View Full Version : [BREAKING NEWS]: Property Prices Still Rising !!!!

wenqing
14-03-11, 09:44
http://sg.yfittopostblog.com/2011/03/04/property-prices-on-the-rise/

Property prices still rising

By iProperty.com Singapore – March 4th, 2011

http://yfittopostblogsg.files.wordpress.com/2011/03/640blog_hdbs.jpg?w=620
Despite the cooling measures, property prices continue to increase (Image courtesy of Singapore Tourism Board).

With the Urban Redevelopment Authority (URA) releasing its figures about the price of Singapore property recently, now seems a good time to look back at a year where the Singapore government took unprecedented measures to attempt to cool the Singapore property market.

COV down
Cash-over-valuation (COV) for resale Housing Development Board (HDB) units — the amount that home owners often ask for above the official valuation of their property –- is falling from its 4Q 2010 average of $23,000, indicating that the Singapore government’s cooling measures may be beginning to take effect.

Prices on the Increase
However, figures from the Urban Redevelopment Authority (URA) — Singapore’s national land use planning authority — show that overall prices of private residential properties increased by 2.7% in 4Q 2010, compared with the 2.9% increase in the previous quarter.

In fact, for the whole of 2010, prices had increased by 17.6%, compared with the 1.8% rise in 2009. Worrying news, given that two sets of cooling measures were introduced in 2010 with the sole aim of reducing further property speculation that was pushing up process.

Private Property

The URA’s figures also revealed that prices of non-landed properties increased by 1.8% in 4th Quarter 2010, compared with the 1.6% increase in the previous quarter.

For the year 2010 as a whole, prices of non-landed properties increased by 14.0% — a massive increase that may indicate the first forming of a property bubble. Overall, in 4Q 2010, prices of apartments increased by 2.4%, while prices of condominiums increased by 1.6%.

Rental
There is mixed news for the rental market.

While some expected the proviso in the recent cooling measures relating to the non-ownership of private property in Singapore or abroad by HDB-home owners to bring rental prices down, the figures beg to differ.

Rentals of private residential properties increased by 2.6% in 4th Quarter 2010, report URA, compared with the 3.6% increase in the previous quarter. Rental prices saw a massive hike for the year 2010 as a whole, with rentals of private residential properties rising by 17.9%.

For the most authoritative and comprehensive listing of properties for sale or rent, go to www.iProperty.com.sg (http://www.iProperty.com.sg)

For more property news, real estate reports and celebrity home features, head to www.iproperty.com.sg/resources (http://www.iproperty.com.sg/resources)

Related Articles:
Singapore’s coolest homes (http://sg.yfittopostblog.com/2011/01/27/singapores-coolest-homes/)
Are Singapore’s shophouses disappearing? (http://sg.yfittopostblog.com/2011/02/22/singapores-disappearing-shophouses/)
BTO flats in Yishun, Butik Batok launched (http://sg.yfittopostblog.com/2011/01/27/bto-flats-to-launch-in-yishun-and-bukit-batok/)

Follow Yahoo! News on Twitter (http://twitter.com/yahoosg) and become a fan on Facebook. (http://www.facebook.com/yahoosingaporenewsroom)
Thank you for the incredible, amazing response to Yahoo!’s Fit-To-Post blog so far. We continue to welcome your views and comments but please don’t abuse this opportunity.

Be nice. Be courteous. Be sensible. Respect the feelings of others and refrain from using any kind of offensive language. And in the spirit of great conversations, please don’t stray from the topic at hand.

wenqing
14-03-11, 09:47
Rumour has it 5th cooling measure will simply only allow one property per name and prevent people from buying.

Preventing people from selling will only cut supply on the market thus pushing prices up further.

What are your thoughts of any 5th cooling measure ??

How drastic will it be ??

14-03-11, 09:58
Rumour has it 5th cooling measure will simply only allow one property per name and prevent people from buying.

Preventing people from selling will only cut supply on the market thus pushing prices up further.

