View Full Version : 30 sites for private housing

25-11-10, 13:58
http://www.straitstimes.com/BreakingNews/Singapore/Story/STIStory_607192.html

Nov 25, 2010

GOVERNMENT LAND SALES PROGRAMME

30 sites for private housing

THIRTY sites, which can together yield 14,300 private residential units, will be made available for private housing in the first half of next year under the Government Land Sales Programme (GLS) to meet demand.

The Ministry of National Development, which announced this on Thursday, said it will continue to monitor the property market closely and is prepared to inject even more supply of private housing if demand continues to be strong.

To maintain a strong supply of private housing, MND will place 17 sites on the confirmed list of the GLS programme in the first half of 2011. These sites can yield about 8,100 residential units.

This is comparable to the supply from the confirmed list in the second half of this year, which was the highest supply since the system was introduced in mid-2001.

In addition, 13 sites will be placed on reserve list, which can together yield about 6,200 residential units.

This is higher than the 13,900 private residential units made available in second half of the 2010 GLS Programme, said a statement from MND.

Of the 30 sites, 17 are new, while the remaining 13 are carried over from the second half of this year.

Most of them, including four executive condominium sites, are located in the outside central region or in the Rest of Central Region where more affordable private housing is expected to be built.

25-11-10, 14:45
The sites this time around seem to be much better located and many are quite close to mrt or recently launched projects which had good response, maybe they sense the need to whet developer's appetite. :2cents:

25-11-10, 15:13
The sites this time around seem to be much better located and many are quite close to mrt or recently launched projects which had good response, maybe they sense the need to whet developer's appetite. :2cents:

govt is smart? push out inferior land sites first and when land prices had hit record high now, they start to release better sites to sustain the prices?:2cents:

25-11-10, 15:34
govt is smart? push out inferior land sites first and when land prices had hit record high now, they start to release better sites to sustain the prices?:2cents:

Same to selling HDB flat..
When demand is strong, they keep releasing Punggol/Sengkang/Jurong West flat.. can clear many leftover vacant units
Die die hold back sale at mature estate

25-11-10, 15:50
Garment is trying to pre-cool the market with all these release of lands.

25-11-10, 16:04
http://www.ura.gov.sg/pr/text/2010/pr10-137.html

Can someone comment how it is going to affect the under development projects near to it?

These few plots are near to MRT.
1. Seng Kang MRT
http://www.ura.gov.sg/pr/graphics/2010/pr10-137a1.pdf
http://www.ura.gov.sg/pr/graphics/2010/pr10-137a30.pdf

3. Bedok Town Park MRT
http://www.ura.gov.sg/pr/graphics/2010/pr10-137a2.pdf

4. Choa Chua Kang MRT
http://www.ura.gov.sg/pr/graphics/2010/pr10-137a3.pdf

5. Boon Keng MRT
http://www.ura.gov.sg/pr/graphics/2010/pr10-137a4.pdf

6. Potong Pasir MRT
http://www.ura.gov.sg/pr/graphics/2010/pr10-137a16.pdf

7. Hillview MRT
http://www.ura.gov.sg/pr/graphics/2010/pr10-137a17.pdf
http://www.ura.gov.sg/pr/graphics/2010/pr10-137a29.pdf

9. Paya Lebar MRT - Commerical and Residential
http://www.ura.gov.sg/pr/graphics/2010/pr10-137a18.pdf

10. Tanjong Pagar MRT - Commercial Only
http://www.ura.gov.sg/pr/graphics/2010/pr10-137a19.pdf

11. Bishan MRT
http://www.ura.gov.sg/pr/graphics/2010/pr10-137a21.pdf

12. Tanah Merah MRT
http://www.ura.gov.sg/pr/graphics/2010/pr10-137a23.pdf

13. Redhill MRT
http://www.ura.gov.sg/pr/graphics/2010/pr10-137a24.pdf

14. Queenstown MRT
http://www.ura.gov.sg/pr/graphics/2010/pr10-137a25.pdf
http://www.ura.gov.sg/pr/graphics/2010/pr10-137a26.pdf

