Page 5 of 7 FirstFirst 1234567 LastLast

Thread: The Wharf Residence (D9, 999 yrs, Capitaland)

I would believe that anybody who buys luxury at today's price (especially the resale ones) probably still can see 30-40% upside in next 1-2 years (as the rich are not bounded by the income limits people usually use to justify that properties are over-priced. What is over-priced to the multi-millionaires? $50m or $10,000 psf then is over-priced to them probably?).

(1) banks have problems since jan'10 to match sellers' asking prices valuations....also
    bearish sign. Don't fight the banks. they are smarter than you. they know that there is no demand for luxury condos on the resale market.

(2) resale sellers now keep on shifting goal posts as prices of new launches keep going up.....
    it is a free country. let them keep their unoccupied condos unoccupied. Who are we to tell these guys" enough is enough, don't inflict more pain on yourself."

(3) agents not so keen to service resale market with the new launch market so hot and easy to move....sell 1 new launch 0.3% and 1 resale 1 to 1.5% is like selling 3 to 4 new equivalent to 1 resale....why not go for new launch that sell like roti prata....
    Don't fight the agents, who know that the resale market for luxury condos is not moving. they, like the banks, are smarter than you and me. bearish sign again.

(4) buyers have no time to react that the value of difference between the 2 is huge and in no time when this gap gets bigger it will push them to resale market...
    They are smarter than you are giving them credit for. They are not buying in the resale market, because they are in the market not to buy condos to live in to begin with, but rather to enjoy the thrills of gambling.

As I said, if you own a luxury condo, you are cooked. be prepared to lose 30 to 40% in the second half of the year.

I would believe that anybody who buys luxury at today's price (especially the resale ones) probably still can see 30-40% upside in next 1-2 years (as the rich are not bounded by the income limits people usually use to justify that properties are over-priced. What is over-priced to the multi-millionaires? $50m or $10,000 psf then is over-priced to them probably?).
    Ya. especially in a global financial hub (ranked 4th in world after close behind hongkong) and have least corrupt government in world and have 2 urban world class casinos and 1 world class theme park and world class conventiona centres and theatres. And one and only road in the asia with branded shopping lining both sides of a 6 lanes road...aka orchard road lah..annual gdp to hit easily 6% in 2010 and 4% in 2011...and so on and so on and can't see anything but up hah!

i was "luckier". i was invited to the preview, then thought the "from 1800psf" preview price was not even fair becoz the UOB family and friends bought their units at 15xx to 17xxpsf just the few days before. however, i think out of the 3 subsales, the other 2 did not make a huge loss or may even have made a little because they are the family and friends who maybe bought their units at 15xx or 16xx. its the VVIP preview so-called "priviledged" and after that public buyers who suffer with the 1800 to 2300psf price tags. I still think the gap from insider buyers to public for UOL is always the largest among all the developers.

We actually went to the showflat, which the developer hired buses to take investors/gamblers to. By the mountain of flip flops and slippers at the entrance, we knew we came too late. Our suspicion was confirmed when we entered. Only the maisonettes remained. the last "normal unit was sold at $2200 psf.

there have been 3 subsales since the launch, none of which were even close to the launch price. the most recent one was at $1,600.

This serves as a warning to those speculators on the market today.

i think those who want to buy really must study each individual project closely. these are fun times. the super luxury, ie 2500psf and above types should have no problems. like teddy says, for the multi-millionaires, the sky's the limit. BUT for the millionaires and wannabes, better be careful. anyhow buy something more "affordable", later end up with a dud like duchess residences.

Quote Originally Posted by saab
    Ya. especially in a global financial hub (ranked 4th in world after close behind hongkong) and have least corrupt government in world and have 2 urban world class casinos and 1 world class theme park and world class conventiona centres and theatres. And one and only road in the asia with branded shopping lining both sides of a 6 lanes road...aka orchard road lah..annual gdp to hit easily 6% in 2010 and 4% in 2011...and so on and so on and can't see anything but up hah!

