View Full Version : Regent Heights quite impressive

Pages : [1] 2 3 4

14-12-10, 22:50
went to my friend's house at regent heights the other day and was really surprised by the views. From tower A on a high floor, the living room view is bukit timah hill and can even see the three towers and sky garden of the marina bay sands clearly with national day fireworks view. What more, his unit is also pool view. I think the view from his unit is worth much more than what the unit cost. although the project was TOPed in 2000, a three bedder costing 7xxk is really a steal in this market i am thinking. These days with $7xxk, can only buy a lousy mickey mouse unit with expressway or some lousy view or no view

14-12-10, 23:27
went to my friend's house at regent heights the other day and was really surprised by the views. From tower A on a high floor, the living room view is bukit timah hill and can even see the three towers and sky garden of the marina bay sands clearly with national day fireworks view. What more, his unit is also pool view. I think the view from his unit is worth much more than what the unit cost. although the project was TOPed in 2000, a three bedder costing 7xxk is really a steal in this market i am thinking. These days with $7xxk, can only buy a lousy mickey mouse unit with expressway or some lousy view or no view

I believed it is by FEO, 99LH, 645 units. I visited a friend years ago when they 1st move in, agree good views, near bukit batok town park, listed as one of the highest condo in Singapore, got good reviews in property guru, etc. Seem it's got what it takes for prices to be much higher. Wonder what's the possible reason for psf to be such? Becos demand less than supply...., not many expat/FT looking to stay here or...hidden gem until now being uncovered..

14-12-10, 23:35
Manage to find this article, interesting read:

http://lushhomemedia.com/2010/12/05/regent-heights-unit-in-district-23-sells-for-729-psf/
Regent Heights unit in District 23 sells for $729 psf

Posted by luxuryasiahome (http://lushhomemedia.com/author/luxuryasiahome/) on December 5, 2010 ·

Soaring above the Hillview and Bukit Batok estates in District 23, Regent Heights is one of the tallest condominium projects in the area. The 11-year-old development by Bukit Landmark Properties, a unit of Far East Organization, recently saw significant interest from HDB upgraders.
“The price in the area is still very affordable,” says DTZ realtor Eric Kang, who was negotiating deals for a couple of units in the 645-unit project last week. Dennis Wee Properties’ John Wong, a marketing agent who specialises in properties in western Singapore, agrees that the price is Regent Heights’ main selling point, noting that new launches are typically priced at more than $1,000 psf.
Wong, currently the agent for a three-bedroom ground-floor unit in the development, says interest in housing there typically comes from foreigners who work at the nearby International Business Park. “Many are Indian Permanent Residents [PRs] who first rent and then buy.” Wong adds that they are generally attracted by the growing Indian PR community and available amenities in the neighbourhood.
Kang says the condo facilities are “pretty good”. There are several water features and pools, tennis courts and even a putting green. The mass-market condo is also practically next to Bukit Batok Town Park and near Bukit Timah Nature Reserve, which means that units on the higher floors command spectacular views of the surrounding greenery, including Little Guilin.
Moreover, “two MRT stations are a walking distance away”, Kang adds. Located along Bukit Batok East Avenue 5, Regent Heights sits between the Bukit Gombak and Bukit Batok MRT stations. The latter also has a suburban shopping centre next to it, containing a cinema, restaurants, a supermarket and other shops.
Both Kang and Wong say most of the 99-year leasehold condo’s units are owner-occupied, although there are some that are tenanted out. Wong says rental yields are relatively attractive, with two bedroom units rented out for up to $2,600 a month.
Meanwhile, the bigger three-bedroom apartments can fetch up to $3,300 a month in rental.
At least four units at Regent Heights were sold from Nov 2 to 4, with the apartment on the 26th floor fetching the highest price, at $745,000, or $729 psf. According to URA records, the purchaser had an HDB residential address. The 1,023 sq ft, two-bedroom apartment was bought for $387,000, or $378 psf, in May 2006. This means the seller made a gain of more than 90%. The unit was first sold in May 1999, the year of completion, at $555,500 ($607 psf).
Another similar-sized unit on the 18th floor of the same block sold for $710,000 ($694 psf). The previous transaction for the unit was in November 2007, at $590,000, or $577 psf. This translates into a 20% gain for the seller this time around. The previous owner had bought the unit for $420,000 ($411 psf) in October 2003,
according to a caveat lodged with URA. The first buyer, who bought from the developer in October 1996, which was the peak of a property boom, paid $650,000, or $636 psf.
On the 17th storey of another block, another 1,023 sq ft apartment was sold for just under $700,000 ($684 psf) on Nov 3. The apartment had been bought at $392,000 ($383 psf) in March 2005, which means that the seller would have made a gain of almost 80%. The previous owner had purchased the unit in June 1998 for $518,000.
Meanwhile, a fourth-floor unit in the same development was also sold recently to a buyer with an HDB address. At $650,000, or $636 psf, it is just 12% higher than the purchase price the seller paid when the apartment was purchased from the developer at $579,686 ($567 psf) in July 1997.

14-12-10, 23:39
if you are talking about majestic looking buildings around hillview and bukit timah/ bukit batok area, regent heights has to be a candidate. it has quite a big land size with only 3 blocks and full condo facilities. It is walking distance to west mall / bukit batok mrt, near bt timah shopping belt and has plenty parking. in my opinion, this project can invest for capital appreciation and it also has good rental yield of almost 5%.

14-12-10, 23:57
if you are talking about majestic looking buildings around hillview and bukit timah/ bukit batok area, regent heights has to be a candidate. it has quite a big land size with only 3 blocks and full condo facilities. It is walking distance to west mall / bukit batok mrt, near bt timah shopping belt and has plenty parking. in my opinion, this project can invest for capital appreciation and it also has good rental yield of almost 5%. Agree, one of FEO better projects.

15-12-10, 00:06
frankly, i would prefer getting a large 3 bedroom unit with spectacular views at regent heights for 7xxk than say a 9xxk 2 bedder in telok kurau with some buay gan view that looks at neighbour's wall from the living room. leasehold or freehold not important these days and if you compare with hongkong, leases in hongkong last for no more than 50 years, so any condo with more than 80 years balance is considered okay

15-12-10, 00:13
is next to a mosque right? will have noisy allah praying or not?

15-12-10, 00:21
was at my friend's place on a friday, no sound and cannot see the mosque from tower A.

15-12-10, 00:24
with 3 bedders costing 7xxk and rental of more than $3k, I am seriously contemplating buying a unit there just for rental income. Do your research and you will realise it has all the amenities within walking distance and it has full condo facilities to entice tenants as well. Do share your views

15-12-10, 00:36
with 3 bedders costing 7xxk and rental of more than $3k, I am seriously contemplating buying a unit there just for rental income. Do your research and you will realise it has all the amenities within walking distance and it has full condo facilities to entice tenants as well. Do share your views

for rental isnt it better to get nearer to mrt? this one got shuttle service?

15-12-10, 00:42
from what i understand, this project is minutes walking distance to mrt and bukit batok central so there is no need for shuttle bus. my friend and i walked to west mall for a meal from regent heights and it took roughly 8 minutes, really near and did not feel the distance.

for rental isnt it better to get nearer to mrt? this one got shuttle service?

15-12-10, 00:44
check out the scale for this streetdb map, it isnt far at all

http://www.streetdb.com/singapore-street-directory-RESIDENTIAL-p659804-REGENT-HEIGHTS.htm

15-12-10, 00:50
check out the scale for this streetdb map, it isnt far at all

http://www.streetdb.com/singapore-street-directory-RESIDENTIAL-p659804-REGENT-HEIGHTS.htm

oh ok, walk-able but to me thats a little far & tedious liao... anything more than 300m :o

15-12-10, 00:58
i think regent heights is anytime better than the jade with the mrt station just downstairs. i heard the building for jade can vibrate when a train hurtles by, dont know how true that is

15-12-10, 01:51
i think regent heights is anytime better than the jade with the mrt station just downstairs. i heard the building for jade can vibrate when a train hurtles by, dont know how true that is

you like that advertise here its not going to be 7xx k when u find one now

15-12-10, 02:32
i can somehow sense the prices for this project moving up, from 6xxpsf now to 9xxpsf few years down the road is not an impossibility when projects like lanai and hillvista TOP. better start doing my search liao....Cheong ah........

you like that advertise here its not going to be 7xx k when u find one now

fooblackie
15-12-10, 08:16
I have personally evaluated this project previously. Pls see this thread:-

http://forums.condosingapore.com/showthread.php?t=9204

I agree that if you get really high floor and away from the mosque, the view is spectacular. I personally viewed one and the small guilin looks like a rock haha. But I guess anyone with these units will be holding out for record prices...

There are cons in the project to take note. I personally have an issue with multi-level car parks. If one can live with it and its condition, I think this is not a bad buy.

The size of the units are incredibly big!

15-12-10, 09:50
planning to buy to rent out so i think what concerns me most is the rental yield. i checked the web and almost all the 3 bedroom units are asking for $3k to $3.5k a month. That works out to 4.6% rental yield if you can get a 3 bedroom unit there for 780k, renting at a modest $3k/month. One reason why these older projects are so spacious is becoz they have no wasted space like planters, bay windows and huge aircon ledges that modern day projects have. I have been to countless showflats in recent times to only be disappointed with the floorplans and how developers go all out to maximise the plot ratio to the hilt and ketok buyers on unusable space, charging ridiculous psf.

I have personally evaluated this project previously. Pls see this thread:-

http://forums.condosingapore.com/showthread.php?t=9204

I agree that if you get really high floor and away from the mosque, the view is spectacular. I personally viewed one and the small guilin looks like a rock haha. But I guess anyone with these units will be holding out for record prices...

There are cons in the project to take note. I personally have an issue with multi-level car parks. If one can live with it and its condition, I think this is not a bad buy.

The size of the units are incredibly big!

15-12-10, 09:58
planning to buy to rent out so i think what concerns me most is the rental yield. i checked the web and almost all the 3 bedroom units are asking for $3k to $3.5k a month. That works out to 4.6% rental yield if you can get a 3 bedroom unit there for 780k, renting at a modest $3k/month. One reason why these older projects are so spacious is becoz they have no wasted space like planters, bay windows and huge aircon ledges that modern day projects have. I have been to countless showflats in recent times to only be disappointed with the floorplans and how developers go all out to maximise the plot ratio to the hilt and ketok buyers on unusable space, charging ridiculous psf.

i bio this project last yr b4...not easy to find a high flr unit with nice view....and probably nid to throw in 30-50k to reno

things to take note: rental not so hot for this project as there r other condos in the vicinity nearer to MRT.....and the lease starts from 1995

more for self stay den investment:2cents:

15-12-10, 10:26
i also bio the area, the only condo nearest to bukit batok mrt is the jade, regent heights being the 2nd nearest. guilin view and madeira near gombak mrt, which is not an ideal mrt compared to bukit batok mrt. you are probably right, finding the million dollar views in regent hts is a challenge and renovation is definitely needed. The lease for the land starts from 1995 but i think the condo TOP in 2000. i think rental for this project supported by a mixture of japanese, indians, koreans and chinese, quite a good mix i thought.

i bio this project last yr b4...not easy to find a high flr unit with nice view....and probably nid to throw in 30-50k to reno

things to take note: rental not so hot for this project as there r other condos in the vicinity nearer to MRT.....and the lease starts from 1995

more for self stay den investment:2cents:

vboy
15-12-10, 11:16
frankly, i would prefer getting a large 3 bedroom unit with spectacular views at regent heights for 7xxk than say a 9xxk 2 bedder in telok kurau with some buay gan view that looks at neighbour's wall from the living room. leasehold or freehold not important these days and if you compare with hongkong, leases in hongkong last for no more than 50 years, so any condo with more than 80 years balance is considered okay

this may or may not be a true perspective

if it is really not important, why would FEO buy a freehold land in East Coast and repackage it and sell it off as leasehold (ie Shore Residence) if it is not to their advantage? :scared-2:

15-12-10, 11:23

This project is abit rundown as compared to The Jade.. not really walking distance to Bt Batok MRT also..
if talk about fireworks views, is like seeing a light of matches.. so so far away..

15-12-10, 11:40
i was told by hongkies tat their ppty is guaranteed for a lease top up when the lease expires....they actually prefer FH ppty in SG as they think tat SG govt will not top up the lease(or rather its unknown)....well, nobody can answer tat rite....those individual 99LH landed most likely will be taken back by the govt...but for strata titles....only time will tell...hehe

15-12-10, 11:45
if u r looking for good rental in this area, u should consider Guilin View and Madeira too; both within ~300m from Bukit Gombak MRT. Madeira has an added advantage as it is in the centre of food/market and completely shielded from MRT noise. And of course Madeira comes with excellent unblocked view, all the way to Malaysia and beyond. :2cents:

15-12-10, 11:46

if it is really not important, why would FEO buy a freehold land in East Coast and repackage it and sell it off as leasehold (ie Shore Residence) if it is not to their advantage? :scared-2:

if can get away with it and willing buyers, why not ~ :D

15-12-10, 13:13
what i mean is it is not an issue to an investor buying to rent out the property. of course developers would want to go for freehold and i do not think the buyers who paid for shore residences got a good deal

15-12-10, 13:20
interesting you mentioned that, but from my friend's living room, i could see the three MBS towers and sky garden quite distinctly even though they are at the distant horizon. the fireworks view would be very clear as the skyline is unblocked at that height over a vast distance. the best part is not looking at MBS, but having bt timah hill facing your living room while you enjoy your meal and if you buy the back of tower A, your living room would be facing little guilin which IMO is not as fantastic as bt timah view. For 7xxk, i can challenge anyone to find me a 3+1 at east coast with comparable views and living space of more than 1100sf with no planter and bay windows be it 99yr or freehold regardless of age

This project is abit rundown as compared to The Jade.. not really walking distance to Bt Batok MRT also..
if talk about fireworks views, is like seeing a light of matches.. so so far away..

