View Full Version : Super Flippers

08-02-11, 17:00
has anyone has any stories to tell about investor who made during the boom from 2007 to 2010 by just flipping ?

08-02-11, 18:41
has anyone has any stories to tell about investor who made during the boom from 2007 to 2010 by just flipping ?

Whats the criteria? Made at least 1mil net profit during the period?

08-02-11, 18:48
Ask mcmlxxvi

"Then i buy and sell properties more often than buy new underwear liao.."

Either he's "super flipper" or never change underwear.....:eek:

08-02-11, 19:13
Ask mcmlxxvi

"Then i buy and sell properties more often than buy new underwear liao.."

Either he's "super flipper" or never change underwear.....:eek:

Wei sh... Shhhhhhhhhhh :)

08-02-11, 19:47

devilplate, bless his humble soul, made what most people would earn in 20 years by just flipping during that period :D

08-02-11, 20:02
any amount also good la...no need 1 mil. any good story must be told...

08-02-11, 20:07
devilplate, bless his humble soul, made what most people would earn in 20 years by just flipping during that period :D

I more inclined to accumulate ppty :)

I love to flip stocks ;)

08-02-11, 20:09
i know someone who bot 2 citylights unit and flip for 10% profits within 2 mths in 2007.

08-02-11, 20:09
the biggest flippers are the property agents lor...

any amount also good la...no need 1 mil. any good story must be told...

08-02-11, 20:10
Lovelle is taxman from IRAS! Dun fall for it! ;)

08-02-11, 20:10
i :tsk-tsk: taxman. Even taxman also cannot anyhow catch anybody ...

can pm me also can...

08-02-11, 20:15
the biggest flippers are the property agents lor...

really ? i owayz suspect why everytime i at a launch. many units oredi sold.. i oso suspect the A ppl bot it first

08-02-11, 20:23
Once upon a time not too long ago...

In a republic not too far away...

New projects can be bought by any lass.

With just 20% down, no questions asked,

It's called the deferred payment scheme.

Flipped before, the condo is complete.

Fat profits are made, with leverage to the max.

Alas... such good times cannot last...

The golden age of flipping has gone fast....

:(

08-02-11, 20:24
i :tsk-tsk: taxman. Even taxman also cannot anyhow catch anybody ...

can pm me also can...

Ok i oni can say from 2007 to 2010 i bought 8 sold 5... Starting from 0.

08-02-11, 20:25
DPS , you just pay 5% deposit and 95% loan right ?

08-02-11, 20:27

The title of Super Flippers can be yours...we wait for the next challenger

For OCR and CCR fans sake, can you break down your units of CCR vs OCR ?

:hell-hath-no-fury: teddy vs regulators

08-02-11, 20:28
DPS , you just pay 5% deposit and 95% loan right ?

No lah... 20%... 80% loan at that time.

Unless u go for 10% down, 90% loan. Not sure leh...:confused:

08-02-11, 20:30
I know quite a number of agents flipping OneNorth option for average of $80,000 per unit (many units) when 1 Rochester was launched.

How do u define flipping.....holding period how long?

I also bot quite number of options from flippers......to the extent of no viewing of properties....These agents made about $50,000 to $80,000 from me.

08-02-11, 20:32
flipping should be within the period 2007 to 2010. Yo, sorry to hear your story but i think you are papers did not depreciate, may in fact gain in % right ?

08-02-11, 20:33
No lah... 20%... 80% loan at that time.

Unless u go for 10% down, 90% loan. Not sure leh...:confused:

I think there was one time 5% and 95% loan. Parc Emily was one of those got buyer waiting for you at showflat entrance.

08-02-11, 20:55
i wear Fit Flop so considered super flipper lah

08-02-11, 21:09
Those good old days in 2006/2007, like the case of The Esta, u just need to pay 10% under deferred payment scheme, and hold for 6 months, u made $300,000-$400,000.

08-02-11, 21:14
The Sail got the most number of flippers rite?

i missed the fun....:mad:

08-02-11, 21:15
Those good old days in 2006/2007, like the case of The Esta, u just need to pay 10% under deferred payment scheme, and hold for 6 months, u made $300,000-$400,000.

good story , keep it coming ...

some condos take 6 years to climb that amount.

08-02-11, 21:18
mabe tok about more recent stories? from last yr till now...which project has the highest pct gain?

08-02-11, 21:20

those who made the most fr The Sail are mostly those who hold > 4 years....

08-02-11, 21:21

yes, Sails, MBR...many.....

me too, truly missed those exciting days......

