Page 11 of 14 FirstFirst ... 67891011121314 LastLast

Thread: Vue 8 Residences

Quote Originally Posted by pmet View Post
    Yes, want to make money, one mustn't follow the crowd. If one buys due to pressure, that's following the crowd. Now the majority must repent. However, since he's not out to make money, he doesn't have to think this way. Just like why I bought 3 units @ J Gateway and returned 2 immediately after announcement of TDSR.
    Isn't that J Gate price get jacked up a lot since the launch?
    I think you will be richer by now if you still hold the 3 units (believed you're already rich since you could grab 3 units at the same time).....

Past few years, price was sky high because there are many people grabbing few units at the same time then resale it to flip the profits.

How nice to have capital. More capital also means more bargaining power and more choices. Complying also to the theory the rich get richer .....

Quote Originally Posted by Yuki View Post
    Many people buy for various reasons.

That being said...after reading so many comments by so many forummers here...A general feeling is that parking the money in a property is still better than let it rot in the bank?

So if the price dipped by 10% or even 20%, doesn't it still translate to rotten even more away compared to placing in bank??

Someone also shared views that mass printing of money means that money getting smaller...so the price we paid is not overpriced?

Your view pls.

Nonetheless...lastly, just to share after undergoing 2 deaths in my family...I feel that placing too much emphasis on the tangible asserts we have is not healthy.

Lost sight of many things in live.

Something to ponder...

If you only have 10 years to live...I doubt you want to wait for another 5 years just so for the price to start correcting before you start sharing your life with your loved one.

No one can predict what will happen. Today, tomorrow or in near future.

No one...so just focus on what you have at hand.
    It makes more sense to leave money in the bank for the SHORT TERM if the market is not favourable for property investment.

Say you put $1m in the bank to earn 1% interest (interest earned is $10,000) is still better than buying a $1m property and its value reduces by 20% in a year time. Put it another way, if you could buy the same property for $800K instead of $1m, you actually save or earn 200K. So losing 200K is certainly worst off than gaining $10k in bank interest. Buying at the wrong side of the property cycle can be very costly.

When people say putting money in the bank to rot, just smile. You know what you are doing.

Money printing is just another monetary policy to fix the crippled economies. It affects interest rate, exchange rate, inflation/deflation, unemployment etc etc etc. It causes asset bubble and inflation and can become unsustainable if not manage properly. If it cause asset inflation, removing it should have the opposite effect by logical reasoning.

If you are 30 something, you need to plan longer. You will experience a few more property cycles. You have time on your side to learn and make better decisions. If you can really be happy with what you have now, than move on with your decision and live happily. Do not be too upset with your falling asset prices.

Quote Originally Posted by Amber Woods View Post
    It makes more sense to leave money in the bank for the SHORT TERM if the market is not favourable for property investment.

Say you put $1m in the bank to earn 1% interest (interest earned is $10,000) is still better than buying a $1m property and its value reduces by 20% in a year time. Put it another way, if you could buy the same property for $800K instead of $1m, you actually save or earn 200K. So losing 200K is certainly worst off than gaining $10k in bank interest. Buying at the wrong side of the property cycle can be very costly.

When people say putting money in the bank to rot, just smile. You know what you are doing.

Money printing is just another monetary policy to fix the crippled economies. It affects interest rate, exchange rate, inflation/deflation, unemployment etc etc etc. It causes asset bubble and inflation and can become unsustainable if not manage properly. If it cause asset inflation, removing it should have the opposite effect by logical reasoning.

If you are 30 something, you need to plan longer. You will experience a few more property cycles. You have time on your side to learn and make better decisions. If you can really be happy with what you have now, than move on with your decision and live happily. Do not be too upset with your falling asset prices.
    Yes indeed makes sense.

Let's say..how about long term?

In 10 years time..after buying now at the 'wrong' cycle?

Quote Originally Posted by IsaacTan View Post
    Isn't that J Gate price get jacked up a lot since the launch?
    I think you will be richer by now if you still hold the 3 units (believed you're already rich since you could grab 3 units at the same time).....