15-12-10, 13:23
i beg to differ coz a slight distance away from bt batok mrt is still better than being near to gombak mrt. if you compare northvale and regent grove, both projects are near the mrt but yew tee area is always deemed as the less popular part of chua chu kang.

if u r looking for good rental in this area, u should consider Guilin View and Madeira too; both within ~300m from Bukit Gombak MRT. Madeira has an added advantage as it is in the centre of food/market and completely shielded from MRT noise. And of course Madeira comes with excellent unblocked view, all the way to Malaysia and beyond. :2cents:

15-12-10, 13:46
interesting you mentioned that, but from my friend's living room, i could see the three MBS towers and sky garden quite distinctly even though they are at the distant horizon. the fireworks view would be very clear as the skyline is unblocked at that height over a vast distance. the best part is not looking at MBS, but having bt timah hill facing your living room while you enjoy your meal and if you buy the back of tower A, your living room would be facing little guilin which IMO is not as fantastic as bt timah view. For 7xxk, i can challenge anyone to find me a 3+1 at east coast with comparable views and living space of more than 1100sf with no planter and bay windows be it 99yr or freehold regardless of age

shhh.. not so loud, wait someone will come in to bulldoze u with west coast and carrotbell ...:p

15-12-10, 13:56
a 3 bedder at carrotbell is almost twice the cost of a 3 bedder at regent heights. the rental for a $1.4 mil 3 bedder at carrotbell is $3.5k, which is the same as a $7xxk 3 bedder at Regent Heights. Clementi MRT is almost unwalkable from carrotbell. I think the discerning would know which is better.

shhh.. not so loud, wait someone will come in to bulldoze u with west coast and carrotbell ...:p

15-12-10, 14:02
a 3 bedder at carrotbell is almost twice the cost of a 3 bedder at regent heights. the rental for a $1.4 mil 3 bedder at carrotbell is $3.5k, which is the same as a $7xxk 3 bedder at Regent Heights. Clementi MRT is almost unwalkable from carrotbell. I think the discerning would know which is better.

perhaps is just "cocktail talk".. & not to be discerned in any serious manner? :o

fooblackie
15-12-10, 14:10
Overall, i think if one is to invest in this development for investment and rental. I think not bad since the rental yield compared to the cost is quite good.

However, for self-stay, I think not a wise choice since the condition of the development is quite bad. I mentioned about the car park lift lobby and common corridor.

Even if you spent a ton renov your unit to make it brand new and comfy, you will still get to use these common facilities, which in my view, is worse than many HDB blocks of the same age (pui chao nua).

It is a clear indication how gd the mgmt is...... :doh:

15-12-10, 14:10
the facts are out there, check the rental yield for the 2 projects and you can discern from those facts. go propertyguru and see what owners are asking

perhaps is just "cocktail talk".. & not to be discerned in any serious manner? :o

15-12-10, 14:12
lol i have thought about that aspect as well, but as an investor, i am not very emotional when it comes to such things

Overall, i think if one is to invest in this development for investment and rental. I think not bad since the rental yield compared to the cost is quite good.

However, for self-stay, I think not a wise choice since the condition of the development is quite bad. I mentioned about the car park lift lobby and common corridor.

Even if you spent a ton renov your unit to make it brand new and comfy, you will still get to use these common facilities, which in my view, is worse than many HDB blocks of the same age (pui chao nua).

It is a clear indication how gd the mgmt is...... :doh:

fooblackie
15-12-10, 16:38
lol i have thought about that aspect as well, but as an investor, i am not very emotional when it comes to such things

Is this the reason why you had a sharp turn from your earlier post about your reservations of this project? pure investor so hack-care. Just concerned whether can collect rent haha...

cant see your rationale now since earlier you were so against this development....

Post #32 - http://forums.condosingapore.com/showthread.php?t=9204&page=2

"Be extremely careful about buying Regent Heights. My friend just sold her regent heights 3 bedder and she had been living there for 10 years. The following are the list of problems:

1) the workmanship for the project is poor and she said that partition between certain walls are partition board and not even concrete.
2) the central heater is hidden and unreachable without hacking, a rather strange feature i thought (u need to confirm that)
3) The surrounding area is very poorly maintained and the lifts at the multi-storey carpark have been vandalised without being repaired for some time
4) Too many strange people walking in and out of the condo and you won't feel like you are living in a Singapore property
5) Go to every lift lobby and see the number of bicycles parked there and you will think twice about living there. The bicycles are messily strewn all over the place and many are rusty bicycles. We are not talking about a few bicycles here and there, we are talking about 30-40 bicycles at the lobbies, making the entire place look so cheapskate coz you see parapoondeks and mainlanders paddling to and from work everyday in their rusty 2 wheelers.
6) The last time I went there, the trees in the projects were not well-maintained as well. Sometimes dead leaves everywhere and not swept by the management.

My conclusion for this project....:doh: :doh: :doh: "

15-12-10, 16:49
scary ...reminds me of an agt tat super condemned dakota area when dakota residence was launched and later sing full of praises after he bot a unit at waterbank:doh:

15-12-10, 20:43
Don't think can walk to bt batok mrt station. maybe can try bukit gombak station.

i also bio the area, the only condo nearest to bukit batok mrt is the jade, regent heights being the 2nd nearest. guilin view and madeira near gombak mrt, which is not an ideal mrt compared to bukit batok mrt. you are probably right, finding the million dollar views in regent hts is a challenge and renovation is definitely needed. The lease for the land starts from 1995 but i think the condo TOP in 2000. i think rental for this project supported by a mixture of japanese, indians, koreans and chinese, quite a good mix i thought.

15-12-10, 21:35
i beg to differ coz a slight distance away from bt batok mrt is still better than being near to gombak mrt. if you compare northvale and regent grove, both projects are near the mrt but yew tee area is always deemed as the less popular part of chua chu kang.

when the foreign talent is hungry will he prefer to go downstairs to get food or walk 700m to buy food? ;) and when he don't have a car, will he prefer to walk 300m to the mrt or walk >700m to the mrt? ;)

for rental, convenience and accessibility is the key :2cents:

15-12-10, 22:30
my past comments about regent heights was made in april 2010 about buying for own stay. the pty market has also defied gravity. i do not deny the interior is poor, but on a purely investment point of view in this current market, i think buying a unit there to rent out is an option that is viable as the quantum is low. putting a 30% outlay for a 3 bedder in regent heights would not cause a ripple in my bank account so why not maximise on the returns? My other friend who sold a unit at regent heights at that time did try to insinuate me into not buying regent heights at all cost for own stay and i agree with her to a large extent. buying for rental is a different ball game and i have learnt not to get too emotional about it. If you can find me another 3 bedroom full condo (must be above 1100sf with no planters and bay windows) within 700m of the MRT and shopping mall and above 20th floor (with panoramic view) selling at 770k and can rent out at $3.5k per month, then i concede defeat.

Is this the reason why you had a sharp turn from your earlier post about your reservations of this project? pure investor so hack-care. Just concerned whether can collect rent haha...

cant see your rationale now since earlier you were so against this development....

Post #32 - http://forums.condosingapore.com/showthread.php?t=9204&page=2

"Be extremely careful about buying Regent Heights. My friend just sold her regent heights 3 bedder and she had been living there for 10 years. The following are the list of problems:

1) the workmanship for the project is poor and she said that partition between certain walls are partition board and not even concrete.
2) the central heater is hidden and unreachable without hacking, a rather strange feature i thought (u need to confirm that)
3) The surrounding area is very poorly maintained and the lifts at the multi-storey carpark have been vandalised without being repaired for some time
4) Too many strange people walking in and out of the condo and you won't feel like you are living in a Singapore property
5) Go to every lift lobby and see the number of bicycles parked there and you will think twice about living there. The bicycles are messily strewn all over the place and many are rusty bicycles. We are not talking about a few bicycles here and there, we are talking about 30-40 bicycles at the lobbies, making the entire place look so cheapskate coz you see parapoondeks and mainlanders paddling to and from work everyday in their rusty 2 wheelers.
6) The last time I went there, the trees in the projects were not well-maintained as well. Sometimes dead leaves everywhere and not swept by the management.

My conclusion for this project....:doh: :doh: :doh: "

pmet
15-12-10, 22:40
This project isn't near Bukit Batok MRT and the long slope makes walking up/down even more tiring on the muscles/heals. If anyone is interested in this project because of the "proximity to MRT", try walking in the hot sun and you will discover yourself sweating 3x as much as walking on flat grounds. Not to mention that it's unsafe to walk home from MRT at night, lest that you get robberted or raped.

One thing "good" about this project is that it has an "attached mosque" :doh:

Judging on the condition of the facilities/property, no... this project should be avoided

15-12-10, 22:40
dun tink can fetch 3.5k

more like 3k-3.2k

http://www.propertyguru.com.sg/listing/2761502/for-rent-regent-heights

15-12-10, 22:50
$3.2k rental for a $770k 3 bedder is 4.98% rental yield, almost 5%.

dun tink can fetch 3.5k

more like 3k-3.2k

http://www.propertyguru.com.sg/listing/2761502/for-rent-regent-heights

15-12-10, 22:58

1) the workmanship for the project is poor ......

My conclusion for this project....:doh: :doh: :doh: " Wow, list of problems so many..., must check carefully and ask insider b4 buying if still want to. Sometimes, when mkt price is a bargain, must look carefully, since 645 units, so many, surely there must be reason why mkt price not go up....and development has been around for some 10 yrs...if good, maybe in the last 10 yrs would have chance to go up..., seem that only BIG plus is if get high floor Tower A , got damn good view, but have to tahan with poor management council and list of common areas/facilities deficiencies if they are true...

15-12-10, 22:59

Usually East coast is talking about seaview rather than fireworks view..
Previously I have seen at a close view with sound of the fireworks and plane flying from left to right & right to left during national day when I stay in my previous very high flr unit at Pavilon 11 at Novena.. during F1 also can hear the sweet exos sound coming from Marina bay.. shiok!

15-12-10, 23:05
actually no such thing as a perfect development. even The Sail has its shortcomings and you would hear residents there complaining about the poor interior and the redundant pillar in the unit.

fooblackie
16-12-10, 07:55
actually no such thing as a perfect development. even The Sail has its shortcomings and you would hear residents there complaining about the poor interior and the redundant pillar in the unit.

Well, to each his own i guess.

I just cannot reconcile myself with your about-change from a full-turn from a no-no to a resounding yes-yes on this project. Notwithstanding you are putting yourself in the shoes of an investor versus a self-buy. Just the overwhelming amount of red flags by the responses in this thread tells you an interesting picture on this development. It is probably so cheap in bukit batok (2nd cheapest other than parkview - another lousy project) for definite reasons....

but since you have plenty of funds to play with, no harm trying and see if it is really a gd investment. :p

16-12-10, 13:30
If everyone thinks like you, cheap means cheap for a reason, then there is no such thing as undervalued properties already. I recall someone asked about Regent Hts vs Palm Gardens some time back when both were trading at the SAME PRICE. I recalled asking the person to go for Regent Height (if same PSF) but everyone had so much negative to say and the person ended up buying Palm Gardens. Looking at today's price performance, Regent Hts probably trumps Palm Gardens?

Remember - property market is NOT efficient. It is an illiquid market where imperfect information exist. I think individuals also have prejudices that prevent them from evaluating property investments objectively (e.g. only buy "prime" districts" even though yields and returns are not fantastic) - ie they let their emotions rule their buying decision. Therefore, there are always undervalued gems out there - provided you bother to look.

Well, to each his own i guess.

I just cannot reconcile myself with your about-change from a full-turn from a no-no to a resounding yes-yes on this project. Notwithstanding you are putting yourself in the shoes of an investor versus a self-buy. Just the overwhelming amount of red flags by the responses in this thread tells you an interesting picture on this development. It is probably so cheap in bukit batok (2nd cheapest other than parkview - another lousy project) for definite reasons....

but since you have plenty of funds to play with, no harm trying and see if it is really a gd investment. :p

16-12-10, 14:01
i agree, some people can make more money buying OCR properties compared to CCR, it all depends on making the right judgements most of the time. I used to like only central properties, but the changes in the market movements means we have to alter our perspectives. I used not to like Hillview, but I am having second thoughts about that area as I see the potential of some undervalued projects there as well. As for Jurong, I can argue till the cows come home that Caspian is a crap project becoz jurong sucks as a location, but if i had bought a 2 bedder there last year when i was at the showflat, I would be $250-300k richer now, so sometimes we do have to go where the market leads us. The rationale is actually quite simple, Bt Batok has all along been more expensive than Jurong (using HDB as a price indicator), Jurong has caught up in prices for private, but hillview and bt batok are still lagging behind somewhat. my advice is to buy into the latter two areas before the prices start to climb to a level it becomes not worth chasing. Another area to watch is bukit panjang and reason is obvious.

If everyone thinks like you, cheap means cheap for a reason, then there is no such thing as undervalued properties already. I recall someone asked about Regent Hts vs Palm Gardens some time back when both were trading at the SAME PRICE. I recalled asking the person to go for Regent Height (if same PSF) but everyone had so much negative to say and the person ended up buying Palm Gardens. Looking at today's price performance, Regent Hts probably trumps Palm Gardens?

Remember - property market is NOT efficient. It is an illiquid market where imperfect information exist. I think individuals also have prejudices that prevent them from evaluating property investments objectively (e.g. only buy "prime" districts" even though yields and returns are not fantastic) - ie they let their emotions rule their buying decision. Therefore, there are always undervalued gems out there - provided you bother to look.

fooblackie
16-12-10, 15:10

Price performance-wise, I admit R Hgts is doing slightly better than P Gardens. Partially because the units size of R hgts is typically smaller - ard 1000 sq ft for 2 bedder and 1163 sq ft for 3 bedder. P gardens is majority 1200 sq ft 3 bedders. There is actually not much difference between the transacted prices if you compare 3 bedder to 3 bedder price for R Hts and P gardens and you do away with < 50 sq ft diff.

It is 1000 sq ft units (2 bedders) of R hgts which are propping up the average PSF of the development. i believe R hgts has more of these 2 bedders than 3 bedders....

