View Full Version : Apartment vs Condominium

06-10-10, 03:44
Can I have a sily questions? Is there any difference between "Apartment" and "Condominium"? At URA website, Frangrance Court is classified as "Apartment" while Le Hill is classified as "Condominium".

06-10-10, 03:56
Can I have a sily questions? Is there any difference between "Apartment" and "Condominium"? At URA website, Frangrance Court is classified as "Apartment" while Le Hill is classified as "Condominium".

my understanding is :

condo will have swimming pool + court ( tennis or squash)

apt only have swimming pool

in short Apt does not have full facilities

isaaclim
06-10-10, 07:57
They have different setback requirement from boundaries for a given height. Apartment is less. Condo requires more setback.

06-10-10, 08:08
So in another words, stricter criteria for "Condo" status (compared to "Apartment") -> "Condo" must be better than "Apartment" lah (if you are choosing the 2 side by side and the price difference is not much)! :D

They have different setback requirement from boundaries for a given height. Apartment is less. Condo requires more setback.

apple3
06-10-10, 08:23
1. Any land size 45,000sqf and below residential property cannot be classifiy as Condominium.

2. Any condominium must have 6th storey and above.

3. Residential vs Recreational ratio on land must fulfill certain criteria.

4. Unit to Land ratio must also fulfill certain criteria.

5. Certain facilities is a must.

6. Lastly, any residential property attach to a shopping centre like compass height, centris, ion cannot be classify as condo regardless of the above mentioned fullfillment.

So sometime, you could have EVERYTHING a condo have yet be classify as apartment. I'm not going in depth on how it affect valuation unless you want further info.

it also depend on land size/units ratio at which band. In addition, the common space/recreation area to residential area ratio. this you have to refer to building plan.

In the past, apartment are associate with lucky plaza apartment, IP or beautyworld, etc. Then when more Geylang/Joo Chiat apartments spurn out across, it give apartment a bad taste.

Recently, ppl enbloc 2 or 3 landed properties and pay development charge with plot ratio increase for small development, they are hamper by the 45000 sqft ruling but many of them put out those 30 units plus with lavish advertisment like for "the esteem ones" and thus package a bit well. Then when Ion and Centris shopping centre living come to picture, it change the mentality of ppl. (Ion refer to the orchard residence"

So back to your question, putting aside condo status, different apartment warrant diff evaluation. The key is, it depend on WHY is it classify as Apartment in the 1st place.

Example, between 2 similar developments, if a condo cat is the same price as a apartment cat, get condo. But if the apartment cat is due to ratio criteria and it near a mrt station/amenities, you may consider the apartment.
http://forums.condosingapore.com/images/statusicon/user_online.gif

06-10-10, 09:24
Thanks for your explanation, a few questions/clarifications:

Does your pt 2 (6 storeys) apply to those developements in landed areas with height restrictions (eg the Greenwich).

and

How do we find out why is it classified as an apartment in the first place

thanks in advance..

1. Any land size 45,000sqf and below residential property cannot be classifiy as Condominium.

6. Lastly, any residential property attach to a shopping centre like compass height, centris, ion cannot be classify as condo regardless of the above mentioned fullfillment.

So sometime, you could have EVERYTHING a condo have yet be classify as apartment. I'm not going in depth on how it affect valuation unless you want further info.

it also depend on land size/units ratio at which band. In addition, the common space/recreation area to residential area ratio. this you have to refer to building plan.

In the past, apartment are associate with lucky plaza apartment, IP or beautyworld, etc. Then when more Geylang/Joo Chiat apartments spurn out across, it give apartment a bad taste.

Recently, ppl enbloc 2 or 3 landed properties and pay development charge with plot ratio increase for small development, they are hamper by the 45000 sqft ruling but many of them put out those 30 units plus with lavish advertisment like for "the esteem ones" and thus package a bit well. Then when Ion and Centris shopping centre living come to picture, it change the mentality of ppl. (Ion refer to the orchard residence"

So back to your question, putting aside condo status, different apartment warrant diff evaluation. The key is, it depend on WHY is it classify as Apartment in the 1st place.