RUMOR has it that 5th cooling measure will come in April. It will disallow multiple property ownership and in retrospect. That means people who currently own multiple properties registered under personal name and not company can keep only one and dispose of all the rest within 18 months. There will no more be such thing as 70% or 60% loan - all default first (and only) private loan will be 50% only. Private buyers using CPF - need to set aside minimum sum for even the first property. SSD will be over 5 year period starting with 50%, 40%, 30%, 20%, 10%.

HDB remains at 80% for first loan. HDB owner cannot ever own private property - means current owners need to dispose of any private property within 18 months as well.

Remember - RUMOR has it.

propertychap
14-03-11, 10:02
Singapore usually takes its cue from HK property cooling measures.
Did HK do that?

14-03-11, 10:06

Too draconian. No way this can be implemented in the private pty mkt, we are not China.:) As for HDB, that's another story............

14-03-11, 10:13
Yah, private property is a free market, the govt will not do that, or else their own income will reduce drastically as well haa haa.... :rolleyes:

14-03-11, 10:15
Already, subsale asking prices softening.

If government only allow holding HDB or even holding just one private property, STI will drop 20% in one day, hardest hit will be Temasek companies and banks. Don't spread nonsense rumour lah :doh:

Japan nuclear reactor is melting .... what if radioactive material covers the entire Tokyo ... market will crash, no need another cooling measure.

14-03-11, 10:26
RUMOR has it that 5th cooling measure will come in April. It will disallow multiple property ownership and in retrospect. That means people who currently own multiple properties registered under personal name and not company can keep only one and dispose of all the rest within 18 months.

Anyone has a count of the number of properties own by the ministeries and their relatives...

wenqing
14-03-11, 10:41
Singapore usually takes its cue from HK property cooling measures.
Did HK do that?

I thought Singapore is always Number 1 in everything as some people here proclaim to be.

It should be HK copying us right and not Singapore copying HK.

Only Singapore government is talented and not corrupt because we are the only government in the world to peg government pay to be highest than private sector pay.

The rest of the world has no talent and is very corrupt.

:beats-me-man: :beats-me-man: :beats-me-man:

14-03-11, 10:44
Anyone has a count of the number of properties own by the ministeries and their relatives...

never see hollywood movies?
If anyone check data, flags will be raised, and they will trace who is the one who request the information.
Also, they also not so stupid as to use own name to buy, use offshore shell companies with several layers in between

14-03-11, 10:55
Remember Nassim Jade?
Can check whether caveats ever lodge in personal names.

one example:
CAVEATS LODGED AT LAND TITLES REGISTRY AGAINST UNITS IN NASSIM JADE
http://www.tangtalk.com/hplchart.html
compare psf and draw your own conclusions.

14-03-11, 11:03

rumour say no bank loan at all and totally cannot use CPF and every household(not individual) can only own one ppty:tongue3:

14-03-11, 11:05

If government only allow holding HDB or even holding just one private property, STI will drop 20% in one day, hardest hit will be Temasek companies and banks. Don't spread nonsense rumour lah :doh:

Japan nuclear reactor is melting .... what if radioactive material covers the entire Tokyo ... market will crash, no need another cooling measure.

haf u exited all ur equities?

14-03-11, 11:07
I thought Singapore is always Number 1 in everything as some people here proclaim to be.

It should be HK copying us right and not Singapore copying HK.

Only Singapore government is talented and not corrupt because we are the only government in the world to peg government pay to be highest than private sector pay.

The rest of the world has no talent and is very corrupt.

:beats-me-man: :beats-me-man: :beats-me-man:

u thought only wat...it says it all:cheers6:

14-03-11, 11:09
rumour1 has it that landed is now open to foreigners, no need permission.
rumour2 has it that only foreigners allowed to buy 3 or more private residential properties.
rumour3 has it that government will launch a COE system for private residential properties.

wenqing
14-03-11, 11:11
rumour1 has it that landed is now open to foreigners, no need permission.
rumour2 has it that only foreigners allowed to buy 3 or more private residential properties.
rumour3 has it that government will launch a COE system for private residential properties.

Hahhaha

But rumours about 1st to 4th cooling measures did come true.

14-03-11, 11:13
Hahhaha

But rumours about 1st to 4th cooling measures did come true.

do u understand the word 'cooling'?

its cooling and not crashing measures:tongue3:

wenqing
14-03-11, 11:14
u thought only wat...it says it all:cheers6:

Singapore Number 1 in everything ?

