Page 8 of 20 FirstFirst ... 34567891011121318 ... LastLast

Thread: Significant Singapore News

Illegal or Legal - Who decide that?
    It is people who set law to decide "Illegal" or "Legal" right?
    When you didn't cheat, you didn't kill, what you did couldn't possibly cause a stir, much less a riot, then how to conclude "Illegal" or "Legal"?
    May be more like a conclusion of "morally right" or "morally wrong"???? Why need to use law to come down hard on innocent tongue-in-cheek possibly impulsive online rant of a boy whom many couldn't even careless?????

And Law should not have too much subjectivity in deciding whether some "act" is "Illegal" or "Legal" right? Otherwise there is just too much leeway for people to take advantage right??

In order to be fair, when there are too much subjectivity, then that is really bad, because they can't convince people that the conclusion is "without doubt".

Back to the example I give that you still refuse to answer my question:

How about you tell us the difference between the below 2 cases:
    (a) 5 or more debt collectors do something - "UNLAWFUL ASSEMBLY"!!!! Charged!!!!!
    (b) 5 or more PAP activists do something - Why this is not "UNLAWFUL ASSEMBLY"??????

Quote Originally Posted by MrTan View Post
    Guess we are on the same page here. Regardless murder or manslaughter, it is still a crime. And glad you understand that in this case and in our society, what this kid did was deemed illegal.

Hypothetically, assuming that what he did was not illegal, do you think there will not be any backlash on him and his family? Whatever he did was done online, whatever he will get will be online too. Think about the past few online cases in which the subject and his/her family have to move to Australia.

I would sincerely hope that the law of the court will put an end to this saga, instead of allowing online vigilantes to execute their so called cyber justice.

Illegal or Legal - Who decide that?
    It is people who set law to decide "Illegal" or "Legal" right?
    When you didn't cheat, you didn't kill, what you did couldn't possibly cause a stir, much less a riot, then how to conclude "Illegal" or "Legal"?
    May be more like a conclusion of "morally right" or "morally wrong"???? Why need to use law to come down hard on innocent tongue-in-cheek possibly impulsive online rant of a boy whom many couldn't even careless?????

And Law should not have too much subjectivity in deciding whether some "act" is "Illegal" or "Legal" right? Otherwise there is just too much leeway for people to take advantage right??

In order to be fair, when there are too much subjectivity, then that is really bad, because they can't convince people that the conclusion is "without doubt".

Back to the example I give that you still refuse to answer my question:

How about you tell us the difference between the below 2 cases:
    (a) 5 or more debt collectors do something - "UNLAWFUL ASSEMBLY"!!!! Charged!!!!!
    (b) 5 or more PAP activists do something - Why this is not "UNLAWFUL ASSEMBLY"??????
    That was not the point of contention.

Instead of being a keyboard warrior, please go ahead to file another police report if you feel so strongly about this subject.

See, that is the problem!
    Some people file some police report, swift action!
    Some people file some police report, slow motion action or no action?
    As I said before, police report already filed, so still waiting for outcome......................

Instead of being a keyboard warrior, please go ahead to file another police report if you feel so strongly about this subject.

DONT WASTE YOUR TIME LAH..... its like telling a brick to think logic.

See, that is the problem!
    Some people file some police report, swift action!
    Some people file some police report, slow motion action or no action?
    As I said before, police report already filed, so still waiting for outcome......................
    What make you think there is no action? PROOF??? KEY BOARD WARRIOR only? THIS FAMOUS AMOS PUT HIS FACE ON YOUTUBE. No need any dummies to proof he is not the person that say the things he said and posted the video. Unless he want to claim he is FRAMED! in fact its a some one with a well printed rubber face impersonating him?

WAT A JOKE!

FREEDOM OF SPEECH DONT MEAN SPEAK WITHOUT RESPONSIBILITY.

Did you use your brain? If yes, please tell us the difference between the below 2 cases:

Honestly, I can't tell the difference after using my brain!!!!!!!!!

DONT WASTE YOUR TIME LAH..... its like telling a brick to think logic.

Did you use your brain? If yes, please tell us the difference between the below 2 cases:

Especially 4 or more people playing mahjong.....illegal gambling

The prerequisite of change is to have an alternative government. Until the time when a political party is up to the mark to form a government, any talk will be futile.
    Political change will come and in our case, it is likely to be an evolution rather than revolution. It will take some time be it the opposition getting stronger or the ruling party moving more left or splitting into two just like what it was before our independence. Even DPM Tharman did not rule out this possibility. Things are actually evolving and we only need to look at the past election results to have a good feel of the ground.

Quote Originally Posted by Amber Woods View Post
    Political change will come and in our case, it is likely to be an evolution rather than revolution. It will take some time be it the opposition getting stronger or the ruling party moving more left or splitting into two just like what it was before our independence. Even DPM Tharman did not rule out this possibility. Things are actually evolving and we only need to look at the past election results to have a good feel of the ground.
    Agree. So at the end of the day, the bottom line is - vote wisely.

