View Full Version : The Tennery (D23, 99/103 years LH, Far East Organization)

Pages : [1] 2

eddiehu
08-11-10, 12:22
BUILD AT THE NEXT UPCOMING HUB OF SINGAPORE (TEN MILE JUNCTION)

Consist of 338 small office-home (SOHO) units.
1 Bedroom availlable

Further Information will be posted online.
Call Eddie Hu @ 91881715 for enquiry/booking.

Thank You

property_finder
08-11-10, 13:07
Hi Eddie,

Can the SOHO unit address be registered with ACRA for business use?

If so, Is the address registration for business use subjected to approval every 2-3 years or are the units already zoned for commercial and no need for renewal?

eddiehu
08-11-10, 13:16
Thank for your response.

We are ironing some details for project. Technically the answer is yes.

08-11-10, 13:28
Thought all private home address can be registered for business? For HDB addresses, you will then need to seek approval from them. :2cents:

08-11-10, 13:40
nid to pay GST to buy a SOHO unit? or only applicable for GST registered individuals?

08-11-10, 14:09
:cool: New game leh, news reported play zone at industrial and commercial which is not subjected to coooooling measures. So hot or getting hotter? Centris hub in jurong, tennery at 10 mile also rite?

property_finder
08-11-10, 21:31
Does anyone know whether is it legally allowed to bring customers inside these SOHO apartments for meetings?

Strictly no walk-in customers, but on appointment basis only.

09-11-10, 11:08
Purchase of SOHO unit cannot use CPF?

09-11-10, 12:55

Yep. No CPF for downpayment nor stamp or legal fees nor servicing of mortgage loan allowed. Plus need to pay GST on the purchase price. That's easily a huge chunk more @ 7%.

09-11-10, 12:56
Does anyone know whether is it legally allowed to bring customers inside these SOHO apartments for meetings?

Strictly no walk-in customers, but on appointment basis only.

Shouldn't be a problem bah? You selling the place bring customers in for viewing also. And can't your friends also be customers? It's very grey area...

property_finder
09-11-10, 21:20

That is what I heard from agents if the units are zoned as commercial.

property_finder
09-11-10, 21:31
Shouldn't be a problem bah? You selling the place bring customers in for viewing also. And can't your friends also be customers? It's very grey area...

Very grey area..because some units registration to use address for business is valid only 2-3 years. Renewal is subject to approval. thus if someone complains about excessive noise or traffic...

If that happens, may look for another SOHO unit to conduct similar business.

11-11-10, 19:00
I thought all private residential can be converted to SoHo? So how is this different? And if one purchase a SoHo unit and use it solely for residential purpose, does the 7% GST still apply?

Can these SoHo units be used to conduct enrichment classes? Have been thinking of one day quitting the corporate world and doing some small-scale business conducting some art/music appreciation classes, or even nature appreciation trekking along the nature corridor (assuming the rail track is preserved as a nature area). So just wondering if such SoHo units be used for such purposes? I like the idea of cluster of SoHo- can save loads on rent if SoHo can be used for such purposes.

Can the threadstarter shed some light once you have iron out the details?

Yep. No CPF for downpayment nor stamp or legal fees nor servicing of mortgage loan allowed. Plus need to pay GST on the purchase price. That's easily a huge chunk more @ 7%.

eddiehu
12-11-10, 12:24

i going for the briefing now.

Here some more draft information (subjected to changes)

Total Units: 338
1 Bedrooms: 227
2 Bedroom: 111

For VVIP booking please contact me @ 91881715

someone
19-11-10, 20:11

i going for the briefing now.

Here some more draft information (subjected to changes)

Total Units: 338
1 Bedrooms: 227
2 Bedroom: 111

For VVIP booking please contact me @ 91881715

Any guess on what is the expected psf ?

tboonk
19-11-10, 20:27
I was told by far east agent at lanai that psf will be 1200! Thinkthis will being up prices at bt panjang and cck.

26-11-10, 20:02
I was told by far east agent at lanai that psf will be 1200! Thinkthis will being up prices at bt panjang and cck.
With new land, the price should be similar to amk,s centro if not higher.

akow
27-11-10, 17:43

Yes. Tennery is $1100psf

27-11-10, 22:30
Tannery = a place converting animal skin to leather.

Tennery = Bukit Timah 10th mile?

eddiehu
01-12-10, 12:22
REGISTRATIONS OF INTEREST has started
FOR VVIP BOOKING Please call Eddie Hu @ 91881715

Hi, License for SOHO is being apply to respective government bodys.

For the ACRA, under the scheme you are required to register your business with ACRA unless the businesses are exempted from registration under the Business Registration Act. License valid for 5 years.

Residental SOHO don't need to pay GST and can use CPF.

This is the following businesses you will be able to do

Accountancy Services
Architectural Services
Consultancy Services (Business)
Consultancy Services (Engineering)
Consultancy Services (IT/Management)
Consultancy Services (Education)
Design / Advertising Services
Transportation Services
Estate Agency
Insurance/Financial Planning Services
Technology based and knowledge intensive business
Trading Office

01-12-10, 12:39
REGISTRATIONS OF INTEREST has started
FOR VVIP BOOKING Please call Eddie Hu @ 91881715

Hi, License for SOHO is being apply to respective government bodys.

For the ACRA, under the scheme you are required to register your business with ACRA unless the businesses are exempted from registration under the Business Registration Act. License valid for 5 years.

Residental SOHO don't need to pay GST and can use CPF.

This is the following businesses you will be able to do

Accountancy Services
Architectural Services
Consultancy Services (Business)
Consultancy Services (Engineering)
Consultancy Services (IT/Management)
Consultancy Services (Education)
Design / Advertising Services
Transportation Services
Estate Agency
Insurance/Financial Planning Services
Technology based and knowledge intensive business
Trading Office

not much diff....SOHO is like normal residential..

HDB flats also can apply for such trades

SOHO is a gimmick?

fisho
15-12-10, 17:40
Last Sunday whilst passing by Bt Panjang Plaza. The FEO agents were aggressively promoting the Tennery by booking half the Pizza Hut restaurants.

15-12-10, 18:19
isit open for booking oredi?

15-12-10, 19:54
isit open for booking oredi?

yup i have been receiving calls to prepare cheques.

VVIP preview at 1100psf...

moneymatters
21-12-10, 17:34
Received SMS from agent confirming that 93 units were sold yesterday during preview. Was quoted $1150 psf average in earlier sms. Anyone can verify if this info is factual?

21-12-10, 17:37
Received SMS from agent confirming that 93 units were sold yesterday during preview. Was quoted $1150 psf average in earlier sms. Anyone can verify if this info is factual?

yes true...sold more den tat oredi

1200psf not terror....greenwich 1400psf is unbeatable:D

moneymatters
21-12-10, 17:56
yes true...sold more den tat oredi

1200psf not terror....greenwich 1400psf is unbeatable:D

Wow! this is pretty impressive considering there is only 338units for the entire project. Do you know if the show flat is ready for viewing??

21-12-10, 18:36
Wow! this is pretty impressive considering there is only 338units for the entire project. Do you know if the show flat is ready for viewing??

i tink sales gallery at HSR office....

21-12-10, 20:48
The result will have a great impact on land bid prices at mixed development. I think FEO will gun it for the commercial portion.

skyhigh
22-12-10, 13:58
I managed to get a 1-bedroom SOHO unit.
Pricing not too bad after 16% discount.
Good grief, the situation was pretty chaotic that night with hundreds milling around and suited FEO agents lining up to try and get units for their clients.
Parking was impossible; good thing there were car valets.
I wonder how many units the guy in the yellow Ferrari bought!
I have never bought SOHO before so hope that it will prove to be a good investment.

22-12-10, 14:24
What is the size of the unit you bought and what price did you pay?

Good grief, the situation was pretty chaotic that night with hundreds milling around and suited FEO agents lining up to try and get units for their clients.
I have never bought SOHO before so hope that it will prove to be a good investment.

22-12-10, 14:35

Welcome new comer with SKYHIGH nick and hopefully, its not referring to prices.

skyhigh
22-12-10, 14:43
Not really a newcomer!
Used to be active when I had a Raintree unit in 07 or 08. Had a different nick back then, which I have forgotten...
That unit sold quickly and at a good price!
Tennery unit is 614 sq ft and priced at $1000+psf.

22-12-10, 14:45
sell high buy higher. It may reach another new high in future for the area, hard to tell.

Not really a newcomer!
Used to be active when I had a Raintree unit in 07 or 08. Had a different nick back then, which I have forgotten...
That unit sold quickly and at a good price!
Tennery unit is 614 sq ft and priced at $1000+psf.

ozcraze
22-12-10, 19:40
sell high buy higher. It may reach another new high in future for the area, hard to tell.

Actually how much rental can a 614sf 1BR unit fetch in this area? Tenant profile? FEO agts said it's to capture the "spill over" from the JLD :eek:

22-12-10, 19:44
Actually how much rental can a 614sf 1BR unit fetch in this area? Tenant profile? FEO agts said it's to capture the "spill over" from the JLD :eek:

i suspect 2-2.5k pm rental at very best only

ocoloco79
22-12-10, 19:45

Tat is very high!

ozcraze
22-12-10, 19:51

Wa.. 1BR can still fetch $2+k in Bt Panjang.... Is it b'coz of the DTL?

ie. If rent out at $2.2k/mth, $692k for #12-24, net rental yield is abt 2.75%?

22-12-10, 20:12
Rental for hdb should be 4k for whole unit when its completed, 1 bedder there should be above 3k

22-12-10, 23:35
if can rent mayspring 2 bedder for 2k plus, why rent tennery 1 bedder for 3k plus? it makes no sense for a tenant to do so coz price and practicality is the main concern of the tenant, not age of property

Rental for hdb should be 4k for whole unit when its completed, 1 bedder there should be above 3k

23-12-10, 01:25
if can rent mayspring 2 bedder for 2k plus, why rent tennery 1 bedder for 3k plus? it makes no sense for a tenant to do so coz price and practicality is the main concern of the tenant, not age of property
Brandnew does wonders... But shd b same rental

23-12-10, 05:54
Your 2k plus is current pricing and not future pricing. Its at 2k plus now because of the on going construction. When completed, the market rate should be higher.

23-12-10, 08:50
if too high, the tenant profile there will probably go for HDB rental, heard that recently the HDB rental increases alot at that area too...

23-12-10, 09:27
no need to downgrade to HDB so fast, they will just jump to Mayspring or Hazel Park for cheaper rent and full condo facilities

if too high, the tenant profile there will probably go for HDB rental, heard that recently the HDB rental increases alot at that area too...

skyhigh
23-12-10, 17:34
Two towers 5th to 16th floors completely sold.
They are releasing a few floors of the remaining towers tomorrow.
I am pretty surprised at the take-up rates.

23-12-10, 19:53
so how many units sold in total?

Two towers 5th to 16th floors completely sold.
They are releasing a few floors of the remaining towers tomorrow.
I am pretty surprised at the take-up rates.

skyhigh
23-12-10, 20:51
Dunno.
I guess 150 or so....

skyhigh
25-12-10, 06:24
Showflat opened yesterday so went for a look-see.
I gave wrong info earlier.
They have not released floors 12 to 16 but a quick look at the board showed that most units in the lower floors have been sold in the 2 towers that were released earlier.
For the newly-released towers there were many 'reserved' units.
Pretty impressed with the sizes and layouts of both the 1-bedder and 2-bedders.
I chatted with my agent and also a senior chap from FEO whom I was introduced to; wow, he bought 2 units and gave some updates on the MRT link, canal "waterway" and heavy vehicle park etc.

