View Full Version : Caribbean At Keppel Bay (D4, 99-year Leasehold, by Keppel Land)

mabel
22-08-06, 02:48
Caribbean won the Landscaping Award only recently and now it won the highly acclaimed international award for building excellence, the Prix d'Excellence in 2006. In 2004 it won the local BCI award for construction excellence.

Caribbean is now 95% sold only left about 10 units for sale. Congrats to the developer Keppel Land for its success. New condo Emerald Bay launching early next year at S$1,300 psf. This will push up Caribbean psf to at least $1,000-1,100.

Great condo to live in. Lots of expats renting this place, and also lots of kids.

22-11-06, 21:34
Singapore Companies
Published November 22, 2006

KepLand's $30m marina gives nearby condos a lift

By ARTHUR SIM

THE waterfront lifestyle is set to get a boost from Keppel Land's $30 million Marina@Keppel Bay, slated for completion at the end of next year.

http://img148.imageshack.us/img148/6553/bt5164818211120062cbd4enz8.jpg (http://imageshack.us)
Marina@Keppel Bay: With space for almost 200 yachts, it will add to the upmarket positioning of KepLand's soon-to-be-launched condominium

The marina on Keppel Island will be able to accommodate almost 200 yachts, with five berths for mega yachts of between 100 and 200 feet.

The marina will also add to the upmarket positioning of Keppel Land's soon-to-be-launched condominium next to its Caribbean@Keppel Bay.

Already, news of the Sentosa integrated resort has helped push up prices in the area. Caribbean was launched at about $800 psf in 2000, but prices have since surged almost 50 per cent. Keppel Land has only a few units left - and its deputy general manager of marketing (residential) Albert Foo says prices are now around $1,200 psf.

Like Sentosa Cove, the area, with Keppel Land's as-yet-unnamed new condominium development, is being marketed as a playground for the rich and famous, and Mr Foo says the response from foreign investors has been good.

The condominium is being designed by renowned architect Daniel Libeskind. 'We have test marketed the design overseas and we are confident of getting a wider range of foreign investors,' Mr Foo said.

At the Caribbean, about 20 per cent of buyers are foreigners, he said.

Prices of the 1,200-unit new development have not been fixed, but Mr Foo said Keppel Land will take its cue from prices at Sentosa Cove. He said that apart from this development, Keppel Land has three more residential sites at Keppel Bay.

One site will share Keppel Island with the marina and is expected to be for luxury housing. The other two sites are between Caribbean and HarbourFront Centre. No time frame has been announced for these developments.

Unregistered
05-03-07, 12:11
lastest caveat below $1,000 . Buyers are not stupid .

Unregistered
05-03-07, 12:14
Can't imagine how many sporeans will lose not only all their CPF , but all their cash , plus top up until god knows when ? All these prices are too ridiculous for 99 projects with more than 950 units . As of now , caribbean still has 250+ units sold back to KEppel . Can you imagine , this is called sold out ???????

interested in caribbean
16-04-07, 11:29
Over at the condo.com.sg website there are a lot of people slamming Caribbean! Can someone explain all the pros and cons of Caribbean? Because compared to Reflections this is relatively very cheap. If price going to fall like some people say, then I guess I will wait a while to pick one unit up here. For staying, not renting. So what do you think, will the price fall or not?

UBS Investment Research
16-04-07, 17:41
Can't imagine how many sporeans will lose not only all their CPF , but all their cash , plus top up until god knows when ? All these prices are too ridiculous for 99 projects with more than 950 units . As of now , caribbean still has 250+ units sold back to KEppel . Can you imagine , this is called sold out ???????

We are projecting an overall price rise of 20% this year.

We think it is unlikely that residential prices in Singapore will decrease as seen in the US market. This is mainly because we believe Singapore residential prices are still in a catch-up stage, compared to GDP.

Unregistered
16-04-07, 23:48
Over at the condo.com.sg website there are a lot of people slamming Caribbean! Can someone explain all the pros and cons of Caribbean? Because compared to Reflections this is relatively very cheap. If price going to fall like some people say, then I guess I will wait a while to pick one unit up here. For staying, not renting. So what do you think, will the price fall or not?
If caribbean was so good why did you not buy there when it was cheap , there is a reason why caribbean still holds above 200 of its own units and claimed to be sold . Because the sales suck . Now they launched reflections so high that the flipper dare not buy . Apparently reflections had a very low coverage because the sales were not impressive , there were many fire sale reflections going on on the weekend , because the option payment will be due this weekend . Just see how many reflections units are thrown back this weekend . This will gauge the price it should be . Fools rush in .

aim, cock, and fire!
17-04-07, 00:03
If caribbean was so good why did you not buy there when it was cheap , there is a reason why caribbean still holds above 200 of its own units and claimed to be sold . Because the sales suck . Now they launched reflections so high that the flipper dare not buy . Apparently reflections had a very low coverage because the sales were not impressive , there were many fire sale reflections going on on the weekend , because the option payment will be due this weekend . Just see how many reflections units are thrown back this weekend . This will gauge the price it should be . Fools rush in .

I know you are the same guy posting over at the Reflections thread, because you have a space before all your punctuation marks! LOL! You are a funny guy you know.

Anyway what I want to say is, fools DO rush in. However do you know why they are called fools? Rushing in to buy is not the problem. The problem lies with themselves - they are not prepared, they never did their research, they never adequately analysed the property they rushed in to buy.

Savvy investors/speculators would have done all their groundwork, research, finance preparations, etc. to the extent of driving down to the site to survey and recce the place as well as every other building, office, condo, road, bus route, MRT, expressway, and even coffeeshop that is within 1 KM of their target property. And they do it well before the launch.

The rule of the game is same as being a sniper: you pick a target early, spend some time analysing the behaviour and movement of the target, decide whether to abort mission and move on to another target, if staying with the same target then you take aim, wait... wait... wait... wait... wait... until the right moment then BANG. Be the first one to chiong the best unit for the lowest price.

aim, cock, and fire!
17-04-07, 00:10
If you decide that the property is no good, and you can justify adequately to yourself why it is not good or not worth your money, then just leave and pick another one. Do not simply follow the crowd and do not simply believe the hype of journalists, advertisements, consultants, salesmen, etc. Have your own mind.

That is how some smart investors picked up lots of cheap prime property back in 2003/2004 when every body said property was lousy investment. Now in 2007 every body saying how hot property is and how much more it will go up, the smart investors are selling it back to you at 2X, 3X the price and laughing their way to what ever next big thing they are putting their profit in.

Unregistered
17-04-07, 08:57
If you decide that the property is no good, and you can justify adequately to yourself why it is not good or not worth your money, then just leave and pick another one. Do not simply follow the crowd and do not simply believe the hype of journalists, advertisements, consultants, salesmen, etc. Have your own mind.

That is how some smart investors picked up lots of cheap prime property back in 2003/2004 when every body said property was lousy investment. Now in 2007 every body saying how hot property is and how much more it will go up, the smart investors are selling it back to you at 2X, 3X the price and laughing their way to what ever next big thing they are putting their profit in.
Agreed , your logic is one that many SGporeans do not see . They only listen to newspapers BS and TV's bias coverage . Look at one shenton . Look at the classifieds , one shenton still has many developers units . This is the most classic case of BS .

Unregistered
17-04-07, 09:00
I know you are the same guy posting over at the Reflections thread, because you have a space before all your punctuation marks! LOL! You are a funny guy you know.

Anyway what I want to say is, fools DO rush in. However do you know why they are called fools? Rushing in to buy is not the problem. The problem lies with themselves - they are not prepared, they never did their research, they never adequately analysed the property they rushed in to buy.

Savvy investors/speculators would have done all their groundwork, research, finance preparations, etc. to the extent of driving down to the site to survey and recce the place as well as every other building, office, condo, road, bus route, MRT, expressway, and even coffeeshop that is within 1 KM of their target property. And they do it well before the launch.

The rule of the game is same as being a sniper: you pick a target early, spend some time analysing the behaviour and movement of the target, decide whether to abort mission and move on to another target, if staying with the same target then you take aim, wait... wait... wait... wait... wait... until the right moment then BANG. Be the first one to chiong the best unit for the lowest price.
In fact i have just sniped a mismatched property recently . I am watching the caveats and classifieds asking prices of my property . Secondary market asking very very high , but still waiting for caveats to react .

Unregistered
17-04-07, 09:30
Good luck to you. Hope you do well as well. Lucky for us SGs are quite stupid and foolish and like to listen to propaganda. If not very hard to make money, hahahaha.

shalorsar
04-05-07, 13:29
Carribean prices have increased over 30% in 12 months, and the average price continues to increase every month, currently at about $1100psf.
Reflections is selling fast at over $1900psf, this makes Caribbean price very attractive with runway for growth easily over $1500psf.
Caribbean has the same fundamental attraction as Reflections, if not better. Vivocity, Harbour Front, Circle Line, Marina and Sentosa IR are all right beside Caribbean. The "bargains" may be gone, but Caribbean will continue to be a good buy at a slight discount to reflections price.

shalorsar
04-05-07, 13:33
Business Times - 20 Apr 2007

Condos bask in reflected glow of new launches
By ARTHUR SIM
(SINGAPORE) New property launches are raising the asking prices of existing developments around them by as much as 10 to 50 per cent within weeks.
The most recent example is neighbouring developments Reflections at Keppel Bay and Caribbean at Keppel Bay.
Units at Caribbean - which received its Temporary Occupation Permit in 2004 and is now fully sold - were selling for around $1,000 per sq ft in the secondary market in the first quarter of this year. But since Reflections was launched this month at an average price of about $1,900 psf, asking prices for Caribbean have surged to $1,200-$1,500 psf.
Property agent Andrew Tan of DTZ Debenham Tie Leung says most of the buyers he has seen are investors who expect prices to keep rising for the next few years. 'They plan to sell it in two years and even if the price goes up by $100 psf they will make money.'
Another agent, Kenny Tan of ERA, who is also marketing units at Caribbean, says prices have been edging up for a few months. 'The prices for Reflections have supported the increase,' he said.
Savills Singapore director of marketing and business development Ku Swee Yong says the same spillover effect is happening elsewhere.
In traditional prime areas, transacted prices for new developments like Orchard Residences, Suites @ (%20@) Cairnhill and Trillium have hoisted prices of surrounding developments. And in some areas outside the prime districts, new launches appear to have an even bigger impact.
Mr Ku says that on the East Coast, the launches of The View @ (%20@) Meyer and more recently Seafront on Meyer - at prices averaging $1,500-$1,600 psf - have boosted prices of existing developments like the 10-year-old The Makena.
According to Savills' analysis of available data, the average price for The Makena over three months from December 2006 to February 2007 was about $834 psf. Mr Ku says prices have since passed $1,000 psf. Indeed, a check of advertisements in The Straits Times Classifieds recently revealed that some owners are now asking for $1,300 psf.
Asking prices are not the same as transacted prices, but Mr Ku says valuations that factor in prices of recent transactions in the same area - for old or new property - appear to support higher asking prices. 'The valuation of an older development is dragged up by association,' he said.
Jones Lang LaSalle national director (head of valuation advisory services, capital markets) Tan Keng Chiam said: 'Empirical evidence has proved that sale prices of new units will influence the value of the neighbouring old developments, be it up or down.'
There are several methods of calculating valuations, such as direct comparison and income.
Mr Tan says that with direct comparison, a valuer has to understand the dynamics of the market and judge the appropriate discount for an older development against a newer one. Factors include age, condition, location, amenities and even design.
The income is based on rental return under current market conditions. 'For older developments, with the current rental being known, one can work out the net yield based on the transacted prices,' Mr Tan said. 'Such yield, when applied to the new development, will present a level of rental which one has to decide is realistic and achievable when the development is completed.'
Saying that valuations sometimes require a 'reality check', Mr Tan said the income approach can be seen as the 'rational approach'. Ideally, of course, the market finds its own level and it is supported by fundamentals.
Colliers International associate director (residential) Vincent Chong believes the spike in some prices is not a matter of under or over-valuation, but more of demand and supply.
'Asking prices for residential developments are based on how the market is performing at the time of the launch,' he said. 'If there is no demand, a project will not sell even if the asking price is very low. Conversely, when demand is high, chances are, benchmark price records are then set - for example, Sentosa Cove and Reflections.
'When such new launches do well, more often than not the demand will then spill over to the neighbouring properties, and as such, prices for older developments will be re-adjusted upward to reflect the market demand.'

Copyright © 2005 Singapore Press Holdings Ltd. All rights reserved.

Habourfront Area
02-10-08, 23:58
Hi.

Could any one share if this is a good investment? And currently ~S$1,300psf is it reasonable in current market as I realise some owners bought direct from developer was paying much lower price psf. Thanks

jt88
03-10-08, 09:00
i read somewhere that Carribbean has the highest rental. it was just <$700psf in 2006.

registered
03-10-08, 09:01
Hi.

Could any one share if this is a good investment? And currently ~S$1,300psf is it reasonable in current market as I realise some owners bought direct from developer was paying much lower price psf. Thanks

800 to 900k psf max is oK for now

but if credit crisis continues then cant say may be lower

Unregistered111
03-10-08, 09:14
i read somewhere that Carribbean has the highest rental. it was just <$700psf in 2006.

You must be an idiot to use 2006 price as a guide for 2008. 2 yrs is a long time, for price to go up and of course nobody is going to sell it to you for the price they bought at.

jt88
03-10-08, 09:26
You must be an idiot to use 2006 price as a guide for 2008. 2 yrs is a long time, for price to go up and of course nobody is going to sell it to you for the price they bought at.

??

of course I know that. i was just replying the previous poster and telling him the price difference for past 2 yrs. I didnt ask him to buy at 2006 price you goon.

Harborfront Areas
03-10-08, 22:32
??

of course I know that. i was just replying the previous poster and telling him the price difference for past 2 yrs. I didnt ask him to buy at 2006 price you goon.

Hi All,

Thanks for the updates, in this case I shall wait for awhile ~$1,000 - $1,100 before looking to this project again.

Anyway the surrounding is what captured my heart for this project and the Reflection next door, especially when the full seafront promanade walkway that joins Labador park to Vivo City.

Unfortunately, Reflection tho is newer, but the psf is way too high and does not have private lift as compared to Caribbean, so will likely revisit this project when the price is dropped further.

Wiseman
05-11-08, 00:01

see who is a greater idiot in 6 mths time.

Unregistered888
05-11-08, 09:04

You lor! HDB is already how much now you expect private to be the same as HDB is it? Dream on!

Interested
05-11-08, 09:53
You lor! HDB is already how much now you expect private to be the same as HDB is it? Dream on!
Private condo same price as HDB flat?
What kind of HDB flat? 4-room? 5-room? Executive?
HDB flat in which area?

Can be more specific?
A 5-room flat costs more than a 4-room flat.
A flat in Woodlands is priced differently from a flat in Queenstown.

I am keen leh.

http://www.businesstimes.com.sg/mnt/media/image/launched/2008-10-25/BT_IMAGES_HDB25A.jpg[/QUOTE]

moonk123
24-11-08, 10:00
Project Name-CARIBBEAN AT KEPPEL BAY
Developer-Keppel Bay Pte Ltd(Keppel Land Limited)
Property Type-Condominium
Tenure - 99 Yrs From 16/08/1999
Total Units - 969
Completion Date - Jul-2004
District - 4

2 bedroom (839 - 1571sf)
3 bedroom (1205 - 2281sf)
4 bedroom (1636 - 2723sf)
Penthouse (4650 - 6135sf)

http://www.virtualhomes.sg/FileUpload/Project/43/Images/a3.jpg

http://www.virtualhomes.sg/FileUpload/Project/43/Images/a4.jpg

http://www.virtualhomes.sg/FileUpload/Project/43/Images/a7.jpg

http://www.virtualhomes.sg/FileUpload/Project/43/Images/typeB1.jpg

http://www.virtualhomes.sg/FileUpload/Project/43/Images/elevation.jpg

more from:
http://www.virtualhomes.sg/caribbeanatkeppelbay

hayata1972
24-11-08, 10:30

There are fire sales right now going from $950psf....

Moa Moa Chen
24-11-08, 11:19
There are fire sales right now going from $950psf....

$950 psf is not fire sales, should be $800 psf and below:doh:

Reporter
24-11-08, 23:08
$950 psf is not fire sales, should be $800 psf and below:doh:
Do you mean "should be $743 psf and below"?
Cos' the lowest for The Lakeshore (@ Jurong West) in October is $743psf - not $800psf.

