Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst 1234

Thread: 5 Major Facts about Singapore that every Singaporean should understand

Isn't it clear? minority is just trying to mislead and lie about how good GST is so that the top few % rich can get income tax cuts to become richer! They got a "pay increase" via income tax cut from 33% to 20% now! The businessmen rich also got it good - they got tax cut from 30% to 17% !!!
    With the RICH paying so much less taxes, where does the govt get all the revenue to makeup for these shortfalls? The answer is obvious! A slew of tax revenue from GST and other indirect taxes like COEs, property taxes, etc! You are already warned to expect more such "wealth" taxes because anybody with money in bank is considered "wealthy", and not just the rich!

YAWNNNNN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Quote Originally Posted by heehee View Post
    GST rebate only benefits the bottom 10-20%, & income tax cut benefits only the top few % rich, while the rest are impacted by much higher of living, isn't this a fact? What are you trying to argue about? You want to convince us that GST is only bad for the top few % rich & benefit the rest of us? Oh my god! Don't know what to say!
    Wrong..... Not just to fund the poor. the middle income also pay less taxes. if not the base taxable income will have to be raised. and GST collected are also use to spen on country infra.

http://www.gov.sg/government/web/con...ssitiesfromGST

e Goods and Services Tax (GST) was introduced in 1994 to diversify our tax base and reduce our reliance on direct taxes such as corporate and personal income taxes. Everyone in Singapore, including Singapore Permanent Residents (SPR) and foreigners, pays GST on the goods and services they buy.

When GST was introduced, this enabled the Government to lower personal income taxes from the top range of 33% progressively to 20% today. Those paying income tax today also must earn above $20,000 per annum. With these changes, many do not pay personal income tax.

The money collected from GST forms part of the Government revenue which goes to fund expenditure for Singapore, such as the building of infrastructure like schools, roads, hospitals, MRT lines and other public facilities, and providing subsidies like health, housing and education subsidies.

The money collected from GST also enables the Government to use a significant part of it to help lower-income Singaporeans by funding social assistance schemes. As GST is administered at a flat rate, the Government is aware that the GST adds to the living costs of the lower-income families. To ensure that GST does not hurt the poor, GST Vouchers are given to lower-income families to offset what they pay for in GST.

With the GST Voucher, the GST paid by elderly households in 1- to 3-room HDB flats will be fully offset. For lower-income families who do not live with their elderly family members, half of their total GST expenses will be offset.

minority, stop all you lies and attempt to misleads!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

It is clear that many people know that the purpose of implementing GST and increasing to 7% now is to make up for the shortfall in tax revenue after top-tier income tax rate has been cut from 33% to current 20% and corporate tax rate has been cut from 30% to current 17%.
    All other reasons are clearly excuses!

Also, the more you people try to justify with statistics, the more holes we found, such as how on earth you know that "high-income families and foreigners contribute to 75% of total GST collected"????
    You mean when you buy things and pay GST, you need to declare to shops whether you are foreigners or you are high-income familes (and the shops keep record for filing with IRAS)? Otherwise where they get the actual raw data to compile such statistics? Plug from the sky?

Also, what is your definition of "high-income families"? $5,000 per month is considered high-income since median household income is about $5000 pm?

What is your definition of foreigners? PRs are also foreigners right?!

Middle income pay less income taxes? Oh yes! You are so right! Why you don't tell us they now need to pay so much more in GST! Even their children, their retired parents who don't pay any income taxes previously suddenly all liable for GST!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Wrong..... Not just to fund the poor. the middle income also pay less taxes. if not the base taxable income will have to be raised. and GST collected are also use to spen on country infra.

e Goods and Services Tax (GST) was introduced in 1994 to diversify our tax base and reduce our reliance on direct taxes such as corporate and personal income taxes. Everyone in Singapore, including Singapore Permanent Residents (SPR) and foreigners, pays GST on the goods and services they buy.

When GST was introduced, this enabled the Government to lower personal income taxes from the top range of 33% progressively to 20% today. Those paying income tax today also must earn above $20,000 per annum. With these changes, many do not pay personal income tax.

The money collected from GST forms part of the Government revenue which goes to fund expenditure for Singapore, such as the building of infrastructure like schools, roads, hospitals, MRT lines and other public facilities, and providing subsidies like health, housing and education subsidies.

The money collected from GST also enables the Government to use a significant part of it to help lower-income Singaporeans by funding social assistance schemes. As GST is administered at a flat rate, the Government is aware that the GST adds to the living costs of the lower-income families. To ensure that GST does not hurt the poor, GST Vouchers are given to lower-income families to offset what they pay for in GST.