25-12-10, 10:19
So looks like all bought up by FEO "senior chaps"? :)

Showflat opened yesterday so went for a look-see.
I gave wrong info earlier.
They have not released floors 12 to 16 but a quick look at the board showed that most units in the lower floors have been sold in the 2 towers that were released earlier.
For the newly-released towers there were many 'reserved' units.
Pretty impressed with the sizes and layouts of both the 1-bedder and 2-bedders.
I chatted with my agent and also a senior chap from FEO whom I was introduced to; wow, he bought 2 units and gave some updates on the MRT link, canal "waterway" and heavy vehicle park etc.

25-12-10, 14:43
To have a project beside the heavy vehicle park is a negative point so why would the FEO chap highlight that? :confused:

25-12-10, 14:44
FEO not only treats outside buyers as carrot head, but also their own employees

So looks like all bought up by FEO "senior chaps"? :)

skyhigh
25-12-10, 15:14
Well he was a friendly chap so we talked about the merits and demerits of each facing.
The CCK road facing (100% unobstructed) gets morning sun and you see the LRT track and trains.
The Woodlands road facing (swimming pool view) (largely unobstructed but units will have diagonal views of others) commands the usual pool premium and faces the Bt Panjang flats.
There is purportedly 105m distance between the two outer towers.
The rear view (100% unobstructed) gets afternoon sun and faces the soon-to-be-defunct KTM line, a small low-rise SingPost building and Teck Whye flats in the distance.
The heavy vehicle park side (100% unobstructed) gets partial afternoon sun.
There is a wide canal there which separates the building from the vehicle park so there is a buffer should that site be re-developed later.

25-12-10, 16:24
Well he was a friendly chap so we talked about the merits and demerits of each facing.
The CCK road facing (100% unobstructed) gets morning sun and you see the LRT track and trains.
The Woodlands road facing (swimming pool view) (largely unobstructed but units will have diagonal views of others) commands the usual pool premium and faces the Bt Panjang flats.
There is purportedly 105m distance between the two outer towers.
The rear view (100% unobstructed) gets afternoon sun and faces the soon-to-be-defunct KTM line, a small low-rise SingPost building and Teck Whye flats in the distance.
The heavy vehicle park side (100% unobstructed) gets partial afternoon sun.
There is a wide canal there which separates the building from the vehicle park so there is a buffer should that site be re-developed later.

as long dun face the BUSY road..:cheers1:

skyhigh
25-12-10, 16:43
as long dun face the BUSY road..:cheers1:

Yes, agreed.
I think of The Linear, the condos right next to the AYE and the luxury ones along Grange and River Valley roads and I shudder.....

monstertoi
27-12-10, 22:11
I just bought a unit in the tennery today...was impressed by the showflat and the facilities. With the high ceiling, the 2 bedder is effectively a 3 bedder...

27-12-10, 22:13
I just bought a unit in the tennery today...was impressed by the showflat and the facilities. With the high ceiling, the 2 bedder is effectively a 3 bedder...

gratz

the showflat located at the actual site?

monstertoi
27-12-10, 22:17
Yes the showroom in actual site..when i was there..it was more than 50% sold

SP specialist
27-12-10, 22:28
Congrats. I also bought a unit there as well.

propertychap
27-12-10, 22:44
Doesnt FEO always price much higher than market rate? What is the psf?

27-12-10, 22:46
how can a 2 bedder be a 3 bedder? Unless what you bought is a 2 + 1, with a study that can be converted to a bedroom. What is the size of the 2 bedder you bought and what did you pay?

27-12-10, 22:48
you bought a 2 bedder as well?

Congrats. I also bought a unit there as well.

orange
27-12-10, 22:48
Yes, agreed.
I think of The Linear, the condos right next to the AYE and the luxury ones along Grange and River Valley roads and I shudder.....

Holland rd also, orchard rd also, newton, bukit timah, dunearn also... Wah jialat liao... All those condos there considered low class and cannot buy :doh:

SP specialist
27-12-10, 23:01
Actually they created a platform which create a space for bed. I reckon can't use for study as the ceiling height is not as high after the platform created.

I bought a 1brm. Probably for own stay next time.

propertychap
27-12-10, 23:22
What's the price for a 1 bedroom?

u2torneil
27-12-10, 23:25
Wah piang! How can anyone be impressed by the showroom and facilities in this project which is a complete ripoff?

1 bedrm 614 sqft asking for for $800K plus which works out to be > $1300psf??!

Showroom is not even completed properly with missing kitchen sink and cabinets which cannot be opened. Ovens are not provided for in the purchase price. Walls that should be in place are missing in the showroom to create the false illusion of much wider space available which is not in actuality.

Who in the right mind would put a wooden platform on top of the kitchen area in the 2 bedroom unit? A fire hazard for sure; whatever is on the platform sure gets smoked out or burnt by the cookings first.

28-12-10, 00:14
if buy for own stay, don't have to bother whether new or old, i think older and cheaper projects are a better buy, but again can't stop people from buying new projects

Wah piang! How can anyone be impressed by the showroom and facilities in this project which is a complete ripoff?

Showroom is not even completed properly with missing kitchen sink and cabinets which cannot be opened. Ovens are not provided for in the purchase price. Walls that should be in place are missing in the showroom to create the false illusion of much wider space available which is not in actuality.

Who in the right mind would put a wooden platform on top of the kitchen area in the 2 bedroom unit? A fire hazard for sure; whatever is on the platform sure gets smoked out or burnt by the cookings first.

28-12-10, 00:30
if buy for own stay, don't have to bother whether new or old, i think older and cheaper projects are a better buy, but again can't stop people from buying new projects

i hf been buying new launches in the past wor:scared-5:

28-12-10, 00:32

so ex meh...tot sm1 says around 1100psf ?? or mabe they UP the prices oredi:D

hmm...i suspect the layout/concept similar to greenwich?:rolleyes:

28-12-10, 00:56
buildings are built to last for hundreds of years, so what is a 5 or 10 year old project, still considered damn new when you look at the lifespan of the building. New is not always good especially when you look at the new layouts that cheat buyers out of space. For older projects, developers not so creative as to maximise the use of bay windows, planters and huge aircon ledges

i hf been buying new launches in the past wor:scared-5:

skyhigh
28-12-10, 10:56

Well you are misinformed.
Microwave and convection oven are provided.
Loft can be above kitchen or bedroom or can be omitted just as one can opt to have walls or glass in certain areas.
And early bird pricing was well below 1300 psf.

skyhigh
28-12-10, 11:00
I did not mention low class just stating a fact that there are many condos which face busy road that is all and if you like that then that is fine.

Holland rd also, orchard rd also, newton, bukit timah, dunearn also... Wah jialat liao... All those condos there considered low class and cannot buy :doh:

28-12-10, 11:38
Looks like Far East bullish on D23 and can single-handedly bring up the prices of D23... machiam D23 monopoly. Even Bukit Panjang 99LH can fetch above $1000psf... must take my hats off...

28-12-10, 11:47
Looks like Far East bullish on D23 and can single-handedly bring up the prices of D23... machiam D23 monopoly. Even Bukit Panjang 99LH can fetch above $1000psf... must take my hats off...

See... what did I say about D23.. FEO's playground... even estuary sub sales are *asking* above $1000 psf... where to find cheap condos?

I expect the mixed plot to be won by them too.

28-12-10, 11:51
See... what did I say about D23.. FEO's playground... even estuary sub sales are *asking* above $1000 psf... where to find cheap condos?

It's a matter of 'when'... just be patient and wait for slight correction.

skyhigh
28-12-10, 12:23
Sorry for OT but am I the only one having trouble logging in?
A few years ago there was no need to register to access this site.
Now that this is a requirement it seems that there are glitches.
One moment I can log in, the next I can't, one moment I can post, the next I can't reply etc even if the bloody text says, "Thank you for logging in..."
It doesn't seem to matter what PC I am using (I have 3); the last posts by me were from Blackberry, but even that sometimes doesn't work.
No response from moderators to my email either.

zoros
28-12-10, 14:31

Yup, i was invited to attend their very 1st briefing session, and just realized that $1.1k to $1.2k psf is a bit exp for a bukit panjang/choa chu kang project which builds on top of an existing ten mile junction mall.

One thing to remind buyers and would-be buyers is that cos Foundation Work had been completed, the progress-pyt related to the Foundation stage will come much earlier than one expected from a fresh new condo project. :beats-me-man:

28-12-10, 14:51
Wah! The masses chasing the mass market OCR properties like crazy as thought there are no more land in OCR to build mass market properties soon and must quickly buy before they go up to $5000 psf! Ops! :p
[Wait, let me tell them here that Govt has land in OCR sufficient to build another 2-3m units!]

28-12-10, 19:58
http://forums.condosingapore.com/showpost.php?p=125670&postcount=4290

28-12-10, 20:04
Sorry for OT but am I the only one having trouble logging in?
A few years ago there was no need to register to access this site.
Now that this is a requirement it seems that there are glitches.
One moment I can log in, the next I can't, one moment I can post, the next I can't reply etc even if the bloody text says, "Thank you for logging in..."
It doesn't seem to matter what PC I am using (I have 3); the last posts by me were from Blackberry, but even that sometimes doesn't work.
No response from moderators to my email either.

You have to click the remember me checkbox when logging in...

skyhigh
28-12-10, 20:33
You have to click the remember me checkbox when logging in...

Thanks, I figured that out finally!

skyhigh
28-12-10, 20:36
http://forums.condosingapore.com/showpost.php?p=125670&postcount=4290

So monstertoi, SP specialist and yours truly were not the only suckers:)

u2torneil
28-12-10, 21:05
You better check doubly and triply sure what you are getting and what is not included in the purchase price, because the agent told me a big NO, they are not included, I would have to negotiate with him for the oven and microwave. Of course yours may be included for an extra $10K or $50K on the price!

Well you are misinformed.
Microwave and convection oven are provided.
Loft can be above kitchen or bedroom or can be omitted just as one can opt to have walls or glass in certain areas.
And early bird pricing was well below 1300 psf.

u2torneil
28-12-10, 21:09
Of course there are alway suckers for skyhigh forward-pricing projects and units. How else would Far East be still around all these years when Ng Teng Fong has already kicked the bucket?

So monstertoi, SP specialist and yours truly were not the only suckers:)

28-12-10, 21:29
FEO sets new high $PSF again.
Of course there are alway suckers for skyhigh forward-pricing projects and units. How else would Far East be still around all these years when Ng Teng Fong has already kicked the bucket?

skyhigh
28-12-10, 21:49
You better check doubly and triply sure what you are getting and what is not included in the purchase price, because the agent told me a big NO, they are not included, I would have to negotiate with him for the oven and microwave. Of course yours may be included for an extra $10K or $50K on the price!

Do you want to see my 'side letter' from FEO?
Better find another agent as yours CMI.....

skyhigh
28-12-10, 22:07

It is obvious that you have a deep dislike for the developer but to speak of deceased people (and indirectly the family) like that is in poor taste.
And don't forget that nobody is pointing a gun at your temple and forcing you to buy their offerings....

u2torneil
28-12-10, 22:20
Sure do, please post your letter here for all to see.
Another agent, NO THANKS! I'm staying far far away from FEO, but won't mind to have a FEO project in my vicinity :)

u2torneil
28-12-10, 22:27
LOL, buying an FEO project automatically enrols you in the Ng family clan to defend the Ng family name?

It is obvious that you have a deep dislike for the developer but to speak of deceased people (and indirectly the family) like that is in poor taste.
And don't forget that nobody is pointing a gun at your temple and forcing you to buy their offerings....

28-12-10, 22:40
i just bought an old feo project but i must say i have the least shred of liking for the way feo goes about pricing their properties. i think feo should get burnt with no one buying their new launches so that we can send a message to them that buyers, not just developers, can control the market prices. Again, singaporeans being individualistic, greedy and kiasu generally, it is hard for buyers to ever have a say in prices. when i see blind and crazy peole cheonging to buy new launches today, i just think to myselfwhen will prices ever come down at this rate? :doh:

LOL, buying an FEO project automatically enrols you in the Ng family clan to defend the Ng family name?

