View Full Version : What is your BIGGEST regret in property investment..

07-08-11, 00:09
Since forum is all about talk KOK sing SONG...lets start ball rolling ...for me 1st quarter 2009 follow my brother in law to view 2 units at THE bayshore...

1st unit 900sqft 2 bedder...600K...owner from Hong KOng just want to LET go the unit..agent say...owner will even throw in brand new micrcrowave oven in sale...:scared-1:

2nd unit 1400sqft unit i viewed 22nd storey 4 bedroom...KNS selling at 920k NEG...haizzzzzzzz

at that time we say we will consider and my brother in law say 2 bedroom he waiting for 500k...KNN...WAIT LONG LONG...:doh: :doh: :doh:

07-08-11, 00:33
Never buy shaughnessy only 800k
Never buy capsian...4bedroom stack 16 high floor only 800k.
Never buy the arte...2 bedroom low floor only 900k
Never buy waterfront key...2 bedroom 5th floor only 595k

:(

07-08-11, 03:43
Pay 20% cash deposit for 2 Bedroom @ SouthBank and sign for bank loan in June 2006.

07-08-11, 09:40
Pay 20% cash deposit for 2 Bedroom @ SouthBank and sign for bank loan in June 2006.

regret?:confused:

07-08-11, 09:44
regret?:confused:
Did not buy more.:)

07-08-11, 11:14

I don't have to pay 20%, all I need is 5 %. I don't have to take a loan, I need only to take a loan when TOP.

If only I have use the other 15 % to buy 3 more than.:banghead:

07-08-11, 11:22
Regret never tell my father when i was at "protein state" to buy GCB in D10

07-08-11, 11:27
I regret not buying 10 kilo of gold bar when it was $18 per gram

07-08-11, 11:30
I regret not buying 10 kilo of gold bar when it was $18 per gram

brudder..... gold is not property leh. OOT

flagship74
07-08-11, 12:01
Regret of voting garment for making the housing so " affordable":doh:

07-08-11, 13:46
Did not start property investmemt earlier.

07-08-11, 13:47
Never buy solaris residence @ $1.5m in 2009. Now asking $2.6m in 2 years! :banghead:

07-08-11, 16:11

good one...:D :D :D

07-08-11, 16:12
Did not start property investmemt earlier.

yup me too should have dumped money into property instead of d stupid stock market...:doh:

07-08-11, 16:13

maybe he wanted to buy gold bar to build a gold house...:scared-1: :D :scared-4:

07-08-11, 16:16
quite interesting...

Almost everyone here never bought anything in the 1996...

07-08-11, 16:19
I have starting buying before 1996 but did not buy more.
quite interesting...

07-08-11, 16:56
quite interesting...

Almost everyone here never bought anything in the 1996...Recent pains are more apparent and loud than past pains! :D

07-08-11, 17:11
They may have either move on to make more $ from 1996 experience or they hate property so much that they never dare to make another property investment.
Recent pains are more apparent and loud than past pains! :D

07-08-11, 18:34
quite interesting...

Yes. This is true.

07-08-11, 19:04
quite interesting...

maybe because many have not yet entered the workforce?

07-08-11, 21:42
2009 went to Luxus Hills for the second time.
Brought cheque book but agent said hubby PR (but in process of becoming singaporean) so cannot buy, but I singaporean what....dunno why they not interested to sell. Mabbe cos the units were like going so fast at that time..... only 1.74 mil.
On the way home the car tyre got puntured.... dunno what kind of sign was that.
Anyway after hubby became singaporean, Luxus hills increase by 100k so we buay song and don't want to buy thinking it will come down, so wait and wait.
So I think Luxus Hills not for me.....

07-08-11, 21:45
Haha.....

U can drive Lexus......

07-08-11, 21:50
Haha.....

U can drive Lexus......

If I drive Lexus, definitely cannot own Luxus.

07-08-11, 21:55
quite interesting...

That's because during a property boom, all the regrets posted are regrets of not making more money rather than losing money.

Start this thread again 2 years later and the type of regrets posted may be very different from what we are reading today.

