Thread: West Facing Houses

Quote Originally Posted by Laguna View Post
    can forget about Amber Skye....look look ok...but not buy
    Oh, why?

Can consider using solar film on windows. I have a Northwest facing unit and even stand in the sun-lit areas in the evening (through the window), it's not hot or warm.

Quote Originally Posted by TravieJackie View Post
    Dont like Haig Court coz there's no main buses out from that road and hard to get to work if hubby doesn't drive.

Yeah, we're willing to sacrifice eateries to stay at Meyer Road since it's nearer town.

Am planning to look at Amber Skye next.
    Meyer road is good , actually. an agent told me it's "the orchard road of the east".
    heard seaview condo on amber got a lot of defects (came out in news some more).

haig court the bus stop is like 300m away, and you get a katong/eastcoast condo for 1000 psf & it's freehold. to me, it's good value. meyer road is 1800 psf.
    location is close to dunman road. dunman view is leasehold, questa & dunman regency are apartment status. And they're closer to the haig road HDBs.
    Last edited by tonymontana; 18-07-17 at 10:24.

Meyer Road and Amber Road? Just reminded me that somebody told me that they are now the "Orchard Road of Little India"?

Quote Originally Posted by tonymontana View Post
    Meyer road is good , actually. an agent told me it's "the orchard road of the east".
    heard seaview condo on amber got a lot of defects (came out in news some more).

haig court the bus stop is like 300m away, and you get a katong/eastcoast condo for 1000 psf & it's freehold. to me, it's good value. meyer road is 1800 psf.
    location is close to duman road. dunman view is leasehold, questa & dunman regency are apartment status.

Meyer Road and Amber Road? Just reminded me that somebody told me that they are now the "Orchard Road of Little India"?
    Singapore is a cosmopolitan country, it's like that. Anyway just relating what agent tells me. I would think meyer road is the bukit timah of the east, not orchard road - analogically speaking (since meyer rd has no shopping).

Hubby and ! are oth East Kua people. But dunno how to apply this life number thingy also.
    Ask him Grand Master Tan Khoon Yong.

https://www.wayfengshui.com/consulta...ofile.php?Id=1

I pay him for my 5 room HDB and life has never been the same.

Ask him Grand Master Tan Khoon Yong.

https://www.wayfengshui.com/consulta...ofile.php?Id=1

I pay him for my 5 room HDB and life has never been the same.
    how do u prove there is a direct causal effect? maybe your luck was due to change regardless of fengshui intervention anyway?
    for me, i don't believe all this. most of what FS say is logical anyway. don't face busy road, highway, facing water, behind got mountain. it's common sense.

Dont like Haig Court coz there's no main buses out from that road and hard to get to work if hubby doesn't drive.

Yeah, we're willing to sacrifice eateries to stay at Meyer Road since it's nearer town.

Am planning to look at Amber Skye next.
    Amber Skye facing is rather similar to Belvedere but it is close to MRT. Alternatively, you can try AALTO which is right opposite. There should be some North South facing ones around.

AS will be slightly less noisy than all the ECP facing condos there. Meier Suites is also pretty new and close to Belvedere if you want something quiet.

All the best in your house hunt.

how do u prove there is a direct causal effect? maybe your luck was due to change regardless of fengshui intervention anyway?
    for me, i don't believe all this. most of what FS say is logical anyway. don't face busy road, highway, facing water, behind got mountain. it's common sense.
    I also don't believe, but that time got 180K from selling my first HDB after staying for 7 years, got money don't know how to spend.

After the FS thing, have been going oversea posting until now, bought another 2 more PC.

I also don't believe, but that time got 180K from selling my first HDB after staying for 7 years, got money don't know how to spend.

After the FS thing, have been going oversea posting until now, bought another 2 more PC.
    OK la, i also won't change table if i winning at blackjack in the casino. i catch your drift. enjoy!

Doesn't believe doesn't mean it doesn't exist or it is not true............
    So simple common sense then everybody also huat lor!
    Why not take up a challenge with the Feng Shui Master and buy and live in the worst feng shui house see whether got effect or not?

https://www.facebook.com/news.ebc/vi...type=2&theater

Science will prove whether it is truth or not.

Thanks for all your feedback and advice. Have a feeling we'll be looking for a long time coz we started to find something suitable. I prefer Meyer to Amber Road too. If not, I rather head to East Coast area.

Another project that I kind of like is Meyer Residence but it's a little small though.

can you read properly my previous answer (tat you quoted) first before you rattle off your response, please. Thank you, uncle.

Thanks for all your feedback and advice. Have a feeling we'll be looking for a long time coz we started to find something suitable. I prefer Meyer to Amber Road too. If not, I rather head to East Coast area.

Another project that I kind of like is Meyer Residence but it's a little small though.
    Meyer still has the nostalgia effect despite some new developments around there.