Private Residential Units Sold in the Month of October 2008

Project Name . Locality . Units Sold In Month . Highest $psf . Median $psf . Lowest $psf
The Lakeshore .. OCR ....... 6 ............................... 1,038 ............. 865 ............... 743

moonk123
25-11-08, 08:53
http://www.virtualhomes.sg/FileUpload/Project/43/Images/a2.jpg

http://www.virtualhomes.sg/FileUpload/Project/43/Images/a8.jpg

http://www.virtualhomes.sg/FileUpload/Project/43/Images/elevation5.jpg

http://www.virtualhomes.sg/FileUpload/Project/43/Images/elevation6.jpg

see the 720 degree virtual tour from:

http://www.virtualhomes.sg/caribbeanatkeppelbay

Moa Moa Chen
25-11-08, 13:32
Cos' the lowest for The Lakeshore (@ Jurong West) in October is $743psf - not $800psf.

hello we are talking about Caribbean At Keppel Bay, fire sales for Lakeshore below $500 psf:tsk-tsk:

Teana
28-11-08, 10:48

hello we are talking about Caribbean At Keppel Bay, fire sales for Lakeshore below $500 psf:tsk-tsk:
Reporter is telling you The Lakeshores have been transacted between $743psf and $1,038psf from URA figures.

propertybingo
12-12-08, 14:16
Contact Tom Leow at 96313193 for details. Caribbean 2 bed, resort condo by the sea, full facilities, P/F, near MRT/Vivio City SC, Expats choice, act now

chris168
04-04-09, 21:15
Last month there is a unit transacted at 787psf..... Anyone knows is this the developer price at 2004?

05-04-09, 04:22
Carribean at Keppel Bay really knocks the socks out of those sentosa waterfront living..

Just looking at the photos of the project.. wow.. impressive waterways... got keepel club... freaking big swimming poool... and buildings are spaced far apart separated by the water canal..

But.. to pay a few million for 99LH 4 bdrm or penthouse.. .. really is reserved for the rich...

Sigh.. .I wished I could just buy it.. without feeling the pinch..

Mabel
07-04-09, 10:34
Last month there is a unit transacted at 787psf..... Anyone knows is this the developer price at 2004?

Which unit and orientation? This is a huge project (almost 1000 units?) so the prices swing from one blk to another. If I remember right, quite many people got theirs at btw 600 to 800 from the developer.

moneymatters
07-04-09, 17:38
Which unit and orientation? This is a huge project (almost 1000 units?) so the prices swing from one blk to another. If I remember right, quite many people got theirs at btw 600 to 800 from the developer.

600-740 psf depending on unit size and orientation.

8kenshin
08-04-09, 09:55
When I went down in 2006, they were selling the last units. All that were left were some big units and units with poor facings. IIRC, the penthouses (with some views) were 1,200 psf and the other units were a minimum of $750psf (3% stamp duty rebate). I am sure about the latter price as I was quite serious about getting one of the cheaper units and went down a few times.

sumo22
09-04-09, 14:36
URA recent transaction showed a 1270sqf unit sold at $1m which works out to 787psf. This seems to be pretty close to the indicative launch price shared by some of you. Anyone think its a good price or better prices to come?

09-04-09, 14:47
URA recent transaction showed a 1270sqf unit sold at $1m which works out to 787psf. This seems to be pretty close to the indicative launch price shared by some of you. Anyone think its a good price or better prices to come?

2 of my expat colleagues renting there .. say nice .. but the traffic is a turn off .. especially going home ... the stretch from keppel to vivo is perpetual jam ...

they said they wont renew their lease there ...

sumo22
09-04-09, 14:50
Whoa! Thanks for the tip. But I also wonder if the traffic congestion issue will improve after all the construction work on the road is completed. Anyone eyeing or know more abt this property can share any info?

09-04-09, 14:56
Whoa! Thanks for the tip. But I also wonder if the traffic congestion issue will improve after all the construction work on the road is completed. Anyone eyeing or know more abt this property can share any info?

if theres another way to get to carribean .. i personally think its a damn nice project ...

with Vivo being the current most popular shopping place .. and with the entrance to sentosa there ..the traffic from keppel to vivo may not improve at all ...
unless you come from west side ...then its better ... from east take the flyover exit alexandra and U turn back .. can be just as back ..
best is to take train ...get off at harbor front and walk ...

flxcat
09-04-09, 16:09

The existing up ramp near caribbean will be converted to a down ramp for vehicles from city to henderson can use the viaduct to bypass the stretch at vivo hoping will ease some traffic. And more potential at a much later stage is the opening of promenade linking from laborado park to vivo which enhance the waterfront living lifestyle further. But tis got to wait much longer. Hope tis helps.

8kenshin
09-04-09, 19:27
I've been watching this area for the last few years as I think it has a lot of potential. Here's some observations:

1) There are not many homes in the world minutes away from a theme park or a multi-billion dolar resort casino.

2) Carribbean and Reflections are the only real choices for people looking to stay close to the casino, without being on Sentosa itself. Both developments, along with other avaliable undeveloped parcels of land in the vicinity are owned by Keppel, who is controlling new supply for the area to maximise their prices.

3) Some people think that staying on Sentosa itself is better, and while it may be, this must be balanced against the daily inconvenience. The traffic on the bridge is sometimes very bad and the road are narrow and limited to 40kmhr, which is a real negative for someone like myself that wnat as reliably short commute time for myself and for my kids. Going to Orchard from the Oceanfront or the Azure takes as much time as from Ang Mio Kio, a famous "ulu" place. (No offence to anyone, I've stayed there and its a great place)

4) Some proplethink that staying at Marina Bay is better, and for people that like city living (e.g. HK) it may well be. However, as someone whose office is in Raffles place, its not for me, nor I think many of the people I know. The idea of staying right next to your work is probably only appealing to Type-A personalities without families, and the idea of facing ERP daily is also a turnoff. (That said, the views and prestige are top notch)

5) That said, the Carribbean has tended to elicit love-hate responses from Singaporeans. Detractors criticize many things for styling to the canals, but the bottom line for these people usually seems to be that they do not think this area should fetch D9 prices. IMHO is similar to the "Mercedes makes the best cars" type of thinking.

6) The people that really like the development include Brits and Australians (resort lifestyle and sea views), Japanese (spacious, with low rise buildings) and people with kids (great facilities, lots of amenities), paricularly those whose address is not driven by being next to a particular school

7) A lot of people who stay stay at the Carribbean are also attracted by the MRT. The development has one of the emptiest car parks in Singapore, and it looks like maybe 1 out of 3 apartments don't own a car.

The one thing I am curious about is how easy it is to get a cab from there. Does anyone know?

chris168
10-04-09, 10:48
other than the traffic jams, carribean is quite an ideal place that is close to sentosa , looking around a 2 bed room unit:scared-2: , if any agents has any leads, please email me: [email protected] looks attactive if can get around 800psf.

Junction
12-04-09, 15:25
Carribean's location and lifestyle amenities around Sentosa is what appeals to me too. I'm seriously looking at 2bedrm units under 900sqft.

Appreciate if anyone can send your offers to me at [email protected]

12-04-09, 18:18
Wouldn't Reflections be a better buy since it is brand new....

Carribean alerady 5 yr old.. the rule of thumb for 99LH is after 5yr, it starts to depreciate in value.

8kenshin
12-04-09, 18:45
I'm looking at $750psf myself. Dunno whether can get or not though, as the rental yields as this TOP a long time ago and the rental yields are high.

If the economy dips, anything can happen though...

FWIW, I think Reflections could be a new superprime adress (like Ardmore), but the pricing is $1.5m for the cheapest units...also like Ardmore :)

Junction
12-04-09, 19:34
Wouldn't Reflections be a better buy since it is brand new....

Carribean alerady 5 yr old.. the rule of thumb for 99LH is after 5yr, it starts to depreciate in value.

Reflections is priced way out of my reach leh. Even caribbean has hovered around minimum 1k psf currently, will it go lower? D15/16 already 850psf on ave.

Besides, I prefer the low-rise caribbean better. The gigantic towers of Reflections dont seem to be appropriate for that kind of location, no doubt its designed by renowned architect.

flxcat
13-04-09, 19:27
reflection does not have private lift vs caribbean. Is private lift still something owner or tenant is looking for in a condo? Curious to know the trend. Thx

13-04-09, 22:49
reflection does not have private lift vs caribbean. Is private lift still something owner or tenant is looking for in a condo? Curious to know the trend. Thx

personally i dont quite like private lift ..passe ...

why i dont like :
dusty,
pay for a space that cant really use
fengshui wise no good ..the lift door is your 'main door' ...
imagine, your door opens into a 'pit' ?

a blk of four units .. a common lift is good enough ..

8kenshin
14-04-09, 07:32
A private lift is a genuine luxury feature found in the top end apartments like Ardmore, Four Seasons Park, The Claymore, Orchard Scotts and so on. There are a few mid-market developments with private lifts (e.g at Costa Rhu 2008 price $1000psf), but its not common because lifts are expensive to install and maintain, and they do not use floorspace efficently.

The only major difference when you have a private lift is that seeing your neighbours (and them seeing you) becomes rare. People also can't drop in unannounced as you have to "send" the lift to them. For corporate types, big bosses and their wives that stay in very exclusive developments, this may be a attraction. This also applies to people that have been traumatized by bad neighbours in the past.

I think people at the Caribbean probably like it on average though I am not sure they would pay much more psf for the feature. If the development ever gets super prime becasue of the halo effect from the Casino, people will definitely point to it as evidence of its exclusiveness though! As a side note, I am a big believer in location, and am fascinated that the Claymore's high rentals are due almost entirely to the fact that its opposite to the American club, and also a pickup point for the AAS.

For me, the private lifts aren't a feature to pay more for, but a reminder that the Caribbean was planned and built as a genuine luxury development. The original launch price in 2002 was $1100 psf, on par with River Valley developments (later cut a lot due to slow sales nationwide over that period). Keppel got the land virtually free 30+ years ago, and the construction cost psf of the deveopment were very high. I have heard that in the days when sand, steel and labour were still quite cheap, construction costs came in at around $450 psf, higher in today's money than the $600psf today being spent on MBR and One Shenton Way (albeit some of the money at the Caribbean going to pools and landscaping). That's why the units there have private lifts, keyless aceess, ducted air conditiong and so on.

Lastly, I'm not sure one comment about the private lifts being dusty is always correct. At the Carribbean, the lifts open to a small enclosed area (maybe a 100-150sqft), which leads to a seperate lockable door for the unit. The enclosed area is not part of the floor area for the unit on the floor plans I've seen. The other side of the enclosed area has a one way door that leads to a common area, with a service lift and the fire escape.

flxcat
14-04-09, 10:21
Hmm..thinking aloud private lift seems to be an advantage for bicycle lovers who can park their expensive. Can see more n more people picking up the sport.

Anyway both caribbean n reflection r nice condo, but for long term investment i will go for lower priced caribbean at around $1m to max $1.2m taking into the fact that reflection is above $1.5m. Asis appears that the next 8 to10yrs the competition from new condo in tis area is limited. Just my own opinion.

14-04-09, 10:29
its dusty becos, whenever the lift goes up or down ..the air compressed air pushes the dust out to the lift lobby which is in your house now ...

yes can put bicycle, golf bags etc .. but eventually will become clutters and thats bad fengshui

as for 'avoiding' bad neighbours .. on the same note .. becos of private lift.. i am now unable to 'confront' my noisy neighbours as i have no access to their unit ..

cartman
19-04-09, 12:58
as for 'avoiding' bad neighbours .. on the same note .. becos of private lift.. i am now unable to 'confront' my noisy neighbours as i have no access to their unit ..
lol this is funny :D

8kenshin
02-05-09, 23:24
I was looking at the Straits Times today. Unbelievably, I could not see even one single unit at Carribbean advertised for sale. Even more unbelievable, there is someone asking almost $3 million for a 1,500 sqft 3-roomer in Lucky Plaza.

Is the the shortest recession ever or is the market nuts?

kalumder
02-05-09, 23:49
I was looking at the Straits Times today. Unbelievably, I could not see even one single unit at Carribbean advertised for sale. Even more unbelievable, there is someone asking almost $3 million for a 1,500 sqft 3-roomer in Lucky Plaza.

the market is nuts, because rental is still dropping. I am under the impression the developers (to keep the value of their properties in their books, higher than they are) and major property agencies (which profit from selling/marketing new properties from the big players) are trying to fix the prices, and keep them high artificially.
Look at the recent article in which developers and valuers met. There is no reason for them to meet, or get cozy. Otherwise you end up with the same problem as the rating agencies for stocks/bonds had, conflict of interest.

The good news is, the harder they try to withstand the tsunami, the bigger the crash. Just be patient.

03-05-09, 00:10

in propertyguru :
2nd may 1 carribean for sale
1st may 3 carribean for sale

alot of Citylights, metropolitan, clementiwoods , botannia ..

only 1 Stellar on 1st may

03-05-09, 00:14
in propertyguru :
2nd may 1 carribean for sale
1st may 3 carribean for sale

alot of Citylights, metropolitan, clementiwoods , botannia ..

only 1 Stellar on 1st may

one thing for sure ....the psf is higher for almost all projects ..

one stellar transacted at 788 psf ... weeks back we see seller asking below 700 psf

8kenshin
03-05-09, 00:57
Thanks for the info. The May asking prices a bit under 1,000psf. According to the caveats, a unit was sold at the Caribbean for under $800psf last month.

I posted the following on another thread in response to a poster saying a cvaeat was filed for $634 psf at the Icon (cheaper than Stellar!). Hope the double post is OK, as the Caribbean was one of the properties I had in mind when i posted it:

I wonder if the URA or anyone else investigates that transactions well below the last sales price are above board.

I am not questioning this transaction in particular, but have noticed a few developments where there has been very large drops (over $100-200psf) over the last transacted price, though the units never seem to have been advertised.

Like the poster above, I'd happily pay $634 psf (and more) for the Icon, but have not seen any advertised for sale at that price, nor at auction (I am on most mailing lists from auction houses).

In the past, a few agents I met as a potential buyer have have hinted that a side deal may be possible without any encouragement on my part. This can be overdeclaring the value (to get a higher loan) or undeclaring (to rip-off the CPF).

Anyone with any experience to add as to whether sales with "wild" prices are above board?

03-05-09, 15:21
does anyone know the rental for a 4 bedroom at Carribean ?

pweesng
01-06-09, 14:39
Private lifts are just another way developers tries to selling something to you that can't be sold.

Akin the balcony and planter boxes.

basically the lift excess area, the balcony and the planter boxes are all the area above the 100% GFA Efficiency.

In another word, i suspect that a lot of future launches willhaev private lifts, because otherwise the inefficient areas will be too much, and developers would not be able to recover the "potential GFA" they pays for when then enbloc an old development

Junction
01-06-09, 16:35
Now sellers are asking 1200psf for 2 bedrm units, damn!

8kenshin
01-06-09, 18:42
Based on the run-up of Genting share price (2x from 6 months ago), there is a lot of renewed optimism about the Sentosa casino development.

Pricing of the Carribbean and Refelections could continue to rise as a result. I believe the mainland side is a better proposition than the island itself for reasons of convenience as access to the casino is comparable (e.g. Azure, Oceanfront and Carribbean are 10 minutes away from the casino) while access to anywhere else on the mainland is faster (e.g. 15 minutes to Orchard vs 30 minutes from Azure). Its a big consideration for families.

On one posters comment that lifts are in GFA, there are many tricks used by developers but this is not one of them. Lifts are included in GFA of the development, but not of the unit. This applies to all condominiums in Singapore with private lifts.

Wheelock is praised by those in the building trade as there are one developer that does not resort to such "efficiency" tricks, and CDL and FEO are notorious for it. (This is a side comment, as Carribbean is developed by Keppel Land)

8kenshin
03-06-09, 08:45
This is what I was referring to with the above post.

From UOB KAY HIAN RESERACH 3 June 2009:

Property developers have more upside. In Macau's case, residential
property prices shot up before the opening of Sands’ casinos and rose further by 30% within the first 18 months after the opening of the casinos.

We expect foreign buyers to return to the Singapore residential property market. Property developers with a high exposure to this segment will benefit. Although property stocks are more than double their March lows, the property sector still offers 39% upside to its long-term P/B mean. We remain BUYers of property stocks. Our top picks are City Developments (CIT SP/BUY/Target: S$10.90) and Allgreen Properties (AG SP/BUY/Target: S$1.30)

pweesng
03-06-09, 08:49
On one posters comment that lifts are in GFA, there are many tricks used by developers but this is not one of them. Lifts are included in GFA of the development, but not of the unit. This applies to all condominiums in Singapore with private lifts.

