Page 19 of 97 FirstFirst ... 4914151617181920212223242934394449 ... LastLast

Thread: The Estuary

yes, you really have to see it in person to believe it. the rooms are ridiculously tiny barely enough space for a 3 bedder, the balcony + planter takes up AT LEAST 1/3rd of livable space. If the area was windy, then it would have been tolerable. But there is hardly a breath of breeze - just stagnant heat.

lemme weigh the pros and cons and will post my deliberations and thoughts about this development in a bit. poring over the siteplans now

Unlike the Moos and other rich folks here that buy for investment, i'm looking at purely a lifestyle perspective so my concerns are totally different from many.
    gfoo, u have the moolah right? why not get a FH landed (maybe those along Soo Chow Ave) which comes with great views of the Mac Ritchie reservoir, rebuild your own and u will hit holland within 15mins via Lornie Road? just 2 cents. from location/layout perspective, the estuary is not a compelling buy. too much unliveable spaces. and location is not great either. the drive the shenton each morning will be a pain.

xebay11 is offline New Launch Project Specialist

Quote Originally Posted by new2mondrian
    gfoo, u have the moolah right? why not get a FH landed (maybe those along Soo Chow Ave) which comes with great views of the Mac Ritchie reservoir, rebuild your own and u will hit holland within 15mins via Lornie Road? just 2 cents. from location/layout perspective, the estuary is not a compelling buy. too much unliveable spaces. and location is not great either. the drive the shenton each morning will be a pain.
    Sounds good.

Quote Originally Posted by new2mondrian
    aku mana ada moolah, lol?

dun much like landed - very claustro, creepy crawlies - and no bikini babes/milfs to beo. maybe when i get much much older buy landed chong tian.

What is so good about 16 mins to Orchard on a sunday morning and then a 1 hour drive to CBD with $10 ERP on weekdays? Seriously, I think Vision can beat Estuary anytime in terms of location.

Quote Originally Posted by nav14
    In terms of location, The Estuary is clearly better than the Vision. There is no way one can drive down to Orchard on a Sunday morning in flat 16 minutes from The Vision unlike The Estuary. So $1100psf and above for the The Vision will be daylight robbery when compared to The Estuary.

Quote Originally Posted by Moo2010
    Well, it still boils down to the perception of how much Yishun is worth for from year 2010 onwards.
    Condorich, our biggest difference is you don't believe in Yishun as an unpolish gem capable of going up to $1000psf but I beg to differ. You are still looking at the condo price way behind the years in 2006 to 2009. Luckily you never lead Singapore or else singapore will never progress. (Just kidding, no hard feelings...hehe).
    No worries bro.... agree to disagree...

Anyway, condorich, U dont have to wish me good luck all the time, I can sense sacarsm but I still respect your opinion. It just that I have my own investment plan and thoughts.
    I wish you good luck too
    I like this one... anyway I always wish others luck including myself... not really intended it to be sacarstic... In fact it's out of care and concern though I may not know you in person. However, you may be right and its really up to the individuals... it is afterall your own life and money.

Maybe we can come back and review the outcome when it is nearing its TOP.. the verdict will be out then.. for now.... agree to disagree... No more all the best and good luck wishes in case I sound sacarstic.

Rather, I would say, exercise the option immediately or by due course and look forward to profit taking.....

aku mana ada moolah, lol?

dun much like landed - very claustro, creepy crawlies - and no bikini babes/milfs to beo. maybe when i get much much older buy landed chong tian.
    gfoo.... good news for you... the land beside shaugnessy is stated to be launched for land sales in May 2010... Just hope that it is not MCL again as they will surely price it expansive to make up the unsold units and protect the interest in Estuary.

It will be low rise condo... perhaps a penthouse unit there with good reserviour view or golf course view will be a good choice....

Price Revision For Released Units

There will most likely be PRICE REVISION for ALL the RELEASED UNITS

during Offical Launch, 6 March (Sat)

Purchasers want to make bookings for the released units between

1 Mar (Mon) to 5 Mar (Fri), Prices will still remain

Sms at 90686016 for more details.

Also bad lah. If >$1100 psf might as well buy Balestier, still considered city fringe and 10 minutes to Orchard even on weekday (5 mins on weekend), so better location than Vision or Estuary (but no good view lah). So, it is a matter of personal requirements & preference & life style.

Quote Originally Posted by Squall8888
    What is so good about 16 mins to Orchard on a sunday morning and then a 1 hour drive to CBD with $10 ERP on weekdays? Seriously, I think Vision can beat Estuary anytime in terms of location.

You are welcome . Actually Im not a savvy investor as Im not rich.
    I stayed in HDB for over 20 years and only started with 100K to buy my first property. Its all "on the job training" and listening to others' opinion.
    Thats why I know: Never underestimate a HDB upgrader ability as they might have accumulated enough wealth and knowledge to go into private property. But its a damn risky game I must say.

Eventually, you got to make the appropriate decisions based on your own fianacial ability and analysis.
    Wah...is the HDB owned by yourself or your parents? If it is owned by yourself, you must be reaching retirement soon and can relax...

