson Three @ Bright Hill

I will never buy Electrolux!

Quote Originally Posted by iridrium View Post
    Just came back from the showflat. Only the two room type at the showflat, 2 bedder and 3 bedder premium. Of all the unit sizes, the most practical will be the 3 bedroom premium. Marble flooring for living room, Electrolux for kitchen , Hansgrohe fittings for toilets.

But the crowd is ridiculous!! It is so crowded at the showflat! If this translate to actual buying, then I think this is scary, cooling measure have no impact at all.

http://imageshack.us/photo/photo/17/l80x.jpg/

Quote Originally Posted by bakasa2002 View Post
    Chime in on this proj, how did uol get ard building strata units ah? Tot ura restrictions was in place when archipelago, Eco and kovan regency were the last few proj with them?
    I think developers can continue to build strata units except that the units cannot be sold the foreigners. Not sure if this is correct.

光明山 so popular? Looks like HDB upgraders are still out in full force. 99LH along a road always blocked by hearse and mourners and near funeral parlours and the columbarium also so popular......

Quote Originally Posted by vovolversace View Post
    will this project more upmarket than THOMSON GRAND?I wonder?
    No swarovski crystals and chandeliers in the bathrooms, so not as grand as Thomson Grand....

Wah, the crowds look hungry. The neighborhood hasn't seen a new launch since Thomson Grand, plus the added benefit of having an mrt at its doorstep.

Wow, the Glades looked like a ghost town in comparison !

What is so attractive about this locale ? Must pay a visit soon

Quote Originally Posted by kane View Post
    Wah, the crowds look hungry. The neighborhood hasn't seen a new launch since Thomson Grand, plus the added benefit of having an mrt at its doorstep.
    Are you sure there are a lot of buyers? The hungry crowds look like mostly agents. Lots of cars parked illegally along Venus Drive. The traffic police were having a profitable time issuing parking tickets.

I think only the 3 bed premium is a worthwhile layout. The others CMI.

Quote Originally Posted by azeoprop View Post
    No swarovski crystals and chandeliers in the bathrooms, so not as grand as Thomson Grand....
    The Grand has a very high maintenance fee. Higher than the average. To pay for the upkeep of the crystals and chandeliers.

Quote Originally Posted by chiaberry View Post
    So... the dowry for Singaporean brides and grooms will be a condo these days? Each spouse come to the altar with a condo each from their respective parents? LOL
    I know of a couple who are childless. They own 2 condos. The wife's twin, married with one child, also owns two condos. This child, who is already an adult, will inherit 4 condos in future.

Source: CNA

Private home sales affected by recent loan restrictions

SINGAPORE: Several new properties have been launched or opened for preview this weekend but some property developers said sales have been affected by recent loan restrictions.

Skywoods condominium at Dairy Farm Road is one of the new properties that has been launched this weekend. It is going at an average of S$1,250 per square foot.

Out of 420 units, 150 units are on offer at this phase.

At its pre-launch on Friday, its developer TA Corporation said 35 units were taken up, a rate it said is slower than before.

The developer said it is feeling the impact of tighter loan restrictions that have been introduced, in particular the Total Debt Servicing Ratio which was announced in June, where only 60 per cent of one's income can be used to service a loan.

Forty-eight-year-old Daniel Ong is thinking of upgrading from his current five-room HDB flat to a private property.

Previously, Mr Ong would have been able to get a loan of up to 80 per cent of the property's value but not now due to the new restrictions.

Some compromises, he said, will have to be made.

"Maybe a smaller unit now or even the location," said Mr Ong.

Some property investors are looking at downsizing their options.

"Previously we were looking for at least a three-room size (unit) but now, most likely we will be talking about a two-room (unit) or maybe even a studio (unit) for investment purposes,” said potential home buyer Raymond Cheong.

"We are more concerned about the price and the locality and stuff now. We can't go to the city-fringe… it's more of mass-market now," he added.

Located at the city fringe, Thomson Three saw a crowded showroom on its first preview day.

However, its developer said it is taking some time to monitor sentiments before actually putting up units for sale.

It has also adjusted its prices to woo buyers amid the tighter loan restrictions.

The project is now expected to go at an average of S$1,350 to S$1,400 per square foot, down from the initial projection of S$1,500 per square foot.