Past few years, price was sky high because there are many people grabbing few units at the same time then resale it to flip the profits.

How nice to have capital. More capital also means more bargaining power and more choices. Complying also to the theory the rich get richer .....
    Think all of us here are rich at some point of time. I've not seen any profitable flips @ J Gateway. I made a calculated move and decided that it wouldn't be profitable in the mid term for me to hold the other 2 units. Anyway, I'm in for long term investment and not after peanut gains from flipping (although I must admit that I've flipped several properties in the past and they barely made me any money). I'm holding the PH for own stay and not thinking of liquidating even if there's a huge profit on paper, and I certainly won't think about the loss.

My point is, I certainly won't follow the crowd for investments and prefer to go against it. But for own stay, if I get my choice unit, anything is ok.
    Last edited by pmet; 12-06-14 at 23:30.

Yes indeed makes sense.

Let's say..how about long term?

In 10 years time..after buying now at the 'wrong' cycle?
    Sure make money, but you make much less than those who bought at the right time. Ask those who bought during 1997, how much have they made after interest? Compare those who bought after the AFC.

Think all of us here are rich at some point of time. I've not seen any profitable flips @ J Gateway. I made a calculated move and decided that it wouldn't be profitable in the mid term for me to hold the other 2 units. Anyway, I'm in for long term investment and not after peanut gains from flipping (although I must admit that I've flipped several properties in the past and they barely made me any money). I'm holding the PH for own stay and not thinking of liquidating even if there's a huge profit on paper, and I certainly won't think about the loss.
    U tend to let go too soon. JG will hit new high upon TOP.

Quote Originally Posted by hyenergix View Post
    You have potential to be king of gambler @ MBS or RWS. Flipping for peanut is not my idea of making money. Too much risk for too little money.

Quote Originally Posted by hyenergix View Post
    Agreed because Jurong will be the next town in future....

You have potential to be king of gambler @ MBS or RWS. Flipping for peanut is not my idea of making money. Too much risk for too little money.
    Thanks for compliment. Not sure what inspired you to book 3 units in e first place.

JLD will take a few more years to grow its commercial aspect. ERP gantries are politically sensitive to install but have been recently placed closer to JLD. They are a sign of what are coming.

I'm not vested directly in JLD.

But to date, did VUE8 unit drop below your purchased price with the same floor size?
    You have bought during the early bird launching? Should have some early bird discount for you to ride through this down cycle.....
    No..no price drop ...pls dun misunderstand.

Am just lamenting how frustrating these few years. Buy liao read how people hoped for the crash etc etc made me very negative towards everything relating to property purchase nowadays.

I always thought buying house is a happy affair.

From what we had experienced so far for these years...n how the senior old birds said we..especially genuine homebuyers at this stage.. should have expected it..lose money..reinforced this view. Thats all.

Quote Originally Posted by yl View Post
    No..no price drop ...pls dun misunderstand.

Am just lamenting how frustrating these few years. Buy liao read how people hoped for the crash etc etc made me very negative towards everything relating to property purchase nowadays.

I always thought buying house is a happy affair.

From what we had experienced so far for these years...n how the senior old birds said we..especially genuine homebuyers at this stage.. should have expected it..lose money..reinforced this view. Thats all.
    Agreed....i were quite neutral on this. Do not wish the price to crash nor the spike sky high.
    I just wish the price to grow healthily. At least we knew the thing that we bought actually worth something even though it was just on paper.

Rich people like "pmet" that could afford buying 2 -3 houses in 1 shot was really jacking up the price..... LOL

From home n decor

http://www.homeanddecor.com.sg/blogs...tional-schools

PROPERTY: Investing Near International Schools
    20 Feb 2014 09:56

By Stella Thng

Savvy investors have long been clued in on this fact: Just as Singaporean homeowners like buying a property near a good school, many expats with school-going kids prefer a home near an international educational institution, too. Schools form a vital part of a foreign community’s backbone, especially for those arriving in a strange new land with little ones.

Besides appreciating the convenience of shorter travelling times to school, especially during morning peak hours, expats also find it easier to meet and bond with other families from the same community, with kids who attend the same educational institutions.