I thank you for your remark, I have to admit that i have never seen the actual floor plan and the sales sqft of the units in carribean. However, unless you can confirm that the sqft per unit does not include the private lift in the carribean, it still means that developers are basically selling you space that couldn't not be sold under normal circumstance.

also note that my previous comments was not referring to Carribean, but projects with private lifts in general.

thanks and cheers

8kenshin
03-06-09, 09:14
I thank you for your remark, I have to admit that i have never seen the actual floor plan and the sales sqft of the units in carribean. However, unless you can confirm that the sqft per unit does not include the private lift in the carribean, it still means that developers are basically selling you space that couldn't not be sold under normal circumstance.

also note that my previous comments was not referring to Carribean, but projects with private lifts in general.

thanks and cheers

Hi pweesng

Thanks for your reply. It's an important point and perhaps someome here could clarify whether lifts are included in the unit floor area? I imagine private lift lobbbies are.

My comment that this is not a developers scam referred to lifts and lift lobby areas being in the developers GFA. As far as I know, there is no GFA concession on these, so developers are free to sell this as unit space if they wanted.

This contrasts to balconies and planter boxes, where deveopers were able to get "bonus" GFA for installing them until recently.

Perahps someone with an architectual background could enlighten?

pweesng
03-06-09, 09:19
Hi pweesng

My comment that this is not a developers scam referred to lifts and lift lobby areas being in the developers GFA. As far as I know, there is no GFA concession on these, so developers are free to sell this as unit space if they wanted.

this is exactly what i mean. Under normal circumstances, would you pay for the space outside your lift that you probably will have no use for? If it is a private lift lobby, i would be paying for those space.

If there are not private lift lobbies, the developers will have to construct a common lift lobby and a corridor leading to your unit. Those space i don't have to pay at all.

That is why i am not very keen on private lift lobbys.

But your point with planters and balcony is a valid point. I don't care about planters, but i am a real sucker for PES and Balconies... especially big ones.. unfortuantely... ha aha:doh:

flxcat
07-06-09, 00:27
Now sellers are asking 1200psf for 2 bedrm units, damn!

Was inform a 2Bedroom 893sf was sold last Thurs at 1280psf. More seller is asking higher px now.

Not sure if buyers is comparing with Reflections where the lowest cost 2 Bedroom was sold a $1.5mil back then, hence making Caribbean appears reasonable if selling at 1.2mil.

Just guessing....

PropertiesHunter
23-06-09, 15:36
Was told 1066 2 bdr sold at 1090psf on Sat.

Neg still going on on 15-03 1894sqft at 920psf.

Crazy price coming from sellers on 3 &2 bdr but 4bdr & bigger units seem quiet on offer.

Any way will let the tide to come down in 3 mths. Then go for bargain hunting.

Rental market have just being slap again this month in residence unit.

23-06-09, 16:36
Is it worth buying a old 99LH in Vivo since that area has a lot of land that can be redeveloped unlike those in sail and mbr.

flxcat
23-06-09, 22:24
Is it worth buying a old 99LH in Vivo since that area has a lot of land that can be redeveloped unlike those in sail and mbr.

IMO, caribbean is unique in its own way.

1) Many water feature and relatively strong moat - the water channel from ex-dry dock

2) land span of the condo is large

3) at city fringe

4) south ridge walk, mt faber, keppel marina

Even is older, will buy if price is right as it still attractive for to potential tenants.

Believe any new condo in this area tends to be more expensive.

ostralek
27-06-09, 14:01
My friend is looking for a unit in the Carribean - please PM me if you are keen to sell, but no agents please. Flat owner only. Thanks!
:cheers6:

Kenshinto80
28-06-09, 15:59
IMO, caribbean is unique in its own way.

1) Many water feature and relatively strong moat - the water channel from ex-dry dock

2) land span of the condo is large

3) at city fringe

4) south ridge walk, mt faber, keppel marina

Even is older, will buy if price is right as it still attractive for to potential tenants.

Believe any new condo in this area tends to be more expensive.

Went down to visit a friend staying at this wonderful development. I was stunned to find that Caribbean was already 10years old. It is still very well maintained inside and very classy. The view just awesome.....spectacular. The pools inside are big- larger than most....and a distinctive feature to separate it from other projects. And the unit I visited was on the low floor of 4th storey only...one can only imagine how beautiful the higher level floor got to view Keppel Bay.

For those that says private lifts generate dust, I do not find it so. The unit I visited was very clean and as a matter of fact, the private lift make it so exclusive. Visitors will only be able to access basement carpark and at most level 1 groundfloor units using the private lift. The owner has to send the private lift down to bring visitors up. And walking out of the lift lobby one will automatically be in the living room...that is so special feel. For those that only want to pay for "livable" space, they will not be able to appreciate the kind of lifestyle at Caribbean.

I would think this development is very attractive not just for living but also for investment as it has very good location...being so near Vivo and Harbourfront as well as easy access to public transport. It would be easy to rent out to Expatriates (saw a lot of them during my visit)...the view offered by Caribbean is simply awesome. And just to add on, one should try to look out the view offered by Keppel Bay at around 6pm to 6.30pm....indescribably splendid and beautiful. The land parcel is also gigantic. Try walking around the whole Caribbean. :)

28-06-09, 16:53
Despite being 10 yr old, think this classy one should worth alot more than A Sky ... lol

flxcat
28-06-09, 17:43
Despite being 10 yr old, think this classy one should worth alot more than A Sky ... lol
Once the promenade walkway is up n ready it will be much more attractive can walk to vivo along the water front. But have to wait till reflection n the parcel of cluster houses between harbour front mall n caribbean is ready. Being LH n older by then the price hopefully may become more affordable. Just my wild dream as may not come thru. As of now paying 1350 i will go for caribbean then AS for caribbean potential.

28-06-09, 19:22
Once the promenade walkway is up n ready it will be much more attractive can walk to vivo along the water front. But have to wait till reflection n the parcel of cluster houses between harbour front mall n caribbean is ready. Being LH n older by then the price hopefully may become more affordable. Just my wild dream as may not come thru. As of now paying 1350 i will go for caribbean then AS for caribbean potential.

There's cluster houses between the mall and carribean? Is that a new development?

flxcat
28-06-09, 23:00
There's cluster houses between the mall and carribean? Is that a new development?
Is another development by keppel. My understanding is should be 2 to 3 storeys landed houses spanning across the kings dock. Hope the use of cluster houses is correct. Anybody have further info do share.

flxcat
01-07-09, 00:37
Was inform a 2Bedroom 893sf was sold last Thurs at 1280psf. More seller is asking higher px now.

Not sure if buyers is comparing with Reflections where the lowest cost 2 Bedroom was sold a $1.5mil back then, hence making Caribbean appears reasonable if selling at 1.2mil.

Just guessing....

Wow finally the caveat is lodged for the above 2bedroom unit transacted at $1287psf, hope it does not follow the trend like some newer projects and raise to $1400psf. Hope to buy a unit in this project. sigh....

dormer
05-08-09, 23:08
Wow finally the caveat is lodged for the above 2bedroom unit transacted at $1287psf, hope it does not follow the trend like some newer projects and raise to $1400psf. Hope to buy a unit in this project. sigh....

I went to see Caribbean last weekends and the agent told me that there are some units already transacted between $1300psf to $1400psf last week. Most of owner are asking for $1400psf to $1600psf now.

dormer
06-08-09, 12:04
The developer is offloading some of their service apartment at Caribbean now. It is quite a good offers because it comes with furniture and 10 yrs free Marina Bay membership.

They are releasing a few units at each time so that they can raise the price level at Caribbean for Reflection to relaunch again before the IR open next year.

I thought their current offer price of around $1400psf is still reasonable compare to current mass market leasehold project.

What do you think about buying a unit now?

06-08-09, 12:28
The developer is offloading some of their service apartment at Caribbean now. It is quite a good offers because it comes with furniture and 10 yrs free Marina Bay membership.

They are releasing a few units at each time so that they can raise the price level at Caribbean for Reflection to relaunch again before the IR open next year.

I thought their current offer price of around $1400psf is still reasonable compare to current mass market leasehold project.

What do you think about buying a unit now?

get resale likely can get cheaper than the 1.4k psf from developer

buy for investment? rental yield is a major concern
for own stay own self happy can liao

dormer
06-08-09, 14:01
get resale likely can get cheaper than the 1.4k psf from developer

buy for investment? rental yield is a major concern
for own stay own self happy can liao

Resales is almost the same level as developer around $1400psf now and don't come with Furnitures and fresh painting.

I think the rental yield of 4% to 5% is very attractive compare to most of the project.

flxcat
11-08-09, 23:10
I went to see Caribbean last weekends and the agent told me that there are some units already transacted between $1300psf to $1400psf last week. Most of owner are asking for $1400psf to $1600psf now.

The price had gone up so fast from $1200psf to now owner asking $1600psf. Not sure about the upside from $1400psf onwards??? Getting too risky to jump into this project now. sigh...

dormer
12-08-09, 11:11
The price had gone up so fast from $1200psf to now owner asking $1600psf. Not sure about the upside from $1400psf onwards??? Getting too risky to jump into this project now. sigh...

Actually, the price has not moved much until developer started to sell their service apartment few weeks ago.

When back again last weekends, the developer price is now from $1400psf to $1500psf. I think in the next few weeks time, they will be able to achieve $1500 to $1600psf level.

I guess after Keppel has achieved their desire price level in Caribbean, they will relaunch Reflection before the Sentosa IR open next year.

flxcat
12-08-09, 23:20
Actually, the price has not moved much until developer started to sell their service apartment few weeks ago.

When back again last weekends, the developer price is now from $1400psf to $1500psf. I think in the next few weeks time, they will be able to achieve $1500 to $1600psf level.

I guess after Keppel has achieved their desire price level in Caribbean, they will relaunch Reflection before the Sentosa IR open next year.

Thought price trending up is mainly on new launches, curious what is the magnet of Caribbean developer units that command the pricey tag of developer units? Any ideas?

dormer
13-08-09, 21:52
Thought price trending up is mainly on new launches, curious what is the magnet of Caribbean developer units that command the pricey tag of developer units? Any ideas?

Owners know that the developer is selling their units, so they raise their price as well. Therefore, developer price is almost the same as resales. It makes more sense to buy from developer becos they throw in furnitures, do up the place, 10 years membership, more choice units to choose, etc..

13-08-09, 22:02
Owners know that the developer is selling their units, so they raise their price as well. Therefore, developer price is almost the same as resales. It makes more sense to buy from developer becos they throw in furnitures, do up the place, 10 years membership, more choice units to choose, etc..

Then all the more it does not make sense.. why buy in this case when everyone is raising their prices unless rental yield is too high to resist

8kenshin
14-08-09, 13:06
The developer will paint the polish the place so it is almost like new. They will also probably fix anything that you complain about for the first few months after purchase.

By setting a floor at $1400, it means the cheapest place at the Reflections will be over 20% more at $1,700.

I would take a place next to IR/Vivo/St James any day over one in Redhill or Tanam Merah for only a little more.

flxcat
17-08-09, 20:27
The developer will paint the polish the place so it is almost like new. They will also probably fix anything that you complain about for the first few months after purchase.

By setting a floor at $1400, it means the cheapest place at the Reflections will be over 20% more at $1,700.

I would take a place next to IR/Vivo/St James any day over one in Redhill or Tanam Merah for only a little more.

At least sound more reasonable to buy from developer with the membership and doing up the apartment at $1300 psf. Those owner trying to sell at the price called by developer does not make sense without the perks thrown in by developer. Generally the developer units should be more prime and much better facing and probably higher rental yield :) Will buy from developer if I will to jump in, better value for money in comparison to owner selling IMHO.

18-08-09, 00:50
Is Carribean coming to 10yrs old?
So is it worth buying at $1300psf ?
coz if you intend to sell it 5 yrs later.. would it be staying at $1300 or lower? Even if it's enbloc.. since it's keppel's land.. would it mean that the only developer able to enbloc it is keppel since keppel can refuse other developers any extension of the land tenure.

flxcat
18-08-09, 23:47
coz if you intend to sell it 5 yrs later.. would it be staying at $1300 or lower? Even if it's enbloc.. since it's keppel's land.. would it mean that the only developer able to enbloc it is keppel since keppel can refuse other developers any extension of the land tenure.

Probably around 8years old.

Currently the choice is limited in the vincinity of vivo city, either Caribbean or Reflections, both by Keppel. But Reflections is going to be much more expensive.

Comparing with some of the new launch prices, the location and the limited choices, $1300psf appears reasonable in this case.

DW
18-08-09, 23:48
The developer units are largely the rear most, undesirable stacks, which remained unsold after years of marketing it from 2000-2004. These units later then got converted to serviced apartments.

These units are now all facing Reflections and construction is expected to go on for another 2 years. There used to be a nice golf course view but now its all reflections construction non-stop.

I am not sure if it is indeed a good idea to buy from developer - at least those wioth direct/partial construction facing.

DW
21-08-09, 01:05
Does anyone knows what are the sellers and developers calling now?

The developer units are largely the rear most, undesirable stacks, which remained unsold after years of marketing it from 2000-2004. These units later then got converted to serviced apartments.

These units are now all facing Reflections and construction is expected to go on for another 2 years. There used to be a nice golf course view but now its all reflections construction non-stop.

I am not sure if it is indeed a good idea to buy from developer - at least those wioth direct/partial construction facing.

flxcat
23-08-09, 17:40
Does anyone knows what are the sellers and developers calling now?

Developer is marketing mainly 2 and 3 rooms on block 42 and 44. Many 3 rooms available at $1310 to $1380 depending on floor and facing. 2 rooms is about $1350 average. But 2 rooms are limited only about 4 to 5 units only. One low floor facing small water channel is about
$1400 psf

8kenshin
24-08-09, 14:32
Resale asking prices are now $1450 for 2br...amazing rise of about 50% from the start of the year.

If this keeps up, its going to spill over to Reflections. As someone else aptly put it, that development could be like a cup of well microwaved water - all appears calm on the surface, but its actually ready to bubble over....

24-08-09, 16:34
Sigh... such a conflict ...deep in my heart i feel singapore properties are clearly in a bubble.. but the market action have proven me otherwise as it seems more nad more buyers are only beginning to dip into the market.

Even some property bosses are dumbfounded by what is causing all these buying spree...

Now..the only thing that is undervalued relatively is the landed properties.

blackswan
24-08-09, 17:46
Sigh... such a conflict ...deep in my heart i feel singapore properties are clearly in a bubble.. but the market action have proven me otherwise as it seems more nad more buyers are only beginning to dip into the market.

Even some property bosses are dumbfounded by what is causing all these buying spree...

Now..the only thing that is undervalued relatively is the landed properties.

Is it due to the fact that you are putting yourself against the market everyday. Is every Channel 5/8 news on bullish property news affecting you? If every positive news posted by Mr Funny troubling you and making you less happy? If you are, maybe you need to pull yourself away from the market/infomation a bit and enjoy your daily life.

I feel that its a bubble too, and the magnitude has went beyond my expectation, but when all views (low interest rate to stay low for a long time, economy surely will recover, supply of home is in short supply etc etc) are so perfectly align to one direction (i.e. mkt will head further up), its not hard to imagine what will happen when it all unwind.

Bro, have patience and enjoy life.......have a great week ahead.

24-08-09, 19:17
thanks blackswan.. Nice name by the way..make famous by the subprime crisis.. :)

Anyway..I am kept busy with the stock market.. but have a million in cash sitting in the bank.. need to find a home for it soon 'coz I am more or less fully invested in stock market..

Conflicting right.. :) I must pray that stock market go up up up.. but then it means properties will go up too and here I am saying properties are in a bubble..

blackswan
24-08-09, 22:34
thanks blackswan.. Nice name by the way..make famous by the subprime crisis.. :)

Anyway..I am kept busy with the stock market.. but have a million in cash sitting in the bank.. need to find a home for it soon 'coz I am more or less fully invested in stock market..

Conflicting right.. :) I must pray that stock market go up up up.. but then it means properties will go up too and here I am saying properties are in a bubble..
Its a good problem right?
You are hedge!!! Up you happy, down you happy too!!!
What better way to live???

flxcat
24-08-09, 23:22
Resale asking prices are now $1450 for 2br...amazing rise of about 50% from the start of the year.

If this keeps up, its going to spill over to Reflections. As someone else aptly put it, that development could be like a cup of well microwaved water - all appears calm on the surface, but its actually ready to bubble over....

Afraid it has already spilled over to Reflections. Reflections starting px psf is $1950.