Amber is very much different from the old and more like a concrete jungle because the plot ratio there are mostly 2.8 (except The Seaview at 2.1) with height restriction at 22 storey. Therefore, all the new developments at Amber area are rather compact.

i must say i know meyer/ amber are quite well having lived here my whole life. from meyer > jalan seaview > amber > parkway i can find my way around with my eyes closed.. haha. so let me put down some of my thoughts on the +ves and -ves of this region in the east.

of course this area is atas and the psf prices reflect that. east coast is known for being very liveable, perhaps most so in the meyer-amber area. its rather peaceful/ quiet (apart from the construction of the ERL which has made things messy - but thats another story). its accessible, so near the city, so near good food........... but only if u drive. if u dont? then u might have to walk a bit for public transport. but one hop up bus 36 and 15 min later you're at suntec. take bus 48... and 15 min later you're at bugis/ rochor. or u can take a 10 min bus ride to paya lebar MRT. so the public transport options are aplenty.

ERL.. thats another 5 yrs from today. a rather long time u might argue. but no pain no gain i guess. bear with it and at the end of the day it will be worth it.

as for meyer vs amber vs haig road.. lets see it this way. i like meyer road - the feeling driving down meyer road is not the same? its clean, neat, green, quiet, peaceful, serene.. etc but u get the drift. the condos along meyer road will vary. personally belvedere is a NO - the west sun is just too insane (but the view will be v v good). then theres meyerise which is brand new and atas as usual - but prices are high. and aalto but west sun/ noise maybe a bit of a problem at this one. or u can consider others that youve not mentioned - makena (big land, comparatively cheaper, super near tanjong katong MRT), seafront (next to belvedere), or even the fort road/ tanjong rhu ones (the line, fulcrum etc... but they're so expensive!)

amber is now a bit of a concrete jungle. but the atas feel is still there. its closer to parkway, walkable in my opinion, and also served by the future TK MRT. amber road >> amber gardens (dislike one amber/ esta for some reason - and theyre further from parkway anyway). the best "side" of amber is where the seaview is. big plot of land, very spacious, back gate is a mere 200m from parkway, and also so near the bus stop/ future marine parade MRT.

haig court - well, no. D15 it may be. but lacks that feel. feels more like D14 to me. and u already mentioned - its too far from bus stops and public amenities.

east coast condos - which ones in particular? u can consider the St patricks region in my opinion. more affordable, albeit not walking distance to parkway, but its just a 5 min bus ride away. and will be served by marine terrace MRT in the future too.

ok ive said enough! hope u find it helpful and do update us on ur plans

Wow aspirations, thanks for this post. Very clear. I agree that Meyer is better than Amber too and Hubby and I prefer it to Amber too. But Belvedere with NS facing unit still no good?

We viewed One fort which is super hot too and Belvedere has a much better layout. Fulcrum too ex for my liking. Hubby dislike Tanjong Rhu coz it's one way in and he hates the traffic.

Yeah, Haig Court feels like D14 to me too. I wouldn't mind Dunman area though since it has lotsa good food around and very near to the train station too.

We're now looking at St Patrick's region though when we did earlier on, we didn't find any project we like. Relooking into it and also East Coast area.

Well, I guess, end of day it depends on our luck. May not even get the unit we want.

How about tanjong rhu area?

Is it a good place comparing with these areas?

Quote Originally Posted by ccreporter View Post

Pebble Bay at Tanjong Rhu always feature on TV and Papers, very nice views of CBD, MBS, Kallang Basin and Sports Hub:

We're now looking at St Patrick's region though when we did earlier on, we didn't find any project we like. Relooking into it and also East Coast area.

Well, I guess, end of day it depends on our luck. May not even get the unit we want.
    Grand Duchesss @St Patrick

Quote Originally Posted by ccreporter View Post

tanjong rhu condos are all 99LH except one which is FH (can't rmb the condo name). and the 99LH ones are rather old...

and i think tanjong rhu is widely considered to be less atas than meyer/ amber. without saying it is also obviously a lot less convenient cos its pretty much a "island" with bottle neck type entry/ exit. hardly any amenities inside. and if im not wrong i think theres just 1 internal bus that serves all of it?

with the upcoming ERL tanjong rhu might be more desirable, though i still prefer meyer/ amber. my 2 cents.

Quote Originally Posted by aspirations View Post
    tanjong rhu condos are all 99LH except one which is FH (can't rmb the condo name). and the 99LH ones are rather old...

and i think tanjong rhu is widely considered to be less atas than meyer/ amber. without saying it is also obviously a lot less convenient cos its pretty much a "island" with bottle neck type entry/ exit. hardly any amenities inside. and if im not wrong i think theres just 1 internal bus that serves all of it?

with the upcoming ERL tanjong rhu might be more desirable, though i still prefer meyer/ amber. my 2 cents.
    WaterSide - FH
    Avoid all tanjong rhu 99LH....other than perhaps Pebble Bay with good bay view

Hi...actually nowadays many houses face west sun (afternoon sun) and east sun (morning sun). There are many inquires about solar films to reduce heat in their houses.

Do check out paccowindowfilm.com

We provide professional advice and information regarding window films - to reduce heat in your houses. We believe in quality and honesty...free onsite visit to educate more.

The climate is changing. The morning sun is exceedingly hot nowadays, which you wouldn't expect and wasn't the case say a decade ago.