Interestingly, most local investors don’t consider proximity to an international school a top priority. Traditionally, investors prefer to buy near MRT stations and good amenities to cater to a wider expat crowd. However, real estate agents agree that being close to international schools is certainly a plus if you want to attract expat families with a bigger budget. Here’s what you need to know.

EXPATS WITH FAMILIES ARE WILLING TO PAY – FOR THE RIGHT HOME
    It’s true that many expats are hired on local terms or given a smaller housing allowance these days. However, those who can afford to uproot their family and relocate to Singapore usually hold more senior posts and thus have bigger budgets. Some are on a corporate lease, which is often more generous than a personal lease, says Richard Choke, a consultant from expat specialist Citiprop Property Management. He recently helped a British family look for a suitable house in Portsdown Road. “Their key criteria is to stay close to Tanglin Trust School,” says Richard, who worked with a budget of $10,000 to $12,000 per month.

Eric Leow, a corporate accounts director with Meyzer Properties, has eight years’ experience working with expats. He says: “As long as there is a good and reliable school bus service to and from school for the kids, seasoned expats value other factors just as much – community support in an expat neighbourhood, amenities that cater to their lifestyle, and convenient public transport including taxis and the MRT.”

EXPAT FAMILIES PREFER HOMES WITH AT LEAST TWO BEDROOMS
    Leave the shoebox units to the swinging single or yuppie couple. “Most expat families with one or two children rent condominium apartments with at least two bedrooms, unless their accommodation allowance is generous enough for a house,” shares Richard. “Many also want a spare room as a guestroom for visiting family and friends, or a study or play room for their children.”

Case in point: The British family he works with is currently staying in a condominium. After two years there, they’re now looking for a four-bedroom landed property with a pool and garden so the family of five, their large pet dog and domestic helper can all enjoy more space.

LEASEHOLD OR FREEHOLD MAKES NO DIFFERENCE TO THE TENANT
    A 999-year or freehold property usually fetches a premium over its 99-year counterpart when you are buying or selling. But for the expat tenant, that doesn’t make any difference, points out Richard. What expat families look for are convenience and the facilities your condo offers. Got a tight budget? If you are investing primarily for rental yield, it may make more sense to stretch your dollar with at least a two-bedroom unit in a 99-year project with a nice pool, playground, barbecue pits and gym, rather than a freehold walkup apartment without any facilities.

REMEMBER THAT KIDS COME WITH THE PACKAGE
    Some landlords are fussy about keeping their hardwood floor unscratched or their walls pristine, and may prefer not to rent to families with young children. If you are targeting expat families, this may be part of the deal. “The good news is that families tend to make more loyal tenants,” says Richard, who knows of several clients who have renewed their lease as they were comfortable with their home, neighbourhood and landlord.

They are also more willing to pay a reasonable increase in rent, unlike single or coupled expats who may shop around more for cheaper deals. Shernice Gow, marketing director of Century 21 Alliancz Real Estate, notes: “If they’re happy and comfortable, expats with families would rather pay a bit more than spend time and money looking for another apartment and hiring a mover.”

KNOW THE PROS AND CONS OF RENTING TO STUDENTS
    If you have a condo apartment near tertiary institutions such as NUS and NTU, you may attract foreign students who prefer to pool their funds and rent a nicer place instead of living in a hostel. However, some landlord worries include loud noise (which might annoy the neighbours) and poor maintenance.

Others are wary that the students may secretly sublet to friends so as to split the rent between more people. More people means more wear and tear, too. On the plus side, if you are willing to rent to students, you will always have a steady stream of tenants as long as the school doesn’t move location. Chances are they’ll also be somewhat less picky about the condition of your property.

Home n decor

http://www.homeanddecor.com.sg/blogs...ental-property

PROPERTY: Get most out of your rental property
    06 Feb 2014 08:30

By Stella Thng

Many of us dream of having a “1+1”, i.e. owning your home in addition to a second property to let for passive income. The key thing about letting your property is, of course, to get as much rental yield as possible. Who should you target: families or singles? Western or Asian expats? Is it always necessary to furnish your unit? Here’s what the experts say.