16. Bartley MRT
http://www.ura.gov.sg/pr/graphics/2010/pr10-137a27.pdf

17. Mountbatten MRT
http://www.ura.gov.sg/pr/graphics/2010/pr10-137a33.pdf

18. Jurong East MRT
http://www.ura.gov.sg/pr/graphics/2010/pr10-137a35.pdf

19. Bukit Panjang MRT
http://www.ura.gov.sg/pr/graphics/2010/pr10-137a44.pdf

19 Sites Near MRT!@!!!!

Anyone has comments on how it is going to affect the underconstruction projects next to it, such as Ascentia Sky? Optima?

Seems like its going to be oversupply. I think better wait and see the land sales prices.

25-11-10, 16:15
This one because of its size, proximity to mrt and amenities sure look interesting :o

http://www.ura.gov.sg/pr/text/2010/pr10-137.html

5. Boon Keng MRT
http://www.ura.gov.sg/pr/graphics/2010/pr10-137a4.pdf

25-11-10, 16:18
plus river facing.. small river or longkang if u want to call it that.

25-11-10, 16:19
Amazing! Can the market absorb so many pte houses? I hope that the government is not preparing the ground for allowing more foreigners to come in after the election early next year!

25-11-10, 16:22
Amazing! Can the market absorb so many pte houses? I hope that the government is not preparing the ground for allowing more foreigners to come in after the election early next year!

cooling measures are cooling measures.

Increase with lots of Supply... restrict demand will do the job! Pity those condo's not near MRT... drop in value liao. Immediate drop!

Guess this should do the job.

25-11-10, 16:27
I can see several good sites. Are these just 99LH?

25-11-10, 16:29
FH land sales are rare these days.

25-11-10, 16:35
GLS 100% 99LH:D

mostly within 5mins to MRT! WOW....duno wat will happen....:beats-me-man:

those older 99LH condos not near MRT...jialat

25-11-10, 16:41
Okay... I'm not going to be interested in them...

25-11-10, 16:45
Some of these sites will develop into hot properties.
Okay... I'm not going to be interested in them...

25-11-10, 16:57
You may be right... on closer look several of them are near MRT with some vacant land for future developments. Government is really smart to release the ulu sites first. I bet those who bought the condos or ECs at these ulu sites will now bang balls. Unless they are buying to stay near parents.

shauntanzs
25-11-10, 17:58
With all these delicious site, do u think property market will drop? Maybe maintain or slight increase I see.:beats-me-man:

25-11-10, 19:19
With all these delicious site, do u think property market will drop? Maybe maintain or slight increase I see.:beats-me-man:
Well, you have a point. Developer will grab and have to bid high high for them.

25-11-10, 20:26
Instead of introducing more cooling measures such as capital gain tax etc , flooding with supply will bring in more benefits such as increasing income for some garment agencies. Eventually, price will correct becos of oversupply, by then, do you think garment care?

IMO, pushing out more GLS might bring about the following:
1) More GLS will triggered more new construction projects with buyers funding the constsuction costs thru purchases of properties (a boost to GDP) and garment will need not to worry construction sector for the next few years... (Stimulate the economy and taxing for profits made from developers)
2) More duties stamp fees collected ($$$$$$$$$$...)
3) these new land sites can potentially help to protect price erosion to nearby projects (another plus points)

With $$$ collected from GLS from developers, duty stamp fees paid by buyers and Corporate tax income from developers, do you think they care what happened?
No $$$ no talk, money taken lagi no need to talk, you die your problems.....

In fact, I'm not surprise similar statements from politicians such as "See, we told you right, becareful about property investment.... who asks you play play with property even after our repeative warnings on property risks. Dun't say I never give chance hor....":banghead:

25-11-10, 20:40
These sites will sure be priced higher and support the current high prices, especially those in the surrounding. :D :D good job!!