Guess why i overlooked R hgts is cos of self-stay. I dun feel sorry that I missed R hgts. You can give me another huge capital appreciation (undervalued gem whatever you call it), but at the day, it cannot solve the daily issues of staying there... maybe tahan then sell off for another move haha....

16-12-10, 19:57
i agree, some people can make more money buying OCR properties compared to CCR, it all depends on making the right judgements most of the time. I used to like only central properties, but the changes in the market movements means we have to alter our perspectives. I used not to like Hillview, but I am having second thoughts about that area as I see the potential of some undervalued projects there as well. As for Jurong, I can argue till the cows come home that Caspian is a crap project becoz jurong sucks as a location, but if i had bought a 2 bedder there last year when i was at the showflat, I would be $250-300k richer now, so sometimes we do have to go where the market leads us. The rationale is actually quite simple, Bt Batok has all along been more expensive than Jurong (using HDB as a price indicator), Jurong has caught up in prices for private, but hillview and bt batok are still lagging behind somewhat. my advice is to buy into the latter two areas before the prices start to climb to a level it becomes not worth chasing. Another area to watch is bukit panjang and reason is obvious.

I kind of agree with you cos I know these 3 places pretty well. To give more clue, Jurong East, Jurong West (not extension), Bt Batok and Bt Panjang are "immigrants" from Lim Chu Kang, Ah Ma Keng, Chua Chu Kang in the 80s. (their landed LH were acquired by Government for military use) They are not speculators. Most of them are staying there for as long as they could and thats is why the prices are depressed. Married children moved out but not the parents. So it is highly possible for the price to go up in these areas. :spliff: That is why I am still positive with OCR near amenities.

16-12-10, 20:06
I have not view any of them. Just like to comment that it will not consider these 2 areas for stay or investment.

I will go for warren instead - 2 MRT stations away.

For own stay, there are other cheaper options.

16-12-10, 22:30
warren does not have that good an orientation compared to northvale. at least northvale is not beside hdb. only thing warren can scream about is that it is 5-6 years newer than northvale, but if you buy a 2 bedder for rental yield at northvale and warren, northvale will stand as the winner hands down. between warren, northvale and regent heights, the rental yield for regent hts will beat both the two

I have not view any of them. Just like to comment that it will not consider these 2 areas for stay or investment.

I will go for warren instead - 2 MRT stations away.

For own stay, there are other cheaper options.

16-12-10, 22:36
Your tenants will die from smoke pollution at The Warren :D :D :D

16-12-10, 23:33
what smoke pollution? from smokers or chimneys?

Your tenants will die from smoke pollution at The Warren :D :D :D

17-12-10, 04:44
what smoke pollution? from smokers or chimneys?

Where do you think all the tonnes of buses at the Choa Chu Kang end originate/terminate? :D :D :D

fooblackie
17-12-10, 07:29
warren does not have that good an orientation compared to northvale. at least northvale is not beside hdb. only thing warren can scream about is that it is 5-6 years newer than northvale, but if you buy a 2 bedder for rental yield at northvale and warren, northvale will stand as the winner hands down. between warren, northvale and regent heights, the rental yield for regent hts will beat both the two

northvale is not bad... esp in terms of pricing. It should be pretty close to R hgts. Not sure of the floor layout but I suspect R Hgts may win easily cos that is its strongest pt.

i personally the premium units at Northvale are the unit facing the park and high floor. It may compensate the noise of heavy traffic at the KJE exit. The KJE exit is just at the doorstep of northvale.

If i am a tenant, i may choose Northvale as it is nearer to amenities and rent is comparable to R Hgts. Unless one love Bukit batok deep deep... which has its strong pts since it is nearer to town and bukit timah area...

fooblackie
17-12-10, 10:11
one more thing.. i was checking out the caveated rental rates at R hgts. Latest is $2.5k for 2 bedder (1023sqft)

Though units are asking around $3-$3.2K for 3 bedders (1163 sq ft) in propertyguru, I believe the actual rental recorded is closer to $2.8k.

Maybe one should check it out whether the market really moved > $3k?

17-12-10, 10:26
Regulators, Regent Heights is not within walking distance to Bukit Batok MRT station. If it's Bukit Batok and within walking distance to MRT station, the price wouldn't be like that. Check out The Jade - $800+psf. Bt Batok will always fetch a premium to CCK or even Jurong, all else being equal. Even looking at new launches, you can see developers price Bt Batok (e.g. Park Natura or Hillview Lanai or Hillvista) very differently from CCK. But when comparing one without MRT station vs another with MRT station, the premium will be diminished. Many of the Bt Batok condos (other than The Jade or Guilin View) are pretty far from MRT stations.

17-12-10, 11:46
if can wait... many many new projects in D23... many many...

These older condo's are value for money in terms of space.. other than that... you will need a car. That will solve some of the problems.

17-12-10, 12:51
i was taking a leisurely walk from regent heights to west mall for lunch when i visited my friend the other day. If not within walking distance, how did I get to my destination without much sweat? :D

Regulators, Regent Heights is not within walking distance to Bukit Batok MRT station. If it's Bukit Batok and within walking distance to MRT station, the price wouldn't be like that. Check out The Jade - $800+psf. Bt Batok will always fetch a premium to CCK or even Jurong, all else being equal. Even looking at new launches, you can see developers price Bt Batok (e.g. Park Natura or Hillview Lanai or Hillvista) very differently from CCK. But when comparing one without MRT station vs another with MRT station, the premium will be diminished. Many of the Bt Batok condos (other than The Jade or Guilin View) are pretty far from MRT stations.

17-12-10, 12:58
yes, you are right. the 2 bedders at regent heights are already asking $2.5k, some already asking close to $3k. For a 3 bedder to go below $3k is just not justified. With the huge pool of foreigners working in the west, there is no reason why a high floor 3 bedder with splendid views cannot be rented for more than $3k. 2 bedders at Northvale are now asking for more than $700k so it is not worth buying for rental when a 2 bedder there is renting out for merely $2.5k. regent heights still considered somewhat iconic in bukit batok but northvale is no way an iconic development by any standards. regent heights is also a year newer than northvale. this is just my comparison between the 2 projects.

one more thing.. i was checking out the caveated rental rates at R hgts. Latest is $2.5k for 2 bedder (1023sqft)

Though units are asking around $3-$3.2K for 3 bedders (1163 sq ft) in propertyguru, I believe the actual rental recorded is closer to $2.8k.

Maybe one should check it out whether the market really moved > $3k?

17-12-10, 13:08
look at those cluster houses at pavilion park situated along bukit batok road, with no mrt or amenities around, asking between 1.1k-1.2k psf. park natura also nowhere near mrt with just a shell petrol kiosk opposite, but it was launched at 9xxpsf to 1kpsf for one reason, it is surrounded by greenery and nature parks. i think those who buy into bt batok/ hillview/ bt timah condos are buying not just for mrt, but for the splendid views like bt timah, guilin and other greenery views surrounding the developments. just like those who pay 1.7k psf for silversea are only justified for paying such becoz of the seaview they get, not becoz of mrt. those who know bukit batok well will tell you the jade is a crap project becoz the units vibrate whenever an oncoming train hurtles by, units are sold with huge balconies and units are either facing the west or east sun, no north-south facing units.

17-12-10, 13:17
i was taking a leisurely walk from regent heights to west mall for lunch when i visited my friend the other day. If not within walking distance, how did I get to my destination without much sweat? :D

actually there is no need to convince anyone other than urself or future tenants that it is near enough

take a measure using this http://mapsof.net/distance-calculator/singapore
it is over 700m walking distance :o

fooblackie
17-12-10, 13:25

yes agreed with Regulators. I personally walked from R Hgts to Bukit Batok Mrt. 8 min flat, partly cos I am 6-footer with super long legs.

Jokes aside, this is indeed walkable distance in my opinion but do not expect to be as near to MRT like Jade, Guilin view, etc. Actually for me gd enough as I do not wish to stay exactly at the MRT. The bus interchange and above-ground MRT will kill me - sound and smell.

But pls take note, the walking journey to B Batok is unsheltered. There is hardly any amentities like coffeeshop or shops near R hgts. I think a couple of buses come near R hgts only. Pls verify personally.

17-12-10, 13:37
for coffeeshops and eateries, i think there are quite a number of coffeeshops along bukit batok east ave 3 and 5 which are very near regent heights.

by the way, i am meeting up with an agent to view a very high floor unit with fireworks and panoramic view going for just $7xxk. The unit is dirt cheap and very good for rental. will keep you guys updated if i manage to get the deal.

yes agreed with Regulators. I personally walked from R Hgts to Bukit Batok Mrt. 8 min flat, partly cos I am 6-footer with super long legs.

Jokes aside, this is indeed walkable distance in my opinion but do not expect to be as near to MRT like Jade, Guilin view, etc. Actually for me gd enough as I do not wish to stay exactly at the MRT. The bus interchange and above-ground MRT will kill me - sound and smell.

But pls take note, the walking journey to B Batok is unsheltered. There is hardly any amentities like coffeeshop or shops near R hgts. I think a couple of buses come near R hgts only. Pls verify personally.

17-12-10, 14:10
for coffeeshops and eateries, i think there are quite a number of coffeeshops along bukit batok east ave 3 and 5 which are very near regent heights.

by the way, i am meeting up with an agent to view a very high floor unit with fireworks and panoramic view going for just $7xxk. The unit is dirt cheap and very good for rental. will keep you guys updated if i manage to get the deal.
Your friend can feel the shockwave from the fireworks?
Perhaps a big LCD TV or projector is better for viewing fireworks.

actually want to ask, how much time does people spend viewing outside anyway?
does that have balcony, does any of you take breakfast and sip coffee and read the morning papers everyday?

17-12-10, 14:30

After you post this liao maybe they will ask higher cos they are also subscribed to this forum :p

fooblackie
17-12-10, 14:49

does that have balcony, does any of you take breakfast and sip coffee and read the morning papers everyday?

i have a very nice and spacious balcony before in the masterbed room. breathtaking view and nice breeze.

Number of times i had breakfast there - zero
number of times i bothered to step into the balacony - average once every 2 mths

But the viewers of our place were all so hung up over the balcony. I got one ang mo spend 15 min in the balcony .... @#$%^&&&** haha....

17-12-10, 14:51
when i get a unit there, will take some nice shots and post it here and you know what i mean. if you ever get a chance to go regent hts and see the view from a high floor unit, you will think twice about staying in a short project with living room facing a noisy pool or facing the kitchen of someone's unit in another block. the feeling is just different when you sit in a living room, looking out of the french window with nice greenery, bukit timah hill and the city skyline all at a glance. i do not think those used to living in low-rise projects can even visualise what i am saying here. just ask yourself this question, if a developer today were to acquire a piece of land and build a condo offering such views, don't you think the developer would charge you a high premium for that? million dollar views for new projects are hard to come by these days and trust me, if you can buy such a unit at a good bargain with amenities around, you should go for it before it is gone for good.

17-12-10, 14:53
i know the agent marketing this unit well so it doesnt matter whether he reads this or not. he is waiting for me to make an offer for the unit after i view it. :)

After you post this liao maybe they will ask higher cos they are also subscribed to this forum :p

17-12-10, 15:17
i know the agent marketing this unit well so it doesnt matter whether he reads this or not. he is waiting for me to make an offer for the unit after i view it. :)

he meant the owner...not the agt:p

17-12-10, 15:18
when i get a unit there, will take some nice shots and post it here and you know what i mean. if you ever get a chance to go regent hts and see the view from a high floor unit, you will think twice about staying in a short project with living room facing a noisy pool or facing the kitchen of someone's unit in another block. the feeling is just different when you sit in a living room, looking out of the french window with nice greenery, bukit timah hill and the city skyline all at a glance. i do not think those used to living in low-rise projects can even visualise what i am saying here. just ask yourself this question, if a developer today were to acquire a piece of land and build a condo offering such views, don't you think the developer would charge you a high premium for that? million dollar views for new projects are hard to come by these days and trust me, if you can buy such a unit at a good bargain with amenities around, you should go for it before it is gone for good.

D leedon offers such views too....but no one keen on tat project here

17-12-10, 15:22
look at what d leedon is asking compared to RH. Think you see my point here

D leedon offers such views too....but no one keen on tat project here

17-12-10, 15:29
VISITORS will be wowed by scenery no doubt - for perhaps 15 minutes :D but for those staying long, perhaps will be bored everyday.

Viewing fireworks once a year for 10minutes.
Viewing surroundings 1 minute a day
Walk up and down Regent Heights is an everyday affair, a tiring affair.

Not trying to pour cold water. But convenience is more important than view I guess for the common man.
Not talking about GCB, semi-D, detached and have car.

I stayed in shophouse. Each time checked into hotel in Singapore, Wow ---for 5 minutes.
Afterthat, never look out of window again :o

17-12-10, 15:55
VISITORS will be wowed by scenery no doubt - for perhaps 15 minutes :D but for those staying long, perhaps will be bored everyday.

Not trying to pour cold water. But convenience is more important than view I guess for the common man.

I stayed in shophouse. Each time checked into hotel in Singapore, Wow ---for 5 minutes.

Agree. I have checked into numerous hotels, some with fantastic balconies and high floor views. In the end? I now ask for rooms near to lift lobby and stay in hotels next to train stations and shopping malls. Convenience trumps everything else.

fooblackie
17-12-10, 16:03

I also seen one directly overlooking small guilin at 25 floor. Wow the view is amazing. In all honesty, I was tempted to consider....

17-12-10, 16:30
Agree. I have checked into numerous hotels, some with fantastic balconies and high floor views. In the end? I now ask for rooms near to lift lobby and stay in hotels next to train stations and shopping malls. Convenience trumps everything else.

Agree, I stay at 21st floor and rarely look out of my window...Most of the time I'm just chatting with family, watch TV, use my computer or sleep. The only view I'm considering now is this type of view to the beach http://www.montigoresorts.com/

17-12-10, 21:33
i think stack 6 of tower A, facing the city and bukit timah hill is the best. that stack also got direct pool view, have the best of everything in terms of view in my opinion. the national day fireworks view also unblocked. But for that stack, have to be above 20 floors to see the city and marina bay sands, anything lower will get blocked by hillview regency. some people like the guilin view, but i personally think that is second best option for RH as Guilin View definitely has better guilin view than RH.

