View Full Version : The danger in property investment

18-10-10, 04:12
http://www.businesstimes.com.sg/sub/premiumstory/0,4574,408851,00.html?

Published October 16, 2010

The danger in property investment

When deciding to invest in real estate, buy with your head - not your heart.
By Ku Swee Yong

IT HAS been three years since the Dow Jones was at its peak of over 14,000 in October 2007. The last 36 months have been tumultuous for investors. Major institutions collapsed, some even disappeared.

During that time, portfolio managers kept having to adjust and shift, seeking safety in products such as fixed-income instruments and sovereign bonds while shunning structured products, hedge funds and private equity.

Yet, from Q2 2009, most were caught off-guard by the sudden strength of the equities market, or the sustained strength of commodities such as gold and oil.

The Dow was around 10,600 points in mid-September 2005, just below today's level of around 11,000. Capital gains from investing in the Dow Jones Index have been zero over the last five years.

But the global real estate category presents a different picture. Real estate derivatives such as mortgage-backed securities and mezzanine loans remain tangled between landlords, financiers, hedge funds and construction companies. Prices of real estate in major financial centres such as London, Tokyo, New York and Dubai are still on soft ground whereas prices in Shanghai, Seoul, Singapore and Hong Kong have trended up firmly.

It is a tough job for portfolio managers who are trying to balance their clients' investments to minimise risks while going after maximum gains. In volatile and uncertain times, what is a 'balanced portfolio'?

Diversification

Modern portfolio theory prescribes diversification in investing.

Private banks and discretionary portfolio managers have a reference balanced portfolio which they recommend to high net worth individuals (HNWIs). However, direct ownership of real estate is rarely included as it tends to be illiquid and difficult to value within a diversified portfolio.

An investment adviser in a local private bank recommends a balanced portfolio based on 55 per cent equities, 25 per cent fixed income, 10 per cent commodities and 10 per cent alternative investments. Any direct real estate investments or real estate derivatives such as unlisted debt instruments or shareholdings in buildings and developments are treated as private equity and classified under the alternative investments category.

In Singapore, with property prices the way they are today, investment in real estate starts from a minimum of S$500,000 for a 'matchbox-size' private residential unit.

A typical HNWI will own a residential unit with a value of, say, S$4 million. That we exclude from the value of the total investment portfolio.

This same investor might have a S$1 million apartment purchased with S$600,000 cash and financed with S$400,000 mortgage. Net equity at current valuation is S$200,000. To have a balanced portfolio that included this investment property, based on 10 per cent allocation in a portfolio, the investor should have another S$1.8 million invested in equities, fixed income, cash and alternative investments.

Therefore, in Singapore, the minimum level of wealth required to even begin contemplating a diversified, balanced portfolio will be north of an investible amount of S$2 million.

In the US, by comparison, a diversified investment portfolio can start from US$500,000 given that the median price of a single family home is less than US$180,000.

HNWIs have always been active in the luxury real estate market. What attracts them are the potential capital gains (more than the steady rental income stream) and the perceived lack of correlation with the stock market.

Residential properties offer relatively high loan-to-value ratio of up to 70 per cent (for investment residential properties) in Singapore. With low mortgage rates, servicing interest costs is easy. And, even at the worst of the market in the first quarter of 2009, there was no mark-to- market, scarce cases of top-up and few cases of margin calls as long as investors serviced their loans promptly. Real estate seems to be a favourite, especially among Asian HNWIs.

'The flip of the coin is the limited liquidity,' cautions Bassam Salem, Asia Pacific head of Investment Advisory at EFG Bank. 'Real estate capital gains are valid once the investor sells but when most investors want to sell, typically, as prices start to decline, they find there are no buyers.'

Given the absence of an efficient pricing mechanism such as a stock exchange, property prices are indicative until a transaction takes place. As landlords turn sellers in an economic downtrend, buyers become more cautious, financing gets tougher, credit tightens and mortgage spreads widen as lenders price in increasing risks. This makes it almost impossible to sell under such circumstances (recall the period of fear January-March 2009).

Proxy for direct real estate

An alternative to brick-and-mortar investment is real estate investment trusts (Reits). Reits provide access to a diversified property portfolio but, more importantly, come with daily pricing on the stock exchange and immediate liquidity.

