Page 1 of 26 123456111621 ... LastLast

Thread: Regent Heights quite impressive

Default Regent Heights quite impressive

went to my friend's house at regent heights the other day and was really surprised by the views. From tower A on a high floor, the living room view is bukit timah hill and can even see the three towers and sky garden of the marina bay sands clearly with national day fireworks view. What more, his unit is also pool view. I think the view from his unit is worth much more than what the unit cost. although the project was TOPed in 2000, a three bedder costing 7xxk is really a steal in this market i am thinking. These days with $7xxk, can only buy a lousy mickey mouse unit with expressway or some lousy view or no view

I believed it is by FEO, 99LH, 645 units. I visited a friend years ago when they 1st move in, agree good views, near bukit batok town park, listed as one of the highest condo in Singapore, got good reviews in property guru, etc. Seem it's got what it takes for prices to be much higher. Wonder what's the possible reason for psf to be such? Becos demand less than supply...., not many expat/FT looking to stay here or...hidden gem until now being uncovered..

Manage to find this article, interesting read:

http://lushhomemedia.com/2010/12/05/...s-for-729-psf/
    Regent Heights unit in District 23 sells for $729 psf

Posted by luxuryasiahome on December 5, 2010 ·

Soaring above the Hillview and Bukit Batok estates in District 23, Regent Heights is one of the tallest condominium projects in the area. The 11-year-old development by Bukit Landmark Properties, a unit of Far East Organization, recently saw significant interest from HDB upgraders.
    “The price in the area is still very affordable,” says DTZ realtor Eric Kang, who was negotiating deals for a couple of units in the 645-unit project last week. Dennis Wee Properties’ John Wong, a marketing agent who specialises in properties in western Singapore, agrees that the price is Regent Heights’ main selling point, noting that new launches are typically priced at more than $1,000 psf.
    Wong, currently the agent for a three-bedroom ground-floor unit in the development, says interest in housing there typically comes from foreigners who work at the nearby International Business Park. “Many are Indian Permanent Residents [PRs] who first rent and then buy.” Wong adds that they are generally attracted by the growing Indian PR community and available amenities in the neighbourhood.
    Kang says the condo facilities are “pretty good”. There are several water features and pools, tennis courts and even a putting green. The mass-market condo is also practically next to Bukit Batok Town Park and near Bukit Timah Nature Reserve, which means that units on the higher floors command spectacular views of the surrounding greenery, including Little Guilin.
    Moreover, “two MRT stations are a walking distance away”, Kang adds. Located along Bukit Batok East Avenue 5, Regent Heights sits between the Bukit Gombak and Bukit Batok MRT stations. The latter also has a suburban shopping centre next to it, containing a cinema, restaurants, a supermarket and other shops.
    Both Kang and Wong say most of the 99-year leasehold condo’s units are owner-occupied, although there are some that are tenanted out. Wong says rental yields are relatively attractive, with two bedroom units rented out for up to $2,600 a month.
    Meanwhile, the bigger three-bedroom apartments can fetch up to $3,300 a month in rental.
    At least four units at Regent Heights were sold from Nov 2 to 4, with the apartment on the 26th floor fetching the highest price, at $745,000, or $729 psf. According to URA records, the purchaser had an HDB residential address. The 1,023 sq ft, two-bedroom apartment was bought for $387,000, or $378 psf, in May 2006. This means the seller made a gain of more than 90%. The unit was first sold in May 1999, the year of completion, at $555,500 ($607 psf).
    Another similar-sized unit on the 18th floor of the same block sold for $710,000 ($694 psf). The previous transaction for the unit was in November 2007, at $590,000, or $577 psf. This translates into a 20% gain for the seller this time around. The previous owner had bought the unit for $420,000 ($411 psf) in October 2003,
    according to a caveat lodged with URA. The first buyer, who bought from the developer in October 1996, which was the peak of a property boom, paid $650,000, or $636 psf.
    On the 17th storey of another block, another 1,023 sq ft apartment was sold for just under $700,000 ($684 psf) on Nov 3. The apartment had been bought at $392,000 ($383 psf) in March 2005, which means that the seller would have made a gain of almost 80%. The previous owner had purchased the unit in June 1998 for $518,000.
    Meanwhile, a fourth-floor unit in the same development was also sold recently to a buyer with an HDB address. At $650,000, or $636 psf, it is just 12% higher than the purchase price the seller paid when the apartment was purchased from the developer at $579,686 ($567 psf) in July 1997.

if you are talking about majestic looking buildings around hillview and bukit timah/ bukit batok area, regent heights has to be a candidate. it has quite a big land size with only 3 blocks and full condo facilities. It is walking distance to west mall / bukit batok mrt, near bt timah shopping belt and has plenty parking. in my opinion, this project can invest for capital appreciation and it also has good rental yield of almost 5%.

