Page 2 of 26 FirstFirst 1234567121722 ... LastLast

Thread: STOCKS THREAD

Why I feel Singapore stock market is a Mickey-mouse market and I have no interest in their listed stocks....
    These kind of things happened just too many times before release of significant events news, even for blue chips stocks............

PUBLISHED MAY 29, 2014
    Include SingPost and others in any trading probe
    BYR SIVANITHY

NEWS that there may be closer scrutiny of recent trading in the shares of SMRT and ComfortDelgro would be welcomed by many in the market who have been outraged at the way these counters moved before the government's radical reforms of the transport sector were unveiled last week, reforms which are widely seen as being positive for both companies.
    Both counters started moving weeks ago - in SMRT's case, by as much as 20 per cent on April 24 when it was queried by Singapore Exchange (SGX) - and remained firm until last week's announcement.
    In the interim, there was widespread speculation of an impending transport sector revamp which, as it turned out, proved accurate. To add to claims of a leak, both stocks jumped again on May 20, the day before the news was issued.
    If some parties benefited from advance knowledge of the announcement, as is suggested by the sudden price gains, and if the authorities were to scrutinise the trades before and after May 21, then it is worth pointing out that there are also several other recent developments which merit closer attention, starting with the most obvious - yesterday's news that Chinese Internet firm Alibaba is buying into SingPost.
    then why are u even watching it? nothing better to do? u backside itchy? Frankly who cares what you think? This Micky Mouse all $ put together can buy u out a billion times. Try this Micky for Size.

Disclaimer : Not a call to buy or sell

Notice interesting Action in Gallant Venture

Seems like accumulation

Vested

Sinar testing support at 0.59

Looking for re entry
    if break next support at 0.575

You are not welcome in this thread, get lost KNN talk cock bull shit scambag!

then why are u even watching it? nothing better to do? u backside itchy? Frankly who cares what you think? This Micky Mouse all $ put together can buy u out a billion times. Try this Micky for Size.

HPH Trust amazing volume again ... Chinese companies like COSCO buying after buying ACT? P/B at 0.8 and export to Europe/US according to PMI should go up

!!! Buy !!!

Quote Originally Posted by phantom_opera View Post
    HPH Trust amazing volume again ... Chinese companies like COSCO buying after buying ACT? P/B at 0.8 and export to Europe/US according to PMI should go up

!!! Buy !!!
    Noted

Put into Watchlist

might be simply due to HSBC China PMI new export order surprised on the upside, but the volume is

Quote Originally Posted by phantom_opera View Post
    might be simply due to HSBC China PMI new export order surprised on the upside, but the volume is
    Bro

don't worry

we are matured adult here
    all postings herein are Caveat Emptor

OUE closed with a Bearish Engulfing formation

just be careful

this STI is really... dun know what to say....
    Look at today what happen at the last minute for these 3 index shares : OLAM, SPH, Jardine C&C

Quote Originally Posted by amk View Post
    this STI is really... dun know what to say....
    Look at today what happen at the last minute for these 3 index shares : OLAM, SPH, Jardine C&C
    STI market is too small

He who control these also control MSCI movements

Quote Originally Posted by Simi View Post
    I like Goog

but too poor to play it

Now down 2.78 at 563.17
    Why I like Goog

3 consecutive down days is so negligible

Also take note on light green trend line (history)

then compare it to the present trend line in white

The chart Speaks for itself ?

Nuan and MGM get rejected at the resistance
    Last edited by Simi; 31-05-14 at 00:22.

Yzx can buy.....

tigerair setting record with as much as 21% jump in a day?

Quote Originally Posted by Komo View Post
    tigerair setting record with as much as 21% jump in a day?
    Closed with a 17.8% gain

Rumour of privatisation

Quote Originally Posted by radha08 View Post
    Yzx can buy.....
    you mean YZJ ?

pui yzj

Ong lai ah!

Closed with a 17.8% gain

Rumour of privatisation
    what took them so long to do it? if tigerair is a strategic investment should not have listed in the first place.

asking myself too
    what is the advantages and gains if taken private

but in momentum trading
    Its always about asking question later
    Its all about where the actions are

The Singapore Exchange has been kept busy for several weeks now, querying companies whose shares have spiked suddenly on large volumes. Low cost carrier Tiger Airways Holdings is the latest to join the club. At 3.22pm today, it was queried about its trading activity. As of 5.30pm, it had yet to respond.

Shares of Tigerair surged to as high as 54.5 cents at 3.14pm, a 21.1% increase from their close on May 29 at 45 cents. They ended today at 53 cents. Trading volume was unusually heavy, at close to 30 million shares – the highest volume in two years and 12.9 times the average traded over the past 30 days.

Will Tigerair join the lengthening list of companies involved in M&A activity? Speculation is that the company could have found a buyer for its 32.5% stake in Tigerair Mandala, which operates out of Jakarta. “If Tigerair sells its 32.5% stake in Mandala, our loss forecast may be reduced,” says CIMB Research in a report earlier this month. The brokerage expects Tigerair to report losses of $59.4 million for FY2015 ended March. “But Singapore and Australia are forecast to remain in the red for another two years.”