How come our entertainers need to go Taiwan, China and HK to advance their careers then ?

Why our IT need to go Silicon Valley to justify reaching the highest peak of their career ?

Why so many lawyers and bankers prefer to work outside Singapore for career advancement ?

Not going to debate with you but I do not like to generalise things so simply.

:scared-4: :scared-4: :scared-4: :scared-4:

wenqing
14-03-11, 11:15
do u understand the word 'cooling'?

its cooling and not crashing measures:tongue3:

4th cooling measure almost crash the market.

The other cooling measures were a waste of time.

wenqing
14-03-11, 11:18
Remember Nassim Jade?
Can check whether caveats ever lodge in personal names.

one example:
CAVEATS LODGED AT LAND TITLES REGISTRY AGAINST UNITS IN NASSIM JADE
http://www.tangtalk.com/hplchart.html
compare psf and draw your own conclusions.

This sounds like China's 'Guan Xi' and Hollywood style of seeking favours.

14-03-11, 11:21
Singapore Number 1 in everything ?

How come our entertainers need to go Taiwan, China and HK to advance their careers then ?

Why our IT need to go Silicon Valley to justify reaching the highest peak of their career ?

Why so many lawyers and bankers prefer to work outside Singapore for career advancement ?

Not going to debate with you but I do not like to generalise things so simply.

:scared-4: :scared-4: :scared-4: :scared-4:

????
i only say u thought only wat....u told me dun anyhow assume things one wor....slapping ur own face?:p

14-03-11, 11:24
4th cooling measure almost crash the market.

The other cooling measures were a waste of time.

waste of time bcos the prices din crash???

how u noe its waste of time??? it suppose to cool the ppty price as in slowing down the rate of price increase.....and not suppose to crash the market....

measures goto be more gradual and incremental....as nobody noe exactly wat the side effects r until u implement it....

like sm1 suggest 10-20% SGD appreciation.....haha....tat one i wud consider it as joke of the year:D

14-03-11, 11:31
Actually, COE system for 3 or more condos, seems to be quite workable.
does. Will encourage to buy and hold for a long time.

imagine same project bought by new property buyer and rich person holding 5 units.
cost for rich person is higher since has to pay COE. So won't flip easily because profit is less than the 1 condo owner.

the collorary is it would encourage flipping, which of course is covered by SSD.

14-03-11, 11:48
Actually, COE system for 3 or more condos, seems to be quite workable.
does. Will encourage to buy and hold for a long time.

imagine same project bought by new property buyer and rich person holding 5 units.
cost for rich person is higher since has to pay COE. So won't flip easily because profit is less than the 1 condo owner.

the collorary is it would encourage flipping, which of course is covered by SSD.

i tink measures r targetting 1st timer or HDB upgradders rite? as they r the most vulnerable.....

ur suggestion seems to protect the richies....hehe

my own wish list with regards to PTE ppty:

1)URA set min 500sqft guideline for 1bedder, 750sqft for 2bedder and 1000sqft for 3bedder.... and limit up to 20% of 1bedder allowed in every project and min 20% of 3bedder in every project.....

2)SSD commence from the project TOP date for BUC projects

3)current 16% ...4yrs SSD is too harsh.....grey area formed....no good....need to adjust and tone it down...it will work well if implement it together with point no.2

4) staggered capital gain tax may work better.....30% 1st yr, 20% 2nd yr, 10% 3rd yr , 4th yr 5% and zero onwards

dun tink its too harsh rite? measures shd be more balanced.....the last round of measures seems to kill the resale market which shd not be the case...y penalise genuine long term investor/upgradders when they looking into resale market rite?

point number 1 actually vy impt.....protect investors, ppty landscape and promote better social stability and preventing micro MM units from distorting the PSF....

wenqing
14-03-11, 12:13
waste of time bcos the prices din crash???

how u noe its waste of time??? it suppose to cool the ppty price as in slowing down the rate of price increase.....and not suppose to crash the market....

measures goto be more gradual and incremental....as nobody noe exactly wat the side effects r until u implement it....

like sm1 suggest 10-20% SGD appreciation.....haha....tat one i wud consider it as joke of the year:D

Previous 3 cooling measures were a waste of time because it did not meet the end objective of cooling the market, instead prices continue to skyrocket..