PRICE IT RIGHT
    Correct pricing is the most important factor in ensuring you don’t waste precious months waiting for a tenant willing to pay what you’re asking (which may be out of line with the market). Do check with a few property agents about what apartments in your condo are going for, and what your target market is willing to pay. Gone are the days when expats lived the high life and picked the fanciest apartment possible just because they could simply charge it to their company’s account. These days, many are given a fixed housing allowance; some may even be hired on local terms without the allowance.

“For single professionals, paying slightly over $2,000 a month on a small apartment is the norm these days. Those on a lower budget may rent a room or share an apartment with friends,” says Shernice Gow, marketing director at Century 21 Alliancz Real Estate.

Older expats, who are likely to hold higher positions in companies, tend to have fatter budgets. Some are lucky enough to be on a corporate lease. This stable, lucrative arrangement is what most landlords dream of. Experienced landlord Jimmy Ng, for example, has a two-bedroom unit at The Sail which fetches a decent $7,000 on a corporate lease.

KNOW YOUR TARGET AUDIENCE
    Whether you are targeting tenants of a particular professional class or nationality, singles or families, it pays to know what they need and want. “Singaporeans renting a home tend to stay in the heartlands regardless of where they work because they prefer the bigger size and lower prices,” says Sabestian Mak, a property agent with ERA Realty Network. “However, for expats, it’s all about the right location and unit that best matches their needs and budget.”

Families usually prefer a condominium near to the international schools, with family-friendly facilities such as barbecue pits and a pool for the kids. They’re also hungry for space, especially expats who’ve moved here from Dubai and are used to roomy mansions. “No shoebox units for them – they usually want at least three bedrooms,” says Shernice.

The savvy agent also shares an interesting tip: Should you raise the rent, families usually don’t mind forking out a little more to avoid the hassle of scouting around for another apartment and paying for a mover. While a unit in a prime location is always attractive, families don’t mind not being in the heart of the action as long as the project has facilities that suit the family. “In fact, some prefer not to stay too close to the office. Many like areas such as Novena, Balestier, Toa Payoh or even Tiong Bahru – just four or five stops on an MRT line to their workplace in town. “Unlike singles who like staying near pubs or shopping malls, families tend to look for supermarkets and good food nearby,” says Sabestian.

Singles, especially those who travel frequently for work, want a fuss-free arrangement. They come in with just their suitcases and usually require a fully furnished apartment, says Benjamin Heng, associate marketing director at Propnex.

Owners leasing out shoebox units should furnish it fully to attract such busy singles. They like staying near work, which could be in the suburbs near a business park in Changi or Jurong. Single male tenants in particular prize convenience and a nice environment. “They don’t mind paying more, even if the place is small,” says Shernice. Top must-haves for them include being near an MRT station and food outlets since they don’t usually cook. So, it’s even more attractive if there’s a 7-Eleven in the vicinity. “However, singles are more price-sensitive than families. They can move around every year if they spot a more attractive deal.”

Sabestian also notes that some young expats under 35 prefer condos in central areas such as Clarke Quay, Orchard, Newton and Novena. “Although the rent they pay can get them a bigger unit in the suburbs, they don’t mind living in a smaller place if it’s closer to town and within their budget.”

So, before you leap into that million-dollar investment, ask yourself: Where is your property located? Does it have lifestyle facilities, and is it located close to amenities and schools popular with the type of tenant you are targeting? One landlord with a unit in a condo with a large Japanese community even got her agent to co-broke it with Japanese agents, and managed to lease out her apartment to a Japanese expat family within a week for a better-than-average rental.

When all’s said and done, your property’s location and the rental you’re asking for are still the key considerations for most tenants. Before you start targeting tenants, take a good, honest look at your property and what you have to offer.

Came across these while browsing Home and Decor. Enjoy!

Thanks..

There were 13 transactions in may..but only 1 logged the caveat with ura. That means most probably 12 buyers paid fully in case...wow..

May be teachers from OFS?

Quote Originally Posted by Rockstone View Post
    There will be more Ang mo families in Pasir Ris in future.

Btw, any local families have sent their child to International School for education instead of going to local school?