I also seen one directly overlooking small guilin at 25 floor. Wow the view is amazing. In all honesty, I was tempted to consider....

17-12-10, 21:43
If the project inconvenient and nothing much to offer, it would not be having so many transactions this year already. Coffeeshops and eateries along east ave 3 and 5 just across the road, macdonald's, wet markets and more eateries at bt batok east CC vicinity, bt batok mrt and west mall within 8 min walk (not drive), bt batok nature park and guilin to enjoy evening stroll, bukit timah shopping belt just a 2 min drive away, good schools like pei hwa just 4 min drive away if no need to stop at traffic light, can hit PIE in 2 min by car etc etc, too many to name you.

17-12-10, 21:52
If the project inconvenient and nothing much to offer, it would not be having so many transactions this year already. Coffeeshops and eateries along east ave 3 and 5 just across the road, macdonald's, wet markets and more eateries at bt batok east CC vicinity, bt batok mrt and west mall within 8 min walk (not drive), bt batok nature park and guilin to enjoy evening stroll, bukit timah shopping belt just a 2 min drive away, good schools like pei hwa just 4 min drive away if no need to stop at traffic light, can hit PIE in 2 min by car etc etc, too many to name you.

hee hee i think if u like the project just buy it; there is no need to convince others :D btw for ur info, the transacted rentals for 2+S bedders for Madeira were $2700-$3200 similar to RH 3 bedders....

17-12-10, 21:54
at least you have a view to look at for relaxation when you need to. imagine staring out of your living room window at your neighbour's kitchen when the maid is frying fish when you need something to look at to soothe your mood. some people who buy a $1 mil condo facing pool on the ground floor got nothing to look at all weekend except kids screaming and splashing water in the pools. :doh:

Agree, I stay at 21st floor and rarely look out of my window...Most of the time I'm just chatting with family, watch TV, use my computer or sleep. The only view I'm considering now is this type of view to the beach http://www.montigoresorts.com/

18-12-10, 10:30
at least you have a view to look at for relaxation when you need to. imagine staring out of your living room window at your neighbour's kitchen when the maid is frying fish when you need something to look at to soothe your mood. some people who buy a $1 mil condo facing pool on the ground floor got nothing to look at all weekend except kids screaming and splashing water in the pools. :doh:
Regulator, can you ask your friend at RH how often he looked at the view?
or asked the owner of the flat that you are currently eyeing, how often he looked at the view.
Check the balcony whether there are chairs and small table for relaxing and enjoying the view? or is the balcony empty of them? or he use them to hang laundry?
How often do you yourself look out for view at your current residence?
Why need to look at window while maid is frying fish? Watch TV is a better view.

18-12-10, 11:37
To each his own. I actually do look out of my windows and take in the cool crisp morning scent, esp in the weekend mornings during breakfast with coffee, newspapers and my dog at my side (make sure don't get east facing units). My unit has superb views of greenery and it's quite therapeutic to see the trees swaying and there're also orioles and squirrels to be spotted. I think it also depends on what view? If it's just concrete or other house's rooftop views, then one may look out of the windows less. I know of some developments look out to a wall. Then there's really nothing to see.

18-12-10, 16:02
the wonderful part is don't have to go balcony to see the good views coz RH units on high floors have no balconies, planters and all that wasted space. the view can be seen everytime you are in the living room and bedroom so long as the curtains are drawn (which most people do). maybe can put it this way, you can't avoid seeing it even if you wanted to :)

Regulator, can you ask your friend at RH how often he looked at the view?
or asked the owner of the flat that you are currently eyeing, how often he looked at the view.
Check the balcony whether there are chairs and small table for relaxing and enjoying the view? or is the balcony empty of them? or he use them to hang laundry?
How often do you yourself look out for view at your current residence?
Why need to look at window while maid is frying fish? Watch TV is a better view.

18-12-10, 16:07
by the way guys, i have just placed option money for a super high floor 3 bedder with panoramic view for just 770k. it is cheap cheap cheap. my future tenants will all get to enjoy the splendid views from the unit.

18-12-10, 17:31
by the way guys, i have just placed option money for a super high floor 3 bedder with panoramic view for just 770k. it is cheap cheap cheap. my future tenants will all get to enjoy the splendid views from the unit.

wow...wats the size? 1163sqft? above 20th flr?

18-12-10, 18:07
Tat,s considered cheap, dun worry, i know some american school teacher do rent there. No worries, budget ang mo do exists.

18-12-10, 22:38
you are right, it is 1163sf built in with zero wasted space.

wow...wats the size? 1163sqft? above 20th flr?

18-12-10, 22:40
yeah it is higher than 24th floor but below 27th floor :)

18-12-10, 22:55
actually i am quite confident of finding a tenant in half a month. the take-up rate for this project is very good coz of the facilities and close proximity to nature. $3.2k is not much to ask for a 3 bedder as HDB EAs at Toh Guan are already being tenanted at $2.5k to $2.8k. $3.2k per month equates to 4.95% rental yield, can't complain when i buy this unit in such a market now

Tat,s considered cheap, dun worry, i know some american school teacher do rent there. No worries, budget ang mo do exists.

18-12-10, 23:01
take a look at this ad in propertyguru:

http://www.propertyguru.com.sg/listing/1179431/for-sale-regent-heights

I called up this agent and found out the unit was valued by UOB.

18-12-10, 23:03
you are right, it is 1163sf built in with zero wasted space.

hows the condition? if moved in cond, den very gd buy:cheers6:

18-12-10, 23:09
have to touch up a bit for the walls, change the aircon and some cleaning, but on a whole okay, nothing major to do up.

hows the condition? if moved in cond, den very gd buy:cheers6:

19-12-10, 21:49
Regulator, I think this is a good buy :) Congrats!

19-12-10, 23:00
Thanks :) . Got to start advertising for tenant in a month's time, got to go through the same routine again.

Regulator, I think this is a good buy :) Congrats!

fooblackie
20-12-10, 08:37

congrats! hope it will have many good returns!

20-12-10, 09:55

regulator comes to west subruban area, really surprising as from past records(quite some time ago), I thought you always advocate D12-D14 and slam those area that is suburban will have less area, I guess time tells and will change a person opinion...:)

20-12-10, 10:03

D22-23 all under one roof, suburban west...they are certain project prices have gone up(all prices have gone up in this area for all pte condos) but considered not very hot in these areas...certainly regent height is one of them... D22 -D25 my turf ha ha...

20-12-10, 10:09
The rental market is very strong. I just manage to renew a rental at a good rate with lots of interested parties - I was pleasantly surprised. I never knew Regent Hts can walk to Bt Batok MRT station. Will definitely be on a lookout for good bargains.

Thanks :) . Got to start advertising for tenant in a month's time, got to go through the same routine again.

20-12-10, 10:51
i buy for rental so no issue lah. Ask wildfalcon about the rental in the area and you understand why i buy there. i am now looking to park some money in a condo in the east (now that i bought west), but might have to wait till next year for things to cool a bit in D15.

regulator comes to west subruban area, really surprising as from past records(quite some time ago), I thought you always advocate D12-D14 and slam those area that is suburban will have less area, I guess time tells and will change a person opinion...:)

20-12-10, 10:59
I think u should also consider D14 - better rental yields.

20-12-10, 11:03

Rental in the mass mkt is good now! All the best.. "HUAT AH":cheers4:

20-12-10, 11:04
D14 Kembangan ok lah, but if you ask me to go near the chicken coop, i think better not, however near town it may be. guillemard is also out for me

I think u should also consider D14 - better rental yields.

20-12-10, 11:05
let's all huat together :cheers6:
Rental in the mass mkt is good now! All the best.. "HUAT AH":cheers4:

BB
20-12-10, 19:58

I have the same thought as you. Private properties at Bukit Batok & Hillview area are undervalued. Just look at the transacted price of Lakefront & Caspian (ave $800 - $1100 psf) two mrt stations away from upcoming 2nd CBD. Pte Properties at Bukit Batok & Hillview will have a lot more upside potential. For mass market properties, it is always better to buy near mrt. For this case, buy properties a few stations away from JE mrt like Bukit Batok mrt (Jade...), Bukit Gombak mrt (Madeira, Guilin View..) & Hillview mrt (Glendale Park..) should be good buy.

20-12-10, 21:54
The best is the one at 10 mile Junction and the mix development linking to it. It is the BIGGEST hub there.

The next best Hub is the one near to glendale.

The least preferred area is CCK and beyond.

20-12-10, 22:14
10 mile junction is by FEO, so won't be cheap. Mayspring spiked up too high already so no point. i used to contemplate linear but when i actually went in to see the poor facilities and the narrow elongated strip of land, i was put off by it. Hazel Park was a good buy last year, but no longer now. glendale is near future hillview mrt no doubt, but no space to develop amenities there. The plot of land fronting glendale is very big but that is just beside Mindef, so apart from having more residential development, nothing else.

The best is the one at 10 mile Junction and the mix development linking to it. It is the BIGGEST hub there.

21-12-10, 00:18

i actually prefer CCK....:p

21-12-10, 06:51
10 mile junction is by FEO, so won't be cheap. Mayspring spiked up too high already so no point. i used to contemplate linear but when i actually went in to see the poor facilities and the narrow elongated strip of land, i was put off by it. Hazel Park was a good buy last year, but no longer now. glendale is near future hillview mrt no doubt, but no space to develop amenities there. The plot of land fronting glendale is very big but that is just beside Mindef, so apart from having more residential development, nothing else.

Yes... FEO's project will lift up surrounding prices. Forget Equivalent Options.

Mayspring not a value buy...

Linear.... the price is Linear.. the shape is Linear... and the future price is Linear.. past price can definitey considered Linear if factor in inflation. Not as preferred. LH FH don't really matter there. What price to pay for 900 years more than 99 years. You can see a fine example there... no diff or even worst. Hazel Park goodie with a bit more room for fats.

http://www.ura.gov.sg/pr/graphics/2010/pr10-137a17.pdf

Yes, no big commercial there. In fact, you might have to watch out for any massive HDB project there. They were there in the older days. ... cleared them before MRT announcement and ... put in back after annoucement? Perhaps even a primary school might be placed there at the same time.

CCK... its linked by a LRT to Lot 1.. perhaps can tap a bit to the water flow there. Water is coming up from Bedok reserviour via DTL. Lease preferred to some doesnt equate to bad buys. :cool:

BB
21-12-10, 07:45

The development at 10 mile junction will be SOHO units. Cannot use CPF for the purchase & will need to pay additional 7% GST. Supply of SOHO units are limited, therefore should have upside potential. Preference will be to buy SOHO in the CBD but I am not sure how it will perform in the OCR.

21-12-10, 08:45
In case I sound like overselling the potential there, dun get me wrong, prices are from depressed to normal state. Which is at least 850 psf. It will be above 1000 for some units. The one I am really talking about is the mixed development linking to 10 mile and not 10 mile.

21-12-10, 08:54
The development at 10 mile junction will be SOHO units. Cannot use CPF for the purchase & will need to pay additional 7% GST. Supply of SOHO units are limited, therefore should have upside potential. Preference will be to buy SOHO in the CBD but I am not sure how it will perform in the OCR.

i tot an agt mentioned tat no GST and able to use CPF??

to me SOHO just a gimmick....its the same as any residential

21-12-10, 09:35
The rental market is very strong. I just manage to renew a rental at a good rate with lots of interested parties - I was pleasantly surprised. I never knew Regent Hts can walk to Bt Batok MRT station. Will definitely be on a lookout for good bargains.

if you got strong legs why not? but certainly not for me...if it is vERY near mrt, regent height will not be provideing free shuttle bus to mrt in the past as I know...

21-12-10, 09:39

regent height is by FEO too...if I remember correctly...

21-12-10, 09:40
To me Small Office Home Office makes no sense. Anybody can make their home an office these days so long as they are self-employed. Just need to seek permission to have their home registered as an office address.

i tot an agt mentioned tat no GST and able to use CPF??

to me SOHO just a gimmick....its the same as any residential

21-12-10, 09:42
i buy for rental so no issue lah. Ask wildfalcon about the rental in the area and you understand why i buy there. i am now looking to park some money in a condo in the east (now that i bought west), but might have to wait till next year for things to cool a bit in D15.

I have been in the D22-D25 even before this website exists...so dont slam any area in future so hard who know you might end up there...:D

and who know in future you may buy caspian or centris too? :D

21-12-10, 09:45
i knew bt batok estate even before there was any condominium along hillview. i used to live there when I was a very young kid.

I have been in the D22-D25 even before this website exists...

21-12-10, 09:47
i knew bt batok estate even before there was any condominium along hillview. i used to live there when I was a very young kid.

oh I see...very interesting...singapore is so small yeah..

21-12-10, 10:12
i remember my mother bringing me to a small coffeeshop under a HDB flat in hillview for dinner after her work and I would order hor fun all the time. back then, there were only a few HDB blocks along hillview. All the condos in bukit batok like The Jade, Madeira, Guilin View and West Mall etc were not even built yet.

oh I see...very interesting...singapore is so small yeah..

21-12-10, 15:35
Tat is wat knowing the area is about. Comfortable buy, bought below valuation is half the battle won. Milk it and sell only at valuation or above. Sure win formula.

21-12-10, 15:39
Tat is wat knowing the area is about. Comfortable buy, bought below valuation is half the battle won. Milk it and sell only at valuation or above. Sure win formula.
Nobody wondered why the owner is selling to Regulator? Is the owner a motivated seller? or prices has been low for so long, the owner decided to recover capital and invest elsewhere with more prospects for capital appreciation?

21-12-10, 18:59
Nobody wondered why the owner is selling to Regulator? Is the owner a motivated seller? or prices has been low for so long, the owner decided to recover capital and invest elsewhere with more prospects for capital appreciation?
Have.... And a very good question to ask. It depends on your wisdom regarding future upside. At this moment, its a value buy. Future upside is a bet. I will bet against it but i am not an expert.