29-12-10, 00:26
FEO's layout generally much better den other big developers....

at least they r 'transparent'...charge high but nvr 'cheat' on layout...

for eg. D'leedon, spottw R....high psf+layout CMI:doh:

29-12-10, 00:33

to be fair, i tink this project not the biggest suxckers....still cannot beat greenwich/the sound and i tink on par with scala/lakefront:2cents:

ozcraze
29-12-10, 08:15
to be fair, i tink this project not the biggest suxckers....still cannot beat greenwich/the sound and i tink on par with scala/lakefront:2cents:

In your opinion, you think $1,100+psf for Tennery is same, if not a better buy, than Lakefront Residences at same psf?

29-12-10, 08:25
Yes, shopping centre within walking distance

ozcraze
29-12-10, 08:42
Yes, shopping centre within walking distance

Shopping centre has got more potential than the JLD story?

I was comparing this two projects with their same psf but different locations. Still can't grasp the profile of the tenants and it's potential for tennery.... DTL & Giant as plus points? :beats-me-man:

moneymatters
29-12-10, 08:42
In your opinion, you think $1,100+psf for Tennery is same, if not a better buy, than Lakefront Residences at same psf?
You decide. Here's the fact ....14 mins to Botanics (circle line) 16 mins to Steven (future Thomson line) 18-20 mins to Newton (NSL) 22 mins to Little India (NEL) Along the way the DTL passes through Singapore premier education corridor. CHIJ, MGS, NJC, Hwa Chong, NJC, RGPS, Nanyang High & Primary, NUS Law, SJI, SCGS, ACS Barker...not forgetting the list of international schols dotting the line

29-12-10, 09:06

LF got MRT+story

Tennery got underground MRT+ 2 Malls (1+existing) + better layout and high ceiling

shd command similar PSF:2cents:

Mi Casa at 750psf (gd facing ones if any) wud be a much better bet:2cents: (not vested)

29-12-10, 09:07

I was comparing this two projects with their same psf but different locations. Still can't grasp the profile of the tenants and it's potential for tennery.... DTL & Giant as plus points? :beats-me-man:

IMO, both equally overpriced....:p

29-12-10, 09:12
LF got MRT+story

Tennery got underground MRT+ 2 Malls (1+existing) + better layout and high ceiling

Mi Casa at 750psf (gd facing ones if any) wud be a much better bet:2cents: (not vested)

will mi casa price drop with another EC beside it?

29-12-10, 09:13
will mi casa price drop with another EC beside it?

find the answer in The quartz:2cents:

still breaking new high when esparina EC launched at 750psf....not sure it is transacted before or after ....monitor another 6mths to see any effect

51 Compassvale Bow #06-03
99 Yrs From 18/04/2005
$937
$1120k
07 Dec 10
63 Compassvale Bow #19-25
99 Yrs From 18/04/2005
$948
$990k
18 Nov 10

29-12-10, 09:28
find the answer in The quartz:2cents:

still breaking new high when esparina EC launched at 750psf....not sure it is transacted before or after ....monitor another 6mths to see any effect

51 Compassvale Bow #06-03
99 Yrs From 18/04/2005
$937
$1120k
07 Dec 10
63 Compassvale Bow #19-25
99 Yrs From 18/04/2005
$948
$990k
18 Nov 10

No negative effects lah, only positive... different ball game. EC got restrictions, condo no restrictions. The 8 year gap mean anything to you? They should be on almost equal footing after 8 years (3 years to build and 5 year MOP). One older by 8 years compensated by EC after 5 years open to SP and SPR's.

29-12-10, 09:30
No negative effects lah, only positive... different ball game. EC got restrictions, condo no restrictions. The 8 year gap mean anything to you? They should be on almost equal footing after 8 years (3 years to build and 5 year MOP). One older by 8 years compensated by EC after 5 years open to SP and SPR's.

its jus like saying any effect on ur Resale HDB if BTO build beside u

29-12-10, 09:31

Shopping center, immediate use... confirmed can see and touch.

Story as a story is bull shit until you see it built. 30 years later how? 50 years later how?

Jurong lake, industrial area, smell and f16 sound. Th is back door to the rich area...link to bukit timah and city. Those aspiring rich who cannot get in bukit timah have to find back door.

29-12-10, 09:34
its jus like saying any effect on ur Resale HDB if BTO build beside u

Yes, that is a new way and a similar way to look at it.

Apples and apples.

However, one apple can eat now and the other apple cannot eat, which is better? The one that can be eaten lah.

Green apple after 8 years become Red Apple before turning into rotten apple.

The other is apple tree and would give green apple when ready. Red apple, best! But do remember to eat it before it turns rotten... (hint after 10 years).

u2torneil
29-12-10, 09:58
Did anyone not mention that Tennery is also getting a free massive flyover bridge, other than a busy cross-junction, right in front of the swimming pool? Flyover is obviously missing or omitted from the marketing photos/pictures.

LF got MRT+story

skyhigh
29-12-10, 10:04
Shopping center, immediate use... confirmed can see and touch.

Story as a story is bull shit until you see it built. 30 years later how? 50 years later how?

Jurong lake, industrial area, smell and f16 sound. Th is back door to the rich area...link to bukit timah and city. Those aspiring rich who cannot get in bukit timah have to find back door.

Good point.
I love the JLD and Tanjong Pagar stories amongst others and hope that I will live long enough to see them all come to fruition.
Affordability then will surely be an issue though.
In the meantime I guess the only fruits will be from Giant supermarket....:)

29-12-10, 10:20
The real winner is the people owning HDB surrounding tennery and mayspring owners who bought low price (ha ha )and also able to enjoy the amenities offered by tennery and also MRT and bus interchange......now they can use this as selling point as the new high is set by tennery...

29-12-10, 10:46
if all these places not within walking distance of the project nothing to talk about. i can drive from Jurong to changi in 30 min via PIE, so does it mean anything along the way is near?

You decide. Here's the fact ....14 mins to Botanics (circle line) 16 mins to Steven (future Thomson line) 18-20 mins to Newton (NSL) 22 mins to Little India (NEL) Along the way the DTL passes through Singapore premier education corridor. CHIJ, MGS, NJC, Hwa Chong, NJC, RGPS, Nanyang High & Primary, NUS Law, SJI, SCGS, ACS Barker...not forgetting the list of international schols dotting the line

skyhigh
29-12-10, 10:52
if all these places not within walking distance of the project nothing to talk about. i can drive from Jurong to changi in 30 min via PIE, so does it mean anything along the way is near?

You are assuming no traffic jams, and no exhorbitant COEs and ERP?
I will always choose to drive, no question about that, but what if it becomes a hassle and/or too expensive?

29-12-10, 10:52
mayspring wasnt bought at a low. i know a lady who bought 3 units of 3 bedders at mayspring for 9xxk each and today's market value is only 8xxk. owners at mayspring bought a a peak and they have not seen capital appreciation yet. those staying in hdb near tennery in senja grand do not get to benefit much as hdb prices are based on valuation plus a slight mark up of COV. even if tennery were to sell at 1500psf one day, i do not think hdb valuers will value the flats in tandem with private property price movements

The real winner is the people owning HDB surrounding tennery and mayspring owners who bought low price (ha ha )and also able to enjoy the amenities offered by tennery and also MRT and bus interchange......now they can use this as selling point as the new high is set by tennery...

29-12-10, 11:19

maysprings..i duno wor...

i considered myself lucky tat i din pick up any unit there in 2007 at 5xxpsf...better upside other places at tat time:D

perhaps, linear consider a gd buy for those facing the back

29-12-10, 11:27
linear is too narrow a development for comfort. To get to the gym and pool, damn troublesome, have to go down to the ground floor, walk along a narrow passage to another stack (unsheltered from the rain) then take a lift up to the 3rd or 4th floor where the ugly tiny pool and gym are located. i must say the penthouses for linear not too bad in terms of layout, but back facing units have a longkang in front and looking at mayspring, so not very appealing

i considered myself lucky tat i din pick up any unit there in 2007 at 5xxpsf...better upside other places at tat time:D

29-12-10, 11:28
linear is too narrow a development for comfort. To get to the gym and pool, damn troublesome, have to go down to the ground floor, walk along a narrow passage to another stack (unsheltered from the rain) then take a lift up to the 3rd or 4th floor where the ugly tiny pool and gym are located. i must say the penthouses for linear not too bad in terms of layout, but back facing units have a longkang in front and looking at mayspring, so not very appealing

similar tots....tats y i din get any unit there...lol....but in terms of cap appreciation...consider not bad and 999status....the layout and furnishing vy good for mass market standards

29-12-10, 11:32
cap appreciation will be good if you bought linear at slightly over 500psf back then. i think when mrt is up, first owners will get to pocket at least 400k from their sale.

similar tots....tats y i din get any unit there...lol....but in terms of cap appreciation...consider not bad and 999status....the layout and furnishing vy good for mass market standards

29-12-10, 13:06
mayspring wasnt bought at a low. i know a lady who bought 3 units of 3 bedders at mayspring for 9xxk each and today's market value is only 8xxk. owners at mayspring bought a a peak and they have not seen capital appreciation yet. those staying in hdb near tennery in senja grand do not get to benefit much as hdb prices are based on valuation plus a slight mark up of COV. even if tennery were to sell at 1500psf one day, i do not think hdb valuers will value the flats in tandem with private property price movements

sure? :D

side track abit, have u shifted back to the west or still stay at D12-14? since u have bought RH at BB...

29-12-10, 13:12

or less than that 490PSF also have..I remembered vieiwing one of the units, my family did not like it as the lift is small like old estate HDB lift(before upgrading) and the swiming pool very small for the condo with so many units...the place is very big overall alot car parks...

29-12-10, 14:28
The linear.. for 999 worshippers.

Look at the prices of tennery

http://www.fareast.com.sg/FEOCorp.Upload/CMS/Pdf/TenneryPrice.pdf

$1300 psf before discount... non pool...

no wonder we have a 'skyhigh' there.

29-12-10, 15:07
Agree. They don't cheat on layout and ceiling height in general. So you can have 30% lower PSF with other developers when 30% floor area is not usable as aircon ledge or planter - what's the point?

FEO's layout generally much better den other big developers....

at least they r 'transparent'...charge high but nvr 'cheat' on layout...

for eg. D'leedon, spottw R....high psf+layout CMI:doh:

29-12-10, 15:26
Agree. They don't cheat on layout and ceiling height in general. So you can have 30% lower PSF with other developers when 30% floor area is not usable as aircon ledge or planter - what's the point?

i still cannot understand

why pay 1300 psf for that area ?

why not pay 1450 psf for Aspen Height? FH .. near future MRT ...near town ... near CBD ... eateries, shopping ...

if die die must stay D23 ...why not older ECs like Windermere , Yew Mei , etc at Yew Tee ..so near Yew tee station ... with amenities there too ..
also good layout ..no silly balcony, no insane aircon ledge
3bedroom 1281 sqft ..at windermere ..less than 700psf (right? i havent checked)

29-12-10, 15:59

why not pay 1450 psf for Aspen Height? FH .. near future MRT ...near town ... near CBD ... eateries, shopping ...

if die die must stay D23 ...why not older ECs like Windermere , Yew Mei , etc at Yew Tee ..so near Yew tee station ... with amenities there too ..

mabe skyhigh can give u an answer?

let say budget 700k...any other better choice den this 614sqft 1bedder at tennery?

if aspen hts got 1bedder at 700k...i am sure HOT HOT

skyhigh
29-12-10, 17:16

Well as I mentioned in my first post I did not pay $1300 psf so don't ask me.
Secondly, if you are comparing a new car and a used car, it is different from comparing two new cars, so please buy Linear, Aspen Heights or whatever....as that is the 'logical' thing to do if you want the most bang for your buck.
Thirdly, a quick trawl through the other threads on this board reveals the same theme, i.e, new projects are too expensive, developer is making a killing etc.
At the end of the day, to each his own.
I like (for whatever reasons) I buy, if not, I give it a miss.
I have been buying property since 1989 and I have not lost any money to date...