Ya, funny thing abt "Proud Owner" is after his Manhattan Crap, he seems to participate alot more in the conversation after seeing Estuary being attack. The fun part of this joker is, he havent seen the Estuary showflat yet but he is so much engrossed in attacking Estuary. This leaves me to wonder where is his integrity and honesty in opinion.

gfoo, I see that you are honest in your opinion, with no hidden agenda, if I know you better, maybe we can talk more and exchange more ideas. [/quote]

i do not know what is your problem ?

i did not attack estuary ... i kept asking people which is a better buy between Seletaris and Estuary, stating my view .. and you kept attacking me with your non sense and rude choice of words ..

you can always dispute my opinion , but there is no need to be rude ..

all forumers reading this thread will question your integrity ,... not mine

there are many who have visited the showroom and said nothing good (except the view) ... why dont you attack them ?

you really have a problem there ... even your initial supporter Condoric also felt it is a not an ideal investment .. but you werent rude to him

but to my sincere and honest view and queries to others in this post .. you chose to constantly attack me with your CRAP ..

i was even hoping that there is a 2 bedroom penthouse of 1000 sqft , and buy without viewing , for retirement .. now you truly pissed me ... to give yishun a complete miss ..

the view may be good .. but like gfoo said... its the PEOPLE ..

good luck to you

To me, buying Estuary or Vision has limited potential for investment. Be it rental or capital appreciation. If I were you, I buy for own stay. Vision or Estuary or even 100 trees, I don't see a huge difference in appreciation because there is nothing to shout about around that area. If investment, I would buy at least a city fringe - if my finances allow me to. If you are talking about own stay and avoid tankers, then you should buy something that you like, like Estuary. Because you are staying there after all. As to location, unless you buy in Orchard or Marina Bay, then forget those that claim "NEAR". Knn, everywhere also near. Tuas also near to Airport. Like the dunno what lincon suite selling above 2k psf, to me, that is ridiculous. Location wise, not very fantastic but the price is crazy. Not even that near to Orchard. So depends what you want. If you think you like Estuary, then go for it. But when you talk about investment, it is always about the prime locations, CBD etc... That is where the money are.
    "As to location, unless you buy in Orchard or Marina Bay, then forget those that claim "NEAR". Knn, everywhere also near. "

I like this quote best. lol.

Singapore is probably the only place whereby a few minutes of extra car drive can differ by a couple of hundred psf. Amazing. Food for thought...

Quote Originally Posted by gohsoonk
    "As to location, unless you buy in Orchard or Marina Bay, then forget those that claim "NEAR". Knn, everywhere also near. "

Singapore is probably the only place whereby a few minutes of extra car drive can differ by a couple of hundred psf. Amazing. Food for thought...
    food for thought or evidence of irrationality? From the west coast to orchard, 15 to 20 minutes of driving, but condos in the west cost one half as much. so, if you are smart, where would you choose to live?

don't give me that jurong island crap. if there is an accident, it makes no difference whether you live near summerset or NUS. all will be toast.

It is not just about the distance.
    Let's say you are rich angmoh tai tai who like arts/culture ... you would want to live near museums, Esplanade, Victoria concert hall, every meal at art-deco restaurants, occasional buy of LV ... only CCR support this kind of lifestyle ... even lakeview will not attract them as they can go holiday for 1 month in New Zealand with 10 times better view every year

And ppl with similar "class" will stay together. Therefore, in the long run, prime area will always outgrow suburbs in terms of investment return.
    Last edited by jitkiat; 01-03-10 at 12:51.

Not only that, this is the only place in the world where shopping centre carparks can say B2 FULL and B3 351 lots available and you still see fools circling round and round B2 dying to get a lot there and saving having to go up one floor by escalator or lift !!!!

It really depends how often one goes to the city.

When buying near the city, it has better be for investment.

If your workplace and shopping place is in the suburban areas, why then would you buy near the city for own stay?

I have a friend who live in an area "near to the city" (NOT in D9 or D10) but I still see him doing his regular shopping (NTUC shopping) at a suburban mall 25 mins away. Does not make sense.

It really depends how often one goes to the city.

When buying near the city, it has better be for investment.

If your workplace and shopping place is in the suburban areas, why then would you buy near the city for own stay?

I have a friend who live in an area "near to the city" (NOT in D9 or D10) but I still see him doing his regular shopping (NTUC shopping) at a suburban mall 25 mins away. Does not make sense.
    Could it be Penny wise Pound foolish ???

you guys better stop talking NON ESTUARY related topic on this thread ..

otherwise some moron will attack again .. but he wont attack you guys ..

selective reading seems to be his problem ..and highly insecure

Quote Originally Posted by xebay11
    Not only that, this is the only place in the world where shopping centre carparks can say B2 FULL and B3 351 lots available and you still see fools circling round and round B2 dying to get a lot there and saving having to go up one floor by escalator or lift !!!!
    Ha ha...this is a good one...lol...Suntec is one good example.

