Thread: High Speed Rail Terminal Site - Jurong East

Default High Speed Rail Terminal Site - Jurong East

Seems like all the property situated near the West will appreciate with the news.

What does it mean for the other region of Singapore?

My peers were thinking that

"... the land in other parts of Singapore gone case liao. Dead Market.

... regions on the opposite side i.e. East and North East like Punggol is for the "new poor" (sorry for the lack of better term) - oversupply of housing with dirt cheap flats."

What is your take?

Quote Originally Posted by Yuki View Post
    Seems like all the property situated near the West will appreciate with the news.

... regions on the opposite side i.e. East and North East like Punggol is for the "new poor" (sorry for the lack of better term) - oversupply of housing with dirt cheap flats."

What is your take?
    I thought the Changi Jewel project is up and coming as well?

How can only the West grow without East benefitting?

For one, the original CBD will benefit by reducing traffic gridlock and extreme overcrowding at the nodes in those regions. That has recently been a serious critical weakness that has compelled me not to consider properties in the central region. With that reduction in density and jams, ERP etc might be reduced and might actually be a boost to it, with more people driving in to frequent the businesses there.

The HSR needs to be complemented by the airport as well in the scenario I envisage. Travellers, businessmen going to KL transiting in SG for a few days travelling along the whole South Coast to the West, vice versa.

In effect, it can be viewed as a boost to the whole Southern part of Singapore from West to East.

Northeast area has always been a residential based focus, with the lovely parks and the local amenities satisfying residential purposes. There is also the Paya Lebar Business Park benefiting directly from the increased east-west flow through for Singapore, as well as Changi Jewel Project that requires residential support from the Northeast. Even North may benefit from less jams to and from Malaysia which benefits the residents living there now.

I think the whole idea is a very exciting one for all in SG to boost the value of any property we hold in SG.

SINGAPORE VERY BIG.

ha ha ha ha...
    For Singaporean than never travel oversea they may think that you really mean it.

Type below in Google than you will know

"size of singapore"
    "size of jakarta"
    "jakarta population"
    Last edited by Sandiwara; 07-05-15 at 07:53.

Bangkok even bigger than Jakarta

SINGAPORE VERY BIG.
    rhetorical. only true blue (or pink) Singaporeans will understand the pun in this statement.
    Last edited by MrTan; 07-05-15 at 09:04.

Default HOPE

It is definitely great that politics has allowed this development to create much HOPE and HYPE to SMEs in general in Malaysia and Singapore.

Come 2020, will it really happen? If 3MYR/1SGD/0.60USD come 2020, will Malaysia be able to afford it? Will the contractors go BUST due to cash flow?

When will the tender be called?

Arrow

Quote Originally Posted by TABee View Post
    It is definitely great that politics has allowed this development to create much HOPE and HYPE to SMEs in general in Malaysia and Singapore.

Come 2020, will it really happen? If 3MYR/1SGD/0.60USD come 2020, will Malaysia be able to afford it? Will the contractors go BUST due to cash flow?

When will the tender be called?
    Valid questions.

Even if HSR is completed, there will still be doubts whether it's sustainable in running.

Even if it's sustainable, there will be doubts about the feasibility of businesses there.

Even if it's feasible, there will be doubts over safety issues such as crime and terrorism.

The fact is, Singapore has always survived based on our insecurities, acting upon them, and giving our best shots despite not knowing what the future brings.

We keep moving and keep innovating and changing the game to survive. Our survival depends on our ability to act in the face of our fears to make sure things work.

Malaysia is being driven to face similar issues with the oil plunge. I doubt they will take it lightly as well. They seem to need this more than we do.

If HSR fare is priced too cheaply, may be The West properties like those in Jurong will plunge?

REASON?

Very simple, if it is so easy and fast and convenient to travel from J.B to Jurong, then many people might as well live in J.B and commute to work in Singapore!
    Over in J.B, for the price of a 4-room flat in Jurong for $350,000, they can afford to buy a small Bungalow and a car!

Quote Originally Posted by Yuki View Post

What is your take?

If HSR fare is priced too cheaply, may be The West properties like those in Jurong will plunge?

REASON?

Very simple, if it is so easy and fast and convenient to travel from J.B to Jurong, then many people might as well live in J.B and commute to work in Singapore!
    Over in J.B, for the price of a 4-room flat in Jurong for $350,000, they can afford to buy a small Bungalow and a car!
    I know someone that work in NUS area that stay in Bukit Indah JB. Always in and out to SG daily. It already happen. We just do not have the statistics for this

So that someone you know is so poorly paid by NUS that he/she need to stay in JB and come to SG to work everyday?

Quote Originally Posted by Sandiwara View Post
    I know someone that work in NUS area that stay in Bukit Indah JB. Always in and out to SG daily. It already happen. We just do not have the statistics for this

Assuming we can complete the network tomorrow, what may the fares be?

Based on current exchange rates and environment, JB is not likely to be a popular stop. Example, SG to KL is SGD138 or MYR348 one way. So SG to JB is SGD38 per trip? Who would pay SGD38/MYR$95 to take high speed train from SG to JB? From JB to SG, how much would a normal middle income Malaysian pay? How about a Singaporean living in JB working in Singapore who has to commute daily?

Are the fares to be set at thee discretion of the country of origin? Prices based fully on exchange rates and demand and supply through mobile application?

Or increase causeway tolls and airport taxes to drive usage of the high speed rail?

Based on current exchange rates and environment, JB is not likely to be a popular stop. Example, SG to KL is SGD138 or MYR348 one way. So SG to JB is SGD38 per trip? Who would pay SGD38/MYR$95 to take high speed train from SG to JB? From JB to SG, how much would a normal middle income Malaysian pay? How about a Singaporean living in JB working in Singapore who has to commute daily?

Are the fares to be set at thee discretion of the country of origin? Prices based fully on exchange rates and demand and supply through mobile application?

Or increase causeway tolls and airport taxes to drive usage of the high speed rail?
    If really set at those kind of prices and still have people take, it will be worrying. That means this would be catering to well to do individuals, tourists, expats. The second CBD prices of everything (and subsequently SG prices) would shoot through the roof.

I don't think such prices are feasible. Let's wait for further announcements from authorities.

HSR is not suitable for short distant commute. For daily commute you will need to consider RTS.

The key advantage of HSR however is time as it will be using an integrated CIQ where commuters only need 1 stop clearance instead of two.
    Bulk of the commuters for HSR are likely to be Singapore based Malaysia PR and singaporeean who are earning SGD.

Those from JB will still stick with bus and bike for now

So if today the HSR is available, what fees from SG to MY and MY to SG will be feasible?

Maybe the policy makers will get ideas from the contributions in this forum?

Should They did the market study before make the decision to build it. Not the other way around

Quote Originally Posted by Sandiwara View Post
    Should They did the market study before make the decision to build it. Not the other way around
    From some other forums, it seems that the ASEAN countries may be planning something really BIG in the long run, linking Malaysia to Thailand and ultimately to China.

It sounds indeed like the plans that leaders will make in view of air security and fuel costs in the long run.

SG-KL 90 minute ride might be a part of a small plan to link all the way to China cities.

Hearsay only. I think security might be a difficult issue to handle along such a long route.

So if today the HSR is available, what fees from SG to MY and MY to SG will be feasible?

Maybe the policy makers will get ideas from the contributions in this forum?
    HSR will offer 2 services, 1 express non stop service connecting KL and SG, which will be more expensive. the other cheaper domestic service with stops on all stations along the way. Within each service there will also be different class cabins. So for those who prefer comfort you can opt for the 1st class cabin, while those budget concious will go for 2nd class cabin.

A person use 2 names to post shows he has split personalities. You need medical assistance.

Jurong East with this high speed rail terminus will be like shenzhen in years to come with influx of immigration crowds.

Quote Originally Posted by prop1688 View Post
    Jurong East with this high speed rail terminus will be like shenzhen in years to come with influx of immigration crowds.

Singapore cost of living is much higher than Malaysia so unlikely we are going to see a sudden influx of Malaysians coming to Singapore
    unless they can find a good paying job in Singapore or JE.

On the contrary, I actually think that more Singaporeans and MY PR might actually choose to live in Malaysia as a result of HSR, not the other way round.

That is the reason why I think the property prices in the West and JURONG will crash!

Quote Originally Posted by Jaydenlim View Post
    Singapore cost of living is much higher than Malaysia so unlikely we are going to see a sudden influx of Malaysians coming to Singapore
    unless they can find a good paying job in Singapore or JE.

On the contrary, I actually think that more Singaporeans and MY PR might actually choose to live in Malaysia as a result of HSR, not the other way round.

That is the reason why I think the property prices in the West and JURONG will crash!
    Here we go again.

Spitting saga, OCR tenant profile problem. Your message: sell your West / Jurong / OCR property, stake all you can in FH CCR property.

People suggest HSR offers an outlet for some to consider Malaysia property. Your message: West and Jurong will crash, stake all you can in FH CCR property.

Can don't analyze problems so simplistically and with such a heavily colored lens?

Here we go again.

Spitting saga, OCR tenant profile problem. Your message: sell your West / Jurong / OCR property, stake all you can in FH CCR property.

People suggest HSR offers an outlet for some to consider Malaysia property. Your message: West and Jurong will crash, stake all you can in FH CCR property.

Can don't analyze problems so simplistically and with such a heavily colored lens?
    I agree that his views are polarised. Let's not have a crab in bucket mentality.

Just because someone else is earning doesn't deprive u of a chance to earn. Jurong is going to grow much like the rest of Singapore, maybe faster than some areas. It doesn't matter what you or we say.

I'm not vested but like I said, find your own goal n some should stop complaining that the grapes are sour.

Here we go again.

Rents in the west will rise as a result of jobs creation and job migration and this will elevate the property prices for many years to come. And obviously we already know that hsr is not a feasible transport mode for daily commute between work school and home. However it will be great transport mode for short weekend get away to Malaysia. So for expats and residents living in the west it will become feasible to own a weekend home in Malaysia

Expert figure quite close to ballpark figure, indicating the target passengers' profile.

http://www.straitstimes.com/news/sin...-tickets-cost-

There was no hint of the capacity either although the think tanks would have had some high level analysis done past few months.

I noticed that for other modes, it is the current prices and that mentioned for HSR is just the perceived COST without considering profit margins.

Based on the pricing of the other modes, the base price at current levels should by in the region of S$138-S$168 SG-KL for a 'economy' seat.

If it runs every 3 hours (on time and no breakdowns ), then the timings will help to determine the station throughput.

What may the breakeven be?

There was no hint of the capacity either although the think tanks would have had some high level analysis done past few months.

I noticed that for other modes, it is the current prices and that mentioned for HSR is just the perceived COST without considering profit margins.

Based on the pricing of the other modes, the base price at current levels should by in the region of S$138-S$168 SG-KL for a 'economy' seat.

If it runs every 3 hours (on time and no breakdowns ), then the timings will help to determine the station throughput.

What may the breakeven be?
    Only smarties have the answer.

But considering the "remote" possibility of the KL link to Thailand and China or other parts of Southeast Asia, I feel we can rest assured that the price will be a sensible and reasonable one.

xebay11 is offline New Launch Project Specialist

Property prices can appreciate two ways, one in capital value, or in rental values. Property prices may or may not rise in the West, but I believe rents will very likely increase, so many Singaporeans can rent out their West properties for good value and cross over to MY / JB to stay with the appreciated currency.
    Quote Originally Posted by polarinda View Post
    Like i said, i can live in London now with my child in an international school but that would mean my Spore end of the business chain has to be somehow diverted there.
    Living in JB is for convenience
    What a pathetic excuse for an inbred retard bringing up successive generations of retarded offspring who need to attend play school instead of a real school, runs a kachang puteh business and whole family have to stay in backwater JB for convenience.

Well done!!!!

My wife owns her own boutique lines. She has more balls......
    Contradictions, contradictions, polarinda proudly tells the world he owns 10 properties internationally and yet the "wife" with balls must still work.......oh yah maybe he eats soft rice and the "wife" wears the pants in the house too.

My wife has guts, polarinda's has balls.....

xebay11 is offline New Launch Project Specialist

Only smarties have the answer.

But considering the "remote" possibility of the KL link to Thailand and China or other parts of Southeast Asia, I feel we can rest assured that the price will be a sensible and reasonable one.
    Dun be surprised if the HSR may evaporate into a pipe dream.
    Like i said, i can live in London now with my child in an international school but that would mean my Spore end of the business chain has to be somehow diverted there.
    Living in JB is for convenience
    What a pathetic excuse for an inbred retard bringing up successive generations of retarded offspring who need to attend play school instead of a real school, runs a kachang puteh business and whole family have to stay in backwater JB for convenience.

Well done!!!!

My wife owns her own boutique lines. She has more balls......
    Contradictions, contradictions, polarinda proudly tells the world he owns 10 properties internationally and yet the "wife" with balls must still work.......oh yah maybe he eats soft rice and the "wife" wears the pants in the house too.

My wife has guts, polarinda's has balls.....