Vote wisely is subjective and it means different thing to different people. For members of the society who like more control and orderly will vote differently from members who want a more democratic society that can test the passage of time.

Agree again. But whatever it is, best to avoid a prematured evolution.

It all depends on whether governments are hearing the people and making efforts for change or choose not to because change can be difficult especially for well rooted political parties. We have witnessed all these happenings in many developed and matured societies so when it comes it means the time is right be it evolution or revolution..

That one is "gambling", not "illegal assembly"!

my (limited) understanding of "illegal assembly" is that:
    1) Must be in public place (your case is in private place)
    2) Must be 5 or more people (your case only 4 people not considered as "illegal assembly"!)

However, recently, I saw somewhere that "illegal assembly" law has been changed and it is possible for 2 people together to constitute "illegal assembly" as well! Is this true???????

Quote Originally Posted by indomie View Post
    Especially 4 or more people playing mahjong.....illegal gambling

You need to understand the legal definition of a crime to come to your conclusion.

The intent of his video or message was never about religion but he brought religion in to emphasis his point. In law, it is not consider murder if one has no intent to kill; the charge should be manslaughter and not murder.

The law does not states whether is right or wrong, only legal or illegal. In this case and in our society, what this kid did was deemed illegal. In other societies, he is likely to be ignored completely if his words or thinking are not consistent with ours.

This is what we need to understand about this case.
    I agree. It is about Legal or Illegal. It is not about Right or Wrong

Well he was offered bail. His parents didn't turn up to bail. And its a non CASH bail. no need to pay cash. More than likely all his "buddies" want to see him stay in Jail so can "leverage" on the publicity.
    since there are those who wanted to cut off his dick ...etc ...

maybe his parents felt it is SAFER to leave him in remand than going home and kana assaulted ?

just wondering .... if it was a 17 year old girl who made those Utube..... will the same happen to her ?

Hello minority,
    Does the "responsibility" need to see who make the speech?

For example,
    this 'Cookie Tan' aka Jason Tan quoted here: who threatened to cut his (Amos Yee's) dick and put it in his mouth?
    Netizens uncovered that he is a PAP grassroot leader and was recently the recipient of a Long Service Achievement Award in August 2014!
    So, he does not to speak with responsibility? Was he charged with Harassment Act for hurling threatening words and abusing and cyberbully a 16 years old boy?????? Abuse of boy some more! Oh my gosh!!!! Really pot calling kettle black!!!! So he doesn't need to be responsible???? Nobody dare or care to hold him responsible??????????????????

What make you think there is no action? PROOF??? KEY BOARD WARRIOR only? THIS FAMOUS AMOS PUT HIS FACE ON YOUTUBE. No need any dummies to proof he is not the person that say the things he said and posted the video. Unless he want to claim he is FRAMED! in fact its a some one with a well printed rubber face impersonating him?

WAT A JOKE!

FREEDOM OF SPEECH DONT MEAN SPEAK WITHOUT RESPONSIBILITY.
    Looking through the video, I have the impression that that is his personal rant, why so big hoo-ha????

How about this cyberbully case against Amos Yee by a person called Jason Tan who threatened to cut his dick and put it in his mouth? Doesn't this fall under the "Harassment Act"????
    Why nobody charge him under harassment act? Oh by the way, the webpage mentioned that he is a PAP grassroot leader and was recently the recipient of a Long Service Achievement Award in August 2014!

How about the 6 PAP activists doing something together? How is it different from the case of the 7 debt collectors who had been swiftly charged for "UNLAWFUL ASSEMBLY" since their incident?????

How about this PAP Youth member's 'racist' online posting?
    The news article said at least 3 police reports had been made against him.
    So, is his case still under investigation until now after more than 3 and a half years????
    Why so so slow and incompetent compared to Amos Yee's case which is totally competent and really >100% efficient?

Why all the above people are not being taught a lesson?
    Will we get an answer for all the above??????????????

I believe you are referring to that Jason Tan?
    Indeed, he is still free and let loose and can execute his threat to cut Amos Yee's dick and put it into his mouth! Could he be protected by the Long Service Achievement Award received just recently in August 2014?

That may likely be the reason his parents felt he is safer in police remand than going home and lose his dick??????
    For a boy or a man, losing dick to become eunuch is worse than dying!!!!!!!!!

Quote Originally Posted by proud owner View Post

maybe his parents felt it is SAFER to leave him in remand than going home and kana assaulted ?
    Hello minority,

For example,
    this 'Cookie Tan' aka Jason Tan quoted here: who threatened to cut his (Amos Yee's) dick and put it in his mouth?
    Netizens uncovered that he is a PAP grassroot leader and was recently the recipient of a Long Service Achievement Award in August 2014!
    So, he does not to speak with responsibility? Was he charged with Harassment Act for hurling threatening words and abusing and cyberbully a 16 years old boy?????? Abuse of boy some more! Oh my gosh!!!! Really pot calling kettle black!!!! So he doesn't need to be responsible???? Nobody dare or care to hold him responsible??????????????????

Does it make a difference whether boy or girl?
    I thought nowadays boy and girl (man and woman) are equal in the eyes of law?

just wondering .... if it was a 17 year old girl who made those Utube..... will the same happen to her ?

It all depends on whether governments are hearing the people and making efforts for change or choose not to because change can be difficult especially for well rooted political parties. We have witnessed all these happenings in many developed and matured societies so when it comes it means the time is right be it evolution or revolution..
    Not allowing someone to curse at another person religion and make fun and lewd jokes of ones beliefs in the name of free speech will result in revolution? WOW.. then the same logic would apply allow irresponsible stirring or religions and racial lines and sentiment would definitely lead to a revolution. Free speech doesn't means one can speak without taking responsibility for ones action or speech.

I believe you are referring to that Jason Tan?
    Indeed, he is still free and let loose and can execute his threat to cut Amos Yee's dick and put it into his mouth! Could he be protected by the Long Service Achievement Award received just recently in August 2014?

That may likely be the reason his parents felt he is safer in police remand than going home and lose his dick??????
    For a boy or a man, losing dick to become eunuch is worse than dying!!!!!!!!!
    Since you are so concerned you should file a police report. Keyboard warrioring is simple and no diff from hot airing.

u must be blind or have a brick for brain.

Every weekend I see Blue color WP people going ard sell thier hammar papers. How come they are not arrested then? How stupid can you get?

I would suggest you exercise your rights to go make a police report.

Not allowing someone to curse at another person religion and make fun and lewd jokes of ones beliefs in the name of free speech will result in revolution? WOW.. then the same logic would apply allow irresponsible stirring or religions and racial lines and sentiment would definitely lead to a revolution. Free speech doesn't means one can speak without taking responsibility for ones action or speech.
    l

In my quote, did I say what you said. I was making a general statement with reference to the subject matter, while you were basing on the subject matter to brush off my statement. The fun of engagement in this thread with you is sadly lost. Will not response to you again if you continue to engage in this manner.

I find it very strange why need a 3rd party to file a police report?
    When a person kill another person, does the police need a 3rd party to file a police report before the police take action?????

Furthermore already got people file police report against the 6 PAP activists, filed report against the YPAP racist remarks, but the case are still under investigation after >6 months and 3.5 years???? Compare that to but Amos Yee's case only take 1 week to file charges!

That goes to show what??????????????????

Since you are so concerned you should file a police report. Keyboard warrioring is simple and no diff from hot airing.

minority,
    You are not using your brain lah!

Ok, then please explain:
    (a) Why the 5 or debt collectors together do something has been charged with "UNLAWFUL ASSEMBLY"?
    (b) Why the opposition activists (a previous case) together do something has been charged with "UNLAWFUL ASSEMBLY"?

Oh no, minority has no brain or plainly telling lies????????????????

u must be blind or have a brick for brain.

Every weekend I see Blue color WP people going ard sell thier hammar papers. How come they are not arrested then? How stupid can you get?

Why this PAP grassroot leader (with 10 years service award) "cookie Tan" can speak (threaten to cut Amos Yee's dick and put into his mouth) without taking responsibility?

Hello minority,

For example,

minority,
    You are not using your brain lah!

Ok, then please explain:
    (a) Why the 5 or debt collectors together do something has been charged with "UNLAWFUL ASSEMBLY"?
    (b) Why the opposition activists (a previous case) together do something has been charged with "UNLAWFUL ASSEMBLY"?

Oh no, minority has no brain or plainly telling lies????????????????

YAWNNNNNNNNN!!!!!!! TCSS AGAIN!!!!!! YAWNNNNNNNNNNNNN

Ur Lies are old and stale any new BULL SHIT ?????

Why this PAP grassroot leader (with 10 years service award) "cookie Tan" can speak (threaten to cut Amos Yee's dick and put into his mouth) without taking responsibility?
    GO MAKE A POLICE REPORT LAH!!! AIYHO!!!! KPKB !! GO SHOW SOME ACTION!!!! AND GO BAIL HIM OUT DUH!!!!! WHY U DONT GO BAIL HIM OUT???? TCSSS!!!!

I find it very strange why need a 3rd party to file a police report?
    When a person kill another person, does the police need a 3rd party to file a police report before the police take action?????

Furthermore already got people file police report against the 6 PAP activists, filed report against the YPAP racist remarks, but the case are still under investigation after >6 months and 3.5 years???? Compare that to but Amos Yee's case only take 1 week to file charges!

That goes to show what??????????????????

COZ U ARE OFFENDED RIGHT? SO GO MAKE A POLICE REPORT!!!!! DONT TCSS HIDE BEIND A SCREEN KPKB CRY WOLF. GROW A PAIR LEH!

IT GOES TO SHOW YOU DONT HAVE A PAIR OF DIG DONGS!!!! THAT IS WHAT IT GOES TO SHOW!!!