Thread: STOCKS THREAD

AIA fixed income price 1.972 on 25th May15
    AIA fixed income price 1.968 on 24th Aug15

No change after 3 mths

YTD return since inception est 3-4%

===============================================
    AIA regional equity price 5.25 on 25th May15
    AIA regional equity price 4.25 on 24th Aug15
    Almost 20% drop. But long term still beat fixed income.

YTD return since inception est 6-8%. If switch skill is good.
    return maybe 8-9%.

Just FYI. Aberdeen Asset Management PLC is reducing Keppcorp holding, by disposing about 2.6 million shares

================================================================

I VERY SCARED NOW, COS I USED ALL MY $$ TO LONG SMRT AT $1.125-$1.135. WILL I DIE OR NOT ?

Control your emotions or they will control you

Quote Originally Posted by cbsh38584 View Post

I VERY SCARED NOW, COS I USED ALL MY $$ TO LONG SMRT AT $1.125-$1.135. WILL I DIE OR NOT ?

You wouldn't die ----- but may have sleepless nights!

Why put all your spare cash in stocks?

Victor is a careful and astute investor. He is urging investors (whether in stocks, bonds or properties) to control their emotions in order to possibly win the game.

http://sharejunction.com/sharejuncti...opicTitle=SMRT

Quote Originally Posted by moneytalk View Post
    You wouldn't die ----- but may have sleepless nights!

Why put all your spare cash in stocks?

Yesterday's action

in spite of the heavy selling 7,337M shares
    share price very resilience and well supported

open 1.14 and closed 1.14
    low of 1.12

RSI gaining momentum

a calculated risk taken

Quote Originally Posted by lifeline View Post
    Victor is a careful and astute investor. He is urging investors (whether in stocks, bonds or properties) to control their emotions in order to possibly win the game.
    Lifeline, thank you for the clarification and the link. My statement wasn't directed at Victor.
    In fact, I do admire and respect Victor as a wise and knowledgeable investor with a heart of gold.
    I am touched by his generosity in sharing his trading positions and approach with us. He was always very generous with his time too and would answer questions promptly. In my eyes, Victor is a patient man who cares enough to educate and cautions us in our trading.
    Thank you, Victor, for your contributions to this forum. I do enjoy reading your posts and have benefitted from your sharing.

THERE is no such thing as a FREE LUNCH when comes to investing. U need to pay for your mistakes
    Mistakes become experience & hopefully become wiser.
    There is a saying "To be OLD & WISE you must first be young and stupid"

Tell me, I will forget (next few days forgotten )
    Show me, I may remember (next few mths forgotten)
    But involve me & I will understand ( U feel the pain, U will understand & remember).
    But some will never learn till old.

Outside noisy . Inside empty
    Many bankers , remiser, financial adviser , young stock analyst etc they themselves are not successfully investors.
    They are like U. Ignorant to the world market movement.

TALK DOES NOT COOK RICE
    Their talks wound not make you rich. It will even confuse u. I always Believe what u see (FEAR) ,
    not what you hear.

lifeline....haha..you are still around...

ya...Vic has my full respect...same as Money talk...

I'm doing bottom fishing...

Quote Originally Posted by Laguna View Post
    lifeline....haha..you are still around...

ya...Vic has my full respect...same as Money talk...

I'm doing bottom fishing...

yes Laguna. I'm still here not into stocks or bonds like all of you. already setup my positions some time back. hope to see your euHabitats soon and eCo later

Changed my view now, I think short-covering will happen sooner, either tonight or Wednesday.........
    Get ready to scope up "durians" (but US ones, not SG ones)...................
    Looks like the last opportunity to pick up US "durians" before the train sped off.............

Agree. SG stocks is a waste of time. Plus I'm not investment savvy and does not follow stocks simply no time or interest in it. The last major stock US stock crash I decided to just buy something. At the end of it I made 20X profit after I sold.

My take is always, buy what you can afford to lose. Even if you lose it all.

Ok, Wednesday night, US stock indices closed with biggest gains in nearly 4 years, S&P500 index +3.93% to 1,941.

Let's see whether Singapore STI index will increase by equivalent 3.93% today? I doubt it would...............

Changed my view now, I think short-covering will happen sooner, either tonight or Wednesday.........
    Looks like the last opportunity to pick up US "durians" before the train sped off.............

Exited with 5% gains contra. I am happy for the kopi money.

Master Kelonguni , salute, I dare not go in last few days. Called my dealers , they said there will be big correction on sep.