21-12-10, 19:10
i remember my mother bringing me to a small coffeeshop under a HDB flat in hillview for dinner after her work and I would order hor fun all the time. back then, there were only a few HDB blocks along hillview. All the condos in bukit batok like The Jade, Madeira, Guilin View and West Mall etc were not even built yet.

i am staying in bkt batok now. where are u staying now ?

21-12-10, 19:13
i actually prefer CCK....:p

there are many ECs in CCK which is undervalued and huge in space..

BB
21-12-10, 19:38
there are many ECs in CCK which is undervalued and huge in space..

:tsk-tsk: :tsk-tsk: :tsk-tsk:

BB
21-12-10, 19:50
Look for Condo nearer to the future Jurong Lake District (2nd CBD of S'pore). One or two mrt stations away (Bukit Batok, Bukit Gombak, Chinese Garden, Lakeside, Clementi, Dover) and yet undervalued. Best will be condo at Jurong East mrt but currently none. Will need to wait for new launch. Car will be very expensive in line with the govt aim to encourage more to switch to public transport. Therefore, buy near mrt very impt for mass market development.

21-12-10, 22:34
did i see wrongly, wait for new launch at jurong east? How don't see how the new launch at jurong east can ever be a good buy. :doh:

Best will be condo at Jurong East mrt but currently none. Will need to wait for new launch.

gohsoonk
21-12-10, 23:37
It is true for most people (including me).

However, for those who are filthy rich, exclusivity is important. To them, they are always in the car (once they step out) and are chaffeured around. So convenience does not matter.

22-12-10, 00:53
did i see wrongly, wait for new launch at jurong east? How don't see how the new launch at jurong east can ever be a good buy. :doh:
Yeah, location not considered good, only better only but price highest? At around 1500 psf a good buy?

22-12-10, 12:48
anything above 900psf for jurong considered way off already, not to mention 1.5k psf. the other thing is the entire jurong lake district will take at least 15 years to be fully developed, by then nobody knows what the appeal will be like for the entire area as well. The take up for offices and retail space there might not be that fantastic in future as well, taking into consideration during that time, many malls will sprout up all over the place in singapore.

Yeah, location not considered good, only better only but price highest? At around 1500 psf a good buy?

22-12-10, 14:29
Good comments...distilled as follows, things will materialise...but the time frame is out of sync. i.e. the marketed prices and the materialised prices.

I do agree that Jurong projects should be some where in between caspian prices and lakefront residence. Safer to take the mid point between them as the Max to pay.

BB
22-12-10, 20:20
Govt agencies to relocate to Jurong East

SEVERAL government agencies will move out of the Central Area to new growth area in Jurong Gateway.

These include the Ministry of National Development and its statutory boards - the Agri-food and Veterinary Authority and Building and Construction Authority, which will move to Jurong Gateway by 2015.

The Ministry of the Environment and Water Resources and its statutory boards, Public Utilities Board and National Environment Agency, are also planning to move to Jurong then.

National Development Minister Mah Bow Tan said in Parliament on Monday that the relocation of government agencies will free up prime office space in the city to meet private sector demand.

'By 2015, the current supply of about 1 million sq m of office space in the pipeline should have been taken up. The relocation will be timely, and will help to free up more space for the private sector,' he said.

22-12-10, 21:57
i wonder why people are being sucked into something that is going to materialise more than a decade later, it makes no sense at all. Are those people who bought Caspian and lakefront really waiting and looking forward for the lakeside to be fully developed donkey years later? I think those who buy Caspian to flip are smart people, but those buying just to wait for the lakeside project to materialise are real goons. When the lakeside is fully developed 10 over years later, Caspian and Lakefront will be considered old condos and the lakeside appeal may have faded.

Good comments...distilled as follows, things will materialise...but the time frame is out of sync. i.e. the marketed prices and the materialised prices.

I do agree that Jurong projects should be some where in between caspian prices and lakefront residence. Safer to take the mid point between them as the Max to pay.

23-12-10, 07:45
First buyers, smarter, self stay or flip.
Second buyers, smart, self stay.
Third buyers...

McKinnon
26-12-10, 05:01
I'm looking west after renting out my Clearwater. 4.3% yield unfurnished with uwc full ops and mrt play. Your purchase of regent heights shows good acumen, I will check it out too :D

26-12-10, 20:05
now is a good time to snap up a unit at RH. It will just be a matter of time the prices there will hit $800psf, which is what some older condos near lakeside are asking. But I must say to buy a unit with good facing and at a low price in RH can be a challenge. When I came across my unit, I was the first buyer to view, first to offer and first to close before other buyers even got a chance to offer. It took me just 10 min to make that decision and give the cheque.

I'm looking west after renting out my Clearwater. 4.3% yield unfurnished with uwc full ops and mrt play. Your purchase of regent heights shows good acumen, I will check it out too :D

07-01-11, 15:36
http://www.propertyguru.com.sg/listing/2906684/for-sale-regent-heights

21-01-11, 22:18
I advertised my unit for sale just to test market and this was the result. A parapundek with budget of $800k to $1 mil said he is only eyeing at this condo in the area and wants to view my unit this sunday. I said that i am selling the unit at nothing less than $950k and still want to view this Sunday. I think maybe he just want to look see look see but if really can sell at 1 mil, it will be almost $200k net profit in less than 3 months lol. Come to think of it, even if the next buyer comes along and buy at $1 mil, the rental yield for him would still be 3.6%.

21-01-11, 23:21
I advertised my unit for sale just to test market and this was the result. A parapundek with budget of $800k to $1 mil said he is only eyeing at this condo in the area and wants to view my unit this sunday. I said that i am selling the unit at nothing less than $950k and still want to view this Sunday. I think maybe he just want to look see look see but if really can sell at 1 mil, it will be almost $200k net profit in less than 3 months lol. Come to think of it, even if the next buyer comes along and buy at $1 mil, the rental yield for him would still be 3.6%.

well done, good for you :cheers1: hope u can sell urs at 950k record breaking price :D then my unit will be worth at least 950k too :cheers1:

21-01-11, 23:27
you have a unit at RH too? i am comforted to know the unit can still sell so high, but i dont think i will sell it even for $950k. The rental seems more attractive. Would you bite for 950k?

well done, good for you :cheers1: hope u can sell urs at 950k record breaking price :D then my unit will be worth at least 950k too :cheers1:

21-01-11, 23:31
you have a unit at RH too? i am comforted to know the unit can still sell so high, but i dont think i will sell it even for $950k. The rental seems more attractive. Would you bite for 950k?

can do a open house and let us take a look? :cool: Mind posting some pictures on this million dollar view?

21-01-11, 23:39
this is the view from the unit

can do a open house and let us take a look? :cool: Mind posting some pictures on this million dollar view?

21-01-11, 23:40

I'm in the neighboring development :D my yield also around 5% :D

21-01-11, 23:43
Guilin view?

I'm in the neighboring development :D my yield also around 5% :D

22-01-11, 00:08
good view indeed.... worth a million.

22-01-11, 00:21
hillview regency acts like 3 candles sticks at night when units have their lights on, lighting up the view of bukit timah hill and the surrounding views at night. the unit is overseeing hillview regency, so it gets a clear city view with unobstructed fireworks view. The unit is also directly in front of the pool, offering unblocked pool view when you look down from the living room. As mentioned before, it took me just a short time to offer the cheque. :)

good view indeed.... worth a million.

22-01-11, 10:18

Wow, very nice views:spliff:

22-01-11, 13:18
This is proper greenery view. I'm always amused when units facing trees is considered greenery view.

22-01-11, 13:29

thanks. can post Sands view?

aristos
22-01-11, 13:32
I take the premium bus that passes through this estate and I realised there are SO many people from this one nationality staying in this condo.

22-01-11, 14:22
Sorry the picture effect not very clear but if you see the row of buildings on the right at the horizon, the three towers of mbs is there. From the unit, the view is clear, but in this photograph a bit blurry.this is also due to the auto focus coz I was using digital camera
thanks. can post Sands view?

22-01-11, 14:24
Not just one nationality but many. I see a lot of koreans and of course the indians as well. For some reason indians love bukit batok, don't know why
I take the premium bus that passes through this estate and I realised there are SO many people from this one nationality staying in this condo.

22-01-11, 15:02
I can see.. Nice...

22-01-11, 19:57
regulators, with just one pic, looks like regent heights price is going to push up by you single-handedly. Existing owners must be very pleased if they see this.

actually are there many condos with this kind of views as well? :ashamed1:

22-01-11, 20:22
Unfortunately very few units that face pool, have city view and bukit timah hill in view. The back having units have the slanted guilin view which some people like. Towers b and c have unblocked city view as well, but they do not have pool and bukit timah view, so units with three views quite rare.
regulators, with just one pic, looks like regent heights price is going to push up by you single-handedly. Existing owners must be very pleased if they see this.

actually are there many condos with this kind of views as well? :ashamed1:

22-01-11, 20:27
Not just one nationality but many. I see a lot of koreans and of course the indians as well. For some reason indians love bukit batok, don't know why

Indians prefer east coast what...they love the sea...the reason why you are seeing them is because their numbers are growing (high percentage of PRs are indians) - in fact I read somewhere in a few years time they will account for 25% of our population...

Our most popular dish may end up being Indian (same as what happened in UK)

22-01-11, 21:21
i think UK swarmed by pakis as well. indian curry has become a staple in UK and there are lots of takeaways selling indian curry and supermarket shelves have all kinds of jarred curries (which ranges from mild to medium to spicy). Of course after we try their curry, we will be thinking "wtf...what kind of puke is that?"

Indians prefer east coast what...they love the sea...the reason why you are seeing them is because their numbers are growing (high percentage of PRs are indians) - in fact I read somewhere in a few years time they will account for 25% of our population...

Our most popular dish may end up being Indian (same as what happened in UK)

meteoriz
28-01-11, 20:56
Went house-hunting and i quite like RH especially the good layout. After many viewing, i find this to be one of the most value for money in this district in terms of psf. One of my top consideration so far...Btw anyone can kindly share when was the last time RH was repainted? Normally after how many years will the mc repaint an estate? Thanks!

28-01-11, 22:29
At least the building is not white so it still looks quite alright. I think the maintenance work for this project done in phases. I have yet to check with the mc when they will repaint the building, but I guess it should be soon. Which stack and tower are you eyeing? Tower A is the best coz it is sitting on a hill.

meteoriz
29-01-11, 08:29
I like the pool facing stack at any of the three towers, those facing the inside of estate....guess everyone has their own preference...I prefer staying at low to mid floor. Think already used to it.

29-01-11, 09:42
Have you found a unit to get? If you haven't, I can recommend you good buys when I come across any. :)
I like the pool facing stack at any of the three towers, those facing the inside of estate....guess everyone has their own preference...I prefer staying at low to mid floor. Think already used to it.

30-01-11, 16:24
Have you found a unit to get? If you haven't, I can recommend you good buys when I come across any. :)

Hey, can you pm me as well. Not yr unit right?

30-01-11, 19:16
Are you sure you want Regent Heights? I believe The Jade is a better choice IMHO in Bukit Batok.

30-01-11, 19:51
Sure, will pm you when I come across some bargain.

30-01-11, 21:50
You sure Regent Heights is best value for money? What about not best value for time since need to walk 15-20mins to Bukit Batok MRT station?
You can see this thread for more details on the cons (mostly): http://forums.condosingapore.com/showthread.php?t=9204

Below is the comments from a fellow forumer:

Be extremely careful about buying Regent Heights. My friend just sold her regent heights 3 bedder and she had been living there for 10 years. The following are the list of problems:

My conclusion for this project....:doh: :doh: :doh:

I think The Jade is a better choice since 50m from Bukit Batok MRT station, just beside West Mall and NTUC Fairprice, etc, and near bus interchange for direct bus to many places if don't want to take MRT.

Went house-hunting and i quite like RH especially the good layout. After many viewing, i find this to be one of the most value for money in this district in terms of psf. One of my top consideration so far...Btw anyone can kindly share when was the last time RH was repainted? Normally after how many years will the mc repaint an estate? Thanks!

30-01-11, 22:05
nobody cares what a mongrel like you thinks :tongue3:

You sure Regent Heights is best value for money? What about not best value for time since need to walk 15-20mins to Bukit Batok MRT station?
You can see this thread for more details on the cons (mostly): http://forums.condosingapore.com/showthread.php?t=9204

I think The Jade is a better choice since 50m from Bukit Batok MRT station, just beside West Mall and NTUC Fairprice, etc, and near bus interchange for direct bus to many places if don't want to take MRT.

30-01-11, 22:15
Oh you mean you are the "mongrel" which nobody cares what you thinks since below is what you actually said in this forum on 27 April 2010 in this thread (http://forums.condosingapore.com/showthread.php?t=9204&page=2&highlight=Regent+height):

[27 April 2010]

Be extremely careful about buying Regent Heights. My friend just sold her regent heights 3 bedder and she had been living there for 10 years. The following are the list of problems:

nobody cares what a mongrel like you thinks :tongue3:

30-01-11, 22:30
Teddy, I don't blame you for being crass, coz you are after all only a mongrel. you don't know how to read the entire thread before passing comments with your canine mouth? Oh, I almost forgot you earned the title of stupid dog coz you professed in your other thread you were incapable of learning. I bought Regent Heights for investment, not for own stay and places and people's opinions do change with time. If you can't even understand this, maybe you should downgrade from being a dog to a pig :doh:

my past comments about regent heights was made in april 2010 about buying for own stay. the pty market has also defied gravity. i do not deny the interior is poor, but on a purely investment point of view in this current market, i think buying a unit there to rent out is an option that is viable as the quantum is low. putting a 30% outlay for a 3 bedder in regent heights would not cause a ripple in my bank account so why not maximise on the returns? My other friend who sold a unit at regent heights at that time did try to insinuate me into not buying regent heights at all cost for own stay and i agree with her to a large extent. buying for rental is a different ball game and i have learnt not to get too emotional about it. If you can find me another 3 bedroom full condo (must be above 1100sf with no planters and bay windows) within 700m of the MRT and shopping mall and above 20th floor (with panoramic view) selling at 770k and can rent out at $3.5k per month, then i concede defeat.