29-12-10, 18:12
Well as I mentioned in my first post I did not pay $1300 psf so don't ask me.
Secondly, if you are comparing a new car and a used car, it is different from comparing two new cars, so please buy Linear, Aspen Heights or whatever....as that is the 'logical' thing to do if you want the most bang for your buck.
Thirdly, a quick trawl through the other threads on this board reveals the same theme, i.e, new projects are too expensive, developer is making a killing etc.
At the end of the day, to each his own.
I like (for whatever reasons) I buy, if not, I give it a miss.
I have been buying property since 1989 and I have not lost any money to date...

relax ....

btw, 700k can only buy mayspring 2bedder?

monstertoi
29-12-10, 21:38
It is a high ceiling unit so effectively you can place your bedroom on the top deck ( i can stand comfortably on the top deck) and the bottom floor can be used as a study room (or vice versa).

29-12-10, 21:51
the other thing is what kind of kachang puteh rental can a 614sf 1 bedder fetch at tennery next time? spend 700k and collect $1k plus rental is not fantastic at all. A lot of these agents at the showflat will tell you tenants are attrracted to new projects and won't mind paying $2k plus for a 1 bedder at a new project but i think that is bullshit. if you tell me a 1 bedder can fetch good rental at icon or some CBD condo, i understand why, but a 1 bedder fetching good rental yield in the suburbs makes no sense. the tenant profile for suburban condos are usually those with families and they go for big units that are economical and with full condo facilities, and age of the property is not a usually a key factor if the unit is well-maintained on a whole.

let say budget 700k...any other better choice den this 614sqft 1bedder at tennery?

if aspen hts got 1bedder at 700k...i am sure HOT HOT

29-12-10, 22:16

I am happy cos vested interest in D23 right now. FEO also going to Woodlands very soon and they will bring up the prices there too!

30-12-10, 07:26
the other thing is what kind of kachang puteh rental can a 614sf 1 bedder fetch at tennery next time? spend 700k and collect $1k plus rental is not fantastic at all. A lot of these agents at the showflat will tell you tenants are attrracted to new projects and won't mind paying $2k plus for a 1 bedder at a new project but i think that is bullshit. if you tell me a 1 bedder can fetch good rental at icon or some CBD condo, i understand why, but a 1 bedder fetching good rental yield in the suburbs makes no sense. the tenant profile for suburban condos are usually those with families and they go for big units that are economical and with full condo facilities, and age of the property is not a usually a key factor if the unit is well-maintained on a whole.
You have a point. Two segments. One cheap prc, Ang mo tenants would go for rh at 2.5k or more a month. One is for young and single working boys or girls. Rent a unit for 3 or 4 pax is quite logical. Each paying 500 would make it. Quite likely 5 or 6 pax there and tat would make it 2.5 to 3k.

skyhigh
30-12-10, 08:25
The points raised are reasonable but if I compare the 1-bedder which my friend bought at Suites @ Orchard for over $2000 psf vs my hole in the wall at Tennery, he will need to ask 4K rental vs 2K+ for me.
So I asked a foreign acquaintance at SMU and she said, no thanks, I will continue to stay at Suites @ Marne for 2K and commute by MRT to campus...
Also, the trend is for people to live-work-play in the same place so why should this be impossible in the suburbs?
A naturopath-friend of mine who lives in CCK has already expressed interest in renting my unit as the better location and facilities will allow him to see patients 'at home' while still allowing him to travel easily to Jurong East, Holland V and CBD.
And he only needs to pop downstairs if he needs ice, muesli or kampong chicken.
I think that there will have to be a change of mindset; i.e suburbs = only for big families.
I have lived in Bt Timah for 50 years; when I was growing up, Clementi (as in Sunset Way area) was considered ulu and 7th mile and 10th mile even more so.
I also remember the C&C assembly plant at Hillview and the Ford factory; all very ulu with hardly any housing.
Look at the situation now and you will know what I mean.

30-12-10, 09:09
A naturopath-friend of mine who lives in CCK has already expressed interest in renting my unit as the better location and facilities will allow him to see patients 'at home' while still allowing him to travel easily to Jurong East, Holland V and CBD.

curious me, how do u define "travel easily to Holland V and CBD"?
i see the future bt timah downtown line as no different from taking mrt from pasir ris to city hall... as for holland V probably driving is still much faster ~

skyhigh
30-12-10, 09:12
curious me, how do u define "travel easily to Holland V and CBD"?
i see the future bt timah downtown line as no different from taking mrt from pasir ris to city hall... as for holland V probably driving is still much faster ~

Ok, sure, please look for a parking space at Holland V at lunch time or weekends, or cough up the ERP and parking charges at One Raffles Quay or some such.....

I hate the MRT as much as you do; in the early days one could get seats; nowadays even at non-peak times there are few available (and I am elderly) BUT at least one can get to places rain or shine and regardless of traffic conditions..

30-12-10, 09:19
The points raised are reasonable but if I compare the 1-bedder which my friend bought at Suites @ Orchard for over $2000 psf vs my hole in the wall at Tennery, he will need to ask 4K rental vs 2K+ for me.
So I asked a foreign acquaintance at SMU and she said, no thanks, I will continue to stay at Suites @ Marne for 2K and commute by MRT to campus...

studio@marne in D8 wor...city fringe location....cannot compare with tennery....

those apts in little india area attracts those ang mor who is tight in budget and yet wana stay close to city....and they dun mind tat area

30-12-10, 09:21
Ok, sure, please look for a parking space at Holland V at lunch time or weekends, or cough up the ERP and parking charges at One Raffles Quay or some such.....

oic..... of cos between owning a car and not owning one the tradeoff is between better quality of life vs saving heaps of $$

no need to be defensive bcos my curiosity is towards definition of "travel easily" meaning do u define it by traveling experience? such as time saved, distance, ride comfort, that kind of thing... :o

e.g. traveling to Holland V by downtown line and then switching to circle line seems like will end up taking more time.. which to me the "traditional locations" like bishan even amk would be far superior

30-12-10, 09:25
having said that i do think all these Upp bt timah and woodlands locations' upside is in the future when the inevitable link up of Johore and Spore by mrt takes place ;)

convenience to CBD all that at the moment is not really a gd sell hehe ~~

30-12-10, 09:27

hmmm...i get to know a 1bedder at compass hts rented out at 2.5k pm recently

if u do a search now, i doubt u can find any brandnew/less den 3yo MMs below 2k

only places like ppl park, some old walk up apts can find 1.5-2k rental now....the rest will be room rental liao

skyhigh
30-12-10, 09:39
studio@marne in D8 wor...city fringe location....cannot compare with tennery....

Why cannot compare?

500 sq ft vs 600 sq ft
One bedder
MRT nearby
Mall nearby
1000psf to buy
Similar rental

The 2 developments 'fringe' different areas but my earlier point was that boundaries are going to be re-drawn and blurred in the years ahead.
A few years ago I would not have considered staying in Dakota or Spottiswood or Bedok Reservoir or Lakeside or whatever...but all you experts bang your drums and rave and say how desirable these areas are nowadays so I accept that.

30-12-10, 09:41
When Upper Bt Timah and Woodlands link up to Johor by MRT? :doh:
May be by then it is much cheaper to live in JB and take MRT to Woodlands & Bukit Panjang? :p

having said that i do think all these Upp bt timah and woodlands locations' upside is in the future when the inevitable link up of Johore and Spore by mrt takes place ;)

convenience to CBD all that at the moment is not really a gd sell hehe ~~

30-12-10, 09:42
Why cannot compare?

500 sq ft vs 600 sq ft
One bedder
MRT nearby
Mall nearby
1000psf to buy
Similar rental

The 2 developments 'fringe' different areas but my earlier point was that boundaries are going to be re-drawn and blurred in the years ahead.
A few years ago I would not have considered staying in Dakota or Spottiswood or Bedok Reservoir or Lakeside or whatever...but all you experts bang your drums and rave and say how desirable these areas are nowadays so I accept that.

i tink closest comparison will be compass hts vs tennery

30-12-10, 09:42
When Upper Bt Timah and Woodlands link up to Johor by MRT? :doh:
May be by then it is much cheaper to live in JB and take MRT to Woodlands & Bukit Panjang? :p

the JB gang makes it worthwhile to you? Black and White Gang..

We are all white here.

30-12-10, 09:44
i tink closest comparison will be compass hts vs tennery

Use jurong point as benchmark. This one already beats it. Way better. 3.4 meters makes double room for same space.

30-12-10, 09:46
Use jurong point as benchmark. This one already beats it. Way better. 3.4 meters makes double room for same space.

so i tink 1bedder at tennery possible to fetch 2.5k for f/f based on current condition

i tink 3.4m ceiling ht not possible to build a loft leh....i saw the greenwich showflat...i tink 4.6-4.8m....cant rmb...and quite comfortable to build a loft

3.4m divide into 2 only 1.7m....tall ppl goto suffer

moneymatters
30-12-10, 09:54
I am happy cos vested interest in D23 right now. FEO also going to Woodlands very soon and they will bring up the prices there too!
FEO and CityDev is lifting prices up for D23 property with good response at Tennery and recent sell out of Tree House. Wing Tai should be gearing up to launch the plot next to Tree House in the 1st Q 2011. It will be interesting to see how high developers bid for the mixed development site at Jelebu/Petir Road site. This integrated commercial/residential site linking up future Bukit Panjang MRT/LRT/Bus Interchange should be a keen contest between Lend Lease, Capitaland/CMA, Far East & other consortium eg. Pramerica, SPH/NTUC Choice

30-12-10, 10:02
so i tink 1bedder at tennery possible to fetch 2.5k for f/f based on current condition

i tink 3.4m ceiling ht not possible to build a loft leh....i saw the greenwich showflat...i tink 4.6-4.8m....cant rmb...and quite comfortable to build a loft

maybe can built as 2 meters below and 1.4 meters above for small children. some adults are just 1.6 meters each.

propertychap
30-12-10, 10:18
Am I right to say an area which big developers have a foothold in will never go wrong for investors? Tennery & Treehouse, The Arte & Vista Res?

skyhigh
30-12-10, 10:19
Aiyoh, monstertoi, devilplate and kingkong....the ceiling height is 3.4m.
At Greenwich it is 3.35m (some are 4.75m).
The loft height is only 1.1m or so for Tennery.
A child can stand, not an adult.
But you can use it for storage or sleeping.

30-12-10, 10:22
Am I right to say an area which big developers have a foothold in will never go wrong for investors? Tennery & Treehouse, The Arte & Vista Res?

quite agree. but developers already cream up most potential upside leaving a bit for buyer unless holder much longer

30-12-10, 12:09
I think its important to compare new vs new and resale vs resale. So if you think Aspen Heights or D9 is sorely undervalued compared to D23, then u shd compare Aspen Hts at 1,450psf vs Maysprings at $650psf and u will see the premium is >100%. I believe a new launch at D9 would be >2000psf. But interesting that comparing new to new, OCR is catching up with CCR. So it appears developers might be more bullish on OCR. Not advocating buying new properties - but if one want so compare resale, then should be comparing similar resale in other districts.