Citilink, a subsidiary of Garuda Indonesia, had initially been rumoured to be interested in an acquisition. However, the company later denied these rumours. Other players said to have indicated interest are AirAsia and its Indonesian arm.

Another theory is that Tigerair could end up being bailed out by a shareholder or bought out by a third party. The company badly needs help. On May 2, Tigerair had reported losses for FY2014 of $223 million. In FY2013, its losses had amounted to $45.4 million. At the same time, it gave notice that it has recorded pre-tax losses for the three most recently completed consecutive financial years. Companies are placed on a watch-list if they report pre-tax losses for three consecutive financial years and have an average daily market capitalisation of less than $40 million over 120 market days. Tigerair is in no danger as its market cap is in excess of $400 million. However, it is struggling to turn a profit in the low cost market, which is facing issues of overcapacity.

An outright acquisition of Tiger would be unusual at current prices. Even before the stock ran up, it was trading above its net asset value of 28 cents per share. It also has net gearing of 68%. There has been some speculation that Singapore Airlines, which owns 40% of the company, could raise its stake. On May 12, Tigerair appointed a new CEO, Lee Lik Hsin, who has spent his entire career at SIA.

Indeed, it is in SIA’s interest to fix Tigerair quickly. Although SIA’s own operations are performing, with operating earnings up 37% to $256 million in FY2014 ended March, its other units are not doing as well. Operating earnings at SilkAir fell 63% to $35 million. SIA Cargo suffered a loss of $100 million. And Tigerair contributed an associate loss of $118 million.

Even if there is a willing buyer for Tigerair however, the company’s troubles will require a great deal more than injection of funds to solve. The promising story of an endless supply of middle-class Asians clamouring to travel the world has been overshadowed by overwhelming supply. A HSBC transport report this month says that long-haul routes are performing better than intra-Asian and domestic routes. But it is the latter that low cost carriers such as Tigerair specialise in. Meanwhile, political instability and deterioration in international relations among countries in the region is likely to continue affecting travel patterns.

by Joan Ng

as usual there will be a STANDARD REPLY to SGX queries

Quote Originally Posted by onglai View Post
    pui yzj

Ong lai 哥

got "press release" your anger or not ?

Cosco is even worse than yzj. Haha.

Hi bro

What to buy tomorrow?

Cbsh, is it too late to enter OUE now?

Quote Originally Posted by Werther View Post
    Hi bro

What to buy tomorrow?

Regards to OUE

can watch for a few days if bulls are able to push it up above last high

Present candlestick formation not very ideal
    Its a

BEARISH ENGULFING PATTERN

compare this chart (highlighted in yellow rectangle box)with OUE last 2 days candle

http://www.istockanalyst.com/help/Bearish_Engulfing

Quote Originally Posted by Werther View Post
    Hi bro

What to buy tomorrow?

Sorry, I really cant advise you on stock recommendation. But I can only tell u my investment strategy using CPF $$$.

Safety is my 1st priority. I only buy very undervalue stock and only when there is fear in the market or individual stock. It need a lot of patience.

So when OUE dropped to $2.25. I just buy using my CPF $$$. NAV $4.03. My very 1st trade using CPF in 2014.

Maybe you can find out from sharejunction forum regarding about the OUE stock. FYI, I dont make "buy" decision base on what I read from this forum. I only trust FEAR.

http://www.sharejunction.com/shareju...%20long%20term

Most of my cash is used to buy corporate bond & leverage a lot. I use debt to generate income but there is a risk. So need to manage actively. So far doing fine.

you mean YZJ ?
    yes sorry support at 99c is what my broker told me...

asking myself too
    what is the advantages and gains if taken private

but in momentum trading
    Its always about asking question later
    Its all about where the actions are
    when price is so low will become very attractive if any competitor is interested in a hostile takeover. furthermore sia does not have full control in terms of share. the way I see it also why there is urgency to place their own man in the management. I will not be surprised if the next step is to increase stake to deter hostile interest.

Quote Originally Posted by radha08 View Post
    yes sorry support at 99c is what my broker told me...
    Hi radha08

Thanks for the sharing

Last week some rumours on company being Investigated thus the fall
    Unfortunately market do not like uncertainties

Your broker might be right in the sense that there exist a Technical Gap at 0.99c and according to technical theory, all gaps need to be closed

So bearing in mind the adverse rumour, buying at 0.99 gap is quite high risk and of course can be handsomely rewarded if rumour can be quashed and turn out be not true

can only add on to say

Expect the Unexpected
    Good luck

when price is so low will become very attractive if any competitor is interested in a hostile takeover. furthermore sia does not have full control in terms of share. the way I see it also why there is urgency to place their own man in the management. I will not be surprised if the next step is to increase stake to deter hostile interest.
    Hi Komo
    by now you should know I rely heavily on chart reading

there seems to be some "irregularities" in the chart pattern 2 to 3 weeks back

I believed in this phrase

No smoke without fire