With the GST Voucher, the GST paid by elderly households in 1- to 3-room HDB flats will be fully offset. For lower-income families who do not live with their elderly family members, half of their total GST expenses will be offset.

Last edited by teddybear; 17-11-14 at 13:18.

It is clear that many people know that the purpose of implementing GST and increasing to 7% now is to make up for the shortfall in tax revenue after top-tier income tax rate has been cut from 33% to current 20% and corporate tax rate has been cut from 30% to current 17%.

Also, the more you people try to justify with statistics, the more holes we found, such as how on earth you know that "high-income families and foreigners contribute to 75% of total GST collected"????
    You mean when you buy things and pay GST, you need to declare to shops whether you are foreigners or you are high-income familes (and the shops keep record for filing with IRAS)? Otherwise where they get the actual raw data to compile such statistics? Plug from the sky?

Also, what is your definition of "high-income families"? $5,000 per month is considered high-income since median household income is about $5000 pm?

Middle income pay less income taxes? Oh yes! You are so right! Why you don't tell us they now need to pay so much more in GST! Even their children, their retired parents who don't pay any income taxes previously suddenly all liable for GST!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

YAWNNNN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

WHO IS THE ONE TRYING TO MISLEAD????? LOSER!!!!

minority,
    the clear LIAR and loser!

Loser is the one who try to lie, and when we found evidence to show that they lied!, they only know how to scold people "bullshit" and "loser" and nothing else!

They are not able to provide facts to backup what they said because they lied!
    minority is just One big bloody LIAR
    Ha ha ha!

YAWNNNN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

WHO IS THE ONE TRYING TO MISLEAD????? LOSER!!!!

And more lies by minority get exposed again by others on the internet, about GST rebate and Workfare..................

More about GST rebate and workfare that minority keep singing about (and obviously contradicts what he said)..............

Budget: A Plague on Both Your Houses
    In Political economy, Political governance on 27/02/2012 at 4:22 am
    (Or “Budget: Missing the point”)

I think the government has “got it”, more or less, in the overall thrust of the Budget. More below. But I’m annoyed (and sad) that it still hasn’t “got it” when it comes to helping the poor. I like the theory behind the GST Voucher for the poor (it helps make the tax on consumption less regressive). But like Workfare (which I support in theory), it is flawed because the poor need money both now and in the future, but both Workfare and the GST Voucher focus on the future. I’ll leave it to TOC’s Leong Sze Hian to describe the problem.

“A new GST voucher will be given to help particularly lower-income and elderly Singaporeans, comprising three components – cash, Medisave top-up and U-Save.

So, you pay for your GST increase in cash, but you get the bulk of it back not in cash, but as Medisave top-ups which you can only use for medical purposes, and U-Save which helps you to pay for what has historically been generally increasing utility bills.”

A wicked, mean tot. Could one of the reasons for putting the money into CPF accounts rather than pay cash be to lessen the cost to the government? The real value of the cash in the CPF accounts are steadily and steathily eroded by inflation. With the Medisave account paying 4%, and the ordinary account 2.5%, and inflation at juz below 5%, could the government be hoping that inflation reduces its headline cost by the time the money is withdrawn? Even if inflation returns to the 2% range, the real cost to the government is reduced. As I said, a wicked, mean tot that would never occur to a PAP supporter or a journalist in our constructive, nation-building local media.

But I have to reseve some irritation for the refusal of usually rational bloggers to recognise as a Bloomberg report puts it, “Singapore Shifts Priority From Growth to Curb Income Inequality” . At best, they say very grudgingly, “OK BUT …”

Following the removal of deadwood from the cabinet, and the building of more public apartments despite a forecasted economic slowdown, the government has moved to address, by way of more than words, four other “toxic” issues that make S’poreans angry: the sheer volume of FTs flooding the streets, the use of FTs to keep wages from rising, congested public transport and growing income disparity.

Now whether the measures announced in the Budget are sufficient to reverse the problems that these four issues have caused, I don’t know. I suspect not, and more has to be done. Nor can anyone be sure that this isn’t all Wayang.

But a step has been taken. Whether the step is small or big, only time will tell. Whether more steps will be taken, again only time will tell. But a step has been taken, and this should be acknowledged by those of us who are not aligned with any of the opposition parties, whose reason or justification for existence, is rightly, to oppose the government.

Those of us who who are not aligned with any of the opposition parties should not be professional critics of the government. Which reminds me, I found Lucky Tan’s “Threats of Defamation Lawsuits : Not a way to win over netizens….” amusing because maybe the PAP thinks that trying to make friends on the internet is a waste of time given its failure to make the internet a more PAP friendly place. If so, the likes of Zaqy and Baey could find their cushy S$15,000 monthy stipends history at the next general election.

And if it’s all Wayang, we will soon know, “You can fool all the people some of the time, and some of the people all the time, but you cannot fool all the people all the time.” And come the next general election, the PAP will pay a heavy price.

"When GST was introduced, this enabled the Government to lower personal income taxes from the top range of 33% progressively to 20% today. "

It speaks itself: those paying 33% of tax have benefited 13% percentage points (but risking losing their principle.)
    That's why the truly smart ultra rich indeed prefers to pay MORE progressively tax (because they want to have a stable and safe society to keep their 67%!)

The picture is very scary: GST is only charged on daily consumptions (no GST for property or gold).
    So the lower 75% is only consuming 25%, isn't that scary?

Collecting GST to build MRT lines must be a joke, collecting COE to build MRT lines would be a better lie.

"With the GST Voucher, the GST paid by elderly households in 1- to 3-room HDB flats will be fully offset. For lower-income families who do not live with their elderly family members, half of their total GST expenses will be offset."

So it is confirmed that even the lowest income / no income will pay 3.5% NET GST (after GST voucher).
    And for the top earners, even when they spend every single dollar on goods, they still "benefit" 13% - 7% = 6%. (If they buy gold, they "benefit" the whole 13%.)
    Tax cut is indeed doing more harm to the ultra rich because it puts their assets at a higher risk. That's why you can see more and more ultra rich will want to pay more tax. (to safe guard their assets).

Quote Originally Posted by richwang View Post
    "With the GST Voucher, the GST paid by elderly households in 1- to 3-room HDB flats will be fully offset. For lower-income families who do not live with their elderly family members, half of their total GST expenses will be offset."

So it is confirmed that even the lowest income / no income will pay 3.5% NET GST (after GST voucher).
    And for the top earners, even when they spend every single dollar on goods, they still "benefit" 13% - 7% = 6%. (If they buy gold, they "benefit" the whole 13%.)
    Tax cut is indeed doing more harm to the ultra rich because it puts their assets at a higher risk. That's why you can see more and more ultra rich will want to pay more tax. (to safe guard their assets).

TALK IS CHEAP. Pls show facts. so base on your logic. the poor today don't pay tax get rebates. without GST they pay tax. 20-35%!!! so they benefit even if they don't consumer or consume less than the rich?

Wow!! thats so fantastic.. no GST is so good for the poor.. Middle income pay 3-10% tax.. no GST? pay 35% tax.. wow again so fantastic.. if they choose to consumer less they still pay same tax. WOW so much benefit huh.. without GST...

minority, don't try to lie and mislead here again!

Consume less? The low-income and the poor are only consuming just basic necessities and finding hard to have decent living, and you ask them to consume even less if they want to save on GST?!

And those young below 21 years old are not eligible for GST voucher but they also need to eat, live, study, take transport etc etc!

Let's see, GST-cash voucher max $250 per year. That is for a max expenses of $3571 before a person need to dig into his own pocket to pay GST. $3571 p.a. means $297 per month!

minority, tell us, you can survive on $297 per month?

Don't forget, your ministers tell us that each of us need more than $1200 per month to survive in Singapore!!!!

TALK IS CHEAP. Pls show facts. so base on your logic. the poor today don't pay tax get rebates. without GST they pay tax. 20-35%!!! so they benefit even if they don't consumer or consume less than the rich?

Wow!! thats so fantastic.. no GST is so good for the poor.. Middle income pay 3-10% tax.. no GST? pay 35% tax.. wow again so fantastic.. if they choose to consumer less they still pay same tax. WOW so much benefit huh.. without GST...
    Last edited by teddybear; 19-11-14 at 09:24.

minority, your talk so cheap hah?
    Big LIAR here!
    Can't back up with evidence why you said $308 per month is enough for basic living in Singapore right?
    Can't prove that GST is good for the poor and middle-income right?
    All lies!!!

Consume less? The low-income and the poor are only consuming just basic necessities and finding hard to have decent living, and you ask them to consume even less if they want to save on GST?!

And those young below 21 years old are not eligible for GST voucher but they also need to eat, live, study, take transport etc etc!

Let's see, GST-cash voucher max $250 per year. That is for a max expenses of $3571 before a person need to dig into his own pocket to pay GST. $3571 p.a. means $297 per month!

Don't forget, your ministers tell us that each of us need more than $1200 per month to survive in Singapore!!!!

Dumb PRICK how many times need to knock on your numb skull. lower income have gST rebates? bo brain is it? DONT COME BULL SHIT .. GST have GST rebates on CASH , U serve , Medi shield. Totaling to $1100! thats for a Expense of at least 10K a year u dumb liaring Prick!

minority, your talk so cheap hah?
    Big LIAR here!
    Can't back up with evidence why you said $308 per month is enough for basic living in Singapore right?
    Can't prove that GST is good for the poor and middle-income right?
    All lies!!!

Y
    A
    W
    N
    !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I hear BULLSHIT AGAIN

Y
    A
    W
    N

I hear BULLSHIT AGAIN from minority again!

GST rebates $1100 PER YEAR but almost half into MediShield and you can see cannot touch! Oh yes, but the person need to pay CASH upfront for GST! You know what is called CASH value of MONEY? No right, you DUMB ASS!
    And the person's children below 21 years old all not eligible for GST rebates, YET the person still need to bear the responsibility to pay GST for each of his children LIVING EXPENSES, at least $1008 per year for 1 child, and $2016 per year for 2 children, and we have not even included compounded effect of GST!

Dumb PRICK how many times need to knock on your numb skull. lower income have gST rebates? bo brain is it? DONT COME BULL SHIT .. GST have GST rebates on CASH , U serve , Medi shield. Totaling to $1100! thats for a Expense of at least 10K a year u dumb liaring Prick!

WHY I AM NOT SUPRISE ON YOUR BULLSHIT??? one moment say $$ little then next moment when pointed out there are more rebates then KPKB want to twist n turn full of bullshit

I ask u so many many times. show me the list on essentials! don't tell me go holiday. buy gifts all those shit.

YAWN!!!!!!!!

Y
    A
    W
    N

I hear BULLSHIT AGAIN from minority again!

GST rebates $1100 PER YEAR but almost half into MediShield and you can see cannot touch! Oh yes, but the person need to pay CASH upfront for GST! You know what is called CASH value of MONEY? No right, you DUMB ASS!
    And the person's children below 21 years old all not eligible for GST rebates, YET the person still need to bear the responsibility to pay GST for each of his children LIVING EXPENSES, at least $1008 per year for 1 child, and $2016 per year for 2 children, and we have not even included compounded effect of GST!

GST or Consumption/Sale/VAT taxes are common throughout the world.

SINGAPORE is the ONLY ONE in the WORLD where GST / VAT has NO EXEMPTION to basic necessities!!!

Where got common? SAME NAME but very DIFFERENT in REAL SUBSTANCE!

Singapore's GST is the MOST REGRESSIVE form of GST, what many called POOR MAN'S TAX!!!!!!!!!!

Quote Originally Posted by Allthepies View Post
    GST or Consumption/Sale/VAT taxes are common throughout the world.

SINGAPORE is the ONLY ONE in the WORLD where GST / VAT has NO EXEMPTION to basic necessities!!!

Where got common? SAME NAME but very DIFFERENT in REAL SUBSTANCE!

Singapore's GST is the MOST REGRESSIVE form of GST, what many called POOR MAN'S TAX!!!!!!!!!!

WAH LAN!!! GST REBATE IS NOT REBATE ON CONSUMPTION FOR BASIC NECESSITIES??? U want go HOLIDAY , Give gifts , BUY BIG CAR KPKB GST? WTF! DONT BULLSHIT US!

GST rebate????????!!!!!
    After taxing the poor with GST, then return a small amount to a small number of the poor some rebates, like giving some goodies to the "good dogs"????

GST is like TAXING the general population MORE so that there can be REVENUE to cover INCOME TAX CUT for the rich (33% to 20%) and corporate tax cut for the RICH (30% to 17%)... <- minority, tell us, is this SENTENCE correct? Don't be a coward and bloody stupid idiot, don't dare to reply to a simple question?

WAH LAN!!! GST REBATE IS NOT REBATE ON CONSUMPTION FOR BASIC NECESSITIES??? U want go HOLIDAY , Give gifts , BUY BIG CAR KPKB GST? WTF! DONT BULLSHIT US!

They also prefer more "wealth tax" or "consumption tax" spread to all population (like GST) than more income tax or corporate tax! Ops! They will get it because the RICH have more influence on the policy!

Quote Originally Posted by richwang View Post
    "When GST was introduced, this enabled the Government to lower personal income taxes from the top range of 33% progressively to 20% today. "

It speaks itself: those paying 33% of tax have benefited 13% percentage points (but risking losing their principle.)
    That's why the truly smart ultra rich indeed prefers to pay MORE progressively tax (because they want to have a stable and safe society to keep their 67%!)

