View Full Version : THOMSON GRAND - Jalan Tambur (Upper Thomson Rd), By Luxury Green Development Pte Ltd

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5

22-07-11, 14:52
won't lah. they may be snobbish but since they advertise big big, they should expect pple in tshirt, jeans, bermudas to go right? :)

If visit the showflat wear tshirt and jeans and no money to buy will kena chased out or not? :o

22-07-11, 15:21
Hard to believe that show flat cost $8 million? Could it be HKD rather than SGD?

22-07-11, 16:02
If visit the showflat wear tshirt and jeans and no money to buy will kena chased out or not? :oThere's only one way to find out!!! :p Well maybe won't be chased out but most likely no agents will volunteer to serve you. You may well float around the showflat without being attended to! :D

wesing
22-07-11, 16:04
There's only one way to find out!!! :p Well maybe won't be chased out but most likely no agents will volunteer to serve you. You may well float around the showflat without being attended to! :D

Like that I like:D

22-07-11, 16:07
quite shiok leh like that. LOL. but normally happens when its preview, crowded and chaotic.

There's only one way to find out!!! :p Well maybe won't be chased out but most likely no agents will volunteer to serve you. You may well float around the showflat without being attended to! :D

22-07-11, 16:10
won't lah. they may be snobbish but since they advertise big big, they should expect pple in tshirt, jeans, bermudas to go right? :)

In my many years doing sales, these r the riches.

22-07-11, 16:13
Never judge a book by its cover. Never judge a flat by its showroom. hehe.

22-07-11, 18:54
precisely.

i am always reminded of the ah pek at an SLA land auction which i attended for 99 year leasehold GCB land in 2007 nov. he kept casually raising the bid till 12m or something going head to head with another competitor. although he ultimately didn't win that piece of land, the memory of him looking and speaking like any other more mortal retirees left a deep impression.

In my many years doing sales, these r the riches.

22-07-11, 19:31
I shall disappear upon my 9999th post before system overload....:ashamed1:

Waaa...really disappeared for 1 week liaoz. :scared-3:

22-07-11, 19:36
more than that, maybe 2 weeks. come on back devilplate, i think its safe, system can take 10,000 posts lah. :)

22-07-11, 22:16
more than that, maybe 2 weeks. come on back devilplate, i think its safe, system can take 10,000 posts lah. :)He go holiday lah... enjoying the fruits of his labor. Maybe just sold a unit so took the money to tour Europe which is really cheap nowadays!!! :p Yes devilplate pls join us real soon after your tour!

22-07-11, 22:34
If tomorrow free will go look see look see this 5-star condo... no $$ never mind... importantly must dress as if go for wedding dinner at Conrad Hotel.. slot a "blank cheque" book in front of chest pocket.....hopefully got cocktail, & other goodies, etc :D

22-07-11, 22:37
go through so much trouble on a saturday? :)

If tomorrow free will go look see look see this 5-star condo... no $$ never mind... importantly must dress as if go for wedding dinner at Conrad Hotel.. slot a "blank cheque" book in front of chest pocket.....hopefully got cocktail, & other goodies, etc :D

22-07-11, 22:44

devilplate=windcar?

22-07-11, 22:45
go through so much trouble on a saturday? :)

Is part of hobby for some of S'porean like me.. nothing to do.. go showflat or go car showroom look see look see.. haha:D

22-07-11, 22:46
I always go wearing Bermudas, t-shirt and sandal. Only once in a blue moon wear jeans...., it's agent loss if I sense they are snobbish....

22-07-11, 22:49
sure. but the trouble of dressing up like wedding dinner? (if that is not your normal sat casual) and deliberately putting a blank cheque? LOL.

Is part of hobby for some of S'porean like me.. nothing to do.. go showflat or go car showroom look see look see.. haha:D

22-07-11, 22:55
wah me too! even Skyline @ Orchard Boulevard one i also only wore jeans. :ashamed1: felt a bit pai seh because although it was a sunday, everyone else there was so well dressed. LOL.

I always go wearing Bermudas, t-shirt and sandal. Only once in a blue moon wear jeans...., it's agent loss if I sense they are snobbish....

22-07-11, 23:07
wah me too! even Skyline @ Orchard Boulevard one i also only wore jeans. :ashamed1: felt a bit pai seh because although it was a sunday, everyone else there was so well dressed. LOL. why wear so nice when u have the bullet$......just wear what I feel relax ma..., no need to shy la...only some of those who have no bullet$ need to hide behind nice clothes ma....:D

22-07-11, 23:15
No more bullet also can wear berms and singlet with slippers down!!! LOL!

22-07-11, 23:22
No more bullet also can wear berms and singlet with slippers down!!! LOL!
Ya, also can...u never know , kena Totot or Big Sweep, bullet$ reload liao.

Agents who look down on sloppy dressing only have themselves to blame!

23-07-11, 00:42
Ya, also can...u never know , kena Totot or Big Sweep, bullet$ reload liao.

Agents who look down on sloppy dressing only have themselves to blame!

So who kena 5 million toto today? Can go buy tomorrow...haa haa. :rolleyes:

23-07-11, 00:45

Haa haa, wait the agent thought u are one of those models to shoot their advertisements.

23-07-11, 00:46
So who kena 5 million toto today? Can go buy tomorrow...haa haa. :rolleyes:
2winners, each $2.5m...Redhill & CCK, can upgrade liao. No need to bring cheque..., bring winning ticket and write NRIC number behind...:D

23-07-11, 01:47
devilplate=windcar?
:tsk-tsk: :tsk-tsk: :tsk-tsk: :p

23-07-11, 01:48
He go holiday lah... enjoying the fruits of his labor. Maybe just sold a unit so took the money to tour Europe which is really cheap nowadays!!! :p Yes devilplate pls join us real soon after your tour!
Haha...

....nothing much to post n kinda busy recently:D

23-07-11, 07:51
Haha...

....nothing much to post n kinda busy recently:DWelcome home! :o

23-07-11, 13:24
Since today's weather is hot.. I'll go down with singlet/short/slipper.. drive my OPC plate Chery QQ.. carry 4 x ntuc plastic bag each with cash $1m (all $50 notes).. I want to view the cluster unit:D

23-07-11, 13:32
Since today's weather is hot.. I'll go down with singlet/short/slipper.. drive my OPC plate Chery QQ.. carry 4 x ntuc plastic bag each with cash $1m (all $50 notes).. I want to view the cluster unit:D
Wear pyjamas better

23-07-11, 14:10
Wear pyjamas better

If I wear pyjamas.. they will redirect me to go view Buangkok View apartment (woodbridge):D

adrianmtsg
23-07-11, 14:25
On weekend, i'm usually in t-shirt and bermudas, somtime jeans. But i dont think any housing agent will judge customer based on what they wear. It is usually over some conversation before they can spot if you are a potential or passerby.

Actually i drove pass it this morning but never go in. 2 full pages in today's paper and a big banner in Thomson plaza advertising...i think this is something rare in D20.

If visit the showflat wear tshirt and jeans and no money to buy will kena chased out or not? :o

23-07-11, 14:33
On weekend, i'm usually in t-shirt and bermudas, somtime jeans. But i dont think any housing agent will judge customer based on what they wear. It is usually over some conversation before they can spot if you are a potential or passerby.
Try going in torn clothes and unkempt hair plus a bit of BO from not bathing for 3 days. :D

23-07-11, 16:53
LKS marketed Thomson 800 with a 10% capital appreciation guarantee for 5 years ie if the price didn't go up by more than 10% at the end of the 5 years, you got back the difference in the market valuation price up to max of 10%. Well they had bad timing for that because at the end of the 5 years was when SARS hit, so we got back 10% of the purchase price in cash. It was an interesting and novel marketing gimmick at the time of their launch but most people thought that the guarantee would never be activated. Unfortunately for them, external factors supervened.

Wonder if they have other novel strategy up their sleeve this time? (also considered a relatively jittery market today).

View of Thomson 800. :D

23-07-11, 22:24

I went in my t-shirt, shorts n slippers. Agent still take me around for viewing. No problem leh.

23-07-11, 22:28
Because they can smell $$$ all over you! ;)

I went in my t-shirt, shorts n slippers. Agent still take me around for viewing. No problem leh.

23-07-11, 22:31
Because they can smell $$$ all over you! ;)

I wish I have the $$$$!!!!!!!! Lol!!!!!!!!

23-07-11, 22:39
so how is the sales?

23-07-11, 22:43
As reported in the papers today... Nearly all 100 units scheduled for launch this year has been snapped up and up to 70% of the strata houses already sold with the highest priced at about $4.4mil. :scared-1:

24-07-11, 01:14
100 units sold. another 100 buyers out there where money is no object. i can see why COE prices are still climbing at these levels.

proper-t
24-07-11, 01:35
Not surprising. As I was driving by today, spotted LTA soiltest for MRT just outside Sin Ming walk. Looks like Thomson line going to be close by.

24-07-11, 06:39
100 units sold. another 100 buyers out there where money is no object. i can see why COE prices are still climbing at these levels.Next month there's gonna be further reduction to the COE quantum so expect COE to soar further and break the $100k mark! :scared-4:

24-07-11, 10:18
Better stay near walking distance home. The cost of owning a car will balloon in future.
Next month there's gonna be further reduction to the COE quantum so expect COE to soar further and break the $100k mark! :scared-4:

testtest
24-07-11, 10:50
CK marketing 101 works very well!!! Others developers should learn from them...

24-07-11, 11:37
Next month there's gonna be further reduction to the COE quantum so expect COE to soar further and break the $100k mark! :scared-4:
Yes.... Better go book ur dream car fast.... It will hit pretty soon.

24-07-11, 11:45
Maybe the high psf is because of future Thomson MRT line. There could be a station at it's doorstep. But I don't like the west-east facing for all high rise units.

24-07-11, 12:17
Maybe the high psf is because of future Thomson MRT line. There could be a station at it's doorstep. But I don't like the west-east facing for all high rise units.

Yeah the chances are good...

24-07-11, 12:46
Is it walking distance?
Yeah the chances are good...

mygeemeel
24-07-11, 13:38
Lease of SICC is ending soon?

24-07-11, 13:38
Is it walking distance?
Hey, subjective, in old days, children walk 10 km to school.

24-07-11, 13:46
Is it walking distance?

Yup I would think so :)

25-07-11, 00:19
Yup I would think so :)

my guess is they need a side gate for a short cut access.

Eldenfirefly
25-07-11, 10:51
I went down over the weekend. Its rather small leh. Except for the master bedroom. Other rooms are all tiny tiny in size. They don't even dare to put in a bed in most of the other bedrooms. They put in a big drumset, (and that fill up the whole room liao), or some cushion sofa and that fills up the whole room also.

And seems like they priced in Thomson line already leh, or is Bishan really so hot now ah? This should definitley be considered OCR right? OCR now cost 1400 psf? :eek:

25-07-11, 10:56
The new MRT stations muz have been leaked months ago to e developer.

25-07-11, 11:09
Or developer just insist the buyers to pay for the gamble and if MRT is near, buyers win if not then buyers lose. In any case, developer sure win! :D

25-07-11, 11:49
The new MRT stations muz have been leaked months ago to e developer.

Not just the developer, but many people also know liao...but who knows LTA can choose to play punk and choose the alternative location :p

27-07-11, 23:36
http://www.h88.com.sg/images/content/2009-09-23/UpperThomsonRd2.jpg

01-08-11, 06:33
Is S$8 million for condo showflat worth it?

By property_guru | Property Blog (http://sg.news.yahoo.com/blogs/property-blog/) – Sat, Jul 30, 2011

tweet (http://sg.news.yahoo.com/_xhr/social/share/?url=http%3A%2F%2Fsg.news.yahoo.com%2Fblogs%2Fproperty-blog%2F8-million-condo-showflat-worth-021529196.html&text=Is%20S%248%20million%20for%20condo%20showflat%20worth%20it%3F%20%7C%20Fit%20to%20Post%20Property%20-%20Yahoo!&via=yahoosg&counturl=http%3A%2F%2Fsg.news.yahoo.com%2Fblogs%2Fproperty-blog%2F8-million-condo-showflat-worth-021529196.html&lang=en&action=retweet)5 (http://twitter.com/search?q=http%3A%2F%2Fsg.news.yahoo.com%2Fblogs%2Fproperty-blog%2F8-million-condo-showflat-worth-021529196.html)
Share (http://sg.news.yahoo.com/_xhr/social/share/?url=http%3A%2F%2Fsg.news.yahoo.com%2Fblogs%2Fproperty-blog%2F8-million-condo-showflat-worth-021529196.html&text=Is%20S%248%20million%20for%20condo%20showflat%20worth%20it%3F%20%7C%20Fit%20to%20Post%20Property%20-%20Yahoo!&action=inshare)
Email (http://mtf.news.yahoo.com/mailto/?prop=news&locale=sg&url=http%3A%2F%2Fsg.news.yahoo.com%2Fblogs%2Fproperty-blog%2F8-million-condo-showflat-worth-021529196.html&title=Is%20S%248%20million%20for%20condo%20showflat%20worth%20it%3F%20%7C%20Fit%20to%20Post%20Property%20-%20Yahoo!)
Print (http://javascript<b></b>:window.print();)

http://l.yimg.com/bt/api/res/1.2/6JmpGOCwFcauuHhS0GHD0w--/YXBwaWQ9eW5ld3M7cT04NTt3PTMxMA--/http://media.zenfs.com/en-SG/blogs/propertyblog/07182011549.jpg (http://mit.zenfs.com/155/2011/07/07182011549.jpg) Take a peek at the S$8 million showflat. (PropertyGuru)

High prices for private homes in Singapore are nothing new. But with an S$8 million showflat and an average unit price of S$1,330 psf, we felt compelled to ask the developer of Thomson Grand: Why?
Located in the Upper Thomson area, Thomson Grand (http://www.propertyguru.com.sg/project/thomson-grand-20696) is Hong Kong property developer, Cheung Kong Holdings Pte Ltd's (CKH) latest Singapore project and since its launch, the response has been overwhelming. PropertyGuru reporter Cheryl Tay sat down with Cannas Ho, sales manager of CKH, and got her to spill the beans on Thomson Grand's unique features, buyer profile and more.

Q. There's been a lot of talk about Thomson Grand's S$8 million show flat. Why spend so much and what's the feedback been like from the public?

A. When we first saw this piece of land, we felt that it was very unique. It has open views of Singapore Island Country Club (SICC) and a lot of greenery. From the beginning, we'd planned to build a luxurious residence here. In order to achieve that, we needed to present it such that it matched the positioning of the product, so we have spent money to build a very grand sales office and showflat. The main purpose is to let potential buyers better understand and visualise what end product they are going to have. We want them to experience living here, even before the building is completed. I think it was worth every cent.

Q.The average price of a unit at Thomson Grand is S$1,330 psf, a high price for a mass market project in Singapore. What's the reason behind this?

A. I'd like to emphasise that this is not a mass market project — the finishes we offer are definitely not those of a mass market project. We have marble flooring, European kitchen appliances, and chandeliers in the bathrooms. So I don't think it's fair to compare Thomson Grand's prices with those of a mass market project. So far, the response has been really good. I don't think it is about whether the price is high or low but whether it reflects the actual value of the product. And (I believe) the market response has confirmed the value of the product.

Q. Thomson Grand's launch may have sold out but the initial weekend's 20 percent take-up rate of units was lower than the average 30 to 35 percent for other recent similar projects. What was the reason for this?

A. When we launched 50 units on the first day of the preview, they were taken up quickly. We then released another 20 units and they were snapped up as well. Of the units released, the take-up rate was 100 percent! Since we are not a big developer in Singapore, we did not plan for all the units to sell out at once. Also, the TOP date for this project is 2015. We are not in a hurry to sell all the units; we just want to meet (the demands of) the market. Then we will release it in batches — our target is to launch 100 units this year. Right now, more than 70 units have been sold and I think we will meet the target. We are very happy with the response so far.

Q. Sales of strata-titled units have been brisk. It's been reported that over half have been sold and the remainder put on reserve. What's the appeal behind them?

A. I think the homes themselves are very appealing. Traditionally, the Thomson area is known for having a lot of landed properties (http://www.propertyguru.com.sg/singapore-property-listing/property-for-sale/landed-houses/1http:/www.propertyguru.com.sg/singapore-property-listing/property-for-sale/landed-houses/1). However, the difference in this (development) is we have a clubhouse and very good security. So the facilities are much better than (those of) landed houses.

http://l.yimg.com/bt/api/res/1.2/rKV00u4x7N9e0tbTQjFpkg--/YXBwaWQ9eW5ld3M7cT04NTt3PTE5MA--/http://media.zenfs.com/en-SG/blogs/propertyblog/07182011559.jpg (http://mit.zenfs.com/155/2011/07/07182011559.jpg)

Q. What's the buyer profile of Thomson Grand? How many are locals and foreigners? Where are the foreign investors coming from?

A. The profile is quite interesting — over 70 percent of the buyers are locals (from) nearby (estates). We have talked to both agents and buyers; they like the product and feel that it is very difficult to find a similar project on the market, even in prime districts such as the CBD. About 30 percent of buyers are from overseas, including Malaysia, Indonesia, Thailand, UK and mainland China. In fact, nearly half of the foreign buyers are from China.

Q. Before the launch of Thomson Grand, there had been no new condominium launches in the Upper Thomson area. Was there any worry that this might affect sales?

A. No, in fact this actually helped sales! Because there had been no new projects in the area for many years, there was high demand. Residents in this area are looking for new developments and I think the lack of such offerings attracted buyers to Thomson Grand.

Q. Private residential sales volumes in Singapore have been slowing down recently. What do you attribute this trend to?

A. In the past six months, sales have slowed down a bit. However, we believe the economic fundamentals are very good, as interest rates are low and that in the second half of the year, sales will pick up because of this. Over the past few months, property seekers have been more cautious because of global economic uncertainty. As such, they have had to view more showflats and take more time to make their decision. But they have purchasing power and they will surely invest. I think in the next few months, sales will pick up again and the overall volume could be similar to last year.

Q. Cheung Kong only has a handful of property developments in Singapore. Any plans for more residential or commercial projects here?

A. We are always looking for opportunities here (in Singapore). We study the land supply in the area and target residential, grade A office and other types of commercial property. Our goal is to build a landmark project in the area. We are not a big developer in Singapore, so when we plan any land acquisition, we always look for the best and most unique location, such as Upper Thomson, which boasts grand views. We always look for good land with good prospects for luxurious landmarks, just like what we have done with Marina Bay Residences (http://www.propertyguru.com.sg/project/marina-bay-residences-70), Marina Bay Financial Centre (http://www.commercialguru.com.sg/) and The Vision in West Coast. Every time we have a new concept, we build luxurious property (http://www.propertyguru.com.sg/) and set a new benchmark in that area.

01-08-11, 08:38
The rate of cost recovery will help defray the cost of the showroom a little quicker than the norm.

01-08-11, 09:05
based on what she said ...

does it mean that if they spend loads of money to build a LUXURIOUS condo in say Marseiling ...since there hasnt been any high end condo there at all ... then it will NOT BE MASS MKT ?

01-08-11, 13:29

does it mean that if they spend loads of money to build a LUXURIOUS condo in say Marseiling ...since there hasnt been any high end condo there at all ... then it will NOT BE MASS MKT ?
You have to look at her HK parentage. CK is known to be able to create *different* segments within the *same* locality in HK. It's trying the same here. HK is a *very* snobbish society (no offense to any HKers here.. hey I have relatives there). Such segmentation within the same locality works. In HK, CK (and SHK) projects are always differentiated from the others, as being "grander", "higher class". Such concept works so far. In SG, the concept of "I'm higher class than you even if I live in the same area, my place is grander" has just been tested at the Vision. And it seemed to work. So he sees snobbishness also sells in SG market. Therefore "let's do it again".

01-08-11, 14:10
Ai ya, developer just want to earn as much $ as possible. Anyway, market paint the same picture. So many units snapped up. Of course she can talk big now.

01-08-11, 14:42
You have to look at her HK parentage. CK is known to be able to create *different* segments within the *same* locality in HK. It's trying the same here. HK is a *very* snobbish society (no offense to any HKers here.. hey I have relatives there). Such segmentation within the same locality works. In HK, CK (and SHK) projects are always differentiated from the others, as being "grander", "higher class". Such concept works so far. In SG, the concept of "I'm higher class than you even if I live in the same area, my place is grander" has just been tested at the Vision. And it seemed to work. So he sees snobbishness also sells in SG market. Therefore "let's do it again".

if Vision is sold at 2-3k psf than i say it is tested, truth is vision is sold at 1k psf which is nothing to crow about ~

01-08-11, 15:36
truth is vision is sold at 1k psf which is nothing to crow about ~ vision sold out at 1k whereas its immediate neighbour was only doing 6xxpsf. I think it's tested. snobbishness sells.

2k psf ? come on, u r exaggerating. the key of selling on snobbishness is that: it still must be within reach. The key is to make you feel superior and yet just within your affordability limit.

01-08-11, 15:37
At least they don't build 320 sq ft and sell you at 2k psf.

if Vision is sold at 2-3k psf than i say it is tested, truth is vision is sold at 1k psf which is nothing to crow about ~

01-08-11, 15:39
Purely from the snob perspective: Next time your friend asks you where you live, would you rather reply "Upper Thomson" or "Nassim"? If your reply is "Upper Thomson", don't forget to stress "Thomson Grand" hor.

But then, 10 years from now, nobody will remember what is Thomson Grand all about, but Nassim will always remain a prestigious address.

01-08-11, 15:43
Agree. 2k is going too far. Might as well say 6k psf record in Singapore history.

vision sold out at 1k whereas its immediate neighbour was only doing 6xxpsf. I think it's tested. snobbishness sells.

2k psf ? come on, u r exaggerating. the key of selling on snobbishness is that: it still must be within reach. The key is to make you feel superior and yet just within your affordability limit.

01-08-11, 15:46
But they will be staying in a much nicer home for 10 years. Of course, they won't have a prestigious address and that is why it is 1330 psf rather than 3110 psf. CK also clever. Spend a bit more on showflat (can reuse somemore), spend 100 psf more on each unit and sell you 500 psf more. If it is sell-able, then they will continue this strategy. Vision also same outcome.

Purely from the snob perspective: Next time your friend asks you where you live, would you rather reply "Upper Thomson" or "Nassim"? If your reply is "Upper Thomson", don't forget to stress "Thomson Grand" hor.

But then, 10 years from now, nobody will remember what is Thomson Grand all about, but Nassim will always remain a prestigious address.

01-08-11, 16:00
But they will be staying in a much nicer home for 10 years. Of course, they won't have a prestigious address and that is why it is 1330 psf rather than 3110 psf. CK also clever. Spend a bit more on showflat (can reuse somemore), spend 100 psf more on each unit and sell you 500 psf more. If it is sell-able, then they will continue this strategy. Vision also same outcome.

But, look at their adverts. Aren't they selling prestige, next to SICC and all?

01-08-11, 16:10
In truth, this project appeals to a different class of people, those who likes the quietness and serenity this location offers, as opposed to the more noisy and happening city area. There are those who can afford $5k psf for huge units but decides to stay where it is maybe less convenient but certainly more quiet but must meet basic standards of deco and condo prestige which matches his status, so TG fits that every well. This is a precedence which will spill over to the new launch at Bishan... :p Here $1400 psf, there will maybe hit average $1600 psf. :spliff:

masterkey
01-08-11, 16:10
vision sold out at 1k whereas its immediate neighbour was only doing 6xxpsf. I think it's tested. snobbishness sells.

Agreed. People without budget limit do NOT need to feel superior. They ARE superior.

01-08-11, 16:18

correct, but wat does Vision's 1k psf get u in terms of fittings and finishing etc? likewise wat does thomson grand comes with? so wheres the snob appeal? it is just priced high thats all

2k psf on the other hand is quite justifiable if developer throws in the best of the best in design, fittings, finishing, facilties etc.. then u have snob appeal & can say this is truly a luxurious development albeit at a non-prime location. but u see the developer doesnt dare to try this haha

put it another way, say u buy a 3 room HDB for $200k and then spent another $400k on renovation and best finishings possible. i bet it will be the most luxurious HDB ever.. & is there snob appeal? i am inclined to think so :D

01-08-11, 16:25
A. I'd like to emphasise that this is not a mass market project — the finishes we offer are definitely not those of a mass market project. We have marble flooring, European kitchen appliances, and chandeliers in the bathrooms. So I don't think it's fair to compare Thomson Grand's prices with those of a mass market project
not enough ?

marketing must look at the target audience. if one cannot tell the difference between a birkin and a kelly, then there is no need to promote kelly at all. LV is enough.

actually my main point is: in SG, snob appeal sells.

01-08-11, 16:31
correct, but wat does Vision's 1k psf get u in terms of fittings and finishing etc? likewise wat does thomson grand comes with? so wheres the snob appeal? it is just priced high thats all

2k psf on the other hand is quite justifiable if developer throws in the best of the best in design, fittings, finishing, facilties etc.. then u have snob appeal & can say this is truly a luxurious development albeit at a non-prime location. but u see the developer doesnt dare to try this haha

put it another way, say u buy a 3 room HDB for $200k and then spent another $400k on renovation and best finishings possible. i bet it will be the most luxurious HDB ever.. & is there snob appeal? i am inclined to think so :D

You can have the best and most expensive fittings in an apartment in Geylang Lor24, can you feel snobbish about it? I am not sure.

On the other hand, you can certainly feel snobbish about living in the most sparsely furnished and fitted basic apartment in Nassim.

01-08-11, 16:50
You can have the best and most expensive fittings in an apartment in Geylang Lor24, can you feel snobbish about it? I am not sure.

On the other hand, you can certainly feel snobbish about living in the most sparsely furnished and fitted basic apartment in Nassim.

So end of day still is location and address lor. hence commence of OCR vs CCR argument.

other than finishing, i think if one wants to claim prestige and grand, the rooms should not be sized for hobbits. SPACE AND FINISHING. 3 bedroom 1800 sqft with high end finishing is grand in my opinion. Not put few stabs of marble and 1 chandler in toilet = grand.

01-08-11, 20:05

On the other hand, you can certainly feel snobbish about living in the most sparsely furnished and fitted basic apartment in Nassim.If location is the first requirement for class and snob, then TG already lose out in it therefore they opted for the second requirement, which is finishing which they did pretty well so yes, its classy in the same district, not cross districts! :D

01-08-11, 21:34
It's all down to the basic ego of bragging rights. Only that many people can afford an address at Nassim. So for those who can't, and want a location of their second choice, they'll just choose a place that they are very familiar with, and get a premium fitted apartment.

01-08-11, 23:06

haha true also.. geylang is tough :D

15-08-11, 18:41
108 sold in July ! See I told u snob appeal always works. ;)

15-08-11, 21:33
How's the sale coming along in August?

15-08-11, 23:27
108 sold in July ! See I told u snob appeal always works. ;)
And repent for 10yrs....whahahaha

The townhse got higher chance of survival as psf is pretty low. Euhabitat townhse selling for 900psf! Big big mispricing for tat project as their normal units r selling for 9xxpsf only! :scared-1:

Those who bot the townhse at the vision, congrats to u;)

However, clustered housing is totally different ball game! Bcoz foreigners r not eligible and singaporeans wud prefer true landed over clustered!

16-08-11, 06:57
So end of day still is location and address lor. hence commence of OCR vs CCR argument.

other than finishing, i think if one wants to claim prestige and grand, the rooms should not be sized for hobbits. SPACE AND FINISHING. 3 bedroom 1800 sqft with high end finishing is grand in my opinion. Not put few stabs of marble and 1 chandler in toilet = grand.
How about Interlace? This I must say is one of the better projects...it's more than grand:D :D

15-09-11, 13:04
this thread has been so quiet since the initial hoo-ha.

14 more sold in aug at 1314psf median.

15-11-11, 13:44
THOMSON GRAND 17 Sin Ming Walk #11-08 1 126 Strata 1,560,941 12388 1151 31-OCT-2011 Condominium 99 Yrs From 08/02/2010 Uncompleted New Sale Private 20 57 573913 Central Region Bishan

Cheap??

Jcmillineum
19-11-11, 14:06
THOMSON GRAND 17 Sin Ming Walk #11-08 1 126 Strata 1,560,941 12388 1151 31-OCT-2011 Condominium 99 Yrs From 08/02/2010 Uncompleted New Sale Private 20 57 573913 Central Region Bishan

Cheap??

Not cheap at all buddy.....I'd rather The Meadows, free hold and not beside the temple...

19-11-11, 14:08
Not cheap at all buddy.....I'd rather The Meadows, free hold and not beside the temple...

1.5mil i will buy East Coast resale...kekeke

CondoExpert.sg
12-12-11, 13:48
Thomson Grand @ Upper Thomson (District 20)

(Visit www.CondoExpert.sg (http://www.condoexpert.sg/) or call Jonathan @ 8100-8004 for more information!)

http://www.condoexpert.sg/wp-content/uploads/2011/06/Thomson-Grand-Facade.jpg

Summary

Developer : Luxury Green Development Pte Ltd (Chueng Kong Group)
Est. TOP : End 2015
District : 20 (Upper Thomson)
Est. Quantum Price : From $1.3+ Mil Up
No. Of Towers : 9
Tenure : 99 Years
No. Of Storey : 20
Site Area : 224,314 sqft
No. Of Units : 361
Main Orientation : North-east/ South-west
Units Composition : 2,3,4 Bedrooms
Distance to MRT : Marymount MRT
Buyers Eligibility : Locals/PRs/Foreigners
Payment Scheme : Normal Progressive
Primary Schools within 1km : Ai Tong Primary School

Unit Types and Sizes

(No. of Units - Size (sqft))

2 Bedrooms
108 - 904 to 1044

3 Bedrooms
170 - 1347 to 1421

4 Bedrooms
34 - 1658 to 1733

3 Bedrooms Garden unit
10 - 1507 to 1765

4 Bedrooms Garden unit
2 - 2067 to 2099

3 Bedrooms Penthouse
10 - 1572 to 1647

4 Bedrooms Penthouse
5 - 1787 to 2314

4 Bedrooms + 1 Family Room (Strata)
20 - 5102 to 5447

4 Bedrooms + 1 Family Room (Strata)
2 - 6135 to 6566

Total Units : 349

Facilities

Basement Carpark
Swimming Pool
Lap Pool and Spa Pool
Multi-purpose Hall
Massage and Spa Room
Floating Island Deck Clubhouse
Jacuzza
Golf Simulator
Children Play Area
Putting Green
Themes Garden Gymnasium
Club Lounge
Waterslide
Sun Deck
Meditation Deck
Reflexology Corner

Clubhouse

http://www.condoexpert.sg/wp-content/uploads/2011/06/Thomson-Grand-CLubhouse.jpg

Swimming Pool

http://www.condoexpert.sg/wp-content/uploads/2011/06/Thomson-Grand-Pool.jpg

Lounge

http://www.condoexpert.sg/wp-content/uploads/2011/06/Thomson-Grand-Clubhouse-2.jpg

Street Map

http://www.condoexpert.sg/wp-content/uploads/2011/06/Thomson-Grand-Street-Map1.jpg

Visit www.CondoExpert.sg (http://www.condoexpert.sg/) or call Jonathan @ 8100-8004 for more information on Thomson Grand as well as for other new launch condos!

15-12-11, 12:12
another 23 units sold at median price of 1269psf. cleared the 50% of project sold mark.

15-12-11, 12:18
another 23 units sold at median price of 1269psf. cleared the 50% of project sold mark.See how they settle the remaining 50%.. :)

16-12-11, 07:34
See how they settle the remaining 50%.. :)

They just take their time to build and slowly sell as they are not subjected to the 5 year completion rule. Inflation is their friend and maybe some CMs will be removed. Next two progressive payments are only slated at the end of 2012 and 2013, probably done with CM 4 in mind.

27-12-11, 21:01
Interesting story near this development. :p
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ang_Mo_Kio#Folklore_about_the_name_Ang_Mo_Kio

30-12-11, 06:20
Interesting story near this development. :p
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ang_Mo_Kio#Folklore_about_the_name_Ang_Mo_KioInteresting indeed... me stayed in AMK for more than 10 years but never know about this... maybe the voice of the girl can still be heard along Upper Thomson Rd... :scared-3: Thomson G and Meadows @ P... ;)

lufu
05-03-12, 22:48
this thread has gone quiet since early launch. attracted to Thomson Grand by the Private Lift feature.

but the psf looks high. agent kept saying this is not a MM but luxury product and therefore the high quantum.

I said i will consider...

05-03-12, 23:20
Anyway nowadays HDB after lift upgrading is almost like private lift liaoz haa haa... My aunt's 4 room flat 1 lift 2 units per floor. :p

lufu
06-03-12, 11:37
Anyway nowadays HDB after lift upgrading is almost like private lift liaoz haa haa... My aunt's 4 room flat 1 lift 2 units per floor. :p

The major difference being every Tom dick and Harry could go up to your Aunty's floor. haha...

Went to a friend's place Keppel at Caribbean. They don't even close or lock the main door because once You step out of the lift the entire place is their house.

06-03-12, 21:53
By hdb standards, 2 units per life landing is pretty exclusive as it is.

07-03-12, 06:43
By hdb standards, 2 units per life landing is pretty exclusive as it is.

Many of the HDBs in the nearby blocks to Thomson Grand will also have 2 flats per floor after lift upgrading as they are door-to-door units.

07-03-12, 07:24
Many of the HDBs in the nearby blocks to Thomson Grand will also have 2 flats per floor after lift upgrading as they are door-to-door units.

Yup those door to door units are the bigger beneficiaries of this lift upgrading programme.

07-03-12, 21:26
THOMSON GRAND SIN MING WALK Condominium 1 1,610,000 1,356 Strata 1,187psf Feb-12
prices softening? :scared-2:

07-03-12, 22:31
THOMSON GRAND SIN MING WALK Condominium 1 1,610,000 1,356 Strata 1,187psf Feb-12
same quantum as a 3 bedder watertown:cool:

07-03-12, 22:32
More expensive fittings this one.

lufu
11-03-12, 09:07

Probably low floor? there were another 2 recent caveats

THOMSON GRAND SIN MING WALK Condominium 1 1,849,650 1,367 Strata 1,353 Feb-12
THOMSON GRAND SIN MING WALK Condominium 1 1,712,131 1,356 Strata 1,262 Feb-12

11-03-12, 09:21
Probably low floor? there were another 2 recent caveats

THOMSON GRAND SIN MING WALK Condominium 1 1,849,650 1,367 Strata 1,353 Feb-12
THOMSON GRAND SIN MING WALK Condominium 1 1,712,131 1,356 Strata 1,262 Feb-12

1350psf doesn't look like low floor.

11-03-12, 09:42
$1,500psf for Upper Thomson area.. 99-yrs LH.. Very Nice! :D

THOMSON GRAND SIN MING WALK Condominium 2,521,200 1,679sf 1,501 psf Sep 2011

11-03-12, 16:24

This one probably just below penthouse. So high the psf.

11-03-12, 21:42

I am not sure why people always like to use the highest psf price as yardstick instead of using average psf.

For TG, the average psf (excluding terrace house) is around $1280 with average unit size of 1390sqft. If we include the terrace houses, average psf will be around $1050psf.

11-03-12, 21:57
I am not sure why people always like to use the highest psf price as yardstick instead of using average psf.

For TG, the average psf (excluding terrace house) is around $1280 with average unit size of 1390sqft. If we include the terrace houses, average psf will be around $1050psf.Even using average also have discrepancies. Some use mean, some use medium.. some use v strange way of calculation... hmmm... no one size fits all, I guess...

11-03-12, 22:06

This is not the highest psf.

11-03-12, 23:10
did the developer jack up the price and give discounts? or give voucher which is not factored into the coveat price?

11-03-12, 23:24
Because the average always seem to be the starting from price. Either go foe medium at psf range, that would be better.

11-03-12, 23:31
....any chance for asking discount >3% :p

11-03-12, 23:32
Not lowest floor:
THOMSON GRAND 25 Sin Ming Walk #08-16 1 126 Strata 1,712,131 13588 1262 21-FEB-2012 Condominium 99 Yrs From 08/02/2010 Uncompleted New Sale HDB 20 57 573917 Central Region Bishan
THOMSON GRAND 21 Sin Ming Walk #19-12 1 127 Strata 1,849,650 14564 1353 21-FEB-2012 Condominium 99 Yrs From 08/02/2010 Uncompleted New Sale Private 20 57 573915 Central Region Bishan
THOMSON GRAND 21 Sin Ming Walk #09-12 1 126 Strata 1,610,000 12778 1187 06-FEB-2012 Condominium 99 Yrs From 08/02/2010 Uncompleted New Sale Private 20 57 573915 Central Region Bishan
THOMSON GRAND 21 Sin Ming Walk #10-12 1 126 Strata 1,648,940 13087 1216 28-DEC-2011 Condominium 99 Yrs From 08/02/2010 Uncompleted New Sale Private 20 57 573915 Central Region Bishan

To be honest psf seems low but their unit size not MM. Similar quantum you can buy FH rivervalley

12-03-12, 00:42
This is not the highest psf.

yah you are right. 1501psf is not the highest, 1564psf is. But does it really make much of a difference as to how misleading to always talk about TG at this price range, when terrace houses in the same development are going at
$650psf.

12-03-12, 00:45
Even using average also have discrepancies. Some use mean, some use medium.. some use v strange way of calculation... hmmm... no one size fits all, I guess...

regardless of which method, the averaging discrepancy cannot be off by a few hundred psf.

lufu
12-03-12, 10:06
....any chance for asking discount >3% :p
Saw their advertisement on Saturday 10 March

New release and early bird discount. Anyone been there? What is the discount ?

12-03-12, 13:31
..when terrace houses in the same development are going at
$650psf.
wouldn't this make the "average psf" even more misleading ??

as another member put it, there is no "right" number. you choose to see what you choose to see.

for me I pay more attention to the quantum. This project shows there are plenty of HDB buyers capable of paying 1.7m for a decent 3bd. This could be the upper limit of upgraders.

12-03-12, 13:34
1.7m is for the "highest end" hdb upgraders to bishan, toa payoh, tiong bahru. other districts difficult.

as another member put it, there is no "right" number. you choose to see what you choose to see.

for me I pay more attention to the quantum. This project shows there are plenty of HDB buyers capable of paying 1.7m for a decent 3bd. This could be the upper limit of upgraders.

lufu
12-03-12, 14:47

A lot of rich mature estate upgrader at Thomson Grand?
TG luxury marketing works I guess. 300 over units instead of large 700 units EC type condo and build some strata house to help even out the development cost. luxury status to attract mid level Mass Market.

Brilliant.

Just found out the discount level is 3.5% with new stack released. Much lower than the 20 over percent other developers are giving

12-03-12, 15:06
Just found out the discount level is 3.5% with new stack released. Much lower than the 20 over percent other developers are giving
very cute hehehe

12-03-12, 16:44

I disagree, using average pricing is a more accurate way to measure a project instead of using peak or bottom price. As I mentioned before, if I exclude the terrace units in my calculation, the average price of TG is still around 1270psf, which is nowhere close to the 1500+psf that people are talking about.

IIRC when a project goes for en bloc, no one is going care if your unit has got better facing than others, each unit will be paid according to their share value.

I thought majority of the TG buyer are from private address. Where did you get the impression that there are many HDB upgraders buying 1.7m 3 bedder units? source please.

12-03-12, 19:31
A lot of rich mature estate upgrader at Thomson Grand?
TG luxury marketing works I guess. 300 over units instead of large 700 units EC type condo and build some strata house to help even out the development cost. luxury status to attract mid level Mass Market.

Brilliant.

There is another approxi $68k cash voucher... 2-bedder is about $1200 psf+ after all the discounts ($1.1 mil onwards). I think the future MRT station will be nearby in Sin Ming.

lufu
13-03-12, 13:11
The brands for the fixtures are on the propertylaunch website link.

From the floor plan, the units don't look as spacious as the floor areas given would suggest. As mentioned earlier, I wonder if the balconies and private lift lobby eats up the space. Everything looks small - living/dining, bedrooms, tiny bathrooms, tiny kitchen.

I believe the private lift lobby and yes even the lift itself also gets counted towards the floor space. They are shown in individual floor plan

Please correct me if I am wrong but I believe whatever that is shown on plan is inclusive.

lufu
13-03-12, 21:16
I believe the private lift lobby and yes even the lift itself also gets counted towards the floor space. They are shown in individual floor plan

Please correct me if I am wrong but I believe whatever that is shown on plan is inclusive.

The Developer and Agent confirmed. Only the lift lobby is counted towards floor area but not the lift.

Still thinking to myself if this is a good buy :)

14-03-12, 00:15
A 2nd floor 2 bedder can be transformed into a dual key unit with separate exit to the stairs for the "studio". :beats-me-man:

cl0ver
14-03-12, 23:28
there were rumours that some houses along upp thomson were given notice to enblac for the Soo Chow station and Sin Ming station will be next to BishanPark Condo....

15-03-12, 00:00
If this is true, Thomson Grand will be a good buy! :scared-4:

15-03-12, 00:08
Hmm so thomson grand undervalue?

lufu
15-03-12, 09:13
If this is true, Thomson Grand will be a good buy! :scared-4:

Even if it's true. Thomson Line will not ready until 2018 and construction hasn't even started

15-03-12, 14:04
51 more (that's a lot!) sold in feb at 1305psf median.

15-03-12, 14:07
They should say a big thank you to FEO and their watertown. They helped to convince the buyers why they should spend 1300psf on their project.

lufu
15-03-12, 19:21
They should say a big thank you to FEO and their watertown. They helped to convince the buyers why they should spend 1300psf on their project.

Between TG and Watertown which is a better buy?

TG
Private lift
Mid level Mass Market
Developer claim the lobby is a 6 Star Hotel Lobby (unverified)
Developer claim they uses high quality finishing and spectacular club house (unverified)
Sin Ming Station (God know where!!)
Thomson Plaza
Thomson Area
Reservoir and Greenery view

WT
Shopping and Shopping
Waterway
Huge MM development
MRT integrated
Lots of Pool

15-03-12, 20:12
If this is for own stay, and if you really , really, really, have to buy new now,
for me, it will be Thomson Grand.

To me, the Upper Thomson area is a much better location than Punggol. Look around the area , who has more business activities, shops, leisure activities, trees, parks ? Punggol is almost exclusively HDB town, with nothing but only HDB blocks. One shopping center is not going to change its signature.

15-03-12, 20:26
If this is for own stay, and if you really , really, really, have to buy new now,

To me, the Upper Thomson area is a much better location than Punggol. Look around the area , who has more business activities, shops, leisure activities, trees, parks ? Punggol is almost exclusively HDB town, with nothing but only HDB blocks. One shopping center is not going to change its signature.Recent survey revealed that average monthly household income of residents staying in Punggol is about $9000, way above the national average and most matured towns like Bedok. This place has the potential of many HDB upgraders in years to come, if developers would dare to venture. WT is one great example...

Having said that, I'd still prefer TG coz it has that extra feel of class, imo... :cool:

lufu
15-03-12, 20:59

was slightly tempted by the current discount and the unblocked greenery + reservoir view. friend who live there said the air is fresh and windy most times due to the huge nature reserve in the centre part of Singapore all the way to Bt Timah.

but decided against it and hope to see some price correction. 15-20% would be nice.

Hopefully another 51 new investors/flippers just bought in Feb. :)

15-03-12, 21:32
was slightly tempted by the current discount and the unblocked greenery + reservoir view. friend who live there said the air is fresh and windy most times due to the huge nature reserve in the centre part of Singapore all the way to Bt Timah.

but decided against it and hope to see some price correction. 15-20% would be nice.

You need to wait 4 years for those 51.

cl0ver
15-03-12, 21:39
if u must enjoy fresh air and still want FH, just buy Flame Tree then....

15-03-12, 21:53
if u must enjoy fresh air and still want FH, just buy Flame Tree then....

But the lift lobby don't smell new mah. Lol.

17-03-12, 00:23

The unblocked greenery and reservoir view will be nicer than the longkang and swimming pools @ WT. If the speculation for the MRT is correct, it will be a short distance to the MRT. Bishan Park is short walk away. The popular SAP school Ai Tong is within 1 km.

With the prices of the more recent launches, TG is looking like a good buy after all.....at least you don't have to drive through seas and seas of HDBs to get to it.

It is much more central in location than Punggol and the links to other parts of Singapore will be further improved by North-South expressway and the new road cutting through Caldecott parallel to Lornie Road.

insigina
17-03-12, 10:57
The unblocked greenery and reservoir view will be nicer than the longkang and swimming pools @ WT. If the speculation for the MRT is correct, it will be a short distance to the MRT. Bishan Park is short walk away. The popular SAP school Ai Tong is within 1 km.

With the prices of the more recent launches, TG is looking like a good buy after all.....at least you don't have to drive through seas and seas of HDBs to get to it.

It is much more central in location than Punggol and the links to other parts of Singapore will be further improved by North-South expressway and the new road cutting through Caldecott parallel to Lornie Road.

The attributes of TG is getting better by the day. I was quite keen to get a 3 bedder but cannot come to terms with the direct west sun...at one point of the day, the sun will blaze through the entire unit.

17-03-12, 11:15
The golf course cum bkt timah hill view is fantastic. But yes, you need to be able to accept the west sun.

testtest
17-03-12, 11:52
The golf course cum bkt timah hill view is fantastic. But yes, you need to be able to accept the west sun.

west sun is no joke...trust me :(

17-03-12, 13:18
I don't know why they didn't orientate the units North-West instead of direct West. The North-West orientation is still not so bad (like some of the rooms in Flame Tree). Because of the strong winds, it's not as hot as you would expect for those living on high floor. The view of the reservoir and Bukit Timah Hill in the morning will be fantastic. But do note that the traffic noise can be quite intense on the high floor west-facing units too.

17-03-12, 13:31
west sun is no joke...trust me :(

Agree. Try reaching home to an oven. You can try switching on your conventional oven and open it to feel the heat...... it's the same heated air drifting out from the oven.

17-03-12, 15:18
I checked the plans again. The condo units are not directly west-facing. They are north-west, almost north-facing and the other facing is south-east/south. Go look at the plans to double confirm.

Don't be over-awed by the private lift lobby. It is at the expense of toilet/bathroom space. I saw that apart from the master bedroom, there doesn't seem to be another decent bathroom in the 3 and 4 bed units. In fact for the 4 bed units, one of the toilets is in the kitchen. That brings memories of HDB toilets. That is one disappointing feature of the Thomson Grand 3/4 bedders.

stiook
18-03-12, 23:22
The attributes of TG is getting better by the day. I was quite keen to get a 3 bedder but cannot come to terms with the direct west sun...at one point of the day, the sun will blaze through the entire unit.

Compared to those LH OCR projects at the prices done, I rather buy this... but the west sun is a big problem. My old place was northwest facing. For about 6 months in a year, I got sun in half of my rooms... in the hottest month during mid year. Quite terrible then. for the other 6 months, I get only about 25% of the room with the sun shining in and it is slightly better as the weather is cooler these time of the year.

18-03-12, 23:26
True north south facing aso can get partial sun during certain period.....

19-03-12, 12:06
Ya lor. A bit of sun won't die lah. Better to have west sun and nice view than no sun and no view. Might as well stay at dungeon. If so scared of west sun then take west sun lower floors lor. Or invest in curtains. And also I think very few houses is 100% west facing. So if you're more northwest, you will only get the sun half of year if u understand what i mean. Similar for NE and SE.

And if u stay landed, NSEW all kena. And I really think not a big deal. Also unless u stay in those corridor-style condo like a long corridor facing same direction for every room, its unlikely every room window face same direction right? I hate corridor condos - long and narrow.

Frankly, I hate east sun more. I like to sit in balcony and enjoy lazy breakfast during weekend and east sun will not allow that. to each his own. And east sun shine in in the morning when I'm at home lazing around....

Has anyone seen the new Bishan Park with the mud longkang river? Can't believe our government spent S$1 billion on this muddy fake river. Darn ugly - $1 billion for this..... :doh:

True north south facing aso can get partial sun during certain period.....

lufu
19-03-12, 12:32
I checked the plans again. The condo units are not directly west-facing. They are north-west, almost north-facing and the other facing is south-east/south. Go look at the plans to double confirm.

Do you mean the 2 bedroom units or 3 bedroom?
They seem to have different orientation

19-03-12, 14:02
From experience NW better than SW. I had one property that is NW facing. In that unit, only get the sun from Oct - March which is the cooler and rainy/cloudy period of the year. From April - Sep hottest period, my unit doesn't get the sunlight coming in AT ALL. Even in Oct, the sunlight only streams in slightly. My neighbour is SW facing and gets the afternoon sun from April - Sep, i.e. the hottest period.

20-03-12, 20:53
Do you mean the 2 bedroom units or 3 bedroom?
They seem to have different orientation

You're right. I was referring to 2 bedders. They seem to have the best facing. Also well posiitoned to be further away from the main road (and noise that comes with it) and nearer to the potential new MRT which is speculated to be in that empty plot of land beside Bishan Park Sec Sch.

The 2 bedders also seem to have more of a water view as opposed to the 3 bedders which are more westerly facing and have more of a tree and golf course view.

What's the current pricing for 2 bedders? These might have some potential if the MRT does indeed come to fruition in that location. It's quite a nice place to live. A nice jog or walk to Bishan Park. Only bug bear is that I think I remember the maintenance charges are quite high...... :tongue3:

20-03-12, 21:08
Any property don't even need to face West to experience that heat-scorning and releasing experience at night. Any wall of your house that may be subjected to West sun is already hot enough! The air-con must be really powerful to cool the room! (Curtains are just plain useless!). I got real bad experience with these for my previous property and never again will any of my house's wall face the West sun! (not to mention windows!). :doh:
If you are the type that enjoy 24-hours air-con, West sun and good view is good for you. Otherwise, rather have no view than see West sun! :scared-3:

Real funny that it is first time I heard people say hate east sun and like west sun? Never mind, anyway Fengshui theory says "Avoid West sun!". Fengshui is always there regardless of whether you believe or not.... :p

Ya lor. A bit of sun won't die lah. Better to have west sun and nice view than no sun and no view. Might as well stay at dungeon. If so scared of west sun then take west sun lower floors lor. Or invest in curtains. And also I think very few houses is 100% west facing. So if you're more northwest, you will only get the sun half of year if u understand what i mean. Similar for NE and SE.

And if u stay landed, NSEW all kena. And I really think not a big deal. Also unless u stay in those corridor-style condo like a long corridor facing same direction for every room, its unlikely every room window face same direction right? I hate corridor condos - long and narrow.

Frankly, I hate east sun more. I like to sit in balcony and enjoy lazy breakfast during weekend and east sun will not allow that. to each his own. And east sun shine in in the morning when I'm at home lazing around....

Has anyone seen the new Bishan Park with the mud longkang river? Can't believe our government spent S$1 billion on this muddy fake river. Darn ugly - $1 billion for this..... :doh:

20-03-12, 22:11
The westward sicc golf course view is really pretty good.

21-03-12, 00:04
For those who would wish for a preview of the view from TG, can try to visit units in Flame Tree Park. Stacks 4, 5 and 6. The kitchen view from Stack 4 is roughly north-west facing similar to the 2 bedders of TG (can see the reservoirs), Stack 5 faces the SICC golf course and has the west facing, Stack 5 and Stack 6 master bedrooms probably are quite close to the view from the 3 bedders of TG. Need to go to a fairly high floor to appreciate.

21-03-12, 08:18
I think from 15th floor onwards should be good enough.

lufu
24-03-12, 18:47
If the speculation for the MRT is correct, it will be a short distance to the MRT. Bishan Park is short walk away. The popular SAP school Ai Tong is within 1 km.

Just drove pass today, 24 March 2012. There are SI rig at Sin Ming Walk just before turning into Sin Ming Road. near to Bishan Park Sec.

Another SI rig and along Sin Ming Road before the left turn into Sin Ming Walk (Next to Gardens at Bishan). About 200m north of Ai Tong

Sin Ming MRT could indeed be there but of course nothing is confirmed until LTA announces it

Distance from Thomson Grand to Sin Ming Station is probably about 350m if the speculation for the MRT is correct.

I however thinks Cheung Kong has already priced in the possibility of MRT station in their $1400 psf asking price. :doh:

24-03-12, 19:00
Just drove pass today, 24 March 2012. There are SI rig at Sin Ming Walk just before turning into Sin Ming Road. near to Bishan Park Sec.

Another SI rig and along Sin Ming Road before the left turn into Sin Ming Walk (Next to Gardens at Bishan). About 200m north of Ai Tong

Sin Ming MRT could indeed be there but of course nothing is confirmed until LTA announces it

Distance from Thomson Grand to Sin Ming Station is probably about 350m if the speculation for the MRT is correct.

I however thinks Cheung Kong has already priced in the possibility of MRT station in their $1400 psf asking price. :doh:
effective price is lesser than $1400 psf...:D :D

24-03-12, 20:07

Hmmm....I did the measurement using www.onemap.com.sg (http://www.onemap.com.sg) and the distance seems not as short as you think (upwards of 600m if the entrance is on Sin Ming Road. The HDBs at Sin Ming huat-ahh. But few transactions these days.

24-03-12, 20:53
Wonder when is the announcement for the thomson line. There's been a lot of soil test in the area and the suspected sites along the line.

lufu
25-03-12, 06:46
Hmmm....I did the measurement using www.onemap.com.sg (http://www.onemap.com.sg) and the distance seems not as short as you think (upwards of 600m if the entrance is on Sin Ming Road. The HDBs at Sin Ming huat-ahh. But few transactions these days.

400m according to googlemap.

http://maps.google.com.sg/maps?saddr=Sin+Ming+Walk&daddr=Sin+Ming+Ave&hl=en&ll=1.363866,103.832361&spn=0.002703,0.004678&sll=1.36559,103.830519&sspn=0.002703,0.004678&geocode=FfTVFAAdClQwBg%3BFQbOFAAds14wBg&t=h&dirflg=w&mra=dme&mrsp=0&sz=18&z=18

lufu
29-03-12, 09:43
Didn't bite earlier due to the excessively high quantum of $1.99mil. The disc wasn't attractive enough for lower quantum units.
I was also deliberating on the possibility Greece might collapse followed by the entire Euro zone.

Now starting to have renewed interest in this development after looking at Sky Habitat estimated psf and another new parcel further down the road up for sale in June 2012

http://www.hdb.gov.sg/fi10/fi10297p.nsf/ImageView/Bright%20Hill%20Dr%20-%20Main/$file/Bright+Hill+Drive.pdf

Is this project still worth considering...

29-03-12, 12:53
Didn't bite earlier due to the excessively high quantum of $1.99mil. The disc wasn't attractive enough for lower quantum units.
I was also deliberating on the possibility Greece might collapse followed by the entire Euro zone.

Now starting to have renewed interest in this development after looking at Sky Habitat estimated psf and another new parcel further down the road up for sale in June 2012

http://www.hdb.gov.sg/fi10/fi10297p.nsf/ImageView/Bright%20Hill%20Dr%20-%20Main/$file/Bright+Hill+Drive.pdf

Is this project still worth considering...

This plot is sandwich between hdb and thomson view. Don't think it is that great. Thomson view's plot will be good.

29-03-12, 13:08
View from TG will be better than the new plot.

Thomson View has been trying to go en bloc. No takers. I think the quantum too high for most developers to digest. Same for Faber Gardens.

lufu
30-03-12, 09:10
View from TG will be better than the new plot.

Thomson View has been trying to go en bloc. No takers. I think the quantum too high for most developers to digest. Same for Faber Gardens.

Agree, after studying the plot and google map.
TG had better view. The only advantage for this plot is close proximity to Thomson Plaza. Depending on how developer places the layout, some stacks could be obstructed by Thomson View

30-03-12, 09:32
Agree, after studying the plot and google map.
TG had better view. The only advantage for this plot is close proximity to Thomson Plaza. Depending on how developer places the layout, some stacks could be obstructed by Thomson View

It is highly likely there will be a Thomson Line MRT station within walking distance. Might be located opp Thomson Plaza. The release of this plot may be to coincide with announcement of the Thomson Line stations? However I have heard that the fengshui around this area might not be so good. Something to do with the shape of the HDB blocks next door forming a claw-like shape to engulf this area (including Thomson View). If you are into fengshui you might consider to have it checked out by a fengshui master.

lufu
30-03-12, 11:25
It is highly likely there will be a Thomson Line MRT station within walking distance. Might be located opp Thomson Plaza. The release of this plot may be to coincide with announcement of the Thomson Line stations? However I have heard that the fengshui around this area might not be so good. Something to do with the shape of the HDB blocks next door forming a claw-like shape to engulf this area (including Thomson View). If you are into fengshui you might consider to have it checked out by a fengshui master.

Then the fengshui at Thomson Grand should be better? HK people very superstitious including Developer, which in this case is Cheung Kong

stiook
30-03-12, 21:32
This plot is sandwich between hdb and thomson view. Don't think it is that great. Thomson view's plot will be good.

Wah, gahmen is squeezing every bit of land. Next will be the plot beside flame tree park?

30-03-12, 21:39
Wah, gahmen is squeezing every bit of land. Next will be the plot beside flame tree park?Govt bo pian... Singapore is just too small a land... next time we will have basement city.. an entire town located in the basement... :scared-4:

lufu
31-03-12, 18:34
Why does the board says 3rd Quarter 2012 completion when the sales booklet indicates 8 Nov 2015 ?

http://img716.imageshack.us/img716/7213/img1368crop.jpg

Might seriously consider this if this is completed by 3rd Quarter 2012

lufu
31-03-12, 18:54
I answered my own Q.
That date refers to the Completion Date for Piling work.

31-03-12, 20:28
Then the fengshui at Thomson Grand should be better? HK people very superstitious including Developer, which in this case is Cheung Kong

It's not that good either. Have temple on one side and school on the other side. But perhaps the developer have put in some counter-measures against these.

lufu
31-03-12, 21:13
It's not that good either. Have temple on one side and school on the other side. But perhaps the developer have put in some counter-measures against these.

Agent claimed that Developer designed the layout like a fish for good feng-shui.
Strata house facing Thomson Road is the tail-fin of a fish

it probably look like a fish for those who believe. Those who don't, take it as bull**** sales talk only. :D

http://www.h88.com.sg/images/content/2011-06-13/thomsongrand_sitelayout.jpg

31-03-12, 21:50
http://www.h88.com.sg/images/content/2011-06-13/thomsongrand_sitelayout.jpgIt looks like an M16 without the muzzle! :eek:

31-03-12, 22:22
Please ask for more discounts.. Developer giving 10% stamp duty absorption for Foreign buyers

lufu
31-03-12, 22:48
Please ask for more discounts.. Developer giving 10% stamp duty absorption for Foreign buyers

Are you positive? 10%? so little?

I'll try for 24% at least. :D :D :D
Most Developers has 15%+3%+3%+2%+1% etc... in various form/permutation.

31-03-12, 23:12
Are you positive? 10%? so little?

I'll try for 24% at least. :D :D :D
Most Developers has 15%+3%+3%+2%+1% etc... in various form/permutation.

Not sure if the 10% absd absorption is on top of the vip discount

lufu
31-03-12, 23:22
Not sure if the 10% absd absorption is on top of the vip discount

then it would be considered developer fire sale if one can get 24%+10%.
:jaw-dropping:

hahaha... :D :D :D

lufu
02-04-12, 14:51
Is anyone successful recently in getting a discount more than 3.5%?
The current disc is not attractive at all.

Seems like they are holding prices up thinking they are better priced/value compared to Sky Habitat or maybe they are hoping for Sky Habitat to launch and raise their prices.

02-04-12, 19:31
Sky habitat is doing them a big favour. It's all aboit relative perception.

insigina
02-04-12, 19:44
Sky habitat is doing them a big favour. It's all aboit relative perception.

If TG sales are slow at current prices, what makes them think when SH launch their sales will pick up? The attributes for these 2 locations are quite different. By the way, the Qin Ming festival is not helping TG:banghead:

02-04-12, 23:04
If TG sales are slow at current prices, what makes them think when SH launch their sales will pick up? The attributes for these 2 locations are quite different. By the way, the Qin Ming festival is not helping TG:banghead:

yes, they are of a different location. but inevitably comparisons will be made. initially when they launched it at 1200 to 1300psf, people just thought the were plain nuts and brush it aside. then a couple of months later, some other project down the road about 4km away launches for 1700psf. that will quite naturally tickle people's interest.

if SH doesn't have a successful launch, then TG will not get more inquiries. If SH has a successful launch, chances are TG will receive a spike in inquiries, and potentially some of those will be converted into actual sales.

08-04-12, 22:56
Have u guys really gone down and see TG ? For all practical purpose , it's selling very well. Just left a few low floor temple facing 3bds and some poor facing 2bds. The bishan price definitely helped the sales in these 2 weeks.

lufu
08-04-12, 23:18
Have u guys really gone down and see TG ? For all practical purpose , it's selling very well. Just left a few low floor temple facing 3bds and some poor facing 2bds. The bishan price definitely helped the sales in these 2 weeks.

you mean Sky Habitat is helping this 'used-to-be-over-priced' Thomson Grand to sell? earlier in first 10 pages of this thread, people were thinking how crazy prices were for this Thomson Grand (myself included)

what's left? lousy stack 23 and the poor facing stack 6 or stack 5 2-bedders?

They probably dropped the discount too by now? What's the discount now?

Another job well done for Li Ka-Shing? Okay luxury sells...

08-04-12, 23:55

177 caveats lodged to date and this project has 339 units. So 50% of the units still available?

lufu
09-04-12, 07:19
177 caveats lodged to date and this project has 339 units. So 50% of the units still available?

242 units sold out of a total of 361 as of Feb data. We don't know how many was sold in March. URA data will be out in this week or next

btw, did Thomson Grand's high price came as a result of them packing lesser units on the plot of land?

According to GLS sale, they can build up to 400 units but it's now 10% lesser.
http://www.propertyguru.com.sg/property-management-news/2011/8/31046/developers-pack-more-units-in-some-property-sites

Poloclub
09-04-12, 07:29
242 units sold out of a total of 361 as of Feb data. We don't know how many was sold in March. URA data will be out in this week or next

btw, did Thomson Grand's high price came as a result of them packing lesser units on the plot of land?

According to GLS sale, they can build up to 400 units but it's now 10% lesser.
http://www.propertyguru.com.sg/property-management-news/2011/8/31046/developers-pack-more-units-in-some-property-sites

Maybe due to those townhouse units with large floor area

09-04-12, 09:18

If u visit the show flat, you will see almost all are sold. Unless the chart there is lying, which I doubt. There was indeed a lot more activities in that few weeks after the bishan announcement.

To lufu: I think the 1st 10 pages of this thread is still valid. TG started selling at 1400 plus, which is very high. And those are for the blocks that have the view. After that they started selling blocks with lesser or no views, with psf down to 1200 or even 1100. This is still very high, because the whole point of this project is the view. But buyers now will feel they get a good deal simply because th psf is 11xx.

09-04-12, 10:59
If u visit the show flat, you will see almost all are sold. Unless the chart there is lying, which I doubt. There was indeed a lot more activities in that few weeks after the bishan announcement.

To lufu: I think the 1st 10 pages of this thread is still valid. TG started selling at 1400 plus, which is very high. And those are for the blocks that have the view. After that they started selling blocks with lesser or no views, with psf down to 1200 or even 1100. This is still very high, because the whole point of this project is the view. But buyers now will feel they get a good deal simply because th psf is 11xx.

And the original buyers feel less hard done by because these are units with no view.

lufu
09-04-12, 20:40
To lufu: I think the 1st 10 pages of this thread is still valid. TG started selling at 1400 plus, which is very high. And those are for the blocks that have the view.

Agree, no point buying if there's no view. Just like those who bought into Gardens at Bishan. They are struggling to sell now. Put up with 2 years of construction noise at Thomson Grand plus having their prized view taken away by the new Thomson Grand.

I was contemplating a unit at Thomson Grand some time ago but fail to see any potential future value in this part of Singapore. (yes I know there's NS Expressway and possibly Sin Ming Station that has already been priced in)
A huge chunk of land in this area is already taken up reservoir, natural reserve and golf course. There are hardly any stimulus.

If you're talking about view, there are much cheaper options at less central location such as The Estuary or The Miltonia Residences at Yishun. Foresque Residences or Treehouse at Petir Road.

Good for them, Sky Habitat is helping this developer to yet create another success after The Vision. :tongue3:

stiook
09-04-12, 22:05
Agree, no point buying if there's no view. Just like those who bought into Gardens at Bishan. They are struggling to sell now. Put up with 2 years of construction noise at Thomson Grand plus having their prized view taken away by the new Thomson Grand.

I was contemplating a unit at Thomson Grand some time ago but fail to see any potential future value in this part of Singapore. (yes I know there's NS Expressway and possibly Sin Ming Station that has already been priced in)
A huge chunk of land in this area is already taken up reservoir, natural reserve and golf course. There are hardly any stimulus.

If you're talking about view, there are much cheaper options at less central location such as The Estuary or The Miltonia Residences at Yishun. Foresque Residences or Treehouse at Petir Road.

Good for them, Sky Habitat is helping this developer to yet create another success after The Vision. :tongue3:

I actuaaly see this as a plus... more openess, less cramp feeling.

insigina
09-04-12, 22:33
I actuaaly see this as a plus... more openess, less cramp feeling.

Agree. I thought this was their sales pitch. Anyway the main deterrent for me was the west facing for 3 bedders. Otherwise, its a decent proposition.

lufu
10-04-12, 00:37
Agree. I thought this was their sales pitch. Anyway the main deterrent for me was the west facing for 3 bedders. Otherwise, its a decent proposition.

Buy 2 bedders, they don't get the west sun.
Strata house in from of the 2 bedders also shield from West sun.

I was also put off by the West sun despite them showing me the special tinted UV glass at their show room and balcony sun screen provided by developer

But you are right about the sales speech.

10-04-12, 07:37
You would have thought that the West sun is a huge deterrent. However I notice that for Flame Tree Park there are more sellers of the east facing units compared to the west facing units.

10-04-12, 08:33
You would have thought that the West sun is a huge deterrent. However I notice that for Flame Tree Park there are more sellers of the east facing units compared to the west facing units.

East facing units goodie good, so can sell cos got buyers. West facing units resigned to their fate?:beats-me-man:

10-04-12, 08:39
Can resign to me cheap cheap? I don't mind soaking some afternoon sun.

10-04-12, 09:53

.... err... I thought u know the area well... you should know what's in the east of this ...

10-04-12, 10:05
.... err... I thought u know the area well... you should know what's in the east of this ...

Big temple? There are other developments with a better and more direct view of that temple including the ever-popular Clover, Gardens, etc.

10-04-12, 10:26
Big temple? There are other developments with a better and more direct view of that temple including the ever-popular Clover, Gardens, etc.

not temple. one particular industry. and wind blows this way.....

10-04-12, 10:49
not temple. one particular industry. and wind blows this way.....

It's only carbon by the time it gets there. :eek: Maybe that's why there's no takers for Faber Gardens and Thomson View en bloc. Also that they are pretty huge plots of land.

lufu
10-04-12, 11:27
It's only carbon by the time it gets there. :eek: Maybe that's why there's no takers for Faber Gardens and Thomson View en bloc. Also that they are pretty huge plots of land.

And to think there's a new plot next to Thomson View up for sale in Jun 12.
Would be interesting to watch the GLS bid on this one.

stiook
10-04-12, 23:35
East facing units goodie good, so can sell cos got buyers. West facing units resigned to their fate?:beats-me-man:

Go see an unit on high floor... the view is really good if you can tolrate the west sun... depends on how much value you place on each criteria...

stiook
10-04-12, 23:37

More the size of development imo

11-04-12, 18:38
And to think there's a new plot next to Thomson View up for sale in Jun 12.
Would be interesting to watch the GLS bid on this one.

When is the closing? That land location only so so. Sandwich between thomson view and the hdb.

lufu
11-04-12, 19:13
When is the closing? That land location only so so. Sandwich between thomson view and the hdb.

not sure but it's a tiny plot. 1.3ha with 2.8 plot ratio. Enough for 1 tower?
sandwich between Thomson View and HDB. Not so interesting after all.

11-04-12, 19:27
not sure but it's a tiny plot. 1.3ha with 2.8 plot ratio. Enough for 1 tower?
sandwich between Thomson View and HDB. Not so interesting after all.

And it's an odd shaped land.

lufu
14-04-12, 19:51
Decided to check out Thomson Grand today after the long awaited 14/4/12 Sky Habitat launch. Not many 3 bedders left :mad: :mad: :mad:

Cheung Kong should Thank Capitaland :cheers5:

If the sales chart is right. There are only 31 units left.
Sold 330 out of 361

http://img716.imageshack.us/img716/435/img1447ma.jpg

http://img845.imageshack.us/img845/9676/img1448l.jpg

Picture for Strata House was blur but there were all sold out
http://img571.imageshack.us/img571/3899/img1442d.jpg

http://img801.imageshack.us/img801/475/img1446v.jpg

15-04-12, 00:20
When was TG first launched?

speculator
15-04-12, 06:07
When was TG first launched?

About 7 July 2011

speculator
15-04-12, 06:35

91% already sold

speculator
15-04-12, 06:39
If TG sales are slow at current prices

Curious why are you saying TG sales is slow?

lufu
17-04-12, 08:17

I'm having renewed interest in this project, I call it the Sky Habitat Effect

Jan 2012 - 3 units sold
Feb 2012 - 52 units sold
March 2012 - 54 units sold
April 2012 - sold 34 units as of 14/4

31 units left as of 14/4/2012

17-04-12, 08:19
You bought one? Only 31 units left.

speculator
17-04-12, 21:07
You bought one? Only 31 units left.

It's no surprise Sky Habitat is helping Thomson Grand to sell. I'm not surprise if Thomson Grand is a 100% sold by Apr/May.

Sky Habitat has lousy finishing surrounded by HDBs compared to Thomson Grand although Sky Habitat has Bishan MRT and a huge MM mall. Junction 8

Sky Habitat stunning architectural however is a big win over the typically glass look condo and Sky Habitat is iconic. :jaw-dropping:

18-04-12, 00:47
Wonder how much is the cheapest 2nd floor 2 bedder 904sqft? :o

speculator
18-04-12, 07:31
Wonder how much is the cheapest 2nd floor 2 bedder 904sqft? :o

about $1200 psf after nett of all discount for what I call a Strata House View unit. :doh:

On low floor level 2. Your view would be, well the $3-4mil dollars neighbour in front of you.

From earlier posting, there's only 1 904 sqft avail.

18-04-12, 08:48
about $1200 psf after nett of all discount for what I call a Strata House View unit. :doh:

On low floor level 2. Your view would be, well the $3-4mil dollars neighbour in front of you.

From earlier posting, there's only 1 904 sqft avail.

So it is considered landed view? In fact, i think your landed neighbout will be higher up than you cos theirs is 3 or 4 floors right?

18-04-12, 14:36
So it is considered landed view? In fact, i think your landed neighbout will be higher up than you cos theirs is 3 or 4 floors right?

The landed neighbour can block some of the sun and noise from the main road. :cool:

speculator
18-04-12, 15:10
The landed neighbour can block some of the sun and noise from the main road. :cool:

the 2 bedders are far from the main road. Actually I was wrong.

Not all level 2 will be blocked by the Strata Houses. No 13. and No.15 could be fine if these are not already sold but still not much of a view for level 2. :doh:

http://thomsongrandsg.com/files/2011/06/Site-Plan.jpg

lufu
22-04-12, 09:19
95% sold now

http://img339.imageshack.us/img339/367/img1506t.th.jpg (http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/339/img1506t.jpg/)

22-04-12, 20:57
Thanks to SH. It should be fully sold in 1-2 months' time.

22-04-12, 21:05
they really managed to move quite a number of units since they released word that SH was around 1700psf.

pinkie
22-04-12, 23:02
they really managed to move quite a number of units since they released word that SH was around 1700psf.

I think it helps that their finishing is more luxurious than SH though amenities is not as good, but that will appeal to people who prefers a more serene and less crowded area.

speculator
25-04-12, 23:28
Thanks to SH. It should be fully sold in 1-2 months' time.

don't need 1-2 months. There are only 3 units left. :scared-4: :scared-4:

25-04-12, 23:36
all hail SH!

26-04-12, 05:47
don't need 1-2 months. There are only 3 units left. :scared-4: :scared-4:

We r experiencing a mini boom as projected earlier. Not sure if buyers have really thought thru their big purchases though. I suppose it is driven by liquidity n kiasu mentality. Subsequent launches r going to b priced higher n higher. I think new CM will deal with this soon.

26-04-12, 06:27
Actually it is the reckless buying of Singaporeans which is twisting our MIW to impose further CM... there are enough CM to convince our leaders that there is still a large sector of buyers not affected. Hmmm...

26-04-12, 07:21
It should be directed at new launches and not resales. Resales have been tamed already. Impose 40% down payment on new launches.

26-04-12, 08:28
It should be directed at new launches and not resales. Resales have been tamed already. Impose 40% down payment on new launches.

The tough part is who is going to watch over the excess funds before the developer has called for that much progressive payment. End up need to pay more for someone to watch over the money? I think just put 4 years SSD from date of TOP. And during construction, the 16% rule applies. That should send new sales to a grinding halt. Anyone who buys under such harsh ruling must be buying for own stay or else they have very deep pockets. But on second thought, these ruling would favour the very rich because it pauses the market for them to slowly buy.

26-04-12, 08:46
The tough part is who is going to watch over the excess funds before the developer has called for that much progressive payment. End up need to pay more for someone to watch over the money? I think just put 4 years SSD from date of TOP. And during construction, the 16% rule applies. That should send new sales to a grinding halt. Anyone who buys under such harsh ruling must be buying for own stay or else they have very deep pockets. But on second thought, these ruling would favour the very rich because it pauses the market for them to slowly buy.

Control the MMs. Most who buy 3 bedders and above currently should be own stay types. Any new CM has to be targeted and not broad brush resulting in serious consequences.

pinkie
26-04-12, 15:24
Control the MMs. Most who buy 3 bedders and above currently should be own stay types. Any new CM has to be targeted and not broad brush resulting in serious consequences.

It would be tough for any measures to blatantly penalise a certain segment of purchasers for that might be deemed to discriminative?

lufu
05-05-12, 05:06
all hail SH!

Actually Thomson Grand is already 100% SOLD :scared-5: :scared-5: :scared-5:

People who read back the comments on first few pages of this thread will be :eek: :eek: :eek:

The once extremely over priced, Thomson Grand is 100% sold.
I wonder when will the day come for the highly critiqued Sky Habitat

05-05-12, 09:55
Wow!! I have not visited their billion dollar showflat yet! :o

05-05-12, 10:22
100%?! Hmmm... I wonder as a reseller whether I can entice my buyers with Taka and Best Denki vouchers...

Sleepyhead
05-05-12, 10:38
So the showroom is closed?

Dem! I wanted to visit it this weekend!

05-05-12, 10:43
Actually Thomson Grand is already 100% SOLD :scared-5: :scared-5: :scared-5:

People who read back the comments on first few pages of this thread will be :eek: :eek: :eek:

The once extremely over priced, Thomson Grand is 100% sold.
I wonder when will the day come for the highly critiqued Sky Habitat
Truly amazing..., even the once super slow Flamingo Valley is also selling fast and buyers even willing to consider cemetery facing units now :scared-1:

http://forums.condosingapore.com/showpost.php?p=265830&postcount=555

Guess buyers sitting on the sideline, wait till neck long long are coming back....

speculator
05-05-12, 12:57
Truly amazing..., even the once super slow Flamingo Valley is also selling fast and buyers even willing to consider cemetery facing units now :scared-1:

Guess buyers sitting on the sideline, wait till neck long long are coming back....

rather strange where/how did this mini bull run come about?

05-05-12, 13:08
I wonder if Thomson View en bloc can get through in view of the success of TG. Thomson View is in a "better" location for public transport as there are more buses passing by plus it is a "hot" location for one of the stations of Thomson Line. The announcement of station locations for Thomson Line cannot be too far away or else the entire project will be seriously delayed.

As forum member has pointed out, there is also another plot of land behind Thomson View slated for GLS in the not so distant future.

HDBs in the area should appreciate in value - I feel they are under-priced relative to HDBs in other parts of Bishan or other estates in Singapore. You can probably still get a 4A in the HDB next to Thomson View for under 500K. And those are the older type big units (103 to 110 sq m). They are within 1km to Ai Tong school. Just a heads up for those who are eyeing a place to be within 1km of a supposedly "popular" school which is co-ed and therefore both boys and girls can enter.

05-05-12, 22:09
I wonder if Thomson View en bloc can get through in view of the success of TG. Thomson View is in a "better" location for public transport as there are more buses passing by plus it is a "hot" location for one of the stations of Thomson Line. The announcement of station locations for Thomson Line cannot be too far away or else the entire project will be seriously delayed.

As forum member has pointed out, there is also another plot of land behind Thomson View slated for GLS in the not so distant future.

HDBs in the area should appreciate in value - I feel they are under-priced relative to HDBs in other parts of Bishan or other estates in Singapore. You can probably still get a 4A in the HDB next to Thomson View for under 500K. And those are the older type big units (103 to 110 sq m). They are within 1km to Ai Tong school. Just a heads up for those who are eyeing a place to be within 1km of a supposedly "popular" school which is co-ed and therefore both boys and girls can enter.
...heard that stay within 1 km from Ai Tong also very slim chance if not member of their assoc or no siblings studying there.... :confused:

05-05-12, 22:18

Flamingo Valley also moving? I remember no one was keen on Bliss @ Kovan but that one started to move after the word of SH going at about 1700 went out.

05-05-12, 22:28
Flamingo Valley also moving? I remember no one was keen on Bliss @ Kovan but that one started to move after the word of SH going at about 1700 went out.
Ya, just look at Flamingo Valley thread, used to be so quiet, several interested forumers also failed to buy their choice units. SH really made many sitting on sideline wakeup and whacked once slowing moving projects. Out of nowhere, buying interest seem to be up. Maybe also due to the few public holidays last month and this month, give people more time to visit showflats..

Btw, is Bliss@Kovan sold out yet?

05-05-12, 22:40
Ya, just look at Flamingo Valley thread, used to be so quiet, several interested forumers also failed to buy their choice units. SH really made many sitting on sideline wakeup and whacked once slowing moving projects. Out of nowhere, buying interest seem to be up. Maybe also due to the few public holidays last month and this month, give people more time to visit showflats..

Don't think so.

speculator
06-05-12, 04:00

Thomson View and the new HDB plot up for sale are nested among HDB flat

06-05-12, 12:19
Thomson view isn't lah. In fact it has a great view of the reservoir.

06-05-12, 16:42

Still open today, more cars than usual I noticed.

wesing
05-06-12, 16:12
Drove pass today. Saw 100% sold printed big big on the fence. The developer was saved by Sky Habitat:cheers1:

05-06-12, 16:18
Drove pass today. Saw 100% sold printed big big on the fence. The developer was saved by Sky Habitat:cheers1:

THANK Q SKY CAITAO FOR UR "BU SHI REN" PSF N UR SUPPORT BY PUSHING UR CUSTOMERS TO US. TQTQ

05-06-12, 16:55
The problem is Sky Habitat is never a good reference point so TG may still be over-valued - just less over-valued than SH.

05-06-12, 23:53
when they first launch it, nobody really think they would be able to sell everything in a year. it was trying to sell at the price of centro without an mrt next to it.

Sleepyhead
05-06-12, 23:55
when they first launch it, nobody really think they would be able to sell everything in a year. it was trying to sell at the price of centro without an mrt next to it.

but centro is AMK = HDB heartland. This is Thomson.. supposedly more atas? Anyway, MRT coming up already mah... just a few more years....

05-06-12, 23:59
but centro is AMK = HDB heartland. This is Thomson.. supposedly more atas? Anyway, MRT coming up already mah... just a few more years....

precise location not known yet.

anyway, nowadays heartland randomly will hit 1400psf like watertown.

Sleepyhead
06-06-12, 00:06
Ya agreed! :doh:

Singaporeans luuurrvvee MRTs and Water view.

WT has both, hence the big bucks! Developers laughing all the way to bank and back a few rounds liau.

:banghead: :banghead:

06-06-12, 00:11
and would one consider places like bartley and potong pasir heartland?