25-11-10, 20:56
Some of these sites sure look hotter than our d'Leedon :) Nearer MRT and shorter more direct commute to town n less crowded n more exclusive. So if D'Leedon can fetch more than 1650psf, some of these may do better.
Some of these sites will develop into hot properties.

25-11-10, 21:26

The govt is indeed serious in cooling the speculative prices. Better not buy now or else die pain pain later :D

25-11-10, 21:27
pine grove's enbloc will have to wait...

25-11-10, 21:37
Calm down guys. What make u think developers will fight to bid those sites and build cheap cheap and sell cheap cheap ? These mrt sites are not cheap ok. Especially those on reserve list. For example, the one near bishan mrt had been on sale since 2007! Did u notice all the big boys were not present in all the recent bids ? Ppl like Liew and Qwek are not stupid. Why should I flood myself with the supply to suppress my margin ?

Gov is also trying to maximize the return on land. Cooling down the pty market is a byproduct.

25-11-10, 22:09
The govt is indeed serious in cooling the speculative prices. Better not buy now or else die pain pain later :D

Agreed. In particular, milking from buyers while cooling the market...:D :D :D

shauntanzs
25-11-10, 22:36
I can only say singaporean are really rich.
How many forumer here owns more than 3 properties??

25-11-10, 23:34
I am eying on the large site next to boon keng mrt station hee hee... :p

26-11-10, 08:38
Good news to the property market. Price will continue to head north.

26-11-10, 08:42
This could be a white site.

26-11-10, 08:51
So the mkt is getting interesting all over again;)

26-11-10, 09:33
Boon Keng area is not exactly nice, other than being quite near to the city.

The interesting ones this time round are the affluent peaceful suburbs that are exclusively private enclave near to future/new MRT - West Coast, Hillview, Bartley, Upper Serangoon etc.

26-11-10, 09:38
the plot at pasir ris drive 4 will have nice sea/pulau ubin view....

mygeemeel
26-11-10, 09:42
I have seen how the property market has evolved over the past 10 years. With the new land sites next year, prices will not be lower than current/today. It will either be the same or higher. Maybe slight correction but no major price drop. So long as foreigners are allowed to buy properties in Spore, you will find that S$2,000psf is still within their appetite.

current USD to SGD is 1.3. MAS will allow SGD to appreciate, eventually will become 1.22. Foreigners would want safer place to park their money. They will come to Singapore.

Not forgetting the big group of buyers/investors/accidental investors who made big/good profit from flipping in past 1~3 years ago. Alot of youngsters are driving Ferraris now. These are the people who already have excess money and holding power. A friend of mine who works as a technician (est combined salary S$6,000) now owns 3 properties and 2 of which are in Bukit Timah. His money came from the sale of his HDB.

Garmen is unable to cover all grounds. They too want to take advantage of this to make more profit/taxes etc.

Summary: Buy within your means. Assuming interest rates increased or maybe double current rates, your installment of $2,000 per month might become $4,000 per month. 3 properties = $12,000 per month. :scared-1:

Save money and wait for 2013. I believe we can bottom fish in 2013/4.

If i am accurate, please remember to buy me a Ferrari... a real one and better be brand new. :D

26-11-10, 09:47
All these sites are pretty good mass market sites (if not all).

Question to ask is... are there many Singaporeans who are priced out of HDB/EC to sink into these.

Next question to ask is... are there many non Singapores who are buying into these.

Third question to ask is... are there many Singaporeans who are not priced out of HDB/EC to sink into these.

Fourth question to ask is... are the developers going to sell high high even though the land bid price could be around $350 psf or below.

Fifth question to ask is... would you sell or buy now.