Does OFS accept local? What is the school fees like?

This project is under valued. ..think most not so savvy investors only prized projects next to mrt.

To cite an example...do you know how much an ofs kindergarten teacher makes?

Positions for Early Childhood Teachers to start 1st August 2014.

The OFS Kindergarten is seeking enthusiastic Teachers, with Bachelor degree in Education and Recent Early Childhood qualifications and experience, for full time teaching positions. IB/PYP experience especially useful.

OFS will move to its exciting new Pasir Ris facility in August 2015, and this is an opportunity to join our team. (see ‘New Campus’ on this website).

Terms of employment:

2 year contracts
    School hours: 9.00 am - 3.30 pm
    Teacher Duty hours: 8.30 am - 4.00 pm
    Academic Year 180 days per annum
    Overseas Teacher applications are welcome (package includes airfares, relocation expenses and accommodation)
    Attractive terms of employment
    Current Kindergarten Salary Scale ( Per month based on years of experience)

1 or 2 years S$ 6,700.00
    3 or 4 years S$ 7,300.00
    5 or 6 years S$ 7,800.00
    7 or 8 years
    S$ 8,500.00

9 plus S$ 9,000.00

They make some serious money ok.

My pay really peanuts compared to a kindergarten teacher. Really wrong line.

The investors this project damn smart. Why only look at mrt when u have a big pool of very rich tenants literally next door?

Wink

This project is under valued. ..think most not so savvy investors only prized projects next to mrt.

To cite an example...do you know how much an ofs kindergarten teacher makes?

Positions for Early Childhood Teachers to start 1st August 2014.

The OFS Kindergarten is seeking enthusiastic Teachers, with Bachelor degree in Education and Recent Early Childhood qualifications and experience, for full time teaching positions. IB/PYP experience especially useful.

OFS will move to its exciting new Pasir Ris facility in August 2015, and this is an opportunity to join our team. (see ‘New Campus’ on this website).

Terms of employment:

2 year contracts
    School hours: 9.00 am - 3.30 pm
    Teacher Duty hours: 8.30 am - 4.00 pm
    Academic Year 180 days per annum
    Overseas Teacher applications are welcome (package includes airfares, relocation expenses and accommodation)
    Attractive terms of employment
    Current Kindergarten Salary Scale ( Per month based on years of experience)

1 or 2 years S$ 6,700.00
    3 or 4 years S$ 7,300.00
    5 or 6 years S$ 7,800.00
    7 or 8 years
    S$ 8,500.00

9 plus S$ 9,000.00

They make some serious money ok.

My pay really peanuts compared to a kindergarten teacher. Really wrong line.

The investors this project damn smart. Why only look at mrt when u have a big pool of very rich tenants literally next door?
    Aiya Yuki...dont . Every field got its own talent. As people always say " Hang Hang chu zhuang yuen"

Honestly speaking, their pay was higher than most engineers and equivalent to some managers.

Wow, so Stratum and VUE8 will be like hot cake. Actually can tell because the selling rate suddenly spike up after the announcement of OFS.
    But after the announcement of TDSR, saw the price drop by about $40psf......

Good for you that you own a unit with Vue8

Aiya Yuki...dont . Every field got its own talent. As people always say " Hang i manaHang chu zhuang yuen"

Honestly speaking, their pay was higher than most engineers and equivalent to some managers.

Wow, so Stratum and VUE8 will be like hot cake. Actually can tell because the selling rate suddenly spike up after the announcement of OFS.
    But after the announcement of TDSR, saw the price drop by about $40psf......

Good for you that you own a unit with Vue8
    I managerial but pay cant be compared to a kindergarten teacher...how to not dui??

I didnt eye this area. .my mum did. as long she likes the area can liao.

Where to look at how much price has fallen? $40 psf is a lot. $30k for a two bedder n 40k for a three bedder n so on.

I prefer tenants near schools coz they tend to take care of the units better. For those units near mrt ones. .tenants most likely be mixture single. .couple students you name it. Although bigger pool but unlikely the tenants for long term.
    The upkeep of such units will be sn issue.