Quote Originally Posted by Reporter, 11 March 2010
    Quote Originally Posted by Squall8888, 9 March 2010 3.42 pm
    IMO, 2k psf is nothing for cosmopolitan. Wait till you see the caveats of Clift and Icon. Not forgetting Sail carpark unit. And MBR stack 10. That will be stunning. I heard from agents, FEO started selling Clift again. High floor but I am surprised that they still have stock. What buyers need to do is to submit cheque for FEO to release the units. FEO forever FEO. Haha.
    You know something about The Sail at Marina Bay that we don't?
    Quote Originally Posted by Reporter, The Sail at Marina Bay, 11 March 2010 7.11 pm
    $3,413 psf?
    Wow!
    So we have finally broken the all-time-high record of $3,387 psf set on 4 April 2008?
    Yes, you are right. You did know something we don't.
    Quote Originally Posted by Reporter, Marina Bay Residences, 30 March 2010 10.55 am
    $3,500 psf for Marina Bay Residences?

Yes, "Property_Owner", you are right, . .. .. . ! 发 发 发!

Quote Originally Posted by Reporter
    Yes, you are right. You did know something we don't.
    Hey Reporter, was your big move at D9 = The Wharf Residences?

Somehow u kept us all guessing leh...

Quote Originally Posted by saab
    1 more perspective to share:-

There is no additional advantage from buying from a developer 'cos now there is no IAS or DPS....So buying from subsale and developer no difference to a buyer....only advantage for developer is really just pyschology lah...nice showflat....aggressive marketing from their agents....bank valuations....buying into the future dreams and promises etc. etc. Pyschology of why not buying from subsales is hate to let other people make money but nevermind if it is for developer to make because they are developers??? C'mon, from a buyer's perspective in actual fact why care....as long as don't go against own's pockets!
    Buy subsale if its cheaper den nearby newly launches got pitfalls..Imagine first buyers bot at 1kpsf...now let say u buy at 1.6k bcoz new projects launch at 1.8k...yes, its cheaper by 200psf...but wat if crisis hit before it TOP, i can imagine many 1st time buyers throwing their units at 1.1 to 1.2k and they still can breakeven or make some $...Its not so simple...u nid to check the history and also how many units have changed hands oredi and at wat price so as to gauge ur bottom price if crisis hit.

Too add, usually if u were to buy subsale, u may have difficulty finding a bank to match ur prices.

Buy new project, prices can still drop...but not many ppl are willing to cut big losses. and when the economy rebounds, many of them will try to sell at least at breakeven prices....so not all new projects cannot touch and not all subsale is good...
    Last edited by devilplate; 02-05-10 at 11:08.

Why are units selling ard launching prices?

Basic wish come true? FYI new launch around 1k psf and <7flr were sold <1k psf

Oic. Thot I read here someone mentioned 1.5-1.7k launching price.
    But these prices still low for this district. Ard 1.4k psf

Investors don't intend to hold esp TOP next year?

2007 launch was indeed 1.5 to 1.7k but only a few units (if any? can't remember) were taken up. re launched at bottom in mar or apr 2009 at rock bottom pricing.

Quote Originally Posted by dmon
    Oic. Thot I read here someone mentioned 1.5-1.7k launching price.
    But these prices still low for this district. Ard 1.4k psf

Investors don't intend to hold esp TOP next year?

2007 launch was indeed 1.5 to 1.7k but only a few units (if any? can't remember) were taken up. re launched at bottom in mar or apr 2009 at rock bottom pricing.
    when they relaunch during the recession, need to ballot! Wat an irony!

Btw relaunch at 1.1-1.2kpsf...

$200-300psf margin for this area sounds like a bad investment
    Investors selling before TOP next yr

I think you are referring to 2008, average is selling at 1.5kpsf, only 1 transaction at low 16xx psf. $500 psf discount of course hot till ballot!

$200-300psf margin for this area sounds like a bad investment
    Investors selling before TOP next yr
    This is not a fair assessment, it depends on entry point. It is like comparing the peak price before the recession then sell at current market price. Of course those who bot in early 08 will make peanut gains but those who bot at 1k psf can easily net 700-1mil depending on size of the unit invested

So those who bought at first launch can't break even
    Sad ?