Agree, one of FEO better projects.

frankly, i would prefer getting a large 3 bedroom unit with spectacular views at regent heights for 7xxk than say a 9xxk 2 bedder in telok kurau with some buay gan view that looks at neighbour's wall from the living room. leasehold or freehold not important these days and if you compare with hongkong, leases in hongkong last for no more than 50 years, so any condo with more than 80 years balance is considered okay

is next to a mosque right? will have noisy allah praying or not?

was at my friend's place on a friday, no sound and cannot see the mosque from tower A.

with 3 bedders costing 7xxk and rental of more than $3k, I am seriously contemplating buying a unit there just for rental income. Do your research and you will realise it has all the amenities within walking distance and it has full condo facilities to entice tenants as well. Do share your views

for rental isnt it better to get nearer to mrt? this one got shuttle service?

from what i understand, this project is minutes walking distance to mrt and bukit batok central so there is no need for shuttle bus. my friend and i walked to west mall for a meal from regent heights and it took roughly 8 minutes, really near and did not feel the distance.

for rental isnt it better to get nearer to mrt? this one got shuttle service?

check out the scale for this streetdb map, it isnt far at all

http://www.streetdb.com/singapore-st...NT-HEIGHTS.htm

check out the scale for this streetdb map, it isnt far at all

http://www.streetdb.com/singapore-st...NT-HEIGHTS.htm
    oh ok, walk-able but to me thats a little far & tedious liao... anything more than 300m

i think regent heights is anytime better than the jade with the mrt station just downstairs. i heard the building for jade can vibrate when a train hurtles by, dont know how true that is

you like that advertise here its not going to be 7xx k when u find one now

i can somehow sense the prices for this project moving up, from 6xxpsf now to 9xxpsf few years down the road is not an impossibility when projects like lanai and hillvista TOP. better start doing my search liao....Cheong ah........

you like that advertise here its not going to be 7xx k when u find one now

I have personally evaluated this project previously. Pls see this thread:-

http://forums.condosingapore.com/showthread.php?t=9204

I agree that if you get really high floor and away from the mosque, the view is spectacular. I personally viewed one and the small guilin looks like a rock haha. But I guess anyone with these units will be holding out for record prices...

There are cons in the project to take note. I personally have an issue with multi-level car parks. If one can live with it and its condition, I think this is not a bad buy.

The size of the units are incredibly big!

planning to buy to rent out so i think what concerns me most is the rental yield. i checked the web and almost all the 3 bedroom units are asking for $3k to $3.5k a month. That works out to 4.6% rental yield if you can get a 3 bedroom unit there for 780k, renting at a modest $3k/month. One reason why these older projects are so spacious is becoz they have no wasted space like planters, bay windows and huge aircon ledges that modern day projects have. I have been to countless showflats in recent times to only be disappointed with the floorplans and how developers go all out to maximise the plot ratio to the hilt and ketok buyers on unusable space, charging ridiculous psf.

Quote Originally Posted by fooblackie
    I have personally evaluated this project previously. Pls see this thread:-

http://forums.condosingapore.com/showthread.php?t=9204

I agree that if you get really high floor and away from the mosque, the view is spectacular. I personally viewed one and the small guilin looks like a rock haha. But I guess anyone with these units will be holding out for record prices...

There are cons in the project to take note. I personally have an issue with multi-level car parks. If one can live with it and its condition, I think this is not a bad buy.

The size of the units are incredibly big!

planning to buy to rent out so i think what concerns me most is the rental yield. i checked the web and almost all the 3 bedroom units are asking for $3k to $3.5k a month. That works out to 4.6% rental yield if you can get a 3 bedroom unit there for 780k, renting at a modest $3k/month. One reason why these older projects are so spacious is becoz they have no wasted space like planters, bay windows and huge aircon ledges that modern day projects have. I have been to countless showflats in recent times to only be disappointed with the floorplans and how developers go all out to maximise the plot ratio to the hilt and ketok buyers on unusable space, charging ridiculous psf.
    i bio this project last yr b4...not easy to find a high flr unit with nice view....and probably nid to throw in 30-50k to reno

things to take note: rental not so hot for this project as there r other condos in the vicinity nearer to MRT.....and the lease starts from 1995

more for self stay den investment

i also bio the area, the only condo nearest to bukit batok mrt is the jade, regent heights being the 2nd nearest. guilin view and madeira near gombak mrt, which is not an ideal mrt compared to bukit batok mrt. you are probably right, finding the million dollar views in regent hts is a challenge and renovation is definitely needed. The lease for the land starts from 1995 but i think the condo TOP in 2000. i think rental for this project supported by a mixture of japanese, indians, koreans and chinese, quite a good mix i thought.