30-12-10, 12:38
Even 4.6-4.8 m also very low, divide into 2 is like 2.3-2.4m, HDB ceiling height but paying private price? Loft unit is either for the rich people who doesn't need to partition the tall ceiling into 2 to create extra space or for the impractical people who want the tall ceiling but can't afford to buy extra space and end up partitioning the ceiling into 2 and getting katek ceiling! :doh: Living in katek-ceiling house will make people become katek (look katek, behave 'katek', think 'katek' (aka short-sighted)). :scared-3:

30-12-10, 14:58
don't mean to be a wet blanket or anything, but just take a look at current rentals in bukit panjang, especially mayspring and you will understand what i am talking about. can't compare rentals in the central and suburbs. An old 2 bedder at mayspring opens to a wider group of tenants compared to a one bedder at tennery. Only advantage you have is tennery when TOP will be new, but a lot of foreign tenants i know are concerned about only a few things, namely location, price, facilities, proximity to mrt (part of location), nearby amenities and age of the property usually comes last and they wouldnt mind an older unit/development so long as it is well-maintained. Also an HDB EA near the future MRT asking for only 2.5k with the bt panjang plaza just across the road, you will also be competing with those landlords.

Also, the trend is for people to live-work-play in the same place so why should this be impossible in the suburbs?
I think that there will have to be a change of mindset; i.e suburbs = only for big families.
I have lived in Bt Timah for 50 years; when I was growing up, Clementi (as in Sunset Way area) was considered ulu and 7th mile and 10th mile even more so.
I also remember the C&C assembly plant at Hillview and the Ford factory; all very ulu with hardly any housing.
Look at the situation now and you will know what I mean.

30-12-10, 15:04
Have you been to the 1 bedroom loft at 2 RVG? The place looks so crammed and no place for sofa, have to put cushion padding on bay window to form a sofa and television only can mount on wall and when sitting on sofa, have to sit sideways to watch. The funniest part is the study area can only be created middle of the stairway. This kind of loft so sia suay that i wouldnt even dare call it a D10 loft. :doh:

Even 4.6-4.8 m also very low, divide into 2 is like 2.3-2.4m, HDB ceiling height but paying private price? Loft unit is either for the rich people who doesn't need to partition the tall ceiling into 2 to create extra space or for the impractical people who want the tall ceiling but can't afford to buy extra space and end up partitioning the ceiling into 2 and getting katek ceiling! :doh: Living in katek-ceiling house will make people become katek (look katek, behave 'katek', think 'katek' (aka short-sighted)). :scared-3:

skyhigh
30-12-10, 16:53
don't mean to be a wet blanket or anything, but just take a look at current rentals in bukit panjang, especially mayspring and you will understand what i am talking about. can't compare rentals in the central and suburbs. An old 2 bedder at mayspring opens to a wider group of tenants compared to a one bedder at tennery. Only advantage you have is tennery when TOP will be new, but a lot of foreign tenants i know are concerned about only a few things, namely location, price, facilities, proximity to mrt (part of location), nearby amenities and age of the property usually comes last and they wouldnt mind an older unit/development so long as it is well-maintained. Also an HDB EA near the future MRT asking for only 2.5k with the bt panjang plaza just across the road, you will also be competing with those landlords.

A few years ago when I was looking at 2-bedders in Maysprings I met one of the tenants.
He was moving out because of one word: "inconvenience".
When the MRT is ready Maysprings rentals and prices will go up, of that there is little doubt.
You have forgotten, or perhaps do not comprehend, the other word: "lifestyle". This is what the young, single or perhaps newlywed couple will be looking for, and there is going to be more of that at Tennery than Linear, Hazel Park and any HDB for sure.
When I am at Bt Panjang Plaza drinking my kopi-c at Wang (this is all I can now afford having recklessly gambled my savings away on Tennery:) ) I often look across to Starbucks to see the sort of customer there who is prepared to spend a lot more for ambience and a latte; that is the kind of tenant I am looking for!
And by the time Tennery is ready, Maysprings will be very old; it is a lovely estate but it is looking the worse for wear.
Well, let's wait and see whether your predictions come true; for now, I am keeping an open mind.

30-12-10, 17:08
You need to hold till MRT line is up, the mixed development is up. The road works (flyover or underpass) is up. At least 5 years.

skyhigh
30-12-10, 17:35
You need to hold till MRT line is up, the mixed development is up. The road works (flyover or underpass) is up. At least 5 years.

Flyover and MRT scheduled for 2015.
TOP 2012 maybe, so probably 3 years.
I was just reading the LTA documents for the mixed tender; looks good and I will not be surprised to see psf prices there even higher than Tennery.

30-12-10, 19:04
Flyover and MRT scheduled for 2015.
TOP 2012 maybe, so probably 3 years.
I was just reading the LTA documents for the mixed tender; looks good and I will not be surprised to see psf prices there even higher than Tennery.

next to watch out for....the one at bedok interchange....if tat one launched at 1300psf++ for 1bedder....den urs looks ok liao

skyhigh
30-12-10, 19:22
Regulators got me thinking so went to check.
Gosh, Maysprings TOP'ed in 1998.
So by the time the MRT is ready it will be 17 years old.
Maysprings is not Regency Park or The Arcadia, two old condos which are well maintained and still hold much appeal.
I am quite confident that my tenant and Maysprings' will be different.

wesing
30-12-10, 19:23
The price of the 1-bedders at Tennery makes those at Cube 8 and 368 look pretty good value for money:D

30-12-10, 21:58
i do hope you can rent your unit out for 2k plus in future, but i really have my doubts, having studied the rental market in bukit batok, jurong and bukit panjang quite thoroughly. As you have mentioned about lifestyle, i dont see how age of the property comes into the picture, but i see how size can be an important consideration for lifestyle. Having 2 bedrooms means being able to use another room for work and one to sleep/rest, but having only one bedroom means a couple's lifestyle has to be compromised if both are professional working people. If you are talking about a single young professional working in the CBD, it makes more sense for him to rent a place at RV Edge, Newton Edge, Nathan suites or any mickey mouse units in town as the trade off is to live very near work but live in a smaller apartment. If that same professional chooses to live in the suburb and pays the same rent, do you think he would want to pay the same kind of rent and live in a studio or one bedder, just like the one in the city?

Regulators got me thinking so went to check.
Gosh, Maysprings TOP'ed in 1998.
So by the time the MRT is ready it will be 17 years old.
Maysprings is not Regency Park or The Arcadia, two old condos which are well maintained and still hold much appeal.
I am quite confident that my tenant and Maysprings' will be different.

SP specialist
30-12-10, 22:19

Skyhigh was right. The appliances are provided as stated in my option as well

skyhigh
30-12-10, 22:38
i do hope you can rent your unit out for 2k plus in future, but i really have my doubts, having studied the rental market in bukit batok, jurong and bukit panjang quite thoroughly. As you have mentioned about lifestyle, i dont see how age of the property comes into the picture, but i see how size can be an important consideration for lifestyle. Having 2 bedrooms means being able to use another room for work and one to sleep/rest, but having only one bedroom means a couple's lifestyle has to be compromised if both are professional working people. If you are talking about a single young professional working in the CBD, it makes more sense for him to rent a place at RV Edge, Newton Edge, Nathan suites or any mickey mouse units in town as the trade off is to live very near work but live in a smaller apartment. If that same professional chooses to live in the suburb and pays the same rent, do you think he would want to pay the same kind of rent and live in a studio or one bedder, just like the one in the city?

Oh okay, our definitions of 'lifestyle' are different!
To me it is not only about rooms or space.
My scenario is a late 20s/early 30s single, metro***ual tenant who wants a cosy space, is tech-savvy, ambitious, knows how to cook but can afford to dine out, perhaps has a Nespresso machine but prefers to grind his own beans, will make use of the on-site facilities like meeting 'pods' and spaces, function rooms, overhead projectors, power point, knows about global warming, understands that Lady Gaga is passe, is eco-friendly, practises safe *** etc, and who does not appreciate screaming kids with maid and pomeranian in tow making a lot of noise at the pool or hordes of aunties and uncles doing tai-chi in the common areas, homemakers who fry fish or rempah all day, or exchange gossip in the corridors, or watch Chinese or Korean dramas at high volume, SUV owners and those who must rev their engines and horn in underground carparks...

skyhigh
30-12-10, 22:41
Skyhigh was right. The appliances are provided as stated in my option as well

About time you got here to back me up!
You didn't see me getting attacked left and right??

30-12-10, 23:17
skyhigh, dont get me wrong, not attacking you lah. i am just being objective, coz MM units in suburban area has yet to prove its rental yield. If you can rent out for a good yield in future, i will be happy as well :)

31-12-10, 07:28
Soho with facilities is not the same with mm without facilities or small facilities. This would be catching future D23 investors who wish to hold on to their hdb or just want to take small bets of less than 1 million units.

skyhigh
31-12-10, 08:11
skyhigh, dont get me wrong, not attacking you lah. i am just being objective, coz MM units in suburban area has yet to prove its rental yield. If you can rent out for a good yield in future, i will be happy as well :)

Not referring to you lah.
Talking about the troll from several pages ago....

HP65
31-12-10, 09:05
Oh okay, our definitions of 'lifestyle' are different!
To me it is not only about rooms or space.
My scenario is a late 20s/early 30s single, metro***ual tenant who wants a cosy space, is tech-savvy, ambitious, knows how to cook but can afford to dine out, perhaps has a Nespresso machine but prefers to grind his own beans, will make use of the on-site facilities like meeting 'pods' and spaces, function rooms, overhead projectors, power point, knows about global warming, understands that Lady Gaga is passe, is eco-friendly, practises safe *** etc, and who does not appreciate screaming kids with maid and pomeranian in tow making a lot of noise at the pool or hordes of aunties and uncles doing tai-chi in the common areas, homemakers who fry fish or rempah all day, or exchange gossip in the corridors, or watch Chinese or Korean dramas at high volume, SUV owners and those who must rev their engines and horn in underground carparks...

Seems like FEO should employ you as their Marketing Executive or in-house agent? And you are very familiar with FEO project details :D

u2torneil
31-12-10, 09:43
Still waiting for you to post your letter...

You should gamble away more of your savings to buy more ovens and appliances bundled with your beloved dream "lifestyle" and loft. It will help generate positive externalities for the vested owners of Mayspring, Linear, Hazel Park Condo, etc.

Obviously, you have not done your due diligence into the current and future demographics of residents in the BP area. Dig harder into proper data before you part your money for investment, rather than making a conclusion sitting in BP Plaza drinking coffee! Until then, you can keep on dreaming on your dream tenants' lifestyle.

Not referring to you lah.
Talking about the troll from several pages ago....

SP specialist
31-12-10, 09:52
About time you got here to back me up!
You didn't see me getting attacked left and right??

Sorry man. Well, to each of his own. Every development have its own pro and con.

I find the place is convenient to me and within my budget.

31-12-10, 10:01
Did anyone not mention that Tennery is also getting a free massive flyover bridge, other than a busy cross-junction, right in front of the swimming pool? Flyover is obviously missing or omitted from the marketing photos/pictures.

Maybe it is a negative point if mentioned

And if it is a fly over instead of underpass... the units facing the fly over would not be ideal.

u2torneil
31-12-10, 10:10
LTA already confirmed that it will be a road bridge flyover at this junction of Tennery. The other confirmed flyover nearby will be over at the junction of Dairy Farm Estate, Salvation Army, Glendale Park, etc. at Hillview area.

Maybe it is a negative point if mentioned

And if it is a fly over instead of underpass... the units facing the fly over would not be ideal.

skyhigh
31-12-10, 10:16
Still waiting for you to post your letter...

