Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Thread: Paya Lebar Airport impact

Quote Originally Posted by jslee78
    Low plot ratio with height restriction is also not attractive, like Mount Sophia district; Plot ratio of 2.1+ 6 stores height= crowded space with overlooking problem. Taller building + larger site + sensitive design can be more attractive.
    Everyone wants to be the only tall one right behind a cluster of shortness. Thats why i went Mount Emei to 闭关 (close door repair train). Not without killing all the 师太 (teacher auntie) there first.

50 to 60K new homes..

SINGAPORE — Property analysts expect a new township to be build on the area once Paya Lebar Air Base is moved to Changi.

Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong yesterday (Aug 18) announced that a new air base and a fourth runway will be built at Changi East, with the Paya Lebar Air Base to be moved to Changi later on, freeing up 800 hectares — an area bigger than Bishan and Toa Payoh.

Analysts said such an area is enough to draw up a masterplan integrating residential, entertainment, and commercial developments. They believe it will probably take another 20 years for the new township to be developed.

Mr Nicholas Mak, executive director of research and consultancy at SLP International Property Consultants, said: “Based on the plot ratios and planning parameters, that plot of land can actually potentially build about 50,000 to 60,000 new homes.

“80 per cent of these new homes could be HDB flats and there could also be accompanying facilities such as commercial developments and parks, schools,” he said.

Relocating the airbase also removes height restrictions around Paya Lebar.

Mr Ku Swee Yong, CEO of International Property Advisor, said: “In the case of HDB flats, for example around Paya Lebar Air Base, we now have flats in Aljunied and in Tampines going at about 12 to 15 stories. That could now be a thing of the past.

“New flats build there could be 30 to 40 stories as an average height, as well as new condominiums, new office towers — (all of them) could go up to that height,” he said.

Presently, many warehouses are located near the airbase. Property watchers said these industrial areas may be expanded.

Residents in Paya Lebar also welcomed the news of the move.

“There’s going to be (a new) development after that. So it’s probably going to help us in terms of the property prices,” said one resident.

The Paya Lebar Air Base was originally built in 1955 as Singapore International Airport. The airforce took over the airbase when Changi Airport opened in 1981. The airbase hosted the previous RSAF Open House, and also houses the Air Force Museum. CHANNEL NEWSASIA

50 to 60K new homes..
    Not alot if they let 1m population in.

Quote Originally Posted by star

Thats provided that there are enough roads and space to handle the additional population. And lets no forget that further north at Punggol, the supply of residential housing is still expanding very quickly.

Quote Originally Posted by star
    1 mil divided by 60k new homes = 16 ppl each home ...
    the 1 mil worth of poultry issit?

My 闭关修炼 has lead to 成果 and now im ready to 重出浆糊 with a fresh stickiness to the principles of work - Dilbertism. For long happy working life.
    bro, it's 江湖.
    浆糊 is glue ~

Thats provided that there are enough roads and space to handle the additional population. And lets no forget that further north at Punggol, the supply of residential housing is still expanding very quickly.
    then add in another 500k population. U get 6.9m.
    Don't forget govt can control number of land sales and population.

I stopped work temporarily after realising it doesnt make sense always get sick and take mc and then spend more money on specialist visits and treatments. Left pocket salary in. Right pocket medical expenses out. Plus the misery and kns feeling. Thus i left the rat race.

My 闭关修炼 has lead to 成果 and now im ready to 重出浆糊 with a fresh stickiness to the principles of work - Dilbertism. For long happy working life.
    in case u missed this article, why dont you do the same?

http://rt.com/usa/us-employee-outsourcing-china-177/

since you like cats, you can watch cat videos also

Quote Originally Posted by mermaid
    1 mil divided by 60k new homes = 16 ppl each home ...
    the 1 mil worth of poultry issit?

bro, it's 江湖.
    浆糊 is glue ~
    Ya. It means re-ejaculate. Duh

一点创意既没...

in case u missed this article, why dont you do the same?

http://rt.com/usa/us-employee-outsourcing-china-177/

since you like cats, you can watch cat videos also
    兄台 indeed i missed this. I did have such thoughts before to outsource my job when i was doing production n development work becoz it gets monotonous after a while.

However i had since 修炼 (repair train) until higher level of profession which requires interaction and 切磋 (politicking) on a daily basis thus unless i can clone myself it will be difficult.