Quote Originally Posted by jitkiat
    It is not just about the distance.
    Let's say you are rich angmoh tai tai who like arts/culture ... you would want to live near museums, Esplanade, Victoria concert hall, every meal at art-deco restaurants, occasional buy of LV ... only CCR support this kind of lifestyle ... even lakeview will not attract them as they can go holiday for 1 month in New Zealand with 10 times better view every year

And ppl with similar "class" will stay together. Therefore, in the long run, prime area will always outgrow suburbs in terms of investment return.
    angmoh tai tai? I have seen more china mei mei in the so called prime districts than angmoh tai tai, most of whom have left for the west.

so many china mei mei now along orchard road, you would not hear one word of english spoken when you walked from borders to takashimaya.

with prime districts populated by people who can only afford mickey mouse units, "prime" needs a new definition.

i have lived in CCK for 5 yrs and used to love it ...just as much as how some love Yishun ...

until i moved to town .. thats when i realised how much i have missed out .. that extra sleep in the morning, or having coffee and reading the papers ..etc .. and still get into office within 8 mins .. no ERP, no traffic jam ..

thats something many who live in city can tell you ...and thats why those working in the city ..wants to live in the city ...

thats why many youngsters nowadays die die want to live in the city .. even when it means paying thru their nose ..

when they have to move out of their cramp Yishun HDB ..they will upgrade to the city ... not back to Yishun again .. thats not upgrade .. thats lateral move ...

just something, some(one) will never understand after 20 years in Yishun and before that in Hougang and kovan and what have you ... until he gets to live and work in the city

the above does not apply if one works in Yishun ,of course then it does not make sense to move to the city ...

if my example sounds familiar ..its only coincidence ..

ok, just some comments...each will have its own views and opinions and only time will tell who is right... sometimes with a stroke of luck, the most bizzare mistake could be transformed into the best investment decision and vice versa... if another MRT station comes up just beside this project and replaces the big eye sore /noisey stadium.. wow... view + MRT... it is priceless. Centro also cannot fight. If I am at URA or in a position to decide, I will see to that but I am not... so dream on till it is a reality.

Sometimes if the comments get to personal or too directed to a individual... just laugh it off with a smile...and maybe this line would help...

"Thank you, let's agree to disagree" and you have made one less enemy in life. perhaps earn their respect and a possible friendship... and even romance if it is the opposite ***. Just be friendly and respectful and you will go a long way in life even if you are not rich or as rich.

i have lived in CCK for 5 yrs and used to love it ...just as much as how some love Yishun ...

until i moved to town .. thats when i realised how much i have missed out .. that extra sleep in the morning, or having coffee and reading the papers ..etc .. and still get into office within 8 mins .. no ERP, no traffic jam ..

thats something many who live in city can tell you ...and thats why those working in the city ..wants to live in the city ...

thats why many youngsters nowadays die die want to live in the city .. even when it means paying thru their nose ..

when they have to move out of their cramp Yishun HDB ..they will upgrade to the city ... not back to Yishun again .. thats not upgrade .. thats lateral move ...

just something, some(one) will never understand after 20 years in Yishun and before that in Hougang and kovan and what have you ... until he gets to live and work in the city

the above does not apply if one works in Yishun ,of course then it does not make sense to move to the city ...

if my example sounds familiar ..its only coincidence ..
    Ha Ha I used to live smack in the middle of Orchard Road but my factory was in Tuas, I lost all my sleep and morning coffee.

Now I live in the East Coast and it really is wonderful living, beach, food and beautiful ECP and since psf is cheaper in outer areas, I now no longer sleep next to the washing machine and my bicycle like I did in D9

Still waiting for my big break to own a landed property in One Tree Hill estate, big space and city living convenience.

Quote Originally Posted by xebay11
    Ha Ha I used to live smack in the middle of Orchard Road but my factory was in Tuas, I lost all my sleep and morning coffee.

Now I live in the East Coast and it really is wonderful living, beach, food and beautiful ECP and since psf is cheaper in outer areas, I now no longer sleep next to the washing machine and my bicycle like I did in D9

Still waiting for my big break to own a landed property in One Tree Hill estate, big space and city living convenience.

hey bro

i will advise you against buying landed in One tree hill ...

it is non designated landed ... meaning your neighbours can sell their land to developer and then build a condo next to you ... beware ...

Wah...is the HDB owned by yourself or your parents? If it is owned by yourself, you must be reaching retirement soon and can relax...
    Haha, anyway, Im just in my mid thirties.

cheers

hey bro

i will advise you against buying landed in One tree hill ...

it is non designated landed ... meaning your neighbours can sell their land to developer and then build a condo next to you ... beware ...
    Still OK what

lol speaking of which last time take school bus go into OTH, kept wondering how come got so many trees around - Bart moment

cheers
    Maybe even a cow or a ox... since you moo.... cow would be 37/38 yrs this year...

cheers
    Have to applaud you for your aggressiveness in buying and selling property...champion...

hopefully you are not overcommitted...

we (I am mid thirties) still got a long way to go...

Does anyone know when is the tentative TOP for this project?

31 Dec 2013