For what? SP specialist has already corroborated what I said.
Or maybe you can go ask the 180 or 190 people who also bought?
Oh and thank you for your 'advice'...

skyhigh
31-12-10, 10:25
Seems like FEO should employ you as their Marketing Executive or in-house agent? And you are very familiar with FEO project details :D

Good point.
Now, if they win the bid for the mixed use site opposite then I really better apply....but, no, wait a minute, that will attract even more trolls....

31-12-10, 10:46
garden vista and newton one (just to name 2) also beside flyover, but look at what they are transacting.

LTA already confirmed that it will be a road bridge flyover at this junction of Tennery. The other confirmed flyover nearby will be over at the junction of Dairy Farm Estate, Salvation Army, Glendale Park, etc. at Hillview area.

moneymatters
31-12-10, 11:06
I see rental rate for Upper Bukit Timah/Bukit Panjang, Hillview properties as a sub-group taking on a very different trajectory once DTL 2 begins operation in 2015. DTL IMHO is the most efficient MRT line as it intersects almost all the other lines (CCL, NSL, NEL, EWL and future TSL) within a 8-10 min spread. With train signalling at max 2 min interval. You could be in Holland V in 14 mins, Orchard in 22 mins, CBD in 30 mins tops. I see hordes of young urban professionals gravitating towards D23 in time to come. Consider also the proximity to nature reserve park especially with eco-bridge to be build by 2012 and new Pang Sua park connector. The fact that EA flats at Jelebu are now transacting around 650K despite DTL2 being ready in 2015 does suggest that a major transformation is already underway.

01-01-11, 13:54
skyhigh: how much u bot ur 1bedder...ard 650-700k rite? i was quoted 10-05 80xk!!!

price increased so much....

leme clarify: oven is provided but not the microwave....but if u bey paisey and ask for it, they will most likey throw in microwave, fridge and washer cum dryer for u....but prices actually increased 100k!! haha

the furnishing considered very good for mass market std and the layout and concept is well thought of.....max space utilisation...
same as Icon etc...no car lot for residents...goto apply season parking on 1st come 1st serve basis

personally i prefer the 2bedder den the 1bedder:D

01-01-11, 14:27
how can prices go up 100k in one week?

skyhigh: how much u bot ur 1bedder...ard 650-700k rite? i was quoted 10-05 80xk!!!

leme clarify: oven is provided but not the microwave....but if u bey paisey and ask for it, they will most likey throw in microwave, fridge and washer cum dryer for u....but prices actually increased 100k!! haha

the furnishing considered very good for mass market std and the layout and concept is well thought of.....max space utilisation...
same as Icon etc...no car lot for residents...goto apply season parking on 1st come 1st serve basis

moneymatters
01-01-11, 14:48

the flyover to be build by Lum Chang will be below the pool deck level. Likely to be between the 2nd and 3rd (LRT depot level)

01-01-11, 14:52

Feels like HDB as you have to fight with the public over carpark spaces, and your car can be whacked by the public. Not very safe if this is the case.

01-01-11, 15:21

if it is indeed so, it is making sure that the option buyers execise their options.

plus .. maybe cannot sell so well so jack up prices high high or making more money to go for land bid. Problem solved by selling those at 1500 psf and above and these would clear. Stuck there never mind as new game.

01-01-11, 15:32
developer better not to be too greedy..if there is a fall, all suffer together including buyer and developer... any good for us?

slow and steady is better.

if it is indeed so, it is making sure that the option buyers execise their options.

plus .. maybe cannot sell so well so jack up prices high high or making more money to go for land bid. Problem solved by selling those at 1500 psf and above and these would clear. Stuck there never mind as new game.

01-01-11, 16:08

very normal la....FEO style...MUST always buy during VVVVVVIP preview...if not die die dun touch anymore until later on firesale if any...

u see greenwich....last phase: 1bedder cost almost the same as a 3bedder!!!:scared-1:

FYI: the sales for TENNERY is SUPER!...ard 230units sold liao and some high flr is not for sale now...probably 1500-1600psf later...hahaha

01-01-11, 16:13
developer better not to be too greedy..if there is a fall, all suffer together including buyer and developer... any good for us?

slow and steady is better.

FEO up the prices...more bees chiong in!!!

power leh...expensive must be good mah...proud_owner say one

01-01-11, 16:17
i received a brochure in my letter box. Is that a hanging tennis court on the picture ?

01-01-11, 16:20
i received a brochure in my letter box. Is that a hanging tennis court on the picture ?

sort of hanging as its on top of 2 tower blocks

the project itself is attractive....if the price is ok...tink worth buying lor...layout good too...after viewing the showflat....i guess best units will be pool facing units and 1kpsf on average shd be reasonable:2cents:

01-01-11, 16:24
sort of hanging as its on top of 2 tower blocks

the project itself is attractive....if the price is ok...tink worth buying lor...layout good too...after viewing the showflat....i guess best units will be pool facing units and 1kpsf on average shd be reasonable:2cents:

Ok, tomorrow go and see see the layout...

very near to my place...if they quote u 800k for 1 bedder then the fellow who got RH "tan tio" liao...

it dwarfed those at Lakefront and Centris ...

01-01-11, 16:38
FEO up the prices...more bees chiong in!!!

power leh...expensive must be good mah...proud_owner say one

prices are crazy now, I only bou D23 less than 750psf. how to stomach? cheap no good meh? Very good for me.

01-01-11, 16:39
Ok, tomorrow go and see see the layout...

very near to my place...if they quote u 800k for 1 bedder then the fellow who got RH "tan tio" liao...

it dwarfed those at Lakefront and Centris ...

sound so good. I better go and see see myself too!

01-01-11, 16:42
sound so good. I better go and see see myself too!

yeah it made D'Leedon looks like a D23 development....

ymgsterling
01-01-11, 16:46
Just passed by the devlopment this afternoon.
Despite the heavy downpour, still saw a lot
of cars outside qeuing to go the showflat.
Very very hot leh!

01-01-11, 16:51
yeah it made D'Leedon looks like a D23 development....

why d'leedon a D23 development? Dont understand... D'leedon more than 1000 units.....

01-01-11, 16:52
Just passed by the devlopment this afternoon.
Despite the heavy downpour, still saw a lot
of cars outside qeuing to go the showflat.
Very very hot leh!

dont be deceived by the crowd...probably most are like me, see see look look to feel the market only but never buy. but of course, some very rich one will buy for long term, depending on how much bullets you have.

tot dleedon price high, LH in prime areas, people still flocked in.

01-01-11, 16:57
why d'leedon a D23 development? Dont understand... D'leedon more than 1000 units.....

It made D'Leedon price looks like this Ten mile junction area....

skyhigh
01-01-11, 17:23

1. Yes, $650K; I guess they have removed or reduced the discount that was initially offered.
2. Not exactly; I believe every one gets the oven (S&P agreement) but only early birds get the extras like microwave/washer/fridge (side letter). Anyway these appliances don't cost much so not a big deal. Two friends who bought a few days after me also got the extras.
3. Finishing is okay
4. I don't expect that many tenants or owners will own a car
5. I also like the two-bedder design, especially if own-stay

01-01-11, 17:59
Nice one FEO !
This will mark a great start of 2011 for all :D

01-01-11, 18:09
1. Yes, $650K; I guess they have removed or reduced the discount that was initially offered.
2. Not exactly; I believe every one gets the oven (S&P agreement) but only early birds get the extras like microwave/washer/fridge (side letter). Anyway these appliances don't cost much so not a big deal. Two friends who bought a few days after me also got the extras.
3. Finishing is okay
4. I don't expect that many tenants or owners will own a car
5. I also like the two-bedder design, especially if own-stay

'Discount' still there!!! but jack up listed price!!! 10-05 was listed at 950k!!! i replied WAH....den the agt say...dun worry....still got preview early bird discount of 15% + 2% loyalty discount since i ex FEO buyer.....wah liu:p

skyhigh
01-01-11, 20:22
Feels like HDB as you have to fight with the public over carpark spaces, and your car can be whacked by the public. Not very safe if this is the case.

From the URA tender documents (there were 348 lots originally) the requirement was 128, then amended to 105 lots to be set aside for commercial use plus 1 reserved lot for LRT use.
The new development will have 391 lots so there should be ample, paid parking.

01-01-11, 21:06
how big r the 2-bedders and pricing??

01-01-11, 21:20
how big r the 2-bedders and pricing??
I tink 860 sqft, 1.08mil for 13th flr

01-01-11, 21:42
I tink 860 sqft, 1.08mil for 13th flr
so DP, if given 2 choice, would u choose d'leedon #03-43 840sqft $1,251,600 $1,491 or the above ?

01-01-11, 21:52
so DP, if given 2 choice, would u choose d'leedon #03-43 840sqft $1,251,600 $1,491 or the above ?
Mustnt get low flrs for dleedon....15th flr+ better

2bedder tennery at 1100 psf seems better(early birdy pricing) but now close to 1300psf liao.... So dleedon lor

Hw abt interlace....i still rmb tat 11-68. Best auspicious number!!

01-01-11, 22:09
my D23 high floor fireworks view 3 bedder only 666psf. My friend bought Northvale 2 bedder for 5xxpsf, hillington green 3 bedder for 6xxpsf and i got another friend lagi better, bought madeira for 4xxpsf in 2009. I think the day when tennery TOP and the jurong lake district starts taking shape, all the older condo owners in d23 will huat liao. By then would have gained from rental income and also capital appreciation. Also if suburban condo go up to this kind of ridiculous price, what about our central condos. i can't imagine what the prices will be like. This is really a vicious cycle, govt there talking about cooling measures and developers there ketoking buyers like big carrot heads.

prices are crazy now, I only bou D23 less than 750psf. how to stomach? cheap no good meh? Very good for me.

01-01-11, 23:26
my D23 high floor fireworks view 3 bedder only 666psf. My friend bought Northvale 2 bedder for 5xxpsf, hillington green 3 bedder for 6xxpsf and i got another friend lagi better, bought madeira for 4xxpsf in 2009. I think the day when tennery TOP and the jurong lake district starts taking shape, all the older condo owners in d23 will huat liao. By then would have gained from rental income and also capital appreciation. Also if suburban condo go up to this kind of ridiculous price, what about our central condos. i can't imagine what the prices will be like. This is really a vicious cycle, govt there talking about cooling measures and developers there ketoking buyers like big carrot heads.
developer selling price is a factor of land cost they fiercely tendered for. From my observation, the last 1 year bidding, all min sell ard 1k psf one.... Gone are the days of 500-600 psf kind of pricing.

Done are the days where COE is 20-30k. 60k is the new norm. 1m min for new property is the new low..... $400k is the new norm of new HDB flats.

i cant help but feel pple just wanna buy now!

01-01-11, 23:37
developer selling price is a factor of land cost they fiercely tendered for. From my observation, the last 1 year bidding, all min sell ard 1k psf one.... Gone are the days of 500-600 psf kind of pricing.

Done are the days where COE is 20-30k. 60k is the new norm. 1m min for new property is the new low..... $400k is the new norm of new HDB flats.

i cant help but feel pple just wanna buy now!
COE defintely gona stay high as i sense govt r serious abt cutting the quotas tis time.....

5mil population liao!!!

01-01-11, 23:52
To me if the price of coe can buy a car, not worth paying for it. I think 10-30k is reasonable to pay for coe, anything more is simply not worth it, might as well buy a second hand car.
COE defintely gona stay high as i sense govt r serious abt cutting the quotas tis time.....

5mil population liao!!!

02-01-11, 00:02
To me if the price of coe can buy a car, not worth paying for it. I think 10-30k is reasonable to pay for coe, anything more is simply not worth it, might as well buy a second hand car.

IMHO, its more of not feeling shiok paying 70k to govt for a right to drive. To add salt to the wound, last time they tell us ERP to control car usage and let more pple own car, so more pple can realise their dreams to own a set of wheels..... Then suddenly, u turn left turn right also tio ERP. i ever tio $10 ERP within 5 mins of driving.

