Page 45 of 144 FirstFirst ... 152025303540414243444546474849505560657075 ... LastLast
Results 1,321 to 1,350 of 4292

Thread: Property market sentiments 2010

Quote Originally Posted by Reporter

EU Preps US$645 Billion Fund to Fight ‘Wolfpack,’ Debt Crisis
    James G. Neuger and Meera Louis
    Bloomberg
    Brussels, Belgium
    Monday, 10 May 2010, 12.06 am CET

European Union finance ministers moved toward agreement on an unprecedented loan package worth at least US$645 billion to prevent Greece’s fiscal woes from triggering a broader sovereign-debt crisis and shattering confidence in the euro.

Jolted into action by last week’s slide in the currency to a 14-month low and soaring bond yields in Portugal and Spain, the 16 euro governments sketched out plans to make €440 billion (US$570 billion) available, with 60 billion euros more from the EU’s budget, according to 3 officials at the talks in Brussels. An additional, unspecified sum may come from the International Monetary Fund, the officials said.

“We are going to defend the euro,” Spanish Economy Minister Elena Salgado told reporters as she arrived to chair the meeting yesterday. “We think we have a duty for more stability for our currency. We will do whatever is necessary.”

Europe’s failure to contain Greece’s fiscal crisis triggered a 4.1% drop in the euro last week, the biggest weekly decline since the aftermath of Lehman Brothers Holdings Inc.’s collapse. It prompted the U.S. and Asia to urge broader steps to prevent a debt crisis from pitching the world back into a recession.

‘Wolfpack Behavior’

President Barack Obama spoke by phone with German Chancellor Angela Merkel for the second time in three days, adding to the international pressure Europe has faced since a hurriedly arranged conference call of Group of Seven finance chiefs on May 7. Obama yesterday emphasized “the importance of the members of the European Union taking resolute steps to build confidence in the markets,” White House spokesman Bill Burton told reporters in Hampton, Virginia.

“In the night, when the markets are opening, we cannot afford a disappointment,” said Finance Minister Anders Borg of Sweden, one of 11 EU nations not in the euro. “We now see herd behavior in the markets that are really pack behavior, wolfpack behavior.”

Expectations of decisive action buoyed the euro as trading began in Asia. It jumped 1.5% to $1.2939 as of 7:59 a.m. in Sydney. EU officials aimed to wrap up the meeting by 2 a.m. Brussels time.

Several Alternatives

Germany, the bloc’s largest economy, is being represented by Interior Minister Thomas de Maiziere after wheelchair-bound Finance Minister Wolfgang Schaeuble, 67, was rushed to a Brussels hospital due to an adverse reaction to new medication.

The officials didn’t say what additional measures the European Central Bank may take.

“Europe is getting its act together,” said Chris Rupkey, chief financial economist at Bank of Tokyo-Mitsubishi UFJ Ltd. in New York. “Time will tell if this statement is enough to satisfy the European bond market vigilantes.”

Government officials said they won’t push the independent ECB to, for example, buy government bonds. President Jean-Claude Trichet accelerated the market selloff on May 6 by rejecting that measure. Trichet is in Basel, Switzerland, for a scheduled meeting of central bankers from the Group of 10 nations. Vice President Lucas Papademos is attending the Brussels talks.

With the euro facing the stiffest test since its debut in 1999, the weekend turned into a crisis-management exercise to restore faith in the currency and prevent a European debt crisis from cascading around the world.

Stability

The purpose is to “decide on a mechanism that enables us to assure the stability of the euro, stability in the zone and, beyond that, stability in financial markets,” French Finance Minister Christine Lagarde said.

The euro slid to $1.2715 from $1.3293 last week and is down 15% since late November. European stocks sank the most in 18 months, with the Stoxx Europe 600 Index tumbling 8.8% to 237.18.

The extra yield that investors demand to hold Greek, Portuguese and Spanish debt instead of benchmark German bonds rose to euro-era highs. The premium on 10-year government bonds jumped as high as 973 basis points for Greece, 354 basis points for Portugal and 173 basis points for Spain.

Britain, the EU’s third-largest economy, won’t contribute to a fund to shore up euro countries, though it backs efforts to restore stability, Chancellor of the Exchequer Alistair Darling said.

Euro Support

“When it comes to supporting the euro, that is for the eurogroup countries,” Darling told Sky News. “We need to show again today that by acting together we can stabilize the situation.”

Germany stepped up calls for a closer monitoring of government finances and more rigorous enforcement of the deficit-limitation rules.