08-02-11, 21:22
For latest project that gained the most in % , shld be caspian after the launch of LF.

08-02-11, 21:36
Also look at those in Sentosa

08-02-11, 21:39
those around cashew and diary farm too

08-02-11, 22:10
good story , keep it coming ...

some condos take 6 years to climb that amount.

You are a reporter! Which paper? Let us know when it's out. :cheers1:

08-02-11, 22:12

TCS - "The Condo Singapore" Times

08-02-11, 22:13

Business times?

09-02-11, 07:20
Bingo! And silence followed after that. Sorry to spoil your fun but that's not a nice thing to report. Flippers are a minority. Please do not skew your report regardless of whether you are spilling it publicly or documenting in innocent graduate thesis. If you had not asked leading questions to satisfy your own philosophy, I would not have exposed your intent.

bullman
09-02-11, 08:17

I think its the Icon instead.

09-02-11, 21:12

Forgot to mention, u may not be able to find fun in Sg now...
there are other places got good funs....and good monies.....look beyond Sg....

10-02-11, 07:02
Didn't I say that most people buy "The Sail" to flip? Really got GREAT LIFE STYLE? Ha ha ha! When they are still holding they will tell you that there are super "GREAT LIFE STYLE" there :eek: (thinking: Come come take over my baby!). Flipping and pocketing the money seem to be much "GREATER LIFE STYLE" to them! :p

10-02-11, 08:35
SGD is going to go up, how does that benefit us ? does our loan become even cheaper ?

10-02-11, 08:38
Both are. Staying there or making money are both great life style.

Didn't I say that most people buy "The Sail" to flip? Really got GREAT LIFE STYLE? Ha ha ha! When they are still holding they will tell you that there are super "GREAT LIFE STYLE" there :eek: (thinking: Come come take over my baby!). Flipping and pocketing the money seem to be much "GREATER LIFE STYLE" to them! :p

10-02-11, 09:53
Want to flip means want to flip. Don't need to keep singing songs to physco people to take over their babies. Great life style might as well live until they die why so keen to flip? :tsk-tsk: What great life style when they are more interested in flipping? Actual truth is that Life style not great or the place not worth the price that is why so eager to flip? :doh:

Both are. Staying there or making money are both great life style.

10-02-11, 11:23
Want to flip means want to flip. Don't need to keep singing songs to physco people to take over their babies. Great life style might as well live until they die why so keen to flip? :tsk-tsk: What great life style when they are more interested in flipping? Actual truth is that Life style not great or the place not worth the price that is why so eager to flip? :doh:

dun sore la..PPL flip the sail from 1kpsf till the price now...heard some of those bayview units changed 10+ owners

mabe ur ppty nvr make much...so not attractive to flip?:p

10-02-11, 12:36
Sing songs about "great life style" to flip? No moral! At least I flip I do it quietly, don't need to sing so many nice songs about "GREAT LIFE STYLE" etc of their own properties where actually the greatest self-interest is to find somebody to carry their babies at high price!. Hypocrits! :banghead:

dun sore la..PPL flip the sail from 1kpsf till the price now...heard some of those bayview units changed 10+ owners

mabe ur ppty nvr make much...so not attractive to flip?:p

10-02-11, 14:32
Sing songs about "great life style" to flip? No moral! At least I flip I do it quietly, don't need to sing so many nice songs about "GREAT LIFE STYLE" etc of their own properties where actually the greatest self-interest is to find somebody to carry their babies at high price!. Hypocrits! :banghead:

hey teddy

this is the SuperFlippers thread, anyone want to sing, this is the place. Why u sing half way then stop liao ?

10-02-11, 14:50
I don't sing songs about properties I am trying to sell. :cheers1:

hey teddy

this is the SuperFlippers thread, anyone want to sing, this is the place. Why u sing half way then stop liao ?

10-02-11, 15:12
Well, individual perspective and wants. Some like to stay orchard, some like to flip orchard. Like the Government says, some like to stay HDB, some just like to flip HDB. Can't say for all I guess...

10-02-11, 15:17
What has moral got to do with flipping? Do I need to sing songs about properties? Isn't it well known which are the great ones, which are the lousy ones?

I mean, if someone based his/her purchase on forum, then he/she deserve my salute :banghead::banghead::banghead:

And isn't everyone acting in his/her own interest? I mean, who want to buy high and sell low? Acting in others interest :doh::doh:

10-02-11, 16:02
Nothing wrong with flipping, but morally wrong and showing that a person has integrity issue when he/she try to sing nice songs just because they are going to sell, especially these are half truths or even lies.
Worse are those talking how bad a property is just to turn around to say how good that same property is after buying. :rolleyes:
Every one acting in his or her own interests, but don't need to stoop to so low lousy tactics to sing songs just because they are going to sell. Want to sell can just keep quiet and don't need to sing song about the property.