Quote Originally Posted by Citizen View Post
    Master Kelonguni , salute, I dare not go in last few days. Called my dealers , they said there will be big correction on sep.
    All kinds of market can earn. Property also but stocks easier to enter and exit.

Must understand human psychology and personal psychology.

It's emergency funds but right now no emergency so can play. Right now hold cash can sleep better if super dip again then come out. Guerrilla warfare.

congratulations !!!

exited market many months ago

Quote Originally Posted by Simi View Post
    congratulations !!!

exited market many months ago
    Me too.But opportunity knocks... Under my target price by 10% so just quick gain quick exit.

As I expected, US stocks made a strong come back from Wednesday onwards!

As of end of Friday's update:
    Update as of now : 30-Aug-2015
    S&P500 now = 1,988.87
    US$:S$ now = 1.4088
    SGD 3M SIBOR (%) = 1.002
    HK.2822 (HK$) = 11.38

Ok, Wednesday night, US stock indices closed with biggest gains in nearly 4 years, S&P500 index +3.93% to 1,941.

Let's see whether Singapore STI index will increase by equivalent 3.93% today? I doubt it would...............

CBA, the country's No. 2 lender by assets, announced a fully underwritten 1-for-23 rights issue at an offer price of A$71.50, a 12.9 percent discount to its last trading price.

Targeting to buy Australia commonwealth bank @ A$72 or ANZ bank @A$26.80
    Just need more input from a few sources b4 making the decision.

When U buy Aussie bank at high price. Conversion rate is also higher (A$1=S$1.2=1.25 ?).
    Huge capital losses due to stock & currency plunge .

When U buy Aussie bank at low(Fear) price. Conversion rate is also lower (A$1= S$0.99)
    A Potential huge capital gain if stock recovers. So is the currency (Strengthen against SG)

CBA, the country's No. 2 lender by assets, announced a fully underwritten 1-for-23 rights issue at an offer price of A$71.50, a 12.9 percent discount to its last trading price.

Targeting to buy Australia commonwealth bank @ A$72 or ANZ bank @A$26.80
    Just need more input from a few sources b4 making the decision.

When U buy Aussie bank at high price. Conversion rate is also higher (A$1=S$1.2=1.25 ?).
    Huge capital losses due to stock & currency plunge .

When U buy Aussie bank at low(Fear) price. Conversion rate is also lower (A$1= S$0.99)
    A Potential huge capital gain if stock recovers. So is the currency (Strengthen against SG)
    Hi cbsh

I also share ur view to buy stock there now but I think our local do not have internet platform but need to call dealer each time we trade. Do u face the same issue too?

Quote Originally Posted by Werther View Post
    Hi cbsh

I also share ur view to buy stock there now but I think our local do not have internet platform but need to call dealer each time we trade. Do u face the same issue too?
    You can buy Aussie stock through phillip securities online, PEOMS.
    I am not sure for UOBKH, DBS?OCBC securities etc

You can buy Aussie stock through phillip securities online, PEOMS.
    I am not sure for UOBKH, DBS?OCBC securities etc
    Oh really! let me go check it out.

Have your bought yr bank share liao?
    You are good. ANZ now $27 and Australia commonwealth $73...

Quote Originally Posted by Werther View Post
    Oh really! let me go check it out.

Have your bought yr bank share liao?
    You are good. ANZ now $27 and Australia commonwealth $73...

CBA dips below the right issue share @71.50 on Monday. The right share was fully subscribed
    in Aug15. Now @A$73

ANZ share placement @A$30.50 in Aug15. Now it is trading @A$27.18.

The Xrate is at 6 yrs low 0.991.

Those who bought 2-3 yrs ago. The capital loss not only on bank stock (>20%) but also on Currency
    losses( >20%) .

GLOBAL commodities sell-off sparks fears of sharper China economic slowdown. Many sad days for retail investors as the STI index has dropped from 3500 to 2750. A >20% drops. Many are losing hard earn money.

Remember MUST be patience to invest.
    君子报仇,十年未晚. If U understand this Chinese proverb. U will be a successful investor.

When a investor want to be rich in investing stock, ten years is not long late to wait; one should bide one’s time and wait for the right opportunity to seek buy when there is blood in the street

==============================================================================================
    A continuous hazardous HAZE will drag down the retail biz badly. Worst fear may comes true. A recession coming.