The vow to push budget shortfalls below the euro’s 3% limit echoes promises that have been regularly broken ever since governments in 1999 set a 3-year deadline for achieving balanced budgets. The euro region’s overall deficit is forecast at 6.6% of gross domestic product in 2010 and 6.1% in 2011.

Plans for a European credit-rating authority are already under consideration at the European Commission, the bloc’s Brussels-based executive agency. It also is investigating whether ratings companies such as Standard & Poor’s wield too much power over investors’ perceptions of governments.

Asked whether steps to stem speculation against government bonds would include restrictions on short sales or credit default swaps, European Commission President Jose Barroso said “some of the points you have mentioned will be contemplated.”

The political leadership of the US$12 trillion economy also signed off this weekend on a €110 billion aid package for Greece negotiated by finance ministers last week. So far 9 governments have cleared the way for funds to be sent to Athens.
    inflation with a capital I. this will delay the expected rate hikes .

By constantly posting about double-bay, tanumy inevitably irritated some fellow forumers. So I'm wondering what is his real motivation: to recommend or to trip-up double-bay.

EU caught market off guard with US$962 billion "TARP"
    Peter Whitley
    Senior Forex Analyst
    IFR Markets
    Sydney, NSW, Australia
    Monday, 10 May 2010

In a "shock and awe" tactic, the EU caught the market off guard this morning by the sheer size of a crisis package mooted on Friday with details out around 2 hours ago. The EU appears to have hit the sovereign debt problem with everything they had in a last ditch effort to defeat the speculative attacks on sovereign debt. Whilst the problem will go not completely go-away, the "TARP" style program is sure to cause a rethink by speculators. EUR/USD is up around 180 pips from the NY close and a squeeze to 1.31/1.32 is possible. USD/SGD and USD/MYR have taken a beating with USD/SGD matching the EUR/USD 180 pip move from the NY close. USD/KRW appears to be supported by official bids.

another clown is richardsng

Quote Originally Posted by Property_Owner
    at least he is better then some ''X'' at skyscrapercity. Agents should not be in forum talking cock.

US dollars plan to ease Euro crisis
    Press Association
    London, U.K.
    Monday, 10 May 2010, 4.46 am GMT

The US Federal Reserve has opened a programme to ship US dollars to Europe in a move to head off a broader financial crisis on the continent.

Other central banks, including the Bank of Canada, the Bank of England, the European Central Bank and the Swiss National Bank, were also reportedly involved in the effort.

The action reopens a programme put in place during the 2008 global financial crisis.

Under the programme, dollars are shipped overseas through the foreign central banks.

In turn, these central banks can lend the dollars out to banks in their home countries that are in need of dollar funding to prevent the European crisis from spreading further.

The Fed said action is being taken "in response to the re-emergence of strains in US dollar short-term funding markets in Europe".

The debt crisis first erupted in Greece and there are fears that it could spread to Spain, Portugal and other European countries. The crisis pushed up demand for the US dollar and weakened the value of the euro, the currency used by 16 European countries.

The Fed said the action was being taken to "prevent the spread of strains to other markets and financial centres".

Wah, lucky she didn't ask for something same price as your failed missions.
    who knows, maybe same amount
    PO 'my heart pain again'....heart pain must be gilat liao. If amount is small, it might only be a small mosquitoe bite for PO.

Report: G-20 deputies agree on need for strengthened assistance to Greece
    Associated Press
    Seoul, South Korea
    Monday, 10 May 2010, 10.35 am KT/CCT

A news report says that officials from the Group of 20 agree on the need for strengthened international assistance to Greece.

Yonhap news agency reported Monday that G-20 deputy finance ministers held a conference call to discuss the situation in Greece.

Yonhap quoted South Korea's deputy minister for international affairs Shin Je-yoon as saying, "We all agreed on the need to strengthen international assistance to help resolve the crisis in Greece."

Ministry of Strategy and Finance spokesman Kim Young-min in Seoul said Shin convened the conference call on the order of Finance Minister Yoon Jeung-hyun.

South Korea is the chair of the G-20 this year.

Kim had no details on what was discussed and said that the ministry would be making no announcements.

Rosamund Kwan, queen of property market?

http://sg.yimg.com/i/sg/providers/xi...vhtaBpFLfX.A-- Xin.sg - Friday, April 30
    http://d.yimg.com/hb/ng/co/xin/20100...KEE_AaLKaoIw--
    Rosamund Kwan, queen of property market?

