Page 5 of 26 FirstFirst 12345678910152025 ... LastLast

Thread: STOCKS THREAD

Quote Originally Posted by chestnut View Post
    of course..... cheap leh.... 2 room.... So now when my kids big and get married, I can choose between Clover by the Park or Panorama.... hahahaha....
    than my big unit i staying in can rent out... hahahahahaha

I do 10-20 year planning leh.....

retiring this year - just nice.... before the big 50 !!!!!!

so must pay absd 3+10% ??

Ong lai ah!

Quote Originally Posted by Lovelle View Post
    congrats ah Mr chestnut.

How much is 2 bedroom ? the rich like you are getting richer...
    Lovelle, me not rich..... I did not come from rich family... My dad's salary was enough to feed a family of 7.... When he retired, he had about 300k for his old age...

I told myself, if I keep waiting for the govt to help, I can wait till the cow come home... I decided to take matters into my own hands and work my way up and save a big chunk of my salary.... One day while playing golf with my customer, he asked me this - have you thought about retirement??? Will the company continue to employ you all the way??? What if something happened to you, (healthwise), will the company still want you??? I was under 40, still fit as ever... But the questions rocked me like crazy !!!!! I decided, better invest.... My first investment rocked me !!!! Why, a few years later, GFC !!! Wah pian... Jialat.... So I decided to read and read and read and analyze like crazy....

So zoomed in on 2 areas - stocks and properties.... With much luck, managed to do quite well... after a few years, I looked backed, wah lau... I bot my anchorage in the past for under 900k and today it is about 2mil... Then I thought, what the heck, my tenant had been paying for my unit... Yes there was a case where I rented out my Anchorage for 2k/month but today, I am getting surplus off my rental amount... The worst case was I redeemed part of the loan

Bottomline, as a contribution to this forum... Make things happen... If you fail, at least you tried... and if you fail, just pick yourself up and push on... It was not all bed of roses for me.... I had my downs too but my optimism pulled me through... But if you wait for something to happen, more often then not, if does not happen.... and if it happens, it is luck, so pray you are lucky if you want something to happen without you putting in effort...

I am very conservative as well... I want to be able to sleep well at nite... So my risk appetite is very low...

No point having too much stress... it takes all the fun out of investing....

I analyzed Panorama and felt the risk element (at least to me) is very low... Whats the worst case - rent out for 2k lor.... hahahaha... It is about a 5-10 min walk to Mayflower MRT.... but there is a slope... hahahaha

bot for under 900k

In investment, always be prepared to lose and if you do lose, do a post mortem and learn what mistakes were made...

I am not rich - I am just fortunate to have met someone who woke me up to life and investing... And I am just sharing here... there is no need for brag in a forum... I have many who would tickle me to make me happy in real life...

I hope all forummers here will share as much as possible and not be so negative and whack people for the sake of whacking...

Cheers my friend and wish you well in your life as well !!!!!

We are all humans and money cannot make you happy, but without money - how to be happy????

back to STOCKS !!!!!

May everyone huat

home automation

http://finance.yahoo.com/news/sigma-...140000592.html

http://electronicdesign.com/communic...bee-and-z-wave

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Z-Wave

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/ZigBee

There are also other technology like bluetooth and wifi(broadcom)...

Who will win the battle.... It is still early but the market will be explosive !!!!

This is the next wave....

Imagine controlling your air-con, camera, alarm notification, lighting, blinds, set-top box, etc....

I love tech as you can see !!!!!!

Watch out, it is coming your way !!!!

Yes you can control all this via android and iphone....

Lovelle, me not rich..... I did not come from rich family... My dad's salary was enough to feed a family of 7.... When he retired, he had about 300k for his old age...

:
    Tai Kor, always enjoy your post...next time we should meet up to play golf..I am addicted to the game..So are you going to full time golfing after retiring? Now can still train and play the senior tour... who knows can make $$

this week going to conserve energy to watch the US Open + World cup...

Quote Originally Posted by stl67 View Post
    Tai Kor, always enjoy your post...next time we should meet up to play golf..I am addicted to the game..So are you going to full time golfing after retiring? Now can still train and play the senior tour... who knows can make $$

this week going to conserve energy to watch the US Open + World cup...
    Was at Thailand the week before....

day 1 - Panya Indah bangkok
    day 2- Siam old course phattaya
    day 3- Siam water course Phattaya (just open 3 weeks) fairways was virgin.... Caddy couldnt read green at all and the green was tricky...

Doing lots of biz golf before I retire... hahahaha.... But casual golf is so much different from biz golf.... Going Poresia tomorrow... hahahaha

Every dip in US market is a chance to buy. I forsee stocks to rise further this coming year end and next year as China and US economy improve. China SSE has stuck in 2000 for long time. Interest rate is low now, investment risk is low.
    Buy US banks in every dip and casino.

Dow gold ratio should test 13.1 to 13.2 range before moving up again

16800 / 1280 should be about right

I am targetting to buy LVS and BAC.

Bought some LVS $73.50 and BAC $15.60

Quote Originally Posted by star View Post
    I am targetting to buy LVS and BAC.
    They have gone too high. Wait for the dip. BAC is attractively valued at below $14.80. Not aware of any catalysts.

Bro simi, u may want to look at sigm. They are 1 of 2 chip vendors for z-wave. I believe z-wave will be big. Google bot nest leh😃.

Maybe another 3d printing in the making.