What has moral got to do with flipping? Do I need to sing songs about properties? Isn't it well known which are the great ones, which are the lousy ones?

I mean, if someone based his/her purchase on forum, then he/she deserve my salute :banghead::banghead::banghead:

And isn't everyone acting in his/her own interest? I mean, who want to buy high and sell low? Acting in others interest :doh::doh:

10-02-11, 16:33
Your comment just kill the whole marketing industry. Don't market things that you are going to sell. Hahaha. Who doesn't sell on good points and hide the bad points?

Still, I think nothing morally wrong if someone would to do it. And Sail is a great place to stay in, no doubt about that. I am sure many can vouch for that. And many can also describe how shitty that place is. It really depends on many many factors. Individual opinion.

Lastly, I reiterate that if anyone would buy a property (not shampoo or toothpaste) based on forum, then that him/her deserve it. Good or bad, the buyer will know. The whole industry will judge. Remember, this is not a toothpaste. It is at least a 1.3M property.

Nothing wrong with flipping, but morally wrong and showing that a person has integrity issue when he/she try to sing nice songs just because they are going to sell, especially these are half truths or even lies.
Worse are those talking how bad a property is just to turn around to say how good that same property is after buying. :rolleyes:
Every one acting in his or her own interests, but don't need to stoop to so low lousy tactics to sing songs just because they are going to sell. Want to sell can just keep quiet and don't need to sing song about the property.

gemstone
10-02-11, 17:59

Does IRAS treat your those transactions as capital gain or trading profits?

10-02-11, 19:09
ya, perhaps let me share this real estate agent, flipping option.

I came across so many agents, and I graded this as the most unethical. He is a director at a very big Real Estate firm.

He brokered his two neighbours' units, one to me, and one to my friend. He profited $80,000 per unit. And the cheques for the flipping profit were paid to him. Really, abused the trust by his close neighbours.

But, today, I am pleased to learn that he is doing very badly.

10-02-11, 19:18
The way you put it is that the whole marketing industry & people & businessmen all need to resort to immoral way of selling? Pls do not judge people this way just because you & your gangs do such immoral ways. There are many people with integrity in marketing & business, doing honest things for a living. :simmering:

To immoral people, obviously everything "immoral" is "moral" & alright to them. :rolleyes:

Your comment just kill the whole marketing industry. Don't market things that you are going to sell. Hahaha. Who doesn't sell on good points and hide the bad points?

Still, I think nothing morally wrong if someone would to do it. And Sail is a great place to stay in, no doubt about that. I am sure many can vouch for that. And many can also describe how shitty that place is. It really depends on many many factors. Individual opinion.

Lastly, I reiterate that if anyone would buy a property (not shampoo or toothpaste) based on forum, then that him/her deserve it. Good or bad, the buyer will know. The whole industry will judge. Remember, this is not a toothpaste. It is at least a 1.3M property.

10-02-11, 19:23

I came across so many agents, and I graded this as the most unethical. He is a director at a very big Real Estate firm.

He brokered his two neighbours' units, one to me, and one to my friend. He profited $80,000 per unit. And the cheques for the flipping profit were paid to him. Really, abused the trust by his close neighbours.

U mean for e.g. the unit u paid is $1mil, u write 2 cheques, 1 for $920k & the other for $80k, assuming no bank loan?

10-02-11, 22:59
integrity issue to sing nice songs?:confused: mountain out of mold hill.
nice songs CD $10 I bite lah. 770K ppty :beats-me-man: sign at own risk. Period

10-02-11, 23:01
i recalled the ERA director was sacked doing similar tactic not too long ago.

10-02-11, 23:12
With SSD... Cannot flip anymore right?

I think the SSD would only be partially lifted later to arrest flipping.

Remove 2 years restrictions only. First year 8' second year 4.

10-02-11, 23:18
Can still try to flip, just increase the price by 50% of purchase price but who will buy? Alternative, can play option flip, but to do that, have to make sure option is transferable and you need to have a buyer on standby even before you commit to the unit. Usually only lau chiau agents know how to play this game
With SSD... Cannot flip anymore right?

I think the SSD would only be partially lifted later to arrest flipping.

Remove 2 years restrictions only. First year 8' second year 4.