Example, between 2 similar developments, if a condo cat is the same price as a apartment cat, get condo. But if the apartment cat is due to ratio criteria and it near a mrt station/amenities, you may consider the apartment.

jencrs
06-10-10, 10:12
Ya just found out that The Scala is Apartment status.

06-10-10, 10:17

yo ...

point 2 ...

Island view and Flynn park are both condo .. and less than 5 storey ...
in fact most condos in pasir panjang are less than 6 storey ...

so how to tell ?

06-10-10, 11:00
Ya just found out that The Scala is Apartment status.

tats strange....any1 knows y its not condo status?

06-10-10, 11:04
actually i only know must have a min land size of 44000sqft for condo status

how come so many other criterias:o

06-10-10, 11:10

what facilities does scala have ?

pool and tennis court ?

if no court .. then cfm Apt

06-10-10, 11:13
Probably the building encroached onto the minimum boundary setback as required for a Condo Status, so that developer can maximise its plot ratio.

06-10-10, 11:14

pool and tennis court ?

the scala full condo facilities with tennis court..

no tennis court also can be condo status....

06-10-10, 11:25
the scala full condo facilities with tennis court..

no tennis court also can be condo status....

hhmm thats what an agent told me ..

no court means Apt

condo = pool + court

isaaclim
06-10-10, 11:29

no court means Apt

condo = pool + court

Ask that agent go "Eat shit" lah

06-10-10, 11:44
This probably layman definition, but URA definition don't care got facilities or not. Just so long as the Building is setback from the boundary according to its height for its plot ratio will do.

no court means Apt

condo = pool + court

06-10-10, 11:50
I think so too. We don't have to know why a private estate is classified as "apartment" rather than "condo", we just need to know it belongs to "Apartment" or "Condo". The former ("Apartment") obviously didn't satisfy some criteria to make it a good enough place to be classified as a higher-class "Condo" (simple as that). These reasons of not being classified as "Apartment" may be too numerous, such as not sufficient setbacks from roads (too noisy? no privacy? cannot be green enough since no land around for greenery (plants & trees etc) and beautifying the estate?), the block(s) are too close to the boundaries of the land (no privacy?), the blocks are too close to each other (no privacy? not green enough?, not comfortable living?), too small swimming pool (may be?), not enough greenery around the estate(?), etc etc! When developers want to squeeze as much GFA as possible from the estate to be built, they will definitely infringe on some of the above (even if the land is 200,000 sqft! - I know I know, some very big estate also classified as "Apartment"! Ops! - This shows the developers care more about profits than the 'class' & comfortable living of residents in the estate!). :banghead:

Probably the building encroached onto the minimum boundary setback as required for a Condo Status, so that developer can maximise its plot ratio.

06-10-10, 11:59

Apple3 works for URA, SLA, BCA?

fan
06-10-10, 12:25
Good to have insiders here. Learnt a lot. Thanks guys.

Veryln
06-10-10, 12:54

pool and tennis court ?

Parkvie Apartment at Bukit Batok has tennis court, swimming pool and 13 floors. Why is it called apartment?

Is this apartment good?

06-10-10, 14:51
"Condo" better than "Apartment" (otherwise URA does not have to waste time coming up with the specifications to satisfy the "Condo" classification - all else that doesn't satisfy automatically called "Apartment"). :D

Parkvie Apartment at Bukit Batok has tennis court, swimming pool and 13 floors. Why is it called apartment?

Is this apartment good?