This is not a fair assessment, it depends on entry point. It is like comparing the peak price before the recession then sell at current market price. Of course those who bot in early 08 will make peanut gains but those who bot at 1k psf can easily net 700-1mil depending on size of the unit invested
    Checking market pulse not micro assessing
    I would expect it to be near martin place or river gate prices

Checking market pulse not micro assessing
    I would expect it to be near martin place or river gate prices
    The kim yam rd area, psf prices are lower than the condos at rivervalley road like RG, MPR and SS. You can check prices for waterford, even their psf are transacted much lower

no leh. not sure was it late 07/early 08 or not, 4 years already, can't remember. but one day after the subprime burst i remembered casually walking into that temporary showflat which they built opposite rivergate and they told me 1500 to 1700psf. not a project i was keen on coz of the small land size vs no. of units and narrow pool so it didn't leave much impression.

I think you are referring to 2008, average is selling at 1.5kpsf, only 1 transaction at low 16xx psf. $500 psf discount of course hot till ballot!

no leh. not sure was it late 07/early 08 or not, 4 years already, can't remember. but one day after the subprime burst i remembered casually walking into that temporary showflat which they built opposite rivergate and they told me 1500 to 1700psf. not a project i was keen on coz of the small land size vs no. of units and narrow pool so it didn't leave much impression.
    07 I am certain no records unless no caveats being log for these 07 transactions

but the reason for that is big project with complete facilities + high rise vs boutique projects with small pools and limited other facilities + low rise with not much view.

feels like "different grade".

The kim yam rd area, psf prices are lower than the condos at rivervalley road like RG, MPR and SS. You can check prices for waterford, even their psf are transacted much lower

not necessary have transactions. it could be a case of they quoting 1700psf and everyone laughed like me so no one bite. and we all know subsequently what happened.

07 I am certain no records unless no caveats being log for these 07 transactions

when they relaunch during the recession, need to ballot! Wat an irony!

Btw relaunch at 1.1-1.2kpsf...
    that was market's price floor for buyers, just like what happened at arte and caspian. it wasn't cheap by 2004-5 standards but the buyers came in.

but the reason for that is big project with complete facilities + high rise vs boutique projects with small pools and limited other facilities + low rise with not much view.

feels like "different grade".
    That's why hor.. I cannot figure out why starlight suites same range as MPR. No wonder now still <50% sold??

haha waterford again....i offered a unit few mths before TOP.....

Biggest con is the gigantic temple and ongoing construction and super cramp siteplan.

yeah. developer is dreamy lah. lousy layout somemore. but every few months u get 1 or 2 suckers paying up for the "luxury fittings".

it has one of the factors though, by being high rise. hahahahaha.

That's why hor.. I cannot figure out why starlight suites same range as MPR. No wonder now still <50% sold??

This is correct, they sold about 11(?) 2 bedder units at 1600-1700 psf.
    During relaunch, the cheapest unit was below 1000 psf.
    However, fittings and flooring are different, eg, pine flooring (for 1700psf) vs tiles (for relaunch units)
    But I believe it can't be too much of a difference inside.

Queue was really long, in fact, it started the night before launch. Unseen during the lull period in 2009.
    This was the project that kicked off the recent boom. MPR launched about a week after wharf residence.

Quote Originally Posted by 76er
    This is correct, they sold about 11(?) 2 bedder units at 1600-1700 psf.
    During relaunch, the cheapest unit was below 1000 psf.
    However, fittings and flooring are different, eg, pine flooring (for 1700psf) vs tiles (for relaunch units)
    But I believe it can't be too much of a difference inside.

Queue was really long, in fact, it started the night before launch. Unseen during the lull period in 2009.
    This was the project that kicked off the recent boom. MPR launched about a week after wharf residence.
    i miss those days when people queue up.....LOL. it's quite funny to see people rushing to ballot their cheques....lelong lelong

When will this top? The short front units frontage are completing...

Passed by The Wharf last week when i went down to look at my property along the same stretch of road. Looks almost done. Any news of when TOP will come? Layout doesn't seem as cramped as Waterford.