Kam Tin Seah, senior general manager of investment & strategic development at UOL Group said: "We want to give them enough time to absorb in the project, to understand and to see whether this is the project they like to invest in. (Secondly), to speak to the bankers and hopefully within a reasonable time frame, (they can) come back and make a decision."

The executive condominium (EC) market seems to be unfazed.

Over at Sea Horizon at Pasir Ris, about 60 per cent of its 495 units have been sold on the first day of sales.

Tan Zhiyong, managing director of MCC Land (Singapore), said: "We are a bit concerned because of some of the loan restriction measures but we don't think it'll impact ECs that much."

"Most of the buyers are first-timers or upgraders. It's been a while since these measures were announced so they have spoken to the bank to find out whether they can get a loan. About 90 per cent of those who came in today got the units that they wanted," added Mr Tan.

EC buyer Wong Chee Chong said: "We have to be very prudent about that. That's why we have to do some homework, source around, what's the loan quantum before you decide to buy."

Nicholas Mak, executive director of research & consultancy at SLP International Property Consultancy, explained the strong demand for ECs.

"There's not going to be a lot of new supply in the next 12 months. And furthermore, the TDSR framework is directing some mass market condominium buyers towards the EC market because they are able to get more loans if they are buying an EC compared to buying a mass market private condo," said Mr Mak.

With the end of the Hungry Ghost Month, some analysts expect the number of private home sales to be higher in August, and possibly even double last month's figure.

According to latest data from the Urban Redevelopment Authority, there were 481 new private homes sold in July.

It was the lowest sales volume recorded since December 2009m

UOL dun know what price to sell, and want to see the demand and adjust ( up) on the spot ?? sounds very familiar

Whatever happened to the rule of "releasing all prices before sale" ?

Thomson area ppl are well off. Not surprised to see many ppl viewing. But I will be really surprised many ppl will buy, with all these tax and loan restrictions.

Thomson grand tries to sell as atas project, this one seems to me just another run of the mill standard condo. Thomson grand one unit has 2 private lifts serving , has video intercom not just audio like this one, so definitely looks more "atas" if you are peculiar abt this kind of thing.

If >90% of units all at 500 sqft and below, sell at $1400 psf, or <$700,000 per unit, still easily affordable!
    May be can even sell at $1700 psf just like JGateway!

Quote Originally Posted by tahoo View Post
    Source: CNA

Private home sales affected by recent loan restrictions

SINGAPORE: Several new properties have been launched or opened for preview this weekend but some property developers said sales have been affected by recent loan restrictions.

Skywoods condominium at Dairy Farm Road is one of the new properties that has been launched this weekend. It is going at an average of S$1,250 per square foot.

Out of 420 units, 150 units are on offer at this phase.

At its pre-launch on Friday, its developer TA Corporation said 35 units were taken up, a rate it said is slower than before.

The developer said it is feeling the impact of tighter loan restrictions that have been introduced, in particular the Total Debt Servicing Ratio which was announced in June, where only 60 per cent of one's income can be used to service a loan.

Forty-eight-year-old Daniel Ong is thinking of upgrading from his current five-room HDB flat to a private property.

Previously, Mr Ong would have been able to get a loan of up to 80 per cent of the property's value but not now due to the new restrictions.

Some compromises, he said, will have to be made.

"Maybe a smaller unit now or even the location," said Mr Ong.

Some property investors are looking at downsizing their options.

"Previously we were looking for at least a three-room size (unit) but now, most likely we will be talking about a two-room (unit) or maybe even a studio (unit) for investment purposes,” said potential home buyer Raymond Cheong.

"We are more concerned about the price and the locality and stuff now. We can't go to the city-fringe… it's more of mass-market now," he added.

Located at the city fringe, Thomson Three saw a crowded showroom on its first preview day.

However, its developer said it is taking some time to monitor sentiments before actually putting up units for sale.

It has also adjusted its prices to woo buyers amid the tighter loan restrictions.

The project is now expected to go at an average of S$1,350 to S$1,400 per square foot, down from the initial projection of S$1,500 per square foot.

Kam Tin Seah, senior general manager of investment & strategic development at UOL Group said: "We want to give them enough time to absorb in the project, to understand and to see whether this is the project they like to invest in. (Secondly), to speak to the bankers and hopefully within a reasonable time frame, (they can) come back and make a decision."

