Page 10 of 11 FirstFirst ... 567891011 LastLast

Thread: Leasehold versus Freehold - the Comparison Continues (2016)

Why 30 years?
    You may live till 150 years old you know (in future because of advance medical technology).
    So, may be better to use 150 years rental instead of 30 years? (may be you may outlive your property hence the longer period of rental you can collect the better!)
    In this case, now you can see why it makes perfect sense to buy freehold at a premium than 99-years or even 30-years at slight discount because:
    30 years rental = $3000 x 12 x 30 = $1080k
    150 years rental = $3000 x 12 x 150 = $5440k!
    Clear as sky that I should buy freehold at current price (to hedge against inflation and living too long)!
    Look at any 30 years old property and you will know why 30 years.

Nothing can compare with FH /999LH properties in prime district and next to mrt stations from several lines.

For rental and investment largely yes.

For own stay and later enbloc it is highly contentious.

Nothing can compare with FH /999LH properties in prime district and next to mrt stations from several lines.

How many choices are there?
    Martin place
    Spottiswoode

There are much more than these if you look hard enough.
    Quote Originally Posted by ccreporter View Post
    How many choices are there?
    Martin place
    Spottiswoode

To me, Freehold in prime district and next to 1 MRT station is already good enough if come with next to shopping malls (don't need to have MRT stations from several lines).

Actually don't need "next to", just nearby (within 500m) MRT station and shopping malls in a convenient location in prime district connected by multiple road networks also good enough.................

To me, Freehold in prime district and next to 1 MRT station is already good enough if come with next to shopping malls (don't need to have MRT stations from several lines).

Actually don't need "next to", just nearby (within 500m) MRT station and shopping malls in a convenient location in prime district connected by multiple road networks also good enough.................
    Totally agree, within 5 min walk is fine. If it's next to, might be a bit chaotic and bustling, furthermore sellers might be asking a premium , too.

Default Perils of owning ageing leasehold properties

Perils of owning ageing leasehold properties

https://www.edgeprop.sg/content/peri...old-properties

Default great graphic from ST on how the value of a HDB flat will fall over a cliff

great graphic from ST on how the value of a HDB flat will fall over a cliff

http://www.straitstimes.com/opinion/...en-its-over-64

Perils of owning ageing leasehold properties

https://www.edgeprop.sg/content/peri...old-properties

Quite obvious what...

Mak attributes this to the Differential Premium system adopted by the Singapore Land Authority (SLA), which values a fresh 99-year leasehold property at 96% of a freehold property. When the remaining lease is 60 years, the differential premium is pegged at 80% of the freehold value. Even when the remaining lease is 30 years, the value is 60% of that of freehold property. The differential premium for topping up the lease is therefore steep, says Mak.

At this moment (the market is hot and the price seems moving up)
    with limited budget, should I buy FH (but locate not good) or LH ( bettter location)
    or it doesn't matter - just buy?

If I buy LH, should I buy the old one (80yr remaining period) or those with >90 yr period,
    as the psf price dropped a lot once the remaining lease period reach 80 years

Another fallacy and myth being perpetuated......................

Think about it, nowsday the HDB flats and private condos have plot ratio 2.8 and higher and already built up to 36 storeys high or higher, you expect they can build double the height?

If cannot, why need to buy back from you for SERS / enbloc (when they can wait for another 30-69 years and take back for FREE)?

Better hope that your MCST or town councils don't try to save money on maintenance, otherwise you will have to climb up and down 36 storeys when the lifts break down! (or you may get "free-falling" adventure ride for FREE!)

Looking for potential properties includes being able to identify those with potential to build higher floors. Those under 12-15 floors still have chance to build up more.

Look for those with lower plot ratios at the moment as well.

Leave the engineering feat to engineers.

Quote Originally Posted by tanghao View Post

Think about it, nowsday the HDB flats and private condos have plot ratio 2.8 and higher and already built up to 36 storeys high or higher, you expect they can build double the height?

If cannot, why need to buy back from you for SERS / enbloc (when they can wait for another 30-69 years and take back for FREE)?

Better hope that your MCST or town councils don't try to save money on maintenance, otherwise you will have to climb up and down 36 storeys when the lifts break down! (or you may get "free-falling" adventure ride for FREE!)

Another blind spot area is the shared land area that is not built for residence, such as huge single floor carparks, undeveloped land within the development, huge swimming pools and tennis courts.

All these can contribute to additional floor space. Watch out for them in even newer developments.

Quote Originally Posted by tanghao View Post

Some of those low floors buildings will forever remain low floors! Don't bet too much on hope and dream that plot ratios will increase just because it is now low!

Looking for potential properties includes being able to identify those with potential to build higher floors. Those under 12-15 floors still have chance to build up more.

Look for those with lower plot ratios at the moment as well.

Leave the engineering feat to engineers.

Most important is how rare low floor developments would be in the future.

But generally, it would be a safer bet than developments with tall buildings and every area developed.

Some of those low floors buildings will forever remain low floors! Don't bet too much on hope and dream that plot ratios will increase just because it is now low!

For 99-years leasehold properties, difficult to bet to see much future because gov can just wait for lease to run out by end of 99 years before they adjust plot ratio higher and gov huat ah! BUT You get $0! Oh wait, you can actually be made to pay for pulling down of your estate buildings and returning empty land to gov!

Most important is how rare low floor developments would be in the future.

But generally, it would be a safer bet than developments with tall buildings and every area developed.

For 99-years leasehold properties, difficult to bet to see much future because gov can just wait for lease to run out by end of 99 years before they adjust plot ratio higher and gov huat ah! BUT You get $0! Oh wait, you can actually be made to pay for pulling down of your estate buildings and returning empty land to gov!
    So, in my case (budget 1.8 m) which condo you would choose?