Seems like Rosamund Kwan made the right move in quitting showbiz.
    In addition to endorsements every now and then, the former top actress is reportedly only earning her keep through property investments these days. Yet, she's earning more than during her heyday in the entertainment business.
    Hong Kong media said the actress could be worth up to HK$500 million (S$88 million) in a few weeks' time, if she sells a mansion she owns in Hong Kong's Repulse Bay.
    According to sources, Rosamund is a sharp and skillful player in the field, surprising even professional investors. When she bought the unit at The Nautilus for HK$113 million (S$20 million) in 2007, it already had excellent location and fengshui, but she poured in an additional S$600,000 to refurbish its interior.
    Today the mansion is worth HK$240 million.
    Since Rosamund, known for her '13th Aunt' roles in the Once Upon A Time In China series, officially retired in 2007, two Hong Kong assets have passed through her hands that earned her HK$150 million (S$26 million).
    An unnamed close friend of hers revealed that the actress had been learning the tricks for some time, "She's very good. A lakeside villa she bought in Beijing five years ago is now priced two-fold."

wonder which forum is 13th aunt reading

Waaa...she is my Idol...haa haa...

2,880.48?
    Why not 2,888.88? Where are the other 2 8s?
    Maybe "jlrx"'s magic missed 2 8s?

2,880.48?
    Why not 2,888.88? Where are the other 2 8s?
    Maybe "jlrx"'s magic missed 2 8s?
    These few months too many '8's, hence the '8's are very exhausted and need to take a rest.

Default Swaps Tumble After EU Goes ‘All In’: Credit Markets
    Abigail Moses and Shannon D. Harrington
    Bloomberg
    New York, New York, U.S.
    Monday, 10 May 2010, 3.58 am U.S. EDT

Credit markets rallied around the world after the European Union agreed a sovereign aid package worth almost US$1 trďllďön along with government bond purchases to halt the debt crisis.

“There has been a pökër gämë going on between the markets and the EU,” said Gary Jenkins, the head of credit strategy at Evolution Securities Ltd. in London. “This is probably reaching a clďmäx as the EU has just goneäll ďn.’

The Markit iTraxx Europe Index of credit-default swaps on 125 companies with investment-grade ratings tumbled 33.5 basis points to 99.5, with banks leading the biggest one-day decline, according to Markit Group Ltd. Swaps on Greece fell 258.5 basis points to 657, Portugal dropped 162 to 263 and Spain declined 81.5 to 157, according to CMA DataVision. Contracts on France, Germany and the U.K. also fell.

European policy makers stepped up efforts to prevent a sovereign-debt collapse and muffle speculation the 11-year-old euro could break apart. The measures came after contagion from Greece drove the common currency to a 14-month low, infecting the bank funding system and threatening to slow the global economic recovery as borrowing costs rose from the U.S. to Asia.

The package offers as much as 750 billion euros ($962 billion), including International Monetary Fund backing, to countries facing instability and the European Central Bank said it will buy government and private debt. The Federal Reserve said it authorized temporary currency swaps with other central banks in response to the “re-emergence of strains” in Europe.

‘Nuclear Option’

“EMU politicians and the ECB have now pressed the nuclear option,” said Padhraic Garvey, a strategist at ING Groep NV in Amsterdam. “The central question from here is whether the cumulative measures can manage to stabilize the system.”

Bond risk tumbled in Asia, with the cost of protecting corporate and sovereign debt from default dropping the most since Nov. 2008. The Markit iTraxx Asia index declined 35 basis points to 110, CMA prices show.

Stocks surged around the world, the euro strengthened and commodities gained on speculation the aid fund will underpin economic growth and ease the crisis that on May 7 drove the interest rate financial companies charge each other for three- month loans in dollars to the highest since August. Yields on corporate debt climbed last week by the most relative to government securities since Lehman Brothers Holdings Inc.’s bankruptcy in September 2008, according to Bank of America Merrill Lynch indexes.

Bond Issuance

Global corporate bond issuance plummeted to $9.4 billion last week, the least this year, following $30.1 billion in the previous five-day period and $47.9 billion in the week ended April 23, according to data compiled by Bloomberg. JPMorgan Chase & Co. said in a May 7 report it’s ending a recommendation that investors own a greater percentage of junk bonds than contained in benchmark indexes.

The 3-month London interbank offered rate in dollars, the rate banks pay for loans, jumped 5.5 basis points to 0.428% on May 7. It climbed 8.2 basis points on the week, the biggest increase since October 2008.