I did not say crash the market.

If it was not a waste of time, 4th cooling measure would not come out.

The cooling measures was as good as not having any.

14-03-11, 12:21
Previous 3 cooling measures were a waste of time because it did not meet the end objective of cooling the market, instead prices continue to skyrocket..

I did not say crash the market.

If it was not a waste of time, 4th cooling measure would not come out.

The cooling measures was as good as not having any.

aiya...later on prices starts to escalate and 5th measures comes out and den 4th measures become waste of time?

and later 5th or 6th measure out and coincides with a global crisis and den ppl can say govt measures crash the ppty market again as wat they did in 96-97?

vy cute indeed:D

14-03-11, 12:21
The underlying message is that any measures will be graduate... If 1 shoot super hardhanded, investors alike ran fast fast sure crash ! Graduate n calibrated sound like a well planned policy

14-03-11, 12:22
actually the COE measures are targetting the richies

same project, 1st time private property buyer pay $1mil
the richies with multiple property pay $1mil + $ 200k COE.

Price increase to $1.2mil.
1st time buyer paper profit $200k
richies paper profit $0.

It is a tax on the wealthy's profit. Less incentive for wealthy to buy many properties.

It doesnt encourage people to hold for long, more profitable to buy and sell.
But there's where the SSD comes in. If buy and sell within short period, SSD kicks in.

different grades of COE based on different types of properties and districts.
If foreigner want to buy landed properties, pay COE for landed to government.

Maybe 100 COEs for landed for foreigners per year. foreigners bid up the price of the COEs.
More money to government :)

Given that it is based on number of properties instead of quantum, the wealthy will not speculate on 20 units of MM.
Instead they would focus on smaller number of bigger units in pricier districts.
So they don't play OCR, RCR properties, which is for HDB upgraders and 1st time buyers.

14-03-11, 12:29
actually the COE measures are targetting the richies

same project, 1st time private property buyer pay $1mil
the richies with multiple property pay $1mil + $ 200k COE.

Price increase to $1.2mil.
1st time buyer paper profit $200k
richies paper profit $0.

It is a tax on the wealthy's profit. Less incentive for wealthy to buy many properties.

It doesnt encourage people to hold for long, more profitable to buy and sell.
But there's where the SSD comes in. If buy and sell within short period, SSD kicks in.

different grades of COE based on different types of properties and districts.
If foreigner want to buy landed properties, pay COE for landed to government.

Maybe 100 COEs for landed for foreigners per year. foreigners bid up the price of the COEs.
More money to government :)

Given that it is based on number of properties instead of quantum, the wealthy will not speculate on 20 units of MM.
Instead they would focus on smaller number of bigger units in pricier districts.
So they don't play OCR, RCR properties, which is for HDB upgraders and 1st time buyers.

aiya...ur suggestion oredi skewed towards ur investment strategy/portfolio....:p

pay COE....it will discourage the rich to buy more ppty(hence, protecting the richies from over commiting ....tats y i say protecting the richies)

when market noes now the richies goto pay COE for multiple ppty....market will sort of priced in the COE into the final selling price.....which in turn may raise up the every seller expectation's on their selling price liao.....

just like COE increase, the resale value of 2nd hand cars aso increase despite having a much lower COE tag to tat 2nd hand car

and for LANDED, PR/foreigner shd only be allowed to buy those 99LH landed ppty and not any of those 999 or worse FH landed....:doh: :doh: :doh:

wenqing
14-03-11, 12:38
The underlying message is that any measures will be graduate... If 1 shoot super hardhanded, investors alike ran fast fast sure crash ! Graduate n calibrated sound like a well planned policy

Gradual and calibrated approach also need to see gradual and calibrated approach of price drop but went up further instead.

This is why I said first 3 measures was as good as not having any as it did not meet is goal and KPI.

14-03-11, 12:40
Gradual and calibrated approach also need to see gradual and calibrated approach of price drop but went up further instead.

This is why I said first 3 measures was as good as not having any as it did not meet is goal and KPI.

y we nid a price drop? cooling measures r not suppose to correct ppty prices!:doh:

it only meant to slow down the rate of increase to be more in line with our economy

wenqing
14-03-11, 12:51
y we nid a price drop? cooling measures r not suppose to correct ppty prices!:doh:

it only meant to slow down the rate of increase to be more in line with our economy

Whaaa, so fast change reason for the government when it did not work.

Why dont you go back in time and look at ST articles and CNA clips.

The mass media painted a 'price will drop' picture using cooling measures to Singaporeans.

All Singaporeans felt the 'price will drop' vibe, including forumers here and their comments.

Everyone expected price drop or stabilise(no more increment) after each cooling measure. Even Minister say this was the goal of cooling measures.

Everyone started wait-and-see approach and many interviewed expected price to drop.

Even if you insist you are right, are you saying before cooling measures, the houses were overpriced as it was not in line with the economy aka economy was not that good ??

Government badly need a spin doctor, you can try for one.

:D :D :D :beats-me-man: :beats-me-man: :beats-me-man:

http://www.h88.com.sg/article/Did+the+cooling+measures+really+work%3F/

Did the cooling measures really work?

The four rounds of cooling measures so far has kept the prices of private properties stable, according to Minister for National Development (MND) Mah Bow Tan.

He has revealed in Parliament, in addition to ramping up the HDB flat supply this year, that the rate of price increase for private homes have slowed down since the first set of cooling measures were announced in 2009 (http://www.h88.com.sg/article/Govt+acts+to+cool+the+market/).

The trading of private properties that are still under construction (also called subsale) have also fallen by half in 4Q 2010, in comparison with that in 2Q 2009 following the financial crisis.

The supply of more HDB flats has dampened the demand for resale flats; prices of resale flats have fallen by less than 1% in January and February this year. This is compared to the quarter-on-quarter increase of 2.5% in 4Q 2010.

But the thing is, private home prices are still rising despite all these measures!

Earlier this week we reported a 2.6% increase (http://www.h88.com.sg/article/January+sees+increase+in+private+home+prices/) in prices of non-landed private homes. Mah also repeated himself (http://www.h88.com.sg/article/Mah+Bow+Tan%3A+Cooling+measures+to+encourage+financial+caution/) yet again, saying that the govt is trying their best to stabilize the market.

We think that there’s something ominous about these words. Do we sense a fifth round of cooling measures? Let us know what you think!

via BT Online- Govt's 'cool factor' keeps private home prices sober (http://www.businesstimes.com.sg/sub/news/story/0,4574,428891,00.html?). Image: Wikipedia.

:tongue3: :tongue3: :tongue3: :tongue3:

14-03-11, 12:57
a...........
just like COE increase, the resale value of 2nd hand cars aso increase despite having a much lower COE tag to tat 2nd hand car

and for LANDED, PR/foreigner shd only be allowed to buy those 99LH landed ppty and not any of those 999 or worse FH landed....:doh: :doh: :doh:
every car need a COE right? whether 1 car owner or 10 car owner.

But 1 property owner no need property COE, whereas 10 property owner need multiple property COEs. That's the difference.

In fact, I would be more affected by the COE than the HDB upgraders, so definitely not skewed towards my investment strategy.

I have the impression that for higher price landed properties, for example GCB, it is from 1 foreign-born Singaporean to another foreign-born Singaporean. So those local born Singaporean also no chance to make the news.

14-03-11, 12:58

If Japan melting down.. all will rush to S'pore.. just joking.:D

In fact lots of my Japanese bosses & colleague, last time when they came to S'pore, the family felt sad & cried that they leave Japan, but after 1 to 2 years, some decided to brought their families in to join them.
After couple of years like 5 to 10 yrs here, our company decided to post them back or just only send their families back while leaving the husband here.. the families feel even more sad & don't feel like going back to Japan.
Most of them feels that they have been living a good life here & is very safe staying in S'pore.. most importantly their kids love to stay & they love the schools & child care here.

14-03-11, 13:12
to wenqing: i duno wat shyt u r toking about really....LOL:D

u say measures not working bcoz price din drop.....so i repeat myself again tat cooling measure r not to cause the price to drop....

earlier on u agree with me tat cooling measures r not crashing measure....

wenqing wenqing...confused kid....poor baby:D

14-03-11, 13:19
every car need a COE right? whether 1 car owner or 10 car owner.

But 1 property owner no need property COE, whereas 10 property owner need multiple property COEs. That's the difference.

In fact, I would be more affected by the COE than the HDB upgraders, so definitely not skewed towards my investment strategy.

I have the impression that for higher price landed properties, for example GCB, it is from 1 foreign-born Singaporean to another foreign-born Singaporean. So those local born Singaporean also no chance to make the news.

but do u agree with me tat ppty resale prices will priced in the COE component? it will actually cause the resale ppty prices to spike up....:tsk-tsk:

as for GCBs....i am ok with tat....for eg. Jet Li convert to singaporean to buy GCB....fair and square.....:D

BUT i really hate it when PR and even foreigners r allowed to buy 999/FH LANDED!!! they convert to singaporean to buy...i got nothing to say.....but nvr convert and yet BUY....:doh: :doh: :doh:

14-03-11, 13:21
devil/ay123/phantom/hopefule/etc: you all fell for his trick ;) he ENJOYs talking politics. he really had a good time. he managed to make this look like hardwarezone. and he has really no clue on economics. he just enjoy sensational political rants, whatever you say. :cool:

so the best way to deal with this is simply stop responding. let him have the last word. no problem. ;)

if not more "breaking news" threads will pop up :doh:

14-03-11, 13:24
devil/ay123/phantom/hopefule/etc: you all fell for his trick ;) he ENJOYs talking politics. he really had a good time. he managed to make this look like hardwarezone. and he has really no clue on economics. he just enjoy sensational political rants, whatever you say. :cool:

so the best way to deal with this is simply stop responding. let him have the last word. no problem. ;)

ya hor....so for the benefit of everybody(excluding wenqing's fan if he has any), i will try not respond to his thread:D :cheers6: ....but u noe...smtimes too bored wor...haha:ashamed1:

14-03-11, 13:35

u say measures not working bcoz price din drop.....so i repeat myself again tat cooling measure r not to cause the price to drop....

forgive him......he is an old man:D

14-03-11, 13:53
but do u agree with me tat ppty resale prices will priced in the COE component? it will actually cause the resale ppty prices to spike up....:tsk-tsk:

I don't know. This property COE system maybe like HDB new flats.
Where first time HDB buyer enjoy subsidies and hefty gains as compared to resale flat buyers.
Perhaps prices might shoot up and first time private property buyers can earn extraordinary profits, just like new HDB buyers.
You may be right. Buy cheap doesnt necesarrily sell cheap.

So government scholars need to fine tune the system. I only possess NTU pass with merit :ashamed1:

AK47
14-03-11, 14:14
I am happy if the cooling measures slow the price increase. Instead of 10%-20% a year but to 5-8% a year.

I think thats wat the goverment is doing. To cool or slow the increase but not to reverse it. It has always been the analysts that are intepretating the reaction or consequence after each measure. We know how "reliable" some of them can be...

Impossible to do with one big one, unless you calibrate the rise with several controlled cooling measures.

14-03-11, 14:43
5th cooling measure likely to be a tweaking of the CPF OA. Second property can only use up to 80% of the amount in the CPF OA, monthly loan repayment from CPF for second property cap at $XXX with the rest in cash.

Something like that, I think.

14-03-11, 15:26
RUMOR has it that 5th cooling measure will come in April. It will disallow multiple property ownership and in retrospect. That means people who currently own multiple properties registered under personal name and not company can keep only one and dispose of all the rest within 18 months. There will no more be such thing as 70% or 60% loan - all default first (and only) private loan will be 50% only. Private buyers using CPF - need to set aside minimum sum for even the first property. SSD will be over 5 year period starting with 50%, 40%, 30%, 20%, 10%.

HDB remains at 80% for first loan. HDB owner cannot ever own private property - means current owners need to dispose of any private property within 18 months as well.

Remember - RUMOR has it.

Quite a joke to believe this rumor.

First, if people with mulitple properties must dispose their 2nd, 3rd, 4th, etc properties, there must be buyers and base on this rule, only 1st time buyers and foreigners are eligible. Usually, 1st time buyers are young couples and up to 80% of them do not have the capital to get a condo (which are the investor's 2nd, 3rd, 4th, etc properties).

Second, some of these investment properties are MM which may not meet the requirements of the vast majority of start up families who are looking to expand their family size with kids come along.

Third, after the slew of cooling measures with high seller's stamp duties, does it mean that these group of people who bought the properties after Jan's measures are forced to sell within the next 18 mths so they are forced to pay govt the SSD (ridiculous) (everything also govt say). Can just say govt force everybody who owns 2 or more properties must sell these properties back to govt at half price.

Fourth, curtailing multiple property ownership would simply dampen the property market so much that it might tilt the scale to the other extreme which the govt had also time and again stressed that they cannot afford to do so. Foreign investments would be severely slashed.

Fifth, most of these investment properties are tenanted. If only first timers (both locals and foreigners are eligible to buy), only those who can afford to wait or those who are staying with parents (or relatives) can buy and again this number in the buyer's market is pretty small. In conclusion, many sellers who are mandated to release these properties will find it ridiculously hard to sell. Prices will plummet coz all rushing to sell then what they get for the units is less than what is required to redeem their mortgage. Next housing crisis will start in S'pore. Election coming leh... How ever will the govt allow this to happen.

Whoever started this rumor either has nothing better to do or is a secret mole in the govt sector.... but thx for the juicy food for thought.

wenqing
14-03-11, 15:33

It is ok if you do not understand reality and truth.

I forgive you.

:doh: :doh: :doh:

wenqing
14-03-11, 15:34

Ohhhhh, you are so inciteful and wise.

Like that you can also link.

Besides, nothing wrong with discussing politics anytime and anywhere.

People in advanced nations discussed politics all the time as it affect their lives all the time. It makes them knowledgeable.

You should not pour cold water on politics, Singapore is no longer in 1980s.

Fleur
14-03-11, 16:37
How about a rule that says that HDB sellers can only sell back to HDB and the sale price is the previous buying price including reasonable inflation rate?

14-03-11, 16:40
How about a rule that says that HDB sellers can only sell back to HDB and the sale price is the previous buying price including reasonable inflation rate?

This is against asset enhancement program in 1992 .. will never happen ... as your HDB is supposed to at least outperform CPF OA over long term ... your flat can be monetized at old age for retirement purpose :tsk-tsk:

Due to high inflation over the last few years, PAP is ok for high HDB resale prices now but just want to control such that price growth is under control.

AK47
14-03-11, 17:02
I heard from a friend's friend that his uncle's sister friend work as a secretary for MBT.

I think MBT not happy with the high bid price recently at Bishan. She said she heard him shouting at Liew over the phone and bang table somemore say he bid so high sabo him.

She also heard something about banning foreigner from OCR and RCR from developer sale. Can buy only completed property. Want to teach him a lesson.

O yea, also he might want to raise LTV to 50% too.

:spliff:

14-03-11, 17:03
I heard from a friend's friend that his uncle's sister friend work as a secretary for MBT.

I think MBT not happy with the high bid price recently at Bishan. She said she heard him shouting at Liew over the phone and bang table somemore say he bid so high sabo him.

She also heard something about banning foreigner from OCR and RCR from developer sale. Can buy only completed property. Want to teach him a lesson.

very entertaining:cheers6:

Fleur
14-03-11, 17:39
This is against asset enhancement program in 1992 .. will never happen ... as your HDB is supposed to at least outperform CPF OA over long term ... your flat can be monetized at old age for retirement purpose :tsk-tsk:

Due to high inflation over the last few years, PAP is ok for high HDB resale prices now but just want to control such that price growth is under control.

Well,mbt said that before. If he dared to say publicly, may have some truth to it. Afterall, HDB owners are actually just lessees.

14-03-11, 17:44

How many secretaries does MBT have?
You just revealed state secret :scared-1:

I heard from friend's friend that the his auntie's brother who work as coffee boy for MBT.
The coffee boy just told his auntie who told his friend who then told his friend that the secretary got fired. :D

14-03-11, 17:47
Well,mbt said that before. If he dared to say publicly, may have some truth to it. Afterall, HDB owners are actually just lessees.

