Page 53 of 54 FirstFirst ... 232833384348495051525354 LastLast
Results 1,561 to 1,590 of 1591

Thread: The Raintree (D21, 99 years leasehold, Frasers Centrepoint)

Default Just bought a Gem

HI I just bought a unit in RT. I just fall in love with this place. Especially at night when i drive in to RT the dim orangy light make the place so romantic. I think no matter how old this place is, the value will still be there. Is either you hate it or you love it. I particularly love the drive from the starting of Bukit Drive to the condo itself. so Xclusive. Really beyone words can describe.

CHeers!

Congrats on your purchase. You will definitely love this place.

Quote Originally Posted by tomato47
    HI I just bought a unit in RT. I just fall in love with this place. Especially at night when i drive in to RT the dim orangy light make the place so romantic. I think no matter how old this place is, the value will still be there. Is either you hate it or you love it. I particularly love the drive from the starting of Bukit Drive to the condo itself. so Xclusive. Really beyone words can describe.

CHeers!

Welcome neighbour! I am sure you will enjoy the sanctuary nestled within the natural jungle of the concrete jungle!

Default Wallpaper

Anyone knows any wallpaper supplier cum installer besides Goodrich?

Actually most curtain makers also have collection of wallpaper and they do installation. You can try Jimmy Textiles at Tanjong Katong Complex.

Quote Originally Posted by katespade
    Anyone knows any wallpaper supplier cum installer besides Goodrich?

CHeers!
    Congrats! I love RT as well...Those units facing the reserve r lovely! Above 10th flr, u can have the fantastic view of the treetop canopy!

Just wondering, do they have mozzies problems?? In any case, we can install nettings!

CHeers!
    In Singapore context, no matter where, very soon one will be surrounded by concrete all over again. You may have superb skyline view now, one fine day there'll be a giant block right in front of you. You may have a very quiet surrounding now, one day there'll be heavy traffic running beside your house. I'm still looking for a place with that picture perfect view which last!

how long u want? 90+ yrs enuff anot?

sentosa facing open seaview...

RT greenary view aso shd be able to last for the rest of the tenure ...

Or a unit that overlooks the southern ridges....

Well, at least if I buy that LH condo for that skyview or quiet reason, it should hopefully be able to last as long as the LH period. Otherwise it doesn't make value-sense.

Quote Originally Posted by fairlady04
    Actually most curtain makers also have collection of wallpaper and they do installation. You can try Jimmy Textiles at Tanjong Katong Complex.
    Thank you! I will have a look there.

Well, at least if I buy that LH condo for that skyview or quiet reason, it should hopefully be able to last as long as the LH period. Otherwise it doesn't make value-sense.
    Well the good thing about the Raintree is that it is surrounded by the reserve, all of which are deemed as protected areas. I doubt the govt will actually do anything to change that status since the flora and fauna in the reserve are deemed as being one of the most precious specimens around in the Southeast Asia region. Likewise, it is a pretty strategic military location for the SAF, thus I am pretty sure they would not want to have too many residents milling around the hill. In fact, I doubt the RT would have existed if not for the fact that its area used to be a quarry. As such, I am pretty confident that the view is here to stay for a long while yet.

Quote Originally Posted by justsoul
    Well the good thing about the Raintree is that it is surrounded by the reserve, all of which are deemed as protected areas. I doubt the govt will actually do anything to change that status since the flora and fauna in the reserve are deemed as being one of the most precious specimens around in the Southeast Asia region. Likewise, it is a pretty strategic military location for the SAF, thus I am pretty sure they would not want to have too many residents milling around the hill. In fact, I doubt the RT would have existed if not for the fact that its area used to be a quarry. As such, I am pretty confident that the view is here to stay for a long while yet.
    so are the monkeys ..

personally i would avioid there ... my friend used to live there ...cannot tahan , had to close windows and doors all day

Why? Monkeys will climb into the house?
    Any snakes, scorpions etc? Mosquitoes prone?

so are the monkeys ..

personally i would avioid there ... my friend used to live there ...cannot tahan , had to close windows and doors all day

I reckon the monkeys are probably more of an issue to the landed properties situated at the entrance of the reserve. At the RT, the ground units are probably more susceptible to these problems, although I do not recall any incidents happening to my knowledge thus far. All in all, you are more likely to see a cat in the basement carpark compared to a monkey or snake.

Perhaps that explains the main value or selling point of the project. Still, I'm surprised at the take-up rate. The crowd it can attract is probably very narrow. For one those with family, toddlers or schooling kids, will not find this place attractive. In terms of investment value, my take is probably hard to maintain it's value, not to mention any upside potential, as not many people will be attracted to the project later, once the novelty is gone. Afterall, being city dwellers, most singaporean like to have a serene place to call home and at the same time do not want to miss out on the convenience.

when i visited her last time ..in 08 ... i was shocked and dared not go out .. there were a few monkeys by the pool area

Yup. I've heard of cases of monkeys climbing into the house to steal food. 99LH is the biggest drawback of this condo. 99LH without convenience could be a hard-sell. But the future Beauty World MRT station should be within 1km but still not exactly very near.