<- minority, tell us, how you get the data that says that :

"high-income families and foreigners contribute to 75% of total GST collected"????

Don't be a coward and bloody stupid idiot, don't dare to reply to a simple question means you pluck the number from the sky to support what you like to say???????????????????? BULLSHIT!

/1[/IMG][/QUOTE]

<- minority, tell us, how you get the data that says that :

"high-income families and foreigners contribute to 75% of total GST collected"????

Don't be a coward and bloody stupid idiot, don't dare to reply to a simple question means you pluck the number from the sky to support what you like to say???????????????????? BULLSHIT!

/1[/IMG]
    [/QUOTE]

More Bullshit coming from you???? WOW!!!!

So when people buy car u mean pay cash? u mean u lug a bag of 100K to pay for ur car? USE ur grey matter!!!! either take loan or ask bank to pay. all these have data collected!!! Who pay GST u numb skull!! people go jewelry shop buy jewerly like u. U mean pay CASH??? CREDIT CARDS U bodo.... data are collected!!! customer profiling Analytics u Dumb ass. and those day to day buy shampoo buy few dollar stuff are essentials.. which ur GST rebates cover. your MEdical coverage go see doctor use medisave.. POLY CLINIC NO GST U BODO!!!! Utility have family house hold income. U-SAVE REBATE. Each household can curn from iras tax paid thier family profile. u BDODO!!!

EVEN IF U GO NTUC BUY THING THE MOMENT U SWAP THE LOYALITY CARD. YOU ARE PROFILED. ALL THESE ARE SALES ANALYTICS U DUMB ASS!
    So dont BULLSHITE Us here!!!!!

Last edited by minority; 27-11-14 at 22:32.

Sales analytics!
    Ha ha ha! One big bloody stupid idiot!
    Poor and lower middle-income people and the retirees and those below 21 years old and in National Service always pay cash (because no credit card), no wonder your GST contribution figure has been SERIOUSLY UNDER-REPORTED for contributions from the POOR and the LOWER MIDDLE-INCOME and those without credit cards!!!!!

By the way, according to what you said, then companies don't need to keep invoices and receipts, just file "Sales Analytics" with IRAS can?

More Bullshit coming from you???? WOW!!!!

So when people buy car u mean pay cash? u mean u lug a bag of 100K to pay for ur car? USE ur grey matter!!!! either take loan or ask bank to pay. all these have data collected!!! Who pay GST u numb skull!! people go jewelry shop buy jewerly like u. U mean pay CASH??? CREDIT CARDS U bodo.... data are collected!!! customer profiling Analytics u Dumb ass. and those day to day buy shampoo buy few dollar stuff are essentials.. which ur GST rebates cover. your MEdical coverage go see doctor use medisave.. POLY CLINIC NO GST U BODO!!!! Utility have family house hold income. U-SAVE REBATE. Each household can curn from iras tax paid thier family profile. u BDODO!!!

EVEN IF U GO NTUC BUY THING THE MOMENT U SWAP THE LOYALITY CARD. YOU ARE PROFILED. ALL THESE ARE SALES ANALYTICS U DUMB ASS!
    So dont BULLSHITE Us here!!!!!

Sales analytics!
    Ha ha ha! One big bloody stupid idiot!
    Poor and lower middle-income people and the retirees and those below 21 years old and in National Service always pay cash (because no credit card), no wonder your GST contribution figure has been SERIOUSLY UNDER-REPORTED for contributions from the POOR and the LOWER MIDDLE-INCOME and those without credit cards!!!!!

By the way, according to what you said, then companies don't need to keep invoices and receipts, just file "Sales Analytics" with IRAS can?
    WOW MORE BULLSHIT!!!!!

MIDDLE INCOME NO CREDIT CARDS!!!! WHICH BLOODDY HOLE YOU CLIMB OUT OF??? They have the MOST CREDIT CARDS!!! Fact is at least 3.4 credit cards per household u Liar!!!

http://www.visa-asia.com/ap/center/v...ard_Report.pdf

The GST rebates are especially targeted at the low income !!!!! u fool! you mean a low income person will spend 10K on shampoo??!!! 10K on soap!!! or 10K on tooth paste!!! yeah unless they are like you!! need serious cleaning!!!

And only those RICH PEOPLE with a lot of cash don't need credit cards!!! they consume the most and they are like u!!! Bloody KPKB coz too cheap to pay TAX !!! RUN TAX!!! and then get caught with the GST coz want to consume!!! KPKB cannot escape!!!! And don't benefit from GST rebates coz stay in big swanky address!!! BLOODY CHEAP SKATES !!!!!