Aiya better to pay 70k for stamp duty, at least got chance to make back more.

02-01-11, 07:35
Coe very easy to play. Change the rules and you have new game. Less supply would mean easier to manipulate. It's all dealers work. Take orders first, then jack up Coe prices. Then ask for top up since most would go for 6 bids non guaranted. Fat fat compound interest gained, expansive insurance. Trade in and overtrade ok. Win win win for dealers, second hand dealers, insurance. But once Coe drop, second hand dealer die first.

02-01-11, 08:46

Its a matter of getting use to the new price. If existing owner dont want to pay then must maintain existing car well and wait till 10 years for another 5 or 10 year coe renewal.

02-01-11, 08:47
Coe very easy to play. Change the rules and you have new game. Less supply would mean easier to manipulate. It's all dealers work. Take orders first, then jack up Coe prices. Then ask for top up since most would go for 6 bids non guaranted. Fat fat compound interest gained, expansive insurance. Trade in and overtrade ok. Win win win for dealers, second hand dealers, insurance. But once Coe drop, second hand dealer die first.
dont buy lor.. just keep yr old car.

moneymatters
02-01-11, 16:18
Downtown Line 2 Timing (from Bukit Panjang/Tennery to destination)

Cashew - 2 mins
Hillview - 4 mins
Beauty World - 6 mins
King Albert Park - 8 mins
Sixth Avenue - 10 mins
Tan Kah Kee - 12 mins
Botanics - 14 mins (CCL)-Farrer-Holland V (18 mins)-Buona Vista (20mins)
Botanics - 14 mins Marymount - Bishan (18 mins)
Steven Road - 16 mins (future Thomson Line)
Newton - 18 mins (NSL) - Orchard (20mins)-Somerset- Dhoby G
Newton - 18 mins (NSL) - Novena (20mins) - Toa Payoh - Bradell
Little India - 20 mins (NEL) - Dhoby G (22 mins) - Clarke Quay
Rochor - 22 mins

source : LTA

02-01-11, 16:34
Here is an update fr my recce. 256 sold 50+ left

02-01-11, 18:00
Is there a underpass from Tennery to Bukit Panjang MRT station? The traffic is bad at this junction.

Cashew - 2 mins

02-01-11, 18:15
Lta will link the area up, check with them.

02-01-11, 18:17
Was there around 4plus today. The show flat is crowded and could see that alot of people are buying up the project, mostly investors. :scared-3:

I agree that the layout is good but I am not sure about the accessibility to MRT station and the road noise while taking the price into consideration. Personally have stayed along the road near to bus stop. It is not a very pleasant experience and I will not want to stay along a road, even when window is closed, I could still hear the ramp up of bus engine and to me MRT noise is still bearable than engine noise.

One plus point is the mixed development. Convenience is most important. Recently a lot of project with mixed development seems to sell well wor.

Was quoted #14-23 @886K with 15% discount, 624 sq ft x 4.4m height.

BTW, what is the standard ceiling height now?

02-01-11, 18:20
Lta will link the area up, check with them.I read about it before but I cannot recall if there will be a underpass?

02-01-11, 18:30
std ceiling ht now 2.8m nia....last time used to be 3-3.2m

02-01-11, 18:31
Was quoted #14-23 @886K with 15% discount, 624 sq ft x 4.4m height.

BTW, what is the standard ceiling height now?

this unit or stack so special....i tot all 3.4m

skyhigh
02-01-11, 19:33
I read about it before but I cannot recall if there will be a underpass?

I don't think it has been confirmed yet but if there are going to be 3 lanes of traffic in each direction (up from 2 currently) and the flyover, it would seem sensible to make an underpass.
The flyover work is supposed to be timed to coincide with the re-instatement of the roads after MRT works have been completed to minimise inconvenience so I guess they will do everything at the same time (2015).

skyhigh
02-01-11, 19:46
Ah, just read an August 2009 report from Straits Times which says an underpass will be built and which will allow 'devotees at Sri Murugan Hill temple to cross over without using the overhead bridge' and that the MRT station will have '4 exits'.

skyhigh
02-01-11, 20:03
Ah, just read an August 2009 report from Straits Times which says an underpass will be built and which will allow 'devotees at Sri Murugan Hill temple to cross over without using the overhead bridge' and that the MRT station will have '4 exits'.

Ok, yes, Dr Teo Ho Pin was quoted in 2009 saying that the 4 exits were 1. towards Bt Panjang Plaza 2. Senja 3. Ten Mile junction and 4. Temple and heavy vehicle park area.
Gosh, you guys are making me work very hard gathering info...

02-01-11, 20:13
Well done. Savvy investor indeed

02-01-11, 21:07
Good info. DTL2 is probably the most efficient line and every station just 2 min part. Looks like "near MRT" is the new "prime". Anyway, I always believe good-size studios/1-bedder (i.e. not MMs) and 2-bedders will be quite hot in D23 because 1-bedder are currently non-existent. So there is strong demand from investors and offsprings of residents living in the affluent vicinity of Hillview/Dairy Farm/Cashew. And living amongst tropical rainforests near amenities and transportation links does have a certain appeal.

Cashew - 2 mins
Hillview - 4 mins
Beauty World - 6 mins
King Albert Park - 8 mins
Sixth Avenue - 10 mins
Tan Kah Kee - 12 mins
Botanics - 14 mins (CCL)-Farrer-Holland V (18 mins)-Buona Vista (20mins)
Botanics - 14 mins Marymount - Bishan (18 mins)
Steven Road - 16 mins (future Thomson Line)
Newton - 18 mins (NSL) - Orchard (20mins)-Somerset- Dhoby G
Newton - 18 mins (NSL) - Novena (20mins) - Toa Payoh - Bradell
Little India - 20 mins (NEL) - Dhoby G (22 mins) - Clarke Quay
Rochor - 22 mins

skyhigh
03-01-11, 08:34
And living amongst tropical rainforests near amenities and transportation links does have a certain appeal.

Rainforest? You must be referring to the land currently occupied by KTM and also the back part of the building which leads to the Pang Sua park connector.
I used to have a unit at Raintree and it appealed to folks who like staying right next to the nature reserve as air is good and whole area is tranquil.
I really wonder what they are going to do with all the KTM plots; some are quite small and narrow and would be perfect as green lungs.

03-01-11, 09:16
yesterday went to showroom around 4pm, the showroom is packed with people, it is like great singapore sales, the people crowding all around the salesroom, no empty space, you can even smell the other person, walking past will have to endure full body contact...

2 showrooms, one is one bedder the other is 2 bedder, viewers have to queue up to go in...I should say this is one of the innovative idea of having a SOHO with a high ceiling, normal average is aorund 2.5 to 2.8m but this is one isat least 3.4m to 4m..it provides option to have a platform built on top so it make to area big(just like a small car with a greater height), unlike other SOHO I have seen, this one got this selling point, a small size BUT looks big..alot of things comes as standard or choices, you can choose the wall that separate living room and bedroom to be solid cement or plain glass, electrical appliacancec and wardrobes come in as std.

sales was good, the salesperson show me the sales closed on that day by her alone...so many and with min 30% downpayment is needed as the foundation is already there. shops all opened next september 2011 and all units TOP by 2013, the conveneince of shops and MRT(need to cross a cross junction according to salesperson)is the selling point..

after discount(loyalty discount and 15% discount) a more than 10th floors 1 bedder will cost 718000 at 614sqft at around S$1169psf...those exposing to west sun whole day type..accoding to salesperson as there is no worry that the place will not be a sell out acc to her..

I can see that the place around phoenix LRT and those near bukit panjang shopping centre (be it HDB or pte) and be it rental or selling price will be positively enhanced by this project(as it offers shops and including GIANT will be there) and the Future MRT...

03-01-11, 09:40
so there is a diff of 80k for west and pool facing

sev
03-01-11, 09:40
Hi, I was there to see the showroom yday as well. Have to agree that the platform to create additional living space is pretty innovative. I think kids will love to climb up and down the stairs. Really a playground in itself for kids!

I am not so familiar with that area and this thread has really helped me to get a good insight. Thanks fellas!

Other things which I am unsure of:

- Huge supply of studio/1bed units in the market currently (see property website listings), will there be demand for residential rental in that area?

- I also have qualms for its use as SOHO. This one I really not sure. I mean, if a business don't need nice shopfront maybe rent something in Chinatown will do and will be cheaper? Or virtual office? If need shopfront, would business open at Tennery? I think city fringe also has many SOHO eg Southbank...

- I also observed many development ongoing around the area. Would ppl choose to rent those instead of Tennery? Rental may be pulled down? The 2bedder banker estimated for us monthly payment is around $3k+, can cover with rental?

03-01-11, 09:44
- I also observed many development ongoing around the area. Would ppl choose to rent those instead of Tennery? Rental may be pulled down? The 2bedder banker estimated for us monthly payment is around $3k+, can cover with rental?

only MMs possible for rental to cover mthly installment for current market condition

sev
03-01-11, 09:49
only MMs possible for rental to cover mthly installment for current market condition

Or unless in prime districts?

03-01-11, 09:50

prime districts cud be worse

smbody bot RH ard 770k rite...he projected 3.5k rental...looks like positive cashflow of 1-1.5k based on 70% loan and 30yrs tenure at 1.75% int rate

u2torneil
03-01-11, 10:01
Some of you underestimated FEO's greed. Prices already went up last weekend when I was at the showroom, it was already $1300 psf for 1 bedrooms.

03-01-11, 10:05
Some of you underestimated FEO's greed. Prices already went up last weekend when I was at the showroom, it was already $1300 psf for 1 bedrooms.

west n pool facing diff 80k leh....so prices mabe up abit only lor

unless can sm1 tell us tat he actually bot a pool facing unit at 11xxpsf

u2torneil
03-01-11, 10:09
LOL working hard to get outdated wrong information below, you have not heeded my advice properly.

No underpass to Tennery, check the URA tender documents properly.

No MRT exits to Senja and Ten Mile Junction, Tennery need to walk in the open to MRT. LTA changed their plans, see latest map here:
http://www.lta.gov.sg/projects/images/bukit%20panjang.jpg

Minister Vivian is exploring covered walkway from Bt. Panjang Road to BP MRT entrance. Optional underpass under canal OR covered walkway over canal will be from new mixed development to MRT, depending what future developer proposes, according to URA tender requirements.

Ok, yes, Dr Teo Ho Pin was quoted in 2009 saying that the 4 exits were 1. towards Bt Panjang Plaza 2. Senja 3. Ten Mile junction and 4. Temple and heavy vehicle park area.
Gosh, you guys are making me work very hard gathering info...

skyhigh
03-01-11, 10:22
LTA changed their plans, see latest map here:
http://www.lta.gov.sg/projects/images/bukit%20panjang.jpg

Yes, that is the original map; where is the flyover and why are the shophouses still shown?
It is obvious that the map has not been updated even though the above info has been available since August 2010.
Try harder please:doh:

03-01-11, 10:50
Shop house will be gone, so that's a possible exit area.

Common sense lah.. why need 4 exits at the temple side? This is not a indian town.

Swing it out like a flower lah. Since petals are there. It could bloom right?

Since a fly over built, very easy for underpass

if a underpass is built, very easy for a overhead link way.

u2torneil
03-01-11, 10:56
LOL, not happy that you've been up-ended and embarrassed by your foolishness of parting with the money first and then start to dig out outdated information to justify your investment. I'll be worried for your money if you invest like this...

No need to try harder, this information is straight from the horses' mouth from Lum Chang, LTA and Vivian all together when they presented to me.