10-02-11, 23:25
That is just too bad... Immoral or moral is subjective. Hiding the bad, selling the good is not immoral to me. Maybe you are rather holy so you can carry on to be moral and holy. Carry on talking to yourself. You so pissed off, I think probably you are one of them who read the forum and buy an unit. I thought such things don't happen in real life :doh:

Btw, eating chicken can be immoral too :eek: :eek: :eek: Bye for now !

The way you put it is that the whole marketing industry & people & businessmen all need to resort to immoral way of selling? Pls do not judge people this way just because you & your gangs do such immoral ways. There are many people with integrity in marketing & business, doing honest things for a living. :simmering:

To immoral people, obviously everything "immoral" is "moral" & alright to them. :rolleyes:

11-02-11, 08:11
U mean for e.g. the unit u paid is $1mil, u write 2 cheques, 1 for $920k & the other for $80k, assuming no bank loan?

yes, the $80,000 paid to the agent.
of course, i saved 3% stamp duty on the $80,000

I rather pay the $80,000 to the seller.

06-06-11, 10:03
At least 20 units were bought last year and flipped within days. They involved mostly smallish apartments in projects such as Dorsett Residences at New Bridge Road, Suites@Topaz in the Serangoon-Moonstone Lane area, Centra Suites in Geylang, Haig 162, One Amber, The Shore Residences and Suites@Shrewsbury. Profits generated by these 20 units which changed hands within 29 days ranged from $5,000 to $188,000, translating to returns of 0.6 per cent to 27.6 per cent. BTimes

06-06-11, 10:31
haha, u beat me to this. i was about to post, then saw your post. ;)

At least 20 units were bought last year and flipped within days. They involved mostly smallish apartments in projects such as Dorsett Residences at New Bridge Road, Suites@Topaz in the Serangoon-Moonstone Lane area, Centra Suites in Geylang, Haig 162, One Amber, The Shore Residences and Suites@Shrewsbury. Profits generated by these 20 units which changed hands within 29 days ranged from $5,000 to $188,000, translating to returns of 0.6 per cent to 27.6 per cent. BTimes

06-06-11, 10:36
In all, there were 111 subsales of private apartments and condos in 2010 which had previously changed hands in the same year. All of these transactions were profitable. Gains ranged from $5,000 to $2.08 million per subsale transaction.
The latter was recorded for a 3,907 square foot unit at Urban Suites near Cairnhill Road which was bought in late January 2010 for $8.81 million from the project's developer and flipped in early March for $10.89 million. The smallest gain of $5,000 was for a 926 sq ft unit at Waterview in Tampines which involved a 10-day holding period.

06-06-11, 10:59
haha, u beat me to this. i was about to post, then saw your post. ;)

haha, share share load...u can post the entire article , if u want. I found the rest is very technical...

06-06-11, 11:01
yeah pretty dry. i was going to post the exact section which u cut and paste. LOL. :)

haha, share share load...u can post the entire article , if u want. I found the rest is very technical...

06-06-11, 11:29
In all, there were 111 subsales of private apartments and condos in 2010 which had previously changed hands in the same year. All of these transactions were profitable. Gains ranged from $5,000 to $2.08 million per subsale transaction.
The latter was recorded for a 3,907 square foot unit at Urban Suites near Cairnhill Road which was bought in late January 2010 for $8.81 million from the project's developer and flipped in early March for $10.89 million. The smallest gain of $5,000 was for a 926 sq ft unit at Waterview in Tampines which involved a 10-day holding period.

how isit possible to flip waterview? strange

10-day holding? so the 10day holding period counted after he exercise the S&P?

06-06-11, 11:44
waterview launched before measures rite? should be 10 day holding period after he exercised. anyway, he made a loss rite? even the gahmen 3% already he made loss. LOL.

how isit possible to flip waterview? strange

10-day holding? so the 10day holding period counted after he exercise the S&P?

06-06-11, 11:48
even centra heights was mentioned. Isn't this one just launched last month ?

06-06-11, 11:54
centra suites (launched in geylang last year) was mentioned. not centra heights. name twisters again. all very confusing. :)

even centra heights was mentioned. Isn't this one just launched last month ?

06-06-11, 13:21
In percentage terms, Q1 2011′s most profitable subsale yielded a 167.4 per cent return – on a unit at SouthBank at North Bridge Road that had been bought from the developer in June 2006 for $561,000 and sold in the subsale market in January 2011 for $1.5 million.