26-11-10, 09:51
Summary: Buy within your means. Assuming interest rates increased or maybe double current rates, your installment of $2,000 per month might become $4,000 per month. 3 properties = $12,000 per month. :scared-1:

its not double ....

for 35yrs tenure: interest rate @1.5%, $306 mthly installment for every 100k loan whereas if int rate doubled to 3%, its $385....even 5% work out to be $505 which is not double of $306

for 20yrs tenure, 1.5% rate: $483, 3%:$555, 5%: $660

26-11-10, 09:52
Not all are mass market sites - those West Coast and Hillview sites will be more mid-market because surroundings are all private condos or freehold landed with no HDB with 3 km. And new launches in those districts are already way above $1000psf. Some will fetch pretty good PSF.

All these sites are pretty good mass market sites (if not all).

Question to ask is... are there many Singaporeans who are priced out of HDB/EC to sink into these.

Next question to ask is... are there many non Singapores who are buying into these.

Third question to ask is... are there many Singaporeans who are not priced out of HDB/EC to sink into these.

Fourth question to ask is... are the developers going to sell high high even though the land bid price could be around $350 psf or below.

26-11-10, 09:54

i might be interested to get a unit at the pasir ris drive 4:D

26-11-10, 09:55
Not all are mass market sites - those West Coast and Hillview sites will be more mid-market because surroundings are all private condos or freehold landed with no HDB with 3 km. And new launches in those districts are already way above $1000psf. Some will fetch pretty good PSF.

but new GLS 99LH vs existing FH

26-11-10, 09:57
Agreed but much higher wor with 2.8 plot ratio :) Those high-floors would be quite magnificent.

but new GLS 99LH vs existing FH

26-11-10, 09:58

oh... they are all OCR and not CCR and RCR... so that is why I meant as mass market.

But you are right. West Coast, Hillview, Bartley and a few could be mid market.

The EC's are definitely MASS MARKET for those eligible.

With all these near MRT sites... god bless those without...
>$1000 psf is the norm. Seen for some ulu CCK Mi Casa Left Over Units. Could you believe that?

http://www.fareast.com.sg/FEOCorp.Upload/CMS/Pdf/MiCasa-FEOWeb.pdf

26-11-10, 11:56
Instead of introducing more cooling measures such as capital gain tax etc , flooding with supply will bring in more benefits such as increasing income for some garment agencies. Eventually, price will correct becos of oversupply, by then, do you think garment care?

IMO, pushing out more GLS might bring about the following:
1) More GLS will triggered more new construction projects with buyers funding the constsuction costs thru purchases of properties (a boost to GDP) and garment will need not to worry construction sector for the next few years... (Stimulate the economy and taxing for profits made from developers)
2) More duties stamp fees collected ($$$$$$$$$$...)
3) these new land sites can potentially help to protect price erosion to nearby projects (another plus points)

With $$$ collected from GLS from developers, duty stamp fees paid by buyers and Corporate tax income from developers, do you think they care what happened?
No $$$ no talk, money taken lagi no need to talk, you die your problems.....

In fact, I'm not surprise similar statements from politicians such as "See, we told you right, becareful about property investment.... who asks you play play with property even after our repeative warnings on property risks. Dun't say I never give chance hor....":banghead:

garmen very smart,, based on record on esparina and Lf all near mrt which has solid sales, so this is the best time to release all these good locations that near mrt and tua tua tan tan liao for the coffer , so next year another DOnut X2 for all garmen servants liao.... after that if the price up and up , u know I know liao...another measures come in but at that time, never mind, land sold liao...the measures will just add another amount to coffer..very smart my respectable god ...

26-11-10, 12:34
u sounded like your are complaining.

Dun care lah.. just hope that Lakeside District transformation can be faster. Then Huat there can liao.

26-11-10, 13:38
Folks, let's go back to Economics 101. What happens when supply exceeds demand? :D :D :D

There are currently several thousand vacant units out for grabs (high end and mass market).... and the gahment is rolling out so many more residential areas (30 land sites) for sale yet again. Something like 14,000+ units can be developed right? And this is not counting the ECs and HDB flats (the size of the entire Toa Payoh town) yet. So what do you think? :cool: ;) :scared-4:

So be wary of who you ask about the market. In other words, never ask a barber if you need a haircut! :p :cool: :tongue3:

26-11-10, 14:15
Time to stock up the land bank for large developers. Small developer who cannot hold on to unsold unit may have to sell them at discounted rate or throw in freebees.