I managerial but pay cant be compared to a kindergarten teacher...how to not dui??

I didnt eye this area. .my mum did. as long she likes the area can liao.

Where to look at how much price has fallen? $40 psf is a lot. $30k for a two bedder n 40k for a three bedder n so on.

I prefer tenants near schools coz they tend to take care of the units better. For those units near mrt ones. .tenants most likely be mixture single. .couple students you name it. Although bigger pool but unlikely the tenants for long term.
    The upkeep of such units will be sn issue.

But those pay they assume was for EXPAT....Ang Mo mah...So, dont dui.
    Dunno is it true or not people always tend to think expat can do a better job than local

Good that your dearest mum bought a unit.Then she could harvest the income very soon.

For the pricing, actually i just refer to propertyguru. Comparatively on the request price, it actually dropped slightly compare to few months back.

But those pay they assume was for EXPAT....Ang Mo mah...So, dont dui.
    Dunno is it true or not people always tend to think expat can do a better job than local

Good that your dearest mum bought a unit.Then she could harvest the income very soon.

For the pricing, actually i just refer to propertyguru. Comparatively on the request price, it actually dropped slightly compare to few months back.
    By Dec 2015, the takeup rate of the real estate in Singapore should pick up. Think the OSF also have students from the ASEAN countries.

http://www.joneslanglasalleblog.com/...an-real-estate

"AEC 2015 And Its Impact On ASEAN Real Estate
    June 5th, 2013 by Dr. Chua Yang Liang
    The Association of South East Asian Nations (ASEAN) comprises ten diverse nations with a myriad of languages and cultures, and has been around since 1967. In November 2007, the ASEAN leaders adopted the ASEAN Economic Blueprint – a master plan to guide the integration of the regional economies into a single market and production base – and agreed to the establishment of the ASEAN Economic Community (AEC) by 2015. If this is achieved, it provides businesses with seamless access to a market of over 600 million people – 8% of the world’s population – living in a land area of 4.46 million sq km. From the real estate perspective, this integration could improve regional connectivity in terms of investment in roads and rail transport networks, and further the growth of the local urban development and real estate markets.

The AEC goal of enhancing the mobility of skilled labour will be the catalyst for the exchange of best practices across ASEAN. Urban design and development will benefit from these exchanges. Greater innovation is expected as the mature cities move up the value chain, as rising pressure from limited and costly land and labour resources force these mature cities to increase their productivity in terms of construction processes and building efficiency. The construction industry will rely more on labour sourced within rather than outside ASEAN.

The primary concern of companies and investors is to maximise profits and reduce costs. Therefore, areas with lower production costs will draw lower-end production away from costlier regions. The recent outflow of industrial production from China into the emerging markets of Myanmar, Vietnam and Cambodia and the outsourcing of backroom support functions from Singapore to the Philippines are some examples. The industrial assets in higher-cost regions such as Malaysia, Thailand and Singapore will undergo adaptive reuse if not redevelopment, focusing on providing higher value-added products and services while the new industrial estates in the Cambodia, Laos, Myanmar and Vietnam will support lower-end production. As more manufacturers relocate to ASEAN, the demand for industrial and logistic properties should consequentially increase.

Should such a single production base prove successful, the elimination of tariffs on goods and services within ASEAN members will increase the region’s overall economic growth and wealth. The next change could come from the shifting consumption pattern accompanying higher disposable income. There will be more manufacturing and services as investors take advantage of the tariff free region and consumption within ASEAN rises. We already see this happening, especially in Indonesia. The retail market is undergoing a transformation, as consumers armed with higher income are demanding more of a lifestyle-centric shopping experience.

Lastly, with greater ease of capital flow and investments, the level of real estate investment activity is expected to rise in the untapped South East Asian markets as investor appetite grows. The level of capital flow in ASEAN is also likely to rise as and when regulatory barriers are removed.

About the author
    Yang Liang Chua is Head of Research for Singapore and South East Asia at Jones Lang LaSalle."