06-06-11, 13:24
In percentage terms, Q1 2011′s most profitable subsale yielded a 167.4 per cent return – on a unit at SouthBank at North Bridge Road that had been bought from the developer in June 2006 for $561,000 and sold in the subsale market in January 2011 for $1.5 million.

assuming the seller took 80% last time.....downpayment of 112k yielded 939k profit within 4.5yrs.....clap clap:D

06-06-11, 13:30

Missed the boat!!! :banghead:

06-06-11, 13:59
Boat will come again if u live long enough. Health is impt!

McKinnon
06-06-11, 18:33
and i'm regretting selling my southbank everyday i drive pass it now. :doh:

06-06-11, 19:23
It's like striking TOTO.
assuming the seller took 80% last time.....downpayment of 112k yielded 939k profit within 4.5yrs.....clap clap:D

05-10-12, 15:31

I clearing my old emails and suddenly saw this old posting frm my sifu in jail mcmlxxvi...

one year or so after he wrote that, he informed that taxman after him.

indeed this forum has mole. be very careful what you reveal...

05-10-12, 15:34
I clearing my old emails and suddenly saw this old posting frm my sifu in jail mcmlxxvi...

one year or so after he wrote that, he informed that taxman after him.

indeed this forum has mole. be very careful what you reveal...

because it is illegal not to pay tax if > half of your annual income come from trading properties ... if buy/sell properties only constitute 10% of your annual income then probably ok

IRAS has a way to determine whether you are engaging in trading or not ... depends on frequency of buy/sell, quantity, % of reporting income etc

05-10-12, 15:38
because it is illegal not to pay tax if > half of your annual income come from trading properties ... if buy/sell properties only constitute 10% of your annual income then probably ok

IRAS has a way to determine whether you are engaging in trading or not ... depends on frequency of buy/sell, quantity, % of reporting income etc

yes I do believe they hv some secret formula just run on the db query just to flag out these pple

05-10-12, 16:00
yes I do believe they hv some secret formula just run on the db query just to flag out these pple

basically in Singapore, there is no point to hide if you think you are trading something e.g. shares/properties for profit, everything is centralized, CDP can trace all your share txns, IRAS can trace all property transactions

1. You buy/sell something frequently for profit.
2. The buy/sell frequency for a property less than 1 year, for shares less than 3 months
3. quantity more than a couple per year
4. your annual trading income is significant e.g. > 30k
5. you rely on it for a living :D

05-10-12, 16:06
basically in Singapore, there is no point to hide if you think you are trading something e.g. shares/properties for profit, everything is centralized, CDP can trace all your share txns, IRAS can trace all property transactions

1. You buy/sell something frequently for profit.
2. The buy/sell frequency for a property less than 1 year, for shares less than 3 months
3. quantity more than a couple per year
4. your annual trading income is significant e.g. > 30k
5. you rely on it for a living :D

eh,... they got tax you for shares trading gain meh ??.. have not heard of that yet.. (property yes).... :confused:

like that everybody move to cfd lah... :D

05-10-12, 16:12
eh,... they got tax you for shares trading gain meh ??.. have not heard of that yet.. (property yes).... :confused:

like that everybody move to cfd lah... :D

Gains from sale of shares & financial instruments
Generally, profits or losses derived from the buying and selling of shares or other financial instruments on your own account are viewed as personal investments.

Capital gains are not subjected to tax. If you buy and sell shares or other financial instruments at a profit, the profit is not subjected to tax.

When is it taxable

To determine whether an individual is trading, factors such as the frequency and volume of transactions, the interval between the purchase and sale, and the manner of financing the purchase of shares, will be taken into consideration.

The three circumstances factors above alone do not determine whether the gains are taxable.

05-10-12, 16:16

But what if you frequently buy/sell and happen that is in the "whole of uptrend".. you sell high & also buy high with just one house..

Like that is consider trading even though you make profit meh?? :beats-me-man:

05-10-12, 16:17
But what if you frequently buy/sell and happen that is in the "whole of uptrend".. you sell high & also buy high with just one house..

Like that is consider trading or make profit meh?? :beats-me-man:

The 4y SSD has effectively ensured all are not traders :rolleyes:

And new buyers pay ABSD ... they take first liao :doh:

And bro Rysk ... there is no need to worry if only play one investment property .. IRAS will pang (hokkien) chance

05-10-12, 16:18
like that must go hide behind cfd liow... or at least something like standard chart a/c... :(

anyway... iras never go after small fish/ikan bilis... right ??.... :spliff:

05-10-12, 16:43
like that must go hide behind cfd liow... or at least something like standard chart a/c... :(

anyway... iras never go after small fish/ikan bilis... right ??.... :spliff:

as i said, if it is small money, who cares ;)