06-10-10, 15:04
smaller FH apt got advantage leh...easier to enbloc:p

06-10-10, 15:09
Smaller FH "Condo" even better, even easier to enbloc (because got more land space to play with for facilities). :D

smaller FH apt got advantage leh...easier to enbloc:p

Squall8888
06-10-10, 15:16
Height is not a criterion. We have condos like Villa Marina at a max height of 4 floors. MBR, MBS are probably condo status but no tennis court. URA defines condo mainly based as livable index. Like how many units vs land size, min. land size etc. Pricing wise, apartment or condo status is never a factor. It is always location and "rentability". FH or LH99? The most expensive condos are mainly dominated by LH99 except a few FH in D10.

This probably layman definition, but URA definition don't care got facilities or not. Just so long as the Building is setback from the boundary according to its height for its plot ratio will do.

jencrs
06-10-10, 16:06
Just so long as the Building is setback from the boundary according to its height for its plot ratio will do.

Height is not a criterion.
I believe what sleek means is that the Setback from Common Boundaries for Condos is different from apartments, and the difference depends on the development's storey height, which in part depends on it's plot ratio.

06-10-10, 21:55
so anyone knows which property is type condo?

06-10-10, 22:30
Found this:
Non-Landed Property: Condominiums and Private Apartments
There are legal differences between a condominium and a private apartment.
When you are the owner of a private apartment, you are a lessee under the 99 year lease the housing developer has created for each apartment. You would not own any part of the common property - such as the car park or the pool - as these belong to the lessor, who can charge a separate fee for using those facilities. As an apartment owner you have certain rights and obligations spelt out under the lease. However, you are not able to participate in the management of the facilities.
A condominium is created under the Land Titles (Strata) Act, Chapter 158 and is also known as a "strata title property". As a condominium owner you own a share of the common property. Under the same Act a Management Corporation needs to be created to manage the the common property. As an apartment owner (or Subsidiary Proprietor) in a condominium you can be voted into the management council to have a say in the management of the common property.

06-10-10, 22:33
Found this:
When you are the owner of a private apartment, you are a lessee under the 99 year lease the housing developer has created for each apartment. You would not own any part of the common property - such as the car park or the pool - as these belong to the lessor, who can charge a separate fee for using those facilities. As an apartment owner you have certain rights and obligations spelt out under the lease. However, you are not able to participate in the management of the facilities.
A condominium is created under the Land Titles (Strata) Act, Chapter 158 and is also known as a "strata title property". As a condominium owner you own a share of the common property. Under the same Act a Management Corporation needs to be created to manage the the common property. As an apartment owner (or Subsidiary Proprietor) in a condominium you can be voted into the management council to have a say in the management of the common property.

apt status owners also get strata title leh....

only HDB is lessee

06-10-10, 22:44
very confusing leh...only know right price buy...right price sell.:D

06-10-10, 23:32

no court means Apt

condo = pool + court

Erm... totally wrong! A condo can also have no tennis court you know :D :D :D

And an apt can have all the facilities (but usually sans tennis court) and still be classified as an apt.

The only and key difference is the land size of the devt :D

06-10-10, 23:36
Found this:

erm... very badly written article which can give rise to wrong perceptions. :scared-1:

An apt can also be freehold status i.e. Estate in Fee Simple or Estate in Perpetuity. And an apt is also usually strata-titled nowadays.

And condo be be leasehold too. :tsk-tsk: :tsk-tsk: :tsk-tsk:

jencrs
06-10-10, 23:45
The only and key difference is the land size of the devt :DBut Scala almost 150,000 sqft and still apt status leh. Got to be more than just land size.

06-10-10, 23:55
But Scala almost 150,000 sqft and still apt status leh. Got to be more than just land size.

The total land area of the development should be at least 4,000sqm or larger for a condo and that the site coverage should not exceed 40% of its space.

I dunno why Scala is not classified a condo like you say. Either smaller than 4000sqm or too crammed :D :D :D

06-10-10, 23:56
The answer to why developer chose to classify their project as Apartment even it is qualified for Condo ( land size etc ) is very simple:

The development charge is cheaper for Apartment then Condo so they can increase their profit.....