Ya. It means re-ejaculate. Duh

一点创意既没...
    没创意就没创意呗!

atually paya lebar airport is not at paya lebar leh.. more like old tampines road.

for me, the more interesting swarthe of land in the east is the bedok south factories area. that's huge and seaview, and potential for a big MRT station in the midst.

Quote Originally Posted by smellyfish
    atually paya lebar airport is not at paya lebar leh.. more like old tampines road.

for me, the more interesting swarthe of land in the east is the bedok south factories area. that's huge and seaview, and potential for a big MRT station in the midst.
    Are u referring to the factories in just south of bedok mrt? yes its currently taking up quite a large area of land. but mrt? what mrt are u talking about.

Quote Originally Posted by clemdale24
    Are u referring to the factories in just south of bedok mrt? yes its currently taking up quite a large area of land. but mrt? what mrt are u talking about.
    yeah, i am referring to that swarthe of land, and i am talking about future potential MRT if they do develop that part. then you have bedok MRT on one side, and another eastern line MRT on the other side

This view of the old Paya Lebar airport will be gone.

Another history in the making...

Sad

Last edited by ecimbew; 20-08-13 at 16:51.

This view of the old Paya Lebar airport will be gone.

Another history in the making...

Sad

sad meh? like u visit it everyday. how many times have u walk it?

Hahahahaha... Ya lor.

Good one.

sad meh? like u visit it everyday. how many times have u walk it?

I practiced driving around the old airport. Parents live nearby. I took my driving test in Kampong Ubi test centre. I'm a D19/Paya Lebar kid. Used to envy my friends who lived more "centrally" in Bukit Timah etc as it was quite a long bus journey home from school for me.

I noticed that a lot of people in the forum are overly positive when ever a new is announced...I mean, sure, it is something to think about but not to the extend that we all try to predict price rises, potential for growth etc etc..

The reason that there is new release of the land is precisely that the government is telling me and you and everyone else including the developers that we should not worry that Singapore will run out of land for development....what does this actually imply? Price of land should moderate....

and what if developers topped up their land bank with ever higher bids?

Quote Originally Posted by luzman
    I noticed that a lot of people in the forum are overly positive when ever a new is announced...I mean, sure, it is something to think about but not to the extend that we all try to predict price rises, potential for growth etc etc..

The reason that there is new release of the land is precisely that the government is telling me and you and everyone else including the developers that we should not worry that Singapore will run out of land for development....what does this actually imply? Price of land should moderate....
    Should tell that to Iskandar or JB but not singapore.

and what if developers topped up their land bank with ever higher bids?

That is not for me and you to answer...the developer need to make calculated risk knowing that we have plenty of land available in the future...
    more than just availability, the pace at which it is made available is a key factor.

Major oversupply of land and buildings in the east. Those with HDB or condos in the east should be worried, esp those in the far eastern part of Singapore. That's the main problem with eastern part of SG - there is no nature to conserve, so new HDB towns will be there and even better location. So no one cares a hoot if the airbase is converted to 2 Ang Mo Kios and make those far out locations totally unattractive.

I don't see how building a new HDB town the size of AMK in the east could benefit fartherout HDB flats or condos in the east. Its major bad news.
    --@@@@@@

Did u see singapore under satellite. ...there is hardly any greenery left in east....so what they breathe exhaust from planes and more vehicles that goes with increase housing.....or maybe sm3lly neighbours....hahaha....

Geylang will be able to build 40 storey high city fringe condos when paya lebar airbase is gone.
    --------

would that means red light vice in the sky.....wah no wonder pm lee say sky the limit.....high rise prostitutes too....

I was hoping the Masterplan will be announced yesterday. But I think we will be getting news of it soon. Then let's analyse it. Love doing that.

More news from Yahoooooo

Among several changes announced by Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong during his National Day Rally was a long-term infrastructure plan involving Changi Airport and a new Changi East air base. The new air base will incorporate a fourth runway.

Paya Lebar Air Base (PLAB) will be moved to Changi East eventually and this will free up a large area of about 800ha -- bigger than Bishan or Ang Mo Kio.

This will allow new homes, offices and factories to be built. Relocating PLAB, Lee pointed out, removes height restrictions on large areas around Paya Lebar, and will allow the development of "new, exciting" plans for eastern Singapore.

As for the existing Changi Airport, the open air carpark in front of Terminal 1 will be transformed into a multi-use facility that will include retail shops, restaurants and a beautiful indoor garden.

He termed the new development -- codenamed "Project Jewel" -- as the “Gardens at Changi Airport”, a phrase inspired by the major tourist attraction, “Gardens by the Bay”.

Plans for a a Changi Terminal 5 are also in the pipeline and it is expected to be ready by mid-2020s — T5 will double Changi Airport's current capacity and will go a long way in ensuring Singapore's competitiveness as an air hub.

Changes in the ports too

The government is also building a new port in Tuas and clear the “prime land” at Tanjong Pagar to make way for a “Southern Waterfront City”, which will take up 1,000 ha of land – "that is two and a half times bigger than Marina Bay".

PM Lee also said that the new port is being built because Tanjong Pagar, Keppel, Brani and Pasir Panjang ports are already “reaching their limits”. The container ports will be moved to Tuas when the new facility is ready — the ports' leases will expire from 2027.

--------
    Ports reacng limit......? Wonder if ships will come through straits come 2027.....if they can loop throguh artic....by the time it melts....

Quote Originally Posted by JAFCO
    --------
    Ports reacng limit......? Wonder if ships will come through straits come 2027.....if they can loop throguh artic....by the time it melts....
    Consolidating all the post into one location is a very smart move by our government and this will free up plenty of precious land as well as easing traffic congestion on our road.

Singapore government doesnt sell land as commodity, they sell dreams and they are actually the architect of Singapore behind the scene.
    Developers in Singapore are like builders, they convert land into properties under the supervision of government.

As land in Singapore are the most precious commodity to this country, so there is no chance that government will sell land cheap to flood the market.

For the Paya Lebar plots, it will be competing with the southern coast land which will be made available from 2027 when PSA move out to Tuas. And I would reckon that the southern coastal land will be more attractive for both developers and investors because of its sea facing feature as compared to PLAB which is land locked and flanked by industrial, residential housing.

Having said that, I would think that the government will actually build a large park over the PLAB or even preserve and turn a small section of PLAB into air defense museum, so the actually supply of residential land from PLAB will actually be lower and that might be kept as a reserves site for very long term development.

The availability of PLAB land for.residential and commercial use does.not.neccesarily translate to lower cost for.land although it may be true that the land.price.will.not.increase significantly.

One needs.to look at the government master plan for.land use and development to know which area is prime and which area is less prime.

Suffice to say, there should be enough land to house the government population target of 6.9 M in 2030.

Sbr

IN FOCUS
    RESIDENTIAL PROPERTY | Staff Reporter, Singapore
    Published: 20 Aug 13 316 views 0 1 Google +0 3

2 new property measures "largely positive in the
    long run"

Beneficial for both landowners and developers. Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong announced two
    major property measures during his National Day
    rally speech, namely the freeing up of 800 hectares
    of land in Paya Lebar Airbase for development and
    increased subsidies for HDB BTO buyers. According to OSK-DMG, the positive impact for
    landowners comes with the migration of the Paya
    Lebar Airbase to Changi, which is estimated to add
    additional 305 ha (or 33m sqft) of residential GFA,
    which is similar in size with existing townships like
    Bukit Batok, Bukit Merah, Kallang/Whampoa and Yishun. "Taking statistics from the HDB annual report, we
    use four townships of similar size and using the
    averages, we estimate this could potentially
    accommodate 62k new dwelling units (including
    private developments under Government Land Sales
    program). This is equivalent to ~186,000 people or 3 per household," the research firm said. "Furthermore, there is also the collateral impact on
    surrounding areas, which could see the lifting of
    height restrictions, translating to higher land values
    for existing owners," it added. Meanwhile for developers, the long term positive
    impact comes with how BTO prices are being
    allowed to escalate."We believe this can only
    support the forward price curve of the mass market/
    upgraders segment, allowing developers to clear
    their landbank without compromising on their existing margins," said OSK-DMG. "By increasing more subsidies for first time buyers,
    and to extend the subsidies for bigger size flats
    (restriction lifted for 4-room flats), this should
    continue to support the appreciating BTO prices
    overall as the PM also stated clearly that the
    government does not want to see lower prices in the future," it added.

Quote Originally Posted by JAFCO
    --@@@@@@

Did u see singapore under satellite. ...there is hardly any greenery left in east....so what they breathe exhaust from planes and more vehicles that goes with increase housing.....or maybe sm3lly neighbours....hahaha....

no meh? bedok reservoir , east coast park , PasiRis park to name a few big ones. katong park? So I wont say hardly