30-01-11, 22:42
When did I say Regent Heights is not good for investment in previous post? Which eyes of you saw that I had wrote so? I am just trying to raise some facts about Regent Heights, all of those I quoted so far are provided by you previously. Are you saying all the below facts you mentioned have changed?

You got Parkinson is it to forgot them so quickly?
There are more facts provided by other forumers as well. You need me to cut and paste here to remind you? Anyway, my experience and personal opinion is that whether buying for investment or own-stay, the criteria will be the same. If I think a condo is so bad that I don't even want to live in it, do I expect my tenant to pay me a high rental to live in the condo that I regarded as terrible and don't even wish to live in? I don't think and assume the tenant is so stupid or brain-dead to do that! :doh:

Teddy, I don't blame you for being crass, coz you are after all only a mongrel. you don't know how to read the entire thread before passing comments with your canine mouth? Oh, I almost forgot you earned the title of stupid dog coz you professed in your other thread you were incapable of learning. I bought Regent Heights for investment, not for own stay and places and people's opinions do change with time. If you can't even understand this, maybe you should downgrade from being a dog to a pig :doh:

mygeemeel
30-01-11, 22:58
Wahahahah. I like this thread. :D

Personally, I wouldnt get RH bcos it is more than 10 years old and prices haven't moved much when market improved. With new cooling measures, prices are expected to fall and there are no fundamentals to support current RH prices.

If we say property cycle is about 10 years, then RH would be more than 20 years old. RH is leasehold 99 years, not brand new, not freehold. Expect a lot of price downward pressure.

This thread sure gives potential buyers a lot of smoke. :)

30-01-11, 23:19
You got the point! What kind of investment value is it? :banghead:
Can't bear to see people being slaughter with someone keep boasting about making >100k on paper profit aft weeks of buying... how great is the rental yield :doh:

Personally, I wouldnt get RH bcos it is more than 10 years old and prices haven't moved much when market improved. With new cooling measures, prices are expected to fall and there are no fundamentals to support current RH prices.

If we say property cycle is about 10 years, then RH would be more than 20 years old. RH is leasehold 99 years, not brand new, not freehold. Expect a lot of price downward pressure.

31-01-11, 09:37
Perhaps u should see how the prices have moved in the past 3 years? Property cycle are no longer 10 years, i'm afraid. How old r you? Move with the times.

31-01-11, 10:49
The incapable of learning mongrel teddy kenna lambasted in other thread and with nothing better to do now come and attack an OCR thread. I think you must be jealous that the value of my unit appreciated more than 100k almost immediately after i bought. Are you jealous that my unit has a rental yield of 4.9% and has a view much better than any condo you own?

We all understand that you are jealous that OCR properties have outdone your condos in CCR based on your attacks on OCR properties in multiple threads. Teddy >>> :banghead: :tongue3: :tongue3: :tongue3: :tongue3:

You got the point! What kind of investment value is it? :banghead:
Can't bear to see people being slaughter with someone keep boasting about making >100k on paper profit aft weeks of buying... how great is the rental yield :doh:

mygeemeel
31-01-11, 11:23
Perhaps u should see how the prices have moved in the past 3 years? Property cycle are no longer 10 years, i'm afraid. How old r you? Move with the times.

Hmmm... Is it a problem I am young and can afford 2 fully paid up cars and a Caspian? :D

You aren't property professor, even if you are, you are not always correct. :)

31-01-11, 11:31
Be nicer to all, lots of flaming lately.
No one can predict the future, just a educated guess. Caspian good profit, n project for rental and self stay. First buyer and units away from track. A new cycling track nearby. Keep going up too....

31-01-11, 12:21
mygeelmeel is young doesn't mean he is not able to predict the market well and his words are not to be taken seriously? If age is a factor, I am so old now and why you still didn't listen to my advice? :p

As I said, such knowledge cannot be learnt from book, and comes from intelligence and accumulated experience.

Ok, people who don't believe will have to look back at my previous postings on a few examples:

1) Residence@Evelyn (R@E):
In 2009 to early 2010, I said I believe this R@E condo's price performance will lack Park Infinia (PI) going forwards as I believe PI is better relative to R@E. At that time, R@E is always transacted at much higher price than PI. Imagine R@E was once ever transacted at about $2063 psf in 2007 and people are saying that I made such "silly" "mad" etc comments to pitch against PI whose highest price is only $1700 psf in 2007?

Verdict now in Jan 2011: Many of the units at PI are transacted at higher prices than R@E. R@E price's growth basically lags PI by a lot.
Where is Desmonddd who was fuming mad with me for saying the above and he said he went ahead to bought a unit in R@E (instead of PI)?

2) Newton Suites (NS):
In 2009 to early 2010, I said Newton Suites despite so-called award winning architecture design etc is not worth the value transacted relative to nearby condos. At that time, Newton Suites are generally trading at much higher price than PI. Imagine NS was once ever transacted at about $2000 psf in 2007 and people are saying that I made such "silly" "mad" etc comments to pitch against PI whose highest price is only $1700 psf in 2007?

Verdict now in Jan 2011: NS price has been stuck in the mud. PI has overtaken in price relative to NS.
Where is Orange and nav14 who were fuming mad with me over my over above statement?

May be you want to show what credentials you have established in this forum first (just like me) in order to scold somebody else as "young" and ask them to "Move with the times"? A person can be older in age but more "amateur" in experience and knowledge etc compared to one who is younger in age. :cheers1:

Oh yes, I think Regulators should be the one to show his credentials first (rather than you) since he has been going around like a doggie and yet barking at others as though everybody else who opposes him is wrong and he is always right! :tongue3:
Ops! I remembered he got Parkinson and why always right? He can't even get his facts right and can't even remember what he said before in April 2010? :banghead:

31-01-11, 13:07
tiam tiam lah, uneducated mongrel barking here and there. People talk about investment here and you only talk about buying ccr freehold long term for capital appreciation, dont know what sai you know about investment. people's investment horizon got short, mid and long term and nobody say that buying a 99yr LH property in ocr for rental have to hold forever right? making a value buy in the ocr below current market prices is a good investment especially when you have high rental yield to back it up. you don't have to go round trying to flex around your ccr knowledge. People can make millions from OCR properties, likewise they can do it for CCR. Different strokes for different folks, call yourself an investor but dont understand this simple logic. if you are older than most of us, then please don't come here and malu yourself even more, i think kingkong who is only in his 20s has more substanstance in the things he say than you :doh:

mygeelmeel is young doesn't mean he is not able to predict the market well and his words are not to be taken seriously? If age is a factor, I am so old now and why you still didn't listen to my advice? :p

As I said, such knowledge cannot be learnt from book, and comes from intelligence and accumulated experience.

Ok, people who don't believe will have to look back at my previous postings on a few examples:

1) Residence@Evelyn (R@E):
In 2009 to early 2010, I said I believe this R@E condo's price performance will lack Park Infinia (PI)going forwards as I believe PI is better relative to R@E. At that time, R@E is always transacted at much higher price than PI. Imagine R@E was once ever transacted at about $2063 psf in 2007 and people are saying that I made such "silly" "mad" etc comments to pitch against PI whose highest price is only $1700 psf in 2007?

Verdict now in Jan 2011: Many of the units at PI are transacted at higher prices than R@E. R@E price's growth basically lags PI by a lot.
Where is Desmonddd who was fuming mad with me for saying the above and he said he went ahead to bought a unit in R@E (instead of PI)?

2) Newton Suites (NS):
In 2009 to early 2010, I said Newton Suites despite so-called award winning architecture design etc is not worth the value transacted relative to nearby condos. At that time, Newton Suites are generally trading at much higher price than PI. Imagine NS was once ever transacted at about $2000 psf in 2007 and people are saying that I made such "silly" "mad" etc comments to pitch against PI whose highest price is only $1700 psf in 2007?

Verdict now in Jan 2011: NS price has been stuck in the mud. PI has overtaken in price relative to NS.
Where is Orange and nav14 who were fuming mad with me over my over above statement?

May be you want to show what credentials you have established in this forum first (just like me) in order to scold somebody else as "young" and ask them to "Move with the times"? A person can be older in age but more "amateur" in experience and knowledge etc compared to one who is younger in age. :cheers1:

Oh yes, I think Regulators should be the one to show his credentials first (rather than you) since he has been going around like a doggie and yet barking at others as though everybody else who opposes him is wrong and he is always right! :tongue3:
Ops! I remembered he got Parkinson and why always right? He can't even get his facts right and can't even remember what he said before in April 2010? :banghead:

31-01-11, 16:01
Again, talking without substance and as usual, baseless personal attacks. Never mind, at my age I have learnt to be magnanimous and I won't put this in heart (will be forgotten in a few hours). Nevertheless, You talk as though so experience and professional investor, why not cite some credentials and accurate predictions you make in this forum previously for others to believe you and want to learn from you? :p

tiam tiam lah, uneducated mongrel barking here and there. People talk about investment here and you only talk about buying ccr freehold long term for capital appreciation, dont know what sai you know about investment. people's investment horizon got short, mid and long term and nobody say that buying a 99yr LH property in ocr for rental have to hold forever right? making a value buy in the ocr below current market prices is a good investment especially when you have high rental yield to back it up. you don't have to go round trying to flex around your ccr knowledge. People can make millions from OCR properties, likewise they can do it for CCR. Different strokes for different folks, call yourself an investor but dont understand this simple logic. if you are older than most of us, then please don't come here and malu yourself even more, i think kingkong who is only in his 20s has more substanstance in the things he say than you :doh:

31-01-11, 16:24
....... i think kingkong who is only in his 20s has more substanstance in the things he say than you :doh:

haha, now that you mention Kingkong, Kingkong's sayings is styled very much like sagely sayings, very much open to personal interpretation.
Like contradictatory statements -"strike while the iron is hot" and "think before you leap" kind of statements.

31-01-11, 16:29
in short, we must be careful but not overly paranoid.
haha, now that you mention Kingkong, Kingkong's sayings is styled very much like sagely sayings, very much open to personal interpretation.
Like contradictatory statements -"strike while the iron is hot" and "think before you leap" kind of statements.

31-01-11, 16:41
Me?
It's called motherhood statements.
Buy when u can afford it.
Sell when u can't keep it

Never wrong.... But individual mistakes do happen. Get it?

BB
31-01-11, 18:32
For mass market condo, it is better to buy near MRT. For RH, I will not consider it unless it is FH.

31-01-11, 19:00
Ops, missed out this post making personal attacks on me again. I think many people will see the bright sky after my reply to you. Let me respond to you point by point (except the personal attack part):

- I have been critical of OCR, not just today. What is new? Everybody here know that except you? Strange! :rolleyes:

- Your unit appreciate more than $100k so what? That is on paper and you haven't even considered stamp duties, agent fee etc when you sell. Give you $100k profit is also pathetic for property investment. When investing in properties, I look at $x,xxx,000 profit, not $xxx,000 profit. $xxx,000 profit is worth the effort mah? What is there to jealous about? :p

- 4.9% yield for Regent Height with depreciating value? Ha ha ha! Please look at facts - Your Regent Heights median $psf is $2.44 psf pm. Assuming your unit is 1163 sqft, costs $770k as you claimed, that is still only $2837 pm or 4.4% yield, bearing in mind that this is a depreciating asset where few people want after more than 30 years old as difficult to get cheap loans from banks. Great deal? I let the forumers judge for themselves. :D

- Great view worth $millions? Why I don't see anybody pay $millions for Regent Height? Your great view you only valued at $770k? That really tells us a lot about the greatness! Either the seller must be very stupid and an idiot to sell you at such a "cheap" price or the reverse about the buyer is true. :tongue3:

The incapable of learning mongrel teddy kenna lambasted in other thread and with nothing better to do now come and attack an OCR thread. I think you must be jealous that the value of my unit appreciated more than 100k almost immediately after i bought. Are you jealous that my unit has a rental yield of 4.9% and has a view much better than any condo you own?

We all understand that you are jealous that OCR properties have outdone your condos in CCR based on your attacks on OCR properties in multiple threads. Teddy >>> :banghead: :tongue3: :tongue3: :tongue3: :tongue3:

31-01-11, 19:02
here the view from my unit @ Madeira :)

31-01-11, 19:09
Very nice.... Like living in the mountains

Uncle Teddy is very rich. Go for GCB lah.. Really a few millions or xx millions and no need CCR. But CCR ones are much better.

Blue chip, penny stocks all good when u can make. Bloody loses on bluechips during recession. Beware.

mygeemeel
31-01-11, 19:18
Very nice.... Like living in the mountains

Uncle Teddy is very rich. Go for GCB lah.. Really a few millions or xx millions and no need CCR. But CCR ones...

Kingkong, be gracious and don't add oil to fire. your remarks very buay steady.

31-01-11, 19:18
Are you sure you want Regent Heights? I believe The Jade is a better choice IMHO in Bukit Batok.

Jade's price went up too high. I am looking at value buy.

mygeemeel
31-01-11, 19:22
Jade's price went up too high. I am looking at value buy.

I check out The Jade too. Very breezy and good view if high floors. Gotta avoid low floors which overlooks the tracks. You should check out the units with huge patios.

Do you know if people on MRT platform could see the swimming pool?

31-01-11, 19:23
if regulators and teddy meet eye to eye in person, dont think they will utter a word. They are actually having fun here....and they might be good friends there after. haha

mygeemeel
31-01-11, 19:25
if regulators and teddy meet eye to eye in person, dont think they will utter a word. They are actually having fun here....and they might be good friends there after. haha

Sekali they are husband and wife! :scared-1:

31-01-11, 19:26
Actually I was quite surprised to see someone with such a strong negative impression of a project picking up one 6 months later. I believe despite all its bad impressions, he has faith in its investment value. Right or wrong, no one knows for sure now. We will see a few yrs down the road.

31-01-11, 19:31
I check out The Jade too. Very breezy and good view if high floors. Gotta avoid low floors which overlooks the tracks. You should check out the units with huge patios.

Do you know if people on MRT platform could see the swimming pool?

If can see swimming pool think it is a lousy design......my current unit near MRT cant see a thing.

31-01-11, 19:39

you are saying kingkong talks like an analyst in layman's clothing :)

31-01-11, 19:40
:hell-hath-no-fury: :hell-hath-no-fury: :hell-hath-no-fury: :hell-hath-no-fury:

mygeemeel
31-01-11, 19:49
If can see swimming pool think it is a lousy design......my current unit near MRT cant see a thing.

So I didn't buy it eventually. Worried my boss see me suntanning instead of working. Lagi paiseh to show so many people I swim in my 'teh kor'. :ashamed1:

31-01-11, 20:37
crazy mongrel barking here and there again. nobody said 100k is a lot in terms of paper gain and I did not say I will be selling it anyway. My capital appreciation was immediate from the time I bought so I am happy with my investment. Last transacted for a 3 bedr is 820k, and that is what 2 bedr units are asking in RH now, which is why I am confident of my investment. If I rent my rh unit out for the next twenty years at a modest 3.3k rental, total rental collected is 792k, which is roughly the cost of my unit which includes miscellaneous expenses. Even if I sell my rh unit at 770k then, that entire amount would be my profit. Break it down into yearly roi, I am getting 25% roi on just 155k of my initial investment. If you ask me how a30yr old condo can fetch so high, we got real examples, just look at the psf of sherwood towers now and that will be a rough gauge, but I expect my unit to sell higher than 770k due to inflation. Think I mentioned this investment view in the forum and you keep harping on the same old nonsense of yours. Yes, my unit has a million dollar view, you jealous is it? I know all your units can only dream of having such nice views. Fyi only a very small handful of units in rh have direct pol, city and bt timah view, so even if you want to buy, I think nobody want to sell you. Since you like facts so much, there is one fact you have established for yourself, you are a mongrel that only knows how to bark with nothing else to offer
Ops, missed out this post making personal attacks on me again. I think many people will see the bright sky after my reply to you. Let me respond to you point by point (except the personal attack part):

- I have been critical of OCR, not just today. What is new? Everybody here know that except you? Strange! :rolleyes:

- Your unit appreciate more than $100k so what? That is on paper and you haven't even considered stamp duties, agent fee etc when you sell. Give you $100k profit is also pathetic for property investment. When investing in properties, I look at $x,xxx,000 profit, not $xxx,000 profit. $xxx,000 profit is worth the effort mah? What is there to jealous about? :p

- 4.9% yield for Regent Height with depreciating value? Ha ha ha! Please look at facts - Your Regent Heights median $psf is $2.44 psf pm. Assuming your unit is 1163 sqft, costs $770k as you claimed, that is still only $2837 pm or 4.4% yield, bearing in mind that this is a depreciating asset where few people want after more than 30 years old as difficult to get cheap loans from banks. Great deal? I let the forumers judge for themselves. :D

- Great view worth $millions? Why I don't see anybody pay $millions for Regent Height? Your great view you only valued at $770k? That really tells us a lot about the greatness! Either the seller must be very stupid and an idiot to sell you at such a "cheap" price or the reverse about the buyer is true. :tongue3:

31-01-11, 20:50
Duplicated.

31-01-11, 20:51
Ok, excuse me...

Have a herbal drink instead...:cheers6:

31-01-11, 21:39
Without selling, what immediate profit are you talking about? :doh:

Rent out $3.3k? :rolleyes: Pls check URA rental Data first!

Don't know what you are talking about profit after 20 years which by then RH already 35+ years old, except that I know that buyers will have to pay 100% cash (LTV 0%!) to buy from you since banks not willing to lend to <70 years property. :scared-2:

You unit has $million view? Why nobody vote so with their money? :tongue3:

crazy mongrel barking here and there again. nobody said 100k is a lot in terms of paper gain and I did not say I will be selling it anyway. My capital appreciation was immediate from the time I bought so I am happy with my investment. Last transacted for a 3 bedr is 820k, and that is what 2 bedr units are asking in RH now, which is why I am confident of my investment. If I rent my rh unit out for the next twenty years at a modest 3.3k rental, total rental collected is 792k, which is roughly the cost of my unit which includes miscellaneous expenses. Even if I sell my rh unit at 770k then, that entire amount would be my profit. Break it down into yearly roi, I am getting 25% roi on just 155k of my initial investment. If you ask me how a30yr old condo can fetch so high, we got real examples, just look at the psf of sherwood towers now and that will be a rough gauge, but I expect my unit to sell higher than 770k due to inflation. Think I mentioned this investment view in the forum and you keep harping on the same old nonsense of yours. Yes, my unit has a million dollar view, you jealous is it? I know all your units can only dream of having such nice views. Fyi only a very small handful of units in rh have direct pol, city and bt timah view, so even if you want to buy, I think nobody want to sell you. Since you like facts so much, there is one fact you have established for yourself, you are a mongrel that only knows how to bark with nothing else to offer

31-01-11, 22:03

Don't know what you are talking about profit after 20 years which by then RH already 35+ years old, except that I know that buyers will have to pay 100% cash (LTV 0%!) to buy from you since banks not willing to lend to <70 years property. :scared-2:

Teddy, no need go all out lah. Relax man. if one buys at 100k below valuation/market price i think not bad lah. immediately sell will have some profit even if its small. $$$ in pocket is worth 2 in the bush. I m sure regulator still went ahead even though he personally make sure everyone know RH jia luk must be only because of 1 reason. CHEAP + He no need to stay there. Let others enjoy the jia luk enviroment.

I m sure he also wanna sell n make profit b4 the boat sinks right. just that MBT is not helping, jam the road to riches.

Take it easy teddy.

31-01-11, 22:12
So I didn't buy it eventually. Worried my boss see me suntanning instead of working. Lagi paiseh to show so many people I swim in my 'teh kor'. :ashamed1:
yr boss dont take mrt I suppose but ah nei yr young students starring at u like an alien instead.:scared-5:

31-01-11, 22:29
Thanks, I always take life easy, that is why I don't resort to non-sense personal attacks that has nothing to do with the issues we are debating. I just love to debate! You know how to always win in a debate? Always attack the weak points where what has been argued by your opponent do not tally with facts! :D

Teddy, no need go all out lah. Relax man. if one buys at 100k below valuation/market price i think not bad lah. immediately sell will have some profit even if its small. $$$ in pocket is worth 2 in the bush. I m sure regulator still went ahead even though he personally make sure everyone know RH jia luk must be only because of 1 reason. CHEAP + He no need to stay there. Let others enjoy the jia luk enviroment.

I m sure he also wanna sell n make profit b4 the boat sinks right. just that MBT is not helping, jam the road to riches.

Take it easy teddy.

31-01-11, 22:35
Seow kow barking away again. You go and check what the rental for 3+1 in RH first before coming coming here to embarrass yourself. BTW rental is going up, even an HDB EA can fetch close to $3k so i don't know whether you really know the market or not :doh: . Who ever said that I was going to rent the full 20 years, I was illustrating the the returns using 20 years as an example. I think you still do not seem to understand what rental investment is, maybe you can talk to someone who can give you a clearer picture coz it is very tiring explaining this to a novice. I think some newbies in this forum can easily grasp simple concepts better than you. Before you criticise that the view from my RH unit is worth nothing, you may want to show us what view you have from your doggie house :tongue3:

31-01-11, 22:53
My place got no view but why people willing to pay 8x that of your Regent Heights unit? You has the answer? :p
Your a 3+1 but 1163 sqft unit? Wow! 16 years ago they already started building MM 3+1 bedders? Room so small cozy for doggie? :eek:

Seow kow barking away again. You go and check what the rental for 3+1 in RH first before coming coming here to embarrass yourself. BTW rental is going up, even an HDB EA can fetch close to $3k so i don't know whether you really know the market or not :doh: . Who ever said that I was going to rent the full 20 years, I was illustrating the the returns using 20 years as an example. I think you still do not seem to understand what rental investment is, maybe you can talk to someone who can give you a clearer picture coz it is very tiring explaining this to a novice. I think some newbies in this forum can easily grasp simple concepts better than you. Before you criticise that the view from my RH unit is worth nothing, you may want to show us what view you have from your doggie house :tongue3:

31-01-11, 22:55
i mentioned many times that i was buying to rent out and that seow kow kept ranting and raving i don't know for what? i used to have some negative opinions about the project, but those stated facts could change if the MC step in to do something. I bought into RH purely for investment and the best part is i can sell anytime now and still make money. I bought an undervalued property which is my gain and somebody's loss, isn't that how the property game works? That mongrel seems buay song that people make money in OCR properties and my two other properties in CCR and RCR does not even give me that fantastic a rental yield compared to RH or my other HDB flat.

Take it easy teddy.

31-01-11, 23:07
I think you deserve to be called a mongrel by everyone in this forum. You are implying that everyone in this forum who lives in a unit 1163sf or smaller is a doggie? Then are you telling me that 80% of the Singapore population and those who live in small apartments below 1000sf at The Sail and other D9, 10 and 11 condos are doggies?

Fellow forumers, you now see what kind of shallow person this mongrel called teddybear is. You can mark his words below.

My place got no view but why people willing to pay 8x that of your Regent Heights unit? You has the answer? :p
Your a 3+1 but 1163 sqft unit? Wow! 16 years ago they already started building MM 3+1 bedders? Room so small cozy for doggie? :eek:

31-01-11, 23:15
i mentioned many times that i was buying to rent out and that seow kow kept ranting and raving i don't know for what? i used to have some negative opinions about the project, but those stated facts could change if the MC step in to do something. I bought into RH purely for investment and the best part is i can sell anytime now and still make money. I bought an undervalued property which is my gain and somebody's loss, isn't that how the property game works? That mongrel seems buay song that people make money in OCR properties and my two other properties in CCR and RCR does not even give me that fantastic a rental yield compared to RH or my other HDB flat.

Well it all depends on entry price I guess. Even if RH is not a nice place to stay RELATIVELY ,if its 100-200k cheaper due to firesale it make sense financially even if it's upside potential is relatively lesser.

But Teddy did bring out an impt point on LH house that u might wanna take note. Depreciation of asset. Think this is apparent if property age hits 20plus. U might be having positive cash flow now(relative to entry price) but have to be careful n offload be4 the property turns too old n loses it value. On the depreciation point I agree with Teddy.

Nothing beats rental yield on HDB.

31-01-11, 23:17

Hahah, that's hitting below the belt. Way too low

mygeemeel
31-01-11, 23:41
Well it all depends on entry price I guess. Even if RH is not a nice place to stay RELATIVELY ,if its 100-200k cheaper due to firesale it make sense financially even if it's upside potential is relatively lesser.

But Teddy did bring out an impt point on LH house that u might wanna take note. Depreciation of asset. Think this is apparent if property age hits 20plus. U might be having positive cash flow now(relative to entry price) but have to be careful n offload be4 the property turns too old n loses it value. On the depreciation point I agree with Teddy.

There are different types of people using this forum. Some to find important info to buy or sell units. Some use it to promote their development so that it gets good response and then prices increase. Once increase, they would quickly sell their unit. Some condemn the development so that no buying activities would happen, then the buyers would buy at a lower price. The cycle continues.

One most important thing to note... Many buyers and sellers don't use this forum. If you realized, we only see the same nicks here. :2cents:

31-01-11, 23:42
How do you explain 30 year old HDB flats in Dover and Holland going for $700-800k? What makes a 30 yr old 99yr HDB flat (with no potential of en bloc gain) more attractive to buy compared to a 10 yr old private property (with potential of en bloc gain)? I do not think paying 770k for a 3+1 is expensive by any standards so even if it is 10 yr old, i think it is still a good buy. If everyone has the same thinking that all 99yr LH properties are to be thrown out 20 yr from TOP by owners, then I think in the next 10-20 years, wouldnt there be a mass euphoria of people offloading 20 yr old condos with drastic fall in prices? Do you think that will happen? We are simply a new nation with a lot of things still not tried and tested. I do not rule out the possibility of govt granting an extension of leases, but i think most owners will simply go for the simpler option of en bloc.

01-02-11, 07:01
You don't have to twist my words to suit your convenience and slandering. I repeat again for all to see:

Your a 3+1 but 1163 sqft unit? Wow! 16 years ago they already started building MM 3+1 bedders? Room so small cozy for doggie?

Above is what I said. I just can't see how 1163 sqft can squeeze in liveable 3+1 rooms on top of liveable living, dinning rooms, 2-3 bathrooms and a kitchen and air-con ledges. Won't the rooms be too small? This is no difference from my previous opinion I stated previously that to me, a 1BR or studio <600 sqft is an MM, a 2BR of <800 sqft is an MM, a 3BR <1000 sqft is an MM. Similarly, a 3+1 or 4BR <1200 sqft is also an MM. As such, regardless of where the apartment unit is (even if in D9-D11, and D1 like The Sail), if they are so small relative to the number of Bedrooms, they are just MM, built for doggies and Mickeys.

I think you deserve to be called a mongrel by everyone in this forum. You are implying that everyone in this forum who lives in a unit 1163sf or smaller is a doggie? Then are you telling me that 80% of the Singapore population and those who live in small apartments below 1000sf at The Sail and other D9, 10 and 11 condos are doggies?

Fellow forumers, you now see what kind of shallow person this mongrel called teddybear is. You can mark his words below.

My place got no view but why people willing to pay 8x that of your Regent Heights unit? You has the answer?
Your a 3+1 but 1163 sqft unit? Wow! 16 years ago they already started building MM 3+1 bedders? Room so small cozy for doggie?

01-02-11, 08:45
Teddy, be a gentleman, please name the CCR that u own and the bedders for comparism. If not willing to share, then dun pick on regent heights.

We can then see a direct comparism between the two projects.

01-02-11, 09:03
I don't condemn a condo hoping to buy cheap and then sing song about how impressive of the same condo hoping to talk up the condo:rolleyes: .

If I see someone is trying to ask people to buy lousy condo, I will step in to raise the awareness of this lousy condo..:D You traced back and you will get the whole picture. Can't bear to see people lose money due to someone with selfish self-interest.

If people still want to bite this condo, then they take their own risk lor.:scared-2:

Teddy, be a gentleman, please name the CCR that u own and the bedders for comparism. If not willing to share, then dun pick on regent heights.

01-02-11, 09:07

Fair statement. Maybe one of yr ccr investment unit.

01-02-11, 09:11
i dun know where regent height is

as far as RH is concerned, i dun support either Teddy or Regulator on this

but i am curious how R can switched from NOT liking it ..came out with a list of WHY SHUD NOT BUY ..

and then became an owner recently himself ...

yes he may have bought it 100k cheaper ...maybe he has insider info ...

but still abit hard , at least for me, to go from NOT LIKING IT, to becoming an investor of it ...

hope he can share with us more on this aspect...

otherwise lets all move on ... away from this issue ... kind of disheartening to see 2 very seasoned members engaging in verbal war ...

01-02-11, 09:12

i am not a supporter of regulator or teddybear. but for this i support teddybear. cannot imagine an opinion of a project can be so contradicting by a same person within a short period of time.
1st - it is a CMI project
2nd - bought for investment
how can a CMI project be bought for investment?
if want to buy RH for investment, why want to condemn RH in the 1st place? hidden agenda?

patricia
01-02-11, 09:22

Nothing beats rental yield on HDB.As i said before, sometime teddy do make valid comment. Howeve, laterly he is very desperate and keep sprouting nonsense and attack those who stay in HDB and OCR (i.e. relatively "poor") and sing stupid song about his CCR. He use his dog eye to look at people and such scum should not exist at all. :tongue3: :tongue3:

01-02-11, 09:25
There are different types of people using this forum. Some to find important info to buy or sell units. Some use it to promote their development so that it gets good response and then prices increase. Once increase, they would quickly sell their unit. Some condemn the development so that no buying activities would happen, then the buyers would buy at a lower price. The cycle continues.

One most important thing to note... Many buyers and sellers don't use this forum. If you realized, we only see the same nicks here. :2cents:

Hi, Mygeemeel, I think alot of people from different fields/trade read the forum..they may lurk around just extacting info..
My view is the info obtained here is just for reference and may add some value to your personal knowledge or info you already have for certain project..I think a useful way to use the forum is to get the info and than check out the place personally and try to verify the claims stated in the forum by oneself... instead of following blindly what has been stated especially the good points claimed maybe the opposite in the actual case...an abode sometimes is a very personal matter...

:2cents:

01-02-11, 09:25
Fair statement. Maybe one of yr ccr investment unit.

me curious also, Teddy since Regulators shared his investment unit you should share yours mah. Level the playing field...

01-02-11, 09:35
How to have level play? How to compare my CCR condo with his OCR condo? g:rolleyes:

me curious also, Teddy since Regulators shared his investment unit you should share yours mah. Level the playing field...

01-02-11, 09:37
Strongly support the idea of tracing back the thread and see for yourself!:p

Hi, Mygeemeel, I think alot of people from different fields/trade read the forum..they may lurk around just extacting info..
My view is the info obtained here is just for reference and may add some value to your personal knowledge or info you already have for certain project..I think a useful way to use the forum is to get the info and than check out the place personally and try to verify the claims stated in the forum by oneself... instead of following blindly what has been stated especially the good points claimed maybe the opposite in the actual case...an abode sometimes is a very personal matter...

01-02-11, 09:43

but i am curious how R can switched from NOT liking it ..came out with a list of WHY SHUD NOT BUY ..

but still abit hard , at least for me, to go from NOT LIKING IT, to becoming an investor of it ...

otherwise lets all move on ... away from this issue ... kind of disheartening to see 2 very seasoned members engaging in verbal war ...

Hi, cristicism can be given but not to the extreme so as to give oneself some leeway in time to come when you need it....my 2 cent view:2cents:(My experience tells as I owned a place eventually where I did not not like it initially...

01-02-11, 09:59
ppty is subjected to pricing....facing MSCP selling at half price....how about tat? spott18 selling 30% discount...i will grab a few too even though i say its for mickeys....haha
anyway Happy CNY! HUATX3!:cheers1:

01-02-11, 10:05
When I visited rh in april, I did see certain things I didn't like about the development, but I later deviated from personal feelings and took a gamble on the place for its investment potential. If I buy for rental, I consider a development with a lot of foreigners a plus point coz it speaks a lot about the desirability of the place for rental purposes. To be honest, I still do not like the bicycles parked at the ground floor certain maintenance issues, but the investment value far outweighs all these trivial things. 770k for a 3 bedr in RH is seriously not a lot and having to buy an undervalued property was my main motivation (owner trusted this unscrupulous agent too much). At least I care to share about my investment with fellow forumers and my investment views on this project, but sime crazy mongrel has been doing nothing but barking at all the nasty things against RH and any 99yr LH OCR property.

01-02-11, 10:07
Would you buy RH at his so-called market rate of 900K now for his 3BD 1163ft and 820K for 2BD?:p But he still asked/PMed people to buy!

Here goes the intention. Condemn the condo first to buy cheap and then talk up the condo and call people to buy subsequently...:simmering:

IF OCR condo is >600psf now, I also sapo lah..:p

ppty is subjected to pricing....facing MSCP selling at half price....how about tat? spott18 selling 30% discount...i will grab a few too even though i say its for mickeys....haha
anyway Happy CNY! HUATX3!:cheers1:

01-02-11, 10:12
Would you buy RH at his so-called market rate of 900K now for his 3BD 1163ft and 820K for 2BD?:p But he still asked/PMed people to buy

in the first plc, i dare not buy >10yo 99LH....unless cheap cheap....gd time to shop older 99LH when during recession....gd example...international plaza...drop alot in 2009....

but tat just me....i wana buy with a peace of mind:D ......

sidetrack: i will nvr consider a 2nd hand car more den 3yrs old(out of warranty) too

mygeemeel
01-02-11, 10:17
in the first plc, i dare not buy >10yo 99LH....unless cheap cheap....gd time to shop older 99LH when during recession....gd example...international plaza...drop alot in 2009....

sidetrack: i will nvr consider a 2nd hand car more den 3yrs old(out of warranty) too

Agree with you totally. :D

01-02-11, 10:21

sidetrack: i will nvr consider a 2nd hand car more den 3yrs old(out of warranty) too Guess for each one, the level of "peace of mind" is different. For me, I am also like you. Peace of mind, quite important, don't want to buy something and worry once i let go the cheque.

01-02-11, 10:23

good view to share..:)

mygeemeel
01-02-11, 10:24
Would you buy RH at his so-called market rate of 900K now for his 3BD 1163ft and 820K for 2BD?:p But he still asked/PMed people to buy!

Here goes the intention. Condemn the condo first to buy cheap and then talk up the condo and call people to buy subsequently...:simmering:

Yeah, limited upside now and coming months. Gonna be tougher when project gets older since already 10 year old now.

01-02-11, 10:26
How can you lie about things you don't know. I told a fellow forumer if I come across a good buy, I will pm the person, I did not pm the person to buy a 3 bedr at 900k out a 2 bedr at 820k, what a big liar you are :doh:

01-02-11, 10:35
You said that the price has gone up to more than 100k for your 3BD, so 900K and 820K for 2BD now. Am I right?

Then, you sing song about how impressive is this condo and make buying call..

You PMed people to other if you come across good buy!
You don't deny this! and now try to twist and turn and said I am a liar...:simmering:

How can you lie about things you don't know. I told a fellow forumer if I come across a good buy, I will pm the person, I did not pm the person to buy a 3 bedr at 900k out a 2 bedr at 820k, what a big liar you are :doh:

01-02-11, 10:42
Don't talk about upside lah.. you have plenty rooms for downsides if you buy RH..:D

Yeah, limited upside now and coming months. Gonna be tougher when project gets older since already 10 year old now.

01-02-11, 10:53
This is a personal choice, no right or wrong. I was looking at international plaza in 09 too. LH can be gd too.

Anyway, things do change, opinions do change and interest do change. Can't hold people's past words forever. There is a fine line between good and bad, right or wrong. Just take your own bet with your hard earned money. The winner smiles and the loser cries.

Happy new year everyone... Must fhuat and not fight!

01-02-11, 11:03
you are one big liar 100%. I have never PMed anyone about any unit in RH i dare say. I did say the price has gone up and i only told a fellow forumer that i would PM the person if there are any good buys, so don't say things that are not true and admit that you are wrong if you still call yourself a male.

You said that the price has gone up to more than 100k for your 3BD, so 900K and 820K for 2BD now. Am I right?

Then, you sing song about how impressive is this condo and make buying call..

You PMed people to other if you come across good buy!
You don't deny this! and now try to twist and turn and said I am a liar...:simmering:

01-02-11, 11:04
If you buy RH at the price of 900K now, then your yield will then be 3.8%. This make very poor investment with already 16 year old LH. :banghead:

4.5 to 5% is good if it is Freehold but now for the leasehold:tsk-tsk: because you have to consider the LH depreciation...

01-02-11, 11:08
Below was my last post to meteoriz. I think teddy, your credibility has gone a notch lower from being a crazy mongrel to a crazy lying mongrel. :doh:

01-02-11, 11:13
You had already admitted that you did say the price has gone up and agreeing with what I quoted. Knowing that the price had gone up so high, how can you still say that it is a good buy and still want to recommend people for the unit you think it is good!:rolleyes:
Here goes your motive and credibility!!:doh:

you are one big liar 100%. I have never PMed anyone about any unit in RH i dare say. I did say the price has gone up and i only told a fellow forumer that i would PM the person if there are any good buys, so don't say things that are not true and admit that you are wrong if you still call yourself a male.

Below was my last post to meteoriz. I think teddy, your credibility has gone a notch lower from being a crazy mongrel to a crazy lying mongrel. :doh:

01-02-11, 11:17
i said i will recommend good buys to the forumer when one comes along. not every unit is sold at a high, some units like mine is sold below valuation.

If you got nothing constructive to say, just tiam tiam lah. crazy lying mongrel barking here and there :doh:

You had already admitted that you did say the price has gone up and agreeing with what I quoted. Knowing that the price had gone up so high, how can you still say that it is a good buy and still want to pm people for the unit you think it is good!:rolleyes:

Here goes your motive and credibility!!:doh:

01-02-11, 11:18
Let's share what you think it is a good buy? Is it 850K or 900K? Dare not to mention? or even higher?

Even at your purchased price, I don't think it is a good bargain for the reasons that I have mentioned many times...:tongue3:

i said i will recommend good buys to the forumer when one comes along. not every unit is sold at a high, some units like mine is sold below valuation.

If you got nothing constructive to say, just tiam tiam lah. crazy lying mongrel barking here and there :doh:

01-02-11, 11:28
meteoriz said she likes the development herself and i simply offered my help as and when i come across a good unit to buy, that is all. I have not PMed her or interacted with her about anything since.

Now that people know you lie just to get arguments your way, you have lost all credibility. :tongue3: :tongue3: :tongue3:

Let's share what you think it is a good buy? Is it 850K or 900K? Dare not to mention? or even higher?

Even at your purchased price, I don't think it is a good bargain for the reasons that I have mentioned many times...:tongue3:

01-02-11, 12:13
Why you so eager to help her find one ? Your motive is very obvious:tongue3:

meteoriz said she likes the development herself and i simply offered my help as and when i come across a good unit to buy, that is all. I have not PMed her or interacted with her about anything since.

Now that people know you lie just to get arguments your way, you have lost all credibility. :tongue3: :tongue3: :tongue3:

mygeemeel
01-02-11, 12:34
I thought everyone points finger at peterng for being an agent. Is Regulator a property agent? I better siam, wait kena scorched. :D

01-02-11, 12:42

How to have level play? How to compare my CCR condo with his OCR condo? g:rolleyes:

Hi Teddy, with so many wonderful inputs on OCR, in particular using RH as a reference case, mind to share your insight on CCR potential using reference from either one of your investments? PI perhaps as I noticed you have been very supportive for this project?

BTW, I think you are right that it's hard to compare durian vs apple.;)
However, durian can also sell much cheaper than apple on some occasion.

mygeemeel
01-02-11, 12:45
Simi si OCR, CCR?

01-02-11, 12:50
Simi si OCR, CCR?

Please see below for knowledge:

Area with color : CCR
Area within the boundary of black line : RCR
Area outside the boundary of black line : OCR

BB
01-02-11, 13:03
here the view from my unit @ Madeira :)

Wow! Great view from your Madeira unit. Madeira seem to be a better buy as it is very near mrt & amenities.

01-02-11, 13:26
ok

to Regulator ...

your explanation is fair ,...to me ....

to Teddy ..

would 1163 sqft LH, over 10yrs Heritage view at Dover rise .. 3+1 bedroom ... at 1.188 mio a good deal ?

considering it is D5 ... near Buona vista stn .. but a good 10 mins walk ...

its very close to the city too

how would you fair it ?

mygeemeel
01-02-11, 15:09
Wow! Great view from your Madeira unit. Madeira seem to be a better buy as it is very near mrt & amenities.

wow... people already jumping up and down complimenting his RH has million $$ view. You came in and talk about Madeira. Sure kena knock upside down. :)

01-02-11, 16:51
U asked the wrong person lah. I'm the strong CCR supporter:D

My experience tell me that CCR return is always better if u buy for ccr investment grade for long term. No matter how well the return that people claimed for OCR but still can't beat CCR return over long term.:p

ok

to Regulator ...

your explanation is fair ,...to me ....

to Teddy ..

would 1163 sqft LH, over 10yrs Heritage view at Dover rise .. 3+1 bedroom ... at 1.188 mio a good deal ?

considering it is D5 ... near Buona vista stn .. but a good 10 mins walk ...

its very close to the city too

how would you fair it ?