Thread: New 2Bed Room HDB BTO is out.

Default New 2Bed Room HDB BTO is out.

For a single and the price. I think its decent. With grant at 57K is very affordable.

2-room 47sqm
    w/o grant
    From $117,000
    w grant
    From $57,000

Unit distribution

nice start!

I thought singles only qualify starting from July??

anyway, this will be a real test ... I won't be surprised not many are interested ... the new breed of young SCs only only want cheap, they also want location like Duxton

no need take loan

I thought singles only qualify starting from July??

anyway, this will be a real test ... I won't be surprised not many are interested ... the new breed of young SCs only only want cheap, they also want location like Duxton

Why pay so much for an HDB?

If i'm a single, i rather buy a $57k 2-Rm, and then use the rest of my money to buy a freehold walkup apt or even a 99-yrs mm to collect rental for my old age. Isn't this more logical??

There goes the 3rm resale flats liao.

狮子王 (formerly blackjack21trader): READ MY LIPS: NO MORE CRASH FOR 60 YEARS.

Quote Originally Posted by sgbuyer
    Why pay so much for an HDB?

If i'm a single, i rather buy a $57k 2-Rm, and then use the rest of my money to buy a freehold walkup apt or even a 99-yrs mm to collect rental for my old age. Isn't this more logical??

There goes the 3rm resale flats liao.

not so simple lah, if you are singles earning 5kpm and below, how to afford 99LH MM which is something like 5xx-6xxk

5k pm can save 1kpm or not? 1 year save 12k, 10y save 120k ??

Well, at least the block design is not like those 2 room flats of the 70s and 80s with dark corridors, no ventilation, stale smell and bedbugs stereotypes.

not so simple lah, if you are singles earning 5kpm and below, how to afford 99LH MM which is something like 5xx-6xxk

5k pm can save 1kpm or not? 1 year save 12k, 10y save 120k ??

Singles can save quite a lot. And besides, many people used to earn more when they were younger.

I've even met an uncle cab driver is his 50s or 60s, single now, he told me he used to be an MNC GM until he got retrenched in 98.

There are also a lot of uncle and auntie singles, with few hundred K in bank, but working in coffeeshop and part-time jobs that earn no more than $1.5K a month and can survive on just that amount of money.

Why still have a bomb shelter in a 2-room flat? Can't HDB put the bomb shelter in the basement of the block?

the singles scheme only starts in July.

the verdict will be out soon ... let's see SC singles are really that keen on a 2r HDB that potentially will limit the rental quantum after 5y MOP (3r HDB near MRT can command 2.xk per month rental)

end of day:

2-room
    100 units 26 applications 0.0 1.5 0.3

looks like all 26 applicants all 2nd timers
    Last edited by phantom_opera; 21-03-13 at 18:05.

the verdict will be out soon ... let's see SC singles are really that keen on a 2r HDB that potentially will limit the rental quantum after 5y MOP (3r HDB near MRT can command 2.xk per month rental)

end of day:

2-room
    100 units 26 applications 0.0 1.5 0.3

looks like all 26 applicants all 2nd timers
    Will have subscribers lah. For own stay. It's 1/5 to 1/10 of the price of a private leasehold. That might be what some can afford at max.

Quote Originally Posted by MLP
    Why still have a bomb shelter in a 2-room flat? Can't HDB put the bomb shelter in the basement of the block?

I believe it doubles up as a storeroom and also reinforces the building so it doesn't collapse - need civil engineer to confirm.

why need kitchen? Single dont cook too! go eat downstairs

might as well put in masterbed room as wardrobe

and its near to mrt, huat liao lolx!!! MM rules

The bomb shelter acts as storeroom may be essential to some.

My friend who lives in a 3 bedder without the utility room, he puts the vacuum cleaner in the living room with the box it came with after using.

The kitchen cabinets are compact so he puts the tissues boxes and household supplies above the refrigerator.

why need kitchen? Single dont cook too! go eat downstairs
    Convert kitchen into room and rent out loh.

An option that is v feasible. Huat liao...

Quote Originally Posted by Kelonguni
    Convert kitchen into room and rent out loh.

An option that is v feasible. Huat liao...
    spend few ks to do a island kitchen with electrical cooker, and some light appliances behind bomb shelter wall, and convert into machiam mm 2bedders..

hoesei liao, takeup rate sure high..

That mean only need to pay less then $59,000?
    Congrat to those who successful brought it.

But sure got people pour cold water,complain why not 3rm, why this type of design etc ... Sad sad.

ignore the noise, if you are single & like it, do apply. It better to have an assets then rent from other for life. Then few yrs later may able to buy a private for investment.

Quote Originally Posted by TMATT

But sure got people pour cold water,complain why not 3rm, why this type of design etc ... Sad sad.

ignore the noise, if you are single & like it, do apply. It better to have an assets then rent from other for life. Then few yrs later may able to buy a private for investment.
    If can convert the kitchen, is equivalent to 3 room.

Faster apply - time and opportunity waits for no one.

莫待无花空折枝。。。

57K is with grant. 117K is list. I guess most people will have some grant here n there. but those with income less then $1500pm will get full grant of 40K + 20K

The hdb 2 room layout is the same as the 1 bedroom unit in Skies Miltonia....haa haa.

http://sgskiesmiltonia.files.wordpre...1-bedroom1.pdf

The hdb 2 room layout is the same as the 1 bedroom unit in Skies Miltonia....haa haa.

http://sgskiesmiltonia.files.wordpre...1-bedroom1.pdf
    minus off the big balcony and big aircon ledge. Just do not understand why developer has to plan in such a big aircon ledge and balcony.

Will be nice if there is full length windows in living hall. Bedroom have full length window lagi better

these days it takes 50+ months to build HDB?

exactly, last time Kenobi-wan said he will destory the dark side in 2y by building 100k BTOs ... so what is going on ... dark side too powerful?

Agree! Faster apply!

But I can't anymore as got 1x HDB & few private already.

Not sure can convert the kitchen or not, some of my single friends ( mostly male) are excited about it ! So CHEAP

Quote Originally Posted by Kelonguni
    If can convert the kitchen, is equivalent to 3 room.

Faster apply - time and opportunity waits for no one.

莫待无花空折枝。。。

Agree! Faster apply!

But I can't anymore as got 1x HDB & few private already.

Not sure can convert the kitchen or not, some of my single friends ( mostly male) are excited about it ! So CHEAP
    do they qualify in the first place??! if i am not wrong, the new policy allowing singles, above 35, to buy 2rm flats will kick in only in June.

What talking you, only July BTO onwards open to singles.