26-11-10, 14:34
Folks, let's go back to Economics 101. What happens when supply exceeds demand? :D :D :D

There are currently several thousand vacant units out for grabs (high end and mass market).... and the gahment is rolling out so many more residential areas (30 land sites) for sale yet again. Something like 14,000+ units can be developed right? And this is not counting the ECs and HDB flats (the size of the entire Toa Payoh town) yet. So what do you think? :cool: ;) :scared-4:

So be wary of who you ask about the market. In other words, never ask a barber if you need a haircut! :p :cool: :tongue3:

it will happen after year 2013 or later when most units will be TOP..a few years later.. so quickly sell land now, mai tu liao... btw, I am not complaining..I love singapore what....:D

26-11-10, 18:24
Quite true. I think the government should launch more demand side measures, like reducing LTV to 60% for second property and foreign buyers must pay 100% cash. The oversupply does look quite intimidating - unless our gahment is contemplating importing foreign talent by the truckloads again - u never know.

On the flip side, 8000 units on the GLS confirmed list spread across the entire Singapore (most are cosy 200-500 units development) is actually not that much. Just d'Leedon alone at Farrer in one small vicinity is already whopping 1715 units (25% of GLS) right? I actually think market may be able to absorb those 8000 units spread across the country.

26-11-10, 19:06
Actually there are already alot of units from recent launches still not sold. Can the market accept so much more supply coming next year without price softening? :beats-me-man:

scsc
26-11-10, 19:34

With this site, it will spells the end of high floor unblock south viewing for One St. Michael's.. no more Flyer in 5 years time :(

26-11-10, 19:52
Actually there are already alot of units from recent launches still not sold. Can the market accept so much more supply coming next year without price softening? :beats-me-man:
Very gd question, god knows. There will be buyers when they need a roof.

26-11-10, 21:33

so garmen sell land that is near mrt ma...

26-11-10, 21:37
so garmen sell land that is near mrt ma...

garmen need money for pay for all the new MRT lines ma....

26-11-10, 22:50
And 1000 "luxury" high end units have already TOPed today and still unsold. And considering foreign developers have to sell 2 years after TOP (new regulation), i.e. foreign developers cannot rent out forever, I cannot imagine what will happen after that. And more high end condos will TOP in the next few years with an backlog of 1000 units today...

27-11-10, 01:57
And 1000 "luxury" high end units have already TOPed today and still unsold. And considering foreign developers have to sell 2 years after TOP (new regulation), i.e. foreign developers cannot rent out forever, I cannot imagine what will happen after that. And more high end condos will TOP in the next few years with an backlog of 1000 units today...

whatever happens to Reflection ..phase 3 4 ? Interlace ?
Aalto also have unsold units from developer ..

indeed alot

27-11-10, 06:56
Garment has a vision for 6.5 million population as Singapore is becoming a global city. That is why they have invested so much in the infrastructure such as the rail system. This is one way to stay competitive given no other resources. We are talking about compact city.

shauntanzs
27-11-10, 07:29
garmen need money for pay for all the new MRT lines ma....

Garmen dun need to sell land to raise $ for mrt. They just need to up ERP:D
You know everyday LTA earns 2mil from ERP.. One underground MRT station plus tunnel cost around 300-400mil. So it just took LTA 200days to "save" up for 1 station :D

27-11-10, 09:12
Garmen dun need to sell land to raise $ for mrt. They just need to up ERP:D
You know everyday LTA earns 2mil from ERP.. One underground MRT station plus tunnel cost around 300-400mil. So it just took LTA 200days to "save" up for 1 station :D

Don't need ERP. The land around the MRT easily increases in value by 300-400mil. So the MRT lines virtual pays for itself. So when garment says it needs to pay how much more to improve our lives with new lines blah blah blah... not true... the lines pay for themselves...:)