Prior to 1992, property price low, CPF rate high, after that, CPF allowed to be used for property investment, property cheong, CPF OA miserable 2.5% rate.

Prior to 1992, CPF responsible to grow your $ to fight inflation, after 1992, it is your call :D

And very soon, even CPF SA going to peg with 10y bond, no more guaranteed 4% :beats-me-man:

wenqing
14-03-11, 17:48
How many secretaries does MBT have?
You just revealed state secret :scared-1:

I heard from friend's friend that the his auntie's brother who work as coffee boy for MBT.
The coffee boy just told his auntie who told his friend who then told his friend that the secretary got fired. :D

This thread is getting funny lol.

Lots of spoofs.

Feel free to add on.

:cool1: :cool1: :cool1:

cheongster
14-03-11, 20:25
Haha i like that, these rumors as posted by mcmlxxvi looks made-up...ridiculous

Originally Posted by mcmlxxvi
RUMOR has it that 5th cooling measure will come in April. It will disallow multiple property ownership and in retrospect. That means people who currently own multiple properties registered under personal name and not company can keep only one and dispose of all the rest within 18 months.

15-03-11, 00:25
laws cannot be retroactive

Remember - RUMOR has it.

15-03-11, 08:32
rumour has it that all employee pay will be cut by half to cool the property market :scared-4:...... :D so fun to tok nonsense here.... rumour has it...

15-03-11, 09:12
This is from MBT ex coffeeboy. He was fired not soon after the secretary.

A few times when he put coffee at MBT's desk, he saw MBT reading and posting on Condosingapore. Didn't notice what nick is MBT using because he didnt think it was important at that time.

The ex-coffeeboy also hear MBT telling BCA not to approve of any plans until the election, so even if developer buy high, they cannot launch high high until after election, want to teach developers a lesson.

Also, he also saw LHL slapped MBT because government revenue drop. So bonus for ranking PAP members not as high as budgetted, he overheard something like 100% increase. Quite a number of members supposedly quite unhappy. The Pres was supposed to get $6mil, instead only receive $4mil.

Lastly before he was fired, he overheard MBT conferring with his inner council about Measures No.8 in 2013. (Wah, planned so far ahead :scared-1:). Cooling measures No.8 goes like this.

Removal of measures No. 1 to No. 7. The thinking goes like this. No.1 to No. 7 failed inspite of scare tactics. So MBT mentioned about reading somebody called Stalingrad about thinking out of the box in Condosingapore forum. So for measure No.8, will use reverse psychology to curb the prices. No more cooling measures.

Don't know the above true or not. Can trust words of a coffeeboy meh? Furthermore that coffeeboy also FT, not Singaporean :doh:
Rumours has it....

15-03-11, 09:30
Rumor tat the radioactive cloud is soon to arrive in Singapore :scared-1:

Antz621
15-03-11, 11:16
I think at the rate that we are going, we need to move this thread to HWZ EDMW section.:)

15-03-11, 11:34
Rumor tat the radioactive cloud is soon to arrive in Singapore :scared-1:

some say wind blowing towards us from japan in the afternoon.....philippines may kena....den followed by us.....buy mask now?

15-03-11, 11:40
some say wind blowing towards us from japan in the afternoon.....philippines may kena....den followed by us.....buy mask now?

relax, you can check with your favorite insurers whether premium for 36 critical illness including cancer up or not.
if premium up, then start worrying and start buying. ;)

you know where they get uranium ore from? Australia. Australia is nearer to us than Japan. and so far, Australians are quite healthy.
If radioactive particles are dispersed over wide area, the radiation won't be so high.

if worry somemore, start to buy lead-line apron. will block the radiation from affecting the reproductive organs and fertility level will be maintained.

extremme
15-03-11, 13:22
this thread is so farni... very good entertainment during working hrs hahaha

15-03-11, 14:28

See lah... buy penthouse units lah...

wenqing
23-03-11, 01:16
Anymore Urban Legends to tell ??

:D :D :D