I found it out from the developer for my apartment:not-worthy:

06-10-10, 23:57

Sad fact of life. Some sg scumbag property agents do not even know the difference :D

07-10-10, 00:00
Check the URA circular on the Boundary Setback and probably they build too close to it, hence the Apartment status.

apple3
07-10-10, 00:02
Thanks for your explanation, a few questions/clarifications:

Does your pt 2 (6 storeys) apply to those developements in landed areas with height restrictions (eg the Greenwich).

and

How do we find out why is it classified as an apartment in the first place

thanks in advance..

GFA is GFA (Land Size x Plot Ratio)
Height Restriction is Height Restriction (Common Law/Restriction)
This 2 are not related.

And landed property usage are for semi-d, terrace, GCB, etc. Developer has to pay DC to use it for those "landed" within condo compound. And these are STRATA TITLE and NOT TITLE DEED.
Both operating at different model.

Only way to find is via BP Submission.

apple3
07-10-10, 00:06
yo ...

point 2 ...

Island view and Flynn park are both condo .. and less than 5 storey ...
in fact most condos in pasir panjang are less than 6 storey ...

so how to tell ?

both bp submission way way before amendment.
and if my memory dont fail me, they are on reclaim strip or ajacent to reclaim plot which are subjected to slightly different criteria. same as former marina south under reclaim land usage.

07-10-10, 00:10
The total land area of the development should be at least 4,000sqm or larger for a condo and that the site coverage should not exceed 40% of its space.

I dunno why Scala is not classified a condo like you say. Either smaller than 4000sqm or too crammed :D :D :D

Do you guys think I know more than the average property agent? :cool: :cool: :cool:

Moral of story: Geylang OKTS can make better property agents :D :D :D

Just too bad... I donch want to switch line :tongue3: :D :D

apple3
07-10-10, 00:12

every development must have minimum common against residential area under general gfa.

if the common/facility ground is really too small compare to the number of unit, then 2nd possibility come in. developer did not exercise to the fullest extend of permissible gfa (plot ratio x land size)

And if the developer did not do so, dont be too happy assuming the plot has enbloc potential. it could be due to restriction.

example, the parc which have the multi storey carpark issue. this piece is purchase seprately from government to merge with main plot and has some restriction under it.

apple3
07-10-10, 00:16
Apple3 works for URA, SLA, BCA?

nope. my late father is an architect and always has big drawing plan for me to scribble upon.

i'm with the bank. not retail or microloan but developer/builder financing.
retiring soon.

apple3
07-10-10, 00:17

Is this apartment good?

ratio fail

apple3
07-10-10, 00:19
"Condo" better than "Apartment" (otherwise URA does not have to waste time coming up with the specifications to satisfy the "Condo" classification - all else that doesn't satisfy automatically called "Apartment"). :D

Not really.

The Orchard Residence near wisma going at 4000odd psf is APARTMENT.
Orchard Mrt Station? Ion? Ngee Ann City?

apple3
07-10-10, 00:20
so anyone knows which property is type condo?

ura website under transaction

apple3
07-10-10, 00:22
Total Rubbish.

St Regis Residence is going close to 3000psf, 999 tenure and APARTMENT status.

Found this:

jencrs
07-10-10, 00:22
Do you guys think I know more than the average property agent? :cool: :cool: :cool:

Just too bad... I donch want to switch line :tongue3: :D :DI want to switch to your line leh. How? Can understudy you or not?:D

apple3
07-10-10, 00:24

Just too bad... I donch want to switch line :tongue3: :D :D

I think your words value more than average agent. but dont switch and waste you talent.

apple3
07-10-10, 00:26
I want to switch to your line leh. How? Can understudy you or not?:D

Internship?????? Apprentice?????? hahahhahahah

jencrs
07-10-10, 00:34
Internship?????? Apprentice?????? hahahhahahahI don't mind man, I'm usually quite free, awake at nite, will work hard, and......... have passion haha.