Somewhat developer is the winner in these 2 projects at Keppel Bay.
The higher Caribbean px goes, the higher Reflections can achieve.
The higher Reflections px goes, the cheaper Caribbean appears to be. And the cycle repeat itself to push the px higher :scared-5:

24-08-09, 23:30

then u should wait..
if pty mkt dips then u enter lor, if not at least ur stocks are in the money

must be patient

24-08-09, 23:47
then u should wait..
if pty mkt dips then u enter lor, if not at least ur stocks are in the money

must be patient

patience is a virtue

without which, one can be ....patients .... those in the hospital ...

25-08-09, 00:41
Thanks all for your views :)
I also have tried to reason with myself that I should buy properties only when no one else is buying.. even if it means the price is higher than now.. 'coz you know the downside is minimized.

8kenshin
29-08-09, 22:06
Almost all the existing release of 2brm developer units have been sold and a contact tells me that the cheapest for future releases will be at least $1,400psf.

There are already some developer units released (pool facing) asking $1,550 psf. Based on this, I suspect Keppel is targeting over $1,800psf for the Sentosa view units it has left. Note these are not direct facing, so the view is not ideal.

Looks like the game will move to Reflections next if this property rally keeps going.

DW
30-08-09, 15:04
I always thought developer has only block 42 and 44 ?

The sentosa sea fronting view units are bloack 28,36, and 38. Based on caveat records, all these units are already sold in 2000-2003 period.

Almost all the existing release of 2brm developer units have been sold and a contact tells me that the cheapest for future releases will be at least $1,400psf.

There are already some developer units released (pool facing) asking $1,550 psf. Based on this, I suspect Keppel is targeting over $1,800psf for the Sentosa view units it has left. Note these are not direct facing, so the view is not ideal.

Looks like the game will move to Reflections next if this property rally keeps going.

flxcat
30-08-09, 21:00
I always thought developer has only block 42 and 44 ?

The sentosa sea fronting view units are bloack 28,36, and 38. Based on caveat records, all these units are already sold in 2000-2003 period.

Thought so too. Was told by agents that only blk 42, 44 the developer has. Not sure if all 2bedrooms are sold, as last week hear developer is stop selling the higher floor 2bedrooms for price revision which was previous selling at $1,350 psf, not sure whether these units are released again this week and at what price.

Also was told that there are still several 2bedrooms currently rented out, and can be purchsed with the tenancy too, so definitely for buyers looking for 2 bedrooms should still have a choice, unless the demand is so good that within last week all are snapped up. If so the market is really red hot.

8kenshin
31-08-09, 00:13
Thought so too. Was told by agents that only blk 42, 44 the developer has. Not sure if all 2bedrooms are sold, as last week hear developer is stop selling the higher floor 2bedrooms for price revision which was previous selling at $1,350 psf, not sure whether these units are released again this week and at what price.

Also was told that there are still several 2bedrooms currently rented out, and can be purchsed with the tenancy too, so definitely for buyers looking for 2 bedrooms should still have a choice, unless the demand is so good that within last week all are snapped up. If so the market is really red hot.

The current release of units is all in stack 42 &44.

From what I heard, there are a still several 2bdr for sale, and more unreleased 2brm held back by the developer. The latter are being planned to be sold at a higher price (a minimum of $1400psf).

I am not sure which block number the casino view units are, but they apparantly are high floor units (8 or 9?) in a stack about 3 rows back from the water. So they are not waterfront, but rather casino view. I have no idea how blocked or unblocked the view is.

Was also at Reflections over the weekend. Golf course view is $1650psf, seaview is $2,150psf. The best stack (direct casino view) is still unreleased.

I think this will play out like the original launch. Keppel's plan will be to sell some units at a very high price, before releasing the best stack. This will be after the IR is built, and I think they want around 3K psf.

The question is...will they be able to get it :)

dormer
31-08-09, 14:44

I was in Caribbean 2 weeks ago and the pool facing stack 120 & 121 was selling around $1400psf from developer.

May I know which stack pool facing units from developer asking for $1,550psf now?

8kenshin
31-08-09, 20:28
I didn't pay much attention, but it was something like stack 4 or Stack 30 (I guessing based on the map), that is stacks immediately overlooking the pool.

I think they were two bedders, which are priced at $50-100psf premium to the larger units.

DW
01-09-09, 01:14
Ahh....... 2BRs. I guess that might be possible then. The smaller units are usually more expensive. Personally, the units which I will consider getting in CRB would be at least the 3BR. The best layout in so far as my view goes, is the 1335sf (3+1) layout. Very regular, good usage of space throughout the apartment in my opinion.

But the 2BR stacks are usually bad facing and hardly have any views. Not sure if there is actually a good 2BR stack which actually faces the pool.

Or are you talking about the small pool (and not the main olympic size pool) ??

Heard from agents KL sold more than 50+ units last weekend and the week before. Any one has any idea what is the pricing now ??

I didn't pay much attention, but it was something like stack 4 or Stack 30 (I guessing based on the map), that is stacks immediately overlooking the pool.

I think they were two bedders, which are priced at $50-100psf premium to the larger units.

dormer
01-09-09, 09:25

Looking at my map for Caribbean, stack 4 is fountain facing and stack 30 is canal facing.

If you are talking about the main pool view units from developer; I think it should be stack 119, 120, 121, 122. The direct main pools facing units are stack 120 & 121 which they are selling at a premiums. However, these 2 stacks are 3 bedder of size 1227sqft.

I am also interested to know the current price from developer now?

8kenshin
01-09-09, 21:57
You are probably right about the stacks, I wasn't interested in paying that type of price so didn't note down the stack. They were pointed out to me when I was standing by the main pool, and they are units overlooking the main pool.

I also agree that the current pricing, the 3brm offers better value. As well as the extra room, They have a a maids room (which can be used as a store room) and will be more lettable. Many caucasian families stay there, and they like both space and often have young families.

One of my relatives bought a 3brm at a bit over $1300psf over the weekend, with a very attrractive rental contract included (reducing the price ~$80psf) . To respect their privacy I will not disclose any additional details.

Having seen Keppel's work in past launches, they are clearly trying to set a benchmarkt price at the Caribbean prior to doing the next major launch at the Reflections. Will be interetsing to see if their stategy is accepted by the market.

01-09-09, 23:01
wow.. paying $1300 psf for a 90yrs remaining property?
So basically betting on enbloc? coz how to have further upside after 10yrs ..when it is left with only 80yrs. But I am interested in caribbean too.. very nice..

btw, who to contact for the developers' resale unit ?

DW
01-09-09, 23:04
I think the ones which are selling at premium prices are 122. These are the 3+1, in my view more regular layouts. 02-122 was selling at 1400psf by developer. The higher floors of 121 or 120 is still at 13xx level, not 1400psf yet. Thus my assessmenet that developer is pricing 122 at a premium.

Its common knowledge that pool facing units are usually sold at higher price. My question is, in caribbean where the attraction is the waterway, why is pool facing still selling at a higher premium than the waterways one ?

Looking at my map for Caribbean, stack 4 is fountain facing and stack 30 is canal facing.

If you are talking about the main pool view units from developer; I think it should be stack 119, 120, 121, 122. The direct main pools facing units are stack 120 & 121 which they are selling at a premiums. However, these 2 stacks are 3 bedder of size 1227sqft.

I am also interested to know the current price from developer now?

8kenshin
01-09-09, 23:20
I'm not sure I would have done the same thing as my relative. Then again, I even more sure I would not pay $1,200 for AMK or the $2000 asking price of some fringe prime developments. That said, unlike this relative, I already own property and am thus hedged against price rises.

There are any number of DTZ agents at the showflat (I'd guess at least 30). I have been there the last two weekends and there are agents by the pool showing sitemaps, agents at the ground floor lobbies and agents entering and leaving the units you are being shown. For the most part, they are busy with clients. When I went to the room where the OTP is done, there were 4 other groups with an agent each. I took them almost 3 hours to do the paperwork (thoiugh I went for lunch - maybe they did the same!).

For the most part, agents were almost always with clients, the most prominent groups being Caucasians, mainland China, and Malaysia.

dormer
02-09-09, 09:53
I think the ones which are selling at premium prices are 122. These are the 3+1, in my view more regular layouts. 02-122 was selling at 1400psf by developer. The higher floors of 121 or 120 is still at 13xx level, not 1400psf yet. Thus my assessmenet that developer is pricing 122 at a premium.

Its common knowledge that pool facing units are usually sold at higher price. My question is, in caribbean where the attraction is the waterway, why is pool facing still selling at a higher premium than the waterways one ?

How to price the units for waterways and pools facing in Caribbean is the developer decision. I cannot answer for them. Each buyer has their own preference.

There is no waterway in front of Stack 122. I don't know why they are selling higher price.

I know that the high floor of stack 119 from developer which is pool facing asking around $1500psf. I guess the pricing for each units is depending on the release of units by different phrases and the size of the units.

My veiws is as long as those units from developer that is front facing but not facing the Reflection with direct west sun are consider good units.

rain
05-09-09, 23:18
hi,heard from my agent that the developer are releasing 2 bedders from unit 101,#05 and #06,and with existing tenant to mid 2010,6.8k and 7.1k..does anyone know how is the facing of this unit?

DW
06-09-09, 01:53
hi,heard from my agent that the developer are releasing 2 bedders from unit 101,#05 and #06,and with existing tenant to mid 2010,6.8k and 7.1k..does anyone know how is the facing of this unit?

2BRs can fetch so high rental??!!?!? Private market in caribbean with 7.1K, can fetch 3BRs or 3+1 BRs even!!

flxcat
06-09-09, 16:39
QUOTE=DW]2BRs can fetch so high rental??!!?!? Private market in caribbean with 7.1K, can fetch 3BRs or 3+1 BRs even!![/QUOTE]
It is possible as there units are rented out as service apartment under caribbean residence. If the selling price is still around $1.2mil n clearly dev is charging low to provide the same level of service apartment service then is worth it. So the key is on selling price n charges to provide the rental service. Just some thoughts

8kenshin
06-09-09, 18:18
These units are serviced apartments with 3x a week cleaning, SCV and up to $300 utilities included. (approximately $700p.m. value).

I've heard Keppel has upped to almost $1500psf for the new 2BRM releases based on how quickly the first units sold.

flxcat
06-09-09, 23:51
These units are serviced apartments with 3x a week cleaning, SCV and up to $300 utilities included. (approximately $700p.m. value).

I've heard Keppel has upped to almost $1500psf for the new 2BRM releases based on how quickly the first units sold.

Stack 101 should be 893sf.
Assume is rented out at $7k, service apt charges $1k, and selling at $1.5k psf, the total cost of is ~$1.34mil. Rental gain of $6k still translates to 5.3% yield, not too bad. However, if interest rate hikes, then the buffer will be eaten up fast!

Btw, stack 101 is facing inside greenery, no channel view, so that makes me wonder for 2bedroom facing channel, such as stack 118, 119 are they selling above $1.5k since 101 without channel view is already asking $1.5k

rain
07-09-09, 00:43
To my knowledge,they were selling about 1.4K++psf for the 118/119 and their bigger units too,so the quota prem are higher..and they are all sold out..there was a 2nd floor 2 bedder 840sq ft facing main pool for sale too.was asking abt 1.18mill...tot it was a good deal,agent told me a she was abt to collect cheque,when buyer suddenly backed out..but too bad hubby doesnt like the low floor..

flxcat
07-09-09, 11:04
To my knowledge,they were selling about 1.4K++psf for the 118/119 and their bigger units too,so the quota prem are higher..and they are all sold out..there was a 2nd floor 2 bedder 840sq ft facing main pool for sale too.was asking abt 1.18mill...tot it was a good deal,agent told me a she was abt to collect cheque,when buyer suddenly backed out..but too bad hubby doesnt like the low floor..
Based on ur comment seems like all water facing 2 bedder r gone. Only left with greenery facing n logically should be priced lower then $1400++ psf.

DW
07-09-09, 19:50
Hi 8kenshin,

In your earlier post about 1 week ago, I understand you mentioned
"There are already some developer units released (pool facing) asking $1,550 psf. ".

So, are the new release (1500psf) already cheaper than the ones u said as being ALREADY RELEASED back then as 1550psf?? Or was there a typo somewhere?

8kenshin
07-09-09, 22:37
Hi DW

I am also confused! I remember the DTZ agent saying they were units there for $1,550psf, and was pretty sure he said they were 2BRM developer units.

However, its appears from the other comments that these cannot be 2BRM units, and I also don't know for a fact they are developer units.

They definitely are overlooking the pool though, they were shown to me on the map and also pointed out to me while I was standing alongside the big pool. I didn't pay attention to the stack number as for the asking price the other units I was being shown were better value. Also for that price I could (almost) buy the Reflections.

The developes latest launch of $1475psf 2BRM units (as another poster pointed out) are at best described as "garden facing". That is they have not special facing and would be considered average at best. From that POV I think most people would pay more for the units overlooking the pool than these units.

IMO, the best of the $1475psf units would be level 2 & 3 as these would be lookings stright into greenery rather than someone's laundry or balcony.

DW
11-09-09, 19:50
This thread went quiet. Any idea whats the latest status of the developers' units sale ?? Still selling like hot cakes??

Whats the current selling price?

11-09-09, 21:42
All the potential buyers all scared away liao.. so the thread becomes quiet...

I'm plotting to buy Pinnacle@Duxton when the remaining units are released... even if it cost me $800k.. i also take! :) Help you all form the HDB base cost.. so that private can be pushed even higher! :P

DW
11-09-09, 22:54
I always thought those with a private property already is not allowed to buy directly from HDB anymore - you can buy subsale or resale but not directly from HDB.

Further, if you do buy a HDB directly from I understand you would also have to stay there as your primary home ??

All the potential buyers all scared away liao.. so the thread becomes quiet...

I'm plotting to buy Pinnacle@Duxton when the remaining units are released... even if it cost me $800k.. i also take! :) Help you all form the HDB base cost.. so that private can be pushed even higher! :P

12-09-09, 13:05
I always thought those with a private property already is not allowed to buy directly from HDB anymore - you can buy subsale or resale but not directly from HDB.

Further, if you do buy a HDB directly from I understand you would also have to stay there as your primary home ??

Uh.. I got a sister who's eligible to apply.. :)

8kenshin
13-09-09, 08:01
I was there again to see the agent. It looks likt the $1,550psf was not developer units, but from a private individual.

All the 2 bedders in stack 44 (the last release from Keppel have now been sold (even level 4,block 44!). I was told that one 2Br was sold for $1480psf for this launch (probably not stack 44 though). Note that all of the units in this launch are sea facing units, so quite high prices are being achieved.

DW
13-09-09, 10:46
Hi 8Kenshin,
Do you mean "Note that NOT all of the units in this launch are sea facing units, so quite high prices are being achieved."

As far as I am aware, almost 90% of the 2BRs facing are really not that fantastic. Most of them are facing the yard or washing machinesof the 3BRs or 3+1s. I do not recall any of the 2BR having sea view, even if yes, it willbe very limited pockets of sea andwould be limited to the top floor 2BRs having the right facing.

I was there again to see the agent. It looks likt the $1,550psf was not developer units, but from a private individual.

All the 2 bedders in stack 44 (the last release from Keppel have now been sold (even level 4,block 44!). I was told that one 2Br was sold for $1480psf for this launch (probably not stack 44 though). Note that all of the units in this launch are sea facing units, so quite high prices are being achieved.

DW
13-09-09, 11:14
ROGUE AGENT ALERT!!

I used to only know about this through hear-say about this particular agent (“Agent”) in Caribbean, today I just met up with one of my friend who recently bought Caribbean and confirmed this first-hand.
This Agent in Caribbean whom she often claims herself as the resident agent. This is what I gathered.

1. Fantastic attitude and service prior to turning in a cheque.
2. My friend saw unit he likes and would like to see the TA, and Option before making an offer.
3. Agent advised my friend that owner will only agree to let him see TA and Option if a cheque is available on hand to indicate there is a genuine interest.
4. Agent confirms the the cheque will be held on trust by her, until my friends sees the TA and Option, and any release of the cheque will only be subject to his satisfactory review of the TA and Option.
5. On the basis of her positive attitude, apparent pro-buyer ethics and Pt. 3 and 4, my friend got comfortable in issuing a cheque and ensured that the Offer to Purchase form has such subjectivities
(a. offer will be subject to the form of TA attached and Option initialed by my friend).

The next thing my friend know, the Agent took the Offer to Purchase and handed over the cheque to the Seller. The understanding is that Seller was advised by the Agent, that they can encash the same immediately with no due regard to the satisfaction of the subjectivities stated in the Offer to Purchase. My friend came to know about this after multiple phonecalls to the Agent and was extremely furious after he knew about this.
While the TA and Option turned out to be fairly standard, but it was a clear deviation of the instructions given to the Agent. When my friend said that if he had not been satisfied with the TA or Option, he would have cancelled the cheque immediately, on ground of non-satisfaction of the terms of the Offer to Purchase.