The executive condominium (EC) market seems to be unfazed.

Over at Sea Horizon at Pasir Ris, about 60 per cent of its 495 units have been sold on the first day of sales.

Tan Zhiyong, managing director of MCC Land (Singapore), said: "We are a bit concerned because of some of the loan restriction measures but we don't think it'll impact ECs that much."

"Most of the buyers are first-timers or upgraders. It's been a while since these measures were announced so they have spoken to the bank to find out whether they can get a loan. About 90 per cent of those who came in today got the units that they wanted," added Mr Tan.

EC buyer Wong Chee Chong said: "We have to be very prudent about that. That's why we have to do some homework, source around, what's the loan quantum before you decide to buy."

Nicholas Mak, executive director of research & consultancy at SLP International Property Consultancy, explained the strong demand for ECs.

"There's not going to be a lot of new supply in the next 12 months. And furthermore, the TDSR framework is directing some mass market condominium buyers towards the EC market because they are able to get more loans if they are buying an EC compared to buying a mass market private condo," said Mr Mak.

With the end of the Hungry Ghost Month, some analysts expect the number of private home sales to be higher in August, and possibly even double last month's figure.

According to latest data from the Urban Redevelopment Authority, there were 481 new private homes sold in July.

It was the lowest sales volume recorded since December 2009m

Default Estimated Price Guide

Price Guide for your reference for those yet to visit the showflat or talk to any Huttons Agents

1bedroom - $672k to $812k
    2bedroom - $945k to $1.12mil
    3bedroom compact - $1.28mil to $1.55mil
    3bedroom premium - $1.43mil to $1.66mil
    4bedroom - $1.85mil to $2.2mil
    strata semi-d - $3.22mil to $3.6mil
    http://SGNewCondoLaunch.com

Feel free to take a look. Something new every month

Sometimes I really dun understand why people esp upgraders pay such price for 99LH condo in such location like Sin Ming. This place is 17km if drive to MBFC financial district. It is quite far from town and second city centre in Jurong. The nearby enbloc only 700psfppr of which a large part of that goes to govt for lease topup as the 99 lease runs down. It is along a road 光明山 or bright hill well known for columbarium and sin Ming funeral parlours. And on a daily basis, hearse slows down the traffic along these roads with mourners behind. And the older 99lh like Bishan Park languishing in price at 900psf. Unless one has to get kids into rather mediocre primary school like Ai Tong, there are better options. And even within 1km does not guarantee a place in Ai Tong. And no matter how many cheena chandaliers u put, it still doesn't change it is 99LH in a not very central location in D20. And nowadays even PRC go for understated elegance and not loud decor like the Thomson Grand type.

serangoon and upper thomson has a big private enclave where the owners have deep pockets. potentially they could be buying a place for their children to live nearby them when they settle down.

No. Main buyers now are upgraders. Nearby ang mo kio and sin Ming HDB. Parents who buy freehold homes dun usually encourage their children to buy leasehold for stay, unless for short term investment. That is why 99lh in exclusive private enclaves with a lot of freehold dun do well. But this area condos are mostly 99LH like Bishan Park condo etc and not exactly a private exclave with many hdb flats nearby so maybe dun hv this problem. Even the developer says he is targeting upgraders.
    Quote Originally Posted by kane View Post
    serangoon and upper thomson has a big private enclave where the owners have deep pockets. potentially they could be buying a place for their children to live nearby them when they settle down.

i thought the windsor, soo chow, bright hill landed private estate, whereas the clover resident will look towards sky habitat. nowadays, not so easy to find FH near current parents place near mrt etc. the deep deep pockets one will just buy their landed neighbours house.

if they target upgraders, they have to target those who regard district 19 and 20 as their grpwing up playground.