i bio this project last yr b4...not easy to find a high flr unit with nice view....and probably nid to throw in 30-50k to reno

things to take note: rental not so hot for this project as there r other condos in the vicinity nearer to MRT.....and the lease starts from 1995

more for self stay den investment

frankly, i would prefer getting a large 3 bedroom unit with spectacular views at regent heights for 7xxk than say a 9xxk 2 bedder in telok kurau with some buay gan view that looks at neighbour's wall from the living room. leasehold or freehold not important these days and if you compare with hongkong, leases in hongkong last for no more than 50 years, so any condo with more than 80 years balance is considered okay
    this may or may not be a true perspective

if it is really not important, why would FEO buy a freehold land in East Coast and repackage it and sell it off as leasehold (ie Shore Residence) if it is not to their advantage?

This project is abit rundown as compared to The Jade.. not really walking distance to Bt Batok MRT also..
    if talk about fireworks views, is like seeing a light of matches.. so so far away..

i was told by hongkies tat their ppty is guaranteed for a lease top up when the lease expires....they actually prefer FH ppty in SG as they think tat SG govt will not top up the lease(or rather its unknown)....well, nobody can answer tat rite....those individual 99LH landed most likely will be taken back by the govt...but for strata titles....only time will tell...hehe

if u r looking for good rental in this area, u should consider Guilin View and Madeira too; both within ~300m from Bukit Gombak MRT. Madeira has an added advantage as it is in the centre of food/market and completely shielded from MRT noise. And of course Madeira comes with excellent unblocked view, all the way to Malaysia and beyond.

Quote Originally Posted by vboy

if it is really not important, why would FEO buy a freehold land in East Coast and repackage it and sell it off as leasehold (ie Shore Residence) if it is not to their advantage?
    if can get away with it and willing buyers, why not ~

what i mean is it is not an issue to an investor buying to rent out the property. of course developers would want to go for freehold and i do not think the buyers who paid for shore residences got a good deal

Quote Originally Posted by vboy

interesting you mentioned that, but from my friend's living room, i could see the three MBS towers and sky garden quite distinctly even though they are at the distant horizon. the fireworks view would be very clear as the skyline is unblocked at that height over a vast distance. the best part is not looking at MBS, but having bt timah hill facing your living room while you enjoy your meal and if you buy the back of tower A, your living room would be facing little guilin which IMO is not as fantastic as bt timah view. For 7xxk, i can challenge anyone to find me a 3+1 at east coast with comparable views and living space of more than 1100sf with no planter and bay windows be it 99yr or freehold regardless of age

This project is abit rundown as compared to The Jade.. not really walking distance to Bt Batok MRT also..
    if talk about fireworks views, is like seeing a light of matches.. so so far away..

i beg to differ coz a slight distance away from bt batok mrt is still better than being near to gombak mrt. if you compare northvale and regent grove, both projects are near the mrt but yew tee area is always deemed as the less popular part of chua chu kang.

if u r looking for good rental in this area, u should consider Guilin View and Madeira too; both within ~300m from Bukit Gombak MRT. Madeira has an added advantage as it is in the centre of food/market and completely shielded from MRT noise. And of course Madeira comes with excellent unblocked view, all the way to Malaysia and beyond.

interesting you mentioned that, but from my friend's living room, i could see the three MBS towers and sky garden quite distinctly even though they are at the distant horizon. the fireworks view would be very clear as the skyline is unblocked at that height over a vast distance. the best part is not looking at MBS, but having bt timah hill facing your living room while you enjoy your meal and if you buy the back of tower A, your living room would be facing little guilin which IMO is not as fantastic as bt timah view. For 7xxk, i can challenge anyone to find me a 3+1 at east coast with comparable views and living space of more than 1100sf with no planter and bay windows be it 99yr or freehold regardless of age
    shhh.. not so loud, wait someone will come in to bulldoze u with west coast and carrotbell ...

a 3 bedder at carrotbell is almost twice the cost of a 3 bedder at regent heights. the rental for a $1.4 mil 3 bedder at carrotbell is $3.5k, which is the same as a $7xxk 3 bedder at Regent Heights. Clementi MRT is almost unwalkable from carrotbell. I think the discerning would know which is better.

shhh.. not so loud, wait someone will come in to bulldoze u with west coast and carrotbell ...