07-08-11, 21:56
2009 went to Luxus Hills for the second time.
Brought cheque book but agent said hubby PR (but in process of becoming singaporean) so cannot buy, but I singaporean what....dunno why they not interested to sell. Mabbe cos the units were like going so fast at that time..... only 1.74 mil.
On the way home the car tyre got puntured.... dunno what kind of sign was that.
Anyway after hubby became singaporean, Luxus hills increase by 100k so we buay song and don't want to buy thinking it will come down, so wait and wait.
So I think Luxus Hills not for me.....

Luxus Hills Phase 5 coming soon...Buy Buy Buy! :p

07-08-11, 21:57
2004 didn't load up more ppty, instead used up my bullets to pay off my current ppty :banghead: :banghead:

2009 didn't buy arte 2bed #12 @ 928k.

07-08-11, 21:59
quite interesting...

1996 I just got my HDB transitional rental flat as i was waiting for my 1st HDB flat.

07-08-11, 22:06
Luxus Hills Phase 5 coming soon...Buy Buy Buy! :p
We were so close to buying only to be turned down by agent.
So I think Luxus Hills and I 没有缘份( not destined to be together).

07-08-11, 22:09
If I drive Lexus, definitely cannot own Luxus.
So u drive Toyota? Hahahaha

07-08-11, 22:14
So u drive Toyota? Hahahaha

No, not Toyota.... not anywhere near there.
2009 bought my car when COE was only $1k!
If only bought the Luxus hills....... that would have been so complete.

07-08-11, 22:15
Property got many kinds lah, real estate is just one kind of pty

07-08-11, 22:21
Yes. This is true.

relatively lesser old man buy properties and come here post 3 cents worth

08-08-11, 06:23
No regrets. Always looking forward to more opportunities ahead :)

08-08-11, 07:51
If only bought the Luxus hills....... that would have been so complete.When it was $1.8mil?

08-08-11, 08:47
If only bought the Luxus hills....... that would have been so complete.

Yeah Should hav bought luxus hill too went to see was so tempted.

08-08-11, 08:52
When it was $1.8mil?

That was around July 2009.........
Was so close, brought cheque book.....

08-08-11, 09:41
That was around July 2009.........
Was so close, brought cheque book.....Now asking $2.4m? :beats-me-man:

08-08-11, 09:52
Now asking $2.4m? :beats-me-man:

last 2 transactions 2.4m. now asking 2.5 to 2.6 on propertyguru.
actually the ipad ura caveats app is very convenient for checking, except with less details in the previous streetsine.

08-08-11, 11:03
last 2 transactions 2.4m. now asking 2.5 to 2.6 on propertyguru.
actually the ipad ura caveats app is very convenient for checking, except with less details in the previous streetsine.

Cos the agent said if they launch, the new phase it is estimated to be around 2.5 m.
We were asked to put a blank cheque to register our interest.
But my heartache when I think of 2009, so definitely cannot go ahead with such a price.
Btw, i saw some selling at 2.2m on one of the property website.

vip
08-08-11, 11:21
What's the point of regretting? We're not victims of fate. Every mistake is an invaluable lesson learned.

08-08-11, 11:26
What's the point of regretting? We're not victims of fate. Every mistake is an invaluable lesson learned.

Agreed!
Let's look ahead.
But in order to understand one another better, it's good to find out one another's thoughts on property.

08-08-11, 11:34
Cos the agent said if they launch, the new phase it is estimated to be around 2.5 m.
We were asked to put a blank cheque to register our interest.
But my heartache when I think of 2009, so definitely cannot go ahead with such a price.
Btw, i saw some selling at 2.2m on one of the property website.Just wait for next few months to see if prices will fall back to earlier levels lor. :D

08-08-11, 11:47
Just wait for next few months to see if prices will fall back to earlier levels lor. :D

All like vultures circling the prey, waiting for the predator to leave before diving in.
The problem is when will the predator leave, and when predator leaves, will there be anymore meat left? What happens if only left with bones?

08-08-11, 14:53
Must start looking out liaoz, when the time is right must strike fast, no 2nd thoughts. Or else will add to another item in your regret list haa haa...

:scared-3:

masterkey
08-08-11, 18:34
didn't buy Sail at launch
didn't buy icon at launch
didn't buy one tree hill when it was ignored by the market
researched, considered but didn't action on divesting non-landed to landed.
didn't listen to my old man when he said market will recover fast in 2009.

:banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead:

08-08-11, 21:23
All like vultures circling the prey, waiting for the predator to leave before diving in.
The problem is when will the predator leave, and when predator leaves, will there be anymore meat left? What happens if only left with bones?Don't worry lah... the number of vultures will not be more than the pieces of meat left behind! :o Don't fight.. all can share the spoils! :p

08-08-11, 22:43
Now just need to be a bit patient:D

08-08-11, 22:44
Be careful. Do not eaten up during the mad rush for goodies.
Don't worry lah... the number of vultures will not be more than the pieces of meat left behind! :o Don't fight.. all can share the spoils! :p

08-08-11, 22:48
Be careful. Do not eaten up during the mad rush for goodies.

Ya lor, go slow.
Don't pounce on it blindly, sekali kena diarrhoea.

08-08-11, 22:57
so many waiting to pounce.....:scared-4:

who will jump first?:beats-me-man:

09-08-11, 07:18
The super seasoned investor can lead the pack in. :D

09-08-11, 08:00
Aiya.... like they say, stock market (and property market) is always there.

no worries.. now all crashing from stratospheric levels back to level 1. :eek:

flagship74
09-08-11, 10:58
With referenced to what has happening to US couple of days ago, pple will start asking...i regret of buying property!!:D

09-08-11, 11:08
Waiting for good buy. ;)
With referenced to what has happening to US couple of days ago, pple will start asking...i regret of buying property!!:D

09-08-11, 11:26

yup i also say like that...:scared-1:

09-08-11, 12:04
yup i also say like that...:scared-1:Its a mystery why some newly launched projects are still selling at high psf? :confused: Will these recent buyers question their purchases? :spliff2:

09-08-11, 12:07
They are in tunnel when they make purchases. They can only focusing at the light in the front.
Its a mystery why some newly launched projects are still selling at high psf? :confused: Will these recent buyers question their purchases? :spliff2:

09-08-11, 12:11
They are in tunnel when they make purchases. They can only focusing at the light in the front.

basically you just described the hypnosis state, which is a state of focussed attention.

09-08-11, 12:11
They are in tunnel when they make purchases. They can only focusing at the light in the front.Its quite :doh: to listen to those housing agents actually telling you 'I've just sold 2 units. The figures are moving so you must quickly buy now!'. All this while, the stock markets around the world is falling like dominos! I just told that agent 'Now its not the time' and she immediately kept quiet because she totally understood what I just said! ;)

09-08-11, 12:21
Its quite :doh: to listen to those housing agents actually telling you 'I've just sold 2 units. The figures are moving so you must quickly buy now!'. All this while, the stock markets around the world is falling like dominos! I just told that agent 'Now its not the time' and she immediately kept quiet because she totally understood what I just said! ;)

Haha... You are in full control, shut her up with just tht simple phrase.

09-08-11, 15:15
Its quite :doh: to listen to those housing agents actually telling you 'I've just sold 2 units. The figures are moving so you must quickly buy now!'. All this while, the stock markets around the world is falling like dominos! I just told that agent 'Now its not the time' and she immediately kept quiet because she totally understood what I just said! ;)

Tell that to the retard shaughnessy aka shagginess place and they will say u r sour grape... Hahahaha

1.8 million my foot!

cl0ver
09-08-11, 15:33
main regret was not buying The Sail at launch, cheque was ready....
but no regrets on the clover purchase...

anyone suddenly receiving a lot of sms from agents?? i can see their desperation now...

09-08-11, 15:36
main regret was not buying The Sail at launch, cheque was ready....
but no regrets on the clover purchase...

anyone suddenly receiving a lot of sms from agents?? i can see their desperation now...

U mean to sell or to buy?

09-08-11, 15:51
regret for selling only 1/3 of my property holding 4Q last year instead of the 2/3

09-08-11, 16:25

The light in front is that of an oncoming train.

cl0ver
09-08-11, 16:30
U mean to sell or to buy?

i have agents now trying to sell cascadia, minton, h20, all quoting limited offer, fire sale etc....

hmm, what was the recent rulling? cannot say specialist anymore right? can they also use the term "fire sale" which they interpret as below bank valuation? i think all valuations before last week are no longer valid...

