Thread: SUB-LETTING of Condos.

Default SUB-LETTING of Condos.

Dear members,

I bought a 2 bd penthouse in a new condo development in Geylang.
    I will be living there alone and I was thinking of subletting the other bedroom to anyone, on a short term basis, like on Airbnb.
    I contacted the URA and I've been told that is not legal.
    But then I see many people posting ads on their private properties.
    Now I do know that for HDB, you can only sublet to people holding a valid pass, for minimum 6 months. But what about for private condos? Does the same rule apply?
    I'm pretty confused and I need clarifications, before I do something illegal.
    Thanks a lot to all.

If you are AMDK, please go ahead and do it.
    If you are a sinkie, please think twice before you do it.

Quote Originally Posted by focus View Post
    I am an AMDK, however I honestly don't want to do it just because "Oh yah he's a chao Ang Moh; Singapore got double standards; so he'll be, no problem leh".
    I've been here for 3 years respecting the rules and regulations even if I don't fully agree with them. This is not my country, but I must respect the laws and values of its people.
    So I guess I'll stick with the second part.

You can give your views in this survey regarding short term stays.
    URA wants your opinion.

http://www.ura.gov.sg/uol/Surveys/short-term-stay

Quote Originally Posted by focus View Post
    LOL,

Good to respect and obey the law : )

Quote Originally Posted by princess_morbucks View Post
    You can give your views in this survey regarding short term stays.
    URA wants your opinion.

http://www.ura.gov.sg/uol/Surveys/short-term-stay
    Awesome.
    Thanks a lot

you can do what you want as long as not caught
    many let out their room via AirBnB does not mean it's legal
    the authority is closing one eye for now but when they action or clampdown no one knows

i think many new ec owners will be renting out their flats before MOP

As the army saying goes... You can do anything you want, but just don't get caught
    When you have eliminate the impossible, whatever remains, however improbable, must be the truth

Actually it is very distasteful to call our foreign friends as AMDK.

If you are in a foreign land and someone address you like that ... i wonder how would you feel!

PS. I am a Singaporean!

Some times, I find Ang Mo to be more benevolent than Singaporeans!

Quote Originally Posted by kellogs View Post
    Actually it is very distasteful to call our foreign friends as AMDK.

If you are in a foreign land and someone address you like that ... i wonder how would you feel!

PS. I am a Singaporean!

just like cycling. the other day i was told by TP not to cycle on pavement cos its not legal. we are supposed to cycle on road.

so i was given a warning instead of a $20 fine.

so do what u want, if get caught, just be prepared.

if subletting is illegal, why is the govt allowing airbnb to advertise locally on newspapers?

What about those contracts where companies signed with landlords that allow change of tenants as and when the need arise?

Does anyone know whether these are considered subletting?

It really not worth the effort to go against the law when there are so many legitimate ways to make money.
    That is what I tell myself everytime when I want to do something illegal.

These are not because:
    1) Companies need to inform owners the need to change, and provide evidence why there is a need to change... They cannot suka suka change occupants every few days or weeks...
    2) There is proper tenancy agreement signed with the tenant for >6 months and STAMPED with stamp duty paid... (while all those subletting do not such official paperwork...)

Quote Originally Posted by Singleton View Post
    What about those contracts where companies signed with landlords that allow change of tenants as and when the need arise?

Does anyone know whether these are considered subletting?

These are not because:
    1) Companies need to inform owners the need to change, and provide evidence why there is a need to change... They cannot suka suka change occupants every few days or weeks...
    2) There is proper tenancy agreement signed with the tenant for >6 months and STAMPED with stamp duty paid... (while all those subletting do not such official paperwork...)
    In theory, tenants can change every few months bec easy to give reasons why there is a change and companies can be collecting short term rents from them

so this is different from landlord sublettting rooms?

from yesterday's news, seems that gov is willing to be flexible in short term renting....strange

Different lah.

1) only corporate tenants are allowed to change occupiers.
    2) Occupiers must be legally employed employees of the corporate tenant, not just anybody else.
    3) occupiers usually stay for 1 year to 2 years, not just a few days.
    4) corporate tenant must have tenancy agreement signed, must be stamped with stamp duty paid.

Quote Originally Posted by Singleton View Post
    In theory, tenants can change every few months bec easy to give reasons why there is a change and companies can be collecting short term rents from them

so this is different from landlord sublettting rooms?

You think so. KBW is not quite happy but will leave it to people. Survey on this matter will be opened tomorrow. Guess you can give your opinion at this survey.
    Quote Originally Posted by Lovelle View Post
    from yesterday's news, seems that gov is willing to be flexible in short term renting....strange

Have given mine, BUT
    Forgot to tell them that they should make it ILLEGAL for Airbnb etc from helping to advertise for such short-term rentals in private condos.... May be somebody can help to fill in the survey?

You think so. KBW is not quite happy but will leave it to people. Survey on this matter will be opened tomorrow. Guess you can give your opinion at this survey.

I have done my part too.
    Have given mine, BUT
    Forgot to tell them that they should make it ILLEGAL for Airbnb etc from helping to advertise for such short-term rentals in private condos.... May be somebody can help to fill in the survey?

You are for or against short-term rental?

I have done my part too.

I have done my part too by objecting to short-term stay.

If you look at Q6, one of the purpose I gather is to grant authorities with more legal power to enforce and prosecute illegal short term renting.

Hee Hee don't be caught.

I think short term room rentals for pte pty is ok but not whole units. If anything happens (e.g. nuisance), the owner can be around to rectify the problem.

Quote Originally Posted by Regulators View Post
    I think short term room rentals for pte pty is ok but not whole units. If anything happens (e.g. nuisance), the owner can be around to rectify the problem.
    Oh quite true.
    But owner may employed the same old strategy of locking up 1 room and not staying there.

If you rent for only a few days to tourist, you as an owner would definitely want to be around to check on things daily, like operating a bnb

Make a guess?
    You are for or against short-term rental?

"im ok to rent (if i need moneY) but if im staying in my house, i dont want my neighbours to rent out"

Will the owner own up to damage to common property caused by a stranger (who is the short-term tenant of his property)?

Quote Originally Posted by Regulators View Post