“There were a lot of people who didn’t realize how fully interrelated and large” the problems caused by the sovereign fiscal crisis were, said Brian Yelvington, head of fixed-income strategy at broker-dealer Knight Libertas LLC in Greenwich, Connecticut.

The spread between three-month dollar Libor and the overnight indexed swap rate, a barometer of the reluctance of banks to lend, has jumped to 18.1 basis points, three times the 6 basis-point spread on March 15 and the highest since August.

Swap Rates

Swap rates are typically higher than government yields because the floating payments are based on rates, such as the euro interbank offered rate, or Euribor, that contain credit risk. Swap rates serve as benchmarks for investors in debt including mortgage-backed and auto-loan bonds.

The rate at which Royal Bank of Scotland Group Plc told the British Bankers Association it could borrow for three months jumped 14 basis points last week to 0.5% point. Barclays reported rates that increased 11 basis points to 0.45, while Societe Generale SA, France’s second-largest bank by market value, said its climbed 8 basis points to 0.45% point.

Rates being charged for short-term loans are still more than 90% below the record levels in 2008, as banks are in better shape to weather a market seizure than when the U.S. subprime mortgage market collapsed. The Libor-OIS spread reached a record 364 basis points in October 2008.

“The price action is probably as bad as anything we saw in September ‘08,” James Palmisciano, chief investment officer of the $1.7 billion Gracie Credit Fund in New York, said before the European policy makers announced the loan package.

Corporate Debt

The extra yield investors demand to own corporate debt instead of government securities soared 28 basis points to 177 basis points, or 1.77 percentage point, according to Bank of America Merrill Lynch’s Global Broad Market Corporate Index. The index, which peaked at 511 basis points in March 2009, dropped to as low as 142 on April 21.

Spreads on European bank bonds widened 48 basis points last week to 238 as of May 7, the highest since September, according to Bank of America Merrill Lynch’s EMU Financial Corporate index. The index’s 1% loss this month follows returns of 0.49% in April and 1.12 percent in March.

Europe’s debt-ridden nations still have to raise almost 2 trillion euros within the next three years to refinance maturing bonds and fund deficits. Led by Italy’s $126 billion, Greece, Spain, Portugal, Ireland and Italy have a total of $215 billion of debt coming due in the next three months, according to JPMorgan.

“Credit investors should not overlook that this is more of a sovereign bailout rather than a private sector bailout,” Philip Gisdakis, the head of credit strategy at UniCredit SpA in Munich, wrote in a note to investors. “The austerity measures that will be part of the program will have a negative impact on corporate spreads.”

HYPERINFLATION

Quote Originally Posted by devilplate, 10 May 2010 6.52 pm
    HYPERINFLATION
    Hyperinflation?
    Will this Greece crisis create another round of hyperinflation?

"jlrx", can give us an answer? We need it ASAP. Preferably in pictorial form please! Thanks!
    Quote Originally Posted by Reporter, 7 May 2010
    Quote Originally Posted by Komo, 7 May 2010 11.31 pm
    Quote Originally Posted by Reporter, 7 May 2010 11.04 pm
    Quote Originally Posted by Douk, 7 May 2010 10.34 pm
    My personal thought. Recovery still intact.
    I don't treat this Greece crisis or any crisis after the US subprime crisis of less significance than the US subprime crisis itself. However, the world has changed since then. The methods and tools to fight crisis like this have changed.

In my opinion, we will not feel the impact of this Greece crisis for quite some time. Yes, I know, we are seeing Euro and stocks dropping now but .......... The world has changed.

The world has changed. An ugly person can now be engineered to look beautiful and shapely. Can his/her beauty last? I don't know but it will stay for quite some time.

The world has changed. Is it a morally better world since then? I wouldn't want to comment. Nevertheless, the world has changed.

I was badly disturbed by the US subprime crisis. So did many governments and economists. This time round, I don't see myself, the economy or the property market going to be affected by the Greece crisis. I firmly believe we have the methods and tools to contain it. Should we do it is totally another matter.
    I believe Greece alone is not the main worry.The worry is how many more countries are similarly in trouble. Now its no longer about PIGS. It has grown to PIIGS. Next is .....
    This time is not about a corporate in trouble. It's about countries. Is this end of the recovery story? (the shortest in history?)
    My point is not about the size of the crisis. Will this Europe crisis be bigger than US subprime crisis (not a corporate crisis)? That is not my focus. My focus is on the methods and tools developed to tackle this type of crisis since US subprime crisis.

Anyway, as we are speaking, Uncle "printer" Ben wants to lay his hands on this latest crisis.
    Quote Originally Posted by jlrx, 7 May 2010
    No worries!