09-08-11, 17:12
regret not buying in Jan 09 and waited till July 09 to seal a deal. regaret not buying Park Infania @ Wee Nam 2x floor @ 1.2m. Regret not buying 6 avenue @ 1.2m. regret not buying D11 new launch at 800k during re-launch with deferred payment.

great regret is nvr buy visioncrest residence @ 1m for 2 bedder in 2004..totally affordable but no guts.

09-08-11, 17:18
i have agents now trying to sell cascadia, minton, h20, all quoting limited offer, fire sale etc....

hmm, what was the recent rulling? cannot say specialist anymore right? can they also use the term "fire sale" which they interpret as below bank valuation? i think all valuations before last week are no longer valid...So what did the agent quote for Cascadia, Minton and H2O now?

What fire sale? For BUC, nothing to trigger fire sale except that small increase of about few hundred dollars a month. Can't even hold with that small increase and those buyers dare to enter the market??? As if fire sale is a daily affair that these agents dare announce??? :doh:

Think the agents all under fire... not the owners! :tongue3:

09-08-11, 19:24
I think many pple regret n balls shrink now. Regret on regreting

09-08-11, 19:35
When market down, if have firesales, agents with $ & balls will grab 1st. If u come to know, be prepared if price is within target, time to have the balls to commit, if not when market start to turn and if it recover as sharply as last time, u regret ...., and regret.... ;)

rockinsg
09-08-11, 19:47
When market down, if have firesales, agents with $ & balls will grab 1st. If u come to know, be prepared if price is within target, time to have the balls to commit, if not when market start to turn and if it recover as sharply as last time, u regret ...., and regret.... ;)

Even with 4yr SSD?
Very unlikely agent gonna buy to flip...need big balls to commit for 4 year

09-08-11, 20:49
Even with 4yr SSD?
Very unlikely agent gonna buy to flip...need big balls to commit for 4 year

Agents do buy n keep for 4 years or if 100k profit after SSD...

09-08-11, 23:08
Agents do buy n keep for 4 years or if 100k profit after SSD...No need wait for 4 years if can get above SSD. Can let go after 3 years and lose 4%. Just a matter of how much profit you want vs how long you are willing to wait! :sleep:

mygeemeel
10-08-11, 00:21
During the upswing, many people and agents already made hundreds of thousands and million of dollars. The situation and profile now is different. Alot are either cash rich or asset rich. During market downturn like now, some are eyeing on opportunities. If the location and unit is their dream, they will still buy at current situation/price.

They are not worried.

10-08-11, 09:28
are u sure we are going to upswing so fast? I doubt so...

mygeemeel
10-08-11, 11:00
are u sure we are going to upswing so fast? I doubt so...

I didn't mean upswing now. I meant to say they made their money during the previous upswing.

Current situation gives these new found cash rich investors more tolerance to any downturn. Look at the number of expensive cars on the road. (Recently saw a very young guy driving a Ferrari and with him was a chio meimei. I am jealous.... that he has the young sexy meimei.) :D

10-08-11, 11:24
Recently saw a very young guy driving a Ferrari and with him was a chio meimei. I am jealous.... that he has the young sexy meimei :D maybe the car belong to his dad. u want chio mei mei, u also can la..., many working PRC mei mei here...:D

10-08-11, 16:05
maybe the car belong to his dad. u want chio mei mei, u also can la..., many working PRC mei mei here...:D

Cum visit my even numbered lorongs from 6 to 16 :D :D :D

We welcome all of you :D

mygeemeel
10-08-11, 18:12
Cum visit my even numbered lorongs from 6 to 16 :D :D :D

We welcome all of you :D

6 to 16? I don't like those with armpit bush.

10-08-11, 21:49
No need wait for 4 years if can get above SSD. Can let go after 3 years and lose 4%. Just a matter of how much profit you want vs how long you are willing to wait! :sleep:
After everything, net 50k can do Liao...

10-08-11, 22:48
6 to 16? I don't like those with armpit bush.

Donch worry... those are stick-ons :D :D :D