I understand the Agent attitude changed immediately and advised that my friend could walk away from the deal and lose his 1% if he wants. In any case, given that the seller has already encashed the 1% payment, she is already entitled to 0.5% of the receipts by the seller. Agent further refuted that he will be sue for criminal offences and fraud if he had tried to cancel the cheque. Indeed a dishonoured cheque could be tantamount to a basis of fraud but certainly not in such context!!

The Agent further threatened that she will also take vigorous action on her part to recover the lost commission given him pulling out now/stopping the cheque, her commissions will be affected. She apparently gave a very forceful verbal threat that she will take action against him until the ends of the world, if need be. (at this point of the conversation, my jaws almost dropped when I heard this!!).

My friend likes the unit, the TA and Option money was also ok so he did not let this affect his basis of the purchase and went ahead. What was really annoying is that this Agent is using all sort of reasoning and tactics to threaten her clients, which I think is rather distasteful. More importantly, notwithstanding the specific instructions of her client, she went ahead to issue the cheque without due regard of the risk her client would face (which was already told to her!!) What worse, if the TA and Option had been some can of worms, and my friend is stuck because of her rogue actions in giving out the cheque against the conditions and instructions from my friend, he will be done for!!!

Yes, one can argue that the Agent is in obvious breach of her duty (fiduciary or standard care, that’s a separate discussion) towards her client and she could have been liable to damages, if any arose from her rogue actions. This said, it is a huge hassle and one certainly do not want to have to go to small claims tribunal or district courts (depending on the quantum of claim) for things like this… …. I am not sure about you guys, but its incidents like this that made me extremely wary and skeptical about agents in general.

13-09-09, 11:50
ROGUE AGENT ALERT!!

Yes, one can argue that the Agent is in obvious breach of her duty (fiduciary or standard care, that’s a separate discussion) towards her client and she could have been liable to damages, if any arose from her rogue actions. This said, it is a huge hassle and one certainly do not want to have to go to small claims tribunal or district courts (depending on the quantum of claim) for things like this… …. I am not sure about you guys, but its incidents like this that made me extremely wary and skeptical about agents in general.

Your friend can make complaint to the agency in question?
But then.. maybe not very good also.. the girl might come to ur house to make trouble for u... sigh.. such is life.. we see a lemon but we cannot tell everyone about the lemon for fear of our own safety.

southpark2000
13-09-09, 11:57
ROGUE AGENT ALERT!!

And that is why all agents must be licenced and regulated. :simmering:

Then again DBS was regulated and licensed and wat happened to minibond

13-09-09, 11:59
But then.. maybe not very good also.. the girl might come to ur house to make trouble for u... sigh.. such is life.. we see a lemon but we cannot tell everyone about the lemon for fear of our own safety.

i think you should lodge a complain to her company ..

better still write to Straitstimes forum ..

dont mention her name ... but mention her company ..
and let her company contact you instead ...

DW
13-09-09, 12:17
The agent is from DT* and apparently, she is the main agent that operates in caribbean as the Caribbean resident agent/specialist.

Yes, such is life. The concern is this agent knows your specific unit number and you may never know what she will do. Yes, all units in Caribbean have private lift and in terms of security, there should not be much that she can do to my friend's family in their home but do bear in mind, there are many other ways she can try to do funny things to you without having to go to the house.

And yes, I understand she is extremely pushy type of agent and turn really nasty after she gets the cheque from you. This is the part which I really hate most. :(

Yes, I think agents should be regulated as well.

i think you should lodge a complain to her company ..

better still write to Straitstimes forum ..

dont mention her name ... but mention her company ..
and let her company contact you instead ...

13-09-09, 12:44

Freaking hell.. this type of agent should be exposed and make an example of it.. the commission is not exactly small and yes all these are our hard earn money and such hardsell, unethical tactic is certainly not forgiven

13-09-09, 14:22

not willing to complain then lan lan keep quiet no one to blame but ownself

8kenshin
13-09-09, 15:51
Hi 8Kenshin,
Do you mean "Note that NOT all of the units in this launch are sea facing units, so quite high prices are being achieved."

As far as I am aware, almost 90% of the 2BRs facing are really not that fantastic. Most of them are facing the yard or washing machinesof the 3BRs or 3+1s. I do not recall any of the 2BR having sea view, even if yes, it willbe very limited pockets of sea andwould be limited to the top floor 2BRs having the right facing.

Hi DW

Its weird how typos occur in the worst possible spot. Thanks for correcting my error. As a far as I know, none of this release is sea view, and at best the current release has only some channel view, and one of these (a 2BRM unit) has fetched as high at $1480psf.

I was told earlier that there a a few with a sea facing yet to be launched, but these are stacks set several rows back, and are not the prime waterfront row.

8kenshin
13-09-09, 16:07
The agent is from DT* and apparently, she is the main agent that operates in caribbean as the Caribbean resident agent/specialist.

Having helped my relative get a unit there, I have a rough idea how the system works.

DTZ is the marketing agent for Keppel the developer. There is a large team of DTZ agents agents there that call themselves part of the "resident team". This team depends on Keppel for its ricebowl (they work on this and other launches and use there presence to generate customer leads). Keppel keeps these agents on a tight leash. These agents have no power and Keppel doesn't need to put up with any nonsense from rogue agents. I have been told agents have been blacklisted from future Keppel projects after customer complaints and indeed the entire agency relationship (here DTZ) depends on how professional a job keppel thinks the agency is doing.

For non-developer units, a "resident specialist" should be a self appointed title. In this case its a bad idea to write a blank cheque as even if the agent is honourable, the seller may not be.

Its one of the reasons my relative bought a developer unit, even though it might have been a bit cheaper to look at the resale market. They knew that Keppel would be faster and easier to deal than the owner of a resale unit.

flxcat
13-09-09, 17:44
Hi DW

Its weird how typos occur in the worst possible spot. Thanks for correcting my error. As a far as I know, none of this release is sea view, and at best the current release has only some channel view, and one of these (a 2BRM unit) has fetched as high at $1480psf.

I was told earlier that there a a few with a sea facing yet to be launched, but these are stacks set several rows back, and are not the prime waterfront row.
Based on details given the developer block are 42 n 44. There are no sea view for 2 bed rooms. Either pool channel n garden view only. Most are garden view. Not sure where u got the info? If yes could share the sea facing stack for 2 rooms? Thx

8kenshin
13-09-09, 18:12
Based on details given the developer block are 42 n 44. There are no sea view for 2 bed rooms. Either pool channel n garden view only. Most are garden view. Not sure where u got the info? If yes could share the sea facing stack for 2 rooms? Thx

Hi Fixcat, what you typed is correct and the only bocks now for sale are 42 &44, both of which do not have sea views. There is supposed to be some units with sea views being launched later, which are in another block.

rain
13-09-09, 23:34
Hi Fixcat, what you typed is correct and the only bocks now for sale are 42 &44, both of which do not have sea views. There is supposed to be some units with sea views being launched later, which are in another block.

I have seen the site plans of all the 2 bedder frm the brochure,and if i am not wrong ,all 2 bedders do not have a direct sea view or direct channel view ( facing keppel bay),only partial channels views,greenery facing and pool view..(excludes 2+1 where size are much bigger as thay comes with patioo) the do correct me if this is not the case.

the blocks nearerest to the sea are the lowest about 4 0r 5 floor high and they are all 3 to 4 bedders,and the nearest to the fly over are the highest 10 floor high.

http://www.singaporeexpats.com/housing-in-singapore/singapore-property/floor-plan-CARIBBEAN-AT-KEPPEL-BAY.htm

http://www.singaporeexpats.com/housing-in-singapore/singapore-property/site-plan-CARIBBEAN-AT-KEPPEL-BAY.htm

rain
13-09-09, 23:40
Oh btw,i know they are selling unit 101 and 112 last week,wondering are any other units being released this week..

DW
21-09-09, 21:18
Looks like the developers' sales interest has come off in this forum. Anyone know whats the development in the developers' sales now?
All fully sold ? What the prices for the developers sale now?

Oh btw,i know they are selling unit 101 and 112 last week,wondering are any other units being released this week..

8kenshin
22-09-09, 01:58
They are ratcheting up the prices and dribbling out the stock.

I'd guess prices are up close to 15% from when they first started selling 3 months ago, and for this reason the pace of sales has to slow down as they are getting more demanding and the 2BRMs (cheaper on absolute basis) are mostly sold.

There are a ton of agents so if you want info, its easy to get. Units are hard to get though, as Keppel makes the agents to present cheques and seems to only be releasing units when there is committed interest at a price they are happy to sell at.

DW
25-10-09, 11:13
This has gone incredibly quiet .... hear from agents that every weekend, there are still units being streamed off by the developer to buyers. Wonder if anyone knows what the situation over there now (of course I can always call up agents on websites or classifieds but I am hoping to get more of a non-agent or rather views of investors/buyers in the current situation, if one is near or have recently interacted/looked at Caribbean.

I have a question (sorry, if it is abundantly clear to you but this is somethign I cannot quite completely understand....)

It appears there are a certain group of people who would look to buy into existing TOPed properties, and certain group of buyers are absolutely adamant on brand new or launched (i.e. not TOPed yet) units only. Wonder if anyone can share any insights or views on what might be driving these separate groups of buyers with different kind of interest of the two "types" of aforesaid properties ?

Helpful if various parties can share their thoughts. Thanks!

They are ratcheting up the prices and dribbling out the stock.

I'd guess prices are up close to 15% from when they first started selling 3 months ago, and for this reason the pace of sales has to slow down as they are getting more demanding and the 2BRMs (cheaper on absolute basis) are mostly sold.

There are a ton of agents so if you want info, its easy to get. Units are hard to get though, as Keppel makes the agents to present cheques and seems to only be releasing units when there is committed interest at a price they are happy to sell at.

dormer
26-10-09, 18:04
The developer has sold around 100 units for last few months and they have around 50 units left. Reference to their ad, they only advertise 3 bedders for sales and I think all the 2 bedders are sold.

So far, I can see the highest psf lodge in the latest caveat from the developer unit is $1521psf for the stack 119.

DW
27-10-09, 01:42
I think the 1521psf is more likely to be a outlier rather than the norm. It is a 2-BR unit, and probably comes with tenancy (serviced apartment tenancy, which Keppel will continue to provide the service until end of tenancy term).

Wonder if anyone knows what is the average selling price now for the 3BR and 3+1s.

Also, anyone has any idea on my earlier question as to why certain groups of people appears to have a strong preference for new launches rather than getting existing TOPed units...???

The developer has sold around 100 units for last few months and they have around 50 units left. Reference to their ad, they only advertise 3 bedders for sales and I think all the 2 bedders are sold.

So far, I can see the highest psf lodge in the latest caveat from the developer unit is $1521psf for the stack 119.

dormer
27-10-09, 08:50
I think the 1521psf is more likely to be a outlier rather than the norm. It is a 2-BR unit, and probably comes with tenancy (serviced apartment tenancy, which Keppel will continue to provide the service until end of tenancy term).

Wonder if anyone knows what is the average selling price now for the 3BR and 3+1s.

Also, anyone has any idea on my earlier question as to why certain groups of people appears to have a strong preference for new launches rather than getting existing TOPed units...???

I don't think 1521psf is a outlier since this is a 2 bedders on the highest floor & pool facing units. The Mid-Floor for this stack is already at 1461psf reference to the caveat lodge.

It will be interesting to see the 7th & 8th floor of this stack transcation price later.

8kenshin
28-10-09, 17:03

AFAIK, there are three dynamics playing out:

Own stay vs. investment - almost every Asian woman wants brand new. Investors normally seek to rent out, so 2nd hand is just fine - and in fact even better as its cheaper

Own stay vs. flip: New properties offer the opporunity for subasale, and for previous launches, IAS and DPS which gives extra leverage on returns.

Now vs later: Completed property obviously is avaliable for own stay or rental immediately, while "new" often involves a wait of 1-4 years.

In short, my take is there is not two types of buyers, but many more sub groups making choices based on what's best for them.

Reporter
05-11-09, 12:44
http://www.straitstimes.com/STI/STIMEDIA/common/mast_home.gif
Foreigners back in private home market
Foreign buyers are streaming back into the private homes market in growing numbers, especially those from China
Joyce Teo
The Straits Times
Thursday, 5 November 2009

http://www.straitstimes.com/STI/STIMEDIA/image/20091105/homesales-st.jpg
New research from property consultancy Savills Singapore shows foreigners accounted for 22.7% of private home sales in the third quarter. -- Photo: Desmond Foo, ST

Foreign buyers are streaming back into the private homes market in growing numbers, especially those from China.

New research from property consultancy Savills Singapore shows foreigners accounted for 22.7% of private home sales in the third quarter – above the 19.7% average since the start of 2000.

Buyers from China have dislodged those from India for the No. 3 spot in the rankings this year with a contribution of nearly 15% of total foreign purchases. This puts China just behind Indonesia in the second spot and Malaysia at No. 1.

In the past two years, India had been in third spot, but it has slipped to fourth.

Last year, buyers from China had moved up to the No. 4 spot, dislodging buyers from Britain.

Buyers from Myanmar featured more strongly, coming in at No. 8. They did not make it to the top 10 last year, and were 10th in 2007.

In the July to September period, foreign buyers – including permanent residents – lodged 2,448 private home caveats, a key step to buying a home.

This is up from 1,807 caveats in the second quarter and just 498 in the first, according to data compiled by Savills.

In all, permanent residents bought 1,389 homes in the third quarter.

DTZ said its preliminary data for the third quarter showed that foreigners accounted for about 25% of total sales, compared with about 33% during the boom of 2007.

The most popular project sought by foreigners was Sophia Residence, a project launched in July. Then came Caribbean at Keppel Bay, Ascentia Sky, One Devonshire and Viva.

Permanent residents preferred Melville Park, a 99-year leasehold condominium in Simei, the recently launched Trevista, followed by Caribbean at Keppel Bay.

About 54% of the purchases by China buyers were for resale homes, said DTZ head of South-east Asia research Chua Chor Hoon.

Like Malaysian buyers, buyers from China tend to prefer homes priced between $500,000 and $1 million.

One-fifth of them bought homes costing $1.5 million to as much as $5 million.

Indonesians, however, tended to go for higher priced projects, particularly those priced $1.5 million to $5 million.

They like properties located at Novena, River Valley and the Singapore River.

They had been the biggest group of foreign buyers, taking first place from 2004 to 2007, only to lose the spot to Malaysia during the recent economic crisis, said Ms Christine Sun, Savills Singapore’s senior research & consultancy manager.

The latest figures featured a substantial rise in the number of foreign transactions for higher-priced properties.

A total of 86 properties priced above $5 million were sold in the quarter, up from 27 in the second and a mere six in the first.

Also, there was a 60% rise in deals for projects costing between $1.5 million and $5 million. Demand from foreigners for mass market homes was little changed from the second quarter.

Savills said recent data showed that foreigners who are not permanent residents tend to buy more pricey projects.

This group was also more likely to buy homes in prime districts than permanent residents, said Ms Sun. ‘We are hearing that more of these super-rich mainland Chinese buyers have come in recent weeks to buy prime properties like the bungalows in Sentosa Cove.’

But the big influx of foreigners to the luxury market in the 2006-2007 boom has not quite returned, consultants said.

Still, support from regional buyers could rise further. Jones Lang LaSalle’s head of residential, Ms Jacqueline Wong, said the firm has had rising interest from new potential buyers from India, China and Russia in the past four months.

‘We are one of the places they are considering. They see Singapore as a safe haven,’ said Ms Wong.

A senior private banker at a foreign bank said: ‘We are seeing some clients consider buying a Singapore property as one of a string of homes they have around the world. Luxury homes have come down 30% from the peak, so they are better value now.’

DTZ’s Ms Chua said foreign buyers see the growing attraction of Singapore as a global city and expect prices to keep rising as the economy strengthens.

‘Prices of prime and luxurious units have not reached 2007 levels and there is still the potential of capital appreciation depending on the rate of economic recovery,’ she said.

http://i266.photobucket.com/albums/ii268/kcc0002/ForeignBuyersOnTheRise.jpg

DW
11-11-09, 23:48
DTZ has got quite a name for itself, for the agents they have. My friend whom did his transaction with this horrifying agent had an extremely unpleasant experience.

As my friend was genuinely in the purchase and serious in the apartment, he let the matter come to pass (given he was, in any case, intended to buy anyway). For those who did not read the previous post, this was roughly what happened.