FH
    1) Farrer Park - city square residence (1200 sq feet)
    2) Jalan Datoh (Balastier) - Vista residence (1200), the Arte (1399)
    3) Pasir Panjang - small projects
    4) Marine Parade & Kambangan - small project

http://forums.condosingapore.com/sho...the-best/page5

LH
    Red Hill and Queens Town
    1) Ascentia sky about 1200 sqft unit 1500 psf. 92 yrs remain
    2) metropolitan about 1380 sqft unit 1300 psf. 88 yrs remain
    3) Queens about 1500 sqft unit 1150 psf. 81 yrs remain

http://forums.condosingapore.com/sho...ct-is-the-best

The vast majority of housing (all types) in Singapore are below 30 years old.

So Govt can afford to wait for 69 to 95 years to wait for all LH to be returned to state?

It’s either not facing reality or just plain naive.

Yes they can wait because they still have lots of free land that they can sell for 99-years lease to cater for 6.9M population!
    Anyway, majority of Singaporeans voted not to have population increase so gov have more than enough land to go around!
    Unless Singapore hits 10M population, else having plot ratio increase before 99-years leasehold land lease running out probably going to be very low in future!

The vast majority of housing (all types) in Singapore are below 30 years old.

So Govt can afford to wait for 69 to 95 years to wait for all LH to be returned to state?

It’s either not facing reality or just plain naive.

All LH will be out!

For FH, I would go for (2).
    You could also consider 368 Thomon and Cube 8.

However, better choice would be those FH condo estates (with >100 units) much nearer Novena MRT station and Novena Square mall, example, Novena Suites, Park Infinia, Viva, Lincoln Residences etc.

Quote Originally Posted by lhk001 View Post
    So, in my case (budget 1.8 m) which condo you would choose?

FH

LH
    Red Hill and Queens Town

All LH will be out!
    better choice would be those FH condo estates (with >100 units) much nearer Novena MRT station and Novena Square mall, example, Novena Suites, Park Infinia, Viva, Lincoln Residences etc.
    My budget is not enough to buy 3 bedrooms units of these projects.

So, your view is FH is even more important than location and condo layout & facilities?
    Those projects in Queens Town and Red Hill are very nice!

Minus the land required to be put as Nature Reserve, roads, bus depots (switching to bus model), army or police camps, very little land is left. As we speak, cemeteries in Bukit Brown and Lim Chu Kang are being exhumed to create some space.

You probably have not ventured out of your FH CCR century old mansion for decades.

Yes they can wait because they still have lots of free land that they can sell for 99-years lease to cater for 6.9M population!
    Anyway, majority of Singaporeans voted not to have population increase so gov have more than enough land to go around!
    Unless Singapore hits 10M population, else having plot ratio increase before 99-years leasehold land lease running out probably going to be very low in future!

Minus the land required to be put as Nature Reserve, roads, bus depots (switching to bus model), army or police camps, very little land is left. As we speak, cemeteries in Bukit Brown and Lim Chu Kang are being exhumed to create some space.

You probably have not ventured out of your FH CCR century old mansion for decades.
    In your opinion, which one is the Best Buy with 1.8m budget?

FH

LH
    Red Hill and Queens Town

Location is also very important, hence all those I recommended you are in D11 or thereabout which is still close to your choice of The Arte etc (and not FH (1), (3), and (4)). My preference is always FH in D9, D10, and D11.
    Otherwise, The Arte and Vista Residences are not bad choices. Still walkable to Novena MRT station and shopping malls.

My budget is not enough to buy 3 bedrooms units of these projects.

So, your view is FH is even more important than location and condo layout & facilities?
    Those projects in Queens Town and Red Hill are very nice!

There are lots of land lah! Go Bidadari, Go Simpang, Go Sembawang, Go Lim Chu Kang, Go Sungei Buloh nearby area, go Woodlands, go Punggol, go Pasir Ris, go Changi, go Tuas and Jurong, and soon the whole of Marina South and Keppel Shipyard and Pasir Panjang area (when the port moved to Tuas) etc, wahhhhhh....., so much empty land! Still not enough? Still got the whole Palau Ubin and Palau Tekong! All these land can easily accomodate up to 8M population!
    Above that then gov needs to up plot ratios of existing buildings!

Location is also very important, hence all those I recommended you are in D11 or thereabout which is still close to your choice of The Arte etc (and not FH (1), (3), and (4)). My preference is always FH in D9, D10, and D11.
    Otherwise, The Arte and Vista Residences are not bad choices. Still walkable to Novena MRT station and shopping malls.
    Thank you for your advice.

As it is my first property, I need to be very careful in making decision.

I also want to get the opinion from others before going to house viewing.

Thank you for your advice.

As it is my first property, I need to be very careful in making decision.

I also want to get the opinion from others before going to house viewing.
    Don't take too long, I ask for a Toyota Wish after 1 week.

Bro, you will find that you have the best answer that no one in this forum can advise you on.

I focus on three things for own stay first property.

1. Utility - how much you can use the place. The best is your children study there, you and spouse work nearby and your parents live nearby.

2. Affordability - if I have 1.8 million, I have the tendency to split it to buy 2 properties, or to leave some buffer. Unless it is not possible due to the constraints of point 1.

3. Long term development of the area which ties in with purpose of use and exit plan. Need to know your targeted timeline and longer term purpose etc. Do you intend to have only 1 mega property or plan to have more? Are you comfortable to rent out and is rental income compatible with your main income at your targeted exit points?

More questions that you need to be aware of than you realise actually.

In your opinion, which one is the Best Buy with 1.8m budget?

FH

LH
    Red Hill and Queens Town