Yes, that is the original map; where is the flyover and why are the shophouses still shown?
It is obvious that the map has not been updated even though the above info has been available since August 2010.
Try harder please:doh:

u2torneil
03-01-11, 11:02
If you are footing the bill, of course it'll be easy, until then it's all your own speculation.

Chief Architect of URA says exits fan out the way they are now on LTA's web site because of the planned design for ventilation shafts.

Shop house will be gone, so that's a possible exit area.

Common sense lah.. why need 4 exits at the temple side? This is not a indian town.

Swing it out like a flower lah. Since petals are there. It could bloom right?

Since a fly over built, very easy for underpass

if a underpass is built, very easy for a overhead link way.

skyhigh
03-01-11, 11:02
LOL, not happy that you've been up-ended and embarrassed by your foolishness of parting with the money first and then start to dig out outdated information to justify your investment. I'll be worried for your money if you invest like this...

No need to try harder, this information is straight from the horses' mouth from Lum Chang, LTA and Vivian all together when they presented to me.

Thanks for the laughs; I will ask Vivian when I see him next week.
I think forumers here know your agenda by now.
Oh and by the way, please enlighten us where or what new development you would invest in now?

u2torneil
03-01-11, 11:16
Don't believe? See the attached photo, and please don't choke when Vivian confirms what I said. Take a photo when you see Vivian, I'll be waiting for it. Where I invest is private information :)

Thanks for the laughs; I will ask Vivian when I see him next week.
I think forumers here know your agenda by now.
Oh and by the way, please enlighten us where or what new development you would invest in now?

03-01-11, 11:28
Pls compare the rental vs the interest and other costs not capital in nature. If you're making principal repayments, take it as a forced savings, If you pay only 20% upfront, why would one expect the stupid tenant to help you foot the 80% of the capital and equity value of your property? If a property has a average yields of 3% with interest of say 1%, the net yield is only 2%. How can this pay off the 80% of the principal loan? Prime districts will be worse and fetch the worst yields.

It is possible to have positive cash flows for some MMs and some suburban condos due to the low interest rate environment and taking maximum tenure. But it is not possible at today's prices once interest rates start to normalise.

03-01-11, 11:41
if one have to walk under the open air, then it will be a big minus point cos of the traffic condition. One still need to take a train transfer to CDB cos DTL2 stops at residential area mostly.

There are no surrounding HDBs within walking distance and there are few bigger, good mix, better managed malls around for shopping. So its not a great deal to be here.

If there is no proper underpass and the tenant mix for retail is less than desirable (no outside visitor), then I think it could be a complex where no one want to visit?

LRT is no big deal, its just convenient residents in CCK and Bt Panjang but no way for anyone in AMK or Pasir Ris to take MRT and transfer to LRT. No one will drive by here by chance as well.

So it is important to be connected to MRT.

I give 101% mark for far east to be able to sell out this project. I still recall that no one want to rent a space in this mall it was haunted for a while and in the end Sing Siong took over at very low rent.

It might take a while to realize the investment.

My 2cents.

skyhigh
03-01-11, 11:45
Don't believe? See the attached photo, and please don't choke when Vivian confirms what I said. Take a photo when you see Vivian, I'll be waiting for it. Where I invest is private information :)

Thanks for the laughs again.
Please also show more grainy pics of the preceding or following slides that conclusively prove what you are saying.
I believe that forumers here can see by your choice of words (one example - "free massive flyover" - aren't all flyovers free and massive?), or ranting about something as small as kitchen fittings and demanding 'proof' even after others have said the same thing, and now, you must safeguard your 'privacy' (as in, I can criticise others but no one can talk about me and my investments) that you have an agenda and/or other vested interests.

u2torneil
03-01-11, 11:49
Not interested, I've made my point and laid out the facts from the authorities, take it or leave it.

I have a life outside of this forum, not a "custodian" or "marketer" of Tennery like you hovering around here like a ghost to justify your investment :)

Thanks for the laughs again.
Please also show more grainy pics of the preceding or following slides that conclusively prove what you are saying.
I believe that forumers here can see by your choice of words (one example - "free massive flyover" - aren't all flyovers free and massive?), or ranting about something as small as kitchen fittings and demanding 'proof' even after others have said the same thing, and now, you must safeguard your 'privacy' (as in, I can criticise others but no one can talk about me and my investments) that you have an agenda and/or other vested interests.

03-01-11, 11:56
Whether one has to walk a bit in the open air or underpass to MRT station is not such a big deal lah. Actually it's quite scary to be underground all the time. If it's near, it's near right? A little bit of sunshine or fresh air won't kill. I don't think it's a deal breaker. Imagine if everyone only invest in property that has direct underground links to MRT! Then the options will be so limited.

03-01-11, 11:56
this unit or stack so special....i tot all 3.4m typo error, laughing at myself for the mistake too...3.4m height. a sell out project will comprise of good marketing, innovative layout and better run fast. Dont let competitor copy the same layout and sell at lower price.

anyway not for family who love to cook, for niche market.

If rent out to someone loves cooking, oops.....

03-01-11, 11:58
Whether one has to walk a bit in the open air or underpass to MRT station is not such a big deal lah. Actually it's quite scary to be underground all the time. If it's near, it's near right? A little bit of sunshine or fresh air won't kill. I don't think it's a deal breaker. Imagine if everyone only invest in property that has direct underground links to MRT! Then the options will be so limited.

SG quite safe. If you only have so much $, what will be your options?

03-01-11, 12:13
I'm not saying Tennery is a good buy. Just thinking that whether or not if there is a direct underpass to the MRT station or above-ground covered walkway really matters that much. In fact, very few developments have direct underpass to MRT stations (Centris? Also not underpass). Staying indoors all the time can be unhealthy as well. So I'm a bit "surpised" by all the negative comments about not having an underpass as if it is a "very bad" thing when it is not.

SG quite safe. If you only have so much $, what will be your options?

03-01-11, 12:15
I'm not saying Tennery is a good buy. Just thinking that whether or not if there is a direct underpass to the MRT station or above-ground covered walkway really matters that much. In fact, very few developments have direct underpass to MRT stations (Centris? Also not underpass). Staying indoors all the time can be unhealthy as well. So I'm a bit "surpised" by all the negative comments about not having an underpass as if it is a "very bad" thing when it is not.

now the In thing is.....MRT just a lift away

03-01-11, 12:24
if one have to walk under the open air, then it will be a big minus point cos of the traffic condition. One still need to take a train transfer to CDB cos DTL2 stops at residential area mostly.

There are no surrounding HDBs within walking distance and there are few bigger, good mix, better managed malls around for shopping. So its not a great deal to be here.

If there is no proper underpass and the tenant mix for retail is less than desirable (no outside visitor), then I think it could be a complex where no one want to visit?

LRT is no big deal, its just convenient residents in CCK and Bt Panjang but no way for anyone in AMK or Pasir Ris to take MRT and transfer to LRT. No one will drive by here by chance as well.

So it is important to be connected to MRT.

I give 101% mark for far east to be able to sell out this project. I still recall that no one want to rent a space in this mall it was haunted for a while and in the end Sing Siong took over at very low rent.

It might take a while to realize the investment.

My 2cents.

than be ready to give far east 101% mark....

tennery is 1 to 2 min walk to MRT, I can tell you which HDB blocks and which pte is near the MRT (within 5 mins)that is going to be built...:) that is how familiar I am to a place that I am interested D22-24..

fooblackie
03-01-11, 12:53
than be ready to give far east 101% mark....

tennery is 1 to 2 min walk to MRT, I can tell you which HDB blocks and which pte is near the MRT (within 5 mins)that is going to be built...:) that is how familiar I am to a place that I am interested D22-24..

1-2 min not possible. sounds like saleman talk.

Ten mile junction LRT station is 1 LRT stop from Bukit Panjang LRT. The distance to walk bet these LRT stops cannot be 1-2 mins. It may be possible if you take LRT :tongue3:

Even if they build an underground link, my bet is that it will take 5-8 min to walk. If no link, the walking time will increase as there will be various traffic lights to cross.

I stay in D23 and pass by Ten mile junction everyday.

03-01-11, 14:15
my comment only so far. Seriously the high traffic vol. really put me off if I need to walk in a cross junction (busy road) or sometimes hot sun/rainy days in the morning to MRT. No underpass ok but should be pleasant enough to walk. centris is ok to walk i suppose but not ten mile junction.

If there is above ground covered walk way without facing the traffic lights while waiting for the traffic light to turn green, guess still bearable.

03-01-11, 14:42
If you are footing the bill, of course it'll be easy, until then it's all your own speculation.

Chief Architect of URA says exits fan out the way they are now on LTA's web site because of the planned design for ventilation shafts.

yup, excuse me..

anyway nothing stopping a overhead bridge right?

03-01-11, 15:11
1-2 min not possible. sounds like saleman talk.

Ten mile junction LRT station is 1 LRT stop from Bukit Panjang LRT. The distance to walk bet these LRT stops cannot be 1-2 mins. It may be possible if you take LRT :tongue3:

Even if they build an underground link, my bet is that it will take 5-8 min to walk. If no link, the walking time will increase as there will be various traffic lights to cross.

I stay in D23 and pass by Ten mile junction everyday.

no la...what are you talking? the new MRT is just opposite the ten mile junction(the new tennery).. dont need 5 min to cross the junction to take a MRT from tennery unless walk with a wobbly legs. the most is 1 to 2 min only..From HDB and Pte surroundings, there are many of them that takes 5 mins walk to the new MRT and the new MRT got a few entrance/exits that make it easier for people to access..

I am not talking about the Dumb LRT, the nearest LRT station to tennery is the phoenix LRT and the next nearest LRT is bukit panjang...you can acess the ten mile junction LRT ONLY AND ONLY by taking the LRT transfer from Bkit panjang LRT, that is why last time the situation was so bad at ten mile junction until sheng shiong took over to manage it...:)

i dont simply just pass by...:)

03-01-11, 15:26
Peter, are you marketing tennery now?

03-01-11, 15:34
Oh no, the Peter says no question. Beware his rod and mouth reply. He is a owner there lah.

03-01-11, 15:47
Peter, are you marketing tennery now?

U think I am those who will buy at record high at this moment and hoping the price will go up even higher? I say earlier in this thread who are the real winners liao..:)

moneymatters
03-01-11, 16:31
All the relevant info regarding Bukit Panjang MRT station, the access/exit, link bridge to LRT can be found in these URA links.

http://www.ura.gov.sg/sales/JelebuPetirRd/MA/JelebuPetirRd-intro(MA).html (http://www.ura.gov.sg/sales/JelebuPetirRd/MA/JelebuPetirRd-intro%28MA%29.html)

http://www.ura.gov.sg/sales/JelebuPetirRd/MA/tenderdocs/JelebuPetirRd-Annex1.pdf

Peter is right about Tennery being 1-2 mins walk to MRT station just across the traffic crossing. I attended the same presentation regarding DTL 2 update hosted by Lum Chang, SK Tiong Seng JV, GS & Hock Lian Seng JV and LTA engineers & architect where Minister Vivian was in attendance. The major take-away was that URA/LTA and various government agencies are working hard to bring about seamless integration for the future Bukit Panjang MRT/LRT/Bus interchange. If you take the time to go through the technical drawings/perspectives you will know that the MRT station is literally at the door step of Tennery minus the underground link for now. But this should pose little problem as the MRT access is less than 50 meters across the traffic junction. The biggest selling points for Tennery apart from creative design/SOHO concept & slick marketing is the DTL2 connectivity to CCL, NSL, NEL, EWL. future TSL, passing through Singapore premier education/schools corridor, proximity to green luings, park connector and Bukit Timah nature reserve. I am vested in two D23 3 bedder property but not Tennery. I see D23 as a future hot spot with fantastic upside due to its easy access to Bukit Timah schools & colleges once DTL2 comes into operation.