From Realising the
    Asean Economic
    Community in 2015 Opportunities for occupiers and investors

"Cross-border real estate investment within the ASEAN region has been concentrated
    around Singapore, both as the largest recipient of cross-border investment flows
    in the region, but also as the main investor itself within the ASEAN region
    . These
    figures are slightly misleading given the number of institutional investors based out
    of Singapore (deploying capital originating from throughout the world). However
    the transparent and liquid Singaporean market has certainly been seen as a relative
    “safe haven” when compared to some of the additional risks elsewhere.
    As the AEC targets are met, the aim of strengthening capital market integration
    across the region will boost real estate investment, while bilateral tax agreements
    between all the member states will improve transparency and reduce risk.

As capital is more efficiently allocated across the ASEAN countries, and raising
    capital across borders becomes easier, we expect investment volumes to increase
    and pricing to become more straightforward.
    The opportunities therefore for intra-ASEAN investors and for external investors
    looking for exposure into this growing market are significant.
    "

Quote Originally Posted by Amber Woods View Post

Very interesting.

1. It makes more sense to leave money in the bank for the SHORT TERM if the market is not favourable for property investment. Agree sound logical.

2. Say you put $1m in the bank to earn 1% interest (interest earned is $10,000) is still better than buying a $1m property and its value reduces by 20% in a year time. Put it another way, if you could buy the same property for $800K instead of $1m, you actually save or earn 200K. So losing 200K is certainly worst off than gaining $10k in bank interest. Buying at the wrong side of the property cycle can be very costly. Disagree don't sound logical.

Property is about leverage.

Depend on the leverage, your risk and return are different.

Cannot visualise someone who have SGD 1,000,000 put in the bank to earn 1 % interest and wait for durian to fall also don't think can get 1%.

3. When people say putting money in the bank to rot, just smile. You know what you are doing. Wonder how to put money in the bank to rot only know put money in the ground can rot.

4. Money printing is just another monetary policy to fix the crippled economies. It affects interest rate, exchange rate, inflation/deflation, unemployment etc etc etc. It causes asset bubble and inflation and can become unsustainable if not manage properly. If it cause asset inflation, removing it should have the opposite effect by logical reasoning. Don't agree, not logical.

Money printing was started when US remove the World from Gold standard.

After the Second World War, a system similar to a gold standard and sometimes described as a "gold exchange standard" was established by the Bretton Woods Agreements. Under this system, many countries fixed their exchange rates relative to the U.S. dollar and central banks could exchange dollar holdings into gold at the official exchange rate of $35 per ounce; this option was not available to firms or individuals. All currencies pegged to the dollar thereby had a fixed value in terms of gold.[4]

Starting in the 1959-1969 administration of President Charles de Gaulle and continuing until 1970, France reduced its dollar reserves, exchanging them for gold at the official exchange rate, reducing US economic influence. This, along with the fiscal strain of federal expenditures for the Vietnam War and persistent balance of payments deficits, led US President Richard Nixon to end international convertibility of the dollar to gold on August 15, 1971 (the "Nixon Shock").

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gold_standard

http://news.efinancialcareers.com/sg...-in-hong-kong/

How bankers’ children are stopping bankers shifting to jobs in Hong Kong
    by Simon Mortlock

11 April 2014
    The children of senior bankers are hampering their parents’ plans to relocate to Hong Kong.

When global banks in Hong Kong want to hire or transfer overseas-based candidates who have children, a shortage of places in the territory’s private schools is increasingly thwarting the move, according to delegates at the recent eFinancialCareers roundtable discussion for senior HR professionals in Hong Kong.

“Not being able to get their kids into school now trumps pollution as the number-one reason why we can’t get people to work for us here,” said one of the roundtable attendees, all of whom asked not to be named in this report.

Related articles:
    Investment banks in Asia hiring ‘washed out’ traders for compliance roles, doubling pay
    Behold the banks in Asia that buy out deferred bonuses with cash guarantees
    Big banks in Asia make surprise confession: “We’re not cutting back on agency recruiters”

While the Hong Kong banking sector’s reliance on foreign talent is in long-term decline, largely thanks to a growing need for Mandarin-language skills and Chinese market knowledge, banks still need to plug skill shortages with foreign candidates, especially in sought-after sectors like compliance and for senior management roles that don’t demand local expertise. International banks also routinely try to shift Singapore-based staff, who have already clocked up Asian experience, into Hong Kong to meet spikes in demand for their skills.