Intuitively, the correlation between Reit returns and physical real estate's returns should be high. The URA Private Property Index (PPI) rose from 115.5 to 184.2 points over the past five years - an increase of 59 per cent. This compares well with that offered by Reits, but similarities end there.

The URA PPI does not capture monthly income returns nor does it account for geared returns and the costs of property and tenant maintenance. Furthermore, there are no residential Reits in Singapore to allow residential investors a proxy to measure their performance against.

Also, the mortgage against a property levers it such that during a downturn, investors could be holding on to paper losses or worse, holding on to net debt where the outstanding mortgage is above the market value of the property. Investors in Reit units, even with margin financing, almost never step into negative equity because preset margin calls will be triggered and forced selling will take place.

I believe that the tangible nature of physical real estate is what makes it attractive. The property's physical attributes, aesthetics, facilities, interior decor, luxurious ambience, location and monthly rental income tickle the fancy of investors. There are emotional attachments even for many experienced real estate investors.

And this is the Achilles' heel of investments.

Save for your own dwelling, any other investment in real estate should be based purely on facts, data and numbers. Let the numbers speak for themselves. Once emotions are involved ('if there were no tenants, I can stay in it myself'), judgment gets clouded and the returns objectives are unclear, both at the point of entry and point of exit.

We can find more examples of successful financial investors than real estate investors. Simple: it takes a lot more to get emotional over ticker symbols or fall in love with equities or, worse, to love something as dry as an equity-linked note. We are able to objectively weigh the risks and returns of financial investments as our analyses are not clouded by emotions.

For those of us who love real estate, my advice is: buy with your head, not your heart.

# The writer is the chief executive of International Property Advisor, a real estate consultancy

18-10-10, 10:20
http://www.businesstimes.com.sg/sub/premiumstory/0,4574,408851,00.html?

Published October 16, 2010

The danger in property investment

When deciding to invest in real estate, buy with your head - not your heart.
By Ku Swee Yong

blablabla...

And, even at the worst of the market in the first quarter of 2009, there was no mark-to- market, scarce cases of top-up and few cases of margin calls as long as investors serviced their loans promptly. Real estate seems to be a favourite, especially among Asian HNWIs.

blablabla...

# The writer is the chief executive of International Property Advisor, a real estate consultancy

Heed the 'guru' word on the bolded above. Never fear and never say die - as long as you sure that you can feed the monthly mortgage even at 4 or 5% int rate.

18-10-10, 10:41
Cannot compare to US property.. Its not apple to apple comparison. US is so much bigger than Singapore in Land Area so the property price bench marking is not something that is similar to SG. Maybe use HK is better?

18-10-10, 10:44
Cannot compare to US property.. Its not apple to apple comparison. US is so much bigger than Singapore in Land Area so the property price bench marking is not something that is similar to SG. Maybe use HK is better?

HK not good either

land bigger but buildable land is not proportionally more .. alot of it land are rocky hill ... thats one reason why the livable land are built to max .. and so expensive

18-10-10, 18:22
The market today is very strange. USD suddenly goes up a lot! A quick check of the top ownership of most of the STI stocks shocked me further: BlackStone and a few other international players topped the list. The hot money is already here. They normally escape when we are still celerating. If USD continous to go up like what is happening today, it is reasonable for one to infer that USD carry trade (borrow USD at close to zero interest rate, and exchage it to Asian currency to buy Asia stocks and property) will be rewound for now. Let's be careful.

neuron
18-10-10, 19:18
may i know how you check the ownership for the sti stocks?thanks

19-10-10, 01:34
meaning if the money goes away, the ppty and stock will some what affected or crash?

So is the strengthening of S$ a good move?

sorry hor, to be careful on what?

The market today is very strange. USD suddenly goes up a lot! A quick check of the top ownership of most of the STI stocks shocked me further: BlackStone and a few other international players topped the list. The hot money is already here. They normally escape when we are still celerating. If USD continous to go up like what is happening today, it is reasonable for one to infer that USD carry trade (borrow USD at close to zero interest rate, and exchage it to Asian currency to buy Asia stocks and property) will be rewound for now. Let's be careful.

harsh100
19-10-10, 12:21
Investment in property is usually prone to less volatility than shares. The investment in this sector is relatively a safe form of investment.
The value of your property rises in the long term.
You become eligible to receive tax deductions. You can include depreciation in the value of the investment property due to wear, tear and obsolescence as deductions in your tax returns.
You can obtain tax variations and enhance your cash flows.
You can earn from the rental income.
You can make use of negative gearing. A negatively geared investment property is one in which the interest on the property loan is higher than the rental income derived from the property. By indicating the difference between the interest and the rental income as losses incurred on the investment, you can get deductions in your tax returns. This is the legal remedy to reduce your taxes.
Overseas Property (http://www.propertyfrontiers.com/)

20-10-10, 09:15
Just short STI. I hppe this time I will get out fast. Thanks, Richard

20-10-10, 12:02
sorry, still looks like a kill all shorties day today. u managed to get out fast already?