I have gone through the Asia financial crisis in 1997/98 & US financial Lehman crisis in 2008/09. We are luckily to have a good "Paranoid" govt to help SG to ride through those very difficult days. Only the Paranoid will Survive. They plan & save way ahead to prepare for the next crisis.

Thousand years old Chinese proverb is always implant in my brain
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Dig the well before you are thirsty. If you think, then you will be prepared. If you are prepared then you have no worries.

Be prepared for rainy days. No matter how well you’re doing, you’ve got to be prepared - Li Ka Shing quote.

Remember, if U are in the 40s to 50s, U should always manage your CPF account. Whether to transfer from OA (2.5%) to SA (4%) or do a monthly small amount of SPARE cash into your CPF The CPF money your last defence for retirement as it is earning higher interest rate.

Never withdraw your CPF to buy car which U cant afford to use cash. CPF is earn high compounding interest rate which is a liquid asset. Car is a liabilities where it will drain away your cash. When oil price is @$90, petrol 95 cost est $2.2 per litre. Now the oil price has dropped to $45, the petrol 95 did not go down to 30-40%. It is still around $2.2 due to our govt increasing the petrol tax.

Deflationary super cycle keeps on going. First it was cheap chinese labors, then it was cheap US interest rates, now cheap commodities.

Noble has now dropped to S$0.40 !

I continue my warning : Beware!

Shares in Standard Chartered (LSE: STAN) fell heavily this morning after the group hit investors with a surprise third-quarter loss and announced plans for a £3.3bn rights issue.

The bank unveiled 15,000 job losses to help save $2.9 billion by 2018, according to a statement Tuesday. Standard Chartered will also restructure or exit $100 billion of assets after it reported an unexpected third-quarter loss of $139 million, compared with a profit of $1.5 billion a year earlier. Winters scrapped the bank’s dividend for the second half, the first such move since at least 1988, to save about $700 million.

Standard chart all time low @Gbp$614 (6th Nov15).
    52 wks high @Gbp$1166.
    All time high @Gbp$1800+
    Lehman crisis 2009 price @Gbp$658.

SCB can buy after right issues ? British pound is bullish against SGD ?. A potential capital gain on Stock + FX if the entry timing
    is right. Need to find out more.

Gbp Vs SGD 2003 was S$2.62
    2007 was S$3.02
    now @S$2.14
    All time low Mar13 @S$1.89

Recently launch interesting step down Note on Apple , Microsoft & Citigroup. Coupon 8%. Tenor 12 months.
    Strike (converted) price 95%. Barrier 60%. Autocall start 96%(1st mth observation date) follow by auto callstep 2%

This is a very interesting note. The BARRIER is so DEEP at 60% for BLUE chip. What does the 60% barrier tell U about the APPLE or Microsoft or citigroup.
    Will one of the stock drop bwteen 20% to 40% ? If yes, it mean the Dow jones is likely to have a big correction. I maybe wrong. Let observe & see
    what does the BARRIER 60% for the Step down note future 3 stocks movement & dow jones & Nasdaq.

12th Nov15 opening price
    ================
    Microsoft spot price $53.48
    Apple Spot price $116.25
    Citigroup spot price $54.52

Strike (converted) price 95% if barrier breach 60%
    ===============================
    Microsoft $53.48 X 95% =$50.8
    Apple $116.25 X 95% =$110.4
    Citigroup $54.52 X 95% =$51.80

The most important condition - the BARRIER 60% (cannot touch 60%)
    =============================================
    Microsoft $53.48 X 60% =$32.08
    Apple $116.25 X 60% =$69.7
    Citigroup $54.52 X 60% =$32.7

K.O = 1st month observation date Knock out 96%. 2nd mth 94% , 3rd mth 92% , 4th mth 90% & so on
    =================================================================
    Microsoft $53.48 X 96% =$51.34
    Apple $116.25 X 96% =$111.6
    Citigroup $54.52 X 96% =$52.14

2nd observation 94%
    3rd observation 92% & so on...

All the banks offer LTV between 70% to 85% for most of the unit trust.

I came to know from my friend std chart banker that UOB no longer gives
    LTV (ZERO) for unit trust. I do not know why. I am abit worry that UOB
    bank may see some crisis ahead in 2016 which we may not know .

There is a speculation that the FED will start to raise rate in Dec15 & may
    surprise that mkt on the timing of the rate increase in 2016. Just need to
    be extra careful. Hopefully, no BIG CRISIS in 2016 b4 the US election in Nov16.

Always crisis during USA election I think