Perhaps that explains the main value or selling point of the project. Still, I'm surprised at the take-up rate. The crowd it can attract is probably very narrow. For one those with family, toddlers or schooling kids, will not find this place attractive. In terms of investment value, my take is probably hard to maintain it's value, not to mention any upside potential, as not many people will be attracted to the project later, once the novelty is gone. Afterall, being city dwellers, most singaporean like to have a serene place to call home and at the same time do not want to miss out on the convenience.
    Yes, you are right on the limited appeal of RT to Singaporeans; not many would view the place as an ideal home despite its obvious attractions. In fact, many of its residents belong to the expat community, thus from an investment perspective, I reckon one will still enjoy pretty decent rental yield especially considering the low psf levels that owners paid for a few years back.

As for the issue of monkeys and insects, haven't you noticed that many prime areas (esp the GCBs) are nestled within the 'rainforest' environment that we have here in Singapore (nassim, cluny, holland, etc)? I recall having witnessed several incidents involving big snakes and colorful lizards when i visited my mates at their homes in these areas. At the end of the day, it is all about adapting and living in harmony with nature. That is precisely the reason why as city dwellers, it is such a relaxing and unique opportunity to get away from the concrete jungle that we are exposed to for most part of our lives as corporate people and return to a home that is distinctively different. If you ask around, I am pretty certian that most executives will tell you that they will take a home by the lake or forest over a penthouse in the city anytime.

I am sure most Asians will tell you they will take a holiday by the lake or forest but return to penthouse in the "sky" in the city living better!
    The Ang Mo expats won't stay long here. After they live here for very long, they also "migrate" to the "houses in the sky" (aka high floor condo units).

Yes, you are right on the limited appeal of RT to Singaporeans; not many would view the place as an ideal home despite its obvious attractions. In fact, many of its residents belong to the expat community, thus from an investment perspective, I reckon one will still enjoy pretty decent rental yield especially considering the low psf levels that owners paid for a few years back.

As for the issue of monkeys and insects, haven't you noticed that many prime areas (esp the GCBs) are nestled within the 'rainforest' environment that we have here in Singapore (nassim, cluny, holland, etc)? I recall having witnessed several incidents involving big snakes and colorful lizards when i visited my mates at their homes in these areas. At the end of the day, it is all about adapting and living in harmony with nature. That is precisely the reason why as city dwellers, it is such a relaxing and unique opportunity to get away from the concrete jungle that we are exposed to for most part of our lives as corporate people and return to a home that is distinctively different. If you ask around, I am pretty certian that most executives will tell you that they will take a home by the lake or forest over a penthouse in the city anytime.

Sentosa got open seaview but IMO in future, there may be boathouses blocking their view.

can anyone tell me if there's any insect problem?
    and any monkey venturing into the condo area?

Quote Originally Posted by dmonddd
    can anyone tell me if there's any insect problem?
    and any monkey venturing into the condo area?
    I don't live here but I do send my dog to a house in the area for boarding when we go away.

It's a nice quiet area but ...
    a) there are monkeys and you can see them troupe around. Is it a problem? Not sure if it's a problem but they are around and we have seen them climb people's houses before.
    b) definitely have mosquitoes from what i can tell.
    c) weekends during the morning the parking and traffic is jialat. A lot of people come to the area to go to Bukit Timah Nature Reserve. Very packed but Raintree is quite off the main thoroughfare to the nature reserve, so maybe less affected.

Quote Originally Posted by template
    I don't live here but I do send my dog to a house in the area for boarding when we go away.

It's a nice quiet area but ...
    a) there are monkeys and you can see them troupe around. Is it a problem? Not sure if it's a problem but they are around and we have seen them climb people's houses before.
    b) definitely have mosquitoes from what i can tell.
    c) weekends during the morning the parking and traffic is jialat. A lot of people come to the area to go to Bukit Timah Nature Reserve. Very packed but Raintree is quite off the main thoroughfare to the nature reserve, so maybe less affected.
    thks
    yes weekends the rd leading to raintree has cars parked haphazardly
    anyway i see some units have insect blinds. not able to tell if the extent of insects problem....u dun want a living full of moths on the walls. otherwise jialat

Quote Originally Posted by dmonddd
    thks
    yes weekends the rd leading to raintree has cars parked haphazardly
    anyway i see some units have insect blinds. not able to tell if the extent of insects problem....u dun want a living full of moths on the walls. otherwise jialat
    not only monkeys and insects problems, the most bothersome is the humidity in this area; moldy and smell particular in ALL the closets!

Default 3 Rm Unit For Sale

Greenery view. 1270 sqft. Call to view. 98738540.

Quote Originally Posted by mkmm
    not only monkeys and insects problems, the most bothersome is the humidity in this area; moldy and smell particular in ALL the closets!
    yup monkeys can be a prob...my aunt stays 3rd story...one day monkey came in stole some food and ran off......but i love the area...so green and nice...and my cousins kind of accepted the monkey as part of the layout...

We have been hunting property for sometimes for our own stay next year. So far we haven't seen any condo like Raintree that is close to nature and nice layout. I would appreciate any feedback as this is our first property!

Quote Originally Posted by CZH View Post
    We have been hunting property for sometimes for our own stay next year. So far we haven't seen any condo like Raintree that is close to nature and nice layout. I would appreciate any feedback as this is our first property!
    U not scared monkeys come and snatch your food ah?

Quote Originally Posted by henryhk View Post
    U not scared monkeys come and snatch your food ah?
    Raintree is not near the mrt station, not so convenient, if still keen on the area, should buy near the station