Just short STI. I hppe this time I will get out fast. Thanks, Richard

20-10-10, 12:06
sorry, still looks like a kill all shorties day today. u managed to get out fast already?

No, no. I am not day trader. I used to hold a position for years, now months or weeks for stocks (and maybe days for warrents).

20-10-10, 12:11
u bot put warrant again? for sti, why not short the sti futures instead?

No, no. I am not day trader. I used to hold a position for years, now months or weeks for stocks (and maybe days for warrents).

20-10-10, 12:17
u bot put warrant again? for sti, why not short the sti futures instead?

Futures has unlimited losses with margin calls. Warrents will lost 100%.
Maybe it is a good idea to explore futures, in particular if one day I need to short gold (not so soon).

Is there a way to short properties? I only know leverage to go long, but how to go short when there is a need?

20-10-10, 12:20
Maybe it is a good idea to explore futures, in particular if one day I need to short gold (not so soon).

Is there a way to short properties? I only know leverage to go long, but how to go short when there is a need?

short silver lah.....whr got short gold one:p

one way to short ppty is to sell ur ppty lah:p

20-10-10, 12:21
yeah, i think can explore futures for gold and stock indices as its more liquid and not at a premium like warrants. no idea how to short properties though. anyone else have any clues? :)

20-10-10, 12:30
short silver lah.....whr got short gold one:p

one way to short ppty is to sell ur ppty lah:p

The transaction cost for buy/selling property is too high. If you are making a 70% loan and paying 30%, the buy/sell stame and agent fees and leagal fees can be close to 9% of the total purchase price, that is about 30% for the amount you put in. No wonder not many "speculartors" left in the property market.

One quick way I can think of is to short Property Index (or Property stocks), but the time horizon is too short comparing with the long postion of property.

Can I borrow someone's property and sell it - with a promise that I will buy it back for him? Maybe no one will trust me (no credit line in other words.)

But seriously, we need to find a way to allow people to short property market, so next time the bubble will be smaller.

20-10-10, 12:32
genting on viagra? :eek:

glp run out of steam oredi....all take profit to hoot maple tmr?:D

FREE MONIES HUAT ARGH!

20-10-10, 12:36
The transaction cost for buy/selling property is too high. If you are making a 70% loan and paying 30%, the buy/sell stame and agent fees and leagal fees can be close to 9% of the total purchase price, that is about 30% for the amount you put in. No wonder not many "speculartors" left in the property market.

One quick way I can think of is to short Property Index (or Property stocks), but the time horizon is too short comparing with the long postion of property.

Can I borrow someone's property and sell it - with a promise that I will buy it back for him? Maybe no one will trust me (no credit line in other words.)

But seriously, we need to find a way to allow people to short property market, so next time the bubble will be smaller.

short reits lor.....

aiya....y bother to short ppty? just short stocks la.....so far, i only play a few counters nia....ard 10 counters.....just nid to be specialist on some area will do....we only have so much capital

20-10-10, 12:38
but yesterday GLP lead then genting catch up in late afternoon, maybe today do the reverse? wah, those players who do such strategy huat liao, switch here switch there make both ways hahaha.

genting on viagra? :eek:

glp run out of steam oredi....all take profit to hoot maple tmr?:D

FREE MONIES HUAT ARGH!

20-10-10, 12:40
but ppty stocks din really rise that much vs 2007. skepticism over a bull market in property is still being built in the price of property stocks so not so terribly overvalued until its safe to short yet.

20-10-10, 12:45
but ppty stocks din really rise that much vs 2007. skepticism over a bull market in property is still being built in the price of property stocks so not so terribly overvalued until its safe to short yet.

actually there is a misconception....

ppty counters like CDL is not directly related to physical ppty prices leh....they r companies and u r actually buying into their coy's performance...

i suppose only REITs is the only alternative investment to physical ppty:2cents: