View Full Version : Does "4" command discounts

Ultroman
29-01-11, 12:50

I'm jus wandering is it prevalent that unit number with 4 shd be cheaper then similar units within the same development. E.g #04, #10-14.

Thanks all

29-01-11, 13:18
Unit on level 4, 14, 24, 34, 44 etc plus 13....

Some developer only lah.

29-01-11, 14:51
LKY says it's RUBBISH to believe numbers will bring about change of luck (either good or bad).

But he did say for investment, he would still consider the prevailing belief and how it would affect the prices.

If I did remember his news article correctly.

Though... if it's Angmoh or Indonesians buying, the 4 does not have any effect.

29-01-11, 15:02
Believe one need to consult feng shui master, can't say 4 surely bad, depend on many other factors, owner's characters,etc

http://www.geomancy.net/resources/theories/fs-numbers.htm

29-01-11, 15:48
I know ang mo dont like to stay on 13th floor and some overseas project skip floor 13th (true??) and chinese will try to avoid 14.....hehe

But to me dont care lah....any number also can... but with 888 would be better at least most people feel good about it. esp 28.

Piglet
29-01-11, 15:53
When i bought my first apartment, the unit below mine #04-04, was sold around 10k more than mine becasue in dunno hokkien or teochew
04-04 meant " Gong Xi Gong Xi"!

29-01-11, 16:03
When i bought my first apartment, the unit below mine #04-04, was sold around 10k more than mine becasue in dunno hokkien or teochew
04-04 meant " Gong Xi Gong Xi"!

not "knock and die" x 2 ?.. the agent must be damn good in his sales pitch....

29-01-11, 16:18
Sold my last unit with address #05-44... Do not have problem selling it. Unit sold within 2 weeks after first meeting with agent. Further more price broke historical record high as well..

Seem like no. 4 has little impact for new generation.

29-01-11, 16:19
Sold my last unit with address #05-44... Do not have problem selling it. Unit sold within 2 weeks after first meeting with agent. Further more price broke historical record high as well..

Seem like no. 4 has little impact for new generation.

which district?

29-01-11, 16:21
which district?

District 21, y?

29-01-11, 16:22
which district?
District 14

Ultroman
29-01-11, 17:59
I jus thot new generation wun mind "4" in fact got many car plate number 4, 44, 444 etc.

But jus wonder which will have a worse effect: "4" in flr number (e.g #04, #14) or in the unit (eg -04, -14)

29-01-11, 18:00
Doesnt matter. If 14 floor unit selling at huge discount just grab. I know of some investors buy stack 4 with good attributes n sig discount n end up selling at record prices for the development. Also, for some, 4 is lucky number. In many 5 story developments, 4 floor fetch some of the best prices.
D15 postal code read 44xxxx rite? Still popular.

29-01-11, 19:20
But given a choice between #xx-04 and #xx-08, at the same price and orientation. The obvious choice is still #xx-08.

Why is it that #08 and #18 units are almost always sold out faster than #04 and #14 units?

There is definitely a premium. The question is how much:beats-me-man:

29-01-11, 19:21
Haha, ah q would write his unit as xx14-yy

29-01-11, 22:20
Developer sales has difference in price becasue so many units up for grabs. But when it comes to resale when some developments only 1-2 units on sale at any point in time, the price differential is no longer significant - that is what i have observed. Of course I believe there will always be superstitious people who prefer the number "8". It's individual preference. If for own stay, you wouldn't need to care if you're comfortable with yourself. For investments, you would be surprised some units with number 4 are still selling at market, i.e. zero discount in the resale market.

But given a choice between #xx-04 and #xx-08, at the same price and orientation. The obvious choice is still #xx-08.

Why is it that #08 and #18 units are almost always sold out faster than #04 and #14 units?

There is definitely a premium. The question is how much:beats-me-man:

penguin
29-01-11, 23:27
I sold my unit #04-04 at a historical high few mths back. Also no problems getting tenants. D19 (serangoon central area). I think depends on the person. I remember when I was trying to sell my first house (no 4s at all), a family was keen, then on their 2nd viewing, they brought ther fengshui master along. In the end, fsm also said they cannot buy my hse.

30-01-11, 09:00
http://forums.condosingapore.com/showpost.php?p=127656&postcount=304

Took so long to sell and yet offered at lowest, still no takers. Part of it is due to number 4. Other parts are facing etc.

30-01-11, 09:03
MBR's #44-04 was recently sold by 1st owner at a massive discount to market price, but of course owner also make liao. Buyer is indonesian.

30-01-11, 09:11
I have seen cars with 4444, 444, 44, n 4 driven by non Chinese. Dun bother lah,

For ang mo, 4 is A and a ACE! Must cook up story lah.

12-74 want u to go die
13-14 one alive one dead
11-44 hungry hungry, die die
04-08 no die no huat

Etc.... No offense to unit owners ok?

30-01-11, 09:36
Duh.

44如意。
44顺利。
44哈哈!

30-01-11, 09:59
District 21, y?
hoho sell and buy back?

30-01-11, 10:21
I have seen cars with 4444, 444, 44, n 4 driven by non Chinese. Dun bother lah,

For ang mo, 4 is A and a ACE! Must cook up story lah.

12-74 want u to go die
13-14 one alive one dead
11-44 hungry hungry, die die
04-08 no die no huat

Etc.... No offense to unit owners ok?

#01-24, starving to death...

30-01-11, 10:22
hoho sell and buy back?

keep bullets and waiting for next round of Great Home sales cycle...:cool:

30-01-11, 15:51
keep bullets and waiting for next round of Great Home sales cycle...:cool:
base on report today, should be around 2014 period. Now go house hunting and bio good units.

31-01-11, 10:35
According to Malaysian Feng Shui Master,

http://www.henryfong.com/questions-8.htm
Feng Shui Questions

Does the house number influence it's Feng Shui?

The answer is no.
However in areas where there is a significant Chinese community a 'bad' number can affect the resale value of the house!
In some Chinese dialect the number 4 sounds like die and many avoid it like the plague. Numbers that combine with 4 can sound just as bad or worse. For example 14 sounds like 'sure die' while 24 sounds like 'easy to die'!
To 'rectify' the 'bad' number some house owners 'change' their house numbers. For example, number 4 becomes 3A and 14 becomes 13A.
The number 8 on the other hand is highly revered. It sound like prosperity. Combinations like 18 and 68 sounds like 'surely prosper' and 'on the road to prosperity' respectively and is highly demanded.

31-01-11, 11:00
base on report today, should be around 2014 period. Now go house hunting and bio good units.

Agreed that it will take a few years for cycle to come.
Had bio quite a few units and will cheong in when time/price are right.

Meanwhile, wait long long for the cycle to start, rest and counting $$$ now...:sleep:

31-01-11, 13:52
According to Malaysian Feng Shui Master,

http://www.henryfong.com/questions-8.htm
Feng Shui Questions

Does the house number influence it's Feng Shui?

The answer is no.
However in areas where there is a significant Chinese community a 'bad' number can affect the resale value of the house!
In some Chinese dialect the number 4 sounds like die and many avoid it like the plague. Numbers that combine with 4 can sound just as bad or worse. For example 14 sounds like 'sure die' while 24 sounds like 'easy to die'!
To 'rectify' the 'bad' number some house owners 'change' their house numbers. For example, number 4 becomes 3A and 14 becomes 13A.
The number 8 on the other hand is highly revered. It sound like prosperity. Combinations like 18 and 68 sounds like 'surely prosper' and 'on the road to prosperity' respectively and is highly demanded.

I cannot help but comment... If you guys know my district,block,level,unit number and carplate number, I think i can be named King of 4sssss... :) See after 4 years whether the number 4 really cannot make it - Let's make it 2014 then.

31-01-11, 13:57
I cannot help but comment... If you guys know my district,block,level,unit number and carplate number, I think i can be named King of 4sssss... :) See after 4 years whether the number 4 really cannot make it - Let's make it 2014 then. Seem like Feng Shui more important than the number itself. Know of 1 family friend whose father live in number 40, whose car is number 40, etc and they have prosper.

31-01-11, 14:51
Seem like Feng Shui more important than the number itself. Know of 1 family friend whose father live in number 40, whose car is number 40, etc and they have prosper.

Yup, if it's 4x or 4 landed, who can say they not prosper... For own stay is ok. Though if I intend to sell after 10yrs.. maybe will have a headache. Anyway, if I had to buy for investment, I think I will stick to the safer alternatives of avoiding too many 4s.

31-01-11, 14:58
Yup, if it's 4x or 4 landed, who can say they not prosper... For own stay is ok. Though if I intend to sell after 10yrs.. maybe will have a headache. Anyway, if I had to buy for investment, I think I will stick to the safer alternatives of avoiding too many 4s.

i remember an inter terrace in Joo Chiat ... number 114
very nicely renovated ..

took a long time to sell

if it wasnt for the run up ... itwould have taken even longer ...

good that the seller didnt change the price much during the run up
so helped in selling

31-01-11, 15:18
Yup, if it's 4x or 4 landed, who can say they not prosper... For own stay is ok. Though if I intend to sell after 10yrs.. maybe will have a headache. Anyway, if I had to buy for investment, I think I will stick to the safer alternatives of avoiding too many 4s. Agree, own stay, if like, and if believe in Feng Shui, Master say ok and suitable, why not. If investment, may be less hassle to look for nicer or more easily acceptable number, so that easier to rent/sell next time.

31-01-11, 19:24
agreed... I will think twice about buying a unit with 4 in it. Not because I am superstitious, but do not want it to be an issue when I sell it.

If the unit comes with a 8... that's even better...

come to think of it, all my properties have a 8 in it.... and no 4s....:D

01-02-11, 08:45
agreed... I will think twice about buying a unit with 4 in it. Not because I am superstitious, but do not want it to be an issue when I sell it.

If the unit comes with a 8... that's even better...

come to think of it, all my properties have a 8 in it.... and no 4s....:D 8 - is the surest bet and best, did u pay a slight premiun?

01-02-11, 10:22
certain numbers i 100% SIAM

10-04
13-04

TKT
01-02-11, 17:23
Got one unit we were eyeing 04-14...
Agent dont know kong simi dialect supposed to be beri "good"...
Any comments?

DAVID
01-02-11, 17:53
I sold my property (#05-04) within a few weeks to a young couple who came with their parents. Don't seem to have a problem with the number "4" :)

01-02-11, 19:18
8 - is the surest bet and best, did u pay a slight premiun?

Don't know...:beats-me-man: been bio-ing the development for a while. jumped on the opportunity when a unit is available. Just happen to have "8" in the address. Can't compare since there aren't many transactions. No reason for hesitation....:) Still happy with the purchase.... that's most important.

ronald au
01-02-11, 21:05
Used to owned a unit #14-14, agent put it as 2-8 (easy to prosper)
Sound good right?

01-02-11, 22:09
what do you guys think of 14-08? whole life won prosper?

01-02-11, 22:44
anyone care to buy #01-24? (starving to death...):D

01-02-11, 22:50
coincidentally i always try to have the numbers 1 &/or 2 in my properties, though not necessarily apart or in that order lol

spikey69
02-02-11, 06:17
all my properties thus far must have 4 in it....i've stayed in blk 144, 4th flr & 14th floor, in house number with 4 in it...mostly can buy at discount but can sell at benchmark price.

BB
02-02-11, 06:47
According to feng shui, the number 4 is not necessary bad. Some people lucky number is 4 according to the "Zi Wei Duo Su".

According to Chinese & Jews numerology, No. 4 is an auspicous number.
For example, the " powerful " Flying Star theory analyses number 1 to 9 either on it's own or a combination of these numbers and no. 4 by itself is always considered an auspcious number or even in combination with other good numbers like 1, 8 or 6.
The number that are not auspicious are instead no. 3, 5 or 2 and if it is not the period 7, then no. 7.
Therefore, it is indeed a blessing in disguise that your number 4 or 4444 are not what it seems. This is the comment from feng shui master in the forum below.

02-02-11, 07:40
According to feng shui, the number 4 is not necessary bad. Some people lucky number is 4 according to the "Zi Wei Duo Su".

According to Chinese & Jews numerology, No. 4 is an auspicous number.
For example, the " powerful " Flying Star theory analyses number 1 to 9 either on it's own or a combination of these numbers and no. 4 by itself is always considered an auspcious number or even in combination with other good numbers like 1, 8 or 6.
The number that are not auspicious are instead no. 3, 5 or 2 and if it is not the period 7, then no. 7.
Therefore, it is indeed a blessing in disguise that your number 4 or 4444 are not what it seems. This is the comment from feng shui master in the forum below.

very chimp ...

so far my props have 2,3,5 , single digit or combe ... so far so good ...

in my landed estate ..the unit 8 ... was unsold for many yrs ... cos it faces incoming street ...

took like 3 yrs to sell ....

even after it was sold ... i heard its still unoccupied ... i am not sure cos i havent been back for the last 1-2 yrs ...

02-02-11, 08:21
very chimp ...

so far my props have 2,3,5 , single digit or combe ... so far so good ...

in my landed estate ..the unit 8 ... was unsold for many yrs ... cos it faces incoming street ...

took like 3 yrs to sell ....

even after it was sold ... i heard its still unoccupied ... i am not sure cos i havent been back for the last 1-2 yrs ... End of the day, many factors come into play; maybe it still Location, Location, Location...as we have heard many times whether it is property or business

CLOVERLUV
02-02-11, 08:57
I sold my property (#05-04) within a few weeks to a young couple who came with their parents. Don't seem to have a problem with the number "4" :)Infact number come with 54 or 04 meaning won't die or nobody die to some people.So your number infact is a good number.

02-02-11, 09:09
Infact number come with 54 or 04 meaning won't die or nobody die to some people.So your number infact is a good number.

heard Jack Neo's house is 44 ... and he has chinese characters .. 'hey hey' ..pronounced in cantonese .. to mean 'double happiness'

DAVID
02-02-11, 09:16
When selling a property must make sure the agent is able to give a good meaning to the number:)

Infact number come with 54 or 04 meaning won't die or nobody die to some people.So your number infact is a good number.

02-02-11, 10:20
among all my properties, the unit with 14 has the best return

03-02-11, 11:07
Used to owned a unit #14-14, agent put it as 2-8 (easy to prosper)
Sound good right?
The number '8' means HUAT even in cantonese(but you need to slang it). The proper pronounciation for 8 is PA-AT, the HUAT is FA-AT.

So if I really want to twist it, '4' can be DIE or CENTURY in Chinese slang.

My car number is 8814 so it is HUAT HUAT WHOLE CENTURY 发发一世(good) or HUAT HUAT SURE DIE (bad)

If 8813 is means HUAT HUAT WHOLE LIFE 发发一生 or HUAT HUAT Sure One Alive Only.

05-02-11, 14:52
among all my properties, the unit with 14 has the best return
14 - high floor so easier to sell. :-)

06-02-11, 16:03
14 - high floor so easier to sell. :-)

In HK, they skip, 4, 14, 24, 34, 44, 54, 64 in the floor numbering
In Malaysia, they skip 14 and become 13A