This just means they are going to print even more money!

Nowadays I am actually looking forward to more crises.

who knows, maybe same amount
    PO 'my heart pain again'....heart pain must be gilat liao. If amount is small, it might only be a small mosquitoe bite for PO.
    http://www.thewatchquote.com/Audemar...2CR-01-PdN.htm

When I bought this for myself i have no heart pain at all. But when i buy gifts for wifey my heart aching leh. Guys, do you feel the same?

tat shows u love urself more den anybody else..

I am happy when my wife is happy ...

cos AP is still on ur 'hands' while the other is not. U can feel the beat of the AP but can't feel the PP... haha

tat shows u love urself more den anybody else..
    haa btw is ur magic no. plate 666 ?

thats becos what you (we) buy can appreciate in value ..
    while what they buy ..tends to be fashion value ..which over time .. has no value ..

Investors willing to pay premium for good governance: SM Goh
    Desmond Wong
    Channel NewsAsia
    Monday, 10 May 2010, 2155 hrs

Senior Minister Goh Chok Tong

High standards of corporate governance are a collective responsibility for firms if Singapore is to continue as a centre for business and finance.

Senior Minister Goh Chok Tong said investors will be willing to pay a premium for companies with good governance standards.

According to Senior Minister Goh, boards and senior management will have to internalise the values, spirit and purpose behind the rules and reporting requirements.

And boards will have to set the tone and develop the right skills to make governance a success.

Senior Minister and Chairman of the Monetary Authority of Singapore Goh Chok Tong, said: "Good governance is central to Singapore's competitiveness as a business hub. Our hard-earned reputation for political stability, integrity, rule of law, sound accounting frameworks and a strong commitment to efficiency and effectiveness has made Singapore an attractive place for global businesses."

Mr Goh was speaking at the Singapore Corporate Awards on Monday now into its fourth year.

Keppel walked away with awards for best managed board, annual report and CEO of the Year for large caps.

Keppel said the achievement comes after years of work.

Choo Chiau Beng, CEO, Keppel Corporation, said: "We have a very strong chairman and that helps to set the tone for good corporate governance. Keppel has been an independent company since 1968, so we have 42 years of work."

Keppel shared the top spot for best managed board with SingTel.

And smaller companies were not left out with ornamental fish firm, Qian Hu, and offshore company Baker Tech both taking home accolades for well managed boards, while Eu Yan Sang took home the CEO of the Year award for the small caps.

Summerdale, the almost-10-year-old EC in District 22 Jurong West has a nëw hďgh of $617 psf!

Summerdale
    Address .......................... psf ............. Area .......... Price ......... Contract Date
    10 Boon Lay Drive #12-32 .... $617 psf .... 1,216 sqft .... $750,000 .... 23 Apr 10

The stock market is going crazy now. I didn't expect the IMF and EU funds when I entered (abit) on Friday.

caution is good, and now is time to thread with care

Going-7-year-old Compass Heights in District 19 Sengkang has a nëw hďgh of $907 psf!
    The $900 psf barrier has finally been broken!

Compass Heights
    Address ............................. psf ............. Area ........ Price .......... Contract Date
    9 Sengkang Square #09-02 ..... $907 psf ..... 667 sqft .... $605,000 ..... 21 Apr 10

Newton One in District 11 has a nëw hďgh of $1,770 psf!

Newton One
    Address ....................... psf .............. Area ......... Price ............ Contract Date
    1 Newton Road #13-03 .... $1,770 psf ... 1,216 psf .... $2,152,000 .... 20 Apr 10

stoxx 50 10%++....fat finger?

Hyperinflation?
    Will this Greece crisis create another round of hyperinflation?

"jlrx", can give us an answer? We need it ASAP. Preferably in pictorial form please! Thanks!
    There are now going to be trillions of EUROs pouring out like sewage. Anyone who picks a fight with Governments will end up drowned in sewage like the guy below.

Quote Originally Posted by jlrx
    There are now going to be trillions of EUROs pouring out like sewage. Anyone who picks a fight with Governments will end up drowned in sewage like the guy below.

meaning: shorties tio burnt?

time for financial reform ~~

whats the best way to hedge against inflation??

property? precious metals like gold/silver?

whats the best way to hedge against inflation??

property? precious metals like gold/silver?
    commodities is a good hedge

you can build more properties .. but you cannot produce commodities like gold / silver ..

and these commodities are more liquid .. easier to exit when the time comes .. but properties .. the process is longer