But, according to several roundtable delegates, more and more bankers are refusing to make such a move. “These days, with locals filling most junior roles, it’s mainly senior people we try to relocate. At that level they often have families and as a rule, their families would rather live in Singapore,” said a roundtable attendee from an investment bank. “It’s not just that apartments tend to be bigger over in Singapore and there’s less pollution – try finding a school place for two or three kids in Hong Kong. It’s a big problem; we are losing candidates purely because of schools,” he added.

While the high cost of living in Singapore is dissuading some Western-based candidates from moving there in the first place, those making a straight choice between it and Hong Kong are increasingly opting for Singapore. Internationals schools in the city state are expensive and in high-demand, but the shortage of places is not as acute as it is in Hong Kong. “Both are high-cost, low-tax cities, so they largely cancel each other out in terms of any financial advantage – that’s why factors like schools make such a huge difference,” bemoaned a delegate from another investment bank in Hong Kong.

Banking employees are competing for school places with staff from other sectors whose companies are expanding their headcounts in Hong Kong to tap the mainland China market. As demand for an English-language education rises, international schools in Hong Kong haven’t been able to cope with a record number of applicants, according to a statement released earlier this month from research firm International School Consultancy Group. Global schools in Hong Kong will face a shortfall of 4,203 places for primary-level students alone in 2016-2017, according to Bloomberg.

Banks can’t help you
    Lucrative expat benefits packages were consigned to history in 2008 after the financial crisis, so banks in Hong Kong no longer fund “debentures” – down-payments that secure school places. “My message to candidates is that they must now realise that we can’t open doors into schools for them,” said an HR professional from a regional corporate bank who attended the roundtable.

She added that hiring managers at her firm have become reluctant to mention schooling during job interviews with overseas-based bankers lest this prematurely ends their candidacy. “But in HR we ask about their kids’ needs at the start to avoid the trouble of an offer falling through at the last minute.”

A European bank in Hong Kong is offering beleaguered parents a ray of hope. “Because of the delays in people getting their kids into schools here, we now allow more time – usually six to nine months – for an internal transfer into Hong Kong to take place,” said a representative from the bank at the roundtable.

http://www.relocatemagazine.com/relo...l-places/1287/

Hong Kong: Critical shortage of international school places
    According to new figures this week, the shortage of school places in Hong Kong international schools has now reached crisis point.

Rebecca Marriage 2 APRIL 2014
    VIEWS: 1636

inShare

Demand for quality international school places still far outstrips supply in Hong Kong. In figures released this week by the International School Consultancy Group, it has become clear that global businesses in Hong Kong, dependent on employee mobility, are seriously concerned that they will not be able to recruit expatriate staff with families.

Hong Kong’s leading international schools are operating at full capacity and many have waiting lists, says ISC. Several schools are already expanding or have plans for expansion, and a number of new school developments are in the pipeline.

Work is about to begin on the expansion of Hong Kong International School; a HK$900m redevelopment plan in Repulse Bay which will provide 200 additional places when construction is complete in 2017.

But, the new school build is unlikely to make a dent in the overwhelming demand for places which is anticipated within the next few years.

Incredibly, in the space of just fourteen years, the number of students has increased by 93 per cent and the number of international schools in Hong Kong has risen from 92 (in 2000) to a current total of 171, but it is still not enough.

Expansion and development of international schools in Hong Kong is controlled by a government tender process; a process which last year, saw a staggering 40 organisations bidding for a couple of sites for new schools.

“Hong Kong international schools are looking towards a period of essential expansion and development as local families become increasingly wealthy and the expatriate market continues to expand,” says Chairman of ISC, Nicholas Brummitt. “The market needs to grow to respond to the demands.”

Looks like the school is progressing fast...

Any updates? Photos etc?

Carpark b1 for block 83, 85, 87 and 89 underway. Do you know if its 2 level basement car park for the entire site?

Should be 1 level basement car park.