View Full Version : President S R Nathan will not run in election

02-07-11, 00:09
Not surprising news at all since Dr Tony Tan announced he is contesting...., probably GY also back out becos he kinda know as well.

http://www.asiaone.com/News/AsiaOne%2BNews/Singapore/Story/A1Story20110701-287060.html

President S R Nathan will not run in upcoming election

Mr Nathan, who will be turning 87 years old, believes he will not be able to undertake the heavy responsibilities and physical demands of the position. -AsiaOne......

02-07-11, 09:36
He should go and sell prata for retirement, I will respect him more that way

alamak
02-07-11, 09:42
Not surprising news at all since Dr Tony Tan announced he is contesting...., probably GY also back out becos he kinda know as well.

http://www.asiaone.com/News/AsiaOne%2BNews/Singapore/Story/A1Story20110701-287060.html

President S R Nathan will not run in upcoming election

Mr Nathan, who will be turning 87 years old, believes he will not be able to undertake the heavy responsibilities and physical demands of the position. -AsiaOne......

Ai yah, whole thingy Wayang Wayang only ..of course he is not standing wan ..Last EP election also heard that he is not standing .. skeli last minute PAPist gahment ask him to stay for another term ..and that andrew kuan guy kanna disqualify at all cost ...waht election r we talking about :doh:

02-07-11, 11:36
Either way, a TAN will definitely be a President. I won't be surprised if the two TAN bros (TCB and TKL) are disqualified leaving their TAN cousin (TT) to become President, uncontested.

02-07-11, 11:39
Clash of the tiTANs (Tan Cheng Bock, Tan Kin Lian and Tony Tan) Haha..

02-07-11, 12:09
Clash of the tiTANs (Tan Cheng Bock, Tan Kin Lian and Tony Tan) Haha..
If never win, the winner can tell the others to Tan Ku Ku.

02-07-11, 13:51
Whether it is Tan or prata man, waste of public funds. Singapore does not need an elected president. The money can be better used for other charitable causes. :doh:

03-07-11, 00:01
Whether it is Tan or prata man, waste of public funds. Singapore does not need an elected president. The money can be better used for other charitable causes. :doh:Every country needs an icon to represent the country to do international visitations and cut ribbons here and there so since the Merlion cannot do it, we certainly need a president to do it! :o

03-07-11, 00:06
Please lah, what icon? :doh:
Every country needs an icon to represent the country to do international visitations and cut ribbons here and there so since the Merlion cannot do it, we certainly need a president to do it! :o

03-07-11, 08:52
Please lah, what icon? :doh:Singapore icon! Hahaha. Didn't you see Mr Nathan visiting countries and attending functions these last 10 years? :eek: Less political in nature! :o

03-07-11, 12:05
What is the minister of foreign affairs for? why pay a figurehead $20k a day just to carry babies, cut ribbons, have meals with foreign dignatories and attend charity events? Please lah. If we have too much money to splurge, that is definitely not a way to splurge our reserves.
Singapore icon! Hahaha. Didn't you see Mr Nathan visiting countries and attending functions these last 10 years? :eek: Less political in nature! :o

03-07-11, 18:09
Singapore icon! Hahaha. Didn't you see Mr Nathan visiting countries and attending functions these last 10 years? :eek: Less political in nature! :o

at least we see some reasonable/sensible Singaporeans in the forum :cheers1:

i wonder why nowadays we see so many negative Singaporeans voices in internet forums...

of course each nation need a figurehead to attend all the state/international ceremonies and functions.... it is wise to reduce the President pay but it is not wise to remove the President post....

03-07-11, 18:30
Every country needs an icon to represent the country to do international visitations and cut ribbons here and there so since the Merlion cannot do it, we certainly need a president to do it! :o

People like to meet LKY and LHL, and have them cutting ribbons, for obvious reasons.

04-07-11, 01:11
People like to meet LKY and LHL, and have them cutting ribbons, for obvious reasons.LKY and LHL may have political obligations so they may send any others lor like the President! Not send lah but ask if the President would like to go on their behalf! :o