Can u imagine all appliances use z-wave. Hahahahaha

This is the IOT
    Bro chestnut

http://z-wave.sigmadesigns.com/

think I am using the z chip unconsciously in one of my product from my bz partner (locking systems) for remote access can control it by using APPS.

hahaha now I know

This counter symbol sigm had a historical high of over USD70 buck

Last done USD3.82, 52weeks high at USD6.70

Sigma Designs, Inc. (NASDAQ:SIGM), a leader in intelligent media platforms, on 9 June announced that it will report its financial results for the first quarter of fiscal year 2015 ended May 3, 2014 following the close of regular trading on Wednesday, June 11, 2014. Analysts mean target price for Sigma Designs Inc. (NASDAQ:SIGM) is $9.00 and On Tuesday shares its shares opened at $3.55 and closed at $3.83.Sigma Designs Inc. (NASDAQ:SIGM) quarterly revenue growth is -12.90% while quarterly earnings growth is 103.80%.

press release

June 9, 2014, 10:01 a.m. EDT

Sigma Designs Launches Turnkey Z-Wave(R) Serial Interface Module Into Volume Production

Plug and Play Modem Provides Unprecedented Easy Integration and Fastest Time-to-Market Yet

http://www.marketwatch.com/story/sig...ion-2014-06-09

Bro Thanks for the tips

Buy RIG and ESV if you want to get some hedge on downside risks when DOW dips. They do pay good dividends.

Quote Originally Posted by Simi View Post
    Bro chestnut

http://z-wave.sigmadesigns.com/

think I am using the z chip unconsciously in one of my product from my bz partner (locking systems) for remote access can control it by using APPS.

hahaha now I know

This counter symbol sigm had a historical high of over USD70 buck

Last done USD3.82, 52weeks high at USD6.70

press release

June 9, 2014, 10:01 a.m. EDT

Sigma Designs Launches Turnkey Z-Wave(R) Serial Interface Module Into Volume Production

Plug and Play Modem Provides Unprecedented Easy Integration and Fastest Time-to-Market Yet

http://www.marketwatch.com/story/sig...ion-2014-06-09

Bro Thanks for the tips
    Yale lock

http://www.yaleresidential.com/en/ya...d/touchscreen/

Air remote
    http://www.vesternet.com/z-wave-remotec-ac-ir-extender

And a lot more....

No not using Yale lock

Trying to get (supplier) to put it under my own brand

Bro chestnut,

U are having so much fun !!,, i too want to buy some Sgma for some.fun

Quote Originally Posted by Simi View Post
    No not using Yale lock

Trying to get (supplier) to put it under my own brand
    Here's a list of z-wave products... Just for u

http://www.z-wave.com/find_products/sensors

Here's a list of z-wave products... Just for u

http://www.z-wave.com/find_products/sensors

Bro
    thanks
    I got use for most of the sensors

Both LVS and MGM rebounding nicely

at least a dollar to resistance
    but mgm lower capital outlay

Quote Originally Posted by phantom_opera View Post
    Dow gold ratio should test 13.1 to 13.2 range before moving up again

16800 / 1280 should be about right
    futures at 16,830 /1,265

coming soon

Quote Originally Posted by phantom_opera View Post
    futures at 16,830 /1,265

coming soon
    market made another low to continue its correction from the 1955 peak, but getting the feeling the market is going to attempt another rally to another all time high before making a Fib correction. Maybe traders want to push it as high as 2000 before taking a summer break ?

from a avid blogger

gosh

I am afraid of height
    especially now

Dow is going through a period of mini-correction. Any instance of apparent not so good news will cause the market to dip. Many traders are also taking the correction as an excuse to take profits. I am not surprised to see Dow sliding down by 5% in the next 3 to 4 weeks. And part of the reason is also due to World Cup.

Those who invest for the long term can take opportunity to buy on the dip.

so embarrass to confess

looking at a retracement of 23% to 38%

from low of 1158 to the next high (present high is 1955)

SIGM like a ROCKET

up up and away (up13.40%)

bro chestnut power man

Quote Originally Posted by Wunderkind View Post
    Dow is going through a period of mini-correction. Any instance of apparent not so good news will cause the market to dip. Many traders are also taking the correction as an excuse to take profits. I am not surprised to see Dow sliding down by 5% in the next 3 to 4 weeks. And part of the reason is also due to World Cup.

Those who invest for the long term can take opportunity to buy on the dip.
    In times like this when the opportunity is open for you to get in, you should have a list of stocks on hand to pounce during the market lows.

Diversification is still the best strategy. I would recommend the following stocks C , BAC, RIG , ESV, BP, INTC, AAPL, ORCL, PPL that I have been tracking.

I am not vested in any of these stocks, but I intend to make a move in the next 30 days when the market offers the window of opportunity.

BTFD ... for SG, buy REITs and HPH Trust, for US, QQQ

Dow slided 109 points last night. This is an indication that traders are starting to unwind their positions to lock in profits amidst tensions in Iraq and uncertainties in the middle-east.

The conflict in Iraq has escalated oil prices to above $100/ barrel. So, what does it mean to my watchlist of stocks. The situation plays out in tandem with the price rise for oil related stocks : BP, RIG and ESV.

PS : I have made my first big foray into RIG last nite.

Bought back 1/3 of previously sold CRCT at 1.48 today

Cut HPH Trust & FCOT in last few days, prepare to re-enter on dip

Tonight will add more QQQ on dip

SG REITs .. don't touch industrial / retail ... major correction phase

above 107 now

Interesting... Dow seems to have moved into positive territory tonight.

But I am not convinced... it may turn out to be just a "dead cat bounce".