07-10-10, 06:57
Internship?????? Apprentice?????? hahahhahahah

Wahahahaha :D :D

As for stocks, I would prefer to buy construction counters instead of property counters going forward :D :D :D

07-10-10, 06:58
I want to switch to your line leh. How? Can understudy you or not?:D

Wahahahahah..... gotch opening I will call you :D :D :D

07-10-10, 09:12
Wrong! Very big land size can also be classified as "Apartment" because the developer sacrifices livability index (the purpose of the criteria for having different classifications between "Condo" and "Apartment" by URA) for some other reasons! (Don't need to say you can also guess what lah! :o)

Erm... totally wrong! A condo can also have no tennis court you know :D :D :D

And an apt can have all the facilities (but usually sans tennis court) and still be classified as an apt.

The only and key difference is the land size of the devt :D

07-10-10, 09:15
Large land size can still be too cramped if the estate has too many low-rise blocks and practically neigbours can see each other clearly from within their house and can even borrow salts/peppers/etc by throwing across the windows. :o:doh:

07-10-10, 09:16
Only that? May be the developer doesn't want you to know more than that and to sell "Apartment" at "Condo" price? :(

The answer to why developer chose to classify their project as Apartment even it is qualified for Condo ( land size etc ) is very simple:

The development charge is cheaper for Apartment then Condo so they can increase their profit.....

I found it out from the developer for my apartment:not-worthy:

07-10-10, 09:22
OR is apartment because don't even have greenery space all around! When I say better, it is not in terms of price, but in terms of livability. To me, OR is not really a good livable place (but that doesn't mean people won't pay $4k+ psf for some fade - For sure it will become fade 50 years from now when the 99years lease starts to run out! May be 50 years is considered long enough for some people? :p).

Not really.

The Orchard Residence near wisma going at 4000odd psf is APARTMENT.
Orchard Mrt Station? Ion? Ngee Ann City?

07-10-10, 11:39
Only that? May be the developer doesn't want you to know more than that and to sell "Apartment" at "Condo" price? :(

I found it out before I bought my apartment as the location is just infront of MRT. It doesn't matter to me as my lawyer told me all legal document and contents are the same and no mention of apartment or condo status in all document. It is just the way URA wants to creat a different but most buyers ( especially foreigners ) don't care and can't tell the different.

07-10-10, 13:16
As is no need for developer to tell you the real reason why the estate they are developing has failed the "condo" status due to some specific reasons. Obviously legal documents will not contain that as it is material since you have decided to buy it and it is not the lawyer's job to advise you on this and on the price anyway. URA created the classifications based on some guidelines that will affect what we call "livability". Some offences are not as bad as others, but some un-"livability" have not been captured by URA as well or URA guidelines is also too lax (e.g. developers allowed to build blocks so close together that neighbours can borrow salts/peppers/etc from each other via throwing across the windows! (You can imagine your private life is so close to view of others?) :banghead:

I found it out before I bought my apartment as the location is just infront of MRT. It doesn't matter to me as my lawyer told me all legal document and contents are the same and no mention of apartment or condo status in all document. It is just the way URA wants to creat a different but most buyers ( especially foreigners ) don't care and can't tell the different.

07-10-10, 20:36
40% of land set aside for communal space. That is the strictest test because most developers nowadays just build up to the max and leave less than 40% of the LAND for communal space and facilities - plot ratio aside. High plot ratio and developers still build to the max - that is reality. Not surprised for Scala.

actually i only know must have a min land size of 44000sqft for condo status

how come so many other criterias:o

07-10-10, 20:47

Propertyguru website states The Scala is a 99-year leasehold condo development. Even "guru" website also can get it wrong...:doh:

07-10-10, 21:33
The sentence in RED is completely misleading. :doh:
So "low plot ratio" developers won't build to max? :confused:

40% of land set aside for communal space. That is the strictest test because most developers nowadays just build up to the max and leave less than 40% of the LAND for communal space and facilities - plot ratio aside. High plot ratio and developers still build to the max - that is reality. Not surprised for Scala.