Quote Originally Posted by Wild Falcon View Post
    Sometimes I really dun understand why people esp upgraders pay such price for 99LH condo in such location like Sin Ming. This place is 17km if drive to MBFC financial district. It is quite far from town and second city centre in Jurong. The nearby enbloc only 700psfppr of which a large part of that goes to govt for lease topup as the 99 lease runs down. It is along a road 光明山 or bright hill well known for columbarium and sin Ming funeral parlours. And on a daily basis, hearse slows down the traffic along these roads with mourners behind. And the older 99lh like Bishan Park languishing in price at 900psf. Unless one has to get kids into rather mediocre primary school like Ai Tong, there are better options. And even within 1km does not guarantee a place in Ai Tong. And no matter how many cheena chandaliers u put, it still doesn't change it is 99LH in a not very central location in D20. And nowadays even PRC go for understated elegance and not loud decor like the Thomson Grand type.
    I am interested in the development so maybe I am biased. But I think the location is good. In terms of proximity to the financial district, I agree it's not great since it's a 30 minute drive into Raffles Place. However, it's 15 minutes into Orchard. I would ideally have liked a place in River Valley but that's beyond my budget. However, if children are on the way, then to be on the fringe of HDB estates like AMK or Bishan is good because there are lots of schools in those areas. River Valley has at best one or two primary schools nearby. You will have to go to like Mt Faber / Telok Blangah area for more options. Most areas in Singapore these days have pros and cons. Ultimately, what works for one may not work for another. Was looking at East Coast for a period and attracted by the mostly freehold land but the traffic there is worse than Upper Thomson because of the smaller roads. 112 Katong is especially a nightmare.

I think $1,3xx psf is reasonable, and unless there are major economic shocks, land in Singapore will only get more expensive. I think the days when River Valley properties went for $1,2xx in 2009 are long gone.

The only thing holding me back from buying Thomson Three at the moment is the fact that the land is leasehold but well, if it was freehold it would probably be even more expensive.

Correction. Bishan park condo only 800+psf. Why would need to go Orchard so much? Just saying before u buy at 1400psf, look at nearby enbloc price and nearby ageing 99lh price and see your downside vs your upside.the only saving grace is the area is a leasehold area with not many freehold, so I guess chance of enbloc in future not that bad. Other than that, I dun see why anyone would want to stay at Brighthill. And if u notice nowadays URA caveats has clearly indicated 99LH from which year, even our govt realise its important to tell buyers in their face your condo is ageing and lease term is running low.

I agree with you. I would NOT pay $1,4xx psf for Thomson Three. But I will pay $1,2xx psf. At that price, I think there is a lot of upside in the five to ten years horizon, especially with the upcoming Thomson Line and NS Highway. But yes, at $1,4xx psf I would certainly give this a miss; there are better buys out there for sure, especially on the resale market.

The Upper Thomson mrt station will be right in front of this condo, which explains the crowded show room

this kind of balcony can allow helicopter or to take off
    or long dining table for 3-gen family

Wah, can put outdoor putting green in the balcony

Can renovate into a private swimming pool!

Quote Originally Posted by phantom_opera View Post

Really hard to believe that this 3 bedder layout showing all rooms with queen size beds but with super huge balcony and aircon ledge is only 97 sqm

Only MBR is queen-size, the other 2 rooms beds look narrower, put 2 pillows doesn't mean it is queen-size right?!

Quote Originally Posted by Komo View Post
    Really hard to believe that this 3 bedder layout showing all rooms with queen size beds but with super huge balcony and aircon ledge is only 97 sqm

Ultimate small 3 bedders. I think the Sin Ming HDB flats next door probably more spacious and luxurious.

Quote Originally Posted by phantom_opera View Post

Personally I think that long corridor could be useful for putting shoes. At least it offers some privacy as people cannot look straight into your living/dining area. The kitchen is separate from the living/dining which makes a change from the open plan kitchen that seems to be in most of the condos these days. The long balcony would be useful for hanging out the laundry as there is no yard in the kitchen.

They are very clever in devising the sizes of the units as 4 room hdb flats in Sin Ming are 105 or 110 sq m. But the hdb flats do not have the large balcony and air con ledge.

Ultimate small 3 bedders. I think the Sin Ming HDB flats next door probably more spacious and luxurious.
    URA needs to change the rules. The developers have to disclose the breakdown of the space before buyers pay. Right now, all we have to go on are the showflats which may not be anything like the eventual unit. And I was told that I would only get a detailed breakdown after I buy a unit. Which is absolute nonsense. Based on the showflat, the rooms in this development are acceptable. Enough space to put a wardrobe, a single bed and have a small table.

the master bedroom wardrobe in this floor plan looks suspiciously small unless theybdo away the space for the TV.