My friend gave the cheque to the said DTZ agent and requested that the cheque to be withheld until he sights the OTP and inventory list. Within hours, the agent actually proceed to issue the cheque to the owner and came back with the owner's version of the OTP to my friend. Of course, my friend was furious. Though there was nothing particularly onerous in the owner's version of the OTP, the agent clearly breached her duty as an agent, and acted in contrary to the instruction given to her by her client whom she was suppose to act for: perhaps all for her eagerness to submit and close the deal, but appears to have acted without due consideration of the interest of her client (my friend).

She has also asked from my friend his contacts of his banker, on the pretext of helping him along with the bank loan or such other matters which she can assist to help him to look at. It was after completion, my friend was informed by the banker that the agent had contacted the bank (i.e. the banker) to put the agent's name as the referral contact so as to extract the 0.15% of the loan referral commission. The agent did this not without informing my friend.

Given such a situation, my friend felt rather offended for he was never quite consulted on the same, he then gave instructions to the bank that he was not aware that the agent actually referred him to the bank and that referral was done without his knowledge. As a matter of factly, my friend got to know the bank's financing packages from his other contacts and not thru the agent. On this basis, my friend removed the agent's name from the referral contact reference and thus the 0.15% commission was never paid out to the agent.

The agent upon knowing this, started to haress my friend and even threatened to bring the case to court (shocking, isnt it?). My friend then approached DTZ to make an enquiry on this agent and her track records, and guess what:- DTZ apparently have already received multiple complaints about this rouge agent whom they have long stopped striked her name off the DTZ agency registration. When my friend presented the agent's name card (which bears DTZ's logo), it appears such name card can be easily reproduced by anyone out there even without being employed by DTZ!!

I thought this was such a shocker incident !!

Having helped my relative get a unit there, I have a rough idea how the system works.

DTZ is the marketing agent for Keppel the developer. There is a large team of DTZ agents agents there that call themselves part of the "resident team". This team depends on Keppel for its ricebowl (they work on this and other launches and use there presence to generate customer leads). Keppel keeps these agents on a tight leash. These agents have no power and Keppel doesn't need to put up with any nonsense from rogue agents. I have been told agents have been blacklisted from future Keppel projects after customer complaints and indeed the entire agency relationship (here DTZ) depends on how professional a job keppel thinks the agency is doing.

For non-developer units, a "resident specialist" should be a self appointed title. In this case its a bad idea to write a blank cheque as even if the agent is honourable, the seller may not be.

Its one of the reasons my relative bought a developer unit, even though it might have been a bit cheaper to look at the resale market. They knew that Keppel would be faster and easier to deal than the owner of a resale unit.

12-11-09, 01:37
some agents in fact hold multiple name cards. I really hope the industry regulation gets rid of all this nonsense.

DTZ has got quite a name for itself, for the agents they have. My friend whom did his transaction with this horrifying agent had an extremely unpleasant experience.

As my friend was genuinely in the purchase and serious in the apartment, he let the matter come to pass (given he was, in any case, intended to buy anyway). For those who did not read the previous post, this was roughly what happened.

My friend gave the cheque to the said DTZ agent and requested that the cheque to be withheld until he sights the OTP and inventory list. Within hours, the agent actually proceed to issue the cheque to the owner and came back with the owner's version of the OTP to my friend. Of course, my friend was furious. Though there was nothing particularly onerous in the owner's version of the OTP, the agent clearly breached her duty as an agent, and acted in contrary to the instruction given to her by her client whom she was suppose to act for: perhaps all for her eagerness to submit and close the deal, but appears to have acted without due consideration of the interest of her client (my friend).

She has also asked from my friend his contacts of his banker, on the pretext of helping him along with the bank loan or such other matters which she can assist to help him to look at. It was after completion, my friend was informed by the banker that the agent had contacted the bank (i.e. the banker) to put the agent's name as the referral contact so as to extract the 0.15% of the loan referral commission. The agent did this not without informing my friend.

Given such a situation, my friend felt rather offended for he was never quite consulted on the same, he then gave instructions to the bank that he was not aware that the agent actually referred him to the bank and that referral was done without his knowledge. As a matter of factly, my friend got to know the bank's financing packages from his other contacts and not thru the agent. On this basis, my friend removed the agent's name from the referral contact reference and thus the 0.15% commission was never paid out to the agent.

The agent upon knowing this, started to haress my friend and even threatened to bring the case to court (shocking, isnt it?). My friend then approached DTZ to make an enquiry on this agent and her track records, and guess what:- DTZ apparently have already received multiple complaints about this rouge agent whom they have long stopped striked her name off the DTZ agency registration. When my friend presented the agent's name card (which bears DTZ's logo), it appears such name card can be easily reproduced by anyone out there even without being employed by DTZ!!

I thought this was such a shocker incident !!

carpel
12-11-09, 12:58
some agents in fact hold multiple name cards. I really hope the industry regulation gets rid of all this nonsense.

We had a similar experience with a DTZ agent and we find her behaviour totally distasteful and unprofessional. She is a live in specialist .

We had purchased a unit through her and she recommended some banks to us. She mentioned that it is better for us to use her banker as she could make it easier for them to take photograph for the apartment for valuation ! Sincw we are not first time home buyers, we find this piece of imformation interesting.

We decided to choose our own banker and we told her about it and guess what? She kept calling us and demanded that we give her the banker's detail..contact no ...giving all sort of reasons .. We were puzzled as to why she she need to know as we had use our own banker and not hers . We told that we would provide her the details after the bank has approved our loan. But she managed to find out which bank we had use and demanded commission from our banker ... she did this behind our back before we even had the chance to text her the details.

Thank goodness we had pre warned our banker about this ruthless agent and the commission was not paid. Why should we even paid her the commission when we had use our own agent ? It has nothing to do with her . How she has the audacity to ask for commission .. obviously she has very thick skin.

We find her service appalling and unbelievable ! To think that she is " from " DTZ has given the compnay a bad name.

DW
15-11-09, 19:00
Yes, my friend's agent (see below description of the incident) was also from DTZ and she also claimed to be a live-in specialist. When she was pitching the apartment to my friend she claimed she owns 9 Caribbean apartments and used that as a testament of her confidence in that project (not that it was of any influence at all). Quite unsurprisingly, on investigation of her claim with the MCST, MSCT denied that a single person owned or co-owned up to 9 apartments in caribbean. What a slime ball she was, isnt she?

I wonder if this is the same agent. Is her name Nic***?
Let me know. I really do hope the regulation will rid the industry of such unethical rogue agents.

We had a similar experience with a DTZ agent and we find her behaviour totally distasteful and unprofessional. She is a live in specialist .

We had purchased a unit through her and she recommended some banks to us. She mentioned that it is better for us to use her banker as she could make it easier for them to take photograph for the apartment for valuation ! Sincw we are not first time home buyers, we find this piece of imformation interesting.

We decided to choose our own banker and we told her about it and guess what? She kept calling us and demanded that we give her the banker's detail..contact no ...giving all sort of reasons .. We were puzzled as to why she she need to know as we had use our own banker and not hers . We told that we would provide her the details after the bank has approved our loan. But she managed to find out which bank we had use and demanded commission from our banker ... she did this behind our back before we even had the chance to text her the details.

Thank goodness we had pre warned our banker about this ruthless agent and the commission was not paid. Why should we even paid her the commission when we had use our own agent ? It has nothing to do with her . How she has the audacity to ask for commission .. obviously she has very thick skin.

We find her service appalling and unbelievable ! To think that she is " from " DTZ has given the compnay a bad name.

dormer
15-11-09, 19:42
Yes, my friend's agent (see below description of the incident) was also from DTZ and she also claimed to be a live-in specialist. When she was pitching the apartment to my friend she claimed she owns 9 Caribbean apartments and used that as a testament of her confidence in that project (not that it was of any influence at all). Quite unsurprisingly, on investigation of her claim with the MCST, MSCT denied that a single person owned or co-owned up to 9 apartments in caribbean. What a slime ball she was, isnt she?

Let me know. I really do hope the regulation will rid the industry of such unethical rogue agents.

Yes... her name is Nic *** she claims she owns 4 units and feel very bullish about Caribbean . She even brought us to see her unit . I still see her ad in the papers sometimes..scary.

15-11-09, 19:47
wait for Carpel to confirm. This is terrible. The tone sounds like some con man going around making unsubstantiated claims. sometimes 9 units, sometimes 4 but storyline is the same. geez.

Yes... her name is Nic *** she claims she owns 4 units and feel very bullish about Caribbean . She even brought us to see her unit . I still see her ad in the papers sometimes..scary.

15-11-09, 20:00
Wa.. seems like everyone of you are honing in on the same agent.
Maybe you can write a letter and co-signed by all you guys to media and expose this bluddy bi*tch. I already hate her from the description you guys gave..

DW
15-11-09, 20:04
Yes, she invited my friend and me to her apartment before. To confirm its the same person, her "apartment" that she brought you to is a

- 2BR,
- fairly high floor (think its 8th or 9th floor)
- located near the big fountain side right ??

I did asked about other DTZ agents (those whom I find more reliable ones) about this female agent Nic*** and if she is indeed so famous in caribbean with 9 apartments. This other agent immediately told me about this 2BR apartment which Nico** brought us to - I understand this is one of the apartments which NIco**'s client asked her to rent it out for them - apparently, she is using it as part of her marketing scam rather helping the client to rent it out.... .....

My jaw almost dropped when I hear that.... .... I always tot such shams are set up for tourist in Thailand, Cambodia,....etc, but in Singapore real estate industry?!??! Shocking!!

Of course, we should always take these inputs with a pinch of salt but it does appear that this female agent Nic*** is some sort of a sham agent well-known even amongst its own agency colleagues... ...

DW
15-11-09, 20:10
Hi Dormer,

What is your experience with her ?? Did you buy from her in the end ??
Did she pull the same bank commission stant with you?
Submitted your cheque without your consent (if you have instructed to conditionally withhold your cheque first).

Any other sharing of experiences on this agent will be helpful I Think, especially if there are people here who might end up bumping into her, just to alert others.

carpel
16-11-09, 16:06
wait for Carpel to confirm. This is terrible. The tone sounds like some con man going around making unsubstantiated claims. sometimes 9 units, sometimes 4 but storyline is the same. geez.

Her name is Nic***. Hope she will have some self reflection when she read this. Buyers out there beware .

16-11-09, 16:17
So there you have it. I am not vested at C@KB, but my friend recently bought through a DTZ agent representing Keppel. Don't think its her since its from the developer's sales team?

The few of you who have dealt with Nic*** should band together and look for more 'victims' and see what course of action you want to take. Any experienced investors got any ideas on what to do with such thugs?

Believe me, people with no conscience will not reflect on themselves when they read this. ;)

Her name is Nic***. Hope she will have some self reflection when she read this. Buyers out there beware .

16-11-09, 17:34
The few of you who have dealt with Nic*** should band together and look for more 'victims' and see what course of action you want to take. Any experienced investors got any ideas on what to do with such thugs?

Believe me, people with no conscience will not reflect on themselves when they read this. ;)

is she cute?

16-11-09, 20:53
:doh: not again...anyway, i have not met her, must ask the other guys. :D

is she cute?

DW
16-11-09, 23:04
She is about 1.65m tall and appears to weigh about 85-100kg type. Age is probably about mid to late thirties. Mid-lenght hair and I personally would put her on a beauty index/scale of not higher than Patricia Mok. On a very good day, you can perhaps consider her to be about 4-5 notches below Patricia Mok.

You go figure, if she is cute.

PS: The stats I provided above are by no means an exaggeration. I mean, those are my honest assessment.

is she cute?

17-11-09, 00:22
this is bad, negative on all measures. i could have sworn you are biased because of her misdeeds LOL. :D You describe her as though she is in some WANTED list. But I guess everyone who is interested in C@KB should keep a lookout for her.

She is about 1.65m tall and appears to weigh about 85-100kg type. Age is probably about mid to late thirties. Mid-lenght hair and I personally would put her on a beauty index/scale of not higher than Patricia Mok. On a very good day, you can perhaps consider her to be about 4-5 notches below Patricia Mok.

You go figure, if she is cute.

PS: The stats I provided above are by no means an exaggeration. I mean, those are my honest assessment.

17-11-09, 05:55
yucks- sounds like a cross dressing moses lim

shang nao jin ah!

17-11-09, 08:05
that's a cross dressing jack neo.

yucks- sounds like a cross dressing moses lim

shang nao jin ah!

dormer
17-11-09, 17:32
Hi Dormer,

What is your experience with her ?? Did you buy from her in the end ??
Did she pull the same bank commission stant with you?
Submitted your cheque without your consent (if you have instructed to conditionally withhold your cheque first).

Any other sharing of experiences on this agent will be helpful I Think, especially if there are people here who might end up bumping into her, just to alert others.

Yes, she brought us to her 2BR unit located at the 9th floor for signing the OTP.

Everything was ok until she kept on chasing me for my banker details. She had irritated me becos she gave me all sort of stupid reasons demanding for the details. Although bank referral comm has nothing to do with me, I just do not wish to reward to this $ face agent. Guess what? Same as what Carpel has mentioned. She found out my banker details behind my back and demanded the comm from our banker. Luckily, I have pre-warned my banker and the comm was not paid out.

Besides 4 units in Caribbean, she also claimed that she owned 1 unit of the SAIL. She speaks with a Hong Kong essence and she always said "You got a good unit at a good price" after signing the OTP.

For those potentail Caribbean buyers, please beware of this unethical agent. You still can find her Ad in the rental and sales of Caribbean who has claimed that she is a live in specailist.

DW
17-11-09, 23:31
To add on, this female agent Nico**, also tried to persuade my friend to buy the unit by showing several other "recently signed OTPs" together with photocopies of the cheques submitted for the price and unit nos.

She shown us three units which was supposedly recently transacted (i.e. OTP signed) units at prices more than SGD100psf than URA caveated prices - she used these as her basis of the current market price in that URA caveat prices is deficient in not able to capture live transacted prices (as they are usually lagged). I deliberately noted the unit numbers and prices of these examples shown to us. It has been 3++ months now, none of these examples she shown are published on the URA caveats.

Yes, it could be these buyers just decided not to lodge a caveat at all (which most lawyers will normally do for their clients) but, for these three specific examples which she shown us and happened not to be lodged with SLA (caveats), just too much of a coincidence to be true, at least in my own view. Within reason, her integrity and trustworthiness is highly questionable.

Yes, she brought us to her 2BR unit located at the 9th floor for signing the OTP.

Everything was ok until she kept on chasing me for my banker details. She had irritated me becos she gave me all sort of stupid reasons demanding for the details. Although bank referral comm has nothing to do with me, I just do not wish to reward to this $ face agent. Guess what? Same as what Carpel has mentioned. She found out my banker details behind my back and demanded the comm from our banker. Luckily, I have pre-warned my banker and the comm was not paid out.

Besides 4 units in Caribbean, she also claimed that she owned 1 unit of the SAIL. She speaks with a Hong Kong essence and she always said "You got a good unit at a good price" after signing the OTP.

For those potentail Caribbean buyers, please beware of this unethical agent. You still can find her Ad in the rental and sales of Caribbean who has claimed that she is a live in specailist.

DW
12-02-10, 23:31
Anyone here will be attending the AGM coming up?

Reporter
19-02-10, 13:34
http://www.theedgesingapore.com/images/logo_s.png
Apartment at Caribbean at Keppel Bay sold for $1,479 psf
The Edge
Monday, 15 February 2010

http://www.tylin.com.sg/cutenews-aj/data/upimages/caribbean.jpg
Caribbean at Keppel Bay

With the opening of Genting Singapore’s Resorts World at Sentosa integrated resort, there has been a flurry of transactions at Caribbean at Keppel Bay and also the upmarket condominium projects in Sentosa Cove. In the week of Jan 15 to 22 alone, there was a total of 9 new sales and resales.

The condominium that saw the most resale activity was the 969-unit Caribbean at Keppel Bay developed by Keppel Land and completed in 2004. In that period, there were 5 transactions at Caribbean ranging from $1,363 psf to $1,479 psf.

The most recent transaction was an 8th floor, 893 sqft unit in one of the 10-storey blocks; it changed hands for $1.28 million, or $1,433 psf. The previous owner had purchased it from the developer in 2004 for $707,085, or $791 psf, enjoying an 81% capital appreciation in the last five years.

The highest price achieved in terms of price psf was for a 1,356 sqft 7th floor unit sold for just over $2 million, or $1,479 psf. In that same tower, a 3rd-floor unit was sold for $1.702 million, or $1,363 psf. Two other units at Caribbean changed hands, with caveats lodged on Jan 15: One was a 1,668 sqft 5th-floor apartment sold for $2.43 million, or $1,460 psf; the other was a 1,335 sqft apartment on the third level of another block that went for $1.9 million, or $1,426 psf.

Over at The Berth by The Cove, considered the first condominium development to be launched at Sentosa Cove by developer Ho Bee Group, the most recent transaction, according to URA Realis, was for a 1,647 sqft apartment on the first level of one of the low-rise blocks that changed hands at $2.45 million, or $1,490 psf.

This is the third time the apartment has changed hands in the secondary market. The original owner had purchased the property in November 2004, when it was first launched, for more than $1.39 million, or $846 psf. It was subsequently sold in a sub-sale two years later for $1.647 million, or $1,000 psf, according to an October 2006 caveat. Thus, the first owner enjoyed a price appreciation of 18.2% in about two years. Barely a month later, the property was flipped for $1.9 million, or $1,154 psf, according to a November 2006 caveat. This owner enjoyed the greatest capital gain of 29% in more than 3 years when he sold the property most recently for $2.45 million.

The Berth at the Cove was completed in 2006, and Ho Bee’s upmarket 249-unit The Coast was completed just last year. The most recent transaction at The Coast was for a 2,024 sqft 6th-level apartment sold for $4.768 million, or $2,357 sqft, according to a Jan 15 caveat with URA Realis. The previous owner had purchased the property for $3.416 million or $1,688 psf, when it was launched in late 2006. Thus, he saw a 39.6% capital appreciation in just over 3 years.

The most exclusive condominium project that has set a new price benchmark at Sentosa Cove and that has gotten tongues wagging is SC Global Developments’ Seven Palms. Last October, the developer announced that it had sold 6 of 10 units released, and according to caveats lodged with URA Realis, the units ranged in price from $8.35 million for a 2,702 sqft apartment to $13.9 million for a 4,273 sqft apartment. Average prices ranged from $3,091 to $3,353 psf. Most recently, another unit was sold, according to a Jan 15 caveat. It was for a 2,723 sqft apartment that went for $9.088 million, or $$3,337 psf. Unlike the other condominiums that are of a 99-year lease tenure, SC Global’s Seven Palms has a 103-year lease.

Meanwhile, at the luxury 124-unit condominium project, The Marina Collection, developed by a consortium-led by Lippo Group, a unit was also sold during that period. It was a 4,693 sqft, 5-bedroom penthouse that went for more than $10.3 million, or $2,200 psf. Construction of the project is underway and scheduled for completion late this year or early 2011. Another similar-sized penthouse was sold in early 2008 for $12.67 million, or $2,700 psf. The developer released 60 units for sale in the first phase in late 2007 for $2,700 to $2,900 psf.

With the opening of Resorts World at Sentosa, there is even greater interest in luxury residential projects in Sentosa Cove and the Harbourfront area. Upcoming previews of new projects at Sentosa Cove after Chinese New Year include Ho Bee and IOI Properties’ 150-unit luxury Seascape as well as the 2nd phase of The Marina Collection.

dormer
10-03-10, 14:57
I got the news from my agent that the developer is selling their remaining Caribbean units at 1700+psf now. Can anybody verify? How is the resales price now?

Reporter
10-03-10, 17:51
I got the news from my agent that the developer is selling their remaining Caribbean units at 1700+psf now. Can anybody verify? How is the resales price now?
Developer raise selling price of remaining units at going-6-year-old Caribbean at Keppel Bay to $1,700+ psf?

Why?
Because its resale has just hit a nëw hïgh of $1,548 psf?

Caribbean at Keppel Bay
Address .............................. psf ............... Area ........ Price ............ Contract Date
46 Keppel Bay Drive #10-125 .... $1,548 psf .... 904 sqft .... $1,400,000 .... 8 Feb 10

8kenshin
10-03-10, 19:31
46 Keppel Bay Drive #10-125 .... $1,548 psf .... 904 sqft .... $1,400,000 .... 8 Feb 10

Does 46 Keppel Bay Drive mean block 46?

If so that on the corner of Telok Blangah Road and the Reflections.

Unless it looks at something nice at the Reflections, I would rate the facing as average at best.

But 1,700? if its tru, then they may be planning to push Reflections price!

flxcat
23-03-10, 00:01
Developer raise selling price of remaining units at going-6-year-old Caribbean at Keppel Bay to $1,700+ psf?

Why?
Because its resale has just hit a nëw hïgh of $1,548 psf?

Caribbean at Keppel Bay
Address .............................. psf ............... Area ........ Price ............ Contract Date

Recieve SMS from agent last Sat indicating new release of Reflections at $1,700psf onwards for 2-4rm sentosa view.

IMHO, Caribbean selling at $1700 probably face a huge competition from Reflections which is newer and also a nice project going around the same px.

8kenshin
23-03-10, 07:03
Interesting, but wonder if the agent info is correct?

Why would Keppel Land raise the price of the Carribbean (by a lot) and not of the Reflections?

kram
29-03-10, 12:16
think your agent sms was wrong. Reported that Reflections new launch went for average $2200 psf

8kenshin
30-03-10, 07:48
Strait Times had agents advertising they had units of Carribbean for sale at $1080...umm. I'll take 10 :)

30-03-10, 08:58
$1080 psf? Try to call them and they will record your name & telephone as next potential buyer in their database. Then they will return and said Oh, owners give wrong info, should be $2080 psf! :banghead:
Seen too many of these tactics. Where got so cheap deal advertise on newspapers for you?

Strait Times had agents advertising they had units of Carribbean for sale at $1080...umm. I'll take 10 :)

dormer
30-03-10, 09:04

Beware of this Ad. This is from the unethical agent by the name Nic*** that we have posted early on.

This price has been there since last year. Her purpose is to fish buyer. Watch Out!

8kenshin
30-03-10, 09:07
I even had one time I called to enquire about buying my own unit!

I called an agent that was selling a unit in the same stack (no other units with the same psf) as the price was rather high to see what inquiries she was getting.

Unknown to me it was an agent I had spoken to 6-months earlier who had put up my unit "for sale" without asking.

Clever tactic. Get seller to commit to price, then ask buyer if want to sell...

dormer
30-03-10, 09:15
Her hp is 90038***. Watch out her Ad!

dormer
30-03-10, 10:46
U can see her Ad today again.
Reflection $14xx up n Caribbean $1088 up

Be careful!!!

30-03-10, 10:50
U can see her Ad today again.
Reflection $14xx up n Caribbean $1088 up

Be careful!!!

that incident happened awhile back

how come no one (especially the victim) expose her to her agency ?

such agents should be dealt with ..else they think they doing the right things

kram
30-03-10, 18:00
wah! Caribbean ave price already above $14xx psf. Wonder what she says when people ask for the $1088psf unit? If say just sold, can say immediately approach buyer and offer $1288 hahahah

dormer
31-03-10, 09:35
wah! Caribbean ave price already above $14xx psf. Wonder what she says when people ask for the $1088psf unit? If say just sold, can say immediately approach buyer and offer $1288 hahahah
Her Ad is on today again. U may call her n check what she says.

31-03-10, 10:10
Actually , is it just this agent under-quoting?
I have been calling a few and most quote you a price and then when you view the units, they quote you another higher price.

Condorich
31-03-10, 10:25
I even had one time I called to enquire about buying my own unit!

I called an agent that was selling a unit in the same stack (no other units with the same psf) as the price was rather high to see what inquiries she was getting.

Unknown to me it was an agent I had spoken to 6-months earlier who had put up my unit "for sale" without asking.

Clever tactic. Get seller to commit to price, then ask buyer if want to sell...

Agents... they do at least two things when they have nothing to do

1. Drop fliers saying that they have ready buyers, usually will mention that they have sold some units around yours at a good price successfully.

2. Advertise in newspaper or other media that they have fire sales, owner say must sell etc...just to get leads.

3. Try to marry the two deals together and telling a story to seller and another story to buyer.

On 3, it is professionally run, the agents doing the marketing and agents doing the selling may not be the same person or same agency.. but they could report to the same boss or have a share in commission.

So the morale of the story is.... don't be too naive.

shespawn
31-03-10, 10:29
I have been calling a few and most quote you a price and then when you view the units, they quote you another higher price.

these are some of the gimmicks they have to make your "heart itchy". Once you like it, you might sway towards buying at a higher price.
Just like property launch, q for so long, tell them you only buy at 800psf, they let u q for hours, when you reach the booking area, it's actually 950psf. :simmering:

31-03-10, 11:00

i have encountered some (not this property) where it was advertised as 690psf and then when i call up tell me its typo error and is 960psf lol.. save me a viewing trip but already make me tulan liao

Property_Owner
31-03-10, 11:06

Look at today advertisement on MBR, this adv been running for quite some times.

MARINA BAY RESIDENCES
Full Bayview Premium Stack 10 & 1
Hurry! TOP Soon!
IR opening!
#19 to #29 : $3900psf
#30 to #39: $4200psf
#40 upwards: $4500psf
Penthouse : $5300psf

Actually , is it just this agent over-quoting?

tanumy
01-04-10, 00:10
New condo in D18 going to draw huge interest. Buy Double bay residence which is near simei mrt, close to singaproe 4th univeristy, japanese school, changi airport and east coast park is near by and also upcoming changi business park developement.

many shopping malls coming up with couple of tourist hotels. Great upside potential with great rental yield....

shespawn
01-04-10, 10:50
New condo in D18 going to draw huge interest. Buy Double bay residence which is near simei mrt, close to singaproe 4th univeristy, japanese school, changi airport and east coast park is near by and also upcoming changi business park developement.

many shopping malls coming up with couple of tourist hotels. Great upside potential with great rental yield....

you just came out from IMH ah?

02-04-10, 23:29
Just came back from Australia - Double Bay.

Really wonder why our Simei condo is also called Double Bay ?
There is totally no linkage leh.

Anyway, notice that there are quite a few parcels of land in Tamp, Simei area. Prices of suburban areas will be capped with government pushing out new land whenever prices start to inch up too much ...

So, all the factors mentioned is true except the last bit, the final conclusion is - government will dish out more land and prices will be contained, consumers will have more choices.

02-04-10, 23:32
Sorry, I sidetracked.

What I actually intended to post is as below :

Just came back from Resorts World - Feng Shui Inn.

The traffic along (in front of) Vivo is horrific ! Cant get into Vivo at all.

Any residents of Carribean here ? Was thinking of getting a stack 87 in Reflections, but the traffic today is really worrisome.

Any feedback ?

02-04-10, 23:37
Sorry, I sidetracked.

Any residents of Carribean here ? Was thinking of getting a stack 87 in Reflections, but the traffic today is really worrisome.

Any feedback ?

yes

the traffic is horrid .. and i doubt theres anything they can do to alleviate the problem ..

the space is already used to the max ..

02-04-10, 23:59
Traffic in front of Vivocity and around that stretch of road into & out of Sentosa always jam like hell! :simmering:
I can't imagine myself staying around there unless I work there (hence no choice have to go there). As such, may be buy Carribeans or Reflections to rent out instead of own stay? (Those working in Vivo probably like to live there otherwise if drive always caught in jams! :banghead:)

Sorry, I sidetracked.

Any feedback ?

03-04-10, 13:57
Buy a Reflections/Carribean to rent to someone who work in Vivo ?

I doubt it means sense if thats the core group of tenants you are looking for.

Have to Reflect on this ...

dormer
03-04-10, 17:20
The tenants of Caribbean mostly working at Shenton way, Harbourfront and Jurong. Most of them don't drive.

kram
05-04-10, 11:54
Ya, mostly the tenants at caribbean work in the city, shenton way area. To bypass vivo jam, can take flyover and come down at henderson road, make a u-turn. There is a traffic light at caribbean to turn in which will serve caribbean and eventually allow easier access to Reflections too

calvenng
06-04-10, 12:31

Thought I m the only one scre## by her.:hell-hath-no-fury: Have a very bad experience with her too. Complain to DTZ about her, but DTZ is protecting her like their blue eye baby as she is their top performer. Can any one let me know of any neutral n powerful authority so that I can file a complain and get rid of this rouge/unethical agent forever.

kuo_shen
22-04-10, 15:06
You are not the only one. You can add me to the list. Best to advise others to avoid dealing with her.

Reporter
14-05-10, 22:54
Caribbean at Keppel Bay has a nëw hïgh of $1,768 psf!

Caribbean at Keppel Bay
Address ............................. psf ............... Area .......... Price ............ Contract Date
36 Keppel Bay Drive #02-79 .... $1,768 psf .... 2,433 sqft .... $4,300,000 .... 14 Apr 10

DW
15-05-10, 18:26
I will always remember how she tells me she has nine units in Caribbean and that's a "testimony" of her confidence in Caribbean. Following, I tried to verify the same with MCST and was advised the highest unit count owner was someone who owns less than nine units. It appears no owner (either single or joint names) owns up to 9 units in Caribbean.

I am not sure what are the avenues available to consumers for such agents who provided
(i) what appears to be false information/testimony with motivation for personal gains (to close the deal)
(ii) incorrect credentials of themselves (in this case, we assumed ownership as a form of credential),
(iii) misleading information and facts about themselves as well as on the property in their bid to get the deal close.

On (iii) above, she also mentioned before there is going to be a underground connection between Caribbean, through to Harbourfront center and Vivocity. Some time back, there was some construction between Harbourfront center and Caribbean and she was referring that construction as the underground connection construction. Again, on subsequently verification, that is incorrect.

What a nightmare I must say, dealing with an agent whom you know to be a crook.

If DTZ is indeed taking a very lenient view (as posted by some other forummers here) of the rogue practices of their agents, I wonder how is the upcoming regulation going to help / change that. Understand the proposed regulation will vest certain powers in the new board to exercise disciplinary actions against agents and agencies likewise. This said, I think a lot has to come from the agencies themselves, in that, there has to be a want in them to change/better the current inappropriate behaviours/practices amongst its rogue agents. Legislative regulation can only curtail the extreme cases but more often than now, it boils down to the stance of the respective agency towards such practice and what appears to be rather unethical behaviour of their agents.

My 5 cents worth.

Anyway, you can add me to the list as well. What a horrible experience deal with her. Also, she is the very aggressive and pushy type. But thats fairly easy to manage - as long as you remind her of what and who she is , and ultimately you are the pay master and she just an agent, her attitude changed immediately and will put her back in her place/mind of an agent.

You are not the only one. You can add me to the list. Best to advise others to avoid dealing with her.

ranad2
07-01-11, 19:11
does anyone have a personal opinion on the impact of reflections coming up on the view from the caribbean appts facing reflections? there seem to be many sellers in those blocks (42, 44, 46) and wondering if this is merely coz there will be 2-3 year construction issues or something more permanent like obstructed views etc

thanks in advance.

tericia
07-01-11, 19:58
I will always remember how she tells me she has nine units in Caribbean and that's a "testimony" of her confidence in Caribbean. Following, I tried to verify the same with MCST and was advised the highest unit count owner was someone who owns less than nine units. It appears no owner (either single or joint names) owns up to 9 units in Caribbean.

I am not sure what are the avenues available to consumers for such agents who provided
(i) what appears to be false information/testimony with motivation for personal gains (to close the deal)
(ii) incorrect credentials of themselves (in this case, we assumed ownership as a form of credential),
(iii) misleading information and facts about themselves as well as on the property in their bid to get the deal close.

On (iii) above, she also mentioned before there is going to be a underground connection between Caribbean, through to Harbourfront center and Vivocity. Some time back, there was some construction between Harbourfront center and Caribbean and she was referring that construction as the underground connection construction. Again, on subsequently verification, that is incorrect.

What a nightmare I must say, dealing with an agent whom you know to be a crook.

If DTZ is indeed taking a very lenient view (as posted by some other forummers here) of the rogue practices of their agents, I wonder how is the upcoming regulation going to help / change that. Understand the proposed regulation will vest certain powers in the new board to exercise disciplinary actions against agents and agencies likewise. This said, I think a lot has to come from the agencies themselves, in that, there has to be a want in them to change/better the current inappropriate behaviours/practices amongst its rogue agents. Legislative regulation can only curtail the extreme cases but more often than now, it boils down to the stance of the respective agency towards such practice and what appears to be rather unethical behaviour of their agents.

My 5 cents worth.

Anyway, you can add me to the list as well. What a horrible experience deal with her. Also, she is the very aggressive and pushy type. But thats fairly easy to manage - as long as you remind her of what and who she is , and ultimately you are the pay master and she just an agent, her attitude changed immediately and will put her back in her place/mind of an agent.

this sounds exactly like my law exam question :scared-4:

07-01-11, 20:24
does anyone have a personal opinion on the impact of reflections coming up on the view from the caribbean appts facing reflections? there seem to be many sellers in those blocks (42, 44, 46) and wondering if this is merely coz there will be 2-3 year construction issues or something more permanent like obstructed views etc

thanks in advance.
U have the answers. Remember, one unit can be marketed by multiple agents at diff price, size, rooms or type. So it is not conclusive. u get the idea?

Construction problem is short term, 2 to 3 years to bear. The effects are temporary. If blocked, it will really affect the prices if buyers paid a premium for the unblocked seaview. If paid normal or discounted price, effects not as bad. The effects will be permanent there if blocked.

Ok?

flxcat
07-01-11, 22:10

thanks in advance.

FYI these blocks consist units belonging to developer. The high sales likely due to keppel is cashing out of Caribbean with recent developer sales n properly reinvest in the newer reflections as their new strategy

DN
14-01-11, 03:34
this sounds exactly like my law exam question :scared-4:

I was told the agent eventually switched firm to Linkvest Realty ( a small time property agency and firm) and also change her name from Nicole to Nichole. Apparently, her middle name was also changed to hide her identity as her old name and association with DTZ already had quite a reputation which cost her quite a bit of business.

14-01-11, 08:51
I was told the agent eventually switched firm to Linkvest Realty ( a small time property agency and firm) and also change her name from Nicole to Nichole. Apparently, her middle name was also changed to hide her identity as her old name and association with DTZ already had quite a reputation which cost her quite a bit of business.

whats the surname? can check CEA database to see photo...

DN
26-01-11, 06:47
whats the surname? can check CEA database to see photo...

Her previous name was Nicole Cantik (not sure if that is really a real name afterall, given agents could potentially make their own name cards and there is not really a way of uniquely identifying rogue agents until, perhaps now, by CEA regulation).

Anyway, like you rightly pointed out - CEA does have her record.

26-01-11, 10:49
Her previous name was Nicole Cantik (not sure if that is really a real name afterall, given agents could potentially make their own name cards and there is not really a way of uniquely identifying rogue agents until, perhaps now, by CEA regulation).

Anyway, like you rightly pointed out - CEA does have her record.

i thought CEA would put up the salesperson's photo.

dormer
26-01-11, 13:04
i thought CEA would put up the salesperson's photo.

Ai Yah! If you want to see a photo, just go to property guru website and search for Caribbean project.

She has changed name and company but telehone number remain the same.

26-01-11, 13:55
Ai Yah! If you want to see a photo, just go to property guru website and search for Caribbean project.

She has changed name and company but telehone number remain the same.

ok saw it

http://www.propertyguru.com.sg/agent/1813/nichole-halse

26-01-11, 14:01
any of you who were victims should complain to CEA and put her out of business. :mad:

ok saw it

26-01-11, 14:09
any of you who were victims should complain to CEA and put her out of business. :mad:

my agent friend said CEA very strict ... very good to weed out such agents ....

she was telling me that some agent even called her rental client's home number ( not sure how they get the number, suspect thru condo security guard) .. ask when they lease will be over and that can help them source for new rental .. somemore quote my friend's name ...

amazing what they can do just to snatch business

26-01-11, 21:24
my agent friend said CEA very strict ... very good to weed out such agents ....

she was telling me that some agent even called her rental client's home number ( not sure how they get the number, suspect thru condo security guard) .. ask when they lease will be over and that can help them source for new rental .. somemore quote my friend's name ...

amazing what they can do just to snatch business

The measures have driven some of them to be point of doing silly acts.

DN
30-01-11, 22:58
ok saw it

Yes, this is exactly the rogue agent I know. The stories of her tactics and unauthorised submission/forwarding of buyers cheques still sends shivers up my spine....

31-01-11, 09:15
now u have an avenue to complain against her to CEA. :)

Yes, this is exactly the rogue agent I know. The stories of her tactics and unauthorised submission/forwarding of buyers cheques still sends shivers up my spine....

browser
08-02-11, 17:08

Ugly whore. How did she sleep her way to become a sales director???

18-04-11, 18:58
Pirates of the Caribbean

Apr 18, 2011
Businessman charged with murdering gay dancer
By Khushwant Singh

A 44-year-old man was charged over the death of another man whose body was found stuffed inside a trolley bag and floating in the waters off a construction site (above) on Sentosa. Both men are Singaporeans and it is understood they were in a close relationship. -- PHOTO: JOSEPH NAIR FOR STRAITS TIMES

THE man, whose body was found stuffed in a trolley bag floating in the waters off Sentosa on Saturday morning, is believed to have been killed in an apartment in The Caribbean - an up-market condominium at Keppel Bay Drive.

However, many of the other details surrounding the killing of Mr Wong Teck Siong, 28, are still shrouded in secrecy. The ex-dancer, also known as Mr Huang Dexiong, is said to have been murdered between April 1 and 16 this year in a fifth-floor unit at the condominium.

These were the details that surfaced when Teo Boon Leng, 44, was charged with his murder of the younger man in a district court on Monday. District Judge Lim Tse Haw granted the prosecution's request for Teo to be remanded for a week at the Central Police Division and also allowed officers to take the businessman out to assist in the investigations.

In the dock, Teo, who was manacled hand and foot, looked on without expression during the five-minute hearing.

The stout, 1.7m-tall man with a broad craggy face, was dressed in a black Polo T-shirt and dark blue dungarees and slippers. Before he was led away by police officers, he smiled briefly at the two women in the public gallery. They declined comment when approached by reporters after the hearing.

19-04-11, 10:15
in which unit was he killed?

19-04-11, 10:18
it only says 5th floor. so many stacks how to guess? :confused:

in which unit was he killed?

19-04-11, 11:09
it only says 5th floor. so many stacks how to guess? :confused:

I guess from now on, all the units in this project on a fifth floor, whichever stack it is in, will be tarred with the same brush.

speculator
22-04-12, 17:20
Does anyone know when did the 99-year lease started?
I know it TOP is 2004.

Astronotus oscellatus
24-04-12, 12:26
Today got newspaper advertisement...$1.5 mil for two roomer...

Still waiting for more...I am.

oda
08-06-12, 13:18
anyone keen in my unit? hehehehehehhehehe

BlueClue
15-09-14, 17:10
Rogue Resident Agent -- Nicole Halse (born: Cantik)

I was just researching prices for Caribbean at Keppel Bay, and the name Nicole kept appearing in my searches. Lo and behold, I am not the only person who has had a almost dissatisfying experience with resident agent Nicole Halse (previously Nicole Cantik).

My husband rented a 3 Bedroom unit at the Caribbean in 2009 at $7k for a two year term, and she was seemed very easy going. As you said, fantastic attitude before you sign anything really. We needed to move out nearly 2 months early, so we sought her help to market the property before the lease terminated. Of course, the landlord would have the security of our rent until our lease expires.

1) She was unreasonable, she expected to view the unit within less than 24 hours of notice, otherwise she would sue us for un-leasable period, if she was not able to secure a new tenant. We did not want trouble. We were very much interested to facilitate viewings, so that we can get out of the lease early.

2) For one Friday night, I was late out drinking and she kept pestering, almost harrassing to view the unit early next morning, and we were really being quite reasonable, granting her viewing privileges almost as and when she liked. And again, she threatened to sue us for un-leasable period.

3) Due to having several valuables at home, I would much preferred to be home when viewing happens. Lucky for me, I work nearby. Often I would rush over to watch over my valuables. But sometimes I would be held up in meetings, and allowed her to go into the unit without my presence. I normally would not have acceded to her request that easily; but Nicole told us she has the access key, and if I would just let her in at her own time, since she lived in Caribbean itself. She mentioned she would take care of my valuables when she brings potential tenants in. However, while I was present, she never acknowledged my presence, and walked herself in like she deserved to be there in the very first place; and left without much of a simple Thank You. Also, there were people with kids, and I personally witnessed the kids touching my teak hand crafted table ornaments near the TV console. Because she was too busy following the adults to care about my things. Also, I feel that she should close whatever windows she opened, but no, she did not do that.

4) I came to realize that she was marketing a similar layout on a lower floor for a cheaper price; and she had made use of our agreeable personality desperation to secure a tenant early, to open our doors instead of the actual unit, despite knowing how I detest her visits.

5) Finally, as the lease was nearing the end of term, and I was paying 6K rent somewhere else simultaneously; the unit was finally marked down at 6.5K. Good for her and the landlord. But unfortunately, it was a tiring matter, and I much regretted causing myself so much trouble much earlier than it should be. I should just accept that I would be paying two months' rent to two properties.

6) As we checked out, we hired another trustable agent whom we engaged and continued even to this date, to help us with vacating the unit. Nicole had caused us so much stress that we did not want to deal with her. Nicole wanted to charge us for every little thing that was wear and tear. I do not know what is with her, is she psychotic or what? Wanting to sue for this and that?

What happened to the Nicole who was all agreeable when we first met her?

Disclaimer: This happened almost 3 years ago, so I have tamed down the angst I have felt then, and failed to include more unreasonable scenarios. This is all I could remember from the top of my head.

ROGUE AGENT ALERT!!

I used to only know about this through hear-say about this particular agent (“Agent”) in Caribbean, today I just met up with one of my friend who recently bought Caribbean and confirmed this first-hand.
This Agent in Caribbean whom she often claims herself as the resident agent. This is what I gathered.

1. Fantastic attitude and service prior to turning in a cheque.
2. My friend saw unit he likes and would like to see the TA, and Option before making an offer.
3. Agent advised my friend that owner will only agree to let him see TA and Option if a cheque is available on hand to indicate there is a genuine interest.
4. Agent confirms the the cheque will be held on trust by her, until my friends sees the TA and Option, and any release of the cheque will only be subject to his satisfactory review of the TA and Option.
5. On the basis of her positive attitude, apparent pro-buyer ethics and Pt. 3 and 4, my friend got comfortable in issuing a cheque and ensured that the Offer to Purchase form has such subjectivities
(a. offer will be subject to the form of TA attached and Option initialed by my friend).

The next thing my friend know, the Agent took the Offer to Purchase and handed over the cheque to the Seller. The understanding is that Seller was advised by the Agent, that they can encash the same immediately with no due regard to the satisfaction of the subjectivities stated in the Offer to Purchase. My friend came to know about this after multiple phonecalls to the Agent and was extremely furious after he knew about this.
While the TA and Option turned out to be fairly standard, but it was a clear deviation of the instructions given to the Agent. When my friend said that if he had not been satisfied with the TA or Option, he would have cancelled the cheque immediately, on ground of non-satisfaction of the terms of the Offer to Purchase.

I understand the Agent attitude changed immediately and advised that my friend could walk away from the deal and lose his 1% if he wants. In any case, given that the seller has already encashed the 1% payment, she is already entitled to 0.5% of the receipts by the seller. Agent further refuted that he will be sue for criminal offences and fraud if he had tried to cancel the cheque. Indeed a dishonoured cheque could be tantamount to a basis of fraud but certainly not in such context!!

The Agent further threatened that she will also take vigorous action on her part to recover the lost commission given him pulling out now/stopping the cheque, her commissions will be affected. She apparently gave a very forceful verbal threat that she will take action against him until the ends of the world, if need be. (at this point of the conversation, my jaws almost dropped when I heard this!!).

My friend likes the unit, the TA and Option money was also ok so he did not let this affect his basis of the purchase and went ahead. What was really annoying is that this Agent is using all sort of reasoning and tactics to threaten her clients, which I think is rather distasteful. More importantly, notwithstanding the specific instructions of her client, she went ahead to issue the cheque without due regard of the risk her client would face (which was already told to her!!) What worse, if the TA and Option had been some can of worms, and my friend is stuck because of her rogue actions in giving out the cheque against the conditions and instructions from my friend, he will be done for!!!

Eyh79
11-04-17, 03:59
We love everything about the Caribbean. Fantastic facilities, location and surroundings.
However if you are renting please be wary of a crooked landlord at blk 46, #10-27 - Nicole Halse (formerly Cartik). We originally tried to rent a property from her and transferred our good faith deposit. However she did everything in her hands to make changes to the Tenancy agreement and would not compromise on any of requests to update or remove the beds which were in disrepair. When we declined to sign the agreement on her terms she refused to return our good faith deposit. We are now taking this woman to court. Please be aware!!

Eyh79
11-04-17, 04:04
We had the exact same experience with Nicole Halse Cantik. We transferred our good faith deposit to her then heard nothing until 2 days before agreement was due to be signed she changed the terms and over wrote several standard terms. Then refused to make any compromise on removing or updating the broken beds in the property. She wanted us to buy new beds and leave them on the inventory list. Eventually we refused sign the agreement with her and she has now refused to return out good faith deposit. We are mowing seeking action through small claims court. This kind of person should not be allowed to rent out properties and should be blacklisted!!
Note her property unit is Blk 46, #10-127.

11-04-17, 11:24
We had the exact same experience with Nicole Halse Cantik. We transferred our good faith deposit to her then heard nothing until 2 days before agreement was due to be signed she changed the terms and over wrote several standard terms. Then refused to make any compromise on removing or updating the broken beds in the property. She wanted us to buy new beds and leave them on the inventory list. Eventually we refused sign the agreement with her and she has now refused to return out good faith deposit. We are mowing seeking action through small claims court. This kind of person should not be allowed to rent out properties and should be blacklisted!!
Note her property unit is Blk 46, #10-127.

First check is the owner a Real Estate Salesperson.

"Salesperson" means individuals who perform estate agency work -

See more at: https://www.cea.gov.sg/public-register#sthash.t6hvUbQI.dpuf

Then understand what a RES need to do.

https://www.cea.gov.sg/docs/default-source/legislation-guideliness/Practice-Guidelines-Circulars/professional-service-manual/psm.pdf

Not happy and want to complain because the RES did not do according to PSM.

https://www.cea.gov.sg/consumers/complaints/overview

https://www.cea.gov.sg/complaint

Very often, tenant, buyer, seller don't know their rights and get themselves into inconvenient.

11-04-17, 20:07
My tenants, landlords want to 'save' some commission.. and try to do everything on their own...

Not knowing how manipulative some can be.

you can check with CEA if these landlord is also an Agent.

report her to CEA.

go small court claim

she has no right to keep your good faith deposits... as long as TA not signed ( cannot agree on the terms) ...

Hakuho
11-04-17, 21:10
First check is the owner a Real Estate Salesperson.

"Salesperson" means individuals who perform estate agency work -

See more at: https://www.cea.gov.sg/public-register#sthash.t6hvUbQI.dpuf

Then understand what a RES need to do.

https://www.cea.gov.sg/docs/default-source/legislation-guideliness/Practice-Guidelines-Circulars/professional-service-manual/psm.pdf

Not happy and want to complain because the RES did not do according to PSM.

https://www.cea.gov.sg/consumers/complaints/overview

https://www.cea.gov.sg/complaint

Very often, tenant, buyer, seller don't know their rights and get themselves into inconvenient.

Since you are very knowledgeable, why not file a complaint that is blow the whistle ?

fairynova
16-05-18, 10:39
Thinking of buying a PH at Caribbean. Heard about people selling and leaving due to pollution issues. How true is this information? Can existing residents comment please?

HKE #09-19
01-08-19, 20:31
We love everything about the Caribbean. Fantastic facilities, location and surroundings.
However if you are renting please be wary of a crooked landlord at blk 46, #10-27 - Nicole Halse (formerly Cartik). We originally tried to rent a property from her and transferred our good faith deposit. However she did everything in her hands to make changes to the Tenancy agreement and would not compromise on any of requests to update or remove the beds which were in disrepair. When we declined to sign the agreement on her terms she refused to return our good faith deposit. We are now taking this woman to court. Please be aware!!

# Nicole Halse # Nicole Cantik # Nicole Cantik Halse # +65 90038103

Come across this researching/ building a case against her. I experienced her as landlord in a somehow run down place, but it suited our needs for a short term tenancy. We made improvements to the place when living there, did everything requested before handing back the premises. Still she is (unlawfully) withholding my deposit, not raising any claims what so ever. In fact deadline for her to pay back deposit more than two weeks ago, she just stopped communicating with us entirely.

Difficult, shoplifting is a CRIME over a few $, yet a landlord can just keep deposit (thousands) without any explanation, and there seem to be no consequence as the amount is hardly worth pursuing in court. Police report filed, but treated as a dispute and not fraud or theft what it rightfully is.

Beware, stay away unless prepared to and calculate in a loss in the end. Don't spend good cash on